Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Rocket In the Sky Dress

$65 rental
$375 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Cocktail chic...with a twist! This dress by Halston Heritage is a surefire conversation-starter that will have you feeling fashion-forward. Simply add Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Entrancing Emerald Necklace.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Fitted at bust - recommended for cup sizes A to D
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Fitted at bust - recommended for cup sizes A to D
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple ombre jacquard (72% polyester, 28% nylon). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

187 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 126
Large 34
Photos 80
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 1, 2013

Great, trendy dress for a wonderful night!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding where I knew the guests would be well dressed and oozing with style and class. I felt so confident and comfortable and received compliments left and right the entire night. The dress was great for dancing since it flares out below the waist line. I did wear a minimizing undershirt underneath and I would suggest the same for other women who have a full bust. I had such a great first experience with RTR and I can't wait for the next occasion to use them again!
Lady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

Cute Enough

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I received this dress as part of a Fit Pack. The dress is adorable, but the size they sent was big on me. Thus, I looked a little like I was playing dress up. I wouldn't personally rent this, but I think in the right size, on the right girl, this is a classy cute number.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

Fantastic for a winter wedding! It's slimming and a great color.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rent this dress...you'll love it!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 12, 2013

Comfortable, structured, contemporary dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My husband received an award at an architecture convention, so I wanted something a little funky and unique for the banquet. This dress definitely fit the bill. I ordered the 2 and 4 and, while both fit well, I opted for the 2 due to fit in the bust. The skirt bells out, but isn't over the top. That along with the sleeves made it have a bit of a Judy Jetson/futuristic feel which my husband thought was great. I got tons of compliments on both the dress and necklace (Badgley Mischka) all night. To top it off, it was an extremely comfortable outfit, especially since you can wear a regular bra with it. My only complaint is that the pockets in the front poked out a bit when I sat down and looked a little strange, but it wasn't anything too distracting.
Kate
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

Classy and gorgeous

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress and got tons of compliments. The color and thicker fabric were perfect for a fall wedding. The higher neckline and skirt shape made it a bit more conservative than I was expecting, but I quickly got over it. I'm usually between a 6 or 8 and sized down so the dress would be fitted in the upper body. Length was perfect for me (I'm on the taller side). This was my first RTR experience and it was awesome!
ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 17, 2013

Not great for busty girls

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This gress came in my fit pack or else I probably wouldnt have rented it. I was not a fan. The material was kinda weird- the purple turned black and greyish depending on where you shifted (kind of like those cars that change colors) It looked weird on my chest... I just had a baby and am far more busty than usual. This dress was far too Jane Jetson for my taste
Priscilla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 23, 2013

My husband wanted me to buy this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Absolutely gorgeous. The color is actually an extremely rich purple, even though the camera flash makes it seem almost blue. Absolutely flattering!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

Figure flattering elegance

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fabulous! It was so flattering and elegant - perfect for a black tie optional wedding. I added accessories from Charming Charlie and was set for the night. I did go one size up based on reviews and needed it for my bust. First time in awhile I haven't worn my Spanx tummy tucker and was happy to be breathing easy but still feel great! One tiny drawback is that the boning structure of the dress did rub little raw spots on my back. Nothing awful but sensitive skin may fare worse. If I'd worn my spanx there would have been no issue.
Danielle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Best Fall dress for an afternoon into evening wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit my curvy short frame perfectly. The purple jewel tone looked amazing and I got a ton of compliments on not wearing a little black dress. My friend borrowed my back-up dress so everyone was thrilled.
Claire
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 111 lbs
Nov 5, 2013

This dress was perfect for an early November wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric was the perfect weight for a chilly fall wedding and the color was beautiful. It is a very vibrant purple in person and I loved the detail on the shoulders. I paired it with come black stockings and heeled booties and it was great! I rented a 0 & 2 and ended up wearing the 0. There was still a little bit of room, but it wasn't too big. It was nice wiggle room to eat tons of food at the reception! I got tons of compliments all night and everyone loved the dress :) So sad to send it back!!
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 9, 2013

Everyone commented on how beautiful this dress was!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered a 6 and asked RTR staff for advice on the backup size: they recommended a 4. I'm so glad they did! The 6 fit, but loosely enough that I could have used a belt--but the belt bunched up the fabric at the waist. The 4 was a little but snug across the bust, but otherwise fit like a glove. The fabric is lovely--textured almost like quilting--although the hem is very thick, which made it stiff, causing it not to hang in an easy circle. But it wasn't a big deal! And it looked great. I also loved the little slit pockets in the front.
caroline
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 9, 2013

