Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Green Tropics Dress

$40 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This one shoulder Halston Heritage dress is great to wear to a friend’s wedding any time of the year. Trendy emerald colors always transition well from Spring into Fall.
Also available in blue and yellow.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

115 reviews

Fit
Small 35
True to Size 75
Large 3
Photos 70
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Perfect for my boyfriends graduation!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I ordered a 2 and a 4..with my height the 2 would have been better but my chest would NOT fit in the dress. So if you have a C or bigger size up. The 4 fit perfect and hit right below my knee. The dress was brand new with the tags still on them :) Its a gorgeous green and flows beautifully. I got so many compliments once again! It also looked great and was comfortable for a night of celebrating.
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2012

Loved the Color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is gorgeous in person! I loved the green color! This dress is an easy fit because there is a ton of room in the skirt! The top of the dress is pretty fitted, so you definitely want to size up if you are larger chested. This dress hit me about 2-3 inches above the knee!
Allison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly, no complaints!
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Oct 21, 2012

Gorgeous color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a close friend's wedding - perfect for dancing and twirling all night long! The material has some give, so eating, drinking, etc. was no problem at all. I was obsessed with the color - it's actually a little richer and more jewel-toned than what's shown in the photo. The dress runs a little small. 95% of the time I wear a size 2, but I definitely had to size up to a 4 in this dress. It was pretty tight in the torso and waist. However, when I sized up, the strap was a tiny bit loose in the shoulder area.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Got lots of compliments! Looked great!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was tough to zip up, so I didn't wear a bra. And the cut made me look like my boobs were side ways a little. Not noticeable though. Otherwise, I loved that it was flowy and tight around my waist! The green was an amazing color! I also loved the way the one shoulder was cut. I am going to use RTR again for sure! Perfect length too, right above my knee!
Sofia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Great for dancing, beautiful color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I let my boyfriend pick this one our for our college homecoming dance. It's very comfortable, not fussy at all, and the fabric has a ton of movement which makes it a great pick if you are going to a dance. The color is beautiful and stands out among a crowd of many dresses. I felt like the dress was true to fit for me, however it will be a bit difficult to zip up for girls with a larger bust so I would go a size up.
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

Radiant!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect! I got so many compliments that night! It is so flattering!
Kinsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 23, 2012

all eyes were on me and I felt fabulous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the fit was perfect and the color is GORGEOUS! it was a little longer than I wanted, but no one seemed to notice.I highly recommend this dress for a date night.
Sophie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

So fun to twirl in!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress has an incredible skirt that twirls straight out, so it is great for dancing! The skirt is longer that the photo. It comes just above the knees, not to the upper thigh, which is perfect for me (I actually went through the other RTR photos and noticed this before renting).
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

The dress was perfect for the occasion (swing dance party) and every time I spun, the skirt spun out

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a perfect dress for the occasion. I love the way the skirt spins out, but it was a little longer than I expected. Overall, iI loved this dress and I highly recommend it.
Cati
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

Tons of complements

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a company Christmas party and nothing was wrong with it, it fit just a little big around the bust so I used fashion tape on the side without a strap. everyone thought it fit me perfectly and I looked so grown up, and since im the youngest there so it felt good to get those complements. it was alittle longer than my knee but im also short so its not like the model picture for me. I loved the twirl of the skirt and I bought a Big silver necklace for it. and black heals I went with a small heal.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 21, 2012

Fit like a glove! SO many compliments. GORGEOUS color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect! The zipper on mine stuck a little bit I believe it was due to the fabric. You know when the fabric is really thick around the zipper due to the bunching? Anyway, it turned out you just had to put some pressure on it and it was fine. Which BTW, the fabric, is SO much fun. It's light and flowy, and where the bunching hit was flattering. I wore with a set of festive lace tights and black pumps. I got so many compliments! RTR has this Halston Heritage dress in a few different colors and I will be renting it again :) Thanks RTR!
Teresa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

Gorgeous green dress!.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was really excited to get this dress, It looked happy and elegant! I ordered size 4 but I had a very hard time zipping it up, so I tried size 6 which was still hard to zip but it fit perfectly. I found that it was hard to zip,especially if there if one has no help. The dress is wonderful and as soon as I put on some accessories it was magic!. I wore it for New Year's Eve and my friends loved its simplicity and yet its charm. Thank you rent the runway, you never disappoint!. Happy New Year!.
Devi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 6, 2013

I Love this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The color, style and overall look is beautiful! The zipper on the side it a bit hard to zip but and the chest area is a bit tight, it hugs around the waist a bit too much (but going up a size is not a huge issue); it still fits really well. Add a pair of earring and bangles and your set :)
BH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Great cocktail dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really liked this dress. It did fit small because there is no way it would have zipped if I wore a bra, so you well endowed girls might need to size up. I ordered a 6 with my second size a 4. Honestly I don't know what I was thinking because the 6 fit so perfect that I didn't event try on the 4. I probably should have gotten the 8 as a second size but thankfully I didn't need it. It was fun to dance in and I got a lot of compliments. The length come to a little above my knee, a lot longer than the model picture.
Dana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 7, 2013

Love the style and color! great deal!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress so much! I ordered two sizes and it was a good thing because the smaller size was a little tight in the bust. The color was fabulous! i stood out and got so many compliments on this dress. It was perfect for my Semi Formal!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Jade Green Stands Out in a Crowd

