Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

323 reviews

Fit
Small 62
True to Size 234
Large 14
Photos 219
Cara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 14, 2013

backup dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a backup dress but I ended up wearing the Nicole Miller long sleeved lace dress (perfect!). This dress was a bit plain and fit odd. I was underwhelmed by the fit, and it looked a bit cheap on me. However, I have to say it looked beautiful on some of the other girls in the reviews and on the model. I couldnt wear this but maybe a girl with skinnier arms would be more flattered.
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Mar 24, 2013

Overall, unique dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked the idea of the dress and it was a comfortable fabric but I was adjusting the arms all night long.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Great dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Great valentine's day dress
Grace
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 31, 2013

Difficult to wear

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful standing still but wasn't very flattering and the straps rode up constantly! Uncomfortable on the arms as well.
Chris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 7, 2013

One of the best dresses I have rented

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for an engagement party and it fit beautifully. I loved the fabric and I got a lot of compliments on it. The color is much prettier in person!
Amy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 5, 2013

Amazing dress! I actually ended up buying it! Makes you stand out in the crowd.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs a tad small, so opt for a size up. I usually wear a size 2, sometimes even a size 0, and I ended up going with a size 4. It was very comfortable and fits to your shape. I highly recommend this dress.
Kristin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
May 11, 2013

amazing dress. flattering and comfortable

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
flattering. a bloated stomach could be an issue as the fit is definitely tight
katherinestar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
May 13, 2013

This dress is fantastic!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ended up wearing my second style dress to the Valentine's Day Party I went to, but only because the other dress was a little more "office party appropriate." This dress is SEXY!!!! Wear it out for your boyfriend or husband. Render him speechless all night long. I will rent this one again! It does run small, this was the first time my back up size fit (I rented a zero and a two, and the two fit better.
emily
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
May 28, 2013

Perfection!!!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress fit like a glove and the length was perfect!
Shanti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Beautiful dress and color.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like the other reviewers, the band across the shoulder may come up while dancing.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 4, 2013

So sexy!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up not wearing this for a wedding, but would definitely rent again to wear for a girls night or a fun social night!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

Way prettier in person

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gorgeous dress! I thought it was even more beautiful in person. I got so many compliments just walking out of my apartment to get to the dance! I used a bit of fashion tape to keep the neckline in place because I didn't want it to move while I was dancing around. Was very comfortable (could easily breathe), felt like a model, loved, loved, loved it.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

Fit great

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, fits true to size.
Tamara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

Fell short of expectations

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had high hopes for this dress however it fell short of my expectations. The color was flattering and the fit was true to size, however my biggest issue was that I could not raise my arms .... like, ever. The second issue is there is a gape underneath the arm, so there is some major side boob action going on, and no bra can be worn.
MG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Oct 13, 2013

I wore this dress for New Year's Eve and LOVED IT!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall, this dress is stunning. A fabulous color red and adoring neckline. The hemline is perfect sitting right at mid-thigh. My only complaint is that the neckline kept sliding up and had to be pulled down to create the dramatic, straight effect. The fit is slimming and hugged all the right spots. I had help with my accessories (Alexis Bittar earrings and Rebecca Minkoff clutch) because my ideal clutch was out of reach for my perfect night...but as always a successful evening with RTR!
Tamara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 28, 2013

This dress is a show stopper!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore size up because attended event with coworkers. Also wore hair long and loose. Hair up really accentuates the shoulders (in a good way!). Classy with an edge of sex appeal. Definitely pair with a neutral shoe to let the dress shine.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

Pretty party dress, but not a favorite

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I have mixed feelings on this dress. I rented it for a formal rehearsal dinner and ended up not wearing it (unfortunately). I wasn't comfortable in it because it felt more like a party/nightclub dress rather than a formal family wedding type of event. It really hugs every single curve and is the type of dress that you do not want to eat a big meal in! The other thing I didn't like about it was that the off the shoulder was beautiful, but very tight so it kind of smashes your arm into your body, which isn't very flattering. If I did wear this, I wouldn't wear a bra with it but again, I would only do that if I was going to a nightclub type of event where it would be dark and not super noticeable that I wasn't wearing a bra. A pretty dress, but not one of my favorites from RTR.
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Pretty ...

