Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Cut It Out Dress

$35 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

203 reviews

Fit
Small 65
True to Size 136
Large 0
Photos 113
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 13, 2012

Everyone loving my dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress fit really well. I wore it for my 27th Birthday in Miami. I had to keep scrunching the sleeves because they came down a lot while I was dancing but that was the only thing that I have a complaint about. This is a classy LBD. I hope the review is helpful.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Apr 9, 2012

Business in the front, party in the back.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
What a great dress! I received so many compliments on this dress. It was comfy, sexy & fun to wear.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 11, 2012

I felt so beautiful at my 25th birthday party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress! It was so flattering, and made me feel great at my birthday party! The front is very classy looking, and the back is so sexy! Perfect mix for a party where there were friends but also alot of family. I would 100% reccommend this dress and RTR in general!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 12, 2012

This dress made me feel unforgettable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my sorority's cocktail party and I absolutely loved it! Because the dress is plain I wore it with bright red heels to make it pop. The cutouts were amazing. I normally stay away from cutouts because I find they can be unflattering, but these were anything but! It hugged my body in all the right places. I received so many compliments I felt like a star!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 5, 2012

Thanks RTR for excellent customer service! Great party dress while staying classy :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress to wear out in Vegas. The length was great - Not too short or long, hit just above the knee. The material was a stretchy, high quality and hugged my body in all the right places. What I liked was that I could still wear a regular bra with it. The strap of the dress lined up with the strap of my bra. While walking though I had to pull my dress down a few times because it kept coming up. Other than that, I loved the fit and I will rent this dress again. Sorry about my pictures!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

Felt great in this one!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I picked this out to wear to go see a ballet, and it was amazing! I felt so sexy, yet appropriate. I'm not big in the chest, so I could've gotten away without a bra, but I felt the overall line of the dress looked better when I wore a NuBra. I was very comfortable, and felt it was a great dress for going out in March. I wouldn't rent this dress for warmer weather, and I definitely wouldn't rent it to go dancing in (ease of movement wouldn't quite be there). But for my event, I loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and received many compliments. The neckline is definitely a little off the shoulder, so you will need to wear a strapless bra. The back covered the back of my bra with no problems. The material is stretchy, so the dress was comfortable to wear all night.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

The dress fit like a glove!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love this dress and got alot of compliments..
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

It was the perfect look for my funky NYC wedding shower!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED this dress. It fit like a glove and was nice and thick, so it held me in and showed off my shape, but wasn't too sexy. My mom described it as 'Tara's mullet dress' - all class in the front but party in the back, and I was also told I was giving modern Breakfast at Tiffany's vibes, which was heaven for me to hear since I (don't we all) worship Ms. Hepburn. Needless to say, I felt amazing all night, and my fiance loved loved loved it. Total success!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Perfect for 30th birthday!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly! Business in the front, party in the back!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 22, 2012

just enough sexy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
this dress is the bomb diggity! honestly, i felt like a supermodel beauty queen. it had just the right amount of sex appeal. the fit was perfect for my body type...straight up top with a booty. i didn't wear a bra and because of the tautness and thickness of the fabric i didn't even think about it for the rest of the night. i got compliments left and right and even dressed it down with a leather jacket for the outdoor ceremony. honestly i did not want to send it back, it is a great dress and i recommend it highly to all the smaller busted ladies out there. flattering, flirty and fierce!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Oct 27, 2012

A LBD for my 21st!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I would suggest going true to size- if not maybe a size up just in case because the cut outs on the sides are right where you might feel uncomfortable. You don't want to look like you're squeezed into this dress. Overall, I really loved it and received complements!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

This dress made me feel like a Hot Diva

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved how it stretched, beware of the skin that will show on either side of the dress
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 20, 2012

Loved it! Perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered a 0 and a 2 based on the other reviews I read and the 2 fit perfectly. The material is thick and holds everything in place nicely. I wore this for my work Holiday Party and received a tons of compliments. I was able to wear a bra and spanx without anything "peeking" out. Great dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Nov 25, 2012

