Halston Heritage

Rocket In the Sky Dress

$64 to buy
$375 retail
Stylist Notes

Cocktail chic...with a twist! This dress by Halston Heritage is a surefire conversation-starter that will have you feeling fashion-forward.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Fitted at bust - recommended for cup sizes A to D
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple ombre jacquard (72% polyester, 28% nylon). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
249 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(156)
Small
(27)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 29, 2014
Pretty, colorful, and figure-flattering party dress!

Very pretty, comfortable, wrinkle-free dress w/pockets. The dress is forgiving in the hips/length but runs big in the torso/rib cage - I'd recommend sizing down if you have a narrow frame. Looks best with a statement necklace to break up the solid purple top.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
November 10, 2014
Nice dress, some minor fit issues

I got this dress as my backup, and while it was too big for me, it fit my sister we;;. The dress colors look better i person than in the model photo. It was perfect for a conservative fall wedding. The fabric is nice and thick, but it hung a little weird at the midsection, and you could see a pantyhose line. Also, the pockets are a great touch but stick out weirdly when you sit down. Overall though, minus a few minor annoyances, the dress is obviously high quality, and unique, and looks really nice. It got many compliments.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable dress!

I loved this dress. I sized down based on other reviews and was glad I did. I got several compliments on the dress and was sad to return it!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 19, 2014
Super cute dress, I am usually an 8, and the extra size 6 was a better fit.

The size 6 was great. I wore teal jewelry that made the deep purple pop beautifully. Wore this for a rehearsal dinner with black stockings and black heels. Great for winter time, dressy event. I think this dress would have looked even better with a belt because I am curvy. Fit great in the bust area (the size 6) and comfortable fit in the hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2014
Not my favorite dress I've rented but served it's purpose for an afternoon, low-key wedding.

Runs large- I usually wear a size 6 but wore a 4 in this dress & still felt the bottom was a little big. Wasn't crazy about the material the dress was made of, but loved the purple color.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 30, 2014
Loved the cut and how structured it was!

Snug in the middle rib cage area and opens along the lower abdomen waistline and hip. It's the perfect amount of structure to hold you in and mask around those "problem" lower stomach areas.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Body type: Pear
May 20, 2015
Lots of compliments on the dress!

Color is beautiful, high quality material, and very comfortable. Runs on the large side, I wore a size smaller than my usual side.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 9, 2015
unforgettable night with great friends in NYC. Non stressful with RTR's help

Usually an 8 - went with the 6 and it fit like it was tailored to my body. Usually a little self conscious of my butt and hips but this dress was cut perfectly - no need for spanks or an special under garments. Needed to keep the evening within budget and had the shoes in the closet even though I think the look of a black thin strappy shoe looks the best with this dress. Color was great and so nice to stand out from all the black in the room.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 42
November 19, 2015
The dress was perfect for my graduation party.

Runs a little large - get a size you'd normally wear and then a size down from that. I normally wear an 8 and the 6 fit perfectly.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2015
Beautiful dress made with quality material!

I rented this dress for a Christmas party. The dress was beautiful and I received a lot of compliments. The dress does run large. Even the size 4 was a little loose but the fit is very forgiving. The length is perfect for a work event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Body type: Pear
January 4, 2016
Nice dress

This definitely fits large. I am a true 8 and ended up wearing a 6. It was a nice dress but nothing extraordinary. For some reason, I was expecting the bottom black "spots" to be beaded and they are not. It is a flattering dress though.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2013
Classy and gorgeous

Loved this dress and got tons of compliments. The color and thicker fabric were perfect for a fall wedding. The higher neckline and skirt shape made it a bit more conservative than I was expecting, but I quickly got over it. I'm usually between a 6 or 8 and sized down so the dress would be fitted in the upper body. Length was perfect for me (I'm on the taller side). This was my first RTR experience and it was awesome!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2013
The swishy bell shape of this dress!

