Halston Heritage

Mai Tai Dress

$40 rental
$374 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel the heat! This colorblock dress by Halston Heritage is what you need for a red hot time on that date or on the dance floor with your girls. Add accessories in a similar shade to really make the bold colors pop!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolored matte jersey (69% acetate, 23% nylon, 8% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with keyhole opening. Pencil skirt with ruched body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

149 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 85
Large 55
Photos 89
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 20, 2013

It was super flattering and the colors are fabulous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I'm usually a four but the dress is stretchy so I went with the two. The two even fit a little bit loosely!
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

The dress was amazing! It was very comfortable and easy to dance in.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material showed any outlines from bra straps in the back so it's probably best to wear it with a strapless bra if you want a clean look. The cut out in the front was just the right amount of revealing- it looked sexy but classy.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
May 2, 2013

Comfortable and great for dancing!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this to a club on the top of the Rio in Vegas. It was easy to move in. I got compliments all night long. It must have flattered my rear end because it was grabbed twice! LOL! I love the colors! I am 5"8" and 148lbs. It wasn't too short either! Big plus not to tug at the bottom while you are dancing.
Abbey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 8, 2013

I received comments about this dress all night! Different, and one that draws attention.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'3" and 115 lbs. Athletic build. I'm usually concerned with how long the dress is aka where it hits on my thighs. This is a great, slim fitting dress. It was a bit loose in the stomach area, but it wasn't a huge issues (only I probably noticed it). Super comfortable and attractive. I want to rent it again for another event! I would get a size smaller than you normally are to ensure it fits properly.
Sara
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155 lbs
May 17, 2013

Loved this dress!! I would rent this again in a heartbeat!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress did run a little big. Other than that this dress was perfect!! I got a ton of compliments.
Rosa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 20, 2013

The perfect dress for VA Tech graduation dinner because it had the school colors.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress ran a little big, so I should have ordered a smaller size and it probably would have hugged my body better. The top was large on me and just made me look larger. The knot didn't fall in the right place either. However, it was very easy to wear in terms of style and comfort. I got extra points for wearing school colors to my husband's graduation dinner party!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
May 21, 2013

The dress wraps all your curves

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
You can wear this dress a night out at vegas, wedding, cocktail party and etc. Very flattering and unforgettable. True to size.
Vicky
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 21, 2013

Super sexy, comfortable dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I actually rented this dress for a charity event. In the picture online, the bottom of the dress look red, but it's actually hot pink. Luckily, the RTR stylist was able to send me another red dress overnight! I was SO lucky that I was bale to wear this dress to a cocktail party the night before. TONS of compliments and very comfortable. I was worried about the length since I am 5'2 but it was fine (if I owned it I would def hem). Great experience with RTR!
Lily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 28, 2013

Cool design, strange cut

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The cut of this dress is quite odd -- it's tight enough to expose flaws if you fill it out, but with enough extra fabric to hang awkwardly if you don't. That said, I enjoyed wearing it and found it comfortable. And I got a lot of compliments from friends who are much more fashionable than I am! I was nervous about renting the 2 since I usually wear a 4 or 6, but I think it ended up being the right size for me. The bright orange color at the very top was not ideal for my olive skin tone -- I bet this would work better on more people if the colors were reversed from bottom to top. Compared to the model I am shorter and bustier, so the skirt was longer on me (almost to the top of the knee when I pulled it down and mid-thigh when it rode up), and the slit in the front exposed more cleavage.
Amaryllis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

Hot summer dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this beautiful creation to an outdoor cocktail hour and graduation ceremony and dinner at a 5 star hotel. The colors were amazing! I wore spanx just to keep everything in place. Fabric is stretchy, forgiving. Pretty true to size. I usually wear a 6-8. The 6 fit perfectly. This dress is very well made, there are snaps to keep your bra in place. I would buy and wear again if I could!
Jill
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

Never felt better, fabulous dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is perfect for a summer wedding - it's bright, comfortable and sassy. There was not much difference in size between the 2 and the 4. Since it is meant to be more form- fitting, I went with the smaller size. My husband could not stop saying how much he loved this dress - and that almost never happens! I felt confident and beautiful and was sad to send it back.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Great color and very comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits like a glove, so if you have spanx I suggest you wear them, im pretty busty so the slit in the front for cleavage was pretty much open lol but other than that the dress was very pretty.
Veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Jul 1, 2013