Order a size up!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm usually a size 4 or 6 in dresses, but after reading some of the reviews I opted to go with sizes 6 and 8. Ladies, DO NOT BE ASHAMED TO GO UP A SIZE IN THIS DRESS! It looks better if you aren't squeezed into it, plus, the opening in the back can cut you off and make you look like you have back fat even if you don't. I wore the 8 and felt so comfortable and skinny all night...even though I was wearing two sizes larger than I usually do. Contrary to other reviews, there is a little bit of stretch in the dress. I would definitely wear this dress again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

Fantastic fit!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this cut-out dress to a formal cocktail gala in winter and it was the perfect combination of edge and class. It fit like a glove and I received many compliments on the unique shape and design. Such a fun look and experience! I wish I owned the dress :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

Fun LBD for a party.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a very fun dress to wear, it's classy but surprising! The fabric has stretch, but it's definitely close to the body, I ordered up a size and it fit perfectly. Plus because of the cut of the dress, you can't wear spanx like with other close fitting dresses. I was able to wear a regular black bra, I just pulled my straps out to the side a little.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

Classy with a bit of adventure!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my one year wedding anniversary, and my husband LOVED the dress! I was a little worried that the cut out back would be too big for me ( I have a really slender back) but the dress was perfect! I ordered the 0 & 2 and could have worn either, but I went with the 2 so the dress would be slightly longer. Also the material was thick enough that I didn't need a bra and everything stayed in place.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

I wore this dress for a banquet/my retirement party, and it was classy but sexy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had originally ordered the 6 because the other reviews said the shoulders were tight, but I found the the 4 fit perfectly! If you're tall like me, the skirt hits just below mid-thigh. This is a great dress for a colder night, the fabric is a little bit thicker and still stretchy so that it conforms to your body. I loved the open back. The only con would be that it was a little tight under the armpits, but overall great fit, great look!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

A real stunner coming and going!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The quality of this dress is unsurpassed and I received so many compliments on the amazing cut out back. However, when the other reviews say this dress is tight and there is no give in the fabric, they aren't kidding!!!! I usually wear a 0 or 2 but I squeezed into a 4 with the help of Spanx and hard core cardio for 2 days prior to the event. It was worth it though because it was a night to remember.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 23, 2012

Super fun LDB!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ordered the dress in sizes 2 & 4. Size 2 ended up fitting better. Was a little hesitant to wear with the cutouts/open back but glad my friend encouraged me to wear it! Confidence definitely required to rock this number!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 31, 2012

I had so much fun in this dress! It was classy AND sassy at the same time.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 0 and the 2. This dress is extremely form fitting and I felt much better in the 2. I probably could have worn a bra because of the placement of the strap on the back, but the material was thick enough that I didn't need to. I received many compliments all night long from both men and women.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Perfect NYE LBD!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress put a spin on the usual LBD and was a perfect attention getter for the occasion without being to much. It did run small however.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Jan 18, 2013

HOT DRESS!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I wore this for an anniversary date and it was the perfect combination of sophistication and sexiness in all the right places. This was my first time renting from RTR and they did not disappoint! The dress was not available until Saturday - the same day I needed the dress. Saturday deliveries in NYC can run until 8pm and I needed it sooner than that. I called RTR on Friday and requested an earlier delivery time and the dress showed up Saturday morning! Amazing customer service! I am usually a size 2 but went with the recommendations and ordered the 4 and 6 to be safe. I ended up wearing the 4, the 6 was way too big. The 4 had a little bagginess in the skirt area but the top half fit well. I think I could have gotten away with a 2 but there is so much stretch to the dress that it conforms to your body, so the one size difference doesn't matter much. The material is heavy - perfect for a winter occasion. I wore a bra with straps and just pushed the straps to the side a bit and everything stayed in place. I loved wearing this dress and my boyfriend loved it too!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

Great Wedding Rental!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a perfect dress for a winter wedding! The dress was a nice, thick material and very flattering. It fit snug, but I was still able to dance and move around easily. I wore spanx and sicky bra with it, but could have gone without.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