Everyone at the wedding loved this dress and asked me where I got it! So comfortable and chic for a winter wedding. I wore it with black suede pumps and a purple nylon clutch. I rented Dannijo Cecile earrings and they matched perfectly! It runs a little big, as I am usually a 4/6 and the 4 felt big on me. It was a great length for a wedding, very appropriate and lady-like! Would definitely recommend this style to a friend!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
January 29, 2014
Loved that the dress looked different from everyone else

Wore this dress for an afternoon Bat Mitzvah. It was flirty and cote. Lived the little pockets. The color was my favorite. This dress looked expensive. Required very few accessories. It was a little big on me. I could have used the size 6 to get a true fit n flare .

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 11, 2014
Great dress.

I rented this dress for my boyfriends work Holiday dinner. Was very comfortable and would definitely rent this one again. Runs a little big.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 9, 2013
Chic, edgy, and fun. Order to fit bust/waist, not hips.

I wore this to an arts event, and it was the perfect style to go with black tie/creative cocktail dress code. My only disappointment was with the fit. I ordered a 4 and 6, and wore the 4, but I should have ordered down for my second size rather than up and gotten a 2. This dress looks best when it fits like a glove. The fabric is stiff enough that if it's not tight through the waist and bust it actually makes you look bigger than you are. The skirt is much more flared than is evident in the photo. It has a nice stifferner at the hem that holds it out. This means that if you're hippy--don't worry about it. Order the size to fit your bust/waist. I'm a 34/27/38 and wish I got a 2.

CJOctober 9, 2013
Thank you for giving your actual measurements; so helpful since it appears this dress doesn't fit true-to-size.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 15, 2013
Very fund dress and super comfortable. Nice fabric

I ordered a 4-6. I generally am a solid 4. the consultant said there wasnt much give in the fabric so I ordered the 6 as a backup I could have used the 2 because the 4 was a little big. Luckily I was at an outside wedding so my wrap covered up the fact that it was a little big. I would recommend sizing down on your second size option

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 10, 2013
A comfortable and stylish dress!

I ordered the 2 and the 4 since other reviewers said that it runs large. The 2 fit better but was a little short (I'm 5' 6") so I did wear the 4 and it looked just fine. I felt really good in this dress and no one at the wedding had anything like it. RTR is the best.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 21, 2014
I ended up not wearing this dress but really liked the quality.

It was a pretty dress but I chose a different dress entirely for my event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 5, 2014
Unique dress!

Ordered this as my back-up dress and it worked perfectly! Dress is incredibly comfortable; easy to eat, drink and dance in all evening and received many compliments. Dress does run large so order down one size. RTR comes through again!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2014
Gorgeous dress!

The dress was too big so I ended up in a different dress. I'd definitely rent it again in a smaller size!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 7, 2015
Great color and nice fabric

Runs a bit large (I'm normally a size 4), but the 2 did the trick! Super cute and very flattering

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 24, 2015
Beautiful dress, but didn't fit very well.

This dress truly is beautiful. The color is stunning and the fabric is interesting and has a great texture. However, I was not a fan of the fit. It looks so fitted and snug on the model, and that's what I wanted. I had read in the reviews that it runs a bit big and I should size down, so I went down to a 2 (I'm normally a 4), but it was still loose. Apparently I should have gone with a 0.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 25, 2015
Great dress; size down

I am usually a 4, but based on other reviewers, I ordered a 4 and a 2 in this dress and I am glad I did. I wore the 4 because it was a little more comfortable, but I could have worn the 2 for a more fitted look.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
December 7, 2015
This dress is a beautiful color and has a flattering figure. It was just a little big for me!

The dress is a rich, beautiful color. I think the color is even prettier in person than online. I got this as my backup dress, however, and it was a little big on me. I would definitely order it again and get a smaller size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 30, 2017
Couldn't wear it. Way too big and skirt needs ironing badly.

I understood from the previous reviews that I was going to need to iron this one, and they weren't kidding! It ran so big though, that I couldn't even wear it, so I never even gave the ironing a try.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 11, 2013
Even more beautiful on!

