Call The Kettle Black Dress

$144 to buy
$455 retail
Stylist Notes

This infamous little black dress by Halston Heritage is a must have staple item for every girl’s wardrobe. Figure flattering on all body types and perfect for a special date night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe (81% cotton, 19% silk). Sleeveless. V-neck halter with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 35 inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
168 reviews
Fit
Large
(46)
True to Size
(107)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
November 4, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress (I ordered it as a backup size) but it was very pretty.
The front is lower than it looks in the photo, so I couldn't wear it since I didn't have a halter bra. If you feel comfortable going without a bra that would probably work too.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2012
didnt wear it!
Dress does not look llike it does int eh photo! Length is over the knee (Im 5'9) Very poufy and not a satin or silk material, it looks more like a sundress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
November 22, 2012
It was wonderful
I liked this dress a lot, it was a great mix of fun and fancy. The material is great, not too thin but not too thick. The v in the front was a little too deep for me but I safety pinned it and it was no problem. I got a lot of complements on this dress and felt great in my cousin's wedding!
JenBMarch 6, 2013
I love this dress, as well as the one picture on the girl next to you! Any idea what dress she was wearing?
RTR CustomerMarch 6, 2013
Hi! It looks like Elizabeth's friend is wearing the Your Moment Sheath!
MartheAugust 16, 2013
You both look beautiful!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2012
Such a cute dress but unfortunately the front was way too low for me so wasn't able to wear it.
Runs true to size but front is extremely low.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
December 28, 2012
Fun dress, loved the low back and full skirt.
It runs small.I wore it to a holiday dinner. The low back makes it sexy but its subtle and the fabric skirt stays full-loved it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
great fit!!
This was a perfect dress for NYE! it fit perfectly, and i got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2013
Loved it!
I would say to definitely get your normal size and the size smaller. I loved this dress and it is great for a wedding. It was very classy and everyone loved it. I received many compliments on it. It is easy to accessorize as well. I like how the bottom of the dress poofs out bc it makes it more fancy. I thought the material was nice and thick.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 7, 2013
Loved it! Sexy and Flattering!
As other reviewers have said, It does have a very deep V (even for a New Year's Eve Party!) But, with a safety pin in the right place, it's still sexy and very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2013
Felt like a million bucks!
I LOVED this dress. Although I wish I had gotten a 2 since the 4 was a bit big around my bust. I expected smoother/silkier fabric for some reason but loved the shape and hold to this dress. It gave my curves an added oomph! I felt like Audrey Hepburn. I highly recommend this dress. Just make sure you have a bra that goes low enough in the back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 22, 2013
Classy sex kitten!
I wore this dress to an inaugural cocktail party and it was just a perfect twist on the classic LBD. It's a little longer than the picture shows and you will definitely need some fashion tape for the top. I paired it with some sparkly pumps and a funky multi-colored necklace. It was comfortable yet I felt sexy in the dress the whole night. I wish I would have taken a full-length picture to share!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 27, 2013
Great dress. The skirt and pockets made it so much fun.
Fit great. Really comfortable for a long night out. Very low cut but the tape made it doable :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
Awesome, Easy Dress!
I absolutely LOVED this dress. First off the stylist were amazing and helped me modify my order at the last minute. The fabric was beautiful and thick. I will say that it is not quite as short as it appears on the model and shows a bit more cleavage- So be prepared to tape yourself in because a bra is not an option! Overall it is one of my favorite dresses I have rented and I was comfortable all night and got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 25, 2013
Was short and adorable. felt great.
Fits true to size..looks very cute, has pockets, yay!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 4, 2013
.
I wanted to love this dress, and it looked beautiful when it arrived, but it was terribly awkward once I put it on. It runs pretty large, and the 0 ended up fitting (relatively speaking), but the material looked like it was going to swallow me whole. The top fit well, but the bottom was a long, poofy disaster. The material is extremely thick, which makes it feel expensive, but it also ends up making it fit like you're wearing curtains on the bottom. Unless you are 5'10 and want something very poofy, I would definitely choose something else. I ended up having to pick a different dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 22, 2013
It made me feel so glam but also classy! Felt like Marilyn Monroe!
I usually wear a 6, but wore a 4 in this dress because the skirt is so flowy. I wore fashion tape for the neckline. It was very easy to dance in and stayed on extremely well. I am getting compliments about it to this day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2013
Cute and fun, but neckline could be an issue...
