New Heights Gown

$70 rental
$695 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look like a smoke show for your next formal event in this black stunner by Halston Heritage. It's sheer overlay and slit makes this the perfect gown for a sultry, head turning look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe (100% polyester). Sleeveless. One-shoulder neckline. A-line skirt with front slit. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
75 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(29)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 1, 2015
Stunning
This was my back up dress and ended up being my main dress for the night. Absolutely loved it. The model picture doesn't do this dress justice. I cannot say it enough but I really really loved it. I'm 5'7" and wore 4 inch heels and it just touched the floor with my heels on, which I love because its hard to find long dresses for tall girls like me along with high heels thrown in the mix. I definitely recommend this dress. PS the slit is amazing
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 9, 2015
Classic
I loved this dress. It is light and softly fitting. The off the shoulder style is not over done in the dress. It truly is a classic. The only issue was that I accidentally ordered a long size and am 5'-2. It dragged too much. I did not end up wearing it but will rent again in the appropriate length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
May 30, 2015
Customer service ON FLEEK
Pretty but wouldn't rent again… The skirt kept rotating to the side a little bit and even though I was wearing 3 inch heels, the skirt still seemed long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 21, 2015
Pretty
This is a very simple gown, but it was still very elegant and I felt great in it.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2015
Beautiful black dress!
I think this would flatter any shape. It is very comfortable. Beautiful elegant black dress!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2015
Great dress for a NYE celebration
This dress was perfect for the event. Very elegant and I got a ton of compliments! I typically wear a size 4, although ordered a 2 because other reviews said it ran large. Luckily the 2 fit because the 4 was a bit more worn. The dress was a little long for me, even with 3" heels, so it dragged on the floor a bit. Other than that, it was a great dress and RTR has been a wonderful experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 10, 2014
This dress was amazing, I wanted to keep it!
Fit was excellent, and as others have stated, the top runs a little large. This actually was the reason I ordered this dress, My girls are fairly large and they FIT! Dress also has a bit of a stretch which was fantastic. The 8 and 10 both were just a tad short, they didn't hit the ground in heels, but totally overlookable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 4, 2014
Not flattering
This dress was beautiful but the fabric is not forgiving. It was very stretchy but the top was so loose I didn't wear it for fear of it falling down.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 25, 2014
Everyone raved about the gown and the jewelry- all were rented from RTR.
Ordered the 8R and 6L (out of 6R), and ended up wearing the 6L. Overall fit was great. I am curvy on the hips, but small on the bust, so the top was a bit lose on me. Ended up using fabric tape to keep the top attached to my bra. Wore with 3" heels, and gown draped beautifully on the floor.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 25, 2014
The dress was a great hit for the black tie event. Very classy and simple.
I normally wear 6 but 4L worked great. The dress is very simple but a great fit that highlights the curve. This was my first experience with RTR but won't be last!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
October 20, 2014
Didn't work.
Unfortunately the 4r arrived torn- something happened in shipping, but I tried it on anyway as this was my original first choice. The fit was REALLY unflattering on me. The bust was huge, the waist was small (pinched a little almost giving me a weird muffin top) and the armhole in the top was tight., yet the sheer material was weirdly loose over my bust . Luckily my backup worked out like a dream, so I didn't bother with this one.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 12, 2014
This dress was really comfortable and soo elegant.
I just had a baby, so the fact that the bust was roomy was appreciated! The detailing around the middle also helped camoflauge my post-baby belly. It helped me feel super glamorous at a time when I'm feeling frumpy and lumpy!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 7, 2014
Black tie gala event in Atlanta and the dress was perfect!
I based my size choice on the reviews and almost could have gone down two sizes. The fit is somewhat forgiving as it is a stretchy material. I felt elegant but understated and it fit the occasion perfectly. I am slightly less than 5'4" and wore 3 inch heels. It resulted in a small 'train' behind me which my husband only stepped on twice. There was no dancing which could have been tricky. I am anywhere from a 6 to an 8 to a 10 depending on style and fabric. The 8 worked. The best part was that no one else was wearing the same dress. This was my first time so I will definitely do it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 7, 2014
Very flattering and comfortable, tre chic!
I'm 5'8 and worried about the length with heels. I would have liked it 1-2 inches longer (the Long wasnt available so I got a 8R) but it totally worked. I had to stand up at my sisters wedding 4 months after having a baby and this was flattering, comfortable and really worked perfectly on the areas I was self conscious about. I think this would be a stunning dress at any size and the detailing of the sheer overlay made it very special. I had tons of compliments and felt great!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 6, 2014
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding, and it was absolutely perfect!
