Halston Heritage

New Heights Gown

$70 rental
$695 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look like a smoke show for your next formal event in this black stunner by Halston Heritage. It's sheer overlay and slit makes this the perfect gown for a sultry, head turning look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe (100% polyester). Sleeveless. One-shoulder neckline. A-line skirt with front slit. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(30)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 166lbs
February 7, 2017
dress was beautiful
Dress ran true to size. Very long. I am 5'10 and 167. I wore heels and it still was long enough. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
March 10, 2013
Rented for a charity dinner and auction. I looked and felt great. Many compliments, great night.
Originally reading the sizing chart, I was worried about the R length w/ 4 inch heels since I"m 5'9. Dress still had pooling and I had to watch my train in the crowd. I was let down with the fit top of the dress. I'm 36D and did not fill out the top. Thank goodness for a safety pin and double sided tape! All was well hidden by the fabric that comes up over the shoulder though
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 18, 2013
Stylist Review!
This is such an easy and elegant black tie option! The material has stretch to it and was very comfortable. The detail around the waist was so flattering and this could work on a variety of body types. Simple and gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 23, 2013
Pretty, but HUGE!
The dress is forgiving, but definitely not for short people. At 5' even with 3" heels, I had about a foot of dress behind me. It also fits really, really big. I usually wear an 8, but I was swimming in it. The 6 was large too, but fit a little better. There is no support at all, so a good strapless bra is a must. The part that drapes over your shoulder is also really wide.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this for the event, but can provide what I thought about it!
Very large in the bust!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
March 26, 2013
Didn't end up wearing this dress
Both of the sizes I ordered were a bit oversized and the fit was off
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 2, 2013
I received many compliments on the dress.
I am 5'4", 115 pounds and normally wear a size 2-4 in formal dresses. I wore a size 2 in this dress, and it fit me a little loose. In particular I had plenty of extra room in the bust and tummy area. It is a stretchy fabric, so it has plenty of give. Also, I wore 3 inch heels and the dress was slightly sweeping the floor (luckily not enough to trip over it).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Body type: Full Bust
April 24, 2013
Beautiful dress with just a couple of issues
The style of this dress is gorgeous, and I think it would be flattering on a variety of body types. You do need to be aware of a couple of things, though. As I think other reviewers have said, this dress is super-long. I've always needed the "long" option when I've rented before, so that's what I went with this time (because I really didn't want to risk getting a dress that's too short). But the semi-sheer overlay fabric is very long. I had to gather it up in order to walk. The other thing about the overlay -- I was glad it was there, because that is one high, wide slit! The overlay fabric does make it much more modest, but if the fabric moves, be ready to show off your legs! Overall, I was very pleased with the look of the dress -- it was great for the very formal affair I was attending. I just found myself a little uncomfortable as I dealt with the length of the overlay fabric and the slit.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2013
Beautiful dress! Very comfortable and easy to move around in. Everyone loved the dress and earrings.
The fit in the bust is very large, but the jersey material stretches enough that you can wear a smaller size to compensate. I am 5'5 and wore 3 inch heels and the dress was the perfect length.
KarleyMay 7, 2014
What earrings did you wear?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 1, 2013
Tons of compliments!!!!
The dress fit perfectly. I expected it to be long, but it wasn't so long that it impeded me having a great time. Once I went into my flats, it was stepped on a few times. I also ordered the 12, as I sometimes need the bigger dress for my bust, but I got into the 10 with no problem! I received many compliments, so, thank you, RTR!!!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
May 14, 2013
Fun party dress!
Great experience! The dress was fantastic. As noted by the other reviews it is a bit big in the bust and the shear overlay is very long. I wore with 3 inch heels and its was still on the ground.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 20, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! Comfortable, and easy to wear
I ordered a 4L and it was perfect. I have a big chest and am always worried about things being too small up top and too big at the waist, but this dress was a perfect fit. I'm 5'6 and wore 3" heels, the 4L was the perfect lengeth.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 23, 2013
I felt like an old Hollywood Starlet
This dress is stunning!! I got so many compliments. The overlay really adds a layer of intrigue and it fit perfectly. The slit is just enough to add some drama without being over the top. Just a stunning dress all around!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 24, 2013
The dress was perfect -- very flattering fit and the slit made it sexy but in a classy way.
