Halston Heritage

Cut It Out Dress

$70 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
217 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(140)
Small
(70)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 13, 2011
I'm 5'3 and between 105 and 108 pounds...and the size zero was TIGHT. The cut outs prevent wearing spanx so I was sucking in all night...but it was worth it! Great sexy and very chic dress. Loved it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 20, 2011
Pretty + disappointing = pretty disappointing. This is a beautiful dress, but it's too long. And if the occasion requires a long dress, it probably isn't cutout/backless-appropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
November 22, 2011
Stunning!
Ordered this for a perfect size 8 model and she looks insane in it! hugged everything perfectly. the longer length of the hem really makes it sophisticated without being too exposed. Would definitely order again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2011
10 year reunion! GREAT BACK!
Fantastic dress. Couldn't fit much more in it. Fits like a glove. A real head turner. Wore it to my high school reunion and everyone thought it was stunning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 9, 2011
loved how the garment bag is for me to keep :)
Loved this dress! this dress was the first time using the website, and I'm in LOVE! it fit perfectly, very form fitting, i was a little worried on how the back would look since it was so open, but when you try the dress on its really nice and not so bad!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
December 23, 2011
Anniversary Knockout
I rented this dress for my eight year anniversary with my boyfriend and a great choice if i do say so myself:-) At first I felt a bit self conscious as the cutouts did not seem to hit in quite the right places. I am a slender/athletic build but my ribcage makes certain dresses hit me funny. I lost the self consciousness with one look from by boyfriend...made my first rental from RTR a great decision and hopefully the first of many!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2012
This dress was so fun and sexy, but also easy to wear!
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve this year and absolutely loved it! I received so many compliments on how sexy, but yet not overly sexy, it was. I had ordered a size 2 and 4 as the extra, however the size 4 was unavailable. The 2 was a bit snug, but I had no problem wearing it as the material is pretty stretchy. But also because of the material, the dress would ride up a little on my legs when walking around. The back actually hid my bra strap, so I did not have to worry about wearing a backless bra or no bra at all.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2012
New Year's Eve Rental
The suggestion to order up was appreciated, I tend to wear a size 4 for all the other rentals but this time the 6 fit just right. As far as bras go, I tried both strap and strapless but both showed. Luckily with the heavy fabric of the dress and bra size (34B) I was able to go sans bra and was very comfortable! Received many compliments such as "really classy" and "you should buy that dress, it looks great". I tend to not look back for future rentals, but this one is a cracker and I may just find myself renting this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 6, 2012
RTR was great they delivered the dress same day when I had nothing to wear - life saver!
I rented this dress for a night out with friends and I LOVED it. It was longer on me than I thought it would be but I was actually really happy with it. It's a great balance of classy and sexy, without being over the top revealing. The material was great, I didn't even need to wear spanx.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
February 10, 2012
Love. This. Dress.
I wore this dress to a friend's birthday party and it was ah-mazing. This dress fit perfectly. I'm tall and thin - not so blessed in the chest department. At first, I was concerned because my chest looked smaller than usual - when I tried it on without a bra - but it turns out that I was able to wear a bra under the dress with no problem.....and it looked perfect! I shed a small tear when I had to mail it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
February 23, 2012
understated sexy!
followed other reviewers' advice and went up a size, and am thankful i did bc the fit was perfect. i wore this dress for valentine's day w/black tights and leopard booties. my boyfriend loved the whole look! i'll definitely be renting this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
March 13, 2012
Everyone loving my dress!
This dress fit really well. I wore it for my 27th Birthday in Miami. I had to keep scrunching the sleeves because they came down a lot while I was dancing but that was the only thing that I have a complaint about. This is a classy LBD. I hope the review is helpful.
cynthiaMay 8, 2012
Can you wear a bra with this dress?
RTRMay 9, 2012
Hi Cynthia, you can not wear a standard bra with this dress due to the cut outs. However, you can wear a NuBra or sticky flower petals!
TDecember 26, 2012
I did wear a regular bra with this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
April 9, 2012
Business in the front, party in the back.
