Halston Heritage

Classic Jet Halter Gown

$80 to buy
$455 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This iconic gown from Halston Heritage epitomizes disco glamour. Gold accessories are a must!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch fabric accommodates all bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted - thin jersey highlights hips and backside - should be worn with seamless underwear
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'3-5'6''. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch fabric accommodates all bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted - thin jersey highlights hips and backside - should be worn with seamless underwear
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'3-5'6''. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black shiny jersey. Halter neckline with back tie. Gathering at waist. Includes self belt. Front slit. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

77 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 52
Large 18
Photos 33
Whitney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

This dress is perfect and so easy!

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress actually runs a little large but is easy to adjust with the sash. Also, it's actually long enough! I'm 5'7" and wore 4" heels and it was still plenty long. Definitely invest in some dress tape though.
Aubrey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Very fun and easy to work with. Love how everything was all ready for the return.

Size worn: XSR
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am normally a small and wore the xtra small. Glad I got a size down.
Vanilace
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

Fast door to door delivery! Great fit of the dress

Size worn: SL
Rented for: Formal Affair
Nothing is better than simple black dress! I wore size SL for my 5'8 height it was excellent full length with heels. I would say it runs a lil larger but you can easily fit it with long belt and style it however you want. Just loved that dress!
Courtney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

I wore it to a formal event and it was great and so comfortable

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm tall so I went with the long and it was perfect with high heels
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

It's Halston. Enough said.

Size worn: XSL
Rented for: Wedding
Unbelievably comfortable, glamorous and easy to wear. Works well with a sticky backless bra. Runs a little short so if you're above 5'6" and wearing heels definitely opt for the long sizes. Such a fun and classic dress.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

"That dress looks amazing on you. You should wear it everyday!"

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was a bit loose (I'm 5'7" about 137 lbs) but it was fine with a stick on bra and some garment tape. I dressed it up with some jewelry and received great compliments. So glad RTR sent this dress when my original choice was damaged.
Gaila
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Simple sexiness

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is true to size. I am 5'4 and 115lbs- the XS fit perfectly but I ordered the XSL and it was too long even with 4inch heels. I wore the SR. The length was perfect and I did not notice much difference in the overall fit between the XS and S. I loved the feel and flow of this dress. I wish I owned it. I received many compliments from both women and men alike.
RTR Customer
Jun 7, 2014

Stunning dress!!!

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
First experience and I am hooked. The dress was stunning! I ordered a XSL and so glad I did. I am 5'6 and wore 3 inch heels. It was the perfect length on me. Highly recommend this dress. Very comfortable and sexy!
Kristy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

this dress was beautiful! i got so many compliments and It was a great first experience with rtr.

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
the dress fit true to size. i wasn't sure which size i would need between the medium and the small. i ended up wearing the small. one thing to be weary of is that this dress is not undergarment friendly. you can get sticky bras that work well at any convenient store.
Sophia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

I felt classy and comfortable all night!

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my senior prom, and overall was very happy with it! It does run short though, I am almost 5'6 and it was just long enough in flats. Fashion tape is a must, especially if you are planning on dancing in it, i taped it on both of the sides. Overall, it had a very sophisticated feel to it, and I got a lot of compliments! i should also add that this was not the dress I originally ordered, but due to a sizing issue, I had to quickly order a new dress just a few days before my event. I talked to one of the stylists on the phone, and they were extremely helpful in choosing a dress that was both flattering and available! I liked it so much that instead of ordering a different dress for my second prom, I just rented this one again!
Heiky28
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

I have never felt more attractive!

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am really glad I read other reviews and ordered the long because it hit the floor perfectly with my, maybe, 2" heels. The fabric had just the right amount of shine to it and did not hug in all the wrong areas like some dresses in that material would. I literally felt like a million dollars. It was exactly what I was looking for, sexy with a lot of class. I did end up using the double sided tape because I did not wear a bra, lucky for me it worked in this instance with the slight pleating. All in all a fabulous dress, would rent it again in a second.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156 lbs
Dec 31, 2013

I love the packaging.