I tried on an 8L at the NYC showroom but my stylist suggested getting the 6L as a back-up as she thought it looked a little big. I thought it fit fine, but when I got both the 6L and the 8L I agreed that the 6L looked more flattering. I am usually a size 8 and generally have to go up to a 10 if I need a different size -- I never wear 6's -- so I would say this dress runs small. I think it's because the fabric is quite stretchy.
JennySeptember 25, 2013
Were you able to wear heels with this dress?
EsaNovember 12, 2013
If you normally wear an 8/10 but were able to wear a 6 in this dress, I would think that the dress ran big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 25, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress. It instantly makes you feel sexy and glamorous.
I am tall for a women and this dress was still long with heels on.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2013
I left this dress on the hanger...
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the sheer shoulder was lost on me. Also i have a petite frame and the fit seemed a bit awkward for my build. I am sure it is a beautiful dress for the right person, just on me i am glad i had a backup.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
September 30, 2013
Went with a different dress from RTR and loved it!
Very pretty dress but runs BIG. I normally wear a 4 and ordered the 4L but it was very big in the chest. There was a lot of extra material and I would have been better off with the 2L but the backup size was not available.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 7, 2013
Rented this dress for a formal dinner/dancing evening - it is just spectacular. Felt beautiful!
It is a tad long (I am 5'*' and wore 3" heels, plus it has a (gorgeous) train - so dancing became a bit of an issue. However, the fabric is simply stunning, flows beautifully and the fit is very flattering.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 26, 2013
Didn't wear it!
This dress was my original choice for a formal event. However, after getting a call from Rent The Runway, I learned that it was returned to them "damaged beyond repair" so I ended up selecting a different dress. However, I DID get one of this one sent to me, in a size 12. It actually had great stretch to it, and usually wear size 14 so I was pleased that I could fit it pretty well. I just ended up going with my second selection, but this was still lovely on. I would suggest that this be worn at an outside, day/afternoon event. Or at least at a venue that's lit very well. I felt like the darkness at the formal event would have left the sheer panel detail uneasily detected. And that's part of the charm of this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 16, 2014
It was a beautiful dress
I loved the little extras that came with the dress, to help the fit be perfect. The dress was beautiful and I received many comments on it throughout the night. I would recommend this site to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
January 20, 2014
This dress was simple, yet elegant and so comfy!
I had read all the reviews but was nervous because most of the reviews were not for my size and I was sure that this dress just wasn't going to fit. But it did! If you wear a 12 in GAP or Old Navy jeans and have a larger chest size, this dress will fit you! I usually have to worry about "side boob" hanging out when wearing one shoulder dresses, but did not have a problem at all in this dress. Even with lots of movement, the dress stayed in place. Phew! I did not wear spanx and was still secure throughout the night that my stomach wasn't puffy b/c the dress wasn't tight around the waist/hips. I am 5'7 and had on 3 inch heels and the 14L was still longer than I'd like but I doubt I could go 14R. Just a heads up, when you are standing around and it's crowded, someone could easily be standing on the train so be aware of that before you walk off! Loved the dress and will definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 31, 2014
Too small
Pretty dress but got the 6 after reading thr reviews, for me it ran small, I probably needed the 10. :(. Better luck next time. This was my first dress that didn't fit.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2014
I was so busy being gorgeous with this dress that I did not get a photo.
I usually wear a size six but because of read reviews I went to 2L and it was perfect. Stunning dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 11, 2014
I wore this dress to an awards ceremony. It was a classy dress and I received plenty of compliments.
Even though the dress is beautiful it fits rather large in the bust. I normally were a size 4L, in this case I had to order a 2L to fit the bust. It didn't fit snug but I am the only one who noticed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2014
Elegant
Wore this gown for a formal Gala fundraising event and it was breath taking. The gown runs large so might order your size and one smaller. But what a wonderful choice for any formal event!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
February 25, 2014
Very beautiful dress. Have to work to show that much leg.
This was a beautiful dress. If you have a pear shaped body, order for your top size-- it is plenty roomy on bottom.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 2, 2014
I got so many compliments and could see the look of amazement on people's faces !
