Halston Heritage

Day and Night Dress

$45 rental
$370 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself. Wear this fabulous Halston Heritage navy one shoulder dress for day and night. Pair with a statement necklace to dress up your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so women with very full bust sizes and rib cages should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at empire waist with ruched band
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bar and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Navy jersey. One shoulder neckline with draping. Ruching at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(90)
Small
(61)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 27, 2012
Great dress!
I rented this dress at the last minute and wasn't too sure about it, but I absolutely LOVED it. It was so flattering and I received a ton of compliments! I definitely plan on renting this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 1, 2012
AWESOME DRESS!!!
Absolutely LOVE this dress and would like to buy it!!! I normally wear a 0-2 and was able to squeeze into this 0 (as the 2 was not available). I do believe the 2 would have fit me better, not as snug - Praise the Lord for Spanx! I received a TON of compliments all night, especially from my Husband! :) The zipper was super snug at my ribcage, just like the rest of the reviews - there is A LOT of fabric in that area so it makes it more difficult. Stunning Dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
September 22, 2011
As much as I loved this dress, I wasn't able to wear it. I had all the measurements correct from what was said here but it just didn't work out. Its very pretty though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 10, 2012
Stunning dress for hourglass
This dress is absolutely stunning for those with an hourglass body or an athletic figure. I'm a 36D with a small waist and full hips. I find most "couture" dresses best fit those with straight bodies, billowy on my waist while unsavory across my chest. But this dress is a godsend. I looked like a knockout and felt extremely comfortable. The thick material felt like high-end workout gear yet looked classic. I wore Southern Plantation earrings and my engagement ring, strapless bra, spanx and heels. I typically dress conservatively and this dress fit the bill: fitted without showing much skin. I danced all night long, throwing my arms up in the air without worry. The only surprise was that this dress is quiet short - most definitely mid-thigh or shorter. Mine fit shorter than the model despite being only 5'4" because of my hips are bigger than the model's. I would not wear this to a Bar Mitzvah or christening but it's great for any cocktail event, wedding or anniversary. (I wore it to a wedding).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2012
Gorgeous dress & color!
The dress definitely ran a little small. Specifically, I thought was shorter/tighter than I expected (I'm 5'6, 125 lbs). I recommend getting your second size bigger! I wore silver shoes with silver jewelry (also rented from RTR) and loved the ensemble!
ShanaNovember 1, 2012
Which necklace from RTR are you wearing?
kirstenNovember 1, 2012
It's the Ciner, Antique Crystal Cherish Necklace!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 17, 2012
I got so many compliments!
I had originally ordered a 0 and a 2. However, after reading some of the reviews, I decided to switch to a 2 and a 4 and I am SO glad I did. The 2 was way too short/tight for a wedding, but the 4 fit perfectly. I would definitely rent this dress again, it was definitely appropriate for the occasion. One caveat, the material is thin, so wear spanx.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 19, 2012
Way too short and tight
I rented this for a formal wedding, but ended up returning it. I am a bit curvy and tall, so this dress was a little too inappropriate for the event I was going to. Definitely not as pretty in person.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
super cute dress. but the skirt is super short and tight. better for the club.
Dress was great but didn't end up wearing it. They didn't have my backup size. The size 4 fit perfecty on the top but was a little too short and tight on the bottom. It didn't drape like the picture. I think that perhaps someone who is a straight versus curvy build may have better luck.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Great Dress, but Short!
I rented this dress as a second option for a wedding. I loved it and wished I could have worn it but it was SO short, like something I would only wear for a night out. I'm only 5'5 so for something to be short on me, I would be worried it'd be super short on others. Maybe if it was in a bigger size it would've been longer. But, I love the navy and the draped upper is gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
How easy this process is!
