Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

311 reviews

Fit
Small 61
True to Size 224
Large 14
Photos 214
Janet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Sexy but weird armholes

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
You will need a backless bra or petals for this number - it exposes a lot of side boob to the point where I felt uncomfortable. I ended up not wearing it for the event, but it may have been ok if I kept my arms by my side all night!
Clare
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Wore this to a June wedding and got so many compliments! Loved how it looked and fit.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Not too formal or casual. Probably could have worn a 4, but the 6 fit perfectly fine. The fabric had a lot of stretch.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

I stood out from the rest in this flattering red number!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The length of this dress allowed me to feel appropriate for a wedding, while the color and off-the-shoulder style made me red hot. I would definitely rent again. I was very comfortable all night.
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 17, 2014

Loved the little RED dress rather than the usual black dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fits like a glove! It has some length to it making it an appropriate form fitting dress to wear to a formal occasion. The arm cutouts make it a bit difficult to wear a bra underneath but I found that the dress had enough structure to where you didn't need to wear one. Loved it and Rent the Runway!
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 28, 2014

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was nice and I got a lot of compliments. It was a little restrictive at the arms but really that was no big deal throughout the night. A lot of strangers complimented me on the fit of the dress but it didn't have the wow effect that I would have liked.
Madison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Came to late due to inclement weather but loved the fit, will definitely order for another event!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Sexy fit!
Deana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 5, 2014

Wow! Absolutely stunning!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Worn at the Miss Texas Scholarship pageant gala event. So many beautiful dresses and this was a standout!!
Colleen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

Love this dress!! You feel like a bombshell in the red. I received tons of compliments.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a formal wedding and it was perfect! I wore a size 0 and it fit almost perfectly. It was a tad bit loose around the hips and stomach but that made room for food at the wedding. I had read a lot of reviews about people complaining about the straps but they didn't seem to bother me at all. I also matched these with RTR's Kenneth Jay Lane Aqua drop earrings and they looked amazing. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Zakiyyah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

You cannot go wrong with red! I truly stood out.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I knocked off a star because the shoulder part felt a bit odd and restricted.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Sexy but still classy, very feminine. Loved this for our anniversary dinner!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This might be my new favorite RTR dress. I ended up wearing the 4, the 6 body similarly but gaped in the back with the off shoulder fabric. The 4 was tight (curve hugging, in a good way) so I opted to wear spanx to avoid any panty lines. I had no trouble with a strapless bra- didn't show from the side at all. I will definitely rent this dress in the black next time! The off shoulder cut is so feminine and the length was perfect. I can't say enough good things :)
Jessie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

4 year anniversary!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Boyfriend was WOW-ed by this dress... It's tight but in all the right ways, defiantly wear a shaper and go for your size and the next size up.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 25, 2014

Liked, but didn't love

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress on the hanger. I didn't like how it showed my side boob. It was also hard to dance in the dress. The back also had an awkward "duck tail" where the zipper ended.
Danielle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Dress was perfect!!! So comfy, and could easily move around it the dress. Lots of compliments!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was perfect in every way! everyone loved it ! i did not want to take it off! The size 4 was a good fit not too tight, i tried the size 2 but it was very tight in the bust for me. Perfect for the occasion <3
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 1, 2014

Great color, very elegant silhouette

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Excellent fit, came just above the knee on my shorter frame. The material was thicker but had just the right amount of stretch to make it comfortable for the whole night. Loved it!
Sarabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 3, 2014

I got so many compliments! And the dress was so comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit really well. It kind of bunched in the back, but I got tons of compliments. I did have to wear a very low cut strapless bra because it cuts down low on the sides. All in all this was my first rent the runway rental and I'm totally sold!
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, I really loved this dress! I'm 5'6 and I felt the length was long enough to be tasteful, but the color and style still gave an overall youthful approach I was going for! As for the small comments that I have seen, I disagree, I am a true size zero and my friend is a true two and we both tried the two dresses on for fun before our wedding and they fit us both pretty well. The only negatives were the sleeves are not super easy to dance in, but that's obvious by the picture and I got a bit of water on the front of the dress and the way the material is it kind of dried weird. I loved the dress and would rent again!
Farah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 9, 2014

