Halston Heritage

Cut It Out Dress

$70 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
218 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(141)
Small
(70)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Love this dress!

Got a lot of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2013
Loved it so much I rented it twice

What a great dress! I originally rented this dress for a date with my husband--I loved that it had a hit of sex appeal with the cutouts, but wasn't trying too hard. The hemline and sleeve length made it perfect for chillier weather. The dress was so great I rented it again a few months later for a bachelorette party! The dress runs true to size, but you may want to order a size larger for your backup just in case.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
April 11, 2013
I felt fantastic in the dress, and people I hadn't seen in a while were very impressed

The dress fits great - the material is thick enough that it doesn't feel clingy or revealing, but is still extremely figure flattering and I felt very confident in it. Honestly, I can't think of any negatives, I wish I owned the dress! Felt very sexy, grown up, and classic at the same time. I dressed it up for a black tie event by having my hair done, etc. but it could totally be appropriate for something more casual, too. I read some of other reviews that said the arms were tight, but I have athletic arms and was still comfortable. The best part was not having to wear a bra!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 26, 2013
Flattering for a date!

Stretchy material that was a little bit thicker, hid all the things that needed hiding. Not as much of a "wow" factor as I maybe would have liked.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
May 1, 2013
Very sexy

The back is to die for! It's also a very body con dress and is on the tight side.... so plan accordingly!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 4, 2013
chic and sexy perfect dress

The dress fits you like a glove . It's looks so pretty coming and going . You don't need to wear a bra with this as the material is thick enough or wear a strapless bra . I cant think of any cons about this dress . I enjoyed wearing it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 31, 2013
YES!

Comfy. Cute. and fit like a glove!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
June 19, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress

I wore this dress for my sisters 40th birthday party. It was perfect for the occasion. This dress fit perfectly and I felt amazing in it. The fabric was unexpectedly thick so I didn't need to wear a bra which made the dress even more comfortable. I received so many compliments about how I looked in the dress and how cute it was. I would highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2013
Great party dress!

I usually wear a 2. But after reading the reviews, I ordered a 4 (this was my second $25 dress, so I only got one size). The material is very thick. I'm glad I had the 4. I probably could have worn a smaller size, but because the material is stretchy, the 4 fit great. It's better to have the bigger size. If you squeeze into this dress, you run the risk of having some skin bulging out of the cut-outs!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2013
So wonderful, flattering, and beautiful!!!!

This is the perfect dress, you will love it. You can wear a normal bra but I had to pin the strap in the back. I didn't end up wearing it because my event got cancelled, but I would definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2013
The dresses showed up on a hanger, in a garment bag and came with free samples. I loved the samples.

The size 2 fit perfect everywhere except for the arms.If the dress had been sleeveless there wouldn't have been any issue, but I have muscular arms and the size 2s sleeves were tight. The 4 was noticeably looser all over but did not look bad. I ended up wearing the 4 because of the way the sleeves fit.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 23, 2013
Super flattering dress, sucks you in in all the right places!

LOVED this dress, even tried to purchase it from RTR so I didn't have to return it! I'm usually a 6 but only the size 4 was available, so I gave it a shot. The dress is definitely tight, like a bandage dress, so if you're between sizes - size down!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 7, 2013
AMAZING customer service

The dress is beautiful! Thick material perfect for a night out in the fall/winter. The back is very open, so I was unable to wear a bra. The sides ride up a little bit while walking and there's a little bit of bunching on the side where the zipper is. My husband and friends loved the dress - thank you!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2013
Looked great with my date!

The cut out was really flattering, would probably give nice curves to everyone.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2013
My boyfriend is used to seeing me in fab dresses.....and still couldn't stop staring

Everyone needs to rent this dress!!!!! It fit like a glove and made my curves pop! I wore a 4 because the 2 was a little tight in the bust.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 29, 2013
Loved wearing this dress to my bachelorette party!

