Halston Heritage

Goldfish Dress

$81 to buy
$375 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for structured chic in this flared orange dress by Halston Heritage. Perfect for a dinner date or work party, this dress is sure to brighten up any room!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Orange ponte (100% Rayon). Short sleeves. Crew neck. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
75 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 4, 2013
Beautiful color!
I love this dress and the way the fabric fits, it is really adorable- but because I am so tall the dress ended up being too short on me. I am 5'10 so this happens sometimes! I was sad about the length because the dress was so cute. I am hoping to re-rent for some occasion that I feel comfortable wearing that short of a dress. I am sure this is great dress for someone a couple of inches shorter!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
September 22, 2013
Fun and comfortable dress, great fit! Can be dressed up or down.
I ordered this dress as a backup for a September wedding in Virginia. I went with my original choice, the Young Love Dress by Opening Ceremony, but wanted to wear this before I sent it back! I wore it for a Sunday in Georgetown getting brunch and shopping with a friend. It is very comfortable, and easily would have been a great dress for the wedding, had my first choice not worked. It fits snugly in the top/torso/midsection and has the potential to show any untoned areas, but is also flattering and forgiving where it flares out..
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 28, 2013
Love this dress!
This dress can be dressed up with a pair of heels and some jewelry, or dressed down with a pair of cute flats. Could not have asked for a better fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2013
Gorgeous bright Color.
Flirty fun dress for any occasion. Iif you are tall keep in mind it will be pretty short, however I paired it with thighs and thigh high boots, bare legs aren't an option if you are tall because of the flared skirt. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is the fabric, I was surprised because I had tried this dress on at halston and it was a lot softer. The fabric is more of a scuba and a little stiffer than I expected, the look did not disappoint though and I'd recommend it to anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 25, 2013
Cute dress
No issues here; however, this dress will show every curve.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 4, 2014
So pretty, I was in between sizes.
This dress was super cute but I think I am a size 3 ;) The 2 was too small and the 4 was too big. I will use RTR again though for sure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
March 9, 2014
Comfortable and fabulous
This dress was great. Very thick, nice material. I wore the 4 because it was a little longer than the 2. The top is very fitted and flattering for pear shaped ladies. Overall great rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 18, 2014
UT Burnt Orange Awesomeness
Wore the size 0 to a wedding in Mississippi and received several compliments. I thought the orange would be much brighter, but it turned out to be a burnt orange -- which is okay because I went to UT. But, if you're looking for a bright orange, this is more muted. The size 2 fit really well on my waist and the length was great, but the bust area was too loose. I wore the size 0, and it was snug around my stomach (after the reception dinner) but the belt helped out. Overall, I'd rent this dress again! I love the cute short sleeves, the flare in the dress, and the sleek lines. The fabric was thick enough that I didn't get cold for the outdoor wedding.
TamMarch 18, 2014
Thank you so much for this review! I am graduating from UT this weekend and I've been looking for an orange dress to wear under my cap and gown! :) I can't wait to try this dress on! Hook 'Em! \m/
NickieMarch 18, 2014
Congrats! HORNS UP!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 21, 2014
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and it was perfect.
I ordered the 2 and 4 and went with the 4. Both fit, but the 4 was just a tad longer so I didn't have to worry about it being too short. The fit was great and the color was perfect for my orange-and-ivory-themed wedding! Definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 28, 2014
Everyone loved the orange color
This dress was fun to wear because it is so bright and the fabric is comfortable and stretchy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2014
Cute dress, fit well, but is too short for tall girls!
This was such a cute dress and was perfect for a spring-time wedding shower! It was very comfortable and fit true to size. However, the length of the dress was way to short for me! I think it would be much better suited to someone not quite as tall as myself. I felt like I was constantly worried about giving someone a peep show whenever I was sitting down, getting in and out of the car, etc. Overall it was a great dress, it just wasn't the right length for my body type.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 18, 2014
simple, stylish comfort!
I wore this dress to a wedding in Winnipeg. While it wasn't as warm as I needed it to be (I didn't anticipate the snow in April), it was incredibly comfortable and I was complimented on it all evening! The fabric is thick enough that the dress didn't call for shapewear and it was so great to dance in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 7, 2014
Short Short SHORT!!!
The color of this dress is unique and beautiful. I adored the detailing around the neck and the overall style was both flirty and classic. The top of the dress fit wonderfully and it was almost as if it was tailored just for my body. However, I am just shy of 5'8 and this dress barely covered my rear end. I wouldn't even have walked out of the house with this dress on, much less gone to a Catholic wedding ceremony. I was very disappointed that it did not work out, but the RTR customer service was fantastic about overnighting me a backup dress that worked out great. I think this dress would look fantastic on someone who was 5'2, but if you are on the taller side (maybe even anything north of 5'5!) I would strongly urge that you skip this one!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2014
Flattering, comfortable and standout!
This dress is so flattering. The fit and flare shape fits most body types, narrowing the waist and skimming the hips It fit my body perfectly. The neckline detail is adorable and unique. The fabric is thick and comfortable and it adds to the flattering nature of this dress. However, the best part of this dress it the color. I love the bright orange, which seriously stands out in a crowd of white dresses. I would recommend this dress, and I hope to order it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2014
Great dress for late summer wedding!
True to size but fabric is a little clingy. Flattering style and fun color! Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
October 30, 2014
Great fit and amazing color!
I wore this to my sister-in-law's wedding. It was a late summer wedding, and the color was perfect. I'm 5'6"ish and the length was just short enough to show off my legs with 3 inch heels. I paired it with gold and black jewelry and black heels, and had my hair down. The material is thick, but not hot, just thick enough to show its quality. Definitely a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 12, 2014
I would give this dress 10+ stars if I could!
