Halston Heritage

Goldfish Dress

$81 to buy
$375 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for structured chic in this flared orange dress by Halston Heritage. Perfect for a dinner date or work party, this dress is sure to brighten up any room!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Orange ponte (100% Rayon). Short sleeves. Crew neck. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
75 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 15, 2015
Cute but runs somewhat small
I thought I would have definitely needed the size 2 but it wasn't available, so I reluctantly ordered the 4 and hoped it wouldn't be too huge. The 4 fit perfect! It's a cute dress and I got a lot of compliments but it is very unforgiving. Even the slightest bit of bra bulge is very visible. I would recommend it, but if you do rent make sure you have the proper undergarments :-)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2015
Loved the color and comfort of the dress!
I ordered a 2 and 4, and put the 4 on first and felt super comfortable so decided to go with it. I wore it for a day at the races and everyone loved the dress. I never really wear orange but loved it! The length and fit were a perfect mix of cute and classy! Would def recommend to a friend. *Only con would be that the stomach area is pretty fitting. It fit well but after eating I felt just a small bit uncomfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 19, 2015
Not what I expected...
The dress looked old and shabby. Was very form fitting, so I had to wear spanx. I rented the triple stranded pearl necklace to go with it, but didn't wear it because it didn't look right. I would not rent this again :/. On to the next dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 4, 2015
Loved the color!
The fit was good and runs true to size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
August 30, 2015
Beautiful, simple dress, perfect for church
I had originally ordered a completely different dress, but when I was notified it was damaged, I received this dress and another in its' place. This dress was modest and perfect for the church ceremony at the wedding, but still had a really fun neckline. It did for true to size. My one complaint was that the fabric isn't very forgiving, and any sort of lines from undergarments could be seen pretty easily. Overall, still an adorable dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 5, 2015
Great item!
Thick material. Tight throughout stomach area but it's the fit of the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
October 4, 2015
Perfect for fall!
I ordered this dress to wear to a friend's rehearsal dinner as it fit her color scheme perfectly (orange, purple, gold). I have honestly never worn the color orange but I was pleasantly surprised by this dress. Despite being chilly outside I was comfortable the entire night due to the dress' thick material. My only complaint is that the material- though stretchy- shows every bump and roll; I ran out to buy shapewear which somewhat eliminated the self-consciousness but not completely. I got both the 2 and the 4 but stuck with the 2 as I found the extra material in the 4 accentuated my tummy. Had a fantastic night and felt like a million bucks.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2015
Amazing!
Loved the color! Loved the fit! Loved the sleeves. Just a tad bit short for me, but I like longer dresses. Sized up only to give me an extra length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 6, 2015
Simple but super cute!
I wore this to my best friends bridal show in April! It was the perfect color for a spring April shower. I'm 5'2 so it was very flattering at the waist and went just above the knee. This dress is perfect to dress up or dress down! I would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
July 5, 2016
Great fit and material. Love that you get 2 sizes.
Runs smaller so I went with the bigger size but it still fit great and had nice thick material so I didn't need spanks.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 1, 2017
Fun engagement party dress
Very comfortable, but ran a little short
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2013
Wasn't able to wear :(
I wasn't able to wear this dress for my event. It is a gorgeous color and good fabric with a lot of stretch, BUT the torso in the dress seemed to be made for someone taller than me. It was an awkward long length and the torso of the dress just didn't sit right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2013
Interesting color, but the fit wasn't flattering
This was my backup dress (thank goodness the first one was fabulous) and the fit was really unflattering on me. The top was boxy and around the hips, it was surprisingly revealing and tight. I liked how this dress looked on other members' pictures, but for me, it was really not right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 11, 2013
Pretty color, fits small.
I rented this dress (a size 0 and 2) to wear to a wedding. I usually wear a size 0 but wore the size 2... it is a drop-waist dress and the material is stretchy, so it shows everything. I ended up wearing the 2 because it fit better in the mid-section but the shoulders were a little broad. Spanx are highly recommended. I did receive quite a few compliments about how pretty the color was.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 19, 2013
The Orange color is an adorable statement! Perfect for a late summer wedding!