I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, which was held in November. It was perfect to wear out on a chilly Fall night- the cut outs helped make the look even more special, without being over the top. I would say it ran pretty true to size, I opted to wear the size 4 because the size 2 didn't fit in my chest (I'm a C). The length was perfect, hitting just above my knee. I liked the form fitting aspect of the dress because it gave me a really sleek look. Got a ton of compliments, and would recommend anyone looking for a LBD with a twist!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2013
NYE

I wore this to an NYE party and it was perfect! Dressy enough for NYE with an appropriate amount of sex appeal for the winter time.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 11, 2013
Awesome dress, but not for a family wedding

I ordered this dress as a backup dress for my cousin's wedding. They only had a 0, so I got that and hoped it would fit. I am usually either a 2 or 0. When the dress came, the 0 fit, but my bra did show. it says you should wear a strapless bra, but it's probably best with none at all. I loved this dress, and brought it with me to the hotel as an option to wear, but as my sister pointed out, it's probably better for a wedding that doesn't include my grandmother.... I'll definitely rent it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 15, 2013
great accessories help make the dress.

I received size 0 and 2. They both fit exactly like the same size 0. It was snug and sexy. I'm a skinny girl but chub still managed to sneak out through the sides.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
March 18, 2013
Love this dress, classy and sexy.

I normally wear a 2,4 but I think a 4 would have been to big.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
December 22, 2013
I really should have kept this

I didn't really know what to expect with this dress, but it was PERFECT. I love a classic silhouette with a surprising detail (in this case, an open back). I think my dress got more attention on my birthday than I did. I'll definitely be renting this one again. :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2013
HOT, hot HOT! Get ready to turn every head in the room.

This dress was much more structured and stunning than I thought it would be. The fabric is very high-quality and heavy, with just a bit of give. It definitely sucks you in in all the right places. Super comfortable. The only thing I will say is that the part of your back it shows is tough to tone, so I was a smidge self-conscious about that. Super sexy though and I'd rent it 900 more times.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 10, 2014
The additional items they send

Very pretty dress. Nice fit. Simple and sexy!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
January 12, 2014
classy with just a hint of sexy

This dress was super comfortable. I'm glad I didn't size up like most of the reviews said to. I have a very small upperbody and the 2 fit well. The bottom half of the dress fit almost exactly the same in the 2 and 4, so if you have a bigger bust you should size up - otherwise it's very true to size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2014
Head turning

Runs true to size. Great for packing as it does not wrinkle. Made for the woman who can stand straight. Walking tall helps keep the back looking great. I'm 53 and felt very comfortable in this dress size 10. 132 ils, 37" chest and 40 inch hips. Very nice. The only hang up is that I did not understand that an 8 day rental means that the dress is due back on the 8th day. Good to know for next time. My mistake. I thought the day it arrived was not day one as it arrived late in the day. 6:00pm

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 23, 2014
Wow! I wish I could buy this dress!!!

Unbelievable dress - so comfortable yet hugs you perfectly in the right places. Classy yet sexy. I wore this dress for a charity event and received compliments all night long. Given how cold it is in Chicago, I wore tights under the dress and even though it's form fitting, I had no problem putting tights on underneath nor was I uncomfortable. About the fit - I'm normally a 0 but I ordered the 0 and the 2 based on the size chart. I have a small waist and big hips (so an hourglass) and the 2 fit perfectly. The 0 still fit but was just tighter and slightly shorter. Amazing dress!!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 100lbs
March 1, 2014
Excellent service

Fit was on the snug size but I would not saw it ran small. Material was thick and warm for a Feb wedding but the dress itself was not heavy overall. Was able to wear a regular bra which was a plus. I am in the shorter side (5') and tucked the bottom of the dress up to create a shorter hemline. Otherwise the skirt would be too long and cut off my legs. Back and side cut outs were nice and I received a few compliments. I wouldn't necessarily say it's a "head turner" of a dress but it is a nice twist on a basic black number. Shipping was actually a day early prior to a huge snowstorm in NJ which was nice. Dress had an add smell (I'm assuming cleaning products?) but once I got it out of the garment bag it aired out fine. Excellent experience with RTR and I will definitely be using their services again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 5, 2014
Not great on short torsos

