Halston Heritage

Day and Night Dress

$45 rental
$370 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself. Wear this fabulous Halston Heritage navy one shoulder dress for day and night. Pair with a statement necklace to dress up your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so women with very full bust sizes and rib cages should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at empire waist with ruched band
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bar and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Navy jersey. One shoulder neckline with draping. Ruching at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(90)
Small
(61)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 69
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 29, 2011
Beautiful but small
This is a very beautiful dress but it did not fit. It was my back up dress because a second size in my primary rental was not available. I usually wear a size 6 but this dress was skin tight on me. I'm very curvy so maybe that was the problem. So disappointed because the primary dress did not fit either! Luckily, I have 2 more dresses on delivery as I was very nervous about any of them being the correct fit. I'm hopeful one of the remaining 2 will be a winner! I will rent this dress in the future because it is sophisticated, a beautiful color and fabric, but in a larger size. If you are curvy I would recommend going up a size as this dress runs small for curvy figures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2012
Pretty dress
This is a pretty dress that fit true to size. I wore it to a party, but I think it would be great for a nice wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
January 15, 2012
Celebrating our 2 year anniversary in this beautiful dress!
I absolutely loved the dress! It doesn't really fit with all of the draping like it's pictured but it's still gorgeous. Wore it for my 2nd year anniversary and my boyfriend loved it. I have a large chest area and could not wear a bra because it was a little tight there.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 19, 2012
It was New Year's!
I ordered a 2 and a 4 and the 4 fit perfectly--it couldn't have been an inch smaller. I loved that I didn't have to wear a bra with this and it was super comfortable, even after a big wedding/New Year's Eve dinner. The dress is definitely navy, not the ashy blue shown here and the waist band isn't quite as rouched as it appears in the picture. I got tons of compliments and would definitely wear this dress again. It doesn't need a necklace but does need earrings or bracelet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 26, 2012
Receiving many compliments and being comfortable all night :)
I rented this dress as a backup dress and I'm very thankful that I did! The fit was perfect and draped very nicely. Even though I'm only 5'2 the dress came a few inches above my knees (probably due to the fact that I have a larger butt)... so if you have a little bit it may be longer on someone that is short. This is definitely a MUST rent!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 30, 2012
Very flattering dress
Although I chose another dress (I ordered 3 different dresses), it was a lovely dress and very flattering. The fabric was soft and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 6, 2012
Obsessed
I LOVED LOVED LOVED this dress. I wore this dress for a cocktail business party. It was very work appropriate hit right above the knee and with the one shoulder style it showed just enough skin. I would highly recommend this because of the style and how comfortable it was...i wish i could of kept the dress :(
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 29, 2012
Didn't wear!
I ended up not wearing this to the rehearsal dinner I had rented it for because it was too short and too tight! Wasn't a good fit for my body type
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 29, 2012
Perfect Dress for a Wedding
I rented this dress for an evening wedding. The color and fit were great. I ordered a 0 and a 2. The 0 fit perfectly. I would definitely rent again! Paired with simple earrings and some tan shoes, I got tons of compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
March 28, 2012
A+ Customer Service!!!
This is a great dress. I really loved this dress!! I rented it for my Aunt's wedding; a cold and snowy January wedding. Had a little mishap with my order and their customer service was phenomenal and they were able to same day courier the dress to my office. The dress fit like a glove! I was not only comfortable in it, I was able to dance freely, eat what I wanted, and even jump for the bouquet. I was complimented all night.
LindsayAugust 23, 2012
Amazing review, thank you! So few dresses for women with actual chests. Your stats are almost mine (I'm 5'4).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 11, 2012
Nice dress, more conservative
I ordered this dress for a sorority date party and it was a bit small and conservative for the event. The color is really nice as is the asymmetry, but if you're curvier in the butt (like me) then it may not be your best option. I recommend it for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 20, 2012
Compliments all night from friends and strangers. And, most importantly, from my husband! :)
I wore this to a ball and got tons of compliments from friends and strangers. I can't say enough about it. I wish I could BUY this dress! The fit, the fabric, the comfort, the style, the class... it's just a wonderful dress overall. Especially for the price. You can't beat it. A chunky necklace and nude shoes pulled it all together.
KiaraMay 14, 2012
Your look gorgeous in this dress. Your seriously the reason why I'm renting this dress for a wedding. You accessorized wonderfully!
VanessaJune 27, 2012
Thank you! :) I hope you had a wonderful experience too.