Stand out and look Va-va-voom!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Oh I loved this dress! I wore it to my engagement party because I needed something classy but yet stood out in a party of 100. I wore spanx underneath since it was tight-er (I went with the size 2 over the 4 because the length fit me better, I'm 5'2" afterall!) and I did have to pull the sleeves down every now and then but I did not mind at all because the dress was just so beautiful. Would definitely recommend this one!
Kyra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

I wore it to a wedding and got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is a really flattering dress, but it is very snug. After dancing the fabric seemed to stretch out a little bit which helped.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 2"
Aug 11, 2014

So sexy, spot on color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I got told a hundred times that I looked incredible in this dress. The color accents a summer tan perfectly. The dress is very form-fitting, shows every bump underneath so wear some Spanx!
meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

Hot little number in an eye catching color.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I liked this dress a lot. I felt it fit beautifully. My only complain is that it's supposed to be off the shoulders and the straps kept riding up higher than I wanted them to. I think you can kind of see it in the second photo. When going out for a night of dancing your arms are not going to be at your sides all night and after my arms would go up the straps would stay up, I'd like it a lot better if they fell back down with my arms. The stylist also suggested I wear it without a necklace, and I really wish I had one.
Soph
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

Pretty good dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was simple yet classy and sexy at the same time. My fiance and I have been to at least 6 weddings this season and this was by far his favorite amongst the collection of dresses I purchased for all of these weddings. The color is orangy-red and it stands out. If you lift your arms up the straps also come up but thats inevitable with that style. It makes it a little difficult to dance with the straps around the arms but that didn't bother me much. I am petite but curvy and I'm usually a 0 but the 0 was way tight so i wore the 2. The 2 fit perfectly to my body.
Kristin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Sophisticated (and sexy!) LRD

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the Halston Heritage Smooth Operator Sheath dress to wear at an outdoor wedding. After reading the reviews, I decided to order my normal size 6 and a size 8 as my back-up. When the dresses arrived, I noticed that the zipper pull on the size 6 dress was broken off. The dress zipped up with a little work, but there was definitely some wear and tear. I have broad shoulders which caused some wrinkling in the back of the size 6. Luckily, the size 8 fit like a glove - and it arrived in mint condition too! The bold red color of the dress was eye-catching and I definitely stood out among the crowd (without overshadowing the bride or bridal party, of course). The length of the dress was conservative enough to wear to a family event, but the off-the-shoulder cut provided just the right amount of sex appeal. The high-quality material was super comfortable and the dress stayed wrinkle-free throughout the evening. I felt incredibly sophisticated in this dress and I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again. TIP: The side arm cut-out of this dress is pretty deep and it prevents you from being able to wear a strapless bra. I have a relatively small chest and felt comfortable going bra-less for this event. However, if you have a larger chest, you may have issues with "side boob." Happy renting! xo. Kristin
Jocelyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Beautiful dress that's easy to dance around in!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 4 and 6 fit both fit, with marginal differences between the two but I opted for the 6 just because it was a wedding and I didn't want to look too risque with a super form-fitting dress. The color in person is very similar to the picture- bold but not flashy. The material was stretchy, and pretty forgiving in my opinion although there was just a tiny bit of fabric that puckered at the end of the zipper in the back. I'm not sure if that's a defect, or just the unfortunate result of having no butt. I didn't let the neckline lay flat against/horizontally across like its shown on the model, but rather let it sit a little higher, creating a faux- semi- cowl neck which I liked a lot better. I have broad shoulders so I thought I'd play around with the straps. Overall, this was such a fun dress to wear and super easy to dance/move around in! Would definitely recommend it.
Christina
Age: 29
Sep 2, 2014

Dress was fun to dance in!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very fitted but was comfortable because of the stretch fabric. Felt beautiful in it!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 148 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

LOVED THIS DRESS!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was actually my second choice, but when I put it one I fell in love. The fit is true to size, the material is stretchy and comfortable. I got compliments all night. I would absolutely rent this dress again.
Kyla
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Sep 6, 2014

Red is the New Black Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the 0 and the 2 based on other reviews of the dress because I was unsure how tightly the material would fit. I am normally a 0, and this size worked beautifully! I didn't have any trouble moving around or sitting and it was extremely breathable and comfortable! The fold over on the top was very chic--I wore minimal jewelry. It did not constrict my arms like other wearers complained of in other reviews. If I didn't already have a ton of pictures in the dress I would consider renting it again!
Tirena
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

