Halston Heritage

Moon Goddess Gown

$145 to buy
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Turn heads at the gala walking in wearing this sexy Halston Heritage gown. A flattering color that can be pumped up with Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy pleated crepe (100% polyester). Halter neckline. Low back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Belt is not guaranteed.

Share
179 reviews
Fit
Large
(91)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2015
Gorgeous - I've never felt more glamorous! Sexy, elegant and very comfortable.

Runs big - I needed a size 0R but wasn't available - was able to make the 2R work using lots of fashion tape but definitely opt for the smaller size if you are torn between two.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Apple
Weight: 147lbs
June 1, 2015
backup dress

This was my backup dress and it arrived without the belt. The dress is very elegant but I did not wear it because I loved my first dress. This dress will work for any bust size. It si loose on the top so I would recommend ordering a size smaller. The length was also long enough to wear 3 inch heels.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2015
Great postpartum dress

Wore this a few weeks postpartum. Usually am size 0-2, was about 15 pounds over from pre-pregnancy weight, fit into the 2 perfectly so definitely runs larger. Very forgiving in the tummy area as the belt cinches the waist and the dress flows over the rest. Also was 32D pre-pregnancy, and not certain about the exact size postpartum/breastfeeding, but the girls are large and in charge - and this dress was a tad revealing in the chest area. Decided to just go with it. I wore flats with this dress purposely, and it would be too short if I wanted heels. Compliments all night long and so comfortable!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 15, 2015
Elegant and a bit daring

This dress was very pretty. I loved the fabric and the skirt part. The top was a bit tricky since I have a larger chest. I had to use a self adhering bra and fashion tape to make it look right but it was worth it. I did not love the open back as much on me because my back is wide. I think that is probably just a hang up I have about my own body more than the dress's fault though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 8, 2015
The fabric felt expensive & moved really well but the belt was for a smaller size so I adapted :-)

only downsides: 1. dress runs lage so, sideboob is a potential hazard 2. they sent a small belt soi skipped it all together

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 8, 2015
I was confident that I look great in what I'm wearing

This is a gorgeous and an elegant dress. I got a lot of compliments that night. Only thing is you have to use fashion tape to the keep the top part in place. But overall I loved it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
April 8, 2014
Sexy!

Make sure you take advantage of the 2 sizes you get and get because the fit can be tricky. I'm usually a BCBG sz 6 but I wore a sz 4 and it was still a little loose in the 'chest area' (but nothing that can't be fixed with tape!); which made me look a little 'bigger' than what I actually am. Overall this is a great dress and it's very sexy, I felt like a goddess! Even though I got an email from RTR saying that the belt wasn't available for the size I had ordered I got it but didn't use it, I felt like it gave me a little bit of a 'tummy'. I would definitely rent this dress again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
October 4, 2015
I loved how beautiful this dress made me feel!

Rented dress for a Mother/Daughter formal portrait session. The dress fit amazingly. I have a very large chest (36DDD) and smaller waist in comparison, making dress shopping hard. This dress was flattering to every part of my body. It was extremely comfortable too! I did not want to return it!!! Color is very dark, more black looking. Mine did not come with the belt, but I found a matching sash to tie around the middle.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 15, 2016
This gown was gorgeous and super comfy - perfect for a long night of dancing.

I absolutely loved this gown. The fit was on the large size, especially if you aren't full-busted so I would order a size down. I'm 5'6" and wore 4 inch heels which made the length perfect. I would definitely recommend using fashion tape to keep the neckline in place because it can go from classy to trashy in one wrong move if you have much up top. I got so many compliments on this gown and wish I had it as a permanent piece of my wardrobe. The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars is because it arrived without the belt. Otherwise, an amazing experience. Thanks RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
March 1, 2016
I wore this to a masquerade party inspired by the 70's!

I feel like this runs a little big - the Long size is definitely LONG but all in all this dress was perfect for my event. I felt sexy and glamorous and more importantly because the dress is very forgiving I could eat and drink all that I wanted. I was going to forgo the belt - it doesn't need it - but ended up wearing it to complete the look. I feel like this could be worn to a very formal event or even a more casual party. Just watch it if you get the long version, I am tall and it was still super long with 4' heels.

Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
February 9, 2016
.

.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
August 1, 2012
I felt like I was gliding as I walked down the ballroom steps.

The material of this dress is absolutely beautiful and makes you look like your gliding as you walk. I felt very sexy and elegant without trying. The only bad thing was the top of the dress was too big and wouldn't stay in one place.

