Halston Heritage

Cut It Out Dress

$35 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

200 reviews

Fit
Small 64
True to Size 134
Large 0
Photos 112
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 5, 2013

Couldn't get it on :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
dress seemed to run very small... I am a solid 4, about 98% of the time, and couldn't even get this dress on!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Halston FTW

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was an awesome dress! I wore it to a concert and the effect was simply stunning!
hayley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 22, 2013

Stunning!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Gorgeous dress, hugging in all the right places - this picture does not do it justice.
nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 2, 2013

Gorgeous. Flattering. Sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was amazing. Wish I could buy it. The cut, material, and fit is so flattering and sexy! Perfect for weddings, anniversaries, dates, parties. or anything really.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Wore this for a night out with some friends and was SUPER happy with this choice!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Love this dress! Super flattering and got a ton of compliments. The fabric is thick/tight enough that I decided not to wear a bra. Could not have been more comfortable -- wish I could keep it!
Courtney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 8, 2013

This was the first dress I rented from RTR and I loved it! The cut out mad the dress memorable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit great. Very figure flattering, but still made it easy to wear a regular bra.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 8, 2013

Perfect alternative LBD. Supportive and Stretchy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Even though I pit "true to size" I feel like this dress (with the thick yet stretchy material) calls for going up a size. Sometimes I wear a size 4 and sometimes I wear a size 6. This dress in a 6 fit perfectly without being too tight or too baggy. I was able to move and I did not have to wear a bra.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

Simple, Classy, and Sexy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress!! Fit true to size, ordered a 4 and 6 and wore the 6 only because the dress does not have much room to stretch. The sexy subtle cut out made it totally appropriate for my fiances law school cocktail party!! Got compliments all night!!
Ari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 27, 2013

Love this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got a lot of compliments!
Caryl Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

Loved it so much I rented it twice

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
What a great dress! I originally rented this dress for a date with my husband--I loved that it had a hit of sex appeal with the cutouts, but wasn't trying too hard. The hemline and sleeve length made it perfect for chillier weather. The dress was so great I rented it again a few months later for a bachelorette party! The dress runs true to size, but you may want to order a size larger for your backup just in case.
Bethany
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

I rented a size 8 and it couldn't get the dress over my thighs. I am not fat. This runs too small!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I would not ever rent this dress again. I rented a size 8 and a 10 as a backup size and neither one fit at all. It was very disappointing. The material of this dress isn't stretchy or comfortable at all.
Taryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 26, 2013

Flattering for a date!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Stretchy material that was a little bit thicker, hid all the things that needed hiding. Not as much of a "wow" factor as I maybe would have liked.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

Sexy but too snug dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I have rented a few other Halston Heritage dresses from RTR without issue but this dress was too snug and had to be returned. The open back was too tight, making me look like I had a chubby back (and I don't think I do!). It was an awesome dress, the quality and length were great, and I wish I could have worn it on my trip to Vegas. Don't make the same mistake I did and order a back up size in one larger than your normal size!
Holls
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 1, 2013

Very sexy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The back is to die for! It's also a very body con dress and is on the tight side.... so plan accordingly!
TLC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
May 7, 2013

sexy sexy sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
gorgeous , well-made dress! nice, thick material for a colder night. the cutouts are really sexy! make sure you're confident with highlighting your waist! length was nice for me- 5'1", fell a bit above the knee, but the back was so revealing that the length was a nice balance. easy to accessorize with.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 22, 2013

I wore this for my Bach Bash at The W in DC and it was perfect. I felt classy and sexy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am a pear shape so I definitely needed the 2 for the bottom half. Plus because of the cut outs you can get away with it being too tight otherwise it will just look well...not right. So for a second size I would definitely recommend sizing up.
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

Lots of compliments on the dress but my bra was popping out the whole time

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material is thick and holds its shape well.
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 14, 2013

Sadly didn't fit -- too small :(

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Tried to rent this dress for my college reunion, but sadly it was too small. I am typically a size 4/6 and both sizes were too small :( Wish it had worked b/c it is such a cute style. Def. order up a size!
Abigail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 29, 2013

Great party dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 2. But after reading the reviews, I ordered a 4 (this was my second $25 dress, so I only got one size). The material is very thick. I'm glad I had the 4. I probably could have worn a smaller size, but because the material is stretchy, the 4 fit great. It's better to have the bigger size. If you squeeze into this dress, you run the risk of having some skin bulging out of the cut-outs!
Shay
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 18, 2013

The dresses showed up on a hanger, in a garment bag and came with free samples. I loved the samples.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The size 2 fit perfect everywhere except for the arms.If the dress had been sleeveless there wouldn't have been any issue, but I have muscular arms and the size 2s sleeves were tight. The 4 was noticeably looser all over but did not look bad. I ended up wearing the 4 because of the way the sleeves fit.
SouthernCharm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

STUNNING

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a party and it is a SHOWSTOPPER!!!!! I felt like a top model in the dress. I have rented many dresses from RTR but this is by far my favorite. I was afraid that the cutouts were going to be too much but they show just the right amount of skin!!! Excellent choice for a party.
Jeanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 4, 2013

Sexy, classy, LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Perfectly form fitting, revealing enough skin, but with such a conservative top, this dress is perfectly sexy,classy, and flattering. I wore this dress for a Valentine's Day dinner with my boyfriend, and 8 months later he still mentions it.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 8, 2013

Looked great with my date!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The cut out was really flattering, would probably give nice curves to everyone.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

