Halston Heritage

Rocket In the Sky Dress

$65 rental
$375 retail
Stylist Notes

Cocktail chic...with a twist! This dress by Halston Heritage is a surefire conversation-starter that will have you feeling fashion-forward.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Fitted at bust - recommended for cup sizes A to D
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple ombre jacquard (72% polyester, 28% nylon). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
246 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(153)
Small
(27)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 11, 2014
Loved the dress. Many, many compliments. I will rent dresses form RTR in the future.
This dress fits true to size. I am only 5'2 and the length was sophisticated looking without being too short and sexy. It was fashion forward and still age appropriate for someone over 45. It kisses your curves nicely without looking like a second skin. The dress has a simple elegance about it. I recommend it for less formal social functions, but still an upscale event.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 14, 2014
My husband I host the event for our Salon and Spa so the dress needs to be fashionable and fun.
I found the dress to be bright and stylish. The material did not wrinkle and was extremely comfortable to wear and to dance in.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
February 2, 2014
Elegant, comfortable and fashionable - all wrapped up into one!
Loved this dress. I would agree that it is not as shimmery as it looks in the picture, more of a matte appearance. Very well made and the length was perfect on me (5'8). Loved the pockets in the front. I am in between a size 4 and size 6, I ended up wearing the 4 and it fit beautifully everywhere, especially in the bust area. I received many compliments and cannot stress how extremely comfortable this dress was. LOVED IT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
February 11, 2014
Perfect for looking classy and feeling comfortable!
fits great - fabric makes this dress super comfortable, the cut and stitching details make the fit and shape super flattering. the dress is versatile in that you can dress it up or down depending on how you accessorize with shoes and jewelry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 12, 2014
Amazing Dress
Lovely dress, lots of compliments, hides your flaw and different/interesting enough to be special. Generally good fit, even for a very full bust (34E/F)!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
February 16, 2014
This dress is gorgeous! I wore it to the Heart Ball and it was perfect.
RTR was SO easy. I opted to get the free second size and am glad. The 4 fit but was a tad tight through my chest. I went with the 6 and it was perfect. The dress is a gorgeous color, the material is very nice. What a great overall experience and dress. It's one that I know if I tried it on in a store, I'd be hard-pressed to find a reason not to buy even though I don't have many opportunities to wear it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2014
Great dress!
I wore this dress to a museum charity dinner/auction. The purple was a great color and I liked being the only one with it on in the room! The ribcage is a bit snug, so if you run a little larger around the chest/ribs this will dress does not give. Otherwise great length for a tall gal like me. Lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
February 23, 2014
Wore this dress to a school auction . It was perfect for a semi-formal conservative event.
Liked the fit of the dress up top but felt that the torso part was a little short for me. The dress does bunch up around the hips when you sit. Over all I was happy with the dress and everyone loved it on me. My friend in the picture is also wearing a RTR dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
March 2, 2014
Goregous fabric Great Fit
Rented for a Gala that was cocktail attire. Dress runs a bit big - normally a 6. Got 4 and 6. Wore the 4. Compliments all night long. Fabric is very rich and color is beautiful. Very fitted across chest. If you have large chest this might not be the best dress for your figure. But if you are curvy on the bottom this dress would definitely work as the bottom is in a bell shape. It was so comfortable all night and loved the pockets.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 3, 2014
Fabulous compliments all night and I was comfortable!
Well fitting dress, with a bit of structure. Black detail at bottom is textured. Beautiful deep purple color. Extremely comfortable. I loved wearing this dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 24, 2014
RTR did a wonderful job of getting me a different size at the last minute!
I found the dress to fit a bit on the small side. I wear an 8 in virtually every brand I shop but the 8 was a bit tight through the rib cage and chest. (I'm a 36 C) after reading all the reviews I got a 6 and 8 because the dress supposedly ran big. After trying it on I called RTR and they overnighted me the 10. I was amazed by their level of service and would definitely recommend them over and over again. The dress itself was an interesting fabric and I got multiple compliments on the ombré effect it gives off.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
March 27, 2014
Backup dress for wedding
I got this dress in case my first dress didn't work out. Luckily it did! I found this dress ran narrow through the waist (even with spanx on). It also came up really high in the front, almost uncomfortably so. I wouldn't suggest this for big busted women as I had trouble getting it zippered as a result.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 6, 2014
I wore the dress to a formal work function.
