Cut It Out Dress

$70 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
217 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(140)
Small
(70)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
February 23, 2012
understated sexy!
followed other reviewers' advice and went up a size, and am thankful i did bc the fit was perfect. i wore this dress for valentine's day w/black tights and leopard booties. my boyfriend loved the whole look! i'll definitely be renting this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 13, 2012
Everyone loving my dress!
This dress fit really well. I wore it for my 27th Birthday in Miami. I had to keep scrunching the sleeves because they came down a lot while I was dancing but that was the only thing that I have a complaint about. This is a classy LBD. I hope the review is helpful.
cynthiaMay 8, 2012
Can you wear a bra with this dress?
RTRMay 9, 2012
Hi Cynthia, you can not wear a standard bra with this dress due to the cut outs. However, you can wear a NuBra or sticky flower petals!
TDecember 26, 2012
I did wear a regular bra with this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
April 9, 2012
Business in the front, party in the back.
What a great dress! I received so many compliments on this dress. It was comfy, sexy & fun to wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
July 16, 2012
Great dress
This dress is very tight, but in a good way. Surprisingly flattering on my hourglass shape. You can wear a bra with it (strapless; straps would show with the wide neckline) but it was fitted enough that I didn't need to. Wish I could own it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
July 20, 2012
So Sexy!
I loved this dress, my husband did not. I will admit, he's not the most "fashionable" person, but this was meant for his 10 year reunion, and I had another backup dress he liked better, so this one was left at home. I thought at first I wouldn't be able to get it on, but the dress fit amazingly. I think the two triangles up front would need to be dealt with in photos (stand to the side to show more skin or something so it wouldn't look like just a small cutout.) This dress is amazingly thought out how it wraps around in the back, and it was really well fitting. You wouldn't need spanx it's so tight, but it feels good on! Highly recommend for you ladies out there who are really comfortable in your own skin, because this dress is skin tight!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
August 5, 2012
Thanks RTR for excellent customer service! Great party dress while staying classy :)
I rented this dress to wear out in Vegas. The length was great - Not too short or long, hit just above the knee. The material was a stretchy, high quality and hugged my body in all the right places. What I liked was that I could still wear a regular bra with it. The strap of the dress lined up with the strap of my bra. While walking though I had to pull my dress down a few times because it kept coming up. Other than that, I loved the fit and I will rent this dress again. Sorry about my pictures!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
August 11, 2012
Felt great in this one!
I picked this out to wear to go see a ballet, and it was amazing! I felt so sexy, yet appropriate. I'm not big in the chest, so I could've gotten away without a bra, but I felt the overall line of the dress looked better when I wore a NuBra. I was very comfortable, and felt it was a great dress for going out in March. I wouldn't rent this dress for warmer weather, and I definitely wouldn't rent it to go dancing in (ease of movement wouldn't quite be there). But for my event, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 16, 2012
Very sexy, just not for me!
I rented this for my bachelorette party, but I'm very big-chested so it looked a little funny on me. I would have loved to wear it, but I think it would look better on someone with a smaller chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 22, 2012
So many compliments
It was a bit snug, but overall the dress was perfect. The dress was for my "law school prom." I felt super sexy but still classy and elegant all night -- a total win/win in my book!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 24, 2012
Beautiful!
It's an amazing dress! I wore it for my High School reunion and I got many compliments. The cut outs on the waist make you look skinny. I loved this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2013
AMAZING! Classic but edgy.
I usually wear a 2 or 4. This dress has a thick, stretchy material and I ended up wearing the 4. Would totally rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 10, 2013
Such a fun dress
I loved this dress. It was super tight in the sleeves, but fit well! It was the perfect length for me as well, not too short which can be an issue. The material was really thick but was stretchier than expected.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 11, 2013
Amazing dress!!
This dress is amazing. I wore this to my medical school formal, and I could not have been happier with the experience. I ordered both a 2 and a 4; both fit well, but the 4 allowed a little more arm movement, so I went with the larger size. The material is thick, so I didn't need to wear a bra. I would definitely rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 18, 2013
I loved this dress! It was stretchy but form fitting. Definitely recommend sticky boobs!
no cons really. I enjoyed the experience! :D
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2013
Gorgeous. Flattering. Sexy
This dress was amazing. Wish I could buy it. The cut, material, and fit is so flattering and sexy! Perfect for weddings, anniversaries, dates, parties. or anything really.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 5, 2013
Wore this for a night out with some friends and was SUPER happy with this choice!
Love this dress! Super flattering and got a ton of compliments. The fabric is thick/tight enough that I decided not to wear a bra. Could not have been more comfortable -- wish I could keep it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 8, 2013
Perfect alternative LBD. Supportive and Stretchy!
Even though I pit "true to size" I feel like this dress (with the thick yet stretchy material) calls for going up a size. Sometimes I wear a size 4 and sometimes I wear a size 6. This dress in a 6 fit perfectly without being too tight or too baggy. I was able to move and I did not have to wear a bra.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 15, 2013
Simple, Classy, and Sexy!
Great dress!! Fit true to size, ordered a 4 and 6 and wore the 6 only because the dress does not have much room to stretch. The sexy subtle cut out made it totally appropriate for my fiances law school cocktail party!! Got compliments all night!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Love this dress!
Got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2013
Loved it so much I rented it twice
What a great dress! I originally rented this dress for a date with my husband--I loved that it had a hit of sex appeal with the cutouts, but wasn't trying too hard. The hemline and sleeve length made it perfect for chillier weather. The dress was so great I rented it again a few months later for a bachelorette party! The dress runs true to size, but you may want to order a size larger for your backup just in case.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
April 8, 2013
I rented a size 8 and it couldn't get the dress over my thighs. I am not fat. This runs too small!
