Halston Heritage

Cut It Out Dress

$70 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
217 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(140)
Small
(70)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 14, 2014
It was okay...
They didn't have a 6, so I rented a 4 and an 8. It's too bad, because I think the 6 would have been perfect. Neither the 4 or the 8 looked quite right. Returned without wearing either.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 14, 2014
Not for big chested girls..
I thought I was going to be in love with this dress but when I put the dress on the size six was to tight in the chest area as I am a 34ddd. Then I tried the size 8 and it fit better but wearing a normal bra did not work at all and the strapless I had could not hide the back strap. Not to mention there was buckling on the side of the dress that I could not get to lay down for anything. Needless to say I was freaking out, so I called costumer service and Jeremy was so helpful! He sent me out two new dresses in different styles to arrive at the hotel I was staying at! Best costumer service I have ever received. He was amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 19, 2014
The cut-out is an unexpected sexy touch!
It's a sexy and classy dress -- I really liked it! I'm busty so I couldn't fit into the size 6. The arms for a bit tight which other reviewers have mentioned. It was a good rental, but would probably not rent again because of the tight sleeves.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
May 20, 2014
Absolutely gorgeous LBD!
Dress was beautiful however because I have a larger bust it didn't quite fit properly. I would definitely recommend it as a dress for a night out on the town or a cocktail party.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 27, 2014
Overall I loved the dress!
I got an 8 and a 10 for back up. The the 8 too tight in my breast area so i tried the 10 which was fine on my breast but was way too big on my waist leaving the back piece flapping a lot. I went with the eight because a little tightness when your wearing pasties is never a bad thing also the 8 was a little flappy in the back as well.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
May 29, 2014
It was nice but didn't really fit the occasion I was going for
This dress fit fine -- the material is very stretchy -- but I choose not to wear it. I think I could've gone down a size or up. I ordered it for a beach vacation because I thought it would be cold and I wanted a dress with sleeves but still showed a lot of skin. It was my fault for ordering it when not really appropriate. I didn't take any pictures of me in it but I remember trying it on and thinking it was just ok. Again I wasn't really in the mood to wear it so maybe I would've been more pleased if it was something I choose for a specific occasion. I probably wouldn't order it again but that's just me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 4, 2014
Didn't work with my body type
I loved this dress in concept, but it just didn't work for my body type. I'm short, and athletic, but I have curves. The cutouts ended up hitting me at a super awkward part of my torso, and the same across the bust made my chest look flat and awkward. I was comfortable with the length, but I could see it being a little short for someone with longer legs than I.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
June 11, 2014
Loved it! :-)
I received a lot of compliments. I loved the opening on the sides, it is what makes the dress special and not just a plain black dress. I order size 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the size 0. The sleeves run small and was the same fit for both sizes. I would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
July 24, 2014
Fun Party Dress
I wore this for a work holiday party. It was just the right amount of skin. I love the long sleeves. I paired it with a bold necklace that made it super fun and stylish.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 5, 2014
Classy and Spicy
This dress was a stunner and made me feel "on" for my sister's bachelorette party. It does run small, so I definitely suggest sizing up. Though this dress has been around for a few seasons, the cut out with the focus on the back is still on-trend for 2014. The fabric was thick and pulled me in, no spanx needed. The length was good -- not too short to be cheesy or tacky. Wore this out dancing and had a lot of fun -- was able to move freely, though it did get hot with the arm length and thicker fabric
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2014
Didn't fit
I'm usually a size zero in everything I wear. Things tend to fit me well. Unfortunately, this dress was not one of them. I ordered a size 0 and a size 2. Both were entirely too small. I've gotten really fit over the last year and I was hoping to show a little skin at my 10 year high school reunion. This dress was so tight that the bit of skin looked downright trashy. I was very disappointed. I've rented from this site many times before, this is the first time a dress didn't work out for me. Fortunately, the team at RTR made the return easy and I wore a dress I already owned.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
September 6, 2014
Was the standout of the party
Tight fit. Will need to wear a strapless bra if you don't want to go braless.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 7, 2014
Great dress but a little racy for a very formal event
This dress is thicker than I thought it would be but that may be because I'm used to American Apparel, H&M, Theory and BR dresses! It fit very well and I did not have to adjust it at all. I think for the 125-150 person wedding in DC I wore it to, it might've been a little bit too tight and revealing. It's a great party dress though and it was perfect for the bottle service club we went to after the wedding reception.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 6, 2014
Beautiful dress; many compliments
Great for an hourglass figure, but SERIOUSLY runs a FULL SIZE SMALL. I really wish I had known to order one size larger than what is usually my big-back-up-size. As in, I usually order a 4 and a 6 - I have NEVER worn an 8. However, the 6 fit like a 4, and I wish I had the 8!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 23, 2014
I felt sexy and beautiful in this dress. Great for an evening in NYC
I wear a size 2 or 4. The 4 was the only size available so I took it. After wearing it for a few hours, it seemed to stretch a bit making the skirt ride up into the "cut out" on the back. I was also dancing ALOT so that may have done it too. All in all- sexy fun and flirty sums it up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2014
A M A Z I N G!!!!!!