CBJune 30, 2012
Love the necklace, where is it from?
VanessaJuly 6, 2012
The necklace is from Boston Proper. They always have some great statement jewelry.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2012
Fits Like A Glove
I got lots of compliments on this dress and it was a beautiful color, but it was not lined -- in the sun, I felt you could see straight through it -- and it did not have a lot of wiggle room. If you are between sizes, I would suggest ordering up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 7, 2012
Receiving many compliments on my dress
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. It fit perfectly and I received many compliments. The zipper snagged a bit when I was zipping the dress up, but I was prepared for this having read other reviews. Wish I owned this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2012
Wanted to love it....
I was very impressed by RTR on the delivery process. The dress itself was also beautiful and high quality. I had ordered the 4 and the 6 as my back up size. The 4 was very tight in the bust area. The 6 was a much better fit in the bust, however i found the material in the bottom half of the dress to be a little too thin and tight to be appropriate for a wedding. It might work better for someone who doesnt have a curvy lower half. Due to the fact that neither size fit as I had hoped...I had to return them without wearing. I will order again though, because i was very impressed with the customer service and the ordering process.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
July 19, 2012
Wish it would have worked
Loved this dress, unfortunately neither size worked for me. The 2 was a bit tight in the bust through shoulder and the 4 was too loose.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
July 31, 2012
Runs VERY small
I ordered this dress for a wedding and got both a size 2 and 4. I normally wear a 2 or 4 so thought one would definitely fit, however the 4 was extremely tight and way too short. Thankfully I had ordered a back-up dress. The color and shape of the dress is beautiful, but if you are tall beware, it runs very short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
August 7, 2012
Too short?
I wanted to get the 8 and 10, but only the 8 was available (I usually wear an 8). I'm only 5'2", but the skirt felt too short for me, especially as it rode up when I walked around, so I wore my backup dress instead. I think the 10 would have been looser in the hips, which would have helped, but I'm confused when I look at other people's pictures... it really seems like the dress I had was shorter than what some of the other ladies had. I'm considering trying this again when I can get the 10, because it was really cute otherwise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2012
so short!
I got a size up as the back up and even that was SUPER SHORT AND TIGHT from the waist down. I am a scrawny gal so I don't have anything to hide, but this was skanky tight! Not nearly as classy as pictured. Sent it back within an hour of receiving it...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2012
Runs too small...
I am normally a size 2, so I got a size 2 and 4 in this dress to be safe. It ran small. The 4 fit, but was way too tight. Needed a size up! Pretty dress though! Wish it had worked :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 12, 2012
Great dress!
Versatile and beautiful dress! I loved the color and the fit. Would definitely recommend! Lots of compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Sizing different than expected
I ordered this dress for an out of town wedding. I am normally a size 4-6 depending on style and make of a dress. I could not even zip up the size 6. It was very disappointing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress!
I loved this dress! I am usually a 2-4 and I wore the 4. The 2 was too small. I wore this to a wedding in late April and it was a big hit! I received tons of compliments on this dress and would rent it again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2012
Rent this NOW!!
Loved, loved, loved this dress!! The fit is extremely flattering and the richness of the color is beautiful. I rented this for a rehearsal dinner and felt fabulous all night!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2013
I received sooo many compliments on this dress.
It fits somewhat tight so get a size above what you normally wear.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2013
material and fit did not flatter my body at all, I end up purchasing a new dress for the event.
the dress did not look as elegant as the picture, I was disappointed and not sure if I will attempt to rent again even though they credit my account. I have trouble ordering clothes online because I really need to try them on first.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 19, 2012
Great dress
Love the dress - a little small in the length but besides that worked perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
February 24, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I wore this to a dinner party at our Yacht Club. The dress is stunning and I received so many compliments! The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the zipper is VERY difficult! Other reviewers have shared this, so I was prepared, but still surprised at how much effort it took! The dress is certainly not too tight, so that wasn't the issue... I think it's due to the fabric. Overall, though, I felt great and actually had two strangers come up to me to tell me how much they loved my dress! Sorry about the picture in my bathroom... I forgot to have anyone take a picture all night, and only realized that I needed one after we got home. So you can see it still wears well, even after a 5 hour dinner and 3 martinis! :)
MaryMarch 22, 2013
I am your height and am nervous the dress will be too long. Did you use tape to hem it?
KristjanaMarch 26, 2013
The dress is very short! I didn't do anything to alter it/ I am longer in the legs than in the torso, so it may not be as short on another 5'2" gal... it's a great dress, though.. good luck!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 8, 2013
Way too tight!