ErikaAugust 1, 2012
how was the length? I am concerned that it will be too long on me. I am your height.
MegAugust 1, 2012
I really want to rent this dress but my sisters are quite big with a small mid - 32 F and 5 '8' Never tried the backless bra with tapes etc. Will it be a good idea to rent this at all?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
September 26, 2012
Gorgeous and very flattering

Beautiful dress. I needed fashion tape to keep the girls tucked in, but otherwise the fit was perfect.

michelleSeptember 26, 2012
Is the belt on this moveable? I am pregnant (normally your size), and have a belly now. Wondering if I would be able to slide the belt up over my belly?
KBSeptember 26, 2012
@Michelle: Yes, the belt comes off. However, it is pretty form-fitting and based on the size of the dress, so depending on how pregnant you are, you might want to see if they can send you an extra belt that would normally go with a larger size dress. Hope that helps and congrats on your pregnancy!
MegSeptember 26, 2012
I love the look of this dress but my girls are quite big - 32F with a small mid and 5 ' 8' . How reliable are the fashion tapes? Never seen or used them before. Is is a good idea to rent this at all? Have a birhtday party on the 15th
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2013
Beautiful dress, but too big.

This is a beautiful dress, but there is too much material around the bust. The halter style is very flattering, but since the halter doesn't adjust it ended up looking droopy. To get the dress to fit just so, we had to pin up the halter and used A LOT of fashion tape along the sides to keep the material from gaping and looking like parachutes. I usually wear a size 4 and after ordering the size 4 and 2 had to call Customer Service. They were VERY nice and sent me the size 0 right away. Overall it was very comfortable and the back was gorgeous!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 22, 2015
Classic and easy to wear.

Love this dress! I wore this for a gala and it was perfect. The dress definitely runs big, I probably could have sized down even more to a 4. I had to get creative with the top and pin the chest area down because it was pretty loose. Other than that, super classic and elegant style. I didn't wear any jewelry besides earrings and it was dressed up enough. Would definitely wear again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 103lbs
March 3, 2012
Got a ton of compliments

I loved this dress; wedding guests stopped to compliment me numerous times.... Just make sure you have PLENTY of fashion tape if you're petite! The top is flowy/large and needs taped down. But other than that, gorgeous!

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 27, 2012
Amazing dress

I felt like a princess in the floor length gown. Although, i needed about 10 pieces of fashion tape to tailor it around the chest and back area (keep in mind, I am DD, and the top was still super loose!!) The dress flows beautiful. I paired it with a necklace, and it made it stand out even more. I am 5'2" and 8R with 4 inch heals were still a bit long.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 15, 2012
Runs Large An Understatement

This fabric was to-die-for. I loved it from the moment I saw it online. The only problem? HUGE. Granted of course I am a borderline 10/12. So I could have easily gone to a size 10 on this one for sure. I ached when I couldn't even make this dress work! I highly suggest getting a size smaller than you usually would. Luckily, with the $25 additional dress deal, I loved my other dress option.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 13, 2012
Beautiful material

This dress is gorgeous and has beautiful material, but the halter is way too big! It would be challenging and take a lot of tape to get the fit just right on certain body types. I'm a 36C, and very short waisted, so there was a lot of extra material in the halter area. A smaller size may have worked, but then I don't think the waist would have fit. This may work better on narrower body types with slim waists.

Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 3, 2012
This dress is amazing, perfect for my engagement photos!

The 2L was big in the bust and the OL was perfect. The dress arrived and looked brand new!

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
October 21, 2012
great style, great to dance in!

i am a true size 4, 5'6" in height- rented both 2R and 4R, wore size 2R. fit like a glove, so i recommend renting both sizes. very comfortable, danced all night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 17, 2012
Great quality material.

This dress is as exquisite as it appears in the photo. However, the top runs huge. I am particularly petite in the rib cage, and it was tough to accommodate. I used fashion tape and safety pins. In the end, a total stranger told me it "fit like a glove", and I was very confident in it. However, if you don't want to risk it, you might consider another dress if you are my size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2013
If you have a small chest, this is not the dress for you!! Way too much room up top!

It's a beautiful dress, just made for a curvier body. Also, it didn't help that RTR forgot to send me the belt!

