Green Tropics Dress

$40 rental
$295 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This one shoulder Halston Heritage dress is great to wear to a friend’s wedding any time of the year. Trendy emerald colors always transition well from Spring into Fall.
Also available in blue and yellow.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
115 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(75)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 13, 2014
Weird rouching in the chest is very restricting, not my favorite dress!
This dress could be really pretty but has weird rouching all of the way down the chest and ribcage area. It was overly tight in the boobs (and I'm only a B cup!) but flowing in the stomach and seeming to make me feel heavier than I was. I didn't end up wearing this dress. Also, the color is a bit more muted in person, not really the gorgeous emerald green I was expecting, but more of a darker muted green shade.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 15, 2014
stunning
The color and design of the dress is STUNNING
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 10, 2014
Color is gorgeous, comfortable fabric, overall a stunning dress
The emerald of this dress is absolutely stunning. The dress runs pretty small across the chest, but otherwise fits true to size. Fabric is comfortable and you can wear all night. Wore for a wedding and got tons of compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 27, 2013
Dark green, tight in bust and waist, but nice classic dress.
This dress is much darker than it is in the picture and looked great with black tights and the gold jewelry I wore. The dress hit a few inches above the knee for me (I'm 5'7) and was a nice dancing dress, very light and twirly. The bust was very tight and it felt like it was flattening out my chest on one side. Besides the uniboob, it was a nice dress for a formal evening wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 14, 2013
I stood out in this lovely green dress at my company holiday party!
Loved this dress! Got lots of compliments on it. I wore it to my company holiday party. The green color was so bright (emerald color). I loved it! The only con I can think of is the zipper is hard to zip up (on the bodice area). Other than that, this dress was a hit! Would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 1, 2013
Cute fit!
I loved this dress! I was a little bit hesitant because I knew that the top needed to fit right but it definitely did! The color is so beautiful in person too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 30, 2013
With RTR, I got to wear something truly unique that I would never get to buy in a store!
After reading everyone else's reviews, I ordered my regular size and a size up. However my back up size wasn't available so I ordered anyway and hoped for the best. The dress runs very small. It's very tight at the rib cage and the zipper is super tough so it required an extra set of hands. The dress I received even had a small tear by the zipper that I was self-conscious about all night. I know I should have had RTR overnight me another, but the dress was so beautiful, I didn't want to leave everything to chance so close to the date of the party. That being said, it really is a gorgeous dress and I have no regrets. I got tons of compliments on both the dress and the necklace and will be renting again soon for another event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 11, 2013
Beautiful color
RTR sent me this when my original order became unavailable. I did not end up wearing but the green was a rich color and the dress was quite comfortable when I tried it on. It's conservative so perfect for a wedding so you're not showing too much skin. I'm short so it was longer on me then it shows on the model, hitting a few inches above my knee. It accentuated my smallest parts (waist) and also hugged my curves in the right spots without it being uncomfortable. Only downside I saw was because of my curves I felt it made me look a bit hippy-er than I would have liked. I would rent in the future for another event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 3, 2013
Backup dress
Pretty color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
October 20, 2013
Great color. Lots of compliments!!
Loved everything about it. Great length. Amazing color.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
October 14, 2013
First RTR experience - will definitely do it again!
I am very petite & was worried about the fit..but shouldn't have! Bodice was a snug fit, skirt was flowy & comfortable. The length was just above my knee (I am 5'0"), so it was perfect for a colleague's wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2013
Very successful rent
Wish dress was a little shorter.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2013
I received so many compliments at the wedding!
The only problem with this dress is the zipper- definitely need an extra set of hands! The top fit snug enough to not need a bra, which was great. The length was perfect and it was loose enough around the belly area so I didn't feel uncomfortable when sitting (stuffed) at dinner. Great first RTR experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
September 8, 2013
This dress made my night!!!!!!
I was so worried after reading the reviews, when my dress revived, it fit perfect. I rented both 2 and 4, I wore the 2, I looked and felt amazing all night. I got so many compliments. It's sad that I have to return the dress but am glad I rented it and I highly recommend it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 7, 2013
Fun, flirty, and great for dancing!
