Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$134 to buy
$475 retail
Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
493 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(315)
Small
(76)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 3, 2016
Sexy and Comfy
Loved this dress and so did my husband. Fabric is stretchy and hugs you. Perfect for a night out on the town.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 5, 2016
Rented for a summer wedding in LA
I LOVED this dress! It is true to size and so comfortable! The material is that kind of stretchy material that hugs your. Pay in a flattering way. The dress was a great length for me because I don't like anything to short. I was even able to wear my baby in her Ergo and dance with her. Again, love this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Age: 20
November 7, 2016
Red Dress Date Night!
The dress was true to size and very comfy! Felt great about it. The top was a little big, but if I was bigger chested it would probably fill it out! Would highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Weight: 140lbs
November 22, 2016
Very form fitting dress
Ended up wearing a different dress that I ordered because it was fit better. This dress fit and would've been great for a fancy date night, but it fit tight across my bum and seemed a little snug for the holiday party we attended. Arm straps were very stretchy and comfortable, but they popped over my shoulders when I raised my arms. Since the fit was tight across my bum, the zipper kinda poked out from my body and didn't lie flat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2016
Beautiful dress but runs small
This dress does not lie! It is a beautiful color and sexy fit but it runs very,very small. I am usually a size 4 and the size 6 was too tight to wear. Thankfully RTR has great customer service and was able to help me find a new dress. This dress would be best on a very thin body type.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
July 20, 2016
I had a wonderful night dancing the night away at a Chicago summer wedding.
This dress is the perfect medium between classy and sexy. The fabric is thick and just has that quality look to it. Only issue is that it came smelling a bit weird. I wish I could've found the right shapewear to hold in my tummy, but I ended up just wearing some high-rise panties to smooth out the lines. I rarely can find a sheath or body-con dress that looks right on me, so I was impressed with how flattering this dress was. No regrets on renting this one, I got plenty of compliments!
RTR CustomerDecember 2, 2016
did you wear a bra?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2016
The dress was perfect for the occasion!
Pros: The cut of the dress is super flattering. The length is good for a cocktail dress, and I didn't really have to worry about pulling it down/adjusting all night. Cons: the shoulder straps are a little hard to get to stay put. Snug fit- would definitely recommend going seamless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 19, 2016
Beautiful cut and color
I liked this dress a lot and felt sexy but elegant in it. The material is stretchy and very comfortable, the color is lovely. I wish that an 8 had been available - the 6 fit me like a glove, but I think that an 8 would have skimmed my curves instead of hugging them. I also felt like I was tugging the 6 down each time I stood up. Note that the dropped shoulders kinda limit how much you can move your arms. If you raise them to high, it throws the whole neckline out of alignment.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
December 20, 2016
The dress was sooo very comfortable. I loved the fit and color.
Amazing dress. I would definitely recommend renting this dress. Runs a bit big. Very high quality design and materials.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2017
Loved the color and shape of this dress! Very slim fitting but still flattering.
This dress ending up being a great NYE party dress - the red is really eye catching and I felt sexy but still classy. It was the perfect length for my height and I normally wear a size 4 but it wasn't available so the 6 ending up working just fine. The fabric is pretty thin and stretchy but very tight and shows every curve. I think because I had to go a size up it fit a little large in some areas (arm holes and back). The band across the arms does constrict you which definitely limited the dance moves but overall, great dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Age: 28
January 29, 2017
This dress was amazing! It fit great and the fabric makes this dress so comfortable.
The only con is that I have to send this back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 22, 2017
The dress is elegant on its own and was easy to pair with whatever I wanted!
