Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$30 – $55 rental?
$425 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
785 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(622)
Small
(42)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2014
Overall I loved it.
When I first got the dress I was utterly disappointed. I didn't realize the seam was on the outside and to me it looked like the dress was inside out. Luckily my sister (who is way more trendy than I am) was there and helped me through the *crisis*. She helped me pick out jewelry and accessories and by the time the wedding came I felt like a million dollars. Overall the dress is okay but with accessories it is a 5 star. The dress fit amazing by the way, I should definitely mention that. I was just disappointed by the seams, it just didn't make sense to me.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 23, 2014
Classy and comfortable!
The dress was comfortable and I got quite a few compliments! Very cute, but still sophisticated.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 23, 2014
This dress was extremely comfortable and flattering.
My younger sister (stick thin) and I both rented this dress and it looked great on both of us. The zipper is much more subtle in real life.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 3, 2014
This was my first time using Rent the Runway, and I absolutely loved it! I felt like a princess.
I ordered this dress for my school's Homecoming DanceI'm a fairly average sized person, but my lower half is larger than my top. I'm curvy in the bottom and the dress neither hid nor drastically accentuated this feature. The material was very soft and comfortable, but fitting in the waist. I have a flat stomach, but it was obvious the dress hides nothing in the waist area. I wore 3 1/2 inch heels with the dress and the dress stopped a few inches from my knees. This was a comfortable length for me and met my school's dress code (strict Catholic School). Overall, I loved the dress and the experience was great. I plan on renting another dress in the next couple of months. Highly recommended to any girls looking for a simple and easy dress for a school dance. I ended up wearing the dress with a long green-stone necklace.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 7, 2014
I wore it to a sorority formal.
The dress was a heavier material but very comfortable. It worked well to dress up and then after our event, I was able to dress it down with boots and a leather jacket.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 14
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2014
I did not wear this dress. :(
This dress was definitely not for me...very fitted in the top to the hips. On the model it looks like it flares at the hips, which would have been ok, but it actually flares below the hips so every "curve" is accentuated. I couldn't wear it which was very disappointing because it looked so cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
December 8, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it, but really loved it.
It was a lovely, heavy material with a fun and twirly skirt. I really liked it, but decided against it bc I didn't have shoes that I liked with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2014
Great Dress
The size 6 had a tear in the seam on the side, so i had to wear the 8 which fit fine. The dress was surprisingly tight on my chest since I only am a 32c and I don't usually have that problem. I had to wear a very thin bra so I didn't feel smushed. Other than that it was a great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 2, 2014
Cute LBD!
I thought for sure I was going to end up wearing this to my 10-year high school reunion, but just in case I got a backup dress (Black Halo Jackie O). The Jackie O made me look HOT, while this dress made me look CUTE. I went with the Jackie O for the reunion, but I might rent this again for something else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2014
Great LBD!
Wore this dress for my office Holiday party - was a fantastic little black dress that you can dress up with a statement necklace, belt, fun tights, etc. The material is heavy weight and stretchy - the 6 fit well but wore 8 for a little bit more comfort knowing I was heading into a long night of drinks, food & dancing. I dressed it up with a black and gold belt - overall a great dress and safe pick!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 15, 2012
perfect fit
I rented this dress for a wedding and it fit like a glove! This was definitely a dress that I would love to own. It has so much potential as a go-to LBD. It could be worn casual or dressed up with some bright heels or jewelry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2014
Heavy fabric, great silhouette!
This was my backup dress so I didn't wear, although I wish I had an even during my timeframe that would've allowed me to. Great, heavy fabric that gave the dress a great shape! Small details like the stitching and zipper make the dress unique. Would definitely rent again...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
December 18, 2014
I love it!
The dress was well made and was a wonderful heavy material. The way the skirt was, it hid any belly bulge. I loved it! I wish I owned it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 18, 2014
Worn as a work uniform. It's a super basic, safe style.
perfect fit. not too long, not too short.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 19, 2014
Amazing dress!
Wore to my niece old Hollywood theme sweet 16 party and I was going for the Audrey Hepburn look and I received a lot of compliments all night. Fit perfectly and very comfortable
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
December 24, 2014
I had so many compliments on the LBD. It fit perfectly and made me look like I have a bigger bust
It fit like a glove! True to size and a few inches above the knee. I went to a work party and it was perfect. I felt pretty. I will definitely rent again. Perfect condition
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 28, 2014
Great dress, lots of compliments!
Easy, comfortable dress that is great for any occasion!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
December 29, 2014
Great Flattering Dress
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner (was more of a party with a band) and it was a great choice. The fabric is thick and flattering but is also great for dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
December 30, 2014
Very comfortable and flattering choice!