Such a fun dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. It was super tight in the sleeves, but fit well! It was the perfect length for me as well, not too short which can be an issue. The material was really thick but was stretchier than expected.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Amazing dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is amazing. I wore this to my medical school formal, and I could not have been happier with the experience. I ordered both a 2 and a 4; both fit well, but the 4 allowed a little more arm movement, so I went with the larger size. The material is thick, so I didn't need to wear a bra. I would definitely rent this dress again!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

I loved this dress! It was stretchy but form fitting. Definitely recommend sticky boobs!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
no cons really. I enjoyed the experience! :D
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Great Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit like a glove. I wore it for my bachlorette party and I got lots of compliments. The top was tight enough so I did not need to worry about a bra.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Mar 8, 2013

This dress hugged my curves in all the right places!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress made me feel like I belonged on the runway. I am a sucker for dramatic backs on beautiful dresses. I loved this dress and will probably end up purchasing it! I got compliments all night long. And it's the right mix of sophisticated and sexy - works for a formal dinner or a sexy date night!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Love this dress, classy and sexy.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a 2,4 but I think a 4 would have been to big.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Looked beautiful. Got great compliments all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented a size 2 and 4 based on everyone's comments. The size 2 fit better on top but was too tight on the bottom so I ended up wearing the size 4 dress. It was a bit loose on my arms but still fit very nicely and the bottom fit perfectly. I wore it to my birthday party and got compliments all night long.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 11, 2013

I felt fantastic in the dress, and people I hadn't seen in a while were very impressed

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits great - the material is thick enough that it doesn't feel clingy or revealing, but is still extremely figure flattering and I felt very confident in it. Honestly, I can't think of any negatives, I wish I owned the dress! Felt very sexy, grown up, and classic at the same time. I dressed it up for a black tie event by having my hair done, etc. but it could totally be appropriate for something more casual, too. I read some of other reviews that said the arms were tight, but I have athletic arms and was still comfortable. The best part was not having to wear a bra!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 4, 2013

chic and sexy perfect dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fits you like a glove . It's looks so pretty coming and going . You don't need to wear a bra with this as the material is thick enough or wear a strapless bra . I cant think of any cons about this dress . I enjoyed wearing it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 7, 2013

Great Dress for my First Atlantic City experience

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is very class and sexy at the same time the open back is such a sexy part of the dress but it was not extremely short and it was very conservative in the front I felt awesome in this dress and would def rent it again
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
May 29, 2013

Classy, with a bit of intrigue

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Since RTR had a Memorial Day promo, I got this dress for a Friday night date: dinner and "Sleep No More" in NYC. I loved that the dress is quite classy, with a bit of intrigue. The cutouts are just right -- I could wear a regular black bra with it (would have been even better with tape). I am on the curvier side of XS/0 and went up a size, but then couldn't go braless. This dress will not look good if it looks too tight! It was really fun to wear with a mask, but it does ride up a bit running up and down stairs. A dress to make a night just a little more fun.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 31, 2013

YES!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Comfy. Cute. and fit like a glove!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Jun 11, 2013

Perfect dress for a bachelorette! Felt super sexy without showing too much skin!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
What I really loved about this dress is how easy it is to wear! There was no adjusting or tugging all night - it just fits! I think everyone needs to rent this dress at least once!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 19, 2013

I absolutely loved this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my sisters 40th birthday party. It was perfect for the occasion. This dress fit perfectly and I felt amazing in it. The fabric was unexpectedly thick so I didn't need to wear a bra which made the dress even more comfortable. I received so many compliments about how I looked in the dress and how cute it was. I would highly recommend this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 17, 2013

Got lots of looks from men and glares from their ladies! THIS DRESS IS SEXY! Wore it in NYC.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I usually wear a size 8 very comfortably....never skin tight so maybe it's time for me to move down to a size 6...but this was my FIRST size 6 and it fit like a glove as you can see!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×