What a great dress! I received so many compliments on this dress. It was comfy, sexy & fun to wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
July 16, 2012
Great dress
This dress is very tight, but in a good way. Surprisingly flattering on my hourglass shape. You can wear a bra with it (strapless; straps would show with the wide neckline) but it was fitted enough that I didn't need to. Wish I could own it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
July 20, 2012
So Sexy!
I loved this dress, my husband did not. I will admit, he's not the most "fashionable" person, but this was meant for his 10 year reunion, and I had another backup dress he liked better, so this one was left at home. I thought at first I wouldn't be able to get it on, but the dress fit amazingly. I think the two triangles up front would need to be dealt with in photos (stand to the side to show more skin or something so it wouldn't look like just a small cutout.) This dress is amazingly thought out how it wraps around in the back, and it was really well fitting. You wouldn't need spanx it's so tight, but it feels good on! Highly recommend for you ladies out there who are really comfortable in your own skin, because this dress is skin tight!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
August 5, 2012
Thanks RTR for excellent customer service! Great party dress while staying classy :)
I rented this dress to wear out in Vegas. The length was great - Not too short or long, hit just above the knee. The material was a stretchy, high quality and hugged my body in all the right places. What I liked was that I could still wear a regular bra with it. The strap of the dress lined up with the strap of my bra. While walking though I had to pull my dress down a few times because it kept coming up. Other than that, I loved the fit and I will rent this dress again. Sorry about my pictures!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
August 11, 2012
Felt great in this one!
I picked this out to wear to go see a ballet, and it was amazing! I felt so sexy, yet appropriate. I'm not big in the chest, so I could've gotten away without a bra, but I felt the overall line of the dress looked better when I wore a NuBra. I was very comfortable, and felt it was a great dress for going out in March. I wouldn't rent this dress for warmer weather, and I definitely wouldn't rent it to go dancing in (ease of movement wouldn't quite be there). But for my event, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 16, 2012
Very sexy, just not for me!
I rented this for my bachelorette party, but I'm very big-chested so it looked a little funny on me. I would have loved to wear it, but I think it would look better on someone with a smaller chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 22, 2012
So many compliments
It was a bit snug, but overall the dress was perfect. The dress was for my "law school prom." I felt super sexy but still classy and elegant all night -- a total win/win in my book!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 24, 2012
Beautiful!
It's an amazing dress! I wore it for my High School reunion and I got many compliments. The cut outs on the waist make you look skinny. I loved this dress!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 5, 2012
Great little black dress
I thought this was the perfect little black dress, the fit was perfect and I didn't need an extra size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 12, 2012
Loved this dress!
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and received many compliments. The neckline is definitely a little off the shoulder, so you will need to wear a strapless bra. The back covered the back of my bra with no problems. The material is stretchy, so the dress was comfortable to wear all night.
LaurenDecember 5, 2012
Hi Megan,
LaurenDecember 5, 2012
Oops, as I was saying, the dress looks great on you - did you wear a strapless bra as you mentioned? I am concerned that even a strapless bra would be too thick in the back. Thank you!
MeganDecember 11, 2012
Hi Lauren, Yes I work a strapless bra with no problem! It's thicker in the back than it looks in this photo. I just used fashion tape to secure the dress to the back of my bra and didn't think twice about it. The dress is great, you'll love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Classic & sexy
Wore this as a winter 'date night' dress with stilettos and swiss-dot-patterned sheer stockings and got loads of compliments! Only observation is that the fabric doesn't have much strectch, so for me the fit in the shoulders/arms was a bit tight while the waist cutouts gapped just a tiny bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Great New Years Eve Dress!
The dress was a little hard to get on because of the style but the fit was great. It was the perfect mix of elegant and edgy and I got many compliments. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 12, 2012
Classy yet fun!
Fit like a glove! The length was perfect & made the dress super classy! I paired it with an edgy spiked necklace & red lip! Received so many compliments. Great for girls with a curvy bottom half & tiny top half.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2012
Great dress, just too tight for my liking
The dress was a very thick and heavy material, and clung to my body more than I would have liked. I had planned on wearing it to a college formal, but I was worried about getting overheated while dancing, and opted for my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 18, 2012
It fit really well.