Loved this dress! The color really stood out in a sea of black dresses!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful! The color is even more amazing in person. It definitely runs a bit large. I am usually a 4 or 6 in dresses and the 4 was just the tiniest bit big. The fabric of the dress is thicker (perfect for fall or winter events) so it actually looks better the snugger it is.
Sylvia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Love this dress! Perfect style for me who is a bit small up top and not so small below!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is a nice weight and has a wonderful hem line that gives the dress real substance. The fabric is a bit textured. The sleeves are perfect so I didn't need to worry about a bra strap showing since it came out far enough. Gave me a great waist and I felt beautiful!
AMY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

Love this dress! Rich color, full knee length skirt, classic!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress, the material, the rich purple color, the full skirt...I am a tall girl, and it was still just slightly above the knee for me. Love the subtle design at the bottom. The fit was just a SMIDGE large in the middle, but I much prefer that over too small, so I was fine with it. Perfect as a wedding guest dress!
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

The swishy bell shape of this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Everyone at the wedding loved this dress and asked me where I got it! So comfortable and chic for a winter wedding. I wore it with black suede pumps and a purple nylon clutch. I rented Dannijo Cecile earrings and they matched perfectly! It runs a little big, as I am usually a 4/6 and the 4 felt big on me. It was a great length for a wedding, very appropriate and lady-like! Would definitely recommend this style to a friend!
Joanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

Nice dress, I didn't love it.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit great but I just personally didn't love it. I didn't find it super flattering and it bunched up around my middle when I sat down. I found the pockets to be in a really bad spot if you actually wanted to put anything in them. It's well made and I wish they had my extra size because I think the 12 may have fit better.
hanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 13, 2013

Fun dress

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress that was appropriate for a work holiday party. Being rather tall I appreciated the dress coming to my knee.
Selena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Classic dress, great alternative to the little black dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my back up dress and my first experience with Rent the Runway. I loved this dress, but could only pick one! Fit perfectly! Classic beauty. I didn't get to wear it because I went with my first choice, but I will rent it again for another event!
Heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 21, 2013

Beautiful color, bust runs small

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I read the reviews and ordered a 6 and an 8 for a back-up. i ended up wearing the 6 with a minimizer bra. Even with that it tight across the bust line but not uncomfortable. The 8 was too big all over.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 186 lbs
Dec 21, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous for winter formal affair!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I've rented many RTR dresses and this one ranks definitely ranks in the top. The shimmery, heavier fabric were perfect for a winter evening wedding. The black embellishments add great detail and the deep purple were a great combo for my event. The dress fit like a glove. I'm typically a 12 all-around and it fit a tad snug up top, but it wasn't too tight to make me go up a size. The flare of the skirt worked great for my figure since I have a typical hourglass figure. The placement of the pockets were a bit funky for my taste and they didn't lay flat when seated. But standing, the dress hung beautifully and the pockets were unnoticeable. I worse opaque black tights and Stella & Dot accessories. Overall, I felt really glam and absolutely loved this dress!
Olie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 23, 2013

LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS DRESS!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my job's Christmas holiday party and it was a hit! Loved the dress! I got compliments from everyone! It was gorg! The deep purple, a color I usually don't wear complimented my skin tone perfectly! It was great form-fitting and classy! ! ! :) A def must rent!
Josie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 5, 2014

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I wore it to a winter wedding and received compliments all night long. The deep purple color is beautiful, but a little overwhelming, so I wore a black belt and a RTR bib necklace to break it up a bit. The fabric is thick and textured, which was great for a winter wedding. I rented a 12 and 14, but the 14 fit better in the bust and waist. I would definitely recommend it and would love to wear it again!
Ann
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 14, 2014

My husband I host the event for our Salon and Spa so the dress needs to be fashionable and fun.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I found the dress to be bright and stylish. The material did not wrinkle and was extremely comfortable to wear and to dance in.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

Loved that the dress looked different from everyone else

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress for an afternoon Bat Mitzvah. It was flirty and cote. Lived the little pockets. The color was my favorite. This dress looked expensive. Required very few accessories. It was a little big on me. I could have used the size 6 to get a true fit n flare .
Kris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 2, 2014

Elegant, comfortable and fashionable - all wrapped up into one!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress. I would agree that it is not as shimmery as it looks in the picture, more of a matte appearance. Very well made and the length was perfect on me (5'8). Loved the pockets in the front. I am in between a size 4 and size 6, I ended up wearing the 4 and it fit beautifully everywhere, especially in the bust area. I received many compliments and cannot stress how extremely comfortable this dress was. LOVED IT!
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 210 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

