Flip Switch Dress

$40 rental
$425 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in. Add a bit of bling like the Lulu Frost's Drifting Leaves Necklace and Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
773 reviews
Fit
Large40
True to Size614
Small42
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 26, 2015
Got plenty on compliments on my LBD.
Great fit and fabric. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
September 24, 2015
Beautiful dress, flowing hemline, flattering fit!
I LOVED this dress!! The fit is very flattering. The length was perfect, not too short! Length is a constant concern for me, as it is sometime difficult to find a cute fun party dress that is cute and fun, but not flashy in a bad way!! I am 5'8 and this dress was the perfect length. The material was quite thick, which makes it a little warm in hotter climates, but it is also very slimming! The dress was a little big in the waist, it seemed like it might have been stretched out, but otherwise this dress is a knock out!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 23, 2015
Gorgeous and simply
I really loved this dress. It has very clean lines, and it's effortless. The bounciness of the skirt helped create the illusion of a cute bum since I don't have one! I left out one star in the review because even though it wasn't a HUGE problem, my bra showed the tiniest sliver from the armpit area. This wasn't a huge deal, as I said, because I was wearing a nude bra. Please keep in mind, I'm chesty (34DD). I cannot stress enough though how COMFORTABLE this dress was. I paired it with a silver necklace and simple earrings. Would highly reccomend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 23, 2015
Great wedding!
The dress fit perfectly! I typically run between an 8-10, and the 8 fit perfect, I did not even try on the 10. The dress was a thick heavy material which I liked. Easy to move in and dance all night! It was the perfect black little dress for a September wedding. I have a bigger chest as well and it fit perfectly and accented my curves nicely! Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2015
Comfortable yet fancy!
This dress was so comfortable! It is a somewhat heavy material and I was afraid I would get too hot since it was in the 80's but I was fine. It was perfect for a fancy party and I got so many complements.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
September 20, 2015
Such a fun, flirty, beautiful dress. A great find! Highly recommended.
Only issue was that the dress was a little short. Because it's a short and flares out, be aware of that when you're bending over. Other than that, it was perfect. It was particularly fun for dancing because when you twirl, the dress twirls too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
September 20, 2015
I felt so pretty and fancy for my formal affair
I'll admit I was really nervous about renting this dress. Once it arrived and I tried it on I fell in love. Fabric was smooth and comfortable. Dress length hit about an inch above my knee.. I really have no complaints. Great dress to try if you've never used this service before.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2015
So comfortable!
Wonderful comfortably, beautiful, simple dress. Perfect for a wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
September 17, 2015
Loved this dress! It was perfect for a fancy Chicago wedding.
The thick material and seems made it very flattering. Loved the tight, top fit. I am 5'0'', so the flare hit a little low on my hips...I needed to but under garments to make it look perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 17, 2015
Second time getting my dress delivered to a hotel and it's been easy every time.
Rented this dress for Valentines Day date night. It's super comfortable and has give with the material being a little stretchy. The bottom proofed out more than expected but still loved the look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2015
Many compliments and comfortable, amazing dress
Dress runs a bit small. I usually wear a 4 but the 6 fit more comfortably. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner and it was comfortable and looked amazing. I got a lot of compliments and would wear it again in a heartbeat. So flattering and easy to style.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
September 9, 2015
I loved it! I received tons of compliments! Very flattering.
Very flattering, fit well, true to size. Extremely comfortable dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 9, 2015
Good material and comfy.
Nice LBD. Very comfy. Skirt was a bit more flowy than I had expected and I hadn't noticed the details of the bodice when I saw the photo of the model. Overall, I liked it. Probably wouldn't rent again though.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
September 8, 2015
Customer service is superb.
Great LBD. Very slimming and comfortable. Made my waist look tiny and held everything in very nicely! Great to dance in! Wish I could own this piece.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 8, 2015
Hubby loved the fit and needless to say he wasn't happy I wasn't wearing it to our event.
I ended up not wearing this dress after all, but when I tried it on it fit perfectly amazing! I just needed something with a little more sparkler for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
September 7, 2015
Easy as always!
The fabric on this dress is thick. It's really nice, flows nicely and feels great on. Flirty and fun to wear while still being conservative enough with the length and high neck. Worn with flat sandals it transitioned well from early cocktails into dinner attire. I could have worn a size 2 but the 4 worked out for what I was looking for!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 31, 2015
When in doubt, wear black.
When I first took this dress out of the bag and tried it on, I thought I had a RTR miss on my hands. I couldn't understand the rave reviews and thought it just fit me weirdly. Having no other option, the following day I got ready for my event and put the dress on. For some reason it felt like a whole new dress. The fabric is thick and has a lot of give and I will say that I probably should have sized down but the 2 fit me well enough. I thought the length was perfect on me but might be a tad short on someone with a longer torso. One thing I will say is that the back of the dress doesn't look like the photo .. The material was the same over the whole dress, not different from the top to the skirt. Overall I enjoyed this rental way more than I would have thought. Can't go wrong with a LBD paired with a fun necklace and heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2015
Great dress, but better suited for cooler weather.
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding, but decided to wear my "backup" choice instead. It's a lovely dress and fit well, but the material was a little too heavy for an August wedding, especially when the ceremony was outside. I ordered it in a size 8 and 10, but the 10 was a little more comfortable overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2015
LOVE LOVE LOVE
This dress is really flattering. It hit my waist and leg at just the right spot. I looked thin without being scandalous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
August 24, 2015
Fun to dance in!
I ended up wearing one size down. My usual size had some bunching in the back. I wore a regular bra and spanx. Overall, great LBD. Fun to dance in!