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner. It fit great and I loved it- the bubble shaped skirt is sassy, the low back is so pretty, and the fabric is nice and heavy. The only issue, as other reviewers have noted, is that the top is REALLY plunging. If I were out at a bar I'd be all for this, but it was too much for a dinner, and I was not clever enough to figure out how to adequately pin the neckline together. More of a caution than a negative- if you aren't a whiz with the safety pins save this one for more casual events where you don't mind showing significant cleavage.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 10, 2013
Fun, Comfy and sexy
The dress was cute and flirty. I got many compliments. The only problem was the top was really big so i had to pin it down. Be prepared to show the girls off! I was told that i looked like a dark Marilyn Monroe ;) Overall, i'm very happy that i rented this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
April 11, 2013
Cute LBD, top fits different than on model
I rented the size 2 and size 4, glad I got the 2. It is a much lower V than on the model, also there is a lot volume in the top
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2013
Sexy/classy for a girl with hips.
This dress worked out great for me. I think I have a size 6 waist and size 8 hips. I'm a 36B so the smaller size (6) fit best. I didn't need to use tape or a bra or anything. The full skirt with bonus pockets made for a lovely shape. This was my first RTR experience. Everything about it was great. My dress options arrived in perfect shape and even came with a little bonus pack of beauty products and some fashion tape in case I needed it. I just now stuffed the dresses into the pre-addressed UPS envelope for the return. I love this. Now I just need to go to more fancy parties!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 16, 2013
Classic look!
This dress was beautiful! The halter/open back was stunning and it fit well for the most part. One thing about the dress that I would caution is that the V in the neck is a lot lower in person. I was constantly fixing the dress all night because I felt exposed. It was also a little difficult to find a bra that worked successfully with the cut of the dress. Despite that, it was beautiful and I received many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 23, 2013
Not good if you've got hips
I wanted to love this dress so much, but it just isn't cut well. The fabric is gorgeous, the halter sexy, and I love dresses with pockets. But it runs pretty big; even the 10 was gaping at the top and I am no 8. The halter is nonadjustable; I had to use a black hair band to tighten it so it would stay up. The neckline is much, much lower than it looks on the model; she must have it closed with a pin or tape. I was surprised how good the length was given how short it looks on the model, but it was long enough even for my height. This dress would be great to give ladies without curves the illusion of hips, but if you already have hips this dress isn't for you. The cut of the skirt made my bottom half look 3 times its usual size. Not flattering in the least bit.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 30, 2013
beautiful
I loved this dress, however; the material is that kind of material that stretches out as its being worn and gets loose. I was pulling up my dress by the armpits pretty frequently during the course of the night...Luckily there were safety pins in the bathroom and my friend help me pin the dress a bit. With that being said>> WOW.. it was beautiful and classy. Everyone said it was stunning and I agree. Just order a size down from what you normally do, F or example, I usually wear a 4 and i think a 2 would have been perfect .. trust me, you will thank me later.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 6, 2013
Perfectly classy!
I loved wearing this dress. I did have to pin and use fashion tape for the front but that can be expected since the 2 panels don't attach until the waist. someone with more chest may not have to do that. very comfortable.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2013
Everthing was exactly as I expected. I was very pleased with my first RTR experience.
This dress fit me perfectly. The fabric is rich and perfect heft,so no wrinkles. I tried to tape the front together so it was not so low cut, but it did not stay in place. I got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 18, 2013
Too poofy. I didn't wear it.
It is way more poofy than on the model. The pockets made it worse. It fit just fine, the halter was very pretty. Very good material. It just didn't go with my body type. I didn't wear it.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 29, 2013
This dress is probably better suited for a 5'10 model. At the height of 5'2, it looked like a tent.
I ended up not wearing this dress and being really dissapointed as I got it for my birthday night out... which also turned out to be my engagement night. I am petite and only 5'2 and skirt of the dress went down past my knees. It looked like i was wearing an apron. The halter was also too long. It just did not fit well. Better suited for a tall, full busted girl. Even if I went down a size, it would not fit bc the rib cage area was true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2013
Lovely neckline, but not flattering for a petite girl.
