Halston Heritage

Green Tropics Dress

$40 rental
$295 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This one shoulder Halston Heritage dress is great to wear to a friend’s wedding any time of the year. Trendy emerald colors always transition well from Spring into Fall.
Also available in blue and yellow.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
115 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(75)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 23, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
This dress is gorgeous! I wore it in my brother's wedding (that I was in). It was the perfect length, fit, and color. I ended up wearing the 0, but easily could've worn the 2. Both sizes fit almost identically, the 0 had a slightly shorter torso. One of the sizes had a slight snag in the back, but you couldn't see it because of all of the draping in the dress. I would highly recommend this style for a wedding guest, bridesmaid, or any event where you want to look classy. Also this dress was super comfortable and had lots of room for eating/dancing. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
June 24, 2013
It arrived on time and it fit perfect!
The fit was great. I wish I had ordered something to embellish it more, but overall it was a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
July 8, 2013
Color not true to image
I ordered this dress more to see the color, not the size itself. My size was not available, but I wanted to see it in person anyway, so this dress does NOT fit (though it wasn't the purpose!) The color is a lot darker. It is more of a forest-green instead of a kelly green. It was wintery instead of springy. It was pretty, but I opted against it. The smaller size not only is even tighter in the bust/rib cage area, but the skirt is significantly smaller as well.
JenniferJuly 28, 2013
thanks for review on color. was going to get it for a summer wedding. will not now
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
July 12, 2013
Not a stand out dress I've worn.
I loved the color. It was good enough, but the front seemed to go too low on the unshouldered side compared to the rest of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2013
Love!
Rented this dress for a friend's wedding -- received so many compliments on the color and style! Def. stood out among the sea of royal blue and black dresses. Wish I would have rented a fabulous statement necklace to go with it, but I rented this dress at the last minute and I didn't even think to do that at the time. Reviews said the dress ran small, so I ordered my usual size 6 and a size 8. The 8 was a little too big and it didn't lay right. The 6 was a perfect except for one thing -- THE ZIPPER. I had no problem pulling the dress closed so I know it wasn't an issue with being too small, but it took my boyfriend a good 10 minutes of trying to pull the zipper up before it finally gave. It would go up the skirt portion easily but would not budge once it hit the waist/change in material. It was extremely frustrating but once he finally was able to get it up, I was in love. I'd recommend going bra-less unless you have a really good strapless bra otherwise you might look misshaped.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
July 28, 2013
gorgeous color, flattering fit! got lots of compilments!
wore to a friend's wedding. the fit was flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 11, 2013
Beautiful, comfortable, flattering- so many compliments!
2 days before my event I found out that the dress I rented wasn't available. The stylist chose 2 similar dresses for me to try, and this was one of them. I loved it! It looked great on but it was also super comfortable. I had no problems eating a lot at dinner and dancing all night! And the color is so unique- it's not a bright or mint green but it's not too dark either. All night I kept getting compliments- it was definitely a hit. Even though this wasn't the dress I ordered RTR came through & I had a great experience. I will definitely be renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 7, 2013
Fun, flirty, and great for dancing!
I'm a size 32D and it was pretty snug in the chest. Couldn't fit my bra in there, but it was secure enough that I didn't need it anyway.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
September 8, 2013
This dress made my night!!!!!!
I was so worried after reading the reviews, when my dress revived, it fit perfect. I rented both 2 and 4, I wore the 2, I looked and felt amazing all night. I got so many compliments. It's sad that I have to return the dress but am glad I rented it and I highly recommend it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
October 14, 2013
First RTR experience - will definitely do it again!
I am very petite & was worried about the fit..but shouldn't have! Bodice was a snug fit, skirt was flowy & comfortable. The length was just above my knee (I am 5'0"), so it was perfect for a colleague's wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 30, 2013
With RTR, I got to wear something truly unique that I would never get to buy in a store!
After reading everyone else's reviews, I ordered my regular size and a size up. However my back up size wasn't available so I ordered anyway and hoped for the best. The dress runs very small. It's very tight at the rib cage and the zipper is super tough so it required an extra set of hands. The dress I received even had a small tear by the zipper that I was self-conscious about all night. I know I should have had RTR overnight me another, but the dress was so beautiful, I didn't want to leave everything to chance so close to the date of the party. That being said, it really is a gorgeous dress and I have no regrets. I got tons of compliments on both the dress and the necklace and will be renting again soon for another event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 1, 2013
Cute fit!
I loved this dress! I was a little bit hesitant because I knew that the top needed to fit right but it definitely did! The color is so beautiful in person too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 14, 2013
I stood out in this lovely green dress at my company holiday party!
Loved this dress! Got lots of compliments on it. I wore it to my company holiday party. The green color was so bright (emerald color). I loved it! The only con I can think of is the zipper is hard to zip up (on the bodice area). Other than that, this dress was a hit! Would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2013
beautiful dress!
lovely A-line one-shouldered dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
October 20, 2013
Great color. Lots of compliments!!
Loved everything about it. Great length. Amazing color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 3, 2013
Backup dress
Pretty color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 27, 2013
Dark green, tight in bust and waist, but nice classic dress.
This dress is much darker than it is in the picture and looked great with black tights and the gold jewelry I wore. The dress hit a few inches above the knee for me (I'm 5'7) and was a nice dancing dress, very light and twirly. The bust was very tight and it felt like it was flattening out my chest on one side. Besides the uniboob, it was a nice dress for a formal evening wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 10, 2014
Color is gorgeous, comfortable fabric, overall a stunning dress
The emerald of this dress is absolutely stunning. The dress runs pretty small across the chest, but otherwise fits true to size. Fabric is comfortable and you can wear all night. Wore for a wedding and got tons of compliments.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 15, 2014
stunning
The color and design of the dress is STUNNING
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 13, 2014
Weird rouching in the chest is very restricting, not my favorite dress!
