Halston Heritage

Cut It Out Dress

$70 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
218 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(141)
Small
(70)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
June 11, 2014
Loved it! :-)

I received a lot of compliments. I loved the opening on the sides, it is what makes the dress special and not just a plain black dress. I order size 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the size 0. The sleeves run small and was the same fit for both sizes. I would definitely recommend.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 5, 2014
Classy and Spicy

This dress was a stunner and made me feel "on" for my sister's bachelorette party. It does run small, so I definitely suggest sizing up. Though this dress has been around for a few seasons, the cut out with the focus on the back is still on-trend for 2014. The fabric was thick and pulled me in, no spanx needed. The length was good -- not too short to be cheesy or tacky. Wore this out dancing and had a lot of fun -- was able to move freely, though it did get hot with the arm length and thicker fabric

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2014
Didn't fit

I'm usually a size zero in everything I wear. Things tend to fit me well. Unfortunately, this dress was not one of them. I ordered a size 0 and a size 2. Both were entirely too small. I've gotten really fit over the last year and I was hoping to show a little skin at my 10 year high school reunion. This dress was so tight that the bit of skin looked downright trashy. I was very disappointed. I've rented from this site many times before, this is the first time a dress didn't work out for me. Fortunately, the team at RTR made the return easy and I wore a dress I already owned.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
September 6, 2014
Was the standout of the party

Tight fit. Will need to wear a strapless bra if you don't want to go braless.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 6, 2014
Beautiful dress; many compliments

Great for an hourglass figure, but SERIOUSLY runs a FULL SIZE SMALL. I really wish I had known to order one size larger than what is usually my big-back-up-size. As in, I usually order a 4 and a 6 - I have NEVER worn an 8. However, the 6 fit like a 4, and I wish I had the 8!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 29, 2014
Sexy and sophisticated.

I felt amazing in this dress and it sucked me in all the right places.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2014
Felt AMAZING on my 30th birthday!

The dress certainly runs a bit small. I am usually between a 2 and 4 but read the reviews and ordered a 4 and 6. The 4 fit but was snug in the arms and hips, I was thankful for the backup! The dress did ride up when walking (which caused the opening in the back to ride up also) . I would absolutely rent this dress again!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 6, 2014
Just ok

This was a pretty dress and looked nice on and was completely appropriate for the wedding I attended. The length was perfect and the dress, even with the cutouts and open back, was very much appropriate. That said, I wasn't totally excited about the dress after putting it on. It fit ok- maybe even a little on the small side, but I'm certain the 10 would have been too big. Mostly, I did not like how the top of the front looked and found myself adjusting the dress all night so the seams lined up. I think the dress would be better suited for someone with a long waist- a feature I do not have. There is no support at the top and you cannot wear a bra with the dress because of the open back. I tried a nu-bra and felt the dress just looked better going without. I have larger chest and really needed the support. I won't be renting this dress again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
October 20, 2014
Perfect date dress

Runs small but a perfect date look

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
January 19, 2015
I wanted to love this dress, but the fit was off.

I love the design of this dress, but the fit is tough. It is cut very straight through the hips and is a little difficult to dance/move around in. The boatneck was wide on me and kept falling off my shoulders, but the sleeves were tight in the arms. On the plus side, the material is thick and comfortable. it was perfect for a winter event. I just wish it had fit me better because I did not feel confident in it!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
May 21, 2015
I felt great in this dress!

An 8 was slightly too big, I really wish they carried a 6 in this dress. Next time I might even try for a 4 though I can tell it runs small. But the back is stunning, and the overall fit is very flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
February 3, 2012
This was my first RTR experience and I loved it!

This dress hugs you in all the right places. I love how it looks so sophisticated and simple from the front, and yet so undeniably sexy from the back. I had so many compliments from it! However, it does run a little small, so I ordered the size 0 and 2. The size 2 fits me better as I have more curve even though I'm petite. So if you're thinking of renting it please know your size or order it in two sizes to see which one fits you better to be safe. Overall, this dress is worth it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
Perfect NYE LBD!