I normally wear a 4L, and this dress fit true to size. I'm 5'8" and wore around 4 inch heels to the event, and the dress was perfectly skimming the ground. The slit isn't as wide as on the model, and I found that it was the perfect little "wow" factor for this dress! The only issue that I had was with the bust, but I think that it was only for this specific dress. Someone much larger than me on top had worn this dress before and stretched out the bust underneath the sheer shoulder. However, two pieces of fashion tape fixed it right up, and I didn't have a single issue with it that night! I received so many compliments for what I was wearing that night. I absolutely loved this dress and will definitely rent it again for another black tie event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 30, 2014
This was a great dress for a black tie affair! I felt very elegant and comfortable all evening
After reading lots of reviews I decided to get and 8 and a 10 . I have put on some weight this past year so I probable wear a size 10 in an everyday dress. As the reviews said it runs large. I found the 10 to have too much length in the bodice and the chest area. I wore the 8L with spanx it looked nice. IT WAS VERY LONG... I am 5'9 and I wore 3 inch heals and it was dragging all night. Even if you're tall and you wear heels I suggest the regular length. The material around the chest was also very generous so definitely rent smaller!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
September 27, 2014
Understated elegance!
Loved this dress! Being almost 5'9" I was concerned with length. This dress was perfect in the L version and I wore 3" heels! I loved the simplicity and elegance. It is made of jersey knit so I did wear spanx to reduce panty lines. Hangs nicely and was so comfortable. I fit both the 4l & 6l but opted for the 6l for a little extra breathing room.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 164lbs
September 7, 2014
Great dress that looks elegant.
This dress has a great fit and is true to size. It runs a bit long though so I did have to keep picking it up so people wouldn't step on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
July 9, 2014
Overall great dress...lots of compliments
This dress was the perfect length for me and the slit was just right. The picture doesn't show that there actually is fabric covering the slit so it only shows when you are walking which was fine with me. I don't normally wear spanx and because I did I think it bunched a little on the back side under my arms. Other than that I received so many compliments and felt very comfortable in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 9, 2014
Loved this dress! Perfect for my black tie wedding.
Dress fit perfectly. Long slit made it super sexy & stretchy material made this so comfortable! A bit roomy in the bust, but I knew that based off of other reviews I read. I'm 5'4 and wore 3" heels. Dress just barely touched the ground so length was perfect. Would definitely recommend for a black tie or formal affair!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
July 7, 2014
Felt amazing all night with room the dance!
This dress was perfect for the black tie wedding i attended. Not only did I feel like a million bucks but the dress was comfortable and slit allowed me to bust out my crazy dance moves all night long. I high recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 23, 2014
I could not recommend this dress any more. I felt like a model rocking this gown, it fit perfectly!
This dress is gorgeous, it definitely runs a little big so I highly suggest getting a size smaller than you would usually wear. I'm usually a size 6 and the 4R fit me perfectly! However, if you have any problem areas like I do (I've got a little cellulite on the top of my thighs), definitely definitely invest in Spanx! The dress is pretty slinky, but it's super flattering. I was complimented all night and the slit makes it SO much better. I wish I could buy this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
June 12, 2014
It was a fabulous night for the black tie fundraiser.
The top of the dress was a little large. But wasn't noticeable just by looking. It was very comfortable and forgiving fabric.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 6, 2014
Lots of compliments on this one!
I wore this gown to a black tie fundraising event where my work hosted a table. Received TONS of compliments. I am 5'4" and would have opted for the 0R, but none were available, so obviously the 0L was a little on the longer side. The material has lots of stretch to it, so on top if felt a little loose. Overall beautiful and simply a very elegant dress. I felt beautiful in it, but still on the reserved side (since it was a work function). When ordering a size, just keep in mind the nature of the material. Might want to order a size down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
June 4, 2014
The dress was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended.
I'm normally a 10 but the dress ran a little bit so I was able to fit into the 8. It has a little spandex in it so it was super comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
May 23, 2014
Not fabulous. But it was pretty and expensing looking.
