Halston Heritage

Noir Singapore Sensation Gown

$80 rental
$895 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll look smashing when you wear this gorgeous Halston Heritage black chiffon gown to the gala. The flow and elegance it has will have all eyes on you. Try accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane's Ruby Red Drops and AV Max's Glitzy Glamour Cuff.

Also available in emerald.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor Length - Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'' to 5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor Length - Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'' to 5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleated A-line skirt. Front thigh split. Fluted hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

379 reviews

Fit
Small 77
True to Size 267
Large 11
Photos 246
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

My husband and I were planning an anniversary photo shoot. This dress stole the spotlight, no doubt!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I was a little unsure about renting a dress for an out-of-state photo shoot. I rented the 0L because i knew I was going to be wearing sky-high heels. It was a tad big, but I was just glad that I could zip it! The chiffon was so elegant and the slit was sexy, yet tasteful. Our dramatic couple shoot turned out beautifully and i couldn't be happier with my experience with Rent the Runway! I will be using again! Thank you!
Emily
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

It fit perfectly and gave me the dramatic look I was going for!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was heavy, lots of fabric but fit nicely.
RTR Customer
Jun 20, 2015

Received so many compliments on the gown. It was stunning.

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The reviews were right. The dress runs about a size small and it is very long. I wore the size 6 and it was very tight in rib area. I am only a 34b chest and if I was any larger it would not have zipped. Everywhere else it fit perfectly. So I suggest sizing up. You will need about a 4inch heel of you are 5'4 or shorter. The skirt has a lot of material so be very careful of walking up and down stairs. Almost got me twice even with holding it.
Mel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 156 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

I felt like I was floating all night!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a fun asymmetrical dress. I felt a little self conscious as I thought it made my arms look bigger...but the elegance of the dress made me forget that very quickly. Loved dancing and twirling all night in the dress. Has a slit on the left side that was not noticeable until posing for pictures or dancing. I received many compliments on the dress and would definitely rent it again.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

Easy, elegant choice for a formal affair.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'10.5" with an athletic build, so my shoulders are very broad. The top fit and felt great. The zipper is a pain but just have patience and expect that it will take a few tugs at the seam to zip it up. The dress is true to length as well. I wore flats and it touched the ground. It cinches your waist and flows when you walk. Very simple and elegant.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 9, 2015

I wore this dress to prom and it was gorgeous! I felt so classy in it and very comfortable!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'3 and wore the 4R was a tad long but nothing unmanageable. Overall wonderful dress!
RTR Customer
Jun 7, 2015

I absolutely LOVED my dress!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect. I was scared due to my bust size but it was PERFECT!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 5, 2015

Loved this dress wish I could have worn it.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this as a back up dress to another one. Got this one true to size and was unable to fully zipper it. Beautiful dress with amazing slit. The bodice is a bit snug and I wish I had gotten it a size bigger, fabric was very nice and light weight. Will probably rent this again and go for the bigger size.
Marci
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
May 25, 2015

Perfect Dress for a Military Ball, Thank You RTR!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a beautiful dress. I wore it to a Military Ball, perfect choice because I felt comfortable all night. I ended up wearing the larger of the two sizes I order so I'm glad I had options. Great experience!
shannon
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 25, 2015

wore to my boyfriend's commencement ball

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 2L and a 4L originally, but then changed to a 2R and 4R after reading other reviews about the length of the dress. I'm about 5'8" and wore flats with the dress and it skimmed the ground perfectly! not so much that the bottom got all gross and people were stepping on it, but enough to cover my feet and lightly dust the ground. I'm normally a size 2, but wore the 4 because it was much more comfortable. I'm very thin but have wide hips and a tiny waist that I'm normally very self conscious about, but this dress looked absolutely stunning and i felt so beautiful, i didn't want to take it off!
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 20, 2015

Classic beauty

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the red version of this dress for another wedding back in September and LOVED it. When we got the invite for a wedding with a black and white dress code I just couldn't resists. The dress fits like a glove, is comfortable, and just absolutely stunning. Modest and sexy. I hate returning it but can't wait for an excuse to wear the green version!
sarc7
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
May 19, 2015

Overall a great comfortable dress!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit me a little too long because the 4L was the only size that was available and I really needed a dress. It wasn't all that bad. It flows so nice when you walk and the material is so soft and comfortable. I loved this dress and loved the whole RTR process, definitely trying this again on my next formal affair!
Norene
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 18, 2015

It flowed beautifully with each step. My date couldn't take his eyes off me!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first rent the runway experience, and I will definitely be renting again. The dress certainly runs small, so order the backup size for sure. I'm usually a 4, and wore the 6R. Would recommend this dress and rent the runway to anyone!
Kendra
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
May 10, 2015

