Halston Heritage

Moon Goddess Gown

$55 – $90 rental?
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Turn heads at the gala walking in wearing this sexy Halston Heritage gown. A flattering color that can be pumped up with Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy pleated crepe(100% polyester). Halter neckline. Low back. Belted waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
178 reviews
Fit
Large
(91)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 23, 2014
Perfect black tie gown
This is hands down the best dress I have ever rented! I did not want to return it. I had a black tie wedding in Manhattan and I have never received more compliments than I did with this dress. I normally wear a 6, but this one definitely ran large, especially in the bust. I'm fairly small busted (34B) so I didn't need to wear a bra, but anything larger could be a bit tricky since it's completely backless. RTR contacted me a few days before my rental date and let me know that the dress came back with the belt damaged and they wouldn't be able to send me another one. They sent me this dress, along with another similar dress as a backup. I was a bit worried, but it definitely did not need the belt and I definitely did not need the backup dress. The photo I posted doesn't give the color justice due to the lighting at that point in the night. It was a gorgeous, deep navy and really stood out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
June 27, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding in February. Unfortunately Mother Nature had her own plans and due to the weather the dress did not arrive on time. I did try it on after the wedding and was so sad that I wasn't able to wear it. It fit great and the length was even perfect for my 5'1 frame ( I did have 4+ inch heels on). Now I'm just looking for my next formal event so I have excuse to rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 2, 2014
Love the dress, got so many compliments.
Fits perfect, even with no boobs to fill out the top part.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 27, 2014
The dress was amazing!!!!!
Fit perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 24, 2014
The dress was soo comfortable. I danced all night
Can't wear a bra but pleats completely work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
August 26, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it
The dress is gorgeous but the top was large. I have a full bust but the top was so loose that I looked like a marshmallow.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 26, 2014
My Mom said I looked like a model! Ha! 36 mother of two!!
I wore a 3 inch hill and then pinned the neck a half inch. Taped the hanging straps back. Gorgeous flow to this gown. Stunning.
JillOctober 13, 2014
You do look amazing your mom is right you look amazing. I am about your size/age, and like you I am also busty, I am worried about keeping the girls covered when im dancing all night, did you have any problems keeping everything in place? You look amazing. Thank you!
KelliOctober 20, 2014
I did tape boobs and had no problems
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 23, 2014
This dress was different then all the black gowns at the wedding. Gorgeous deep navy color!
Fit was true to size. I am 5' 7" and the long version was perfect with about 3-4 inch heels. Deep v in front & backless so ok to wear a nu-bra. Added metallic graphite heels & necklace to the ensemble - any metallics would have worked!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 29, 2014
Wore this to a formal wedding and felt elegant and comfortable all night!
Absolutely loved this dress! The skirt on the 4 was the perfect length and flowed beautifully. I also ordered the 6 which wasy way too big so I went with the 4. I did need some fashion tape along the sides and front as it was a little baggy, but otherwise it fit great and was super comfortable. I also had to safety pin the top piece behind my neck, so I recommend having some on hand just in case. The length was perfect in heels and I didn't need to wear any kind of bra. Also the belt didn't come with mine but it wasn't needed. Definitely recommend this classic dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
November 7, 2014
Short torsos won't work with this dress
I didn't end up renting this. I was worried about the fit so I went in to the Flatiron store to try on after I reserved the dress. If you have a short torso, the top will look extremely awkward. It flares out in a strange way, and there is a lot of excess fabric that does not lay in a flattering way. And there isn't much shape to the top, so side boob/nip slips are possibilities. Length was fine for a P. I'm very short, and it was hitting the floor with the platform heels they provided. Overall, I would recommend for someone with a long torso to try this out. But even if you're taller, if you have a short torso, the top will not lay elegantly and it will look awkward.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 28, 2014
The dress was beautiful - the colour is gorgeous and the cut feels very glamorous.
That said I was surprised at how short it was - I really should have ordered a long. I don't think of myself as very tall at 5'6 but the dress was already almost an inch off the floor when I was barefoot. In heels it was just silly. The chest was also very very baggy (I wear a 32 D ) but I was able to safety pin the neck to make it fit properly. Definitely order a size down, and order a long if you want to wear heels! Otherwise, it's gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 8, 2014
Pretty but didn't fit me and might not be practical for events wear you want to dance a lot.
