Halston Heritage

New Heights Gown

$70 rental
$695 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look like a smoke show for your next formal event in this black stunner by Halston Heritage. It's sheer overlay and slit makes this the perfect gown for a sultry, head turning look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe (100% polyester). Sleeveless. One-shoulder neckline. A-line skirt with front slit. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(30)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2015
Beautiful black dress!

I think this would flatter any shape. It is very comfortable. Beautiful elegant black dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 21, 2015
Pretty

This is a very simple gown, but it was still very elegant and I felt great in it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
May 30, 2015
Customer service ON FLEEK

Pretty but wouldn't rent again… The skirt kept rotating to the side a little bit and even though I was wearing 3 inch heels, the skirt still seemed long.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 9, 2015
Classic

I loved this dress. It is light and softly fitting. The off the shoulder style is not over done in the dress. It truly is a classic. The only issue was that I accidentally ordered a long size and am 5'-2. It dragged too much. I did not end up wearing it but will rent again in the appropriate length.

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
March 10, 2013
Rented for a charity dinner and auction. I looked and felt great. Many compliments, great night.

Originally reading the sizing chart, I was worried about the R length w/ 4 inch heels since I"m 5'9. Dress still had pooling and I had to watch my train in the crowd. I was let down with the fit top of the dress. I'm 36D and did not fill out the top. Thank goodness for a safety pin and double sided tape! All was well hidden by the fabric that comes up over the shoulder though

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 23, 2013
Pretty, but HUGE!

The dress is forgiving, but definitely not for short people. At 5' even with 3" heels, I had about a foot of dress behind me. It also fits really, really big. I usually wear an 8, but I was swimming in it. The 6 was large too, but fit a little better. There is no support at all, so a good strapless bra is a must. The part that drapes over your shoulder is also really wide.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this for the event, but can provide what I thought about it!

Very large in the bust!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
March 26, 2013
Didn't end up wearing this dress

Both of the sizes I ordered were a bit oversized and the fit was off

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 2, 2013
I received many compliments on the dress.

I am 5'4", 115 pounds and normally wear a size 2-4 in formal dresses. I wore a size 2 in this dress, and it fit me a little loose. In particular I had plenty of extra room in the bust and tummy area. It is a stretchy fabric, so it has plenty of give. Also, I wore 3 inch heels and the dress was slightly sweeping the floor (luckily not enough to trip over it).

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2013
Beautiful dress! Very comfortable and easy to move around in. Everyone loved the dress and earrings.

The fit in the bust is very large, but the jersey material stretches enough that you can wear a smaller size to compensate. I am 5'5 and wore 3 inch heels and the dress was the perfect length.

KarleyApril 29, 2013
What earrings did you wear?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
May 14, 2013
Fun party dress!

Great experience! The dress was fantastic. As noted by the other reviews it is a bit big in the bust and the shear overlay is very long. I wore with 3 inch heels and its was still on the ground.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 20, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! Comfortable, and easy to wear

I ordered a 4L and it was perfect. I have a big chest and am always worried about things being too small up top and too big at the waist, but this dress was a perfect fit. I'm 5'6 and wore 3" heels, the 4L was the perfect lengeth.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 25, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress. It instantly makes you feel sexy and glamorous.

I am tall for a women and this dress was still long with heels on.

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2013
I left this dress on the hanger...

I didn't end up wearing this dress because the sheer shoulder was lost on me. Also i have a petite frame and the fit seemed a bit awkward for my build. I am sure it is a beautiful dress for the right person, just on me i am glad i had a backup.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
September 30, 2013
Went with a different dress from RTR and loved it!

Very pretty dress but runs BIG. I normally wear a 4 and ordered the 4L but it was very big in the chest. There was a lot of extra material and I would have been better off with the 2L but the backup size was not available.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 26, 2013
Didn't wear it!

This dress was my original choice for a formal event. However, after getting a call from Rent The Runway, I learned that it was returned to them "damaged beyond repair" so I ended up selecting a different dress. However, I DID get one of this one sent to me, in a size 12. It actually had great stretch to it, and usually wear size 14 so I was pleased that I could fit it pretty well. I just ended up going with my second selection, but this was still lovely on. I would suggest that this be worn at an outside, day/afternoon event. Or at least at a venue that's lit very well. I felt like the darkness at the formal event would have left the sheer panel detail uneasily detected. And that's part of the charm of this dress.

Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2014
I was so busy being gorgeous with this dress that I did not get a photo.

I usually wear a size six but because of read reviews I went to 2L and it was perfect. Stunning dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 11, 2014
I wore this dress to an awards ceremony. It was a classy dress and I received plenty of compliments.

