Classic Jet Halter Gown

$80 to buy
$455 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This iconic gown from Halston Heritage epitomizes disco glamour. Gold accessories are a must!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch fabric accommodates all bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted - thin jersey highlights hips and backside - should be worn with seamless underwear
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'3-5'6''. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch fabric accommodates all bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted - thin jersey highlights hips and backside - should be worn with seamless underwear
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'3-5'6''. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black shiny jersey. Halter neckline with back tie. Gathering at waist. Includes self belt. Front slit. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
77 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(52)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 3, 2013
Very comfortable!
I rented this dress for my husband's Military Ball. It was not very forgiving if you have any extra skin (in my case from losing a lot of weight!) and so I wore Spanx underneath. The sash for the SR was too short so I ended up using the sash to the MR dress. The length was a little too short for 2-3" heels but I didn't mind and liked that I didn't have to worry if the bottom was getting dirty. I also wore a NUBra since the dress was backless and it worked great and gave my 36D chest nice looking cleavage!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
January 25, 2013
Good basic long black dress.
This dress was pretty good for my needs--I needed something long and formal, but comfortable enough to wear for a 7-hour event. The fit was pretty good, though it definitely runs short. I'm only 5'4" and could have used a few more inches on the bottom. I'll agree with other renters that the material feels and looks pretty cheap up close, but it's fine from a distance. The belt is also a little weird, as it bunches in the front.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 11, 2012
Making everyone's head turn when I walked in the room!
This dress was AWESOME!! I wore it to an Army ball with my husband and it was a HIT! It was classy, elegant, and comfortable! The dress feels like a jersey knit but it's shiny. The sash accentuates your waist and the slit in the front adds a unique touch. I got comments all night that the dress was like an old Hollywood/Marilyn Monroe-esque dress. Only con was the length! I'm 5'9 and it was just perfectly on the ground. I wore 2" heels and it was off the ground a touch. I would have preferred it dragged but it really wasn't bad at all. I wouldn't get this dress if you were taller than 5'10.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 3, 2012
A bit disappointed
Thought this dress was a classic, can't fail basic formal gown. The material, however, feels like that of a cheap Halloween costume and even at 5'2 I found the dress to be a bit short when worn with heels. It also has a seam all the way up the middle that was sort of awkward, and the bust area has a LOT of fabric (granted, I'm a 32B). Overall I wouldn't recommend is dress...there are so many better options on this site!
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
November 13, 2012
Great dress that can be worn for multiple events!
Ran true to size in my opinion, but if you're on the fence go with a smaller size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 18, 2012
formal wedding
i liked this dress a lot, but i'm a bit large chested and think it would look better on a smaller chested woman, less flashy. very comfortable though and easy to wear. looks great with hair up and large drop earrings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
October 16, 2012
This dress was so comfortable to dance in all night, but still made a great statement!
Loved wearing this dress to formal, but it was a lot shorter than I expected. I am 5'4 with pretty short legs, and I had to wear flats. Even with flats, the dress still barely grazed the floor. The two panels of fabric were great because you could wrap them any way you liked which was fun. I also made the dress look a little different than the model by twisting the straps before making them into a halter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 6, 2012
I had just had ACL surgery, so I needed to wear a floor length dress. This Halston was perfect!
A little big in the top but overall great for the night.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2012
I loved this dress! The fit & material were super comfy, & it was perfect with colorful accessories!
I was really glad that I got 2 sizes, an extra small and a small. Surprisingly, the extra small fit better. I wore it low cut in the front and tied a knot in the back with the sash. Luckily, I wore this two nights in a row, once with red and gold accessories, and another with a almost Tiffany blue and gold. Perfect for lots of things!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 24, 2012
Stunning.
I loved wearing this dress! It is perfect classic elegance.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 19, 2012
LOVED this dress, LOVE RTR customer service even more!
Dress is wonderful! I'm tall - 6'0" and was worried it would be too short and awkward but the 4L not only fit perfectly, but I was so comfortable all night. Simple, understated dress that made me feel lovely!
RTR CustomerJanuary 14, 2014
what height heels did you wear? and with those heels, did the dress touch the ground?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress was amazing, got tons of compliments. The go to dress for black tie.
Fit was very flattering, dress is forgiving because its jersey knit. You can't wear a bra with it. Small was big and medium was way too big. It runs big, I am 5'8 and didn't need the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Great overall experience!
Not only was everything delivered on time and I loved the options, but the customer service was flawless! I am a little type A and asked a few questions about fit, length, style, etc, and the online chat helpers were amazing! RTR is amazing and this dress was gorgeous-- make sure you ask questions and take length into consideration as it was a little long depending on what heels you wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2012
Loved this dress.
Easy to wear, simple but still trendy. Extremely comfortable.
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
July 26, 2012
compliments such as, " you make pregnancy hot." and my husband beaming with pride telling me how beautiful i looked.
going to weddings pregnant isn't always fun. especially if you have to pony up for a formal maternity dress that you may only wear once. thats when i thought i'd check out rent the runway, and i'm glad i did. not only was i one of the most glam guests but i was 27 weeks pregnant! i felt beautiful and comfortable. the top was a lil big, but i customized it with some double sided tape and twisting of the alter ties. i love the bump friendly section! i love RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 11, 2012
Plain and Simple
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding, definitely a safe bet dress but was a little too plain jane for me. The fabric also looked a little cheap and was not the black tie elegance I was going for. I'm usually a size 4 and this dress was good in length and size, so fits very true to size but made my 34C bust look huge!