I got compliments all evening! People loved the color.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It's a beautiful dress! It was a bit tight around the midsection even though I was wearing Spanx, so in hindsight I could've worn my normal size 14 instead of the 12, but I think it was fine. I liked that it was a nice substantial fabric, but it didn't feel overly heavy or warm. One of my favorite features of the dress is that it has pockets!! You can't even really tell they're there until you feel for them, and they don't add any heft to the hips which is nice. For a girl with a little bit of tummy like I have, you'll definitely want some shapewear under, but the awesome thing is, that you can wear a regular bra with it!
Panda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Feb 16, 2014

This dress is gorgeous! I wore it to the Heart Ball and it was perfect.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
RTR was SO easy. I opted to get the free second size and am glad. The 4 fit but was a tad tight through my chest. I went with the 6 and it was perfect. The dress is a gorgeous color, the material is very nice. What a great overall experience and dress. It's one that I know if I tried it on in a store, I'd be hard-pressed to find a reason not to buy even though I don't have many opportunities to wear it.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

Wore this dress to a school auction . It was perfect for a semi-formal conservative event.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Liked the fit of the dress up top but felt that the torso part was a little short for me. The dress does bunch up around the hips when you sit. Over all I was happy with the dress and everyone loved it on me. My friend in the picture is also wearing a RTR dress!
RTR Customer
Mar 24, 2014

RTR did a wonderful job of getting me a different size at the last minute!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I found the dress to fit a bit on the small side. I wear an 8 in virtually every brand I shop but the 8 was a bit tight through the rib cage and chest. (I'm a 36 C) after reading all the reviews I got a 6 and 8 because the dress supposedly ran big. After trying it on I called RTR and they overnighted me the 10. I was amazed by their level of service and would definitely recommend them over and over again. The dress itself was an interesting fabric and I got multiple compliments on the ombré effect it gives off.
MIchelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 11, 2014

Great dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my boyfriends work Holiday dinner. Was very comfortable and would definitely rent this one again. Runs a little big.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
May 3, 2014

Perfection!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for an Alz. assoc. fundraising event, cocktail attire. The dress is kind of a funky, silky fabric, like nice curtains, which sounds awful, but was pretty cool. It was flattering and lies well without wrinkling like mad. I'm between a 12 and 14, and went with the 14 for better fit around the bust and lower belly. It gapped ever so slightly around the neck, but if I stood straight with my shoulders back, you didn't notice it. I have very white legs that are a little beat up from hiking and gardening so I opted for sheer black hose and black pumps and it looked great. Another great rental from RTR and I look forward to my next rental!!
abbyjp
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2014

Dancing the night away!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress! This was my first rental from RTR and it was a great experience. The dress came on time and it fit like a glove. It was a bit tight in the rib cage, but after an hour of wearing the dress it seemed to loosen up a bit which was more comfortable. There was some scratchiness from the stitching on the inside so I wore some spanx and it took care of it. I paired it with some Sam Edelman pointy toe & ankle strap pumps and a chunky necklace. I received SO many complements because the dress just looks like luxury and it is a nice thick fabric that is good for a nice smooth fit, plus it really accentuated my curves and I felt awesome in the dress. I'd love to wear it again!
heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 7, 2015

Great color and nice fabric

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Runs a bit large (I'm normally a size 4), but the 2 did the trick! Super cute and very flattering
Lindsey
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

I loved this dress and so did my Fiance. It was perfect for his work holiday party.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought I would need a 12, but ended up wearing the 10. It was somewhat tight in the top, but looked great. I felt pretty.
T
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Great classy dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Get the extra size - one size up. It is a great fitting dress and extremely classy. Eyes are all on you for the evening.
Andi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 24, 2015

Beautiful dress, but didn't fit very well.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress truly is beautiful. The color is stunning and the fabric is interesting and has a great texture. However, I was not a fan of the fit. It looks so fitted and snug on the model, and that's what I wanted. I had read in the reviews that it runs a bit big and I should size down, so I went down to a 2 (I'm normally a 4), but it was still loose. Apparently I should have gone with a 0.
Lorrie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2015

The dress was comfortable and light weight.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was true to size - not too short or long. The neck was a little higher than I anticipated.
Olivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 23, 2015

Wonderful fit

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to the ballet. Both sizes 8&10 fit. I opted for the 10 because it was more comfortable when I sat. I loved the richness of the material. I would recommend it to anyone.
Eileen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 26, 2015

Unfortunately, it was a different dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is really beautiful, but unfortunately it was too small in the bust area, and it doesn't have any stretch. It fit otherwise, and it made my waist look tiny!. I was sad to have to return it!
Lauren
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Jun 8, 2015

Beautiful color and cut- unique and made stand out

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The material was substantial, which I liked, but the bottom hem was stiff and hard to iron the wrinkle out that came with the dress when delivered.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×