Simple clean lines and a snug fit make this dress elegant and sexy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits best off the shoulder for that old Hollywood style. The waist has clean lights that are fitted. The material does provide enough stretch. I have a curvy back side and small waist the dress fits like a glove. Fashion tape is recommended if you plan on dancing in this dress. Overall appropriately length and form fitting.
lexi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Sep 9, 2014

Very comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Only reason this dress isn't 5 stars is because it doesn't sit we'll on my shoulders and I constantly have to pull it down. The material and fit was vey comfortable!
AP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

Loved this dress- great for dinner and a show!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Gorgeous! The shoulder part was a little restrictive at times-- probably not a good dress if you're conscious of that part of your body (especially side view of arms for pictures as it tends to flatten them), but definitely a sexy dress with thick, flattering material (no bra needed!). My favorite RTR experience so far!
Juno
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

lots of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit well, looked new, only issue was the side boob problem and it was difficult to raise my arms while wearing the dress when trying to put my hair up.
Brittany
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 14, 2014

Extremely comfortable so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable-a little too much shown under the arm (side boob) great otherwise. Wore the size 8 for more room
Kat
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 14, 2014

I wore this dress for my engagement party and absolutely loved it! I got compliments all night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress hit to about mid thigh so it was modest but sexy. The material is nice and stretchy but it did wear spans underneath just to be safe. My only complaint is that the dress rode up while I walked but it wasn't a huge deal.
bridget
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

My husband loved having me on his arm in this little number.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. At my age, there aren't many body parts that you feel good showing off. I like my shoulders, and this was a great dress for showing off the shoulders. I normally wear a 12 and the 12 fit me just fine. The only issue I had was that the top of the dress seemed to fall down a little and pool a little at the top of the bustline. I solved the problem with fashion tape. I needed it around the top in the front and the back. This may be because I'm a little bustier than the model in the picture, not sure. I was going to advise Spanx, but honestly, if you have a young body, the dress itself could probably hold whatever you need held in. I had so much fun with this, can't wait for my next event.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

Bright red! Fun dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved wearing this bright red dress to a summer wedding. The material is well-made, thick and stretchy. I wore spanx and a sticky bra to avoid seeing any material come thorough on the sides and smooth out as it's body-hugging. I am typically a 4 on top, 6 on bottom (more pear shaped) and chose the 6 as the 4 was tight around my hips. Fun, standout dress! Would rent again.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to a fundraiser gala in Boston in September. The 0 fit perfectly - the dress is stretchy but the material is thick and supportive. I have a smaller waist and a bit of a butt, so the stretchiness was key. The dress did ride up a bit when I was walking, but I feel like most form fitting dresses do. I had also ordered the size 2 but it was loose/rumpled around my stomach and hips, and although the 0 was tight, it was the better fit. Small price to pay for a gorgeous sexy dress! I thought that the top was supposed to be folded down, but the tag is actually in the way to really do this, so I think the key to avoiding side boob is just pulling the dress up high enough. I wore a regular strapless bra underneath and it was fine. I had no problem dancing or moving my arms. My date loved it and I got many compliments at the event. Size down if you want a tighter/smoother fit.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

Stunning dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits true to size. My only issue was that it would ride up so it became a little shorter than I would prefer when I was walking and dancing. I'm 5'7 so this was mainly because I'm tall. Dress is gorgeous, and despite being a 'little red dress' managed to look extremely classy as well. Definitely recommended!
Cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

Dress in great shape despite popularity!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit true to size and looked new! I was going to wear the 6 but the arm part was too loose and showed bra. It was very comfortable.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Sep 29, 2014

Great color!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly and was flattering. A little hard to lift your arms but it is a great dress!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 29, 2014

Such a beautiful dress! Very flattering, classy, and elegant .

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First RTR rental ever.:)The dress was very well-made! Fantastic quality. The way the material is cut around the waist is very slimming! It gives the illusion of a smaller waist! The off-the-shoulder look was beautiful, however, the straps kept coming up above my shoulders. It was still beautiful though. It was so sad to send this dress back.
Nareeya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

RTR was on point with delivery

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This fits me like a glove. The top was abit restricting if you are trying to dance in this but other than that I felt classy and sexy at the same time. I had pasties on for the "girls" . It wasn't skin tight and still gives me curves. Loved the dress which I could keep it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×