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 10, 2012
classic
This dress is amazing! however, LENGTH WISE size up! I am 5"9 and I wore 4 inch heels the SMALL LONG was TOO SHORT! If you're up against the wall about what size to order and your're tall like me, order the medium long. This dress is so simple and elegant and very comfortable!
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
February 6, 2012
Beautiful comfortable dress
I rented this dress for my husband's formal work gala. I ordered the ML which fit great for length. I am 5'8 and the dress hit right above the floor with 2 inch heels. My only challenge with the dress was the top. I struggled with filling out the dress and I am a 36C. There seemed to be a lot of fabric which it turn needed lots of taping to make sure things stayed where they needed to be. The dress itself is very comfortable...the belt does slip alttle due to the slick fabric of the dress. A backless bra would not work with this dress as the back is to low; you will need another alternative. Overall though..I would rent this dress again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2011
The front of the halter is VERY roomy, almost baggy (I'm a C cup) which made me uncomfortable, so I had to use lingerie tape to secure it. The back is too low for a strapless bra, you need a NuBra or similar. Also, the belt is a tie-it-yourself, it does not come neatly tied like I thought. The material is very slippery so if you have a tummy (I do from a recent c section), the belt tends to slip toward your ribs and accentuate the belly. The slit in the front is in the middle, not off to the side like I expected. I'm glad I had a coupon or I would have been very disappointed.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding recently and received so many compliments. I am normally a size 8. I ordered a small and medium. The small fit perfectly, but was not long enough. The medium fit well. This dress is very flaw-forgiving and extremely comfortable! I would definitely order it again!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2011
This dress runs really big.. I had to get an x-small and even that seems big to me.. I am 5'4" 127 lbs.. usually i wear like a Small or sometimes even Medium.. Its however beautiful.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2011
I personally found that there was far too much material in this design around the bust area. I am a 34C but cannot imagine it looking any better on a bigger chest. I also felt it looked cheap like something from Joyce Leslie. I would not recommend this dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
September 25, 2011
A solid formal dress. Flattering and comfortable. The fit was true to size. I definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
September 15, 2011
Perfect gown for a wedding. I wore grey/black jewelry and it was a hit! Worth every $ of the rental fee.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
August 1, 2011
This dress was absolutely beautiful. I wore the regular and it was perfect with heels. Very flattering cut. The material just flowed, which was great on a hot summer night. I never felt sticky or constricted.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2011
The dress is beautiful but I think the long is extremly long. I had almost 5'11" and I had a big heel and the long size was very much too long. Going to try again with the regular length b/c it's just stunning.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2011
I rented this dress for my bridesmaids and they both thought it was beautiful, only problem is that the dress is very thin, material is so-so (gives it a feel of a jcpenney dress).
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2011
This is the first dress i have rented from RTR, and i am very impressed with the customer service. Recently i had lost a few pounds and normally fit into a size 6. So when ordering i ordered a 6 and 8, when i received both the dresses they were both too big. I called RTR and they sent me a 4 to my work the very same day. I wore the dress to a black tie event and it looked fabulous! the pictures dont give the dress justice, its even better in person. it truly is a beautiful designer dress, the way it draped my body was amazing! thanks rtr
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2010
So disappointed. This was my first rental from RTR. Fabric was awful, and definitely not even worth $75 rental fee, let alone $455 price tag! Belt didn't look anything like the pic, no matter how I tied it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
December 6, 2010
I'm tall, so I ordered a long but I still had to wear my back up flats because it hit right at my ankle. I wore this dress to a white tie event and left for a gala. I looked wonderful and tasteful (i'm a 36DD) and there is enough fabric to cover me up. Over all a great gown!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2010
This dress worked beautifully for me. Since I'm a tad on the short side of regular, I had to wear 5 inch platforms to avoid treading on the hem, but the effect was amazing. I paired it with deco-tiered earrings and a deco bracelet by Badgley Mischka, rented from RTR as well. Received many compliments. The neckline is gorgeous -- works well with a u-shaped bra taped very low in the back. Would definitely wear again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 132lbs
November 9, 2010
Loved this dress! It looks even better in person than in the photos. I ordered both a size 8 and 10 in regular length. The 8 was too short to wear with heels, but was a better fit. Because of the length I wore the size 10. It is a very flattering cut and very comfortable too. I also ordered the gold Halston Heritage belt (shown in the photos) and it made the dress! I can't imagine wearing the dress without the belt.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
November 6, 2010
I ordered this dress as a backup for a black tie event. Although I didn't end up wearing it, I still tried it on and it fit well but I just didn't love it like the previous reviewers. I don't feel it "looks" like a designer dress. I modeled it for my mom and she said "this one just doesn't look like anything special". Also sent pictures to some friends and they agreed. I'd recommend checking out some of the other dresses that will look much more glamorous (I went with the Badgley Mischka Belle of the Ball gown - fabulous.) Also, the slit only came slightly above my knee which was disappointing.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 24, 2010
great flowy dress. clings to every curve, so don't forget you spanx!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2010
I ordered this dress in a size 2R and a back up size 4R for a black tie event that I am going to tomorrow night. The night before the dress was supposed to arrive I received a call from RTR saying that the size 2 I had ordered had been damaged. They sent me a beautiful size 2R Robert Rodriguez gown that I will be wearing instead. I wish I could have worn this dress but the size 4 which was sent was to large, the self belt was not included, and the front slit was 1/2 as long as the one in the picture.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 25, 2010
I wore it to a black tie event and it fit perfectly. I ordered the regular because the long was not available- the length still worked with 2 3/4 inch heels. It's a hot dress for a great rental price.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 24, 2010
Loved this dress. I ordered the "long size" and it was still a bit long with 4inch heels. Very flattering cut and extremely comfortable. Will definitely order again.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×