Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$30 – $90 rental
$425 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
788 reviews
Fit
Large
(41)
True to Size
(622)
Small
(42)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
May 1, 2014
looked elegant and was comfortable
very comfortable but runs small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
June 3, 2014
dress was great for a night out.
dress was tight at the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 16, 2014
N/A
The dress fit comfortably throughout the body, however, it was much shorter than I had hoped. As a mom, with baby in hand, I was very self conscious about bending over to pick up anything up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
July 25, 2014
Runs small, looked a little worn. Didn't wear
Cute style, size 1 up. Looked a little worn and zipper oxidized.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 151lbs
June 3, 2015
Not forgiving.
While I was able to zip this dress all the way up, it's NOT forgiving at all. And not flattering. If you have rock-hard abs, then this is the dress for you. If you're like me and have just a little extra around the stomach area, pass.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 19, 2015
Cute & Comfy
This dress was super easy - I wore it for a charity event and was comfortable all night. The material is thick, so it holds in the tummy, the flared skirt makes it fun, and the simple style allows you to add your own flair with accessories. It probably runs true to size, but I didn't even try on the 0 (my normal size) because the 2 fit perfectly. It's a little short so it may not be appropriate for a more formal or professional event, but the back didn't look sheer to me, which I've seen on some of the other reviews. All in all, a solid rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 30, 2012
Perfect fit!
I wish I could own this and have it in my closet at all times! The fit is amazing and the flared skirt could not be more flattering. It has a lot of stretch to it which makes it comfortable to boot. Can not say enough how great this dress is!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 2, 2012
I needed to change my delivery date and RTR was more than willing to get everything I needed changed. I got tons of compliments throughout the evening on both my earrings and my dress. I've been raving to all my girlfriends about the experience and they have already been scoping out dresses and jewels for an upcoming girls night out. Thanks, RTR!
The dress was true to size. I normally wear between a size 4 and 6 and the 4 was comfy and fit very well. I am tall (5'9"), so the dress was a bit short as I was dancing and moving around throughout the night, but I didn't have any problems with it. The fabric is stretchy and lightweight - perfect for me! I also ordered the "Mystery Bling" with the dress and received the Anton Heunis Emerald Stone Drop Earrings. They are something I would have normally never picked out for myself, but they paired perfectly with my shoes and dress. I got a ton of compliments on them :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 12, 2012
Flattering and comfortable dress!
I am between a 2 and 4, so I ordered both sizes and didn't even try the 2 on because the 4 fit perfectly- not too tight, very comfortable, and very flattering. I love wearing this dress! I'm 5'6" and the length was perfect- above the knees but not too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2012
Great experience, great dress!
Awesome fit, easy process. Would totally rent again
StaceySeptember 30, 2012
I am 5'3'' and this hit right above my knee
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
September 17, 2012
BEST LBD
This dress is fantastic and one of my favorites! It is well-made, has a great structure, doesn't wrinkle, and maintains the shape. You can wear this dress so many different ways and it is so comfortable. I receive compliments every time I wear it! I want to own this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
September 21, 2012
I got so many compliments from family members I hadn't seen in years!
Perfect little black dress. The fabric has great stretch so it was super comfortable and easy to dance in. Great to pair with statement necklaces since the design is so simple, everyone loved the Lulu Frost necklace I rented with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2012
Perfect!
Dress was perfect!! Did not want to give it back. The top fit like a glove and the flare hit perfectly at the hip. VERY flattering. Was short enough to look cute but long enough to be wedding appropriate.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2012
Effortless
I was afraid the dress was going to be too long, BUT IT WASN'T! So easy to wear, very comfortable, and just the right kind of class I needed for this particular event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 25, 2012
Loved it!
This dress was incredibly comfortable and flattering. Fit was true to size. It was a little on the shorter side: I'm 5'7" and this was about as short as I could go for the church part of the wedding. I got so many compliments on it throughout the night, though. I was very happy with my rental--I wish I could keep it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
September 25, 2012
Love this dress
super flattering and girly - can be dressed up or down. Ran true to size and i felt really beautiful in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2012
Perfect dress to celebrate in!!
I decided to copy my sister and order from RTR to find a dress for our birthday... I am so happy that I did -- took the stress right out of the getting ready process. I ordered this in a 4 and a 6 but ended up going with the 4 (I am usually in between sizes). The material is very comfortable and the style of the dress was incredibly flattering. I paired it with heels and a giant statement necklace.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 3, 2012
Loved this dress! I rented it for a wedding in LA and received loads of compliments!
Fit true to size (I'm 5'8 and 135lbs and I rented a size 6). Form fitting and sexy on top with a fun flirty skirt. It was very comfortable and easy to dance in. The dress hit me just above the knee - perfect length for a wedding. I can't wait to rent another dress! Customer service was superb!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 8, 2012
I rented this dress for my high school 10 year reunion and it was PERFECT!