I ordered the 4 and 6, but definitely needed the 6 for this one. The material is stretchy which is helpful, but it definitely runs a little small. I thought it was going to be a little too short in the back for a family wedding, but it was actually fine. It is a really adorable dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 23, 2013
nothing
I was not a huge fan of this dress. Due to the material, unless you have a perfect figure, this dress is not very flattering. The fabric is very tight and stretchy. The color is gorgeous though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 31, 2013
Great summer color
I received so many compliments on the color of this dress. I love how simple the structure is but it can be very easily dressed up with accents. It ran a bit small (thank you spanx!) so I would order a size larger than you expect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 15, 2013
Cute dress, a little odd fit for pear shaped ladies.
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding in Texas in November so I planned on wearing some brown tights with it. I usually wear an 8 in A-line dresses so I ordered and 8 and a 10 in this dress. Neither of those fit quite right. The 10 was okay, but it was SUPER short and showed EVEYTHING happening under the dress. The hem didn't reach my fingertips and you could see the seam on my tights through the dress. I called RTR right away and had them overnight the 12 to my hotel in San Antonio. They service was friendly, quick and free! The 12 was way too big on the top for me, but it just skimmed over my hips better so I felt more comfortable it it. Also it was about 2 inches longer which made it appropriate for a wedding. Overall I loved the color of the dress, but the fit just wasn't for me. I am thrilled about the company and I will be renting again for another wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 4, 2013
beautiful color, but too short!
This dress is a great color and texture, but I ended up having to wear it with dark tights because it was so short on me! Would not recommend this dress for anyone taller than 5'6''. That said, it made a great fall look with opaque brown tights and boots!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 30, 2013
Fabulous color, delicate details, flirty fit.
The muted orange color of this dress was just lovely; it was really the only thing about which I had initial reservations, but once I saw the hue I was very pleased. You will definitely stand out in the crowd, but you shouldn't be worried about looking neon/radioactive. I am very petite and actively seek out dresses that "run small"; this frock definitely runs tight and short, but in a way that worked perfectly for me. Because the dress flares from the waist, you will definitely be showing a ton of leg if you're tall. I wore this to a convention/tradeshow during the day with a cardigan and flats, and to a dinner at night with heels. There were times during the day where I wondered if the look was too sexy, but I felt awesome and got tons of compliments so I rolled with it. The criss-crossing at the neck is gorgeous! The fit through the bodice and sleeves is tight to the body, so if you're really chesty it will be a sexier look for sure. I highly recommend this dress for the short and petite, and/or for those who sometimes find that a typical size 0/xs is too big for them. I rent and own a lot of Halston Heritage for work and play, and now wish this dress was in my closet as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2014
Great for photo ops!
Thicker material than I thought it would be, but fit well nonetheless. You could kind of see the outline of the spanx I wore, but this was for the photo part of the Bat Mitzvah and I know they'll photoshop that out. The color was absolutely gorgeous with nude heels.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 30, 2014
Glad I had a back up dress.
The color of this dress is lovely but it is very short, which is a lot coming from someone as petite as I am. Sitting down, a strong wind, bending over -- any of those occurrences would have posed a problem. Also, the material was too heavy, the shoulders were stiff, and it was formfitting in the stomach.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 26, 2014
Tight in the Wrong Places
I really wanted to love this dress, and maybe I would have if I had ordered a larger size - but they run small. You know that look when something is too tight and you can see your belly button even when you suck in? Yeah - not so good lol. Oh well!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
January 18, 2015
Didn't work for me but still cute
The dress is darker than the picture and it definitely should not be worn by anyone taller than 5'7 as it is very short. It didn't work out for me but Rent the Runway graciously sent me another dress in time for my event so it all worked out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 4, 2015
Pretty Color- but too small
The dress is fitted very tight across the abdomen, with a flaring skirt. It is not A-Line as it appears in the model photo. I thought the size 8 would fit me, but it didn't. Even with Spanx, it wasn't very flattering.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
September 21, 2015
Not a great fit for a big bust!
