Halston Heritage

Goldfish Dress

$81 to buy
$375 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for structured chic in this flared orange dress by Halston Heritage. Perfect for a dinner date or work party, this dress is sure to brighten up any room!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Orange ponte (100% Rayon). Short sleeves. Crew neck. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
75 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 11, 2013
Pretty color, fits small.
I rented this dress (a size 0 and 2) to wear to a wedding. I usually wear a size 0 but wore the size 2... it is a drop-waist dress and the material is stretchy, so it shows everything. I ended up wearing the 2 because it fit better in the mid-section but the shoulders were a little broad. Spanx are highly recommended. I did receive quite a few compliments about how pretty the color was.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 7, 2013
Loved the fit of this dress. The color was perfect for brunch!
AMAZING!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 11, 2013
Great Spring/Summer dress!
This dress was very comfortable and flattering. The color was great and I receive loads of compliments. The dress is very very fitted but does run true to size. My only compliant was that it tended to ride up a bit in the shoulder area due to the way the materials is. But, overall, great little dress!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
April 12, 2013
The sturdy, structured fabric and the high neck/sleeves make this dress a demure choice.
I rented this dress for a formal work event. The sturdy, structured fabric and the high neck/sleeves make this dress a demure choice. I like that the color is bold (a brighter orange in natural light than the color pictured on the sight) which contrasts nicely with the overall conservative look and feel of the dress. One caveat -- even though it's A-Line, the seam of the tights I wanted to wear oddly showed through, so I'd say 'no' to tights with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2013
Wasn't able to wear :(
I wasn't able to wear this dress for my event. It is a gorgeous color and good fabric with a lot of stretch, BUT the torso in the dress seemed to be made for someone taller than me. It was an awkward long length and the torso of the dress just didn't sit right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2013
Interesting color, but the fit wasn't flattering
This was my backup dress (thank goodness the first one was fabulous) and the fit was really unflattering on me. The top was boxy and around the hips, it was surprisingly revealing and tight. I liked how this dress looked on other members' pictures, but for me, it was really not right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 14, 2013
Great Color!
I didn't choose to wear this one because of the way it fit over my butt. I have a really small waist and fuller hips and behind that was pretty in the dress but wasn't the look I was going for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
June 22, 2013
Bright, cheery color makes for a stand-out dress!
I ordered this dress to wear to a spring wedding. It has a very flattering fit-and-flare style to it, and the fabric had a lot of stretch, which made it very comfortable to wear and move around in. The only downside (maybe) is that it runs a little shorter than I was expecting (I'm 5'8" and the ceremony was held in a Catholic church), so if you are attending a more conservative event, I might pass on it. That being said, the hem of the dress was the same length as my fingertips, which I hear is a good rule of thumb for skirt-lengths to begin with. Needless to say, it's a beautiful, fun dress that garnered many compliments throughout the night; another RTR success!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2013
This dress is so fun and makes a great stand out at parties!
I'm on the taller side, so I wore flats with this dress. But, otherwise, it's perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 10, 2013
Loved it!
I loved the color and fit of this dress, the length is just perfect. This dress is perfect for a summer wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 19, 2013
The Orange color is an adorable statement! Perfect for a late summer wedding!
I ordered the 4 and 6, but definitely needed the 6 for this one. The material is stretchy which is helpful, but it definitely runs a little small. I thought it was going to be a little too short in the back for a family wedding, but it was actually fine. It is a really adorable dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 4, 2013
Beautiful color!
I love this dress and the way the fabric fits, it is really adorable- but because I am so tall the dress ended up being too short on me. I am 5'10 so this happens sometimes! I was sad about the length because the dress was so cute. I am hoping to re-rent for some occasion that I feel comfortable wearing that short of a dress. I am sure this is great dress for someone a couple of inches shorter!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
September 22, 2013
Fun and comfortable dress, great fit! Can be dressed up or down.
I ordered this dress as a backup for a September wedding in Virginia. I went with my original choice, the Young Love Dress by Opening Ceremony, but wanted to wear this before I sent it back! I wore it for a Sunday in Georgetown getting brunch and shopping with a friend. It is very comfortable, and easily would have been a great dress for the wedding, had my first choice not worked. It fits snugly in the top/torso/midsection and has the potential to show any untoned areas, but is also flattering and forgiving where it flares out..
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 28, 2013
Love this dress!