The shoulders didn't stay down the whole time, I had to readjust a couple of times throughout the night while I was dancing. Besides that it was a great fit.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
April 8, 2017
Red dress was a hit
I rented this for an evening event, and it's the perfect dress for cocktail attire events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
This dress is a perfect mix of classy & sexy
I tend to find that HH runs smaller than other brands and I usually size between a 4-6. If you are in between sizes, I would recommend sizing up. This HH dress allows for you to alternate styles - creating a different neckline and look each time. i went with the classic winner, off the shoulders so that I could pair it with my favorite Kenneth Jay Lane Clear Drop Earrings (a loved rental, later purchased) to make that statement I wanted without taking away a single ounce of class. I recommend if you are body conscious in any way, to wear Spanx, and still be ready to show some curves- not as much as a bandage but the material is slightly revealing. Bust size was a non issue and neither was length for me. The only down fall that I would point out, is that the ability to style the dress 3 different ways makes it hard to do a lot of activity i.e. dancing and keep the dress positioned where you want it. The off the shoulder look rides up & the back of the dress may bunch with movement. In my opinion, this dress is better suited for a cocktail event rather than, say, a wedding. All in all, I loved the dress and received tons of compliments. I would absolutely rent in the future and try pairing it with different jewelry, shoes, and bag to complete an entirely different look.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 20, 2012
This dress is great because the sleeves can be worn three different ways.
This is a great red color. Spanx would be great with it. My bra showed a bit under the arms.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2012
Gorgeous color, amazing fit and looked great with my skin tone.
Originally ordered a different dress then promptly changed my mind, I emailed RTR and Emily got in touch with me the very next morning. I was lucky enough that the Halston dress was available in my size. I wanted a sz 6 but Emily said the dress runs small so an 8 it was. The dress was made of stretchy fabric, it looked meh on the hanger but as soon as I put it on it looked and felt amazing. It was true to size, I could've fit in the 6 but would've looked like a stuffed sausage. The 8 was perfect (thanks Emily!). It was perfect for the gala I went to, it was very comfortable and most importantly, I could breathe! I would have given it a 5, except the sleeves kept riding up and not staying put where I wanted them to be. So I kept fussing with it all night. I have no idea if a double stick tape would have worked, but I mean, other than that it was PERFECT! Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2012
Shoulders are too high maintenance for me. The rest of the dress fits amazing.
The rest of the fit of the dress was amazing, but the shoulders were just not working for me. The shoulder fold is not sown. The tag is options to wear the dress in different ways. I attempted wearing it as in the picture but it kept coming unfolded. I tried some of the other options and none of it was working for me. This is too high maintenance for me but for someone creative and some pins on hand could wear this well. Also the arm holes came really low on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
September 24, 2012
I received compliments all night, & truly felt stunning!
The 10 fit great, but I was worried about the arm wholes as they were a little big and I would occasionally have to adjust to make sure the side of my breast wasn't showing. The dress is a great color and the fabric is stretchy. Other than that the dress was perfect! When I first opened the box I wasn't sure if I liked the dress, but as soon as I put it on I knew it would be amazing! It's truly a classic! I will definitely rent this dress again! Thank you RTR for a wonderful dress!
KatieDecember 5, 2012
What kind of bra did you wear?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
October 7, 2012
Love!
This dress fits true to size!! I am a size 0 and it fit perfectly. I had to wear a strapless slip underneath because the definition of the bra showed. and so did pasties.I used double stick tape for the straps(which i recommend), I got lots of compliments!!
RTR CustomerNovember 11, 2012
Did you have to shorten the hem? I am 5'0 and concerned that this dress might be too long for me.
RTR CustomerNovember 13, 2012
Hi! I am only 5'1" and wore this dress a few weeks ago. I simply rolled the dress under and it was the perfect length!
cDecember 7, 2012
I'm 5'1 (and a little) and the dress hits me right above the knee -- fashion tape or rolling under would hold perfect if you wanted it shorter.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2012
A fabulous Dress!!
