Smooth Operator Sheath

$134 to buy
$475 retail
Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
491 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(315)
Small
(75)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 2, 2013
Fun, vibrant color for NYE's!
At first I wasn't sure about this dress because it's pretty tight and showed my tummy a little bit. I threw on my spanx and felt much more comfortable. I couldn't decided which size to wear because I felt more comfortable in the 12, but the 12 was a little too big in the arms and chest. I ended up wearing the 10 and got a lot of compliments on the dress. The color was fun and stood out. Another successful RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 2, 2013
Great NYE dress, and everyone loved the red.
I ordered a 4 and a 6 just in case. The dress fit perfectly in the size 4. I wore a strapless and backless bra which I recommend since the cutout at the sides shows one that clasps at the back. The dress was good quality material and a perfect length for a night on the town. I wore it for New Years Eve and got a lot of compliments everywhere I went. I paired the dress with 'Dress Me Up Earring' and it looked great. If you have a butt like me, the dress will have a bit of a bunch where the zipper lays but it's not enough to return the dress. I wish I could buy this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 2, 2013
NYE Red
I ordered the 0 and the 2 for New Years Eve. I put on the 2 at first but the 0 made me feel so much more comfortable and more of my size. The dress is beautiful and I don't regret getting it but I didn't love it like I did with some other dresses I've rented. You need to take photos looking straight at the camera because the side of the dress is a little awkward (just look at other photos). The red is beautiful and will make you stand out in a sea of black dresses. Great material as well, super comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2013
Good date night or girls' night out dress.
I wore this dress to toasting party. I got a lot of compliments on the dress. The length and fit was good, however I would suggest it for a less formal event. The color did not seem as vibrant as the picture. I did not have an issues with "side boob" :) It did bunch a little.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2013
The color and fit of this dress was spectacular.
The material is really stretchy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 10, 2013
Showstopping red dress
This dress is TIGHT. Be prepared to make a statement. That being said, it's beautiful and certainly eye catching. Just make sure you're comfortable being the center of attention all night before putting this on!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
January 12, 2013
Wore it do a black-tie Deb Ball
Great fit and very flattering
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
January 16, 2013
I found fun, sexy, comfortable dress to hostess a holiday party
I ordered the 4 and the 6 - both fit. The snugness of the 4 worked better for me though without spandex I'm more comfortable in a 6 (I'm older). The shoulder line/strap was challenging but controllable. I got compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 20, 2013
LOVE Rent the Runway! Such an awesome website.
This dress fit like a glove! This was my first RTR experience. They are awesome and very helpful. I loved this dress. I wore it to a Winter Gala. I thought it might be too long and go past my knees. However, once it came in it was the perfect length. I will definitely be using RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2013
Jessica Rabbit!
Fit was the perfect combination of body-con and flattering. It has less hold than a Herve dress, but still keeps you tucked in. Lots of other users have commented on the straps - they don't stay down like the model in the main picture, but I wore one up and one down and I think it was the perfect amount of 90s-throwback sexy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 22, 2013
I received so many complements in this dress! The red color really caught people's attention!
Fit was great! The fabric was nice because it was tight, but it really sucked you in, so you could eat/drink comfortably in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 27, 2013
This dress made me feel really sexy!
I loved this dress. Surprisingly, it has a lot of stretch in the material, which is great if you're like me and are hosting a party. You can bend down, pick things up, run to get extra chairs, etc. This dress is also surprisingly very sexy. I didn't realize it would be so short -- still, I sucked it up and strutted my stuff!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
My boyfriend LOVED the dress, and I stood out the whole night wearing red!
I am typically a 4, but I ordered a 4 and a 6 just in case the fit was too tight. In hind sight, I could have probably even rocked a 2 (so I would order your second size down, not up). The dress is very tight fitting and really shows off your shape. LOVED the color, loved the style. I wore this for a sorority formal and spent the whole night dancing, and the dress is great for lots of movement and dancing...very giving. My only issue was I am a big busted woman, and the armpit holes of the dress come down pretty far, almost causing some side boob issues for me, which I am really self conscious about. So I wouldn't necessarily recommend the dress for other large chested women.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 5, 2013
So many great complements
It is meant to fit tight so be confident and get spanx!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 6, 2013
This dress definitely turns heads!