I know, tacky photo. I ended up not being able to wear this dress as it was my backup. I was so sad that I didn't get to though, I LOVED it!! I was originally hesitant to order this because I am self aware of my hips but it didn't end up hugging them as much as I thought it would.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 6, 2012
Classy yet sexy
Beautiful dress, great color. A little sheer. I had to hold my purse in front of my dress in the sunlight. :). Great fit - flattering. Definitely recommend!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 14, 2012
I wore this dress to my cousin's wedding and it looked great!
The dress was beautiful but the bust was VERY small. I normally wear a 0, but the 2 was hard to zip up. I have a 34C. I would recommend renting up a size or two!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 28, 2012
Great dress, little skimpy, but good overall.
I would say it's a great dress overall, but the material is much more clingy/skimpy than I would have thought. I initially considered sending it back even. Definitely needs to be worn with spanx as it's a little bit see-through and shows every little curve. If you want something that is a thicker material (read: more forgiving) this might not be the dress for you. If you're cool with that, definitely go with a chunky silver necklace - I ordered a Badgley Mischka crystal cluster necklace from RTR and it worked out great with a low side ponytail.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 6, 2012
Such a great dancing dress. It works so well with a statement necklace.
I thought the dress ran a little small so I went up to a size 2. It could also be the case that the dress was more snug then I would wear to a family wedding in size 0. But over all, such a great dress with such a great rich color. I would strongly suggest renting this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
November 21, 2012
Comfortable and stylish
Enjoyed weaering it and received many compliments
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 32D
November 21, 2012
My 34th Birthday dress!
I love blue! This was a grey/blue and I thought it looked great! I felt it hugged my body just right and it wasn't so fancy that I felt out of place. It fit great! It's so nice how clothes can make the occassion.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
November 27, 2012
felt like the best dressed lady in the room. so many compliments!
was a little hard to zip up only because the zipper was stuck. the dress formed well to my body and the material was comfortable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2012
Loved this dress!
Perfect for cocktail party and I wore it for my 3oth birthday it was comfortable and classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2012
Got lots of compliments on the necklace.
The dress was beautiful, but arrived in less than stellar condition. The zipper was worn, and sort of pulled near the hip area (hard to explain). RTR offered to exchange it for a different dress (there were no more in my size), but there were really not very many dresses left that late in the week. Overall, I would say my experience was so-so. Love the concept, wish they would rent out dresses in top-notch condition.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 30, 2012
This dress was better than expected!
I was worried about the size because many times a size 0 usually ends up running big for me. This dress was the perfect size!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2013
Loved the color and the style of the dress!
The dress did not give at all--I had problems getting the zipper to close over my bust. I am a 36D and have a large rib cage, so I would have liked to size up. The 8 was not available, so I wore the six and it was fine. I got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 4, 2013
Very flattering dress!
I rented this for New Year's Eve - I normally wear in between a 0/2, but decided to just get the 2 after talking with one of the stylists. (the 4 wasn't available, or else I would have gotten that for the backup). The 2 fit almost perfectly - it was a bit tight under the bust, but my rib cage sticks out a bit, so I have this problem occasionally. It was very flattering in the hip area, and made my figure even more defined. The length was perfect too - about 5-6 inches from my knees. However, if your butt is on the flatter side, the dress might be a bit longer. I paired this with earrings that I also rented from RTR, and got compliments all night! The material feels really nice - a tiny bit of stretch, not too heavy nor too light, and party-appropriate. Would definitely rent this again and recommend to others!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
January 8, 2013
Shorter and tighter than expected
I ordered this dress to wear to a military reception/cocktail party. When I tried the dress on, it was definitely shorter and tighter than I expected. While I loved the top of the dress (the draping is beautiful!), it just wasn't appropriate for this occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 162lbs
January 9, 2013
Runs small
This dress is very tight and very short. Order 1-2 sizes bigger. Does not look good on pear-sized women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 15, 2013
I felt incedible and looked it too!
The dress held me and supported me where I needed it the most yet let me move and breathe at the same time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 24, 2011
Loved stylist Emily's recommendation to pair this with the Etienne necklace!
