Rocket In the Sky Dress

$65 rental
$375 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Cocktail chic...with a twist! This dress by Halston Heritage is a surefire conversation-starter that will have you feeling fashion-forward. Simply add Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Entrancing Emerald Necklace.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Fitted at bust - recommended for cup sizes A to D
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Fitted at bust - recommended for cup sizes A to D
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple ombre jacquard (72% polyester, 28% nylon). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
213 reviews
Fit
Large39
True to Size138
Small23
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
April 15, 2015
Fits beautifully and is really comfortable!
The fabric has a pattern sewn into it and horsehair lining along the bottom edge that gives the hem a nice line. It has tiny pockets and fits so comfortably. For me it ran large but the 6 was easy to move in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 13, 2015
I loved this dress and so did my Fiance. It was perfect for his work holiday party.
I thought I would need a 12, but ended up wearing the 10. It was somewhat tight in the top, but looked great. I felt pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2015
Great color and nice fabric
Runs a bit large (I'm normally a size 4), but the 2 did the trick! Super cute and very flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2015
Loved this dress! Tons of compliments!
A bit tight in the bust so had to go with the larger size but would absolutely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 1, 2015
Meh
I rented this as my back-up dress for a wedding and was planning on using it for the rehearsal. I wasn't impressed by the fit; it didn't really seem to flatter me. Everything fit well, but I wasn't wowed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
March 31, 2015
Beautiful dress just a little big
This dress is such a gorgeous color and very comfortable. I could pinch about an extra inch of fabric around my waist so I added the belt to show off my figure a bit more.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 5, 2015
Absolutely perfect for my rehearsal dinner!
I LOVED this dress - it fit perfect, length was spt on, the pockets were in a weird spot but it didnt matter. I wore with a white blazer and white heels and it was awesome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
March 5, 2015
This dress was perfect! We went to a cocktail party for an event and received MANY compliments!
This dress is not your typical cocktail dress. The fabric is thick YET not hot! We danced the night away and the dress looked as good as when I put it on. I paired it with a pair of fun black heels and earrings. Great dress! Great the size you would normally wear and it will fit like a glove. Great for pear or hourglass bodies.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 14, 2015
I didnt get to wear this dress
Great dress however not for large breast, sadly I would have to go larger in size to fit my 36DD
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2015
Great fit!
This dress was perfect! Loved the pockets, I have big thighs and the Aline fit was great! Many compliments! This was my first RTR and will rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
January 31, 2015
We all looked so pretty!
I rented this last minute and probably should have gone a size up, but other than that it was perfect. Wonderful dress that made the evening spectacular!
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
January 30, 2015
Customer service!
Loved this dress but unfortunately it was too tight in my chest! I am a 36DD and they were suffocating! I was really sad because the dress was absolutely gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2015
Fancy and structured dress for a great wedding
The colors of this dress are it's high point. Fit is pretty true to size but I needed a hand zippering it all the way up. Material is thicker than I expected. Almost quilted on the top half. Very structured around the shoulders so may not be the best for ladies with broader shoulders. Overall very comfortable and received a lot of positive comments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
January 13, 2015
Beautiful dress - tight across the bustline.
I received this dress as one of many options as the dress I originally ordered for a black tie wedding was damaged and unavailable. This dress looks great, and I would have likely worn it, but the fabric was a bit too tight across the chest for me, and so it pulled my shape in an unflattering way. The high neckline would be great for an event where you don't want to show too much but still have great fashion.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 8, 2015
This dress was perfect for a New Years Weekend wedding in the Midwest!
The dress was very flattering for my figure. With a larger chest and small waist the silhouette was perfect. I wore it with tights and booties and simple jewelry I would rent this dress over and over again! .
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2015
Love purple!
Worked perfect for the party. I'm a pear so I float between sizes depending on the cut. Loved the pockets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 30, 2014
Loved the cut and how structured it was!
Snug in the middle rib cage area and opens along the lower abdomen waistline and hip. It's the perfect amount of structure to hold you in and mask around those "problem" lower stomach areas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 30, 2014
Great for a holiday party
I wore this to my boyfriend's holiday party. I ordered a 4 and a 2 and ended up wearing the 2. It was very comfortable and flattering. The material is fairly thick, which gives the dress some nice structure--and definitely makes it a good dress for winter. Very appropriate & beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 28, 2014
Very hot and the boning made it uncomfortable to wear without shape wear.
It fit well, but was hot and uncomfortable. Certainly not my favorite RTR dress. I sized up to have room for my chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2014
Not my favorite dress I've rented but served it's purpose for an afternoon, low-key wedding.
Runs large- I usually wear a size 6 but wore a 4 in this dress & still felt the bottom was a little big. Wasn't crazy about the material the dress was made of, but loved the purple color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
December 19, 2014
Hubby's Birthday Celebration
This was a really great date-night-out dress. Very comfortable, true to size, and the hidden pockets were fabulous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 19, 2014
Super cute dress, I am usually an 8, and the extra size 6 was a better fit.
The size 6 was great. I wore teal jewelry that made the deep purple pop beautifully. Wore this for a rehearsal dinner with black stockings and black heels. Great for winter time, dressy event. I think this dress would have looked even better with a belt because I am curvy. Fit great in the bust area (the size 6) and comfortable fit in the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2014
Runs large.