Even though the dress is beautiful it fits rather large in the bust. I normally were a size 4L, in this case I had to order a 2L to fit the bust. It didn't fit snug but I am the only one who noticed.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2014
Elegant

Wore this gown for a formal Gala fundraising event and it was breath taking. The gown runs large so might order your size and one smaller. But what a wonderful choice for any formal event!

Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
February 25, 2014
Very beautiful dress. Have to work to show that much leg.

This was a beautiful dress. If you have a pear shaped body, order for your top size-- it is plenty roomy on bottom.

Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 2, 2014
I got so many compliments and could see the look of amazement on people's faces !

It Fits a tiny bit large, because I normally wear a size 2 but wore the size 0. This may be because the fabric was strechy, which takes me to my second point. In the picture, the dress looks like it has some volume and hold to it from the waist down, but in person it's pretty flat; hence the 4 stars. Now the top is actually prettier in person, and if you are looking for a bit of a wow factor, know that you will get it from the detail on the top instead of the volume on the bottom. It was also really long, I am 5.2" and wore 5" heels and it was still way too long, so I had to use hemming tape to fix this. If you are short, I would definitely recommend investing in some hemming tape (they offer it on rtr) and getting it two days before your event, cuz it needs fixing. But overall, it was a great dress and I really did get a bunch of compliments on it, and felt amazing. I also want to say that the service is great and they make everything so easy. If you are hesitant about renting, know that you are in good hands :).

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
April 29, 2014
I couldn't use this style for my event

I had to return this style for another because both sizes I chose ran large. The 2 was big and unflattering on my frame so I didn't even attempt the 4. Unfortunately the 0 was unavailable so I had to chose another style that worked for my body.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 9, 2014
Lots of compliments, but never "loved" the dress

I wanted to love the dress, but when it arrived I didn't feel as stellar in it as I had hoped. It was a bit too long, but I made it work. I wore 2.5 inch heels (my husband is short, so I typically don't go with big heels when we're out together). The dress was definitely on the big side. I got a size 2, but unfortunately the 0 was not available as a back-up. Also, I think my dress had been stretched out by someone who was bustier than me because the inside portion of the dress (the strapless part under the sheer fabric) was MUCH too large. It wasn't the best construction to begin with, and I had to pin it just to keep it up. The slit was the best aspect of the dress, and I did love flashing some leg throughout the night! Overall, it wasn't a bad dress. I did have a fun night and received many compliments. It just wasn't quite the feeling I wanted.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
May 23, 2014
Not fabulous. But it was pretty and expensing looking.

It was okay. I didn't know it would be so form fitting. It shows a lot! I wore black spanks underneath for a little extra tummy control. I wore it to prom and got a lot of compliments. It was pretty but It was kind of plain. The black gauzy overlay was beautiful and the slit makes the dress so pretty when walking. I wish I would have chose another dress for prom. It does run super large! I usually wear a 6 and I ended up wearing the 2R. I'm 5'6" so the regular length was okay with short heels. I would recommend the long for anyone that wanted to wear tall heels. If your around my age, I would recommend a dress that was a little more fun. It's very formal and fancy. And feels very mature. RTR was great! They offered to ship me another dress in time but I didn't want to risk it! I will definitely be renting again from RTR!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 6, 2014
Lots of compliments on this one!

I wore this gown to a black tie fundraising event where my work hosted a table. Received TONS of compliments. I am 5'4" and would have opted for the 0R, but none were available, so obviously the 0L was a little on the longer side. The material has lots of stretch to it, so on top if felt a little loose. Overall beautiful and simply a very elegant dress. I felt beautiful in it, but still on the reserved side (since it was a work function). When ordering a size, just keep in mind the nature of the material. Might want to order a size down.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
June 12, 2014
It was a fabulous night for the black tie fundraiser.

The top of the dress was a little large. But wasn't noticeable just by looking. It was very comfortable and forgiving fabric.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 58
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 30, 2014
This was a great dress for a black tie affair! I felt very elegant and comfortable all evening

After reading lots of reviews I decided to get and 8 and a 10 . I have put on some weight this past year so I probable wear a size 10 in an everyday dress. As the reviews said it runs large. I found the 10 to have too much length in the bodice and the chest area. I wore the 8L with spanx it looked nice. IT WAS VERY LONG... I am 5'9 and I wore 3 inch heals and it was dragging all night. Even if you're tall and you wear heels I suggest the regular length. The material around the chest was also very generous so definitely rent smaller!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 7, 2014
Black tie gala event in Atlanta and the dress was perfect!

