Cut It Out Dress

$35 rental
$295 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
214 reviews
Fit
Large0
True to Size140
Small68
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 4, 2013
chic and sexy perfect dress
The dress fits you like a glove . It's looks so pretty coming and going . You don't need to wear a bra with this as the material is thick enough or wear a strapless bra . I cant think of any cons about this dress . I enjoyed wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2013
Very sexy
The back is to die for! It's also a very body con dress and is on the tight side.... so plan accordingly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 30, 2013
Sexy but too snug dress
I have rented a few other Halston Heritage dresses from RTR without issue but this dress was too snug and had to be returned. The open back was too tight, making me look like I had a chubby back (and I don't think I do!). It was an awesome dress, the quality and length were great, and I wish I could have worn it on my trip to Vegas. Don't make the same mistake I did and order a back up size in one larger than your normal size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
April 26, 2013
Flattering for a date!
Stretchy material that was a little bit thicker, hid all the things that needed hiding. Not as much of a "wow" factor as I maybe would have liked.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2013
I felt fantastic in the dress, and people I hadn't seen in a while were very impressed
The dress fits great - the material is thick enough that it doesn't feel clingy or revealing, but is still extremely figure flattering and I felt very confident in it. Honestly, I can't think of any negatives, I wish I owned the dress! Felt very sexy, grown up, and classic at the same time. I dressed it up for a black tie event by having my hair done, etc. but it could totally be appropriate for something more casual, too. I read some of other reviews that said the arms were tight, but I have athletic arms and was still comfortable. The best part was not having to wear a bra!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
April 8, 2013
I rented a size 8 and it couldn't get the dress over my thighs. I am not fat. This runs too small!
I would not ever rent this dress again. I rented a size 8 and a 10 as a backup size and neither one fit at all. It was very disappointing. The material of this dress isn't stretchy or comfortable at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2013
Loved it so much I rented it twice
What a great dress! I originally rented this dress for a date with my husband--I loved that it had a hit of sex appeal with the cutouts, but wasn't trying too hard. The hemline and sleeve length made it perfect for chillier weather. The dress was so great I rented it again a few months later for a bachelorette party! The dress runs true to size, but you may want to order a size larger for your backup just in case.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Love this dress!
Got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
March 24, 2013
Looked beautiful. Got great compliments all night!
I rented a size 2 and 4 based on everyone's comments. The size 2 fit better on top but was too tight on the bottom so I ended up wearing the size 4 dress. It was a bit loose on my arms but still fit very nicely and the bottom fit perfectly. I wore it to my birthday party and got compliments all night long.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
March 18, 2013
Love this dress, classy and sexy.
I normally wear a 2,4 but I think a 4 would have been to big.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 15, 2013
Simple, Classy, and Sexy!
Great dress!! Fit true to size, ordered a 4 and 6 and wore the 6 only because the dress does not have much room to stretch. The sexy subtle cut out made it totally appropriate for my fiances law school cocktail party!! Got compliments all night!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 8, 2013
Perfect alternative LBD. Supportive and Stretchy!
Even though I pit "true to size" I feel like this dress (with the thick yet stretchy material) calls for going up a size. Sometimes I wear a size 4 and sometimes I wear a size 6. This dress in a 6 fit perfectly without being too tight or too baggy. I was able to move and I did not have to wear a bra.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2013
This was the first dress I rented from RTR and I loved it! The cut out mad the dress memorable!
The dress fit great. Very figure flattering, but still made it easy to wear a regular bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
March 8, 2013
This dress hugged my curves in all the right places!
This dress made me feel like I belonged on the runway. I am a sucker for dramatic backs on beautiful dresses. I loved this dress and will probably end up purchasing it! I got compliments all night long. And it's the right mix of sophisticated and sexy - works for a formal dinner or a sexy date night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 5, 2013
Great Dress!
This dress fit like a glove. I wore it for my bachlorette party and I got lots of compliments. The top was tight enough so I did not need to worry about a bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 5, 2013
Wore this for a night out with some friends and was SUPER happy with this choice!
Love this dress! Super flattering and got a ton of compliments. The fabric is thick/tight enough that I decided not to wear a bra. Could not have been more comfortable -- wish I could keep it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2013
Gorgeous. Flattering. Sexy
This dress was amazing. Wish I could buy it. The cut, material, and fit is so flattering and sexy! Perfect for weddings, anniversaries, dates, parties. or anything really.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 22, 2013
Stunning!!
Gorgeous dress, hugging in all the right places - this picture does not do it justice.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 18, 2013
I loved this dress! It was stretchy but form fitting. Definitely recommend sticky boobs!
no cons really. I enjoyed the experience! :D
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 11, 2013
Amazing dress!!
This dress is amazing. I wore this to my medical school formal, and I could not have been happier with the experience. I ordered both a 2 and a 4; both fit well, but the 4 allowed a little more arm movement, so I went with the larger size. The material is thick, so I didn't need to wear a bra. I would definitely rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 10, 2013
Such a fun dress
I loved this dress. It was super tight in the sleeves, but fit well! It was the perfect length for me as well, not too short which can be an issue. The material was really thick but was stretchier than expected.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 6, 2013
Halston FTW
This was an awesome dress! I wore it to a concert and the effect was simply stunning!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2013
Couldn't get it on :(
dress seemed to run very small... I am a solid 4, about 98% of the time, and couldn't even get this dress on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2013
AMAZING! Classic but edgy.