I rented this dress for a party but ended up wearing my back-up because this one wasn't too flattering. Everything fit fine except the cut-out in the back hit and squeezed in all the wrong places. I'd recommend this dress for someone with a long torso and toned back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 10, 2014
Classy and sexy

I thought this dress looked great. I wore it to a charity event, and it was classy and sexy. The reason for 4 stars is because the dress was tight on the arms and kind of uncomfortable. Otherwise, happy!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 12, 2014
Simple but a knockout!

Loved this dress. Was appropriate enough for my sorority formal in December (in Georgia!). Love the bit of sexiness that was added with the back cut out. Had people asking where I got it from all night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 12, 2014
I was a showstopper in this sexy yet sophisticated dress!

This dress was perfect for a a New Years eve party with my friends! The fabric hugged my body perfectly, giving a sexy yet sophisticated look. The cutout in the back was a great way to show some skin, but not be too revealing. The length was also perfect...right above the knee and it didn't ride up. I got endless compliments that evening. I would rent this dress again...and you know what? I think I will!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 1, 2014
First Valentine's Day with someone very special. Got many compliments on this sexy dress. Must rent!

After reading the reviews i was a little nervous about the size of this dress. I am usually a 0 but from reading what other girls posted 2 seemed like a better fit. Fortunately only size 0 was left and it fit absolutely perfect. The dress has a little stretch, so it will hug your body just in the right places. Go with your ACTUAL dress size on this one ladies. You will not be disappointed.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
April 3, 2014
Makes you feel sexy without showing too much. This was my first RTR dress :)

Great fit everywhere. I'm a small C cup, didn't have to wear a bra at all still felt supported. Perfect length for a wedding, not too short on my frame even with my bubble butt! Lots of compliments. Front is pretty plain and conservative. Back is super sexy!

ChristinaApril 3, 2014
Hourglass? Bubble butt?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 12, 2014
Perfect bachelorette party dress

This dress is fitted in all the right places. The material was breathable so I never felt too overheated while dancing. The length was perfect and it actually did ride up at all while walking. The cut outs on the side and back made this the perfect dress to wear alongside the bride-to-be while she celebrated her last night out on the town!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 18, 2014
LOVE this dress

I rented this dress for my Bachelorette party. It was perfect! Definitely a tight dress, but that is what I was going for :) Classy from the font, with a sexy back. Loved it! I would say this dress fits pretty true to size. I didn't wear a bra with it (because of the back) which was not a problem because you are pretty covered up on the front. Anytime I need a sexy LBD, I am renting this!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 27, 2014
Need "support"

I was not IN LOVE with this dress, but I still felt sexy rocking it. My main concern was the bra situation. I need support but this dress did not allow for any clever hiding of a bra or even pads. I tried to add pads but they just fell down, making me kooky droopy :-(. Overall, if your boobs stay up on their own and you have a trim midsection then this is a dress for you! Normal ladies, take caution!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 3, 2014
Super sexy!

Loved this dress! I wanted to keep it! Highly recommendable!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 4, 2014
Wore this to a strip club in Vegas and I felt sexier than the strippers. Great little dress.

Fits a bit tight in the shoulders. Hard to wear a bra with but I got it done. Great fit bottom wise.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
May 12, 2014
My boyfriend kept asking me if I could buy it instead of rent it. :D

Fit like a glove! Got a lot of compliments. Only downside is having to buy those adhesive bras because I'm very busty and a normal bra would have shown. Loved it!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 14, 2014
It was okay...

They didn't have a 6, so I rented a 4 and an 8. It's too bad, because I think the 6 would have been perfect. Neither the 4 or the 8 looked quite right. Returned without wearing either.

See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×