It was okay. I didn't know it would be so form fitting. It shows a lot! I wore black spanks underneath for a little extra tummy control. I wore it to prom and got a lot of compliments. It was pretty but It was kind of plain. The black gauzy overlay was beautiful and the slit makes the dress so pretty when walking. I wish I would have chose another dress for prom. It does run super large! I usually wear a 6 and I ended up wearing the 2R. I'm 5'6" so the regular length was okay with short heels. I would recommend the long for anyone that wanted to wear tall heels. If your around my age, I would recommend a dress that was a little more fun. It's very formal and fancy. And feels very mature. RTR was great! They offered to ship me another dress in time but I didn't want to risk it! I will definitely be renting again from RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 9, 2014
Lots of compliments, but never "loved" the dress
I wanted to love the dress, but when it arrived I didn't feel as stellar in it as I had hoped. It was a bit too long, but I made it work. I wore 2.5 inch heels (my husband is short, so I typically don't go with big heels when we're out together). The dress was definitely on the big side. I got a size 2, but unfortunately the 0 was not available as a back-up. Also, I think my dress had been stretched out by someone who was bustier than me because the inside portion of the dress (the strapless part under the sheer fabric) was MUCH too large. It wasn't the best construction to begin with, and I had to pin it just to keep it up. The slit was the best aspect of the dress, and I did love flashing some leg throughout the night! Overall, it wasn't a bad dress. I did have a fun night and received many compliments. It just wasn't quite the feeling I wanted.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
April 29, 2014
I couldn't use this style for my event
I had to return this style for another because both sizes I chose ran large. The 2 was big and unflattering on my frame so I didn't even attempt the 4. Unfortunately the 0 was unavailable so I had to chose another style that worked for my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2014
Elegant, simple yet sexy
I wore this to a black tie optional wedding and it turned out great! I was super nervous about ordering a size 0R for a back up size, but I am very glad I did. The size 2 was huge (unwearable) on me - especially in the chest area. The material is stretchy so it hugged my midsection perfectly, and flowed very nicely. I wore 2.5 inch heels with the dress to make the length perfect on me. It was elegant yet sexy because of the high slit - which I loved! Felt great wearing it. You do need to think about the slit while sitting, etc bc it is so high.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2014
Too baggy, not flattering
Even with 4L, it was too baggy at the chest, and not flattering at the waist and hip either. Slit looks nice on the model, but in real life when standing still this just looks like a plain black dress with few details to make it attractive. Perhaps an even smaller size would have worked? Would not rent again... Good thing this was the back up dress.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
April 20, 2014
They had my back when I needed a third option to choose from when the other dresses didn't fit
The dress was beautiful and perfect for the occasion
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
April 13, 2014
Very cute dress.
Flattering dress. Split is not as high as the picture. Lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2014
Not my favorite...
As others have pointed out, this runs long. Even w/ 3+ inch heels, it was dragging the ground. I ended up going with my back-up dress, as this just didn't wow me once I put it on. Also, the one I received was really stretched out in the chest area, so I'm not sure it would've stayed up all night. The dress was comfortable, but just didn't have that punch for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
March 27, 2014
Gorgeous dress, easy to wear!
Following other reviews, I ordered the 2R. The dress has some stretch and the chiffon overlay is flattering. I needed 4" heels to walk comfortably and there was still a little train. The slit was about mid-thigh. I felt like a star walking around the dinner with the dress flowing behind me! Tons of compliments, would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 190lbs
March 26, 2014
Very sleek high fashion dress
Dress was perfect for this formal event. But was great that it also had sex appeal as well with the leg. side do for the hair also worked well. Needed 1 size up to add the length.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 24, 2014
Elegant and classy
Loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding it made me look very elegant and classy. I made an updo and long chandelier earings. It was perfect!
ChristineApril 15, 2014
Hi Marianna - have the same measurements as you do - I usually wear a 6, but believe there is no way I could get a 2 on - does the dress run that big?
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
March 17, 2014
This dress was so fab!!
I thought it was very true to size, no real cons!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2014
So classy and beautiful
The dress was a fun, beautiful and young dress. It was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended. I received a ton of compliments. The only complaint I have is the dress was a little long on my 5'4 frame. Other then the length I felt beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 2, 2014
I got so many compliments and could see the look of amazement on people's faces !
It Fits a tiny bit large, because I normally wear a size 2 but wore the size 0. This may be because the fabric was strechy, which takes me to my second point. In the picture, the dress looks like it has some volume and hold to it from the waist down, but in person it's pretty flat; hence the 4 stars. Now the top is actually prettier in person, and if you are looking for a bit of a wow factor, know that you will get it from the detail on the top instead of the volume on the bottom. It was also really long, I am 5.2" and wore 5" heels and it was still way too long, so I had to use hemming tape to fix this. If you are short, I would definitely recommend investing in some hemming tape (they offer it on rtr) and getting it two days before your event, cuz it needs fixing. But overall, it was a great dress and I really did get a bunch of compliments on it, and felt amazing. I also want to say that the service is great and they make everything so easy. If you are hesitant about renting, know that you are in good hands :).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2014
Amazing dress. Loved it.
After reading the reviews, I ordered the 4 & 2 (I'm between a 4/6) glad I ordered a smaller size, the dress ran large. It was an amazing dress & the fit of the 2L was perfect.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×