This dress is sexy and comfortable. I wore it for my birthday would wear it again in a heartbeat. A true show stopping dress that gives you just the right amount of sexy.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 29, 2014
Sexy and sophisticated.
I felt amazing in this dress and it sucked me in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2014
Felt AMAZING on my 30th birthday!
The dress certainly runs a bit small. I am usually between a 2 and 4 but read the reviews and ordered a 4 and 6. The 4 fit but was snug in the arms and hips, I was thankful for the backup! The dress did ride up when walking (which caused the opening in the back to ride up also) . I would absolutely rent this dress again!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 6, 2014
Just ok
This was a pretty dress and looked nice on and was completely appropriate for the wedding I attended. The length was perfect and the dress, even with the cutouts and open back, was very much appropriate. That said, I wasn't totally excited about the dress after putting it on. It fit ok- maybe even a little on the small side, but I'm certain the 10 would have been too big. Mostly, I did not like how the top of the front looked and found myself adjusting the dress all night so the seams lined up. I think the dress would be better suited for someone with a long waist- a feature I do not have. There is no support at the top and you cannot wear a bra with the dress because of the open back. I tried a nu-bra and felt the dress just looked better going without. I have larger chest and really needed the support. I won't be renting this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
October 20, 2014
Perfect date dress
Runs small but a perfect date look
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 20, 2014
Little black head turner
I wore this dress to a wedding. Received compliments all night and felt super confident. Dress was true to size and I did not wear a bra. Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 3, 2014
The fit and fun, flirty style!
This dress was perfect! It was a little tough to get on, but once it was on, it fit like a glove. The dress hit right at the knee, which I think is the perfect length, given the back. I would definitely recommend this dress as a non-traditional LBD! Wish I could buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 20, 2014
So fun!
I loved this dress-- the back was a little more open than I would usually go for, but it's fairly conservative from the front, so it's a good balance.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 23, 2014
Perfect for a party or date. Can be dressed up or dressed down a bit for simply a nicer dinner.
Fit perfectly! I received so many compliments on it and I felt so sexy with the open back. You need the nubra in order to wear any sort of bra with this. The fabric is thick enough that you don't feel like your stomach or butt are overexposed, even though it's a clingy dress. And the long sleeves and thicker fabric made it perfect for an event in November. I would imagine you would be very warm wearing it at the height of the summer. I will definitely order this dress again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2014
Great going out dress for my birthday weekend!
I got a ton of compliments on this dress! It is made very well and hugs in all the right places. I was nervous about not being able to wear a bra with the dress because I'm usually not comfortable with that, but the dress was tight enough and wasn't a problem at all. I would definitely rent this again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2014
Wore this for my 21st birthday! I felt totally fabulous. Sleeves were perfect for fall in upstate NY
Fit like a glove. Sleeves added some extra fabric so I didn't freeze when I was out at night but didn't look overly modest or matronly in the slightest! Wore a silver necklace and black booties.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 4, 2014
LBD with a twist!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party and loved the comfort and fit. The dress provided enough coverage and warmth on a chilly October evening, but the cut out made it different and fun. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
December 11, 2014
Great dress with an even better back!