Beautiful fabric and cut. I was self-conscious at first with the slits (didn't want the back fat to show) but as the night went on, I felt really comfortable and sexy in it. It's really unique. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
October 22, 2012
A gorgeous dress that made me feel sexy yet sophisticated!
The dress fits true to size, the material isn't cheap and it really accentuated my body, of which lacks in the curvy hips department a bit. It's very form fitting, so be aware ladies! I absolutely adored this dress and didn't want to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
October 22, 2012
Perfect for 30th birthday!!
This dress fit perfectly! Business in the front, party in the back!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 22, 2012
just enough sexy
this dress is the bomb diggity! honestly, i felt like a supermodel beauty queen. it had just the right amount of sex appeal. the fit was perfect for my body type...straight up top with a booty. i didn't wear a bra and because of the tautness and thickness of the fabric i didn't even think about it for the rest of the night. i got compliments left and right and even dressed it down with a leather jacket for the outdoor ceremony. honestly i did not want to send it back, it is a great dress and i recommend it highly to all the smaller busted ladies out there. flattering, flirty and fierce!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
October 27, 2012
A LBD for my 21st!
I would suggest going true to size- if not maybe a size up just in case because the cut outs on the sides are right where you might feel uncomfortable. You don't want to look like you're squeezed into this dress. Overall, I really loved it and received complements!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2012
Sexy stunner!
This was my first time using RTR so I was a little nervous. Then because of the hurricane, the original dress that I selected was not available. My RTR stylist quickly made another selection for me so that I would still receive the dress in time. Honestly, I probably would have not selected this dress for myself but I'm so glad that my stylist did! It fit perfectly and I loved that it somewhat understated (from the front) and very sexy in the back! I got so many compliments on my dress and I felt like a million bucks. I am petite with curves and I loved how it hugged my body without being too tight. I would definitely rent this again! I had to wear a "nubra" type bra with this dress, a regular or strapless bra did not work.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 5, 2012
Arrived too late...
I had this dress as a back up to my other one for my birthday occasion and sadly it came too late. It was delayed due to shipping problems? I don't know the exact details but when it arrived I tried it on and it was tight! It looked amazing I just wanted room to breath a little. Such a cute dress and I want to rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2012
Didn't get to wear it bc of sandy but will def rent it in the coming weeks!
Didn't get to wear it bc of sandy but will def rent it in the coming weeks!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
This dress made me feel like a Hot Diva
Loved how it stretched, beware of the skin that will show on either side of the dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 20, 2012
Loved it! Perfect!
I ordered a 0 and a 2 based on the other reviews I read and the 2 fit perfectly. The material is thick and holds everything in place nicely. I wore this for my work Holiday Party and received a tons of compliments. I was able to wear a bra and spanx without anything "peeking" out. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
November 25, 2012
Order a size up!
I'm usually a size 4 or 6 in dresses, but after reading some of the reviews I opted to go with sizes 6 and 8. Ladies, DO NOT BE ASHAMED TO GO UP A SIZE IN THIS DRESS! It looks better if you aren't squeezed into it, plus, the opening in the back can cut you off and make you look like you have back fat even if you don't. I wore the 8 and felt so comfortable and skinny all night...even though I was wearing two sizes larger than I usually do. Contrary to other reviews, there is a little bit of stretch in the dress. I would definitely wear this dress again.
RobynNovember 6, 2013
Great advice! Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 26, 2012
The cut-out details were showstopping.
I was disappointed at how small this dress runs. I think if I'd had a size up, I would have been completely in love with it. Instead, I was self-conscious the whole night. Other than the size issues, the dress is gorgeous and has good construction.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 28, 2012
Fantastic fit!
I wore this cut-out dress to a formal cocktail gala in winter and it was the perfect combination of edge and class. It fit like a glove and I received many compliments on the unique shape and design. Such a fun look and experience! I wish I owned the dress :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
November 30, 2012
Everyone who came up to say hello to me commented on how much they loved me in this dress.
Fit was awesome, great material. Length was to my knees because I'm 5'3" but I loved it because the cutouts were very sexy. Whenever I stood up I had to really pull it down because the fabric is kind of think and it would get bunched up around my waist if I sat down.
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×