Gorgeous & Classy, Perfect Prom Dress

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress! It is so figure flattering, and I received tons of compliments. The zipper was tricky the first try, but I was able to do it myself without help for the actual event. If you are SMALL in the shoulders/chest (I'm typically a 32D, but am a 32C right now) you want to go with the smaller size! I am normally a 0 and the 0 fit pretty good, just a little loose on the side without the shoulder. I am 5'5" and wore 4-inch heels, and the length was perfect. I could have gotten away with slightly shorter, but wouldn't have gone any higher. Photographed nicely, fit really well, and worked great for dancing!
Niki
Age: 40
May 4, 2015

Blurry photo. I wore this dress to annual local Ball that my brother and sister-in-law were hosting.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The zipper was a beast to zip up. I am single, so no one to help me. I took forever. At first I thought it was because it didn't fit, but then I discovered it was just the zipper. Finally got it zipped after several frustrating minutes. The length was slightly long on me. I got a long because I'm 5'9.5" without heels. I wore 2" heels and it was just long enough that I had to watch it so I didn't step on it. I got used to lifting it up, but I think the R would have been too short. That's the problem with being in-between R & L! :) OTHERWISE... the dress was lovely. I received so many compliments. "You look like you belong at the Oscars!" was the prominent one. I made sure to let everyone know about RTR.
Kimberly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 29, 2015

Perfect Elegance

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My daughter wore this to her HS Prom. She looked so elegant. It fit perfectly. She wore a 2, which is her normal size. She is 5'6" 109 lbs and is a lean competitive swimmer. The length was perfect with 2" heels. Everything about this dress was wonderful. Thank you!
Jianna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Perfect dress

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Well I had hurt my ankle a couple days before prom so I had to wear a walking cast for the day so I wouldn't injure it any more and my dress was so long and flowy that no one could even tell that I was wearing a boot. It was perfect
Ash
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

What made my rent the runway moment unforgettable was first trying the dress on, it fit beautifully!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my senior prom and it was amazing! This dress fit perfectly, beside the fact it was only a little tight around my ribs when I sat down but other than that this dress was flawless. It flowed beautifully when I walked and I felt like a princess the whole night. I DEFINETLY recommend this dress and seeing as it was my first rental I definetly want to rent again!
jenna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

I was the minister at one of my best friend's wedding.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got away with no bra and this thing held me in nicely! The dress was classy and very comfortable. I didn't realize there was a long slit up the leg until I got it - but loved it anyways. I wore flats with the dress and the length was perfect. Looked great with simple hair and simple jewelry.
sara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Mar 28, 2015

Classy and Comfortable

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my husbands Military Ball. It was a perfect combination of classy and sassy with the one shoulder and the slit.
Ramey Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 20, 2015

Perfect!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a Black Tie Gala and it was gorgeous! It flowed so nicely. The movement was beautiful. It's long! Which is good for me, I was 5'11" with my shoes. I'm actually happy the other dresses fell through!
Kendall
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 15
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 15, 2015

5 out of 5

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Where I wore the dress to was my Junior Officer Training Corps Ball ( Jrotc ). It fit perfectly the bust size ran a little big but not that much. I love this dress it looked so good with our dress Greens one of our Formal Uniforms. I loved how it fit and it gave me PLENTY of room to dance! I give this dress a 5 out of 5 I will definitely rent for the run way again! Also it pretty long my heels were 3 in. And it still touched the ground I got a 6L and I am 5'4
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 14, 2015

Dress fit perfect!

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm usually size 8-10 but wor the 8R with a 2 inch heel. Don't go any higher then that heel size if you get R. 10 would of been ok but too big in hip. Dress was so nice to wear and was so comfortable. Def recommend this dress for formal event, black tie or even wedding. Will be renting a lot more!
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

Great dress.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I did not wear this dress to my event, but I did have a hard time deciding. I decided not to wear it because it was little long. I wore 4 inch heels and it was a little too long anyways. I think with a platform it would have been better. However, I liked it. I think if I need another wedding dress to wear I'll go with this one.
Allison
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

The dress was beautiful. Got plenty of compliments, it was super comfortable.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit like a glove. I ordered the 10l and it was perfect. Long enough with the 4" heels that I wore. It did drag on the floor a bit and I had to pick it up when I walked. It was comfortable and easy to move around in. If you have a big bust it may be a bit too tight. I did not have to wear a bra with it. Definitely going to use RTR for another event!!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 9, 2015

Amazing dress! Loved the split!

Size worn: 10L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was the perfect length. Loved the way it flowed and Loved the split!
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 8, 2015

Beautiful Gown, but size up!

Size worn: 12L
Rented for: Party
Rented this for my company holiday party. Loved the dress, but it does run small so I suggest sizing up!
Kari
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 29, 2015

Perfectly simple!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really liked this dress...the long slit on the legs gives it a little extra pop. The 8, which is my normal size, was definitely too tight in the rib cage...couldn't get it zipped. The 10 was just a little loose under the arm, but overall the fit was perfect. Being tall the length of the 10L was perfect. I think it's a great dress for a black tie or formal event.
Stela
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Fantastic Dress!