This dress was an absolute dream. It hugged every curve (thank you Spanks) and the off-shoulder neckline was subtly sexy. If you're body conscious this isn't the dress for you, but if you want something to help get you noticed then this is definitely your dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2013
Hot dress, effortless style
Flattering and perfect fit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
February 15, 2013
I wore this dress for vday 2013 for first vday with my guy and it was great! Heads turned all night!
LOVE this material. Feels great on and to touch. Nice and thick material too. I wore a size 6, which bunch ed alittle in the back, but for me it was better to do the 6 instead of the 4. But the 4 also fit. I didn't have the side boob problem, and i actually wore a strapless shaper slip under it. So it worked perfectly. My guy loved it and thought I looked amazing! One woman even gave me the dirtiest look I've ever seen! Which is good, i guess!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
February 18, 2013
Great for a date
Perfect dress for a dinner date. Although you may want to cut back on how much you eat. Tiiiight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 19, 2013
Beautiful dress. Tons of compliments. Perfect for Valentine's Day!
I normally wear a size 8 dress, but the 8 was a little baggy and folded in funny places. The 6 worked out perfectly. I recommend adding an accessory like a brooch or big necklace to break up the red a bit, otherwise it is a little plain for my taste. Some shapewear will go a long way in this dress as well. Although I'm not wearing shoes in the picture, I wore strappy, black heels. Pairing it with nude heels would look really cute, too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 19, 2013
I was Sizzling!!!!
My Boyfriend loved, loved me in this dress. It hugged my petite frame perfectly. I wore it for Valentine's day and I got so many compliments from family and even strangers in the restuarant! RTR customer service is top-notch!! I got the free shipping for Valentines day and it made my day! Thanks so much and this will not be my last rental!! I think I have another party coming up.....hmmmm...I wonder what I will wear!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 19, 2013
Sooo many compliments - I wore this for my rehearsal dinner and felt amazing!
The cut around the armpit is a little awkard - invest in sticky boobs otherwise your bra will show! I ordered the 2 and 0 and thought it ran a little big but was pretty true to size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 20, 2013
Wore this dress to the French Embassy and LOVED IT!
Fit like a glove; a little tight in the bust but was a comfortable dress. Was able to dance and eat all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 21, 2013
This was my first time renting from RTR and it was not bad...
The fit was slimming..I have an athletic body type and curvy at the bottom;so no issue with the arms !! it stayed put the entire night. Hubby said I looked hot. Thank you
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2013
The perfect balance of classy and sexy. I fit right in at my law school's annual ball!
Usually I wear a 6, but given how stretchy this dress is, I wore a 4. Even the 4 had a little gathered fabric in it at places, so I actually wished I had ordered a size 2 and 4, instead of a size 4 and 6, just to see if running even one size lower would have made the dress look as smooth as it did on the model. Maybe my body type had something to do with it? Idk. But it may have also been because the dress rode up a little bit from moving - I should have put some fashion tape down there to help things out. Another thing to be cautious about - I tried all kinds of underwear with this dress and even my tiniest items showed lines through the dress. I didn't wear any spanx, so maybe that would have helped. On the upside, I did not have ANY issues with the arm holes, like other reviewers did. I wore my regular strapless bra and had absolutely no problem. I also took other reviewers' advice and preemptively lined the folded down shoulder area with fashion tape, and had no problem at any point in the night with it flipping up. Overall, SO happy I got this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 25, 2013
I loved this dress so much I actually found it online and purchased it!