This dress can be dressed up with a pair of heels and some jewelry, or dressed down with a pair of cute flats. Could not have asked for a better fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 23, 2013
nothing
I was not a huge fan of this dress. Due to the material, unless you have a perfect figure, this dress is not very flattering. The fabric is very tight and stretchy. The color is gorgeous though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 31, 2013
Great summer color
I received so many compliments on the color of this dress. I love how simple the structure is but it can be very easily dressed up with accents. It ran a bit small (thank you spanx!) so I would order a size larger than you expect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 15, 2013
Cute dress, a little odd fit for pear shaped ladies.
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding in Texas in November so I planned on wearing some brown tights with it. I usually wear an 8 in A-line dresses so I ordered and 8 and a 10 in this dress. Neither of those fit quite right. The 10 was okay, but it was SUPER short and showed EVEYTHING happening under the dress. The hem didn't reach my fingertips and you could see the seam on my tights through the dress. I called RTR right away and had them overnight the 12 to my hotel in San Antonio. They service was friendly, quick and free! The 12 was way too big on the top for me, but it just skimmed over my hips better so I felt more comfortable it it. Also it was about 2 inches longer which made it appropriate for a wedding. Overall I loved the color of the dress, but the fit just wasn't for me. I am thrilled about the company and I will be renting again for another wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 4, 2013
beautiful color, but too short!
This dress is a great color and texture, but I ended up having to wear it with dark tights because it was so short on me! Would not recommend this dress for anyone taller than 5'6''. That said, it made a great fall look with opaque brown tights and boots!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2013
Gorgeous bright Color.
Flirty fun dress for any occasion. Iif you are tall keep in mind it will be pretty short, however I paired it with thighs and thigh high boots, bare legs aren't an option if you are tall because of the flared skirt. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is the fabric, I was surprised because I had tried this dress on at halston and it was a lot softer. The fabric is more of a scuba and a little stiffer than I expected, the look did not disappoint though and I'd recommend it to anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 25, 2013
Cute dress
No issues here; however, this dress will show every curve.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 30, 2013
Fabulous color, delicate details, flirty fit.
The muted orange color of this dress was just lovely; it was really the only thing about which I had initial reservations, but once I saw the hue I was very pleased. You will definitely stand out in the crowd, but you shouldn't be worried about looking neon/radioactive. I am very petite and actively seek out dresses that "run small"; this frock definitely runs tight and short, but in a way that worked perfectly for me. Because the dress flares from the waist, you will definitely be showing a ton of leg if you're tall. I wore this to a convention/tradeshow during the day with a cardigan and flats, and to a dinner at night with heels. There were times during the day where I wondered if the look was too sexy, but I felt awesome and got tons of compliments so I rolled with it. The criss-crossing at the neck is gorgeous! The fit through the bodice and sleeves is tight to the body, so if you're really chesty it will be a sexier look for sure. I highly recommend this dress for the short and petite, and/or for those who sometimes find that a typical size 0/xs is too big for them. I rent and own a lot of Halston Heritage for work and play, and now wish this dress was in my closet as well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 4, 2014
So pretty, I was in between sizes.
This dress was super cute but I think I am a size 3 ;) The 2 was too small and the 4 was too big. I will use RTR again though for sure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
March 9, 2014
Comfortable and fabulous
This dress was great. Very thick, nice material. I wore the 4 because it was a little longer than the 2. The top is very fitted and flattering for pear shaped ladies. Overall great rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 18, 2014
UT Burnt Orange Awesomeness
Wore the size 0 to a wedding in Mississippi and received several compliments. I thought the orange would be much brighter, but it turned out to be a burnt orange -- which is okay because I went to UT. But, if you're looking for a bright orange, this is more muted. The size 2 fit really well on my waist and the length was great, but the bust area was too loose. I wore the size 0, and it was snug around my stomach (after the reception dinner) but the belt helped out. Overall, I'd rent this dress again! I love the cute short sleeves, the flare in the dress, and the sleek lines. The fabric was thick enough that I didn't get cold for the outdoor wedding.
TamMay 13, 2014
Thank you so much for this review! I am graduating from UT this weekend and I've been looking for an orange dress to wear under my cap and gown! :) I can't wait to try this dress on! Hook 'Em! \m/
NickieMay 15, 2014
Congrats! HORNS UP!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 21, 2014
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and it was perfect.
I ordered the 2 and 4 and went with the 4. Both fit, but the 4 was just a tad longer so I didn't have to worry about it being too short. The fit was great and the color was perfect for my orange-and-ivory-themed wedding! Definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 28, 2014
Everyone loved the orange color
This dress was fun to wear because it is so bright and the fabric is comfortable and stretchy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2014
Cute dress, fit well, but is too short for tall girls!
