Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$30 – $55 rental?
$425 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
785 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(622)
Small
(42)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 30, 2014
This is such a comfortable dress. Great stretchy fabric and just the right length.
The little flare of the skirt was age appropriate without making me look like I was trying too hard! The best LBD I have worn in a while.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 30, 2014
Great dress, very fun to dance in.
The dress was great! Very thick material and very flattering. It has a dropped waist which I was fine with but others may not be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 3, 2014
Great fitting dress - comfortable & flirty.
I rented this for a night out in Vegas. It's a classic dress but I dresses it up with a necklace & edgy heels. The fit is dynamite - comfortable but flirty. A great LBD! I am 5'9" and 138 lbs. size 8 fit the bill!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 3, 2014
Comfy and sexy= perfect dress!
Wore this for a bachelorette party night out of drinking and dancing. Perfectly comfortable and easy to wear. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 7, 2014
This is a really flattering little black dress!
This is a really great simple black dress and very flattering. I am usually a 4, but wore the 2 because i felt like it fit me a little better. i would not say it runs big, it just depend on how fitting you want it to be. I wore it with a sexy red shoe and it was a hit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
July 9, 2014
Not for me =(
I rented this dress for a wedding I have this Friday. I am pear shaped but where the skirt hit made me look bigger. The material is great. I am 5'1 maybe someone 5'3 or with a longer torso it would hit better where it flares. You can totally dress it up for any event or keep is simple.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
July 15, 2014
Love this dress.
I loved this dress, it is a simple black dress but it fit great and it was comfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2014
Wore this to an evening wedding in Newport Beach. Perfect dress for the event!
Lots of stretch in this dress and super comfortable for dancing. Easy to dress up or down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 16, 2014
Super flattering
Comfortable to wear
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 20, 2014
This is the perfect LBD,
I was hesitant to rent this gorgeous dress because I was looking for something more colorful but I'm so glad I did! This was a statement even in black. I received so many compliments. A very classy and fashionable dress! Be sure to rent this with a statement necklace (like the Kate Spade Mayan Alabaster necklace)!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 21, 2014
Gpt a ton of compliments, LOVED THE DRESS!
I added a belt to mine, felt it was too plain (even with a big necklace)... Went great with some red heels! Fit great, felt great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
July 22, 2014
Perfect Little Black
The dress was great for a day to night wedding. Great length, not too short but still sexy. Looks great with a chunky necklace and nude (or colored) shoes. Really comfortable but the material is a little thick so beware if you're going to be outside in the heat all day.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 22, 2014
Nice twist on the LBD
Fit very well and true to size. I normally shy away from a flare out dress bc I find them to be too "cute" and full, but this one was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 24, 2014
Fabulous bachelorette LBD
I rented this last minute when I realized the bachelorette party I was attending was LBD themed. When it arrived, it seemed to be a bit heavier of a material than I'd imagined. However, the second I had it on, I felt wonderful! The slightly heavier material made for more slimming and therefore increased confidence. One other thing: I picked this dress because it seemed less form fitting than the other dresses I was looking at. Don't be fooled. This dress loves your body's curves.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 29, 2014
Great night with a great dress!
Dress was really comfortable but very structured and form fitting. Great dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2014
Perfect fit!
This dress was perfect. Nice material. Fit was great. I was worried about how much it would flare out but it was the perfect amount. Would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 29, 2014
Perfect LBD
This dress fit snugly in the ribcage area, and the skirt had a nice flare to it. The dress definitely needs to be paired with a nice necklace, but it was perfect for the occasion. It is a great dress for those of us who have an athletic butt and legs, but have a smaller waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 29, 2014
Fun and flirty
Rented for Vegas based on phone stylist recommendation. I told her I like to show a little skin but not over the top and tend to be understated. She suggested this immediately and described as "fun and flirty" . Very right on! Love dancing in it. It had some great twirl and was a perfect length to not worry about bending over or anything. Pair with a statement necklace and some interesting shoes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 30, 2014
Great LBD
I wore this dress to a bachelorette party. It was perfect for the occasion. The material is very thick and sturdy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 31, 2014
The dress was comfortable and easy to move in.
I loved how comfortable i felt in this dress. It hugged in all the right places and was very forgiving from the hips down. Not a silhouette I'm used to but I felt flirty and cute in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
August 3, 2014
Loved the shape of the skirt! The dress felt sexy, but classy.
I wore this dress out for my birthday and was very pleased with it! I felt this dress ran a bit large and I felt like I wished I would have ordered the 2 and 4, rather than the 4 and 6 (I'm usually a 4 or 6). That's really the only negative thing I have to say about this dress. The fabric was great, so comfortable and I felt like the fabric was tight enough to show your figure, but not revealing. I loved the shape of the dress. The skirt flared out a little below the waist giving it a girly, full skirt feel without making me feel wide/big. The length felt perfect for me, short enough to feel sexy, but not too short where I felt uncomfortable. This dress was the perfect combination of sexy and classy.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 4, 2014
I got so many compliments!
So I loved this dress with the exception of one thing... The middle was a little more form fitting than I would have liked. The material is a beautiful stretchy thick material, however because of that the middle left no room for covering any stomach issues. I have a little bit of a belly pooch so I was wearing spanx but still would have liked to have a little more camo there but that's just me. I am typically a 4 which I probably could have gotten away with but was a little tight in the armpits and I have a full bust so u wanted a little room. The 6 fit better for my taste- just a little loose on the back where the zipper was but I didn't want it super tight. The dress is kind of like a peplum where the tip is right and the bottom flairs out. I did love the flair and when I was dancing it moved beautifully. All in all it was a beautifully constructed dress with the exception of that one thing but that's not an issue with the dress it's just how my body is. Wore with red wedges and pearl necklace to give it some oomph! I did get so many compliments and the photographer kept taking pictures of me! Great night with a great dress! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 27
August 5, 2014
:)
Tight up top
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 7, 2014
Nice dress but heavier material than I expected
This dress is a great LBD but I wasn't expecting the material to be so thick. I wore it to a summer wedding, which was thankfully inside with a/c. I feel that this dress may have seen a lot of love in its day because although it was clean, it felt l a bit worn in terms of the fit. That said, no one would probably have noticed that but me and overall, I was very happy with the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 10, 2014
The look on my husband's face when I walked out in this dress.