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm glad I got the 12 because the 10 was so tight around my bust it flattened my chest. The best part of this dress is the color; it's bold, beautiful, and definitely stood out in the crowd. I wore it on vacation and it looked great with a tan! The photo doesn't reflect it, but it was a tidge shorter than I'd normally wear. This was accentuated by how flowy the dress is; a twist or turn sent the skirt twirling up. Also had to be very careful bending over to pick something up. This is a great dress if you have good shoulders, legs, or a longer neck. I didn't do the necklace like the motel as I thought it detracted from the sexiness of the asymmetrical cut. My only real complaint is I wish the zipper went up the back or the right side to hide it better from photos; it's under the sleeveless side with is the side you want to show off.
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

This dress made for a wonderful night because i was comfortable and felt pretty at the same time! :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was very true to size and was a great fit for me especially because it was long enough. Normally I have trouble finding dresses long enough for my height but it was perfect! It was also a good material that I could comfortably spin around in and dance in. I would highly recommend this dress for any nicer occasion because you could easily dress it up or down!
Brittnee Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 5, 2013

Gorgeous Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The top is very structured and fitted, so be careful if you're very busty! Overall the dress is comfortable, the color is stunning in person, and the skirt is flowy and flattering. It was longer on me that on the model in the picture. I put it with black accessories and smoky, winged eyes for a slightly 60's feel. I wore it to emcee a fashion show, and it was perfect for getting on and off stage- the only problem was that the zipper was damaged, so getting into it required a couple of extra hands.
Kayla
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

Perfect dress for the occasion!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a fraternity formal in Nashville and it was a hit! I was slightly worried because the only size left was a 2 and I normally wear a 0, but the fit was perfect. The top was fitted and flattering while the skirt hit about 2" above the knees and was perfect for a night of dancing.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Mar 29, 2014

Loved it! So many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit nicely. Good length and comfy! I had to keep pulling up the top on the side without a strap while I was dancing (but tape could have fixed that).
Becca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

gorgeous, flattering, emerald/kelly green dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit is perfect for my body type. Fit like a glove! Not too big or too small. I am long and lean...with long legs and was afraid it would be short. It was the perfect length and hit a few inches above my knee. Very elegant and a trendy one-shoulder design. Material and dress is light-weight, but with good quality material and stitching. Overall stunner and tons of compliments!
rosey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Pretty dress, much darker in color.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Not cut for a woman with large breast. Very tight up top.
Tessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

I didn't wear this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
In person, the color of this dress looks nothing like the color of the one on the model. I was expecting a more blue/green but it was actually a dark hunter green. I ordered the 2 and the 4, and the 2 was too small. The 4 fit, however the latch and zipper were broken and I decided to go with a different dress. It didn't look good on my body type, maybe if I had bigger boobs it would have looked better, I just felt like I was draped in a sheet. Wasn't impressed with this dress.
Cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 10, 2014

Dress is fine

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Not a particularly flattering color on Asian skin and the cut is fine but nothing special. This dress doesn't feel expensive and I wouldn't have worn it to my New Year's Eve party if I had other options (was out of town).
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 14, 2014

Amazing color and fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a breeze. Easy to dance in and fit perfectly - plus the color was beautiful. Not too short and I wore heels.
brenna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 4, 2014

I wore this dress to an outdoor summer wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect. It fit me like a glove and I received compliments from 16yo girls to older women. It's a classic.
noel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 103 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

The color and skirt were amazing

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have a large chest so the top looked a little stretched but it was something only I noticed. It hit right at the knee which was perfect for a formal affair.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

Dress was really pretty - color was fantastic - didn't wear this dress because it was my backup

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Dress def ran small through rip cage as other people said. Fit through hips was loose and flawy and very flattering. Order a size up for rib / cage bust if you want to be able to zip it!
Mallory
Age: 28
Sep 25, 2014

Dress was very cute and flattering! Good for girls with a long and narrow abdomen like myself!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Good for girls with a long and narrow abdomen like myself!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

I did not wear this dress. Was too small and had to send it back.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
If you have a larger rib cage area this dress is not for you. My usual size did not fit. Had to send it back and get another one overnighted. It was a beautiful dress but definitely small.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

Gorgeous green.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The color of this dress is fantastic and it photographed very well. I was afraid it would be a little short, but the length was great, even with heels on.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit well, the color is gorgeous! People loved it, especially my husband!
Christina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Anniversary date at Disney World Resort Narcoossee's Restaurant

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this in Florida for a date night while on vacation. The fit is true to size. I got both the 2 and 4. The 4 was way too loose around the waist. Im short and it hit above the knee. The color is deeper than in the photo. You definitely dont need a bra with this one!
E
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 25, 2014

This dress made my night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The bodice runs a bit tight, but I was able to fit a bra underneath. Amazing color!
Delaney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 4, 2015

Perfect Dress for the perfect dance

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a perfect fit. The zipper was a little hard to get up but I felt secure when I got it on. Chunky necklace is a must.
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was comfortable and fit very well. Overall it is a very flattering dress, I received lots of compliments
Noah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 123 lbs
Apr 9, 2015

I loved this dress! It stayed comfortable the whole night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wasn't itchy A little tight around the torso in both sizes that I got (2/4).
Jessi Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 27, 2015

The green is darker in person...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding & thank goodness it came in a day early! It fit perfectly everywhere else, and based on the reviews I expected it to be tight on top. However, I didn't think my 36Cs would be an issue! I was able to clip it closed, but not zip it by myself. I didn't even ask my fiance to help me because I knew I would've been uncomfortable all night long. I ordered the 6 & the dress was so popular for the date I needed, the back up size 8 wasn't available...such a shame because it was a really pretty dress.
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
May 20, 2015

Bold color and classy but flirty style

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Went to a wedding in this dress. So comfortable but fitted on top and flows on the bottom. More of a sheen to it than the picture suggests which is a good thing. Loved the way it fit and got compliments all night!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×