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was amazing however if you have a larger bust you might want to get another pair of hands to zip it up. Overall I received compliments all night long and loved the way it flowed.
Alexis
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Great Dress

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for Howard University's Charter Day Dinner. It fit perfectly and I got lots of compliments. I ordered the dress the day before the event and got it on time. The dress was perfectly snug at the top and loose and comfortable at the bottom. I am pretty short, so i was worried about the dress being too long, but I wore 3in heels and it was perfect. I love RTR and am currently looking for another dress to rent.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Classy, sexy dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! I wore this to our friend's NYE wedding and it was perfect! I got both the 2R and 4R, since I was nervous that it would run small, but the 2R fit me perfect. The length was great and even though the top was a bit snug, i think that it overall had a perfect fit. The slit up the side was sexy, but still classy. Great rental-- highly recommended! I received so many compliments all night on it!
Texasdenise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 28, 2014

3 strangers stopped me to tell me my dress was gorgeous..

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'9" and the 8R was plenty long with 4" heels. The dress was breathtaking and I really felt like my fairy godmother came to visit! It doesn't have much give in the bodice and I did wish I had the 10R as an option, but when renting, my November self imagined that my December self might lose a few lbs...as you can see from my large arm, this didn't happen...oh well!! It was still a lovely night and I got a million compliments on the gown. I'd rent it again in a heartbeat!
Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 28, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved wearing this dress! It was so comfortable and was perfect for a formal charity gala. I'm 5'5" and wore the regular length with 3 inch heels, which was good. Even though I wore my normal size, I'm still saying that it runs small because I'm an A cup and I think that anyone with a larger chest would probably want to size up. But there was definitely comfortable room in the hips. The slit added a little something extra, but it actually wasn't even all that noticeable, and it wasn't as high as I thought it would be. I was sad that I had to return this dress!
Ashley
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

The perfect dress

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was incredible! My boyfriend's formal this semester was black tie so I decided to rent this since it looked classy and elegant. I received compliments all night long and felt like a million bucks. I was worried about the bust being too tight since I'm a 34DD usually but it fit perfectly. I was also worried about the length since I'm 5'10'' but I was able to wear 5 inch heels. It was the perfect length and fit. The bonus was the slit since it adds just enough sexyness
Randy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Dec 3, 2014

I got this dress for my girlfriend. I wanted her to look good. In that dress, she wowed me more.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit great.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Nov 29, 2014

Chic and glam

Size worn: 10L
Rented for: Party
Great dress, the long is VERY long. Fit beautifully and the high slit was not as noticeable as I feared. Made for a perfect Breakfast at Tiffany's birthday party!
Katelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

Beautiful gown, perfect for a military ball!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress really is a beautiful, long, flowy dress. The slit up the left leg hit just right (about mid thigh, maybe a little lower) and was the perfect addition to the dress to give it a little "something" since the rest of it was pretty plain. The bottom of the dress has a LOT of fabric, but it never really got in the way. The bodice does run a tad small. Im usually a 2/4 in dresses because I have a smaller ribcage/bust but I wore the 6R. It was more of a personal preference for me because the 4 fit, I just liked that I had a little more room and I could wear a bra with the 6. Overall, It was a great dress and would be perfect for any formal event or an evening wedding!
Amy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

Perfect for a bridesmaid dress, flowy and easy to move in

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was SO easy to move in, and since my hips are typically the main culprit of my size, I was able to get away with a smaller than normal size! the slit went up pretty high (hello Angelina Jolie leg!), but it was only noticeable while walking up stairs and holding it just right. It was so much fun to dance in - I didn't want to take it off! Wore with 2.5" heels and it was perfect length for my 6"0, which was a nice surprise.
eyb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

Glamorous, simple and comfortable all at the same time!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'9 and was really worried about the length, but it was not an issue--I wore 4" (maybe higher) heels and the end of the dress just perfectly touched the ground (any more so and it actually would've been annoying). I was also worried that it would be too plain/simple/ boring for the black tie wedding, but it is so gorgeous and the skirt is so long and full that it flowed beautifully and I felt like I was the belle of the ball. The slit is high but subtle and shows at the right times (I've rented other dresses that were not this way and ended up giving a bit more of a show than I would have liked). The full skirt was super fun to dance in, but by the end of the night my arms were sore from holding up all those layers of fabric (good problem to have)! Overall, gorgeous dress, really comfortable and definitely recommend renting it ( I may even rent it again)!
Nataly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

I felt beautiful!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect, and so convenient! Shipped it to AZ, where the wedding was, and gave it to the front desk to ship it right back. No mess, no hassle, and especially no dry cleaning! I would say it's tight in the bust. If you're a curvy girl who doesn't mind smooshing the girls up top, this dress is uber flattering. Accentuates your waste and flowy all the way down. It is on the longer side, so if you're on the shorter side I would recommend 4-5 inch heels otherwise you'll be tripping all over the dance floor, with mini heart attacks when someone accidentally steps on it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×