The fit was perfect and very comfortable. I am 5' 3" and the torso was a little long for me but it wasn't obvious.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 8, 2014
Pretty dress but ordered as a back-up
I ordered this dress as a back-up for another dress that only had one size available. The other dress fit better and was my first choice so I went with that one. This one fit well but the way the bottom half fell it was not very flattering on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 9, 2014
Wish I owned it
Fitted but not too tight. I could have managed the size 8 but would have required some serious spanx. I'm normally a 12 so this did a bit of an ego boost as well. I ended up switching to an unlined bra because my usual one made the bust line look boxy--something to consider if you're well endowed. Added the suggested jewelry for a great look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 9, 2014
Unique dress, stylish, sassy and comfortable!
Fit well in bust and shoulders, bit big in waist. Light weight material, didn't feel restricted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
April 15, 2014
Perfect dress for a fundraising gala!
I needed something pretty and fun, but conservative for my role as the Board Chair at a fundraising gala. This was the perfect dress. Very flattering, but not revealing. The tiny pockets were perfect for collecting business cards and keeping my lip gloss handy. The purple color is rich and deep, and the black flair at the bottom adds depth and interest. This is a heavy material, so it was warm enough to wear sleeveless in March in our cool climate. Would definitely wear again. Fits snugly in the chest but loose around waist and hips. If I owned this dress I would have the waist nipped in for a better fit since I am a true hourglass. But there's lots of room for more pear-shaped figures in this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2014
This dress is versatile. I wore it from a luncheon straight to a dinner party. Very comfortable!
The fit was perfect. I wore it with knee-length boots.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2014
Very pretty, unique dress!
This dress is high quality. The fit was a bit big around the waist and hips, and flared a lot more than I had hoped. I rented this for a holiday party with a mostly older (60+) crowd so it wasn't a big deal. Love it though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
May 3, 2014
Perfection!
I rented this dress for an Alz. assoc. fundraising event, cocktail attire. The dress is kind of a funky, silky fabric, like nice curtains, which sounds awful, but was pretty cool. It was flattering and lies well without wrinkling like mad. I'm between a 12 and 14, and went with the 14 for better fit around the bust and lower belly. It gapped ever so slightly around the neck, but if I stood straight with my shoulders back, you didn't notice it. I have very white legs that are a little beat up from hiking and gardening so I opted for sheer black hose and black pumps and it looked great. Another great rental from RTR and I look forward to my next rental!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2014
Dancing the night away!
Loved the dress! This was my first rental from RTR and it was a great experience. The dress came on time and it fit like a glove. It was a bit tight in the rib cage, but after an hour of wearing the dress it seemed to loosen up a bit which was more comfortable. There was some scratchiness from the stitching on the inside so I wore some spanx and it took care of it. I paired it with some Sam Edelman pointy toe & ankle strap pumps and a chunky necklace. I received SO many complements because the dress just looks like luxury and it is a nice thick fabric that is good for a nice smooth fit, plus it really accentuated my curves and I felt awesome in the dress. I'd love to wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2014
I wore this dress for a winter wedding and it was perfect.
The texture and color really pop in pictures. The only negative is that the skirt is very full, which made it great for dancing, but I felt like my hips looked bigger than they were with so much material. It also has pockets which was a huge plus. Would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 29, 2014
You feel gorgeous in it
It probably runs a tad small but closer to true size. Loved how this worked with my shape! So pretty and got SO many comments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 6, 2014
Loved the Dress
Absolutely loved this dress. The color was fantastic, the fabric was comfortable, unfortunately my hips are a size 12, my chest is a 36A, but my ribcage is on the wider side. This dress did not fit me in the ribcage and did not look right. I was disappointed that I could not wear this dress for my cousin's wedding. Fortunately, I contact RTR and they were able to overnight ship a dress (different style) that will hopefully fit a bit better. I am looking forward to renting this dress in the future.. either in a size 14 or if I can lose a couple pounds.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 8, 2014
Pretty dress
This dress has beautiful colors and beautiful shape. Ended up wearing a different dress but would consider renting this for a fall/winter wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 16, 2014
Beautiful, eye-catching design!
