Halston Heritage

Moon Goddess Gown

$269 to buy
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Turn heads at the gala walking in wearing this sexy Halston Heritage gown. A flattering color that can be pumped up with Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy pleated crepe (100% polyester). Halter neckline. Low back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Belt is not guaranteed.

Share
178 reviews
Fit
Large
(91)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2012
Great dress!! Received a lot of compliments.
It runs a little large for size but no cons
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2013
Loved everything about this dress!, it was comfortable and classy with a sexy edge.
The sides of the dress were a slight problem but nothing a little double stick tape couldn't solve.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
February 4, 2013
Super comfortable, sexy, quality gown!
This could be the most comfortable formal gown I've ever tried. The pleated chiffon was light & airy, but well lined so it felt well made and expensive. This was the first halter didn't make me look like a stripper as it had ample fabric providing excellent coverage for my busty curves. You could get away w/o wearing a bra, I ordered the Braza stick-on bra from RTR which helped a little. Overall, a very sexy dress yet modest that makes you feel beautiful yet comfortable. The length was definitely long , I ordered the regular length and was wearing 3.5" heels, but it pooled beautifully when standing. I just had to pick up the skirt when walking.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2013
The dress was beautiful and was comfortable to wear.
I usually wear a 6, but this dress ran big and I ended up wearing the 4. Thanks for the two size option. The top was a little big, but with fashion tape everything stayed were it was supposed to. I'm 5'3" and had 3" heels and it was the perfect length. The dress hides body flaws and is very comfortable to wear. The only thing was the belt had seen better days.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 18, 2013
Beautiful!
Such a beautiful dress! I really loved everything about it! It was comfortable and the back was unlike any other dress at the event I attended. It does run big. I have a small chest and I was just lost in all the pleats. Also, the belt was a little ragged looking.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
April 22, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress!!
The dress is more navy in person - very classy and beautiful! This runs large as I wore the 0 and I am normally a 4. The length was perfect with 4 inch heels. This dress was so comfortable to wear. I would recommend fashion tape for the sides of the halter (which they so nicely added to the package). I will definitely rent again! Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2013
Great dress, but belt missing
I absolutely loved this dress! Unfortunately, the belt was missing when it was delivered and since I was traveling and didn't have an appropriate one with me, I couldn't wear it :( Next time I need another formal dress, I will re-rent this one and either have a spare belt handy or keep my fingers crossed that the belt comes with it!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2013
Stunning dress but runs at least 1-2 sizes too big!
I rented this for a wedding. I wanted to wear this one because of the stunning color & cut. Im also not back to my original size or weight after having my second baby. I ordered the 12 because the 10 wasnt available, I thought I could make it work with some nipping/tucking/taping etc. BUT It was sooooooo big, I wished it was doable but just so huge! Next time, I would order an 8 if I still wear a 10. Beautiful and amazing dress otherwise! Also, RTR never sent the belt with it (and it has little belt loops) so have one prepared to wear with it just in case!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 9, 2013
Better in the photo online
I actually rented this as my back up dress and did not end up wearing it. The top was huge and I defiantly needed the long instead of the regular. Beautiful if the photograph, but did not translate well onto me. Plus I got sent a belt that was 3 sizes to big for the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 18, 2013
Beautiful & Elegant Gown
Fits like a dream. Perfect and flowy. The sizing runs a little large in the bust area. The waist seems to fit true to size, but the bust is very billowy with lots of excess fabric. Fashion tape is a necessity as the fabric gapes at the sides and down the chest when you are sitting or leaning. Sit very very straight!! Or just use the tape and secure yourself along the entire line of the dress on the sides and down the middle. It worked very well for me. I did wear sphanx, but only so that there was no pantyline in back and to keep the fabric looking smooth, but it is not neccessary. I am 5'2" and wore 4" heels and the Regular length suited me perfectly. The size 2R fit as well but there was too much fabric in the breast area so it did not look good. It is a lovely dress for galas or events that do not require much dancing, as dancing would detach the tape very easily. Also, the dress photographed grape purple instead of navy at times. I would suggest no necklace with this dress as it detracts from the beauty of the deep neckline. Just wear some beautiful earrings or double cuff bracelets.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2013
Comfortable Elegance
Love this gown. It was very comfortable, but definately stood out among all the other dresses at the wedding. The top was a little large and I had to safety pin it up. Otherwise, perfect.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 7, 2013
Beautiful and elegant dress - definitely a winner.