This was such a cute dress and was perfect for a spring-time wedding shower! It was very comfortable and fit true to size. However, the length of the dress was way to short for me! I think it would be much better suited to someone not quite as tall as myself. I felt like I was constantly worried about giving someone a peep show whenever I was sitting down, getting in and out of the car, etc. Overall it was a great dress, it just wasn't the right length for my body type.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 18, 2014
simple, stylish comfort!
I wore this dress to a wedding in Winnipeg. While it wasn't as warm as I needed it to be (I didn't anticipate the snow in April), it was incredibly comfortable and I was complimented on it all evening! The fabric is thick enough that the dress didn't call for shapewear and it was so great to dance in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2014
Great for photo ops!
Thicker material than I thought it would be, but fit well nonetheless. You could kind of see the outline of the spanx I wore, but this was for the photo part of the Bat Mitzvah and I know they'll photoshop that out. The color was absolutely gorgeous with nude heels.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 30, 2014
Glad I had a back up dress.
The color of this dress is lovely but it is very short, which is a lot coming from someone as petite as I am. Sitting down, a strong wind, bending over -- any of those occurrences would have posed a problem. Also, the material was too heavy, the shoulders were stiff, and it was formfitting in the stomach.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 26, 2014
Tight in the Wrong Places
I really wanted to love this dress, and maybe I would have if I had ordered a larger size - but they run small. You know that look when something is too tight and you can see your belly button even when you suck in? Yeah - not so good lol. Oh well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 7, 2014
Short Short SHORT!!!
The color of this dress is unique and beautiful. I adored the detailing around the neck and the overall style was both flirty and classic. The top of the dress fit wonderfully and it was almost as if it was tailored just for my body. However, I am just shy of 5'8 and this dress barely covered my rear end. I wouldn't even have walked out of the house with this dress on, much less gone to a Catholic wedding ceremony. I was very disappointed that it did not work out, but the RTR customer service was fantastic about overnighting me a backup dress that worked out great. I think this dress would look fantastic on someone who was 5'2, but if you are on the taller side (maybe even anything north of 5'5!) I would strongly urge that you skip this one!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2014
Flattering, comfortable and standout!
This dress is so flattering. The fit and flare shape fits most body types, narrowing the waist and skimming the hips It fit my body perfectly. The neckline detail is adorable and unique. The fabric is thick and comfortable and it adds to the flattering nature of this dress. However, the best part of this dress it the color. I love the bright orange, which seriously stands out in a crowd of white dresses. I would recommend this dress, and I hope to order it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2014
Great dress for late summer wedding!
True to size but fabric is a little clingy. Flattering style and fun color! Would rent again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
October 30, 2014
Great fit and amazing color!
I wore this to my sister-in-law's wedding. It was a late summer wedding, and the color was perfect. I'm 5'6"ish and the length was just short enough to show off my legs with 3 inch heels. I paired it with gold and black jewelry and black heels, and had my hair down. The material is thick, but not hot, just thick enough to show its quality. Definitely a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 12, 2014
I would give this dress 10+ stars if I could!
So far, my absolute most favorite rental from Rent the Runway! It fit perfectly and ran true to size. The fabric is a little bit thicker than one would think, but it was perfect for a Spring wedding in San Francisco with their chilly evenings. Love, love, love this dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
January 18, 2015
Didn't work for me but still cute
The dress is darker than the picture and it definitely should not be worn by anyone taller than 5'7 as it is very short. It didn't work out for me but Rent the Runway graciously sent me another dress in time for my event so it all worked out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 15, 2015
Cute but runs somewhat small
I thought I would have definitely needed the size 2 but it wasn't available, so I reluctantly ordered the 4 and hoped it wouldn't be too huge. The 4 fit perfect! It's a cute dress and I got a lot of compliments but it is very unforgiving. Even the slightest bit of bra bulge is very visible. I would recommend it, but if you do rent make sure you have the proper undergarments :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 4, 2015
Pretty Color- but too small
The dress is fitted very tight across the abdomen, with a flaring skirt. It is not A-Line as it appears in the model photo. I thought the size 8 would fit me, but it didn't. Even with Spanx, it wasn't very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 13, 2015
Loved this bright dress for work! I wore it on a rainy day and it made everything more cheerful.
This dress has very thin fabric, although the stretch is nice. You will most likely want to wear some form of Spanx or undergarment if you have anything BUT a super flat stomach. I loved the details on the neckline of this dress and that the sleeves were longer and not too snug. This is a short dress so if you're tall keep that in mind. Overall a nice dress, but I'm not sure I'd rent it for anything else since the shapewear/thin fabric shows every single bump even from a bra strap!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×