This dress could be really pretty but has weird rouching all of the way down the chest and ribcage area. It was overly tight in the boobs (and I'm only a B cup!) but flowing in the stomach and seeming to make me feel heavier than I was. I didn't end up wearing this dress. Also, the color is a bit more muted in person, not really the gorgeous emerald green I was expecting, but more of a darker muted green shade.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 20, 2014
I wore this dress for my school's winter formal, and I loved it! Fits great and the color is lovely.
I ordered size 0, and it fit true to size. It had a nice, classy fit, not too tight, and was perfect for my school's event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 21, 2014
Ended up wearing a back up dress
I always wear a size 0, but RTR sent me the 2 and informed me they didn't have a 0. I couldn't wear the dress it was too big:(
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 3, 2014
Perfect dress for the occasion!
I wore this dress to a fraternity formal in Nashville and it was a hit! I was slightly worried because the only size left was a 2 and I normally wear a 0, but the fit was perfect. The top was fitted and flattering while the skirt hit about 2" above the knees and was perfect for a night of dancing.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
April 2, 2014
gorgeous, flattering, emerald/kelly green dress!
fit is perfect for my body type. Fit like a glove! Not too big or too small. I am long and lean...with long legs and was afraid it would be short. It was the perfect length and hit a few inches above my knee. Very elegant and a trendy one-shoulder design. Material and dress is light-weight, but with good quality material and stitching. Overall stunner and tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2014
Pretty dress, much darker in color.
Not cut for a woman with large breast. Very tight up top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 23, 2014
I didn't wear this dress.
In person, the color of this dress looks nothing like the color of the one on the model. I was expecting a more blue/green but it was actually a dark hunter green. I ordered the 2 and the 4, and the 2 was too small. The 4 fit, however the latch and zipper were broken and I decided to go with a different dress. It didn't look good on my body type, maybe if I had bigger boobs it would have looked better, I just felt like I was draped in a sheet. Wasn't impressed with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 10, 2014
Dress is fine
Not a particularly flattering color on Asian skin and the cut is fine but nothing special. This dress doesn't feel expensive and I wouldn't have worn it to my New Year's Eve party if I had other options (was out of town).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
June 14, 2014
Amazing color and fit!
This dress was a breeze. Easy to dance in and fit perfectly - plus the color was beautiful. Not too short and I wore heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 24, 2014
Perfect for the Christening
Beautiful dress and the modesty of it was perfect for the event I was attending. It runs slightly small which actually worked out well since the size 2 I ordered for was damaged so they sent me the size 4. Rent the Runway also sent me 3 other dresses due to the situation and I still liked this one the best, but great customer service!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 4, 2014
I wore this dress to an outdoor summer wedding.
This dress was perfect. It fit me like a glove and I received compliments from 16yo girls to older women. It's a classic.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
July 8, 2014
Perfect dress for a summer wedding!
I was initially worried the dress would be too tight at the top and a little too long. However, it ended up fitting perfectly; I just could not wear a bra (I didn't need to anyway).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 103lbs
July 28, 2014
The color and skirt were amazing
I have a large chest so the top looked a little stretched but it was something only I noticed. It hit right at the knee which was perfect for a formal affair.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
August 17, 2014
I ADORE THIS DRESS!! Perfect fit, amazing color, and SUPER comfortable!
The dress was amazing. I got soooo many compliments all night! It fit true to size, and was super comfortable. It was beautiful, the way the top lays is great, the bottom is very flowy (perfect for dancing!). I am 5'5" and the dress fell right at my knee which was nice for a formal wedding. I am very small-chested so this dress fit perfectly, if you have a large chest, the top might be a little snug. This is the most amazing dress I have ever worn, I don't want to send it back! If you rent this, you won't regret it! I have nothing but good things to say about it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 2, 2014
Loved it!
Loved this dress! It's longer than the photo on the model (thankfully) and the top is snug - I had a bit of trouble zipping it (but once I did it was fine) and wasn't able to wear a strapless bra underneath, but it's tight enough that you don't need one. The color is amazing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2014
Dress was really pretty - color was fantastic - didn't wear this dress because it was my backup
Dress def ran small through rip cage as other people said. Fit through hips was loose and flawy and very flattering. Order a size up for rib / cage bust if you want to be able to zip it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 22, 2014
Great color!
Fits a little snug compared to other Halston dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
September 24, 2014
Pretty Color
Honestly, this isn't one of my favorites. I got it because I liked the neckline and color for a photo shoot I was doing. First, it runs REALLY small, and there is no give. I typically wear a 4, but there was no way the 4 was going to zip. Thank goodness I got the six, but that barely zipped up around the ribcage as well. Like I mentioned, there is no give in the bodice, so it really flattened me out like pancake, and you can see from the photo, it made any arm fat I had jut out of the arm hole. It really wasn't flattering on me at all. The pros...the color is pretty. It's a kelly green, and the chiffon skirt was fun and flirty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
September 25, 2014
Dress was very cute and flattering! Good for girls with a long and narrow abdomen like myself!
Good for girls with a long and narrow abdomen like myself!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 6, 2014
I did not wear this dress. Was too small and had to send it back.
If you have a larger rib cage area this dress is not for you. My usual size did not fit. Had to send it back and get another one overnighted. It was a beautiful dress but definitely small.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 12, 2014
Sophomore year homecoming
I'm normally a 2 but this dress ran small. The other comments I read about the zipper were right - it takes four hands to get the zipper up due to the rouching (sp?) on the sides of the dress. No bra needed since the dress had plenty of padding (and there wasn't much room for one anyway). The dress was very comfortable and flattering to my athletic shape.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×