I rented this for a wedding in Palm Beach and, after reading reviews, rented the 0L and 2L. I am 5'7 and usually wear a 2 in clothes. I am glad I got the long - perfect length with 3" heels. I probably could have gone either a 0 or 2, but given that the top is a little roomy (definitely have double sided tape), the 0 worked best. Super comfortable and sexy without being over the top. I'd rent this guy again!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 18, 2013
i felt incredibly glamorous in this gown!
i got this gown for a black tie wedding i was attending. it was actually a backup gown as the one i had ordered originally was damaged. I LOVED it though! So comfortable and glamorous. The halter style is just classic and the backless style made it very sexy at the same time. As others have said, it does run a little large- i normally wear a two or a four depending on the style of the dress. The top was definitely big as i'm not very busty, but a little fashion tape and that was no problem at all! I wore 4 inch heels with it, so the long length was perfect for me as well. It flows beautifully when you're walking too as the fabric is just gorgeous. I wish i'd taken an 'official' picture of the back of the gown as I just loved it so much. I received a ton of compliments and was comfortable the entire evening- would definitely recommend the gown :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2013
Beautiful dress but bust was large.
This dress was beautiful! Unfortunately, the bust was too large for me and I couldn't wear it. My friend (who's more well endowed than I) wore it and she looked great! * The belt that was supposed to come with the dress was not included in the package.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 15, 2013
Beautiful with some issues.
This dress is gorgeous, but it runs big. The chest part can look funny and saggy. I had to safety pin the back way up to hoist it up and I wore my hair down to cover it. I wore a gold belt which I got a lot of complements on because RTR forgot to send the belt that went with it. But it worked out because the belt I got looked great. I would recommend a gold belt anyways! Go a size down for sure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2013
Pretty dress, but it did not work me.
The color and material are very pretty but the dress was very long and the top did not fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
November 18, 2013
Very Comfortable!
The dress ran a little large and definitely did not have a lot of chest coverage or support. The rental also did not include the belt. But overall the dress fit well, with some space, and would consider renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
December 9, 2013
Beautiful dress!!! Elegant without trying. Got tons of compliments
Runs big
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
December 11, 2013
Amazing company and constant compliments on this dress!
Runs 2 sizes large; I'm a solid 4 and the 0 fit perfectly.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 16, 2012
Too big
Great looking dress, too big in the top. Ended up not wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
February 14, 2014
The dress was gorgeous and really comfortable!
The dress was a bit big in the waist and the top for me but some fashion tape here and there fixed all of that. I wore 3.5 inch heels - any shorter would have been a problem.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 6, 2014
I felt like a Goddess!
The dress was absolutely beautiful and just what I love. It didn't come with the belt in the picture, which was disappointing because it would have been very helpful, but I was able to find something to fix it. I usually wear a four or even a six in dresses because I have a thicker, more athletic body type, but a size zero probably would have made the best fit. I'm glad I chose the longer size, I wore shoes that were around four inches and the dress did not drag or anything. The bust was just quite roomy and either a bigger chest or a smaller size would have helped me. But overall, the dress was absolutely beautiful, I felt super confident and my date could not stop telling me that he thought I was the prettiest girl at his formal. I was very satisfied with the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2014
I didn't get to wear this dress to the wedding.
I ordered two sizes, a 0R and a 2L. I normally wear a 2. The 2 was way too big in the top and waist, to where the sides were billowing and looked ridiculous. The 0 fit much better in the top and waist, but was too short. If I would have ordered a 0L it would have fit perfectly. I debated wearing the 0R without heals to make up for the shortness, but it also had a large tear at the bottom of the dress that was very noticeable. This was such a shame because the dress really is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
May 27, 2014
The dress was stunning in person and extremely comfortable. I received endless compliments.
The dress was stunning in person, very simple understated elegance. The dress did run large so I would recommend going with a small size. The belts run very small and was a little worn looking. I'm short at 5'3" so the dress was very long for me barefoot, when I had 3" heels on the dress just grazed the floor so smaller girls wear your big heels and taller girls I would recommend getting the long. I had to use fashion tape to keep the sides all in place but everything stayed put after my strategically placed tape. Also there's a lot of fabric to this dress so while it was extremely comfortable I did have to pick up my skirt a bit to walk. Overall I was very happy with the dress and love the endless stream of compliments, is recommend renting for any formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 16, 2014
Sexy dress for a classy lady (with minor fixes)
The Problems: 1. Belt didn't come with the dress, without the belt the dress looks very plain. Had to borrow a gold one from a friend. 2. Length of the dress was too short, unable to wear heels with the dress, had to wear open toe flats instead. 3. The dress is made for a busty babe, I unfortunately am not. I had to clip the halter with a pin to hold it up through the night. Wore my hair down so no one would notice. *The dress clips at the natural waist giving you an hour glass shape, it fit me there. With my fixes the dress looked great. I received plenty of complements. But all that work might not be worth it for everyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 23, 2014
Perfect black tie gown
This is hands down the best dress I have ever rented! I did not want to return it. I had a black tie wedding in Manhattan and I have never received more compliments than I did with this dress. I normally wear a 6, but this one definitely ran large, especially in the bust. I'm fairly small busted (34B) so I didn't need to wear a bra, but anything larger could be a bit tricky since it's completely backless. RTR contacted me a few days before my rental date and let me know that the dress came back with the belt damaged and they wouldn't be able to send me another one. They sent me this dress, along with another similar dress as a backup. I was a bit worried, but it definitely did not need the belt and I definitely did not need the backup dress. The photo I posted doesn't give the color justice due to the lighting at that point in the night. It was a gorgeous, deep navy and really stood out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
June 27, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding in February. Unfortunately Mother Nature had her own plans and due to the weather the dress did not arrive on time. I did try it on after the wedding and was so sad that I wasn't able to wear it. It fit great and the length was even perfect for my 5'1 frame ( I did have 4+ inch heels on). Now I'm just looking for my next formal event so I have excuse to rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 24, 2014
The dress was soo comfortable. I danced all night
Can't wear a bra but pleats completely work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
August 26, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it
The dress is gorgeous but the top was large. I have a full bust but the top was so loose that I looked like a marshmallow.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 29, 2014
Wore this to a formal wedding and felt elegant and comfortable all night!