Large. Bottom flared out a lot. I probably should have ordered the 2 and 0.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 159lbs
December 18, 2014
Didn't fit
The sizes I ordered did not fit - too small
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 17, 2014
Unfortunately all 3 dresses I ordered did not fit. Mostly due to my busty self
My bust size is pretty big, and my waste is comparably small. That being said The dressed looked wonder. I was able to get it on, but no able to zip it up all the way. I was not happy with the flimsy zipper. Seemed like a fashion dress deserved more than a $2 zipper.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
December 14, 2014
Comfortable and classy
I wore this of a work holiday party. Normally when I wear a RTR dress, I get tons of compliments, but I didn't get too many with this dress. Not sure why. While the size 12 zipped up, it was tight, so I decided to wear the size 14 for comfort, even if it was a tad too big.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable dress!
I loved this dress. I sized down based on other reviews and was glad I did. I got several compliments on the dress and was sad to return it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
December 10, 2014
Great fit, tons of compliments.
A little tight in the chest, but otherwise very good!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
December 8, 2014
Loved the color!
This dress was gorgeous. The fabric was pretty thick. Dress was a tight fit but had a little bit of give to it. It was comfortable for sitting and dancing at the fall wedding I wore it to. I would definitely recommend this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2014
Something Different for a Winter Party
This dress is very comfortable and well-made. The fabric has a light quilted texture, so it's actually pretty warm for a party in the winter - Christmas, New Year's etc. Excellent for my pear shape - made me look proportional. My one criticism is that the hem has a stiff interfacing that tends to stick out a bit when you sit, unless you arrange it a little.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 30, 2014
Even better than a LBD
A subtle purple that doesn't make you look like a grape (a la Kate Spade purple), but instead stands out just a bit from every other LBD. Great with any jewelry. Easy to wear and look great Fit is a little large at bust and nicely fitted at waist. Needs a skinny belt
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 162lbs
November 25, 2014
Sizing is inconsistent., small chest required.
Before I went to RTR for a fitting on a Saturday, I had a pre-existing dress order for the following Wednesday. When my dresses arrived on Wednesday and didn't fit, I didn't hesitate to accept this dress as a replacement, since I had tried it on just a few days earlier. The 10 was tight in the store, so I ordered the 12. When the 12 arrived on Thursday, it was just as tight as the 10 had been. It barely zipped and was really tight across the chest, I'm barely a C cup now. The hem had some sort of stiffener in it that made the skirt stick out in a funny way. I put a sequined black sweater over the top to conceal how tight it was on my chest and went to my event. Not one complement the entire evening, which is unusual for a RTR dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2014
A very classy dress
Wore this to a charity luncheon. I thought it was right on the mark for that. It's subdued but fun to look at, the length is appropriately longer, and the material is substantial. I wore my normal size 0 - the waist was a but bigger than I would have liked, but because of the overall fit/style it didn't look bad.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
November 20, 2014
Ehhh... Not so much
Did not end up wearing this dress. I am comfortable saying it looks better on the model. The dress was pretty but a little more poofy and longer than I imagined. The shape and length were not ideal for my body type and the overall fit was just a little off in my opinion. Hey ya win some ya lose some!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 19, 2014
Wonderful color. Edgy but elegant.
A little boxy in the shoulders, but comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
November 16, 2014
Stunning & beautiful dress!
I love the dress! It was thick and sturdy which was great for a November wedding. The only issue I had was in the bust. I am a 36DD and the size 14 was so tight in the bust that I had to keep adjusting it to keep from having 4 boobs - basically it pressed on my cleavage so much that you could see my bra line. Other than that, it was beautiful and I got lots of compliments. The color is gorgeous. But it's not a good fit for busty gals.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 16, 2014
Beautiful material that drapes nicely
Great colors - not flashy but definitely classy. Size 10 fit my frame well, with a bit of extra room under the bust; if I had owned the dress I would have had that tailored for a slimmer fit same as the model shows. It's a sturdy material that has lovely drape. I received many compliments as it was perfect for an outdoor evening memorial in Phoenix, in November. The dress is in good shape - no pulls or shiny/faded areas.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 16, 2014
This dress worked well for the wedding I was attending.
Dress fit as expected, nice fabric, a nice black necklace helped dress it up. It was chillier than I expected for this event so I ended up wearing a nice black sweater over the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
November 15, 2014
Gorgeous dress - but mind the bust area
Love love LOVE this dress. And it was perfect for the outdoors, the material is on the heavier side which sits so nicely and feels great. The only problem is if you have have a larger bust or broad shoulders (guilty), you may end up ripping the dress at the shoulders due to the tension if you raise your arms while dancing. That happened. But other than that incident, my god did I love this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
November 10, 2014
Nice dress, some minor fit issues
I got this dress as my backup, and while it was too big for me, it fit my sister we;;. The dress colors look better i person than in the model photo. It was perfect for a conservative fall wedding. The fabric is nice and thick, but it hung a little weird at the midsection, and you could see a pantyhose line. Also, the pockets are a great touch but stick out weirdly when you sit down. Overall though, minus a few minor annoyances, the dress is obviously high quality, and unique, and looks really nice. It got many compliments.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×