I would not ever rent this dress again. I rented a size 8 and a 10 as a backup size and neither one fit at all. It was very disappointing. The material of this dress isn't stretchy or comfortable at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2013
I felt fantastic in the dress, and people I hadn't seen in a while were very impressed
The dress fits great - the material is thick enough that it doesn't feel clingy or revealing, but is still extremely figure flattering and I felt very confident in it. Honestly, I can't think of any negatives, I wish I owned the dress! Felt very sexy, grown up, and classic at the same time. I dressed it up for a black tie event by having my hair done, etc. but it could totally be appropriate for something more casual, too. I read some of other reviews that said the arms were tight, but I have athletic arms and was still comfortable. The best part was not having to wear a bra!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
April 26, 2013
Flattering for a date!
Stretchy material that was a little bit thicker, hid all the things that needed hiding. Not as much of a "wow" factor as I maybe would have liked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2013
Very sexy
The back is to die for! It's also a very body con dress and is on the tight side.... so plan accordingly!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 4, 2013
chic and sexy perfect dress
The dress fits you like a glove . It's looks so pretty coming and going . You don't need to wear a bra with this as the material is thick enough or wear a strapless bra . I cant think of any cons about this dress . I enjoyed wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 7, 2013
Great Dress for my First Atlantic City experience
This dress is very class and sexy at the same time the open back is such a sexy part of the dress but it was not extremely short and it was very conservative in the front I felt awesome in this dress and would def rent it again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 29, 2013
Classy, with a bit of intrigue
Since RTR had a Memorial Day promo, I got this dress for a Friday night date: dinner and "Sleep No More" in NYC. I loved that the dress is quite classy, with a bit of intrigue. The cutouts are just right -- I could wear a regular black bra with it (would have been even better with tape). I am on the curvier side of XS/0 and went up a size, but then couldn't go braless. This dress will not look good if it looks too tight! It was really fun to wear with a mask, but it does ride up a bit running up and down stairs. A dress to make a night just a little more fun.
LeahNovember 6, 2013
Sleep No More is so much fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 31, 2013
YES!
Comfy. Cute. and fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
June 11, 2013
Perfect dress for a bachelorette! Felt super sexy without showing too much skin!!
What I really loved about this dress is how easy it is to wear! There was no adjusting or tugging all night - it just fits! I think everyone needs to rent this dress at least once!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
June 19, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress
I wore this dress for my sisters 40th birthday party. It was perfect for the occasion. This dress fit perfectly and I felt amazing in it. The fabric was unexpectedly thick so I didn't need to wear a bra which made the dress even more comfortable. I received so many compliments about how I looked in the dress and how cute it was. I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 14, 2013
Sadly didn't fit -- too small :(
Tried to rent this dress for my college reunion, but sadly it was too small. I am typically a size 4/6 and both sizes were too small :( Wish it had worked b/c it is such a cute style. Def. order up a size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2013
Great party dress!
I usually wear a 2. But after reading the reviews, I ordered a 4 (this was my second $25 dress, so I only got one size). The material is very thick. I'm glad I had the 4. I probably could have worn a smaller size, but because the material is stretchy, the 4 fit great. It's better to have the bigger size. If you squeeze into this dress, you run the risk of having some skin bulging out of the cut-outs!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2013
So wonderful, flattering, and beautiful!!!!
This is the perfect dress, you will love it. You can wear a normal bra but I had to pin the strap in the back. I didn't end up wearing it because my event got cancelled, but I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2013
The dresses showed up on a hanger, in a garment bag and came with free samples. I loved the samples.
The size 2 fit perfect everywhere except for the arms.If the dress had been sleeveless there wouldn't have been any issue, but I have muscular arms and the size 2s sleeves were tight. The 4 was noticeably looser all over but did not look bad. I ended up wearing the 4 because of the way the sleeves fit.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
September 18, 2013
I loved it, it was the perfect dress for this formal/business occasion.
The fit was slightly small Im glad I got an 8, because I believe the 6 would have been to small. I usually wear between an 8 and a 6. Great Length. I am 5'7 and it came a little above my knees. I loved it!! Very Cute and Trendy!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 23, 2013
Super flattering dress, sucks you in in all the right places!
LOVED this dress, even tried to purchase it from RTR so I didn't have to return it! I'm usually a 6 but only the size 4 was available, so I gave it a shot. The dress is definitely tight, like a bandage dress, so if you're between sizes - size down!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 7, 2013
AMAZING customer service
The dress is beautiful! Thick material perfect for a night out in the fall/winter. The back is very open, so I was unable to wear a bra. The sides ride up a little bit while walking and there's a little bit of bunching on the side where the zipper is. My husband and friends loved the dress - thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2013
Looked great with my date!
The cut out was really flattering, would probably give nice curves to everyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 14, 2013
This isn't your mama's LBD ...
If you're a fan of LBD's, take note: This dress is PERFECT!!! I wore it to my cousin's wedding and felt incredible AND comfortable in it - which can be a hard balance to strike with evening wear. It's extremely classy and elegant from the front, yet super, super sexy from behind. I normally wear a size 6 - so I ordered that AND the 8. I ended up wearing the 8, so when you order your (free) second size, go one step up - just in case. The length is perfect, fabric is AMAZING (hugs you in ALL the right places), and is a real crowd pleaser :) I got tons of compliments all night long and felt like a million bucks! Thanks RTR for making my first experience so memorable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2013
My boyfriend is used to seeing me in fab dresses.....and still couldn't stop staring
Everyone needs to rent this dress!!!!! It fit like a glove and made my curves pop! I wore a 4 because the 2 was a little tight in the bust.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×