Absolutely loved this dress! The skirt on the 4 was the perfect length and flowed beautifully. I also ordered the 6 which wasy way too big so I went with the 4. I did need some fashion tape along the sides and front as it was a little baggy, but otherwise it fit great and was super comfortable. I also had to safety pin the top piece behind my neck, so I recommend having some on hand just in case. The length was perfect in heels and I didn't need to wear any kind of bra. Also the belt didn't come with mine but it wasn't needed. Definitely recommend this classic dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
November 7, 2014
Short torsos won't work with this dress
I didn't end up renting this. I was worried about the fit so I went in to the Flatiron store to try on after I reserved the dress. If you have a short torso, the top will look extremely awkward. It flares out in a strange way, and there is a lot of excess fabric that does not lay in a flattering way. And there isn't much shape to the top, so side boob/nip slips are possibilities. Length was fine for a P. I'm very short, and it was hitting the floor with the platform heels they provided. Overall, I would recommend for someone with a long torso to try this out. But even if you're taller, if you have a short torso, the top will not lay elegantly and it will look awkward.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 28, 2014
The dress was beautiful - the colour is gorgeous and the cut feels very glamorous.
That said I was surprised at how short it was - I really should have ordered a long. I don't think of myself as very tall at 5'6 but the dress was already almost an inch off the floor when I was barefoot. In heels it was just silly. The chest was also very very baggy (I wear a 32 D ) but I was able to safety pin the neck to make it fit properly. Definitely order a size down, and order a long if you want to wear heels! Otherwise, it's gorgeous!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
February 2, 2015
I wore this dress to an awards show after party. It was elegant and sexy without being too much.
I expected to wear the 4L, but tried on the 2L first and realized I could've fit into a 0L. The 2L worked fine, but so glad I ordered smaller than usual. I'm tall so I definitely needed the long size (even wish it was a bit longer because of heels). Also, my chest is smaller which works for this dress. I didn't even need the dress tape. I was very comfortable, and happy with this choice!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2015
The dress is beautiful and I received plenty of compliments.
I usually wear a 6 and ended up wearing a 4 in this dress. I may have been able to do a 2. It is a flowing dress and the only place where it doesn't have any give is at the waist band. Also, stock up on dress tape.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
March 1, 2015
Unfortunately, I never wore the dress so I didn't have a gown for the ball :(
I am normally a dress size 8. Due to the comments on the dress running large, I ordered the size 6 as well. I have a large bust, 36D. Despite that, I could not fill out the dress on the top. There is way too much fabric and engulfs your top torso. One reviewer stated that the topped laid like parachutes and I have to agree. The dress made me look huge and was not flattering at all. I am 5'3" and with 4 inch heels the dress was still too long. I never wore the dress and had to scramble to find a dress locally. I would not recommend this dress at all but the RTR customer service is fantastic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 29, 2015
sexy but tasteful little number!
I usually wear a 6 but was able to wear the 4 so I do recommend sizing down. this dress is the perfect amount of sass with the open back and deep v without being too revealing. the length of the 4R was perfect on my short frame. wasn't dragging or tripping at all. loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
April 7, 2015
i return the dress cause it was too big unfortunately didn't get credit for it.
none to be described at this time ,disappointed all across the board.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 11, 2015
Great dress, extremely comfy. Can be great for larger bust.
Loved this dress--super comfortable and formal at the same time. I'm 5'3 and it was a bit long w/ 3.5" heels. I have a 36G bust so the ample fabric covered my chest but did not hang like it does on the model. It became more like an empire waist dress but still very flattering. There is excess fabric on he sides that i just tucked in without even using fashion tape. It can accentuate your waist a lot if you have a much smaller waist vs your bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2015
Va va voom
This was my first pick dress that I didn't get to wear. I ordered the 10R and the 8L. And let me just say that the long is LONG. I'm 5'5" and had 4 1/2" shoes and it was too long. Unfortunately, it was too big in the top too and there were no 6R's available. Great dress- very pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2015
Gorgeous - I've never felt more glamorous! Sexy, elegant and very comfortable.
Runs big - I needed a size 0R but wasn't available - was able to make the 2R work using lots of fashion tape but definitely opt for the smaller size if you are torn between two.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×