I'm a size 32D and it was pretty snug in the chest. Couldn't fit my bra in there, but it was secure enough that I didn't need it anyway.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 11, 2013
Beautiful, comfortable, flattering- so many compliments!
2 days before my event I found out that the dress I rented wasn't available. The stylist chose 2 similar dresses for me to try, and this was one of them. I loved it! It looked great on but it was also super comfortable. I had no problems eating a lot at dinner and dancing all night! And the color is so unique- it's not a bright or mint green but it's not too dark either. All night I kept getting compliments- it was definitely a hit. Even though this wasn't the dress I ordered RTR came through & I had a great experience. I will definitely be renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 5, 2013
lovely color, fun skirt!
I wore this for an evening wedding. Super pretty jewel green color! The top is a little snug (even with my small bust) and the arm hole bordered on almost uncomfortable but it really wasn't a big deal and the 4 was too big for me. The skirt is loose and flowy and fun! The material is kind of thick so it probably would have worked better for a winter or cooler weather wedding. Luckily, the wedding was indoors and the summer heat wasn't a problem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
July 28, 2013
gorgeous color, flattering fit! got lots of compilments!
wore to a friend's wedding. the fit was flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 23, 2013
beautiful color
this color and fabric of this dress is beautiful, but the dress is much longer then it appears in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2013
Love!
Rented this dress for a friend's wedding -- received so many compliments on the color and style! Def. stood out among the sea of royal blue and black dresses. Wish I would have rented a fabulous statement necklace to go with it, but I rented this dress at the last minute and I didn't even think to do that at the time. Reviews said the dress ran small, so I ordered my usual size 6 and a size 8. The 8 was a little too big and it didn't lay right. The 6 was a perfect except for one thing -- THE ZIPPER. I had no problem pulling the dress closed so I know it wasn't an issue with being too small, but it took my boyfriend a good 10 minutes of trying to pull the zipper up before it finally gave. It would go up the skirt portion easily but would not budge once it hit the waist/change in material. It was extremely frustrating but once he finally was able to get it up, I was in love. I'd recommend going bra-less unless you have a really good strapless bra otherwise you might look misshaped.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
July 12, 2013
Not a stand out dress I've worn.
I loved the color. It was good enough, but the front seemed to go too low on the unshouldered side compared to the rest of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
July 8, 2013
Color not true to image
I ordered this dress more to see the color, not the size itself. My size was not available, but I wanted to see it in person anyway, so this dress does NOT fit (though it wasn't the purpose!) The color is a lot darker. It is more of a forest-green instead of a kelly green. It was wintery instead of springy. It was pretty, but I opted against it. The smaller size not only is even tighter in the bust/rib cage area, but the skirt is significantly smaller as well.
JenniferJuly 28, 2013
thanks for review on color. was going to get it for a summer wedding. will not now
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
July 3, 2013
no Momemt
I was my first rental from RTR, I rented the wrong size,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
June 24, 2013
It arrived on time and it fit perfect!
The fit was great. I wish I had ordered something to embellish it more, but overall it was a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 23, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
This dress is gorgeous! I wore it in my brother's wedding (that I was in). It was the perfect length, fit, and color. I ended up wearing the 0, but easily could've worn the 2. Both sizes fit almost identically, the 0 had a slightly shorter torso. One of the sizes had a slight snag in the back, but you couldn't see it because of all of the draping in the dress. I would highly recommend this style for a wedding guest, bridesmaid, or any event where you want to look classy. Also this dress was super comfortable and had lots of room for eating/dancing. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2013
Loved the color!
I wore this to a plantation wedding in the south. The color was really pretty and gave a lot of wow and the dress was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 10, 2013
Not a Fan
This fit really strange on me. The 2 was too big as was the 4 and normally I wear a four. Maybe it was the ruching I didn't like, but it went back.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
June 3, 2013
Perfect color, perfect fit
I usually alternate between 0 and 2 with my hips as the limiting factor, but this time, my rib cage actually prevented me from wearing the 0! The dress was a wonderful color and I received a lot of compliments both at the event & afterwards based on online photographs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
May 30, 2013
Classic, flattering, gorgeous!