I didn't end up wearing this. I am 5' 3.75" and it was WAY too long - like a couple inches were on the floor (they didn't have a 2P available which is why I got 2R). Ignoring the length, I have a small figure but it wasn't overly flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 14, 2014
Elegant and Tasteful
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding and absolutely loved it! It was actually my "back up dress", and it blew my first choice out of the water! It fit like a glove, and hit just right at the floor with flats on (which I usually prefer). It was extremely comfortable and I wasn't having to fuss with it all night long. PERFECT for dancing the night away! The only downside was that you could tell the belt had seen much better days and was on it's way to falling apart. I still made it work though! I got tons of compliments all night long, even from the bride, asking where I got it! I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 29, 2014
Loved wearing this dress
Was guest at a charity ball so wanted to be somewhat conservative but not too much - this was just right and I got lots of compliments on the dress. Bought my own belt to make it sparkle a little. Per other reviews, I used the fashion tape on the sides of the top and that helped make me feel more secure in the dress, even when dancing. Would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2015
Beautiful pleated dress
I am on the taller side and this dress was just too short for me to wear with heels for a wedding. I would have ordered a long but it wasn't available and this was a back up rental. The belt that comes with it was not very flattering, looked better without it. I am also very curvy in the hips, and the dress hit my hips in an unflattering way. I did not end up wearing it. Loved the pleated look though and open back. You def. need tape to hold down the cut in front of dress.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
February 2, 2015
I wore this dress to an awards show after party. It was elegant and sexy without being too much.
I expected to wear the 4L, but tried on the 2L first and realized I could've fit into a 0L. The 2L worked fine, but so glad I ordered smaller than usual. I'm tall so I definitely needed the long size (even wish it was a bit longer because of heels). Also, my chest is smaller which works for this dress. I didn't even need the dress tape. I was very comfortable, and happy with this choice!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2015
The dress is beautiful and I received plenty of compliments.
I usually wear a 6 and ended up wearing a 4 in this dress. I may have been able to do a 2. It is a flowing dress and the only place where it doesn't have any give is at the waist band. Also, stock up on dress tape.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
March 1, 2015
Unfortunately, I never wore the dress so I didn't have a gown for the ball :(
I am normally a dress size 8. Due to the comments on the dress running large, I ordered the size 6 as well. I have a large bust, 36D. Despite that, I could not fill out the dress on the top. There is way too much fabric and engulfs your top torso. One reviewer stated that the topped laid like parachutes and I have to agree. The dress made me look huge and was not flattering at all. I am 5'3" and with 4 inch heels the dress was still too long. I never wore the dress and had to scramble to find a dress locally. I would not recommend this dress at all but the RTR customer service is fantastic.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 6, 2014
I wore this dress to my senior prom. I got so many compliments. I felt really confident in it.
I am usually a 0 in dresses and they didnt have my size but i loved this dress that i had to rent it, so i got it in a 2 long. The length and size were perfect. I felt super comfortable in the dress. I absolutley loved it. It is so unique and beautiful. I had lots of doubts about the fitting but i really recommend renting it. One issue i did have though was i didnt get the belt that was suppose to come with it so i called and they shipped me the black dress to try the black belt with it for free and it looked just a as good!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 23, 2015
Easy breezy black tie appropriate, comfortable all night long and light weight.
I rented this dress for a spring black tie wedding that was mostly outdoors. The material was light but still felt rich/substantial without feeling hot. I thought it was very true to size, I didn't end up using fashion tape like some of the other reviews and also didn't need a bra as the material in the bust is thick and lined. The belt on the 6R was very worn but mine on the 4R was in good shape and helped create a more cinched waist. I loved this dress and the length was perfect, I wore 3 1/2 inch heels and it didn't drag at all. Thanks RTR... Another great experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 24, 2015
Beautiful gown!
I ordered a 2 regular and 4 long. I am 5'6 and wore 4 inch heels with the 2 regular dress. The dress fit true to size and was super comfortable. With the dress being backless no bra was worn. The fit of the dress was perfect and I never had any concern of "falling" out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
March 26, 2015
Loved this dress! I received so many compliments!! I'm tall, and this dress goes to the ground on me
Fits true to size. I am a DD and I had plenty of room in the cup area. Loved the length, being 6'0".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 29, 2015
sexy but tasteful little number!
I usually wear a 6 but was able to wear the 4 so I do recommend sizing down. this dress is the perfect amount of sass with the open back and deep v without being too revealing. the length of the 4R was perfect on my short frame. wasn't dragging or tripping at all. loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
March 31, 2015
I absolutely loved the dress. It was so comfortable and was super easy to dance in.
I usually wear a size 6 but I saw reviews that it ran big so I also got a size 4 and the size 4 fit perfectly. The dress was great because it was revealing but not too revealing and perfect for a formal events. I got a ton of compliments on it!
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
April 6, 2015
Absolutely gorgeous! I had never felt so beautiful!! I got a ton of compliments all night!!
I used a lot of fashion tape... Wore "long" with 5inch heels and the skirt hit the floor. I had to make the belt tighter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
April 7, 2015
i return the dress cause it was too big unfortunately didn't get credit for it.
none to be described at this time ,disappointed all across the board.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 11, 2015
Great dress, extremely comfy. Can be great for larger bust.