Size worn: LL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It was the right length. I didn't realize it had a split in the front but it made me love the dress more. It was light and flowy. Overall, I felt amazing in it and it fitted perfectly.
Janey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 30, 2013

I loved this dress mainly because I've gained a little weight. It hid much but I felt sexy!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I noticed some girls wore this dress differently--a little low. The halter needs to be snug around your neck which brings it up to your mid-back. If you wear it low, the girls aren't covered properly and even though your entire back is exposed you miss the most wonderful part. The sash needs to be wrapped around the smallest part of your waist. It beautifully accentuates your waist and properly lays around your hips. It was so forgiving if you have a little weight you're trying to hide. LOVED it!
Andreea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 22, 2013

Walking down the beautiful staircase at the Jefferson Hotel wearing a gorgeous dress.

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
One of the links to hold the sash/belt broke right as I was putting it on. Other than that the dress was beautiful and fit great.
Alicia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Apr 16, 2013

Perfect for my Black Tie event!

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie event and it was perfect! I do agree with the other reviewers it runs short!! I'm 5'5'' and with 2 inch heels it was a few inches off the floor. If I were wearing flats it would have been 1/2 an inch from the ground. I have a small bust, so I had to do some twists with the straps and it fit great. I got compliments all night. The material (jersey) was super comfortable, but shiny enough to look formal. I would def rent this dress again!!
Lyndsie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 8, 2013

This dress is amazing!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I found out that I needed a gown 2 days before my event and it on time and fit like a glove, and was super comfortable to wear. I used fashion tape to hold down the neckline in a place that I found more flattering but other than that everything was perfect! I highly highly highly recommend this dress!
sammy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

The back of this dress is to die for! I felt very sexy while also being super comfortable!

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Im 5.2 so I thought the xs regular would be long enough but with heels it was a little too short so I was happy that I also ordered the xs long it was a perfect fit! I usually wear a zero in dresses.
Megan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 3, 2013

Very comfortable!

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my husband's Military Ball. It was not very forgiving if you have any extra skin (in my case from losing a lot of weight!) and so I wore Spanx underneath. The sash for the SR was too short so I ended up using the sash to the MR dress. The length was a little too short for 2-3" heels but I didn't mind and liked that I didn't have to worry if the bottom was getting dirty. I also wore a NUBra since the dress was backless and it worked great and gave my 36D chest nice looking cleavage!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Jan 25, 2013

Good basic long black dress.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was pretty good for my needs--I needed something long and formal, but comfortable enough to wear for a 7-hour event. The fit was pretty good, though it definitely runs short. I'm only 5'4" and could have used a few more inches on the bottom. I'll agree with other renters that the material feels and looks pretty cheap up close, but it's fine from a distance. The belt is also a little weird, as it bunches in the front.
Shannon
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Making everyone's head turn when I walked in the room!

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was AWESOME!! I wore it to an Army ball with my husband and it was a HIT! It was classy, elegant, and comfortable! The dress feels like a jersey knit but it's shiny. The sash accentuates your waist and the slit in the front adds a unique touch. I got comments all night that the dress was like an old Hollywood/Marilyn Monroe-esque dress. Only con was the length! I'm 5'9 and it was just perfectly on the ground. I wore 2" heels and it was off the ground a touch. I would have preferred it dragged but it really wasn't bad at all. I wouldn't get this dress if you were taller than 5'10.
anne grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 16, 2012

This dress was so comfortable to dance in all night, but still made a great statement!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved wearing this dress to formal, but it was a lot shorter than I expected. I am 5'4 with pretty short legs, and I had to wear flats. Even with flats, the dress still barely grazed the floor. The two panels of fabric were great because you could wrap them any way you liked which was fun. I also made the dress look a little different than the model by twisting the straps before making them into a halter.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 6, 2012

I had just had ACL surgery, so I needed to wear a floor length dress. This Halston was perfect!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little big in the top but overall great for the night.
Caroline
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
Oct 2, 2012

I loved this dress! The fit & material were super comfy, & it was perfect with colorful accessories!

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was really glad that I got 2 sizes, an extra small and a small. Surprisingly, the extra small fit better. I wore it low cut in the front and tied a knot in the back with the sash. Luckily, I wore this two nights in a row, once with red and gold accessories, and another with a almost Tiffany blue and gold. Perfect for lots of things!
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

LOVED this dress, LOVE RTR customer service even more!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is wonderful! I'm tall - 6'0" and was worried it would be too short and awkward but the 4L not only fit perfectly, but I was so comfortable all night. Simple, understated dress that made me feel lovely!
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

This dress was amazing, got tons of compliments. The go to dress for black tie.