I wasn't sure about this dress when it arrived. I'm very short and the proportions were a bit off. The length of the bodice and the skirt on the size 2 were too long. The 0 was still a bit long, but better. The bodice is also better for a straight/narrow body. It was tight on my rib cage but looser on my waist (though not needing a bra was great), and as others have said, the zipper is difficult. All of that said, once I came around it to, I loved it!! The color is spectacular. The skirt flows and camouflages hips very well. It was perfect for showing off my shoulders and arms. For a wedding, I think this was the perfect dress - sexy and stylish without being too tight or revealing.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
May 22, 2013
Fit great on me!
Great for a wedding and a fun night of dancing. I got so many compliants too! The color looks much better in person, very bright emerald! looked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 20, 2013
Cute dress and great color. Well suited for a pair shape!
This was a cute dress and would have been great if I'd been a pair shape. This was way tight on top and squished me in, so my hour glass figure looked more pear shaped. I would have loved it if I'd been an athletic build or pear shape though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2013
This dress was absolutely perfect! I attended 4 different day events, & received so many compliments
I ordered a Size 4 and Size 6 just in case, and the 4 fit perfectly! I loved that I had the option to choose 2 sizes. The one shouldered neckline made it easy to pair with a solid chunky necklace. The side zipper did take another pair of hands to zip all the way up, but other than that I was incredibly pleased with the quality and the nicely made/wonderfully fitted chiffon-type fabric!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2013
beautiful dress!
lovely A-line one-shouldered dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
May 15, 2013
Didn't wear this
Didn't wear this because the zipper was really tough to close. Very pretty color and fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 14, 2013
Gorgeous color and fun to wear!
I loved this dress but it was really small on top. I'm glad I sized up, but even the bigger size was really really tight. Other than that, it's a beautiful dress. I'm 5'9 and the dress hit a couple inches above my knee, so it's definitely longer than it looks on the model.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
April 28, 2013
400+ people, a stranger said to me, "You are wearing the best dress of the evening, gorgeous!"
The dress was gorgeous; a little darker green than it shows in the photos but still a beautiful color. The fit was exactly as I hoped. The top was snug where it needed to be but not so snug that a nice push up didn't fit underneath. The dress was lightweight and the skirt was very floaty! Love this dress; sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
April 24, 2013
Received tons of compliments
This dress was really fun to dance in and I received tons of compliments the entire night. The only negative is that the zipper on the 4 was broken which made it really difficult to zip.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 98lbs
April 22, 2013
Love this dress! Second rental, different color!
Last July, I rented Halston's "Sunny Days Dress," that can be viewed on the dress site. It was such a fantastic fit and look, that when it came out in Emerald green, I rented the dress for this past wedding in March. Not knowing what the weather would be in D.C., I rented this dress plus a beautiful long sleeved Moschino dress from RTR. Unfortunately, there was no occasion to wear the Emerald green Halston this March, due to the cold weather.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 14, 2013
The renting process was super easy and the dress was absolutely perfect!
I am usually a size 4, but I wore the 6 mainly because the zipper on the 4 was broken. The 6 wasn't that much bigger, it just gave me a little more room to breathe. On the model the dress looks super short, but I am 5'10" and it almost touched my knees, which was a relief. In person the dress is a bit darker than depicted on the model, but still a gorgeous color nonetheless. Overall, I was in love with this dress for many reasons, mainly the fact that it was very comfortable, simple, yet elegant. I would recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2013
My boyfriend was so surprised when I showed up ready to attend his end of semester semi-formal!
Wicked tight in the chest. Zippers weren't great on either dress. Glad I went with a backup size that was larger than what I normally wear. I felt like it really flattened my chest, which I didn't love. I got a lot of compliments and really liked the color but wouldn't get it again because of the fit.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×