Loved this dress--super comfortable and formal at the same time. I'm 5'3 and it was a bit long w/ 3.5" heels. I have a 36G bust so the ample fabric covered my chest but did not hang like it does on the model. It became more like an empire waist dress but still very flattering. There is excess fabric on he sides that i just tucked in without even using fashion tape. It can accentuate your waist a lot if you have a much smaller waist vs your bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2015
Va va voom
This was my first pick dress that I didn't get to wear. I ordered the 10R and the 8L. And let me just say that the long is LONG. I'm 5'5" and had 4 1/2" shoes and it was too long. Unfortunately, it was too big in the top too and there were no 6R's available. Great dress- very pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
April 22, 2015
Classy and sexy all in one dress!
I rented this gown for a black tie gala. I received a ton of compliments. The name is quite accurate. Everyone stopped me and said "you look like a goddess!" The dress fits true to size except the top is a little large and loose. I ended up having to pin it up and used a little fashion tape. It was missing the belt, but looked fine without. Also if you are short (I'm 5'2") prepare to wear high heels! Mine were 4 inches and the dress was still a little long. Overall very happy with the dress. Looked and felt great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2015
Gorgeous - I've never felt more glamorous! Sexy, elegant and very comfortable.
Runs big - I needed a size 0R but wasn't available - was able to make the 2R work using lots of fashion tape but definitely opt for the smaller size if you are torn between two.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
May 17, 2015
Glamorous dress, but runs way too large in the bust
I had rented this for a ball, but after receiving it in the mail, I decided to wear my backup style. If you have small boobs (< C cup), then please size two sizes down. I sized down a size and was still swimming up top in this dress. It can be fixed with fashion tape and still looks super classy, but you need the boobs to fill this dress. Absolutely stunning otherwise!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
May 21, 2015
Easy to adjust and fit to your body with pins.
Great for hard to fit body types. The belt was cheap and didn't fit the dress so I exchanged for a colorful scarf. Super comfortable as well. A little long for me, 5'2" and I stepped on it and was difficult to go up and down stairs with the layers. But worth the risk!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 159lbs
May 27, 2015
Dress came in perfect condition and on time
This dress was absolutely stunning, got so many compliments. This dress runs big so I went down a size and still could of went smaller. My whole experience with RTR was awesome. Once I put my dress in the mail was looking for my next rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Apple
Weight: 147lbs
June 1, 2015
backup dress
This was my backup dress and it arrived without the belt. The dress is very elegant but I did not wear it because I loved my first dress. This dress will work for any bust size. It si loose on the top so I would recommend ordering a size smaller. The length was also long enough to wear 3 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2015
Great postpartum dress
Wore this a few weeks postpartum. Usually am size 0-2, was about 15 pounds over from pre-pregnancy weight, fit into the 2 perfectly so definitely runs larger. Very forgiving in the tummy area as the belt cinches the waist and the dress flows over the rest. Also was 32D pre-pregnancy, and not certain about the exact size postpartum/breastfeeding, but the girls are large and in charge - and this dress was a tad revealing in the chest area. Decided to just go with it. I wore flats with this dress purposely, and it would be too short if I wanted heels. Compliments all night long and so comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 15, 2015
Elegant and a bit daring
This dress was very pretty. I loved the fabric and the skirt part. The top was a bit tricky since I have a larger chest. I had to use a self adhering bra and fashion tape to make it look right but it was worth it. I did not love the open back as much on me because my back is wide. I think that is probably just a hang up I have about my own body more than the dress's fault though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 14, 2014
So many compliments!
I really loved this dress. I'm only giving it 4 stars though because I literally had to use a TON of fashion tape to keep it together. I'm 5'7" and it was probably 3 inches too long and that's with 4 inch heels! So I had to tape the hem all the way around it. Then I had to also tape the sides because there is so much material. If you are small chested, I don't think there is enough fabric tape out there to make this work for you. It's very striking in the back with it being backless. I'm usually between a 8-10 and I probably could have worn a 6. Do not size up in this gown. You will swim in it! It's extremely comfortable and beautiful in person!
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
June 24, 2015
Having such a gorgeous dress and excellent customer service
This dress was my backup dress , which was shipped overnight . It was elegant, sexy , and most important I felt comfortable and beautiful in it . The reviews say it runs large , but I believe the fit of this dress is suppose to be somewhat flowy on top. I also received excellent customer service from The Rent the Runway staff . They were helpful, quick , and accurate . I felt I was taking a big risk by renting a dress , but even when my first option did not work for my body type , Rent the Runway made it all work out for me .
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 29, 2015
Gorgeous gown
Classy and the perfect neutral shade of navy. It was just much too tight in the waist, too long and too large in the bust.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 8, 2015
The fabric felt expensive & moved really well but the belt was for a smaller size so I adapted :-)
only downsides: 1. dress runs lage so, sideboob is a potential hazard 2. they sent a small belt soi skipped it all together
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×