The dress is beautiful. There is no stretch in the fabric so if you have bigger bust or butt you will need to go up a size. When you do you will feel it is a little looser on the top area so the sleeves will need tape or safety pins. The arm holes near the bust are a bit oversized and have the potential to show side breast. You should also note it will show every line so watch those undergarments girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2012
Gorgeous, but didn't like the fit
The color was beautiful, but I really did not like the neckline. Even though I used Fashion Tape to keep the neck fabric folded, it still kept moving around so I had to constantly fiddle with it. My waist is relatively small (25"), so the dress had a tendency to ride up and wrinkle in that area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 162lbs
October 17, 2012
Great dress but just not the perfect!
I am normally a 10 but I ordered the 10 and 12 as I didnt want it to be too tight for the date since it was afterwork. Unfortunately, a size 11 (if there were such a thing) would have been just right. The 10 was too tight more for a party and the 12 while it fit didn't stay in place as it could have. Overall, the dress turned heads but I was aiming to "snap a few necks". Great coloring, fabric, length! Just chose the wrong dress for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
October 26, 2012
Great color
The red is very bright and fun but the dress was not as sexy or flattering as I hoped. The sleeves are a bit awkward and make it hard to move. Lookswise, they seem almost too thick or too thin (you can fold them in half to make them thinner). Stil, it's a very fun dress and might be cuter on someone a bit less curvy than me. Ran very true to size.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 28, 2012
Great dress!
This was my first rental. Loved the dress along with my RTR experience (stellar customer service!!). The dress does run small and is VERY fitted. The straps didn't stay put with all my moving around/dancing. If I could do it all again I would have put some fabric tape to use! Overall I was pleased and would order again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2012
Considering dropping the retail price for this dress, that is how much I LOVE IT!
Received compliments all night because of this dress. Fits beautifully, my only complaint is that it is hard to dance in because of the band around the shoulders/arms, but that is a con I was willing to deal with. Loved every moment in this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 1, 2012
Great red dress!!
Stunning dress and received lots of compliments, but the fold over at the top did not stay which got a little frustrating.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2012
COMPLIMENTS ALL NIGHT AT SCHOOL AUCTION!
This was actually my back-up dress, because it was a formal auction, so I thought I would be wearing a long gown... But as soon as I tried this on, I knew it was the dress for the night. It is completely appropriate, yet hugs your curves for sex appeal. The color popped in a room full of dark colors, and I couldn't go more than a few minutes without receiving compliments. I read the reviews that this would run small, but I felt it was true to size. I wore a slimmer underneath just to emphasize the curves. Overall, the dress rocks, and I would HIGHLY recommend it for others.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
November 5, 2012
I am not sure this is a dress for a petite woman.
It bunched to much, didn't like the fabric and the shoulder piece needed constant adjusting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
November 11, 2012
This dress was AMAZING. I received nonstop compliments all night.
I wore this to a casino night gala, and it was the absolute perfect dress for the occasion. Most women wore black or sequin dresses and the red makes you stand out. I'm tall (5'9") so a lot of dresses tend to be short on me, but this dress was the perfect length for a formal event, ending just above the knee. It does ride up so you end up having to pull it down if you get up from sitting, but that wasn't an issue. I did some dancing in it, but it's not a great dress for dancing since it's very tight. I have to add that the neckline is beautiful. In terms of sizing, I am normally between a 4 and a 6, so I ordered both and I ended up wearing the 6. If you have a big chest or a big butt (I am the latter), you end up having to size up. I wore a NuBra, although I could have gone without a bra and worn nipple concealers. I paired the dress with the Diane von Furstenberg leopard clutch from RTR, which I also got tons of compliments on, and nude pumps by Jessica Simpson. Overall, an AMAZING dress!! I'm renting it again for my boyfriend's company holiday party!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
What an amazing dress!!!
This dress really turned out amazing!!! It was my first time renting from RTR. I ordered both the 2 and the 4, but went with the 2. It conforms to your body really well, but is surprisingly super comfortable. I didn't have any problems with the straps like I read some other ladies did, but fashion tape is always a good option to keep them in place. I wore this to a black tie event, and the red color was great to stand out in sea of lots of black dresses. The dress arrived right on time and everything with RTR was super easy! I will definitely be renting again :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 17, 2012
Erin was so great and helpful!