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
August 23, 2015
Arrived on time, love the free back-up but didn't need to use it.
This dress was true to size and fit my bust pretty well (34DDD) though I had a bit more of the armpit/top breast chub sticking out than I would have liked. Very comfortable, love the fit and flare style. Tight around the waist- definitely recommend a shaper/control top, but hides flattering for tummy and thighs bc of the flare. This is a simple LBD, needs a statement necklace for sure. I wore it to an evening wedding, great to dance in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
August 22, 2015
Love the length.
I wore this for my dad's wedding. Love the length, however, it's a tad tight in the midsection. I am very conscious of my stomach after having kids and it was definitely too tight for my liking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 22, 2015
Didn't end up wearing!
The dress is really cute, I wish I could have worn it. I rented it along with another dress for two separate occasions, and one of the events was cancelled. I'll definitely be renting for another event though! One thing I noticed about the dress once I saw it in person is that the lines on the front, and maybe in the back, are pronounced seams. They aren't flat lines in the material, they protrude out from the dress. They look fine, but maybe not as formal of a dress as I originally thought. I would wear it to a semi-casual wedding or a night out to a nice dinner. Also, go a size up just in case. I wore my usual size, but definitely could have gone up a size and would have been comfortable too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 20, 2015
This dress was perfect for my best friend's Bridal Shower. I
originally ordered a size 2 as my first choice size and a size 0 as my free backup size. I was notified by RTR customer service the day before my order was delivered that the size 0 would not be available. They were very nice and offered me another dress style which I appreciated. Thankfully the size 2 worked perfectly! It was form fitting and an appropriate length for the shower. It was a medium weight material which I prefer so it doesn't blow away in the wind! Great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
August 18, 2015
Loved this dress - several compliments!
I wore this for a wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. It fit perfectly - which is surprising because I am very busty (32E) but have a small waist. It nipped in at the waist and showed off my figure perfectly. There was a little bit of stretch to the (heavy, scuba-like but not quite) material which helped me feel comfortable all night. I ordered two other dresses and this was my backup to the backup because I thought it looked so plain, but the fit was SO GOOD that I just could not pass it up. A definite winner.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2015
Standard LBD
Fits true to size. Top is stretchy so room for error in the size department. Not a super memorable dress & can give the appearance of a little tummy. Was my back-up dress and ended up wearing my first choice. Very safe back-up dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
August 9, 2015
Loved it!!!
I loved this dress! wish I could buy it. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 3, 2015
Classy and comfortable !
Very flattering dress - extremely comfortable. I wore this for a girlfriends bachelorette party - had a wonderful time dancing and the dress was comfortable enough to wear all afternoon and night! I would highly recommend and definitely rent this again. Such a cute LBD!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
August 1, 2015
Speedy shipping
Love love loved this dress! It was so easy to zip up and very comfortable. Great for summer weddings. Everyone loved it. Thank God this was true to size because my first choice dress didn't fit, this dress was my second choice. I am glad the others didn't fit because this dress was perfect. My only caveat about the dress is that it's a little short. I had to pull it down a few times. I will definitely recommend this dress to anyone. It's fun and flirty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 161lbs
July 27, 2015
Comfortable, Stylish, and Party Perfect
I wore this for a bachelorette party in Charleston, SC and it was super comfortable. I'm not the smallest girl by any means, so a typical short and tight LBD doesn't suit me well. This was the perfect option for that! It hid my flaws (bigger belly) and highlighted in all the right spots. The material feels like cotton so it was comfortable and didn't itch or annoy me in any way. The top is not revealing in any way and its great because you can wear a normal bra with the dress. I paired it with a simple, but larger statement silver necklace and earrings. I wore black wedges with the dress which kept me comfortable all night while walking around. The length is very appropriate too; I just had to remember to put the dress underneath my legs every time I stood up. Overall, I was very happy with the rental and would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
July 26, 2015
Love this dress!
The fabric is heavy and stretchy and uber comfortable! I was worried about it being too short. It was mud-thigh, but the skirt is full and it looked great. Definitely wear spanx! It's form fitting I the tummy area.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
July 24, 2015
I want to own this dress!
This dress fits like a glove. The thick fabric makes it feel expensive and hides any problem areas. The necklace is super fun and gave it a major pop!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 22, 2015
Loved the full skirt and higher neck line. Went well with pearls.
I usually wear a 4, but this dress was pretty roomy in the chest. Wish i had it in a 2, but it worked okay. Had to wear spanx underneath because it hugs curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
July 22, 2015
Perfect fit!
Everything about this dress was great - easy to dress it up with jewelry and heels. Perfect for a night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 21, 2015
Didn't wear this dress
Ordered this as a back up for a wedding. Didn't end up wearing it because it just seemed so plain and unimpressive. Fit true to size
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 20, 2015
Perfect LBD
The material is a bit heavy and stretchy, but it was extremely comfortable! I wore this to a summer bachelorette party on a hot & humid day. The skirt is full and is fun for dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2015
Backup Dress
Fine dress but didn't love it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2015
Absolutely love this dress! So flattering. I wore to a rehearsal dinner.
Fit true to size and is stretchy material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 4, 2015
Awesome dress! I got a lot of compliments. Great opportunity for pops of color in jewelry and shoes!
It fit very well. The material is durable but not too heavy for summer. Definitely sucks you in and hides some imperfections! The skirt flares out really nicely. Comfortable too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
June 18, 2015
My beautiful sister got married!!!
Snug fit, nice thick fabric, cool zipper detail, perfect length.
See more reviews:
3 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×