This dress is amazing! It looks short on the model but the lenght is very nice.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
If you are looking for something stylish comfortable this is the dress. I got many compliments on it hugging in all the right places.
Keshi
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 2, 2013

This is perfect for a summer wedding.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits and hugs all the right places all while concealing the places you dont want to show off. I would definitely rent again!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 15, 2013

Absolutely stunning!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my parents 30th anniversary vow renewal. The material was light enough to keep me cool during the outside ceremony on one of the hottest days of July. It was long enough to be classy, yet sexy. I didn't like how the material bunched at the stomach and rear area but that was easily fixed with a pin.
FCosta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

Loved the dress. Colors were gorgeous.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely runs large. I wore an 8 and could of even done a 6. Got tons of compliments on color and dress all night. Perfect for summer wedding. There is extra fabric runching around middle which can sometimes create a pouch look but the dress is very forgiving.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Dress fit perfectly, gorgeous colors and style!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly, stretchy and forgiving material, you can easily wear Spanx with it although I didn't have any! You can wear a strapless bra or bra with criss-cross straps, if you are on the taller side it is a shorter dress, so perfect for summer wedding/cocktail party/birthday...I definitely recommend this dress!
Deanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 6, 2013

Easy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
My first RTR experience was a great one. I've wanted to try it out since I got a Gift Card from my birchbox back in December! This dress has all of my favorite colors and was probably the most comfortable dress I've ever worn. I would say it runs large. Im usually between a 0 and 2 and the 2 was very loose at the bottom. The material is stretchy and the rouging is flattering. The length is also perfect. It does not ride up while dancing or walking around. I received several compliments on this dress and I would recommend it to anyone who wants something light, comfortable and easy to move around in. Perfect for a summer wedding, birthday, or cocktail party!
Tanya
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 22, 2013

I absolutely LOVED this dress!!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The color was gorgeous! It went from Coral to Peach to Magenta/Pink (not red like pictured), and it was ruched all over. The placement of the colors and the ruching definitely accented the waist, so the dress was very flattering. I have definitely never gotten this many compliments on a dress before, and I did not want to return this dress...sigh! Consistent with a lot of the reviews, this dress definitely runs large. I generally wear a size 16, but I had lost some weight, so I thought the 14 would be perfect, but it was like a mumu on me. The 12 fit me well and was not tight at all (even though I was busty and had a big butt and wide hips), but still hugged in the right places. I definitely recommend getting a size smaller.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

Great color, great fit. Eye-catching dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing! It hugs all of your curves and is the right length for a formal affair. My only complaint is that the dress is a little baggy in the stomach area due to the layering of the fabric. I definitely could have gone a size down but opted not too because I knew I would be doing a lot of eating and drinking at the wedding. I was able to wear a regular bra with the dress, which is always a big plus for me. Overall, it was a perfect dress for a summer wedding and I loved my first experience with Rent the Runway!
jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 26, 2013

perfect dress for a wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the perfect dress for the end of the summer wedding I attended. Received lot of compliments.
Mary Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 8, 2013

Great dress! I received so many compliments on it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material was great, so comfortable. I was nervous the knot was going to stick out and look weird in pictures, but it didn't. My strapless bra showed in some pictures when I was leaning forward, but it was an easy fix by just pulling the slit up and back together. The only complaint I have was that the zipper kept bunching up at the end. Nothing crazy, but my friends kept fixing it for me as they were the ones that saw it.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

Very comfortable dress yet looked elegant!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I should have got a 2 to see how that would have fit, but I enjoyed this dress. I wish I would have taken more photos though. I rented a pink and gold ring that I wore with it as well. I have a pretty flat tummy. but had to make sure I sucked it in for photos because I noticed in a pic that it looked like I was pregnant. I could just be a little crazy...Great dress though! As always when I rent the runway, I received many compliments. :)
K
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 114
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Nov 11, 2013

Pretty in Pink

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Luv this dress! Based on other reviews, I ordered down a size and the fit was great. I ate and drank alot all night and the dress was comfy. It never felt tight and I felt the material was very forgiving. The only downside to this dress is that the colors in the pics online were slightly different that the dress when it arrived. I wore rose gold accessories and red heels so it wasn't a big deal, just not exactly what I was expecting. Also, the dress I received was totally open at the top, not a keyhole as shown in the picture. It looked okay, again not what I was expecting.
Jac
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Dec 22, 2013