I got both the 6 and the 8, and while I could have worn the 6 for a cocktail party, I needed to give a 40-minute solo vocal performance in the dress and wanted more freedom in the chest area and the armholes, so I felt more comfortable in the 8. I received many compliments on how beautiful the dress was, both up close and from a distance.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2014
This was a perfect dress for the event I was attending.
This dress was great! Very comfortable -- pockets....It was perfect. I felt very relaxed because I looked good and new I was covered in all the right places. It is very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 23, 2014
Fun and easy to wear!
I wore this dress to reception/dinner/dancing and it fit the bill for all three parts. It's very comfortable, has pockets and the fuller skirt makes it easy to dance in. I received compliments from TWO female strangers (you know how rare that is!) The zero was a tad big in the waist but overall I thought it still looked great and would rent a Halston Heritage dress again! I also rented the Kate Spade Gold Sparkle Chandelier earrings to go with, and they were perfect too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 68
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
June 27, 2014
Just perfect
This might be the best dress I have ever rented from RTR - definitely my husband thought so! The color is gorgeous, the fit was perfect, AND it was comfortable! I added a turquoise-pearl-silver bead necklace and silver bead earrings. The only negative I can say is that the hem has some kind of stiff material in it and it was a little bent out of shape when the dress arrived. But once I put it on and went about the day, I don't think anyone could tell, including me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 28, 2014
Too small in bust
I wanted to like the dress, but it was unflatteringly tight in the chest. The color is very pretty, so it may work for someone who is a different size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 29
June 29, 2014
This was a style I needed to request when another didn't work out. Everything happens for a reason!
Fit perfectly for my larger bust, I loved how snug it was up top so it popped out at the hips giving it that modern retro style! #europeanwaxcenter #becominganicon2014 #conference #florida
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 7, 2014
Fit great, very slimming at the waist, more exciting than the usual LBD!
Wore to a wedding in November, many compliments, something different, color was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
July 8, 2014
Not as good as the picture
I ordered this dress as a backup to a backup (my original backup was unable to be delivered). I liked how it looked in the model picture, but in reality the entire dress has an unflattering texture, it almost looks ripply due to the stitching and material. The 4 fit true to size, however I would not order it again to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 17, 2014
This dress was so comfortable and unique, I got a TON of compliments!
The fit was flawless, really flattering and comfortable. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 168lbs
July 24, 2014
Great dress, SUPER comfortable
I wore this dress to an evening gala. It was extremely comfortable and I was able to move all night long. The fabric had a nice texture to it and I really liked the gradient from purple to black. I'm 5'8" and I thought the dress was a little long (a few inches above the knees), but it wasn't a deal breaker. Would definitely rent again for the right occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
July 29, 2014
Perfect Fit + Simplicity + Elegance
I was worried that this dress might make me look shorter because I'm only 5'1. I wore size 4. turns out it was just the right length for me, just above my knee. The color of the dress, shown in the website was just as i expected when i actually got the dress. If this dress ever goes on sale here, i will buy it! It's one of those few pieces of dresses that can be worn in social gatherings.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2014
Wore this to my daughter's rehearsal dinner and it was perfect!
Fits pretty snug in the bosom area if you run a little large up there, but I liked the fit overall. Flattering and I didn't feel self-conscious in the least. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 5, 2014
Perfect dress for a wedding...super comfortable, great color & love the pockets!
Wore this dress to a wedding and it was perfect! Absolutely loved the color and would totally wear again. I'm usually between a size 8 and 10 depending on the type of dress, so I found the other reviews were absolutely right about the fit in the chest area. It was pretty tight so I ended up wearing the 10.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
September 7, 2014
A little tight for a size 12!
I could fit into this dress for a 12, but it was tight, and since I was headed to a wedding, I wanted some wiggle (read: dancing) room).
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 13, 2014
Prefect size Amazing color!
This dress is very much true to size! The 10 was perfect and fit everywhere it needed to if anything there was a little to much room in the bust but was an easy fix with a padded bra. The dress was an absolute hit and would totally rent again!
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×