I usually wear an 8, and this fit me perfectly. The material is a little thicker, nice for cold nights, but has stretch to it. Like a lot of other girls said, it hugs you in all the right places. I wore a regular bra, with the straps tucked so they weren't visible. Just remember that you should bring a sweater or something if it's cold. I didn't and I was freezing when I stepped outside (because of the open back). This dress wasn't my first choice, but it worked out great. Awesome dress, definitely worth the rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2015
Stunning twist in a LBD! Dare to bare & be sexy!
Little loose in the waist but otherwise fit very well. My only complaint was length - although I am only 5'2 - & he lining of the dress hung lower than the thicker material but I fixed it with double sided tape. The back and side cutouts were amazing and very, very sexy. Showed off my tattoo perfectly! Loved the dress and would definitely recommend. Since the front is so basic you have a TON of ways to style this!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
January 19, 2015
I wanted to love this dress, but the fit was off.
I love the design of this dress, but the fit is tough. It is cut very straight through the hips and is a little difficult to dance/move around in. The boatneck was wide on me and kept falling off my shoulders, but the sleeves were tight in the arms. On the plus side, the material is thick and comfortable. it was perfect for a winter event. I just wish it had fit me better because I did not feel confident in it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 28, 2015
Id wear it again
Cute dress, sophisticated in the front and sexy in the back. I received lots of compliments on it, I'd normally get a size 0 and 2, but reading the reviews I went for a 2 and 4. I wore the 2. My only complaint, it's a little tighter in the arms and looser on your shoulder area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 22, 2015
This dress is perfect for our bachelorette night on the town in Nashville!
I'm definitely hippy, with a extra loving in my stomach. This dress concealed everything & more. Super conmfortable & flattering, and the boat neck really flatters a nice collarbone. It's backless, so super sexy, but must be worn without a bra. Since it's so tight and flattering, I didn't even need one! Couldn't recommend this MORE and wish I owned it!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
May 21, 2015
I felt great in this dress!
An 8 was slightly too big, I really wish they carried a 6 in this dress. Next time I might even try for a 4 though I can tell it runs small. But the back is stunning, and the overall fit is very flattering.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 24, 2015
Rented this dress for a last minute trip to Vegas.
I did not expect this dress to look as good as it did! Perfect sexy LBD. I felt not naked but still super sexy. I even ended up running into an ex and couldn't be more tickled pink at the reaction. I would totally purchase this dress. It was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2015
Sexy!
Amazinggg dress, unlike any other. Fit was a little weird with the back being so open and there were seams running all across the body of the dress. Material was heavier than o expected, but luckily it was a cool night. Definitely size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2015
Lots of Insta compliments!
I actually wore this dress to a wedding, reunion, and then drinks with friends in the same night. It worked well throughout the night and really stood out! I'm on the short side and it was the perfect length for a fall night with boots! It's backless so I didn't wear a bra and it worked great because of the material.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 23, 2015
Great trendy, open back dress. Looks conservative from the front yet very sexy from the back.
Great dress for any party or a night out on the town. Loved the fit and the style. Can't go wrong. Runs true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2016
PERFECTION.
I rented this for a holiday party and couldn't have asked for a better option. The cut-outs were GREAT-- not too revealing, but added a nice little punch to the dress. I loved the long sleeves for the cold. The dress is definitely form fitting, but a pair of spanx would fit fine underneath if you felt like you needed them. I went without, but think it would be fine with them as well. It is a GREAT dress! Hated sending it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
January 2, 2016
Awesome dress
It fit like a glove and arrived in great condition
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 17, 2016
Sexy yet sophisticated date night dress
I loved this dress and am tempted to buy it. It's a true size 0. It's thick enough that even though most bras won't fit under the straps the material hides what it should hide.
See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×