This dress is definitely one that will get a second look! I love how it is tastefully sexy.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress is extremely fitted. Generally a size zero is big on me, but this is the first dress that truly fit me. My boyfriend was very appreciative. I am generally very modest and prefer to wear less body hugging clothes, so I rented this dress for him. He loved it and wanted me to wear it again. He was disappointed when he realized it was only rented.
tara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 22, 2013

didn't wear it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a back up dress I had ordered and tried on. I typically wear between a 4-6 depending on the dress. The top portion of the dress was a bit snug. Had the type of sleeves and top you really have to pull up onto your shoulders. The fabric was great. Good stretch and a thick enough fabric to smooth out any lines. But for me, (5'4") the bottom of the skirt was wayyy longer that I expected. I think it might even have been over my knees. So I had trouble figuring out where to allow the skirt to sit on my hips / where the opening should sit on my back. In the end I didn't wear it. Just wasn't what I expected from the photo. If i had ordered the six, maybe the sleeves/shoulders would have fit better, but the bottom would have been insanely big.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 26, 2013

My boyfriend is used to seeing me in fab dresses.....and still couldn't stop staring

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Everyone needs to rent this dress!!!!! It fit like a glove and made my curves pop! I wore a 4 because the 2 was a little tight in the bust.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 3, 2013

NYE

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to an NYE party and it was perfect! Dressy enough for NYE with an appropriate amount of sex appeal for the winter time.
julianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 5, 2013

amazing silhouette

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress! The material is thicker than I expected, but holds and contours nicely. Unlike some reviewers, my strapless bra showed below the strap of the dress, so I opted for a backless bra. very comfortable to wear, lots of compliments.
Ashley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 5, 2013

loved the dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
it was a perfect fit for my body. I am small but have a bigger top (32 D). It is usually difficult for me to find dresses that fit from top to bottom. this one was perfect
Lauraine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

Awesome dress, but not for a family wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress as a backup dress for my cousin's wedding. They only had a 0, so I got that and hoped it would fit. I am usually either a 2 or 0. When the dress came, the 0 fit, but my bra did show. it says you should wear a strapless bra, but it's probably best with none at all. I loved this dress, and brought it with me to the hotel as an option to wear, but as my sister pointed out, it's probably better for a wedding that doesn't include my grandmother.... I'll definitely rent it again.
Dinogirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 17, 2013

Stunning fitted dress. Makes a statement.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit is snug, which I like but I could not even fit a bra underneath the top. I ended up going braless, which could be an issue for some bigger chested girls. If you have a larger chest the cut on the side is higher up and dangerously close to the bottom of my chest which was compressed and looking for any way out of a tight situation anyways. Thankfully there were no mishaps but I was not moving around that much. If I was dancing and raising my arms up, I am pretty sure I would have given the crowd a free peek at the bottom of my breasts. Still love the dress though.
laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Super comfortable, great for a small waist

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Would wear it again
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

HOT!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is the perfect combination of sexy and classy. The open back, curve-hugging fit, and shorter skirt make it hot enough to go out on the town in, and the higher neckline and three-quarter length sleeves make you still feel like a lady. It's SO easy to pair with accessories and shoes and is super flattering. The material is thick and warm, so you can even wear it out on colder nights. Plus, you won't need to find a bra that works with the open back, because the material will hold and cover on its own. :) I ordered a 0 and 2, normally wearing a 0. I wore the 2, because the dress runs pretty tight and if it isn't the right fit, the opening in the back will make it look like you have back fat! Ha. Amazing dress, I highly recommend it!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 24, 2013

Too Small

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was way off in the rental. I have a 34D chest and I'm 5ft 10. The dress was so tight across the bust and too short for a corporate function in Las Vegas.
Bee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

great accessories help make the dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received size 0 and 2. They both fit exactly like the same size 0. It was snug and sexy. I'm a skinny girl but chub still managed to sneak out through the sides.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Jan 12, 2014

classy with just a hint of sexy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was super comfortable. I'm glad I didn't size up like most of the reviews said to. I have a very small upperbody and the 2 fit well. The bottom half of the dress fit almost exactly the same in the 2 and 4, so if you have a bigger bust you should size up - otherwise it's very true to size.
Margaret
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

The dress is nice, but didn't work for me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented the 6 and the 8 and neither one fit. The material is thick and great quality but it was much too tight on my broad shoulders. If you are an athletic swimmer/crossfit type build, may not be the dress for you.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

Head turning

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Runs true to size. Great for packing as it does not wrinkle. Made for the woman who can stand straight. Walking tall helps keep the back looking great. I'm 53 and felt very comfortable in this dress size 10. 132 ils, 37" chest and 40 inch hips. Very nice. The only hang up is that I did not understand that an 8 day rental means that the dress is due back on the 8th day. Good to know for next time. My mistake. I thought the day it arrived was not day one as it arrived late in the day. 6:00pm
Alexandria
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

Couldn't wear it

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress helped me discover that I have latent back fat. Honest to goodness, if you bend to the side and you see a fold, this dress will give you back fat. For a backless dress--where the focus is on the back--this is clearly a huge issue. RTR came through for me and send another dress overnight. Fantastic customer service. Will rent again.
Kasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

Wow! I wish I could buy this dress!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Unbelievable dress - so comfortable yet hugs you perfectly in the right places. Classy yet sexy. I wore this dress for a charity event and received compliments all night long. Given how cold it is in Chicago, I wore tights under the dress and even though it's form fitting, I had no problem putting tights on underneath nor was I uncomfortable. About the fit - I'm normally a 0 but I ordered the 0 and the 2 based on the size chart. I have a small waist and big hips (so an hourglass) and the 2 fit perfectly. The 0 still fit but was just tighter and slightly shorter. Amazing dress!!!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×