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 9, 2013
Loved the navy color different from black

the dress was too large in the top and waist I had to use pins to take it end and I have a C cup

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 22, 2013
Pretty dress but runs very large and needs a belt and accessories

The stylist at RTR are absolutely the best! I rented this and another dress for an event. The day before this dress was supposed to ship my stylist Serena contacted me to say the dress did not have the belt and did I still want it. She let me pick another dress and shipped me 3 dresses which I am soooo glad she did. This dress does not work without the belt. It runs really really large. I would consider going down maybe two sizes and I have a big chest and it still was really really loose and roomy. It is a great dress is you have a tummy you want to hide etc because you need no spanx to wear it. The material is really pretty and in the right size with a fab blinged out belt it would be really pretty on! I did not wear the dress to my event because it was way too big but I wore another great RTR dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 27, 2013
Overall, good dress for formal affair

The overall dress size is large, I sized down but wore my normal size belt. It still felt like a lot of fabric. I wore lots of double sided tape and was still nervous about the dress showing off more than I wanted!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Apple
Weight: 122lbs
April 28, 2013
twirling in the full skirt

should have gotten the long, but overall really comfy and flattering

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 20, 2014
Beautiful but runs long and large.

Love the fabric, cut and color of this dress but it swallowed my 5'2" frame. It was about 5" too long with 4" heels. Wish it came in a shorter length.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 11, 2014
Beautiful, elegant, lots of compliments

Perfect conservative but sexy dress for a fall wedding. I felt great and got lots of compliments. The dress was very comfortable and easy to wear. The only hitch was that the halter straps are not adjustable, and it (really one strap that goes behind the neck) was about four inches too long. I pinned it in a little bunch, and fortunately my long hair covered it. Other than that, total winner!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 22, 2014
Couldn't make it work

I didn't end up wearing this dress because it flared out at the bust and made me look wide up top. There was just too much fabric and even cinching it with the belt didn't help. I wish it fit better because it was really comfortable!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2015
Just too baggy up top and you can't tie it higher

I have boobs; to when I wear halters I rock out the tape and the tie the top a little higher to avoid any mishaps. This dress does not have a tie so you are stuck trying to either wrap it around itself or attempt to use a hair tie to keep yourself from falling out. So the waist is a little tighter than most and the top way too large. It could really be a great dress--just not for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 18, 2012
gorgeous silhouette

I loved this dress, but unfortunately, found the back to be too revealing for the wedding I was going to. The fabric was so flowy and beautiful. I loved how it was a dark navy. I'm 5'4" and even with my 4" heels, the dress was too long though. I wish it would have worked!

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2012
Great dress for the occasion.

I used the belt from the size 6, but wore the size 8. great dress, very flattering. Great experience overall.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
May 2, 2013
Beautiful and elegant!

This was a GREAT dress. Got many compliments. Definitely go down a size, or it will be too big on the top. You may want fashion tape for the side or middle if you will be dancing a lot. You also may need some petals so things don't show through the material. The back is awesome.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 4, 2016
the prom pose photo op! And of course the dress!!

The top was a little large but I am smaller busted.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2012
Elegant dress

Beautiful and elegant dress that was rather comfortable considering it was a halter. The belt was way too small for me, so I used a skinny black patent leather belt with a tiny silver bow. It worked fine, but didn't need the complication of finding a belt along with other accessories the day before the event. Loved the dress...doesn't need any neck jewelry as shown in the picture though. Elegant, yet big earrings were enough. I wore 4 inch heals and my feet were covered as it is a nice and long dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 5, 2012
Stunning

I received so many complements on this backless dress. The plunging neckline had me a little worried, but there were no wardrobe malfunctions. I rented both the 6 and 4 since I wear both depending on the maker. The 6 was swimming on me and the 4 was just perfect. (Although I did use the 6 belt and the 4 dress)

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 6, 2012
so many compliments!! :)

I am 5'4 about 140lbs and the 6R fit me perfectly. It was super comfortable too. Definitely recommend!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 8, 2012
Elegant

Fit beautifully. Make sure you use tape on the top (sides). If you are tall you must order Long.

BridgetMarch 8, 2012
did you wear a bra? what kind with this dress?
SherrieMarch 8, 2012
I'm 6'1" could I wear a low heel? Did you wear heels?
RTRMarch 8, 2012
Hi Sherri, the long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem. We recommend taking a quick measurement to be sure this will be long enough with a short heel. Bridget, this dress does not work with a standard bra so we recommend a NuBra or Hollywood Fashion tape to secure the material around your bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
March 9, 2012
The dress is gorgeous

The dress is gorgeous. I wore the 8R with the 10R belt so was glad I ordered the 10R as a back up size (b/c the 8R came with a Small belt and the 10R came with a Medium belt). Received many a compliment, it was super flowy, a bit on the long side. I wore 2" heels and still had to lift it up to walk around, especially on stairs. Also, if you have a VS very sexy convertible bra the halter and low back straps were perfect to wear a bra with this.

See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×