I usually wear a 2 or 4. This dress has a thick, stretchy material and I ended up wearing the 4. Would totally rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
Great Wedding Rental!
It was a perfect dress for a winter wedding! The dress was a nice, thick material and very flattering. It fit snug, but I was still able to dance and move around easily. I wore spanx and sicky bra with it, but could have gone without.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
January 18, 2013
HOT DRESS!
I wore this for an anniversary date and it was the perfect combination of sophistication and sexiness in all the right places. This was my first time renting from RTR and they did not disappoint! The dress was not available until Saturday - the same day I needed the dress. Saturday deliveries in NYC can run until 8pm and I needed it sooner than that. I called RTR on Friday and requested an earlier delivery time and the dress showed up Saturday morning! Amazing customer service! I am usually a size 2 but went with the recommendations and ordered the 4 and 6 to be safe. I ended up wearing the 4, the 6 was way too big. The 4 had a little bagginess in the skirt area but the top half fit well. I think I could have gotten away with a 2 but there is so much stretch to the dress that it conforms to your body, so the one size difference doesn't matter much. The material is heavy - perfect for a winter occasion. I wore a bra with straps and just pushed the straps to the side a bit and everything stayed in place. I loved wearing this dress and my boyfriend loved it too!
MegFebruary 24, 2014
you're 37?! I can't believe it-- you're gorgeous!
JDecember 1, 2014
thank you! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
Perfect NYE LBD!
The dress put a spin on the usual LBD and was a perfect attention getter for the occasion without being to much. It did run small however.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 13, 2013
Showstopping!
My very first RTR dress, I will surely be a returning customer! I should have indeed taken the advice here and rented two sizes up. I rented a 0 and a 2 and liked the 2, but a 2 and 4 would have been better fits. Loved the modest length, so elegant yet bold. The abundant compliments made it worth every penny. Excellent customer service!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
January 12, 2013
I rented this dress for a music industry christmas party. But, I never got to wear it.
I rented this dress for a music industry christmas party. Unfortunately, I never got to wear this dress. I rented the size 2 but, the 0 came instead. I'm 5'2'' 114 lbs 32C/ 34B. I was able to get the size 0 on but, it didn't look right. It was just too small - with the cutouts, this isn't the type of dress you want to squeeze into! I was sad that the wrong size was sent, it would've been very hot. RTR representative gave me full credit (with shipping) and a promo to rent another dress at 50% off. Better luck next time :-/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 31, 2012
I had so much fun in this dress! It was classy AND sassy at the same time.
I ordered the 0 and the 2. This dress is extremely form fitting and I felt much better in the 2. I probably could have worn a bra because of the placement of the strap on the back, but the material was thick enough that I didn't need to. I received many compliments all night long from both men and women.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 26, 2012
I ended up using my other dress. This one was just for back up! The arms were to tight.
This dress would have been great if I could lift my arms up!.. It was too hard to dance with.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 23, 2012
Super fun LDB!
Ordered the dress in sizes 2 & 4. Size 2 ended up fitting better. Was a little hesitant to wear with the cutouts/open back but glad my friend encouraged me to wear it! Confidence definitely required to rock this number!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 20, 2012
A real stunner coming and going!
The quality of this dress is unsurpassed and I received so many compliments on the amazing cut out back. However, when the other reviews say this dress is tight and there is no give in the fabric, they aren't kidding!!!! I usually wear a 0 or 2 but I squeezed into a 4 with the help of Spanx and hard core cardio for 2 days prior to the event. It was worth it though because it was a night to remember.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 19, 2012
Very conservative in the front and edgy in the back!
I did not end up wearing the dress because it was too small. I recommend ordering a size up
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 19, 2012
I wore this dress for a banquet/my retirement party, and it was classy but sexy!
I had originally ordered the 6 because the other reviews said the shoulders were tight, but I found the the 4 fit perfectly! If you're tall like me, the skirt hits just below mid-thigh. This is a great dress for a colder night, the fabric is a little bit thicker and still stretchy so that it conforms to your body. I loved the open back. The only con would be that it was a little tight under the armpits, but overall great fit, great look!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2012
Classy with a bit of adventure!
I wore this dress for my one year wedding anniversary, and my husband LOVED the dress! I was a little worried that the cut out back would be too big for me ( I have a really slender back) but the dress was perfect! I ordered the 0 & 2 and could have worn either, but I went with the 2 so the dress would be slightly longer. Also the material was thick enough that I didn't need a bra and everything stayed in place.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2012
Sexy dress!
Order a size bigger than normal, it's SUPER tight. But looks amazing! The thick tight fabric hides a lot of flaws too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 6, 2012
Fun LBD for a party.
This is a very fun dress to wear, it's classy but surprising! The fabric has stretch, but it's definitely close to the body, I ordered up a size and it fit perfectly. Plus because of the cut of the dress, you can't wear spanx like with other close fitting dresses. I was able to wear a regular black bra, I just pulled my straps out to the side a little.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 3, 2012
Runs small
dress is cute but took away from my curvy figure and made me look blocky.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
November 30, 2012
Everyone who came up to say hello to me commented on how much they loved me in this dress.
Fit was awesome, great material. Length was to my knees because I'm 5'3" but I loved it because the cutouts were very sexy. Whenever I stood up I had to really pull it down because the fabric is kind of think and it would get bunched up around my waist if I sat down.
See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×