I was very happy with this dress. I had a baby 8 months ago. The fit of this dress highlighted the areas I'm comfortable showing off (upper body & waistline) and camouflaged the areas (lower abs & hips) that I prefer not to accentuate at the moment. Additionally, I appreciated that this dress did not wrinkle easily and was very comfortable. I would rent this piece again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
August 11, 2014
Rented this for a try-on for an upcoming event.
Fit really well throughout the body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 17, 2014
Flattering waistline
Great dress to accentuate your waist. BUT, fabric felt cheap and smelled questionable. Wasn't the quality I expected.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
August 18, 2014
This dress is FANTASTIC.
I was pretty confident, renting this dress sight-unseen, that it would be fabulous, based on the rest of the reviews I read. But y'all: seriously. Just rent it. It's AMAZING, The fabric is thick and extremely forgiving, the cut so structured and well made that it literally feels like the most comfortable thing in the world, while at the same time looking KILLER. I usually wear a 0-2, so I ordered both sizes, fully expecting to wear the 2, as this is a designer piece. The 2 did fit, but it was slightly big in the hips - though not enough to bother me - so I tried on the 0. It was tight at first, but tight in a 'good way' - meaning it made the dress fit better overall and honestly, made me feel more 'sucked in', if you know what i mean. ;) The dress does have a lot of elasticity, so by the end of the night, that tightness was much alleviated. It came on time, in perfect condition: as much as I kept telling myself that this dress HAD to have been worn by other girls, it felt brand new. LOVED IT.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2014
Great for and fun skirt
I rented this dress for a work dinner and it was great! The fabric is thick and stretchy and quite comfortable. It does have a drop waist so it's quite fitted down to the hope. Shape wear is required for the best fit and look. It does have a very high neckline which is hard for bigger chested woman but I was still able to make it work :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 24, 2014
Very comfortable
This dress is very comfortable and flattering. It's not too short or too long and the top is pretty conservative. Definitely needs a statement necklace to jazz it up a little.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
August 25, 2014
Versatile dress
I normally wear a 4 or a 6, and the 4 fit in this dress. It's a tank stye but you can wear a regular bra, and it has a flippy skirt. You can't really tell from the pictures but the seams stick out on the dress, but I thought it was a good style. This has a nice, substantial fabric, and you could easily dress it up or down depending on your accessories. I'd definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 25, 2014
I wore this for a dinner date with my husband - perfect fit!
The dress is so comfortable and flattering - the fabric is a bit thick but it was fine, even in hot weather. I wanted to keep the dress! Will definitely rent this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 25, 2014
This was my first RTR experience and I will definitely be renting again!
This dress fit me amazingly. The fabric felt expensive and was in great condition. I wore it to a wedding and received so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 26, 2014
Classy & Comfy!
I rented this for a birthday weekend trip to Boston. I wore it to walk around the city for sightseeing and then dinner and drinks out at night. First of all, the material is great. It was thick and stretchy, super comfy. I loved the way the dress is cut - super flattering. I even opted to not wear my Spanx under because the cut flared out at just the right spot that I didn't feel uncomfortable. I wore a regular bra and the straps didn't show - a big plus. I added some color with the Kate Spade Chip necklace.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 30, 2014
My dress was perfect for and outdoor wedding at an Estate! I loved the flared skirt. Loved it!
The 6 fit perfect. I ordered the 8 as well just in case. The dress was very flattering and I felt great in it. I will be ordering from Rent the Runway again in the near future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 1, 2014
Amazing fit!
This is a fun and flirty dress. It was a little short and be careful if you spin on the dance floor as it can twirl rather high. I received so many compliments on it. I paired it with the turquoise necklace and peep toe platforms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 2, 2014
Comfortable and classic
I ordered this dress for an informal wedding I attended on a hot summer day and was incredibly pleased with the quality and fit of the dress. It fit perfectly! My boyfriend loved it and I got lost of complements. If your looking for a great classy black dress, this is perfect for you! The length was exactly what I was hoping for (six+ inches above the knee) and still appropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 3, 2014
Dress was more simple than I thought. But will pretty.
This dress was comfortable but more simple. I'm 5'9 and the length was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
September 7, 2014
Great LBD
This is a nice, simple dress. The material is a good quality and has some stretch to it. I am a usually a size 6, but ordered the 8 backup as suggested. The 6 could have worked, but I just had surgery the week before and I felt I wanted a bit more room since stitches were still in (sorry, TMI!) I received a lot of compliments. I wore my own necklace and rented a cuff bracelet. I paired it with gold heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
September 8, 2014
Tons of compliments! And comfortable too!
This dress fit wonderfully. Form fitting, it showed off my curves but was still flattering. Yes, you could see I have a bit of a tummy, but it wasn't super apparent. The material is thick and stretches. A little warm for a summer day. The skirt flowed our towards the bottom and added that special flair while dancing. i didn't need to adjust it at all throughout the day. I felt fantastic in it and would definitely wear it again if I could! Dressed it up with a statement necklace and some nude and black flats.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×