The shoulders are very strange and do not sit well! It was very flattering on the stomach and lower torso, but the way it fit on my shoulders made it a no - go.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 14, 2013
I received tons of compliments! Loved the style and color.
I was a little worried the dress would be too short since I'm 5'10" but it was appropriate for a spring wedding. I thought it ran a little on the smaller size since I usually wear a 6 but ended up wearing an 8. It was a fun dress and the color was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
June 22, 2014
I wore this dress to my graduation. I loved it and got so many compliments!
It was probably the most comfortable dress i've ever worn. While others were complaining how hot and uncomfortable they were with their dresses and their robes i was more than happy. All night I was being complimented and even days to follow I continued to receive compliments! I wish I could've kept the dress! I would wear it over and over again. It was extremely flattering and comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
May 3, 2013
Very tight, was not appropriate for work conference.
I was so excited about this dress and was looking forward to wearing it to a conference for work. It seemed like it was going to be a perfect length and cut. I ordered the 4 and 6 and I can usually wear either. However - they were both SUPER tight - mainly around the stomach area. Tight to the point where you could see the outline of my belly button. But the top fit nicely and the bottom flare was adorable. But with the stomach being as tight as it was, I would not have worn it for work or any other occasion either.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 17, 2013
it was too small everywhere, very heavy and bulky material. the color was pretty. overall awkward
I could not zip the dress, i am a curvy girl, big hips not too much on the top, i have a pear shape body. the material is was very heavy, not comfortable. I liked the look of the dress but it just didn't work for me. Maybe if I was little skinner it would have been more flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 2, 2014
Not flattering on curves.
I had high hopes for this dress, but it just didn't look right. I think it would have been more flattering on someone flat chested with a more athletic build.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2015
Sizing was off.
The last Halston Heritage dress I got was a 2 and www very roomy. I thought a 4 would be plenty big but not this one. Extremely short and I couldn't even zip it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2015
Not fit and flare
I really wanted to love this dress for a spring time wedding. However, the dress had zero give to it and highlight every imperfection. On the model it looked like a fit and flare style, but I found it to be more body hugging then anything. I even tried to size up to wear it, because it is such a beautiful color to no avail.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 7, 2013
Loved the fit of this dress. The color was perfect for brunch!
AMAZING!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 11, 2013
Great Spring/Summer dress!
This dress was very comfortable and flattering. The color was great and I receive loads of compliments. The dress is very very fitted but does run true to size. My only compliant was that it tended to ride up a bit in the shoulder area due to the way the materials is. But, overall, great little dress!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
April 12, 2013
The sturdy, structured fabric and the high neck/sleeves make this dress a demure choice.
I rented this dress for a formal work event. The sturdy, structured fabric and the high neck/sleeves make this dress a demure choice. I like that the color is bold (a brighter orange in natural light than the color pictured on the sight) which contrasts nicely with the overall conservative look and feel of the dress. One caveat -- even though it's A-Line, the seam of the tights I wanted to wear oddly showed through, so I'd say 'no' to tights with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 14, 2013
Great Color!
I didn't choose to wear this one because of the way it fit over my butt. I have a really small waist and fuller hips and behind that was pretty in the dress but wasn't the look I was going for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
June 22, 2013
Bright, cheery color makes for a stand-out dress!
I ordered this dress to wear to a spring wedding. It has a very flattering fit-and-flare style to it, and the fabric had a lot of stretch, which made it very comfortable to wear and move around in. The only downside (maybe) is that it runs a little shorter than I was expecting (I'm 5'8" and the ceremony was held in a Catholic church), so if you are attending a more conservative event, I might pass on it. That being said, the hem of the dress was the same length as my fingertips, which I hear is a good rule of thumb for skirt-lengths to begin with. Needless to say, it's a beautiful, fun dress that garnered many compliments throughout the night; another RTR success!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2013
This dress is so fun and makes a great stand out at parties!
I'm on the taller side, so I wore flats with this dress. But, otherwise, it's perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 10, 2013
Loved it!
I loved the color and fit of this dress, the length is just perfect. This dress is perfect for a summer wedding!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×