I based my size choice on the reviews and almost could have gone down two sizes. The fit is somewhat forgiving as it is a stretchy material. I felt elegant but understated and it fit the occasion perfectly. I am slightly less than 5'4" and wore 3 inch heels. It resulted in a small 'train' behind me which my husband only stepped on twice. There was no dancing which could have been tricky. I am anywhere from a 6 to an 8 to a 10 depending on style and fabric. The 8 worked. The best part was that no one else was wearing the same dress. This was my first time so I will definitely do it again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 12, 2014
This dress was really comfortable and soo elegant.

I just had a baby, so the fact that the bust was roomy was appreciated! The detailing around the middle also helped camoflauge my post-baby belly. It helped me feel super glamorous at a time when I'm feeling frumpy and lumpy!

Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 25, 2014
The dress was a great hit for the black tie event. Very classy and simple.

I normally wear 6 but 4L worked great. The dress is very simple but a great fit that highlights the curve. This was my first experience with RTR but won't be last!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2013
Dress is sexy with the split. Overall fit was good, but too long.

Dress was too large in the bust area and really long, even with 3" heals, 4" would have been better. The look was still stunning, but better for someone taller and bustier. Did not end up being able to wear to the social, but this was the back up dress, so all was good.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 176lbs
May 24, 2013
Very Classy & A Tad Bit Risque!

I went on my Senior prom and wore this dress. The model makes the dress look like it's satin or some stiffer fabric. It turns out the dress is jersey-knit and is a tad bit under whelming. The dress really does run large!! I swore I wore a size 12, I ended up ordering the 10 & the 12. Even the 10 was too big, I wish I would've ordered the 8. I did receive a lot of compliments. I'm happy with the choice.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 18, 2013
Elegant yet sexy dress!!!

I wore this dress for a work event and received tons of compliments. It was comfortable and elegant. I ended up wearing the size 2 because the larger size was too big in the bust. My only complaint is that it was a bit too long in the back. I wore 4 inch heels and was stepping on the train most of the night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2013
I loved wearing this dress. I felt sophisticated and comfortable.

It did run big as the reviews note, so instead of wearing a 6, I wore the 4L. It was long, but was supposed to be and I just had to make sure my date stopped stepping on the train ;-). The one thing which maybe because I am so self conscious... I felt that my stomach was sticking out a bit ( the material is forgiving, but there is not much structure in the waist so I felt like you can see my stomach, but it was not a deal breaker. This is a great gown for a black tie event. Adding a big necklace, I also think helped style it more since it is simple, but elegant!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 23, 2013
Beautiful dress and super easy process

My first RTR experience and it was perfect. The reviews are spot on, this dress runs big and is super long. I normally wear a 6 and sometimes an8 in formal attire. I have very broad shoulders so the top fit perfectly on me, I figured that would be the case given how big everyone else it would be. I had to get the 4L because the 4R was out it stock and finally just starting holding it on my arm at the end of the night because it was constantly getting stepped on. I am 5'6" with at least 3 inch heels on, the front was okay but the back and train were too long. Overall it was beautiful, I loved the fit, comfort and elegance of the dress. Highly recommended!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2014
Amazing dress. Loved it.

After reading the reviews, I ordered the 4 & 2 (I'm between a 4/6) glad I ordered a smaller size, the dress ran large. It was an amazing dress & the fit of the 2L was perfect.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
June 4, 2014
The dress was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended.

I'm normally a 10 but the dress ran a little bit so I was able to fit into the 8. It has a little spandex in it so it was super comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 1, 2015
Great dress for a NYE celebration

This dress was perfect for the event. Very elegant and I got a ton of compliments! I typically wear a size 4, although ordered a 2 because other reviews said it ran large. Luckily the 2 fit because the 4 was a bit more worn. The dress was a little long for me, even with 3" heels, so it dragged on the floor a bit. Other than that, it was a great dress and RTR has been a wonderful experience!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
April 29, 2013
Classic, simple and easy to wear dress made prom a breeze!

The long was just long enough with my 4 in heels, and the slit up the front was sexy but classy, not trashy. Fit well around my wide hips, but even the two was too big around my waist and chest- I had to safety pin! Overall a very nice dress. I will rent from this company again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 29, 2013
super big in the chest

I have a large chest (30G) but this dress was HUGE up top. I had to safety pin it to keep it up (my other two dresses being unwearable, I was stuck) - it just seemed the top was way out of proportion to the rest of the dress. I might have been able to wear one size down, but honestly the dress wasn't that big elsewhere. Not sure if its stretched out from other wearings. It did not have any structure up top - boning or whatnot. It was very pretty and a nice length. I wore heels but didn't have to put on anything too tall.

See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×