I wore this for my 10 year high school reunion and thought it was a great choice for the occasion. I paired it with a gray blazer and opaque black tights since sleeveless/bare legs felt to dressy for the occasion. The fabric is pretty heavy, but it gives the dress a very durable feel and it definitely is only noticeable to the person wearing it. The weight also helps since it was somewhat short and the full skirt could potentially end up all over the place without the extra weight. I only give it 4/5 stars since, despite normally being a fan of fuller skirts on dresses, this one was a bit much.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2015
I didn't end up going out, rented for New Years but got sick. :(
Cute dress overall.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
January 6, 2015
Felt confident and flirty!
I'm large busted and this dress fit like a dream. Nice thick fabric, snug in the right places. Great little date dress for taking a swing on the dance floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 7, 2015
This dress was perfect for a bachelorette party!
Definitely felt comfortable all night long! Highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2015
I rented this for New Years Eve. It was perfect!
Material is thicker so you don't lines.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2015
Super cute, very flattering & comfortable.
very good basic black, flattering & still trendy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 9, 2015
Wanted to love it but...
So, I think if I had smaller hips or a more straight figure it would have looked awesome. The fit was fine, but really, really accentuated the hip area making it look extremely unflattering. Otherwise, the dress would have been great. The material is of a nice thickness and the shaping of the skirt gives it a little extra. Too bad I wasn't able to pull it off!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 11, 2015
Bummer for sure!
This dress fit really tight! I'm a pretty standard 6 and the 8 was tight. But the bigger problem was the hem being completely crooked. It looked like someone had taken a pair of scissors to the bottom. This was not my finest RTR rental. Good thing I've had so many other successes!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
January 14, 2015
Quality, flattering dress
I wore this to my husband's holiday party. It was perfect! Nice heavy fabric that can be nicely dressed up with a statement necklace and bracelet. I am between a 0 and a 2 and the 0 worked for me.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
January 14, 2015
Cute flare!
Fit perfectly!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
January 14, 2015
The moment I put the dress on I immediately felt confident and loved the way I looked!
I have a petite frame with a large bust so sometimes it's difficult to find dresses that fit my body the way I'd like. The minute I zipped up the dress, it felt like the dress was made for me. I absolutely loved wearing it! #classy #simple #lbd #perfection
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 19, 2015
Elegant & Classy & Flirty
I'm 5'9, 32DDD and was looking for something to wear to my boyfriend's company holiday party. I ordered a 4 & 6, and wore the 4. I wish i would have ordered the 2 as a backup size instead of the 6. The dress was conservative yet still looked flirty and young.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
January 19, 2015
Cute dress, but fit was just OK
Cute dress, but the fit was just OK. The material was a lot heavier than expected, and the seams gave an inside/out look. I requested the size 10 and size 12, and ended up not being able to wear either. A lot of bunching in the middle section too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2014
Fun dress!
Ordered a 0 and 2. The 0 fit better, but for some reason the skirt looked different and hung better on the 2 so I wore it. I would recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 27, 2015
I had two events in one night, both being somewhat formal and this dress was perfect!
It is a thick, stretch knit fabric. The seams are visible on the outside, which makes a bit less dressy or more funky. Depends on your perspective. It was very comfortable and easy to wear.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 31, 2015
Great, Simple, Black Dress!
Loved the thick material! It was very form fitting and made me look like I had a nice hour glass shape. The skirt flared out a tiny bit which made it flirty and fun to dance in! Loved it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
February 13, 2015
Perfect fit
Loved this dress! I wore it for a work event for my husband. It was classic and perfect for a dinner party. The fit was overall great-just a little tight in the arms but it wasn't uncomfortable. The middle was fitted just right and made me feel awesome! My husband also loved it :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2015
Fits very nicely, super comfortable and easy to wear.
Wore this for my senior piano recital, wasn't too short and looked great. Loved the fabric and fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2015
didnt wear
I can be hard to fit but usually this style is easy. I am long waisted and I was surprised to find that the dress bowed out at the zipper as if it was too long - the top of the 4 was quite fitted (I am 34C) but the bottom was pretty big and the hip area was way too wide. The quality of the fabric was nice however.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
February 25, 2015
Very cute, trendy LBD!
Fit was true to size, I am pear shaped and it was very flattering. I am 5'8" tall and needed tights underneath to feel covered as it is short. Received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 27, 2015
Great for a Company Holiday Party
The fit was true to size and was long enough to be office party appropriate. I did feel like the flair made my hips look a little wider than I would have liked, It was very comfortable to wear and easy to accessorize with.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
March 3, 2015
Perfect for a party, special event, etc. I wore it to an opening of a restaurant. Many compliments.
Fits extremely well. Holds tight to your body, but is thick enough to where it doesn't show every single flaw. Very flattering fit for an athletic figure, and I imagine for many more. Wasn't too short. I am almost 6' tall and it worked well without tights.
See more reviews:
3 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×