The dress put a spin on the usual LBD and was a perfect attention getter for the occasion without being to much. It did run small however.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
January 18, 2013
HOT DRESS!

I wore this for an anniversary date and it was the perfect combination of sophistication and sexiness in all the right places. This was my first time renting from RTR and they did not disappoint! The dress was not available until Saturday - the same day I needed the dress. Saturday deliveries in NYC can run until 8pm and I needed it sooner than that. I called RTR on Friday and requested an earlier delivery time and the dress showed up Saturday morning! Amazing customer service! I am usually a size 2 but went with the recommendations and ordered the 4 and 6 to be safe. I ended up wearing the 4, the 6 was way too big. The 4 had a little bagginess in the skirt area but the top half fit well. I think I could have gotten away with a 2 but there is so much stretch to the dress that it conforms to your body, so the one size difference doesn't matter much. The material is heavy - perfect for a winter occasion. I wore a bra with straps and just pushed the straps to the side a bit and everything stayed in place. I loved wearing this dress and my boyfriend loved it too!

MegJanuary 18, 2013
you're 37?! I can't believe it-- you're gorgeous!
JJanuary 18, 2013
thank you! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 9, 2013
Perfect dress :)

I expected the fabric to be more stretchy but I loved how it fit. Im usually a 0 but the 2 was more comfortable for me!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 27, 2014
Received tons of compliments!

I loved this dress! I was really upset when I had to return it! It fit like a glove in a good way and was very complimenting! I would definitely order this dress again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 109lbs
August 5, 2014
Great for winter party!

I rented the 0 & 2 for a winter 50th bday party. It was so fun to wear bc it was simple and elegant from the front and wow when I walked away. Got lots of compliments. It does run a bit small. Loved wearing this beautiful dress!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2012
Way too tight.

Maybe I was too optimistic, but I had checked the sizing chart and measured myself before getting it in a 4. I could zip it up, but the skirt was super tight (imagine the tightest pencil skirt you've ever worn) and I could barely walk, let alone sit down. The cutouts also looked too skanky to wear to a company party. I ended up not wearing the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 19, 2012
stunning

I rented this as a backup to another dress and wore this when my first option did not work. I wore it to a sorority formal and got compliments all night from guys and girls. It can be dressed up however you want. Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 3, 2012
Runs small

dress is cute but took away from my curvy figure and made me look blocky.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2012
Sexy dress!

Order a size bigger than normal, it's SUPER tight. But looks amazing! The thick tight fabric hides a lot of flaws too.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2013
Couldn't get it on :(

dress seemed to run very small... I am a solid 4, about 98% of the time, and couldn't even get this dress on!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
April 30, 2013
Sexy but too snug dress

I have rented a few other Halston Heritage dresses from RTR without issue but this dress was too snug and had to be returned. The open back was too tight, making me look like I had a chubby back (and I don't think I do!). It was an awesome dress, the quality and length were great, and I wish I could have worn it on my trip to Vegas. Don't make the same mistake I did and order a back up size in one larger than your normal size!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2013
sexy sexy sexy

gorgeous , well-made dress! nice, thick material for a colder night. the cutouts are really sexy! make sure you're confident with highlighting your waist! length was nice for me- 5'1", fell a bit above the knee, but the back was so revealing that the length was a nice balance. easy to accessorize with.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 22, 2013
I wore this for my Bach Bash at The W in DC and it was perfect. I felt classy and sexy

I am a pear shape so I definitely needed the 2 for the bottom half. Plus because of the cut outs you can get away with it being too tight otherwise it will just look well...not right. So for a second size I would definitely recommend sizing up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 4, 2013
Sexy, classy, LBD

Perfectly form fitting, revealing enough skin, but with such a conservative top, this dress is perfectly sexy,classy, and flattering. I wore this dress for a Valentine's Day dinner with my boyfriend, and 8 months later he still mentions it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 16, 2013
This dress is definitely one that will get a second look! I love how it is tastefully sexy.