I wore this to a fundraiser and I chose to wear the larger size because my bust is on the larger size. The fit was perfect and the dress is incredibly comfortable. The fabric was incredible. I highly recommend this dress and will most likely rent it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2013
Figure flattering elegance

This dress was fabulous! It was so flattering and elegant - perfect for a black tie optional wedding. I added accessories from Charming Charlie and was set for the night. I did go one size up based on reviews and needed it for my bust. First time in awhile I haven't worn my Spanx tummy tucker and was happy to be breathing easy but still feel great! One tiny drawback is that the boning structure of the dress did rub little raw spots on my back. Nothing awful but sensitive skin may fare worse. If I'd worn my spanx there would have been no issue.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 24, 2014
RTR did a wonderful job of getting me a different size at the last minute!

I found the dress to fit a bit on the small side. I wear an 8 in virtually every brand I shop but the 8 was a bit tight through the rib cage and chest. (I'm a 36 C) after reading all the reviews I got a 6 and 8 because the dress supposedly ran big. After trying it on I called RTR and they overnighted me the 10. I was amazed by their level of service and would definitely recommend them over and over again. The dress itself was an interesting fabric and I got multiple compliments on the ombré effect it gives off.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 28, 2014
Too small in bust

I wanted to like the dress, but it was unflatteringly tight in the chest. The color is very pretty, so it may work for someone who is a different size.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
September 7, 2014
A little tight for a size 12!

I could fit into this dress for a 12, but it was tight, and since I was headed to a wedding, I wanted some wiggle (read: dancing) room).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 6, 2014
I love everything about this dress!!

The pockets in the front of the dress are perfect. The color is perfect! This is small as I usually wear a 4 in these types of dresses and the 2 fit perfectly. I was sad to send this dress back!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
November 16, 2014
Stunning & beautiful dress!

I love the dress! It was thick and sturdy which was great for a November wedding. The only issue I had was in the bust. I am a 36DD and the size 14 was so tight in the bust that I had to keep adjusting it to keep from having 4 boobs - basically it pressed on my cleavage so much that you could see my bra line. Other than that, it was beautiful and I got lots of compliments. The color is gorgeous. But it's not a good fit for busty gals.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 162lbs
November 25, 2014
Sizing is inconsistent., small chest required.

Before I went to RTR for a fitting on a Saturday, I had a pre-existing dress order for the following Wednesday. When my dresses arrived on Wednesday and didn't fit, I didn't hesitate to accept this dress as a replacement, since I had tried it on just a few days earlier. The 10 was tight in the store, so I ordered the 12. When the 12 arrived on Thursday, it was just as tight as the 10 had been. It barely zipped and was really tight across the chest, I'm barely a C cup now. The hem had some sort of stiffener in it that made the skirt stick out in a funny way. I put a sequined black sweater over the top to conceal how tight it was on my chest and went to my event. Not one complement the entire evening, which is unusual for a RTR dress.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 17, 2014
Unfortunately all 3 dresses I ordered did not fit. Mostly due to my busty self

My bust size is pretty big, and my waste is comparably small. That being said The dressed looked wonder. I was able to get it on, but no able to zip it up all the way. I was not happy with the flimsy zipper. Seemed like a fashion dress deserved more than a $2 zipper.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2015
Loved this dress! Tons of compliments!

A bit tight in the bust so had to go with the larger size but would absolutely rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 26, 2015
Unfortunately, it was a different dress!

This dress is really beautiful, but unfortunately it was too small in the bust area, and it doesn't have any stretch. It fit otherwise, and it made my waist look tiny!. I was sad to have to return it!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
June 8, 2015
Beautiful color and cut- unique and made stand out

The material was substantial, which I liked, but the bottom hem was stiff and hard to iron the wrinkle out that came with the dress when delivered.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
September 1, 2015
N/a

Loved the dress. Only complaint was tight across chest for D cup size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 48
November 1, 2015
Pretty but tighter through ribs/bust.

Pretty dress but runs tight/no give through ribs and bust (I have a large rib cage). The hem was also very thick and hung sort of jagged. It was as if it had been shortened and the hemline was too thick. I ended up not wearing it.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×