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was very flattering, dress is forgiving because its jersey knit. You can't wear a bra with it. Small was big and medium was way too big. It runs big, I am 5'8 and didn't need the long.
Eileen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173 lbs
Jul 26, 2012

compliments such as, " you make pregnancy hot." and my husband beaming with pride telling me how beautiful i looked.

Size worn: LR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
going to weddings pregnant isn't always fun. especially if you have to pony up for a formal maternity dress that you may only wear once. thats when i thought i'd check out rent the runway, and i'm glad i did. not only was i one of the most glam guests but i was 27 weeks pregnant! i felt beautiful and comfortable. the top was a lil big, but i customized it with some double sided tape and twisting of the alter ties. i love the bump friendly section! i love RTR!
Cecily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

I was unfortunately unable to wear this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately I was unable to wear this dress for a formal wedding in CA. The overall fit was very large and I was unable to tie the belt tight enough to keep the dress in place. RTR was great about giving me a credit for the dress.
Hallie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

This dress didn't fit and I had to scramble to find something else to wear.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress did not fit well. Top was oversized and the material was clingy in all the wrong spots. The earrings I rented were pretty but the bottom piece fell off all night long.... overall, not a great experience.
Claudine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

Sad not to have worn it!

Size worn: XSL
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a formal wedding. Unfortunately I was not able to wear this dress because I didn't feel comfortable wearing it. Long story short, I have small hips and decent top; however it was difficult to showcase both. The top and the hips failed to hug my curves appropriately.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

USMC Birthday Ball

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ran a little big. beautiful, comfortable dress but this was my backup dress and I wore my other choice!
mae
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 15
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 98 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Stretchy material so it fits perfect
christie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

different

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i didn't like the dress to but it was definitely versatile enough for me to change it in a way to fit me best ! I enjoyed the night with the flow of the bottom of the dress over all I worked it the best I could
melanie
Age: 41
Apr 2, 2014

fabric was a bit cheap & belt a challenge.it was a nice neckline and I did get compliments on it

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Belt always moved around - not great - fabric kind of cheaper looking in person than expected - still gives off the right appearance of formal glam
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Only 5'4" and the Regular was TOO short!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
FIrst off, I have a thing for Halston Heritage gowns. They are all classic and elegant with a tasteful amount of sexiness. I loved the concept of this dress and would consider renting again but would most definitely rent the tall length as the regular length was far too short for me to wear. I ended up going with the Halston Heritage Forever Mine gown.
andrea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103 lbs
Feb 28, 2014

I was 8 months pregnant and felt glorious!

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress for the growing belly or no belly at all. I would have rented this dress even if I was not pregnant. My bust line at that time was a DD. I twisted the straps twice loosely to give the neckline some much needed definition. If I wanted a more retro look, I would have used my vintage broaches at the bust line. If you are unsure about how your growing belly is going to show, rent this dress. The style is comfortable and elegant. Supposedly, I didn't look pregnant from the back, which apparently is a good thing. Perhaps this dress is the pregnancy mullet... pregnancy in the front, pre-baby skinny in the back.
Janice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

Cute!!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Cute dress but it felt very casual to me. I wish the fabric was a little better.
heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

Great simple dress! Very comfortable!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a great dress however it did run a little large. I am tall and was planning wearing heels so I ordered the 8L and 6L. The dress was way too long, even with 4 inch heels. The fit was a little large too so I was going to wear the 6 but the elastic band was broken so I had to wear the 8 but it did not look bad. Customer service was great and gave me discounts off my next rental to apologize for the state of the size 6 dress.
Faye
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 21, 2014

Very flattering dress! Perfect for the fall black tie wedding we attending.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress ran very short- which was great for me at 5'3''! However, it could pose a problem for others, I am sure!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

received many compliments!

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
true to size except runs a little short.
JJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 18, 2013

Nice dress but runs large

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This runs really big. I wore the medium because the small seemed even more stretched out. But there was a bit too much extra material in the bust area. It worked out okay though. The length was good - definitely go with the long if you are tall. The front has a slit in the middle - which I didn't notice in the picture. But it was really flattering. As other mentioned, the material is really thin. But I don't think it looked cheap. RTR was great as always and my dress even came a day early.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×