So far, my absolute most favorite rental from Rent the Runway! It fit perfectly and ran true to size. The fabric is a little bit thicker than one would think, but it was perfect for a Spring wedding in San Francisco with their chilly evenings. Love, love, love this dress!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 13, 2015
Loved this bright dress for work! I wore it on a rainy day and it made everything more cheerful.
This dress has very thin fabric, although the stretch is nice. You will most likely want to wear some form of Spanx or undergarment if you have anything BUT a super flat stomach. I loved the details on the neckline of this dress and that the sleeves were longer and not too snug. This is a short dress so if you're tall keep that in mind. Overall a nice dress, but I'm not sure I'd rent it for anything else since the shapewear/thin fabric shows every single bump even from a bra strap!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
May 6, 2015
color is stunning
too short, too short! Wear only if you are 5"6" or shorter
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 26, 2015
I wore the dress for a graduation with my boyfriend's family. Perfect for the occasion!
Great color and flattering fit. It was short enough to be cute and fun, but also conservative enough for a family occasion. I also liked the criss-cross on the top, adding some sweet detail. I am normally a 2 or 4, and was concerned because my backup size (2) was unavailable; but the 4 ended up fitting perfectly! Thick enough, and stretchy fabric, so that it falls well, and you don't have to overly worry about undergarment lines showing. I wore with flat, gold sandals, and big turquoise earrings.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2015
I wore this to a graduation so I felt the right amount of dressy!
This material is extremely thick. It was about 90 degrees out, so I was sweating A LOT. I would recommend for Fall or early Spring, but not summer. Other than that, the dress was great! It fit me perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 18, 2016
This was worn for a summer wedding in Houston.
It fit pretty well. The material is kind of thicker, but it is stretchy and I think it fit pretty well. Even though the material is thicker, it wasn't excessively hot. I liked the flair of the skirt, it made it twirly and fun. The only complaint that I have is how the material sometimes lays on your body (not quite sure how to describe this exactly). I am a very fit, lean person (I have qualified multiple times at the National and World level for Duathlons) and my stomach is pretty flat. Unfortunately, the material didn't lay very nice across my stomach (it had a weird indent around my belly button and made my abs kind of look like a pouch). You can't really tell from the pictures, but I noticed it some in the mirror, so it really wasn't a deal breaker. However, if you do have a bit of extra stuff around your stomach, be warned that the thicker material won't hold it in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Age: 51
February 8, 2016
Beautiful cut, color and detail at the neck. Short!
Wore this with an armful of bangles. Much shorter than I anticipated. I am 5'4", so take that into consideration. The fabric was a knit, so did not wrinkle. Very feminine and a great cut for my smaller waist and larger hips. The color is gorgeous and flattering.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
April 16, 2016
Pop of color at a conference
In a sea of dark suits and dresses, I definitely stood out in this fabulous dress. The sleeves and fit made it appropriate to wear at a conference of legal professionals. Received many compliments. I found it a bit short - length was about 4 inches above my knee but it only felt like an issue when I went up the escalator. I'm 5'4", 115 lbs. and chose to wear the size 2 over the 0 just because it wasn't as snug. Although material was thick, be sure to wear smooth undergarments.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 25, 2013
Perfect for the occasion!
The color of the dress is softer than how it appears in my photo. The perfect dress for a warm outdoor wedding. Didn't have to worry about straps falling down or the dress riding up while I got down on the dance floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
August 6, 2013
PERFECT fit. Felt like a million bucks!
Though this dress was definitely more orange and less peachy than I anticipated, it was absolutely gorgeous. I received compliments all night long, and felt confident and (most importantly) INCREDIBLY comfortable all night long. I did wear 4 inch heels and am 5'5", and the dress was almost too short, so keep that in mind. Overall, the dress was incredible, the fit was PERFECT and I would 100% order this dress again and again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 10, 2013
I was a reader in my friend's wedding and she asked me to wear an orange dress. Loved this one!
True to size. Perfect length, not too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
November 20, 2013
Great Dress!
I wore this for a Fall (indoor) Wedding in Seattle. It was adorable. I wore the 2 ONLY because the 0 was short in length. If you are a tall girl size up for additional length. About the dress... Great color! In the photo i did not use a filter. I didnt wear a necklace because the detail on the top is simple and nice. I wore Henri Bendel earrings that I own but I see they are available on RTR (Waldorf Drop)! The dress is great with any bust, too. It's slightly stretchy. Great choice. Tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
February 24, 2014
Dress was bright and fun for a daytime shower.
Pros - sleeve length great (doesn't cut off too short), stretchy high quality fabric and great fit for athletic types. My friends wanted me to buy my rental - lots of compliments. Cons - it's short so sitting felt a hint planned.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 15, 2014
Great dress
The dress was sexy and fun but still left room for me to eat a ton at the dinner !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
March 11, 2016
Very fun and easy to wear dress. Would wear again.
The fit was true to size. It was more orange than I expected, but was a very flattering color and cut.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 1, 2013
Someone told me that the bright color of this dress made her happy just looking at it.
Great fit for an hourglass shape. Loved the color and kind of retro style of the dress. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
December 2, 2013
Stunning!
I absolutely love this dress! It fit close in all the right places. I wore it to a concert and party in Las Vegas. I received SO many compliments on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
May 7, 2015
I did not wear this dress...
It fit fine, slightly tight in the shoulders for me (I do have broader shoulders), but it just didnt make me feel special. It was very basic and reminded me of something I would wear to a nice brunch, but not to an outdoor wedding (I ordered it for the cut as it was a very conservative Christian wedding)--but it also ended up being a little too short for my 5'7" frame for the setting. But it was made very nicely and overall I liked the dress, just not for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2015
This was sent to me as a back up, but I did not wear it.
Fits true to size. Great color.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×