Fun dress but not a head turner

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my 24th birthday and it was nice, I got compliments but I wouldn't rent it again. I'm 5'4 and I've rented a few dresses from RTR before so I am pretty good about understanding lengths and how things will look. I was a little disappointed at the length, it was right above my knee and I have pretty long legs for my body. It also looks different in the photo but not terrible. Like I said, i got compliments so it did its job, but I wouldn't order it again.
Ivy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Great colors and great fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It ran bigger than I expected so I was able to size down and wear the 4. Might have even been able to get away with the 2! It was very comfortable and a great length, not too long or short.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Beautiful dress, very flattering

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was true to size, beautiful colors. Not too short, very classy. You can wear a regular bra with it too. Great party dress!
sandra
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

Great Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for wedding in Puerto Rico. The dress fit great and was very figure flattering!
Mari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

Very elegant and sexy dress! I felt glamorous in this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved how this dress fit and hugged me in all the right places! Although I didn't go with this dress for my event I will be renting it next month for another event:) The length was perfect for a petite women.
RTR Customer
Mar 30, 2014

Amazing colors! Plus forgiving cut and fabric! Hugs in all the right places :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was amazing! The colors were gorgeous! The for was amazing and made me feel so sexy. It didn't hug my stomach too tightly and the cut out detail at the chest is so hot and my boyfriend loved it! #GreatNight #Pink #Hottie
Mmilkwayy33
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Loved the color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 6 was a perfect fit for a wedding! I could have also worn the 4 but only if I was going out with the girls or a hot date :) because it was shorter than the 6 on me.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 148 lbs
May 4, 2014

Felt unbelievable in this dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved, loved this dress. The size 6 seemed a little big and the draping didn't look right. The size 4 fit perfectly. Got compliments all night. Rented it again for a wedding in May.
Kitsy Verona
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
May 10, 2014

Fun colored dress lights up the night!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a fund raiser that required cocktail attire. I received numerous comments about how great I looked and how flattering the dress fit me. I have an hour glass shape that almost borders on being a pear shape and this dress fit wonderfully. It is stretchy and form fitting. I would get it again!
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 107 lbs
May 11, 2014

Beautiful colors!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for the wedding I attended on lake Travis in Austin. The coral colors were a perfect color scheme with the gorgeous venue. The dress definitely runs big and got a little baggier by the end of the night and I could have worn a smaller than 0 if it existed but it wasn't a big deal. Overall I was very happy with this rental.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
May 15, 2014

Fun dress that accommodated my growing belly!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a summer wedding in Florida at 19 weeks pregnant. Overall I liked the dress and got several compliments. As others have noted, the keyhole at the top does show some cleavage. I wore Spanx with this dress mostly to feel more comfortable. Due to my bump I did not feel the dress ran large, in fact I ordered the 0 as recommended by RTR for my backup and didn't even try it on because the 2 was tight enough. This is a good option to wear as a maternity dress, if you are looking to show off your bump instead of trying to camouflage it.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 20, 2014

This dress was happy, cheerful, and just sexy enough. Perfect for a Newport Beach wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 4, but wore a 2 in this. The fit was great there was enough fabric so that it is somewhat forgiving. It was also very comfortable. This is a little embarrassing, but I forgot to pack a bra and this dress still looked good.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 26, 2014

The colors on the dress are gorgeous!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The colors in the dress are so vibrant! The dress has stretchy material so size down. You can wear it for a classy affair or make it more sexy! The keyhole is perfectly placed and gives just a peak of cleavage
Tamara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
May 29, 2014

Fashion While Pregnant

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress at 18 weeks pregnant to wear to a friend's birthday party. The fabric was definitely stretchy enough to cover my itty bitty bump. I wore the same size as pre-pregnancy so it wasn't gape-y anywhere else. I did think the keyhole slit was a little low, my bra kept showing. Dress hit mid thigh on my 5'8" frame. Dress was very comfortable. LOVED the color blocking and rouching.
JL
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 19, 2015

If you have a small rear, this would be a great dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have a large rear and a small waist. This dress fit, it was just out of my comfort zone as it was form fitting. It accentuated every curve and I'm not used to that as I normally wear A-line dresses to hide my large rear. I ordered this dress to step out of my comfort zone of A-Line dresses that I typically wear, but it was a little too much out of my comfort zone. I ordered a size 4 and 6, didn't wear either of them.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

My boyfriend kept telling me how gorgeous I was and could not stop starring!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore it for my valentines date with my boyfriend. I loved the fit and the color. It was longer than I expected, which I liked! The knot hid my stomach so I was happy to see that. I would definitely rent this dress again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×