I wore to this to a recent wedding and loved it. It is such a flattering dress and looks great with almost any jewelry. I rented the dress in a size 0 and it fit perfectly. The material also made it really comfortable and easy to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
September 9, 2011
I want to buy this dress. It is simple and beautiful--really elegant. A 4 fit beautifully, but it looked less drape-y on me than the picture...more fitted on top. It definitely cries out for statement shoes and/or necklace. Love it! The fabric is a simple jersey, so this is not extremely dressy. Perfect for my event, but not if you are wanting something formal.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 28, 2011
Confidence! The comments I received from friends & especially my husband made the night...as did this dress ;)
Loved this dress! Wore it to a yacht club wedding, it was perfect, not once did I have to fuss with the dress the entire night. I did have a little trouble with the zipper getting stuck on the rouching. The dress is great though, if this is your first rental....go for it, you won't be disappointed!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
October 3, 2011
My husband loved telling my RTR secret!
This dress is gorgeous and very comfortable. This was actually my back-up dress but it looked so good I decided to wear it! I'm almost 5' 5" and about 135 lbs. I ordered the 8 and it fit like a glove. Lots of compliments all evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
October 10, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding this past weekend and got so many compliments. I was only able to get one size, but it fit perfectly. The fabric is stretchy and forgiving, though i'd suggest wearing with spanx even if you are petite to keep it smooth underneath. Accessorized with gold jewelry. It was a total win-I wish I could afford to buy it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 16, 2011
Wire to a fall, outside wedding. Perfectly appropriate and perfectly perfect. Classy, elegant, very flattering. Fits welll, true to size. Wore with nude heels and statement necklace. Wish I'd worn my hair up in hindsight, to really show off the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 19, 2011
I wore this to a wedding last weekend and it was perfect! I ordered two sizes, thankfully, and ended up wearing the size 2. I thought it ran a little small as I usually wear a 0. The zipper was a little hard to zip at the ruching, but perfect otherwise!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
October 21, 2011
This was the perfect dress for a wedding. I paired it with silver dangle earrings and black peeptoes. I tried it with a necklace but it took away from the one shoulder effect. I had a ton of compliments. Overall, I great steal of a dress. I loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2011
It was a little bit sheer on the bottom half, and probably better for girls with slim hips.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
Beautiful dress... got a size 4 and fit just like the model in the picture. I have a smaller bust (34B) and the dress was nice aroudn that area. Loved teh material, but it was a little see through, so you might want to wear tights (like i did!) Another A+++ for rent the runway!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2011
Felt like royalty in this royal blue dress
I wore this dress to our rehearsal dinner and it was a hit! Everyone loved it and it complimented my skin tone as well. Considering renting it again.
Ashly MichelleApril 24, 2013
You and I are about the same size, except for height. You look great in this dress! Did you find you had to wear any spanx or control wear, or a strapless bra?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 30, 2011
The customer service at RTR is always great!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. It would also be great for a wedding or any formal event. Love the color! The bottom part was a little bit tighter for me, but I would consider myself pear shaped. I would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2011
Many Compliments
The dress fit perfect! I was concerned it would be too tight over my hips since I am a true hourglass but it fit very well and I received many compliments throughout the night. I wore it with nude pumps and statement earrings and it seemed to balance out the plainness of the dress nicely. Fabric is also much nicer in person than it appears in the picture. Rent this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
December 11, 2011
AWESOME DRESS
Loved loved loved this dress. It fit like a glove, accented my curves, looks great in photos. Couldn't have wished for a better dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 14, 2011
LOVED IT!
I chose this dress for a Holiday party. I ordered an 8 and 10...I chose to wear the size 8. It was VERY flattering, made my waist look tiny ;) I chose to wear chandelier earrings and sparkly silver strappy shoes, no necklace. It was AMAZING, so many compliments!!!! This was a great experience and I will no doubt rent from RTR again.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×