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a pretty dress, but definitely had been worn alot. The red on the zipper had started to come off. Besides that, I got several compliments. Definitely runs true to size. I wore a 0 ... the size 2 was brand new with the tag on it still ...
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

Be ready to be the center of attention!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress definitely boosted my confidence! I'd give this 5 stars, but the back zipper was a little long and bunched up a bit towards the bottom (and my torso is pretty long).
Jane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Backup Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was very form fitting, as depicted in the stock photo. It looked great! IF you were standing completely still, the second I moved it would bunch up around the waist and the sleeves would move over my shoulders. It is a very flattering dress, I wouldn't recommend wearing it for a dance if you're looking to have a good time.
Casey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 26, 2013

Flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
So beautiful and an amazing fit. The color is vibrant; I would recommend this for any date or party. I didn't want to return it!!
Nayyereh
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my work holiday party. Although the 6 fit well, I decided to wear the 8. Both sizes fit great! Got so many compliments!
McKenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 17, 2013

The dress was beautiful, but it was much smaller than I expected. I didn't end up wearing it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric was not forgiving at all. Spanx would have been an absolute necessity if I would have worn it so you couldn't see my belly button. The color was stunning, and I wish it would have worked. Unfortunately, it was not what I expected, but RTR was awesome and immediately credited my account!
A. Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 19, 2013

Don't fold the neckline!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Don't fold the neckline! It will fall down, and it just doesn't look as sleek.
Brittany
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 29, 2013

I loved this dress!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress for girls with broad shoulders for their size. I could see how this dress may not fit well for girls with a more slight build on top.
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Dec 30, 2013

Not my favorite

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It did not fit my frame as a petite girl - it was baggy and didn't sit right whereas someone with more curves would fill it out better. The RTR showroom in NYC was WONDERFUL and so helpful in finding me a new dress just 1 day before NYE :) Great customer service experience always, just not the dress for me...
Francesca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

The size worn was actually a L

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I did love the color and collar of the dress. Definitely stood out. However the sleeve part of it is really tricky and I was constantly fidgeting with it. The dress isn't forgiving at all so you have to be comfortable with your figure.
Hannah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

It didn't happen..

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Had to return it both sizes were way too tight..not flattering at all.
Heather
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Such a spectacular dress - wish I got to wear it :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress came in and looked exactly like the picture, on the hanger at least, but unfortunately didn't fit. I usually wear a 4 and opted to take the second size in a 2 for some reason or another and ended up finding the size for to be beyond tight - unflatteringly tight. There was a few reviews that mentioned that this isn't really made for a bigger-chested girl and those are absolutely true. I felt as though I was spilling out the underarms and not so much the top, but I'm sure the appropriate undergarments could help that for someone that does fit the dress. I would absolutely rent this again, just consider going a few sizes up just in case!
Mariya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Great color and great fit - very flattering look.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great, but the sleeves were impossible to deal with throughout the night. I found myself constantly correcting them and folding them back down.
Jodalynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

Great party dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
As noted in most reviews, great color/fabric. I didn't find the arms to be too constricting but the dress does run small. I typically wear a 4 but ended up wearing the 6.
shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Great color and neckline

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress was very snug on top, but I loved the neckline. Overall the dress fit well but the bottom of the dress by my legs could have been tighter. I wore it for valentine's day and it was perfect for the occasion.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

This dress fits beautifully! i actually own it in black and always get compliments on it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately, I did not get to wear this dress to my event :( A major cold front came in and I had to improvise and wear something else last minute that had long sleeves. I was so sad!
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Stunning dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous dress, but prepare to wear Spanx-- it's not terribly forgiving! The color and fit are awesome, though.
Amy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Easy renting experience. RTR made the process effortless!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit. Very classic dress
Caitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 28, 2014

Beautiful Dress, Wrong Occassion

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered the dress as a back up for a formal gala. Loved the dress but it was a little more sexy than what was appropriate for the event, so I went with the other longer option. Great color, great snug fit, and very flattering. I thought the hem on the bottom was a little cheap looking or simple but thats only something the dress wearer would notice. Great quality dress and fabric!
sally
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 28, 2014

So hot, but runs tight

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm usually a size 2 or 4, but this ended up fitting better in a 6 unless you want it super tight. My husband wasn't complaining :) I would definitely rent this again for a special date night!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 7, 2014

The perfect little red dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit and feel is great. Don't fold down the shoulders.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Mar 10, 2014

This dress has wow factor and will certainly stand out if you have the confidence to rock it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I typically wear a size 4-6 but ended up with a 2. With spanx, the 4 didn't quite hug all the parts of my body - I noticed in particular that type of issue where the zipper puckers at the end. The 2 looked smoother overall and like a better fit, and didn't feel much tighter so it was manageable. The only place that I actually noticed a strong difference was in the arms. It had a lot less range of motion there but it was worth it for a more fitted look. I did have to keep pulling the arms down though as they kept riding up whenever I moved my arms. As for a bra, I wore a stick on bra because the scoop under each arm is quite low and shows your bra. Overall great dress! If you're okay with something super body con, you will love it.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Pretty woman in red

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Simple dress but flattering, will stand out in the crowd with this dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×