I planned on wearing this post baby to a wedding...it looked way too tight! Maybe I didn't pick the correct size but it looked like a club outfit on me, not a tasteful dress like it does on the model. I ended up wearing something else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 18, 2013
Great dress - runs small!
Very comfortable dress. Definitely pair it with a great necklace to make it bold and interesting. I chose RTR's Antique Crystal Cherish Necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
April 12, 2013
The groomsmen voted me best dressed!
Overall, the dress was great. It had a flattering cut and I got a ton of compliments. Three groomsmen even told me that they had voted and they decided I was the best dressed! (That's a lot coming from these guys, b/c they usually don't notice details) The only reasons this dress didn't get 5 stars are 1) the zipper issue and 2) this dress condition wasn't at its best. As stated by other reviewers, the zipper is very hard to get up. I would not have been able to get it zipped if I didn't have someone helping me--so don't get this dress if you'll be getting ready alone! Also, the dress needed some TLC. There were a couple of little holes in the front and some discoloration. That wasn't a big deal, but the hem was totally out in the back so that it flipped down. I didn't notice that until after I put it on. Luckily, the hotel had a sewing kit and I tacked it up, but it caused me to run late and I literally got to the church minutes before the wedding started. Moral of the story: check your dress thoroughly when you first get it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2013
Fun to wear dress for a wedding, highly recommend!
The fit of this dress is true to size. Pretty shade of navy blue. I expected it to be sort of loose in the shoulders from how it looked in some of the photos but it was actually very well structured and I never felt like it was sliding off. Good for dancing and lots of movement!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 4, 2013
Perfect for a wedding..great fit!
The fit was great! Super flattering dress that I would definitely recommend. I was recieving compliments all night. If you are super tall...it might be a little short on you.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2013
Lives up to it's name!
Really is perfect for day and night, I wore this to a wedding on a beach, the ceremony took place during the day and the reception went through the night, it was perfect for the occasion and looked great! The only two complaints I had was that the zipper was hard to zip and I was so surprised at how small the size 4 (my usual size) was, it was almost like a club dress! Thankfully the size 6 fit perfectly, I would just make sure to order a size up rather than down if you're not sure. Otherwise, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
June 12, 2013
Great shipping and love the goody bag that comes with an order.
This dress was TOO TIGHT! I didn't even wear it. Luckily I had ordered a second dress, same size, and that one felt better. This dress reminded me of a dress you wear to a club, which would have been great if i was going to a club and not a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 25, 2013
Loved this dress so much, am going to buy it!
I rented this dress for a friend's summer wedding, and it was absolutely perfect! It's very flattering and very pretty in-person. I especially recommend this dress for petite ladies: at times I have to get 0s altered so that they're not too big, but this fit perfectly as-is. The fabric is a bit clingly, and Spanx just didn't look right with it when I tried the dress on, so it might not be the best option if you're trying to pull attention away from belly fat. I wore the dress with a strapless bra and it worked well. As others have mentioned, the zipper is a bit tricky! The dress looks especially stunning with a statement necklace. For reference, I'm 32B-23-32, and have a longer than average torso.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2013
Was not what I expected. Very short and odd fitting. Did not end up wearing.
Too short & tight for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2013
Really small
I ordered this dress for a wedding in May and ended up not even wearing it. I normally wear a size 2. However, depending on the dress sometimes i can fluctuate between sizes 0 to 4. Since the reviews say that this dress runs small, I decided to get the 4 and the also a 6 just in case the 4 was too small. It was. I tried on the 6 and i was even very uncomfortable in that. Ladies, if you have a bigger rear end and athletic legs, do not rent this dress. It hugs you and is very very short. It was not appropriate for the wedding at all. Granted, I have a very athletic lower body from sports, but I was very surprised how short and snug it was! If you still want to rent it, i suggest renting 2 to 3 sizes up from what you normally wear. Luckily I had another dress from college that I could throw on, but I was sad that this one didn't work out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
August 2, 2013
I received countless compliments on the length and empire waist style of this dress.
The fit of this dress was incredible and fit my body shape perfectly.I would recommend this dress for someone with a small bust and fuller hips as that is my body shape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 5, 2013
Beautiful but small
I typically wear a size 4 in cocktail dresses. The dress was skin tight on the bottom and was extremely short. I was very uncomfortable and opted not to wear it. The top was beautiful though! I have a feeling the 6 would have even been small.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×