I rented this in a size 4, which was still too big even though i usually wear a 6. This dress had a lovely neckline that accentuated shoulders, but it didn't flatter me as I hoped it would. I am a petite 5'1" and the bottom just flared out too much and looked cupcake-y. Also, the top was just a tad too big as well. I could see it look really classy vintage Hollywood on the right person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 11, 2013
Pretty dress, just not for me
This dress was beautiful. The material was thick so its not really for a summer occasion. I loved the top of the dress but was not thrlled with the bottom. It poofed out too much and made my hips look larger than they are. The material was thick so I think that made it worse. I am normally between a 2 and 4 but the 2 was better. Pretty dress, just didnt look great on me.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
June 27, 2013
Classic dress. Pockets! High quality material. Very comfortable.
Runs a little large. I pinned the top, as I was attending a catholic wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 9, 2013
Fun to accessorize - I paired with black and yellow sandals!
Great Party Dress, but it definitely runs big - especially up top if you're not particularly well in doubt. This isn't a showstopper, but it's comfortable, versatile when you don't know what others will be wearing and easy to accessorize!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
August 7, 2013
Overall made me feel confident.
Fits great, really flattering, but just a little big...I'm normally a true 2 but wish I'd gone with a 0 for this. Overall a great, classy look with just a slight amount of edge!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2013
great pockets, imperfect fit
love this dress, but i needed a lot of tape to create the right fit. i was constantly adjusting the tape throughout the event, so as much as i love the dress, it just didn't fit perfectly. i am a consistent size two and the bust and shoulders were just a little off.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2013
The neckline took me out of my comfort zone, but yay fashion tape! I had so much fun in this dress!!
For me, the dress was much longer with a much lower neckline than the photo with the model indicates, so prepare for that if you are a shorter girl. I really loved wearing this and didn't want to give it back. And the pockets were amazing!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 11, 2013
I love this dress! Just have to be careful with the top, leaning down could get a little scandalous.
Fit perfect but being a b cup the top was pretty loose. Loved how it looked though, very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2013
Classic Glam
I wore this dress yesterday for an evening wedding. The dress is made with quality material and preferred the full bottom of the dress to camouflage my hips a bit. The dress is low cut in the front so I didn't bother to wear a bra. However, be warned, when you sit down, it can get "spacey" in the chest area so some fashion tape may be helpful. I didn't bother with the fashion tape either because the effect was just beautiful: I paired this dress with the following: - Ben Amun Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops Earrings - Christian Louboutin Daffodile Platforms - Leopard Print Box Clutch with Skull Knuckles (a great knock off emulatin Alexander McQueen box clutch) - Revlon Lipgloss in Fire - Hair in a depp side part with soft waves to channel old Hollywood glamour
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2013
Loved the fit- very flattering!
I wore this dress to a wedding and got tons of compliments! It was a great STAPLE dress that can be worn on anyone for a fun event. Loved the fit- very flaterring but yet classy and fun at the same time,. This was my "Emergency Help dress". I received another style on Thursday before the Saturday wedding and I did not like it at all. I was able to "Chat with a specialist" and Serena H was able to get me this dress sent overnight to the hotel on Saturday morning. It is a great Safety dress that you will fall in LOVE with! Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2013
This dress was perfect for the event I went to.
Heavy material, sexy low cut and short but comfortable and contemporary. The pockets were helpful because I never know what to do with my hands. Made me feel more relaxed that I was able to place them in the pockets for a more relaxed feel.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
November 20, 2013
My dress was absolutely stunning! Everyone throughout the night told me how gorgeous I looked.
The overall fit was good. The dress pulls you in at the waist. Pro ~ The dress covers stomach area and it looks FABULOUS on. Con ~ The Dress was a little to big after I fastened it around my neck. So I tied it around my neck then buttoned it and tucked it under.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2013
Way too Big
I rented this dress for my honeymoon but even the two (I am normally a 4), was way too big. The material is nice and very thick but the fit was just too baggy.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 8, 2014
wore this dress to a NYE wedding, fit great and comfortable
the best part about this dress was me not having to wear a bra!! when i sat down, it did come out a little bit, so be careful. it was a little longer than i had hoped, but it was ok. the pockets were very handy. small part of me felt like it was the black version of the famous marlyn monroe dress, but all in all, i felt pretty and got great compliments. wore with green earrings and cuff...really made it stand out! this is my 3rd rental with RTR and have always been happy.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×