This dress is extremely fitted. Generally a size zero is big on me, but this is the first dress that truly fit me. My boyfriend was very appreciative. I am generally very modest and prefer to wear less body hugging clothes, so I rented this dress for him. He loved it and wanted me to wear it again. He was disappointed when he realized it was only rented.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2013
didn't wear it

This was a back up dress I had ordered and tried on. I typically wear between a 4-6 depending on the dress. The top portion of the dress was a bit snug. Had the type of sleeves and top you really have to pull up onto your shoulders. The fabric was great. Good stretch and a thick enough fabric to smooth out any lines. But for me, (5'4") the bottom of the skirt was wayyy longer that I expected. I think it might even have been over my knees. So I had trouble figuring out where to allow the skirt to sit on my hips / where the opening should sit on my back. In the end I didn't wear it. Just wasn't what I expected from the photo. If i had ordered the six, maybe the sleeves/shoulders would have fit better, but the bottom would have been insanely big.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 5, 2013
amazing silhouette

Loved this dress! The material is thicker than I expected, but holds and contours nicely. Unlike some reviewers, my strapless bra showed below the strap of the dress, so I opted for a backless bra. very comfortable to wear, lots of compliments.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 7, 2014
The dress is nice, but didn't work for me.

I rented the 6 and the 8 and neither one fit. The material is thick and great quality but it was much too tight on my broad shoulders. If you are an athletic swimmer/crossfit type build, may not be the dress for you.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 26, 2014
Tight, but not too tight

Rented this for my rehearsal dinner. I was afraid it would be too sexy, but was happy with how the dress looked. Definitely runs small so opt for the larger size option!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 11, 2014
Arrived the next day

Runs small the right fit me tight

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
October 19, 2015
Didn't look right on me.

I'm usually a 0, but this was too tight.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 18, 2016
Couldnt wear; too small

Too small overall

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 8, 2016
Couldn't wear it.

Normally I can wear either a 10 or 12 depending on the dress and so I took a chance ordering this in an 8 (it was the only size option available and because of time constraints I had limited options). I couldn't even get the dress on to really gauge anything about the garment. I can say that the material is thick which was nice but it wasn't something that had a whole lot of give...at least to someone trying to put it on that is clearly too big. :-P So if you are thinking of gambling with a smaller size, don't do it with this dress. Had it fit I think it would have been nice, hence the 3 stars.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 24, 2016
This dress was great. But, I did not wear it.

This dress was really pretty. However, I did not wear it. The two sizes I got were too small. Which actually made the cut outs go a little too far to the front. For me at least. But, the customer service was amazing! It was a Saturday wedding. I received the dresses on Friday around 3:00. Noticing they did not fit, I got on the phone right away. RTR phone lines were down so I jumped online. A customer service rep found me a dress within 20 minutes and it showed up on my door step the next morning at 9:00! I live in FL and could not believe how fast it got there. I am forever a RTR customer!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 115lbs
June 20, 2016
Everyone loved the dress and I had a ton of compliments!

The shoulders were uncomfortably tight, I ended up wearing it as an off-the-shoulder dress all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 20, 2011

Pretty + disappointing = pretty disappointing. This is a beautiful dress, but it's too long. And if the occasion requires a long dress, it probably isn't cutout/backless-appropriate.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
November 22, 2011
Stunning!

Ordered this for a perfect size 8 model and she looks insane in it! hugged everything perfectly. the longer length of the hem really makes it sophisticated without being too exposed. Would definitely order again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2011
10 year reunion! GREAT BACK!

Fantastic dress. Couldn't fit much more in it. Fits like a glove. A real head turner. Wore it to my high school reunion and everyone thought it was stunning.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×