The invitation said "Cocktail attire" and this dress couldn't have been more perfect. It is a classic LBD and I was sad to have to ship it back. I got many compliments on it. It fit perfectly and I was very happy with how easy it is to Rent the Runway! I will be renting again very soon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
October 10, 2012
Cute, fun, flirty!
RTR has made me obsessed with Halston Heritage dresses and this one was my *third* rental from the designer and I am such a fan. I wore this for my own birthday party and got lots of compliments and felt super cute in it all night long. The top is very fitted and the flare of the skirt isn't too much. Length and overall fit were perfect. It looked cute with big earrings but you could also rock a great necklace with it. I will continue to rent Halston dresses from RTR... they are always of great quality and fit fabulously.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 10, 2012
Gorgeous Fabric, Longer Than Expected
Great dress, great fabric, however the dress is much longer than expected. I am 5'2" and the dress went below my knees. It didn't look right. Had to return. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
October 11, 2012
Classic
I loved this dress! It runs true to size or maybe a bit large - I probably could have worn a 2 instead of my usual 4. The top is fitted & stretchy and the bottom has a gorgeous flare perfect for dancing. This is easily the most comfortable and flattering dress I have ever worn. Highly recommended.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 11, 2012
Great LBD
Easy to wear, comfortable, slimming.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Beautiful dress. I got so many compliments!
Fit like a glove, and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 17, 2012
Cute, but Short
I rented this as a backup dress for a party the fit was great, but I did not end up wearing because it felt too short for the occassion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 17, 2012
Great Dress
It was a wonderful dress. The material has a good amount of stretch to it. It was very comfortable. However, the material was not what I expected. It turned out to be ok, but I did not expect the stretch material. You also can't tell in the pictures but there is are outside stitches going down the dress. I personally like it because I thought it helped frame my body shape. Since it is a black dress I paired it with bright shoes and big jewelry. I was very happy with it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2012
Fabulous!!!!!!!
I loved the dress is was SOOO comfortable. You could size down if you want but my normal size looked and fit great, it is stretchy material. I ordered surprise bling and the necklace went great with the outfit! Couldnt have gootten a better one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 24, 2012
Great little black dress!
I wore this to bar-hop for a bachelorette party (please excuse the green hair in the pictures, the theme of the party was Wicked). It was so cute and comfortable; I loved wearing it! I did decide to wear the size 8 instead of my normal size 6 because I thought the fit was better across my bust. I wish I owned this dress - I would wear it again and again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 25, 2012
I picked this dress for my sister to wear as my MOH at my wedding. Tried it on day of and fit great!
Beautiful modern dress that can be styled many ways.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2012
Super flattering!
Incredible quality in the fabric, the fit is so flattering. In my opinion this is a great dress for someone with a little bit of curve.. I'm a 32D bust and a 6 was plenty of room for me on top which was refreshing. This dress is really versatile, and can be easily dressed up or down with accessories.. Love it and wish it was in my closet!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 28, 2012
LOVED - this dress!
Fabric is part spandex so even though it's flirty it feels "snug" and very comfortable
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
October 31, 2012
Beautiful classic black dress and so versatile!
The dress fit true to size and was very figure flattering. The only con is that it bunched in the back slightly. Overall I loved the dress and I paired it with the necklace as shown on the model which was the finishing touch!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
November 3, 2012
the whole experience was flawless
It fit perfectly, didn't even need to wear a bra the dress is so supportive and was extremely comfortable! Loved it so much :)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 6, 2012
I got more compliments stating how "stunning" I looked. It was all because of the dress
It fit perfect, was comfortable and the perfect length
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 8, 2012
Awesome very Audrey Hepburn!!!
Nice stretch material, I def recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 9, 2012
Slimming fit and hip friendly!
The dress is adorable! It's very slimming in the waist and really holds you in plus the full skirt is hip friendly :-) The fabric is forgiving and very comfortable too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 10, 2012
Fun dress, but a bit too short for me at 5'8."
Nice material, and loved how this looked on most of the ladies pictured on RTR. On me, however, it was just too short for my 5'8" frame. Would be great for a shorter person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 23, 2012
OMG the LBG.
Very versatile dress, a little short for twirling on the dance floor, but very cute. Great fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 24, 2012
LOVED the dress!
the dress fit perfectly! i wore it with black opaque tights, a holiday/festive statement necklace and black heels for a holiday cocktail party - it looked amazing!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
November 24, 2012
Cute LBD, not too fancy and can be worn many ways.
Very comfortable and easy to wear. I would get a size smaller the next time. Very easy to dress up.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
5 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×