Fits true to size. Snug and sexy.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 28, 2013
Great dress! Loved the color and the fit, especially as my boyfriend proposed
The fit is true. The material is stretchy so it fit a little snug but not so tight that I couldn't breathe. There are so many options with this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
March 12, 2013
everything
fit great though it showed all the imperfections! it was beautiful and i felt great. The only thing though was the shoulder straps hindered my dancing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 14, 2013
backup dress
I rented this for a backup dress but I ended up wearing the Nicole Miller long sleeved lace dress (perfect!). This dress was a bit plain and fit odd. I was underwhelmed by the fit, and it looked a bit cheap on me. However, I have to say it looked beautiful on some of the other girls in the reviews and on the model. I couldnt wear this but maybe a girl with skinnier arms would be more flattered.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 22, 2013
A night to remember, or not - because I was long gone already in da photo!
Very flattering yet elegant red dress for my birthday dinner and party! Tight enough to show some curves but it is stretchy and comfortable too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 31, 2013
Difficult to wear
The dress was beautiful standing still but wasn't very flattering and the straps rode up constantly! Uncomfortable on the arms as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 5, 2013
It was a great color!
I usually wear a 0 but this dress felt very tight in a 0 to the point where I didn't think I could sit comfortably at the wedding or dance! So I wore the 2 instead but it was a little bit too big and started bunching up at the wedding in the middle area (as you can see in the picture). If I had worn the 0, it might have stretched out through the night but it was so uncomfortable when I tried it on that I didn't want to take the risk! It still looked very nice but I wasn't the most comfortable in either size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 7, 2013
One of the best dresses I have rented
I wore this dress for an engagement party and it fit beautifully. I loved the fabric and I got a lot of compliments on it. The color is much prettier in person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
April 23, 2013
Awesome!! Got so many compliments on this dress. Sexy but classy. Highly recommend it!
I usually wear a 4, but the 6 was more comfortable across the bust area. The material was stretchy, so very comfortable. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2013
"That dress was magical"-my date
Loved this dress!! Hugged in all the right places. I am smaller on top with a much curvier bottom half (32" chest, 27" waist, 40" hips). It has a great amount of stretch- could dance, sit, eat, and drink comfortably all night. My only compalint is that the "off the shoulder" look was hard to keep in place. I eneded up using small safty pins around the interior to make sure it stayed in place. i highly recommend this dress; the fit and color were a huge hit!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2013
Beautiful, classic dress!
I loved this dress and got so many compliments on it. I wore it for a semi-formal awards event with nude pumps and it was perfect! It fit amazingly (though I would recommend some Spanx, as it is very fitted in the hips) and was super comfortable. The only thing that may be a little annoying would be if you were trying to do a lot of dancing in this dress- the off-the-shoulder sleeves kinda limit your moves. Overall, I LOVED this dress and wish I could buy it! More fit notes: it does DEFINITELY show off your curves and is pretty fitted. I am pretty pear shaped and it was definitely hugging on my hips (in a good way). You'll want to wear a sticky bra, because you do get a little sideboob action and a regular bra would show (you can see in the third picture).
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2013
Amazing dress! I actually ended up buying it! Makes you stand out in the crowd.
This dress runs a tad small, so opt for a size up. I usually wear a size 2, sometimes even a size 0, and I ended up going with a size 4. It was very comfortable and fits to your shape. I highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2013
Hot dress...
WOW! What a dress...still getting compliments (especially from guys!) 5 months after the formal. Definitely more form-fitting than I though it would be, but hugs the curves in all the right places...was a little constricting in the shoulder/ arm area but didn't really bother me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 13, 2013
This dress is fantastic!
I ended up wearing my second style dress to the Valentine's Day Party I went to, but only because the other dress was a little more "office party appropriate." This dress is SEXY!!!! Wear it out for your boyfriend or husband. Render him speechless all night long. I will rent this one again! It does run small, this was the first time my back up size fit (I rented a zero and a two, and the two fit better.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
May 28, 2013
Perfection!!!!!
This dress fit like a glove and the length was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 3, 2013
Beautiful dress and color.
Like the other reviewers, the band across the shoulder may come up while dancing.
See more reviews:
2 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×