This dress fits perfectly! I ordered the size 0 and it was Definitely true to size. It looked great on and the color was fun and vibrant. However, the material is starting to become a bit fuzzy probably from overuse/cleaning. But that is hardly noticeable unless you are close. I did not end up wearing this dress because of the inside detailing of the end of the zipper (the bottom area)-- the "boning" of the zipper made an awkward lump or bump which made me look like I have a mini tail at the bottom of my back. Otherwise, the dress would have been perfect!.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
November 22, 2012
This dress wasn't too over the top for my 22nd birthday filled with bar hopping and it looked great!
It was kind of annoying how the straps didn't stay down most of the time (like they are in the pic) but overall this dress was really fun! Gorgeous color and loved the length. Looked really great with a zillion accessories!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 26, 2012
The cherry red color really made an impact.
This dress is stunning, but it runs small and isn't lined. I was particularly annoyed that it wasn't lined, as the other Halston Heritage dress I have rented was thoroughly lined. Good thing I ordered both a 4 and a 6; in other brands and styles a 4 can be a bit big, but this brand seems to run rather small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
December 2, 2012
Made me stand out in a sea of black dresses!
Love this dress! The material is comfortable and stretchy. The off the shoulder straps make the dress sexy but the dress is long enough (even at my height) that it is still conservative. Perfect for a cocktail party or formal function. The only con is that you absolutely need fashion tape if you want the straps to stay folded down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 7, 2012
Great color, thick, stretchy fabric, and great silhouette
For a night of dancing, the sleeves were a bit tricky. They kept sliding up my shoulders. But otherwise it was a great dress that was form-fitting but not too revealing. Iit was tight enough that I didn't need to wear a bra, but for those who do, you might want a stick on/backless one. The way the dress is cut might expose a traditional strapless bra under your arms.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
December 8, 2012
RED HOT!
I love, love, love, LOVE this dress. When I first put it on I was nervous it made my hips look big but let me tell you....try it n a second time and you will be in love. I wore it with black strappy shoes and long black earrings for my black tie formal. MAKE SURE YOU FOLD THE STRAP THAT GOES AROUND YOUR SHOULDERS DOWN!!!!! It makes a huge difference. Some of the reviews said the armpit holes were huge but when you fold the shoulders down like the model it totally solves the problem and makes the proportions on the dress so much better. Also, I wore a stick on bra the just covers the front. This prevented me from puling up my bra all night. I ordered the 2 and 4 and the 4 was to baggy around my waist. I wore the 2 and it fit perfect. The dress was right above my knees which was perfect because it added some elegance to such a sexy dress. Some reviews say it rides up and it does but it was totally worth it. I put fashion tape on the side of my arms to keep the straps down and it worked really well. I felt great in it all night! Definitely a show stopper and looks fab in pictures...I was too busy having fun showing off my dress to take any :(
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 8, 2012
I felt amazing in this dress and received compliments all night!
It was the perfect dress for a work holiday party - sexy yet classy. My usual size is a 0 and the 0 fit well. The straps didn't bother me too much like other reviewers mentioned, but my one issue with the dress was that it was a bit bunchy at the bottom and rippled a bit even when I stood up straight and pulled the dress down.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2012
Slim and sexy
This dress fit perfect!! Made out of nice fabric, pretty color, and it is really slimming. Only thing you have to watch out for is the arm hole so it doesn't show your bra or too much side-boob. The off-the shoulder look was so fun and I had no problems with the fabric slipping as noted in some other reviews.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
December 10, 2012
I needed a dress that was fun, yet not too sexy, for a cocktail party. This dress was perfect.
I was between a size 4 and a 6, but ultimately went with the 4 since the 6 was too large in the sleeves chest. Received tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
Great Color!
I really loved this dress, it fit great. The only downside were the strap, they kept riding up but that probably something that will always happen wearing a dress like this. But I still loved it!
See more reviews:
2 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×