It Fits a tiny bit large, because I normally wear a size 2 but wore the size 0. This may be because the fabric was strechy, which takes me to my second point. In the picture, the dress looks like it has some volume and hold to it from the waist down, but in person it's pretty flat; hence the 4 stars. Now the top is actually prettier in person, and if you are looking for a bit of a wow factor, know that you will get it from the detail on the top instead of the volume on the bottom. It was also really long, I am 5.2" and wore 5" heels and it was still way too long, so I had to use hemming tape to fix this. If you are short, I would definitely recommend investing in some hemming tape (they offer it on rtr) and getting it two days before your event, cuz it needs fixing. But overall, it was a great dress and I really did get a bunch of compliments on it, and felt amazing. I also want to say that the service is great and they make everything so easy. If you are hesitant about renting, know that you are in good hands :).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2014
So classy and beautiful
The dress was a fun, beautiful and young dress. It was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended. I received a ton of compliments. The only complaint I have is the dress was a little long on my 5'4 frame. Other then the length I felt beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
March 17, 2014
This dress was so fab!!
I thought it was very true to size, no real cons!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 190lbs
March 26, 2014
Very sleek high fashion dress
Dress was perfect for this formal event. But was great that it also had sex appeal as well with the leg. side do for the hair also worked well. Needed 1 size up to add the length.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 27, 2014
Gorgeous dress, easy to wear!
Following other reviews, I ordered the 2R. The dress has some stretch and the chiffon overlay is flattering. I needed 4" heels to walk comfortably and there was still a little train. The slit was about mid-thigh. I felt like a star walking around the dinner with the dress flowing behind me! Tons of compliments, would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2014
Not my favorite...
As others have pointed out, this runs long. Even w/ 3+ inch heels, it was dragging the ground. I ended up going with my back-up dress, as this just didn't wow me once I put it on. Also, the one I received was really stretched out in the chest area, so I'm not sure it would've stayed up all night. The dress was comfortable, but just didn't have that punch for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
April 13, 2014
Very cute dress.
Flattering dress. Split is not as high as the picture. Lots of compliments.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
April 20, 2014
They had my back when I needed a third option to choose from when the other dresses didn't fit
The dress was beautiful and perfect for the occasion
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
April 29, 2014
I couldn't use this style for my event
I had to return this style for another because both sizes I chose ran large. The 2 was big and unflattering on my frame so I didn't even attempt the 4. Unfortunately the 0 was unavailable so I had to chose another style that worked for my body.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 9, 2014
Lots of compliments, but never "loved" the dress
I wanted to love the dress, but when it arrived I didn't feel as stellar in it as I had hoped. It was a bit too long, but I made it work. I wore 2.5 inch heels (my husband is short, so I typically don't go with big heels when we're out together). The dress was definitely on the big side. I got a size 2, but unfortunately the 0 was not available as a back-up. Also, I think my dress had been stretched out by someone who was bustier than me because the inside portion of the dress (the strapless part under the sheer fabric) was MUCH too large. It wasn't the best construction to begin with, and I had to pin it just to keep it up. The slit was the best aspect of the dress, and I did love flashing some leg throughout the night! Overall, it wasn't a bad dress. I did have a fun night and received many compliments. It just wasn't quite the feeling I wanted.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
May 23, 2014
Not fabulous. But it was pretty and expensing looking.
It was okay. I didn't know it would be so form fitting. It shows a lot! I wore black spanks underneath for a little extra tummy control. I wore it to prom and got a lot of compliments. It was pretty but It was kind of plain. The black gauzy overlay was beautiful and the slit makes the dress so pretty when walking. I wish I would have chose another dress for prom. It does run super large! I usually wear a 6 and I ended up wearing the 2R. I'm 5'6" so the regular length was okay with short heels. I would recommend the long for anyone that wanted to wear tall heels. If your around my age, I would recommend a dress that was a little more fun. It's very formal and fancy. And feels very mature. RTR was great! They offered to ship me another dress in time but I didn't want to risk it! I will definitely be renting again from RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 6, 2014
Lots of compliments on this one!
I wore this gown to a black tie fundraising event where my work hosted a table. Received TONS of compliments. I am 5'4" and would have opted for the 0R, but none were available, so obviously the 0L was a little on the longer side. The material has lots of stretch to it, so on top if felt a little loose. Overall beautiful and simply a very elegant dress. I felt beautiful in it, but still on the reserved side (since it was a work function). When ordering a size, just keep in mind the nature of the material. Might want to order a size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
June 12, 2014
It was a fabulous night for the black tie fundraiser.
The top of the dress was a little large. But wasn't noticeable just by looking. It was very comfortable and forgiving fabric.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
July 7, 2014
Felt amazing all night with room the dance!
This dress was perfect for the black tie wedding i attended. Not only did I feel like a million bucks but the dress was comfortable and slit allowed me to bust out my crazy dance moves all night long. I high recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×