Halston Heritage

Call The Kettle Black Dress

$144 to buy
$455 retail
Stylist Notes

This infamous little black dress by Halston Heritage is a must have staple item for every girl’s wardrobe. Figure flattering on all body types and perfect for a special date night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe (81% cotton, 19% silk). Sleeveless. V-neck halter with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 35 inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
169 reviews
Fit
Large
(46)
True to Size
(108)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
February 8, 2016
Gapping neck line, order two sizes down or pin it.

I have a large chest (36DD) and the neckline still gaped on me even thought I ordered it in a size down.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
March 24, 2016
Everyone thought I was the best dressed! Since I pinned the skirt it added a bubble effect. So cute!

Since i'm very tiny I had to pin the skirt to the inside of the dress to make it a bit shorter. But other than that it fit pretty nicely! I could also tell the dress had been worn a lot because the color was really faded and the fabric of the dress was really heavy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 20, 2013
Simple & Elegant

Ordered the size 4 & size 2 as a backup, after reading reviews of this dress being a bit large. This was true, the 4 was a bit large, the size 2 fit well, especially at the top. Love how this dress also has pockets! Got so many compliments for my dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2015
Nice Dress

I ordered my usual size 2 with 4 as the back-up size. The size two was larger than the four. I wore the four which was a little loose in the waist. I did a lot of dancing which meant that I had to constantly tuck in the hanger straps. I would still consider renting this dress again in a size 0 and next time I will just secure the straps with tape. Great length for me it touched mid knee. I am small in the chest area so I was able to go bra-less.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 24, 2013
Too large

I am 5'4" 130 lbs, on the short waisted side and the size 2 was enormous on me. Gaping in the chest and waist, waist hit about 3 inches below my waist, had to return.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 1, 2013
Pretty, classic but runs large

I'm not sure if it was just the particular dress I got but I ordered a size 2 and a size 4. The size 2 fit SO BIG. I didn't realize it was so big at at first but later in the night, my friend ended up having to pin me into this dress. I usually wear a size 4 so that was surprising. I would say that there was a good half inch of fabric on each side that I ended up pinning. In general, the dress is very classic and pretty. The pockets are great! The neckline is low but not scandalous. I wore a backless stick-on bra and that worked well. The dress definitely isn't as short as it looks on the model.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 28, 2014
This is not made for petite women. I was swallowed by the 2 and usually wear a four.

I don't recommend it.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 92lbs
May 8, 2014
Saturday night wedding ..great dress

Ran a little big but very comfortable

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
June 2, 2014
Great Dress! Very classy. Paired with some Sarah Jessica Parker shoes.

Runs big. Had to pin the dress at the neck for a snug fit. And fashion tape a must

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2014
Classic LBD halter that flatters

A little loose fitting in the back, but beautiful, thick cotton material and overall great dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
February 22, 2015
Large in the bust for this A/B cup gal.

Loved everything about it, except it didn't fit my chest so it end up looking baggy. Would recommend for someone with C cup, not my A/B. I just didn't fill it out.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 16, 2015
Was hoping this dress would be perfect!

The dress is made of great material and I like that it has pockets, but nothing about it fit me at all! The dress was extremely long (went past my knees) and the bust area was large. I would only recommend this dress for tall women with a substantial bust size.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Age: 35
July 27, 2015
modern, comfortable dress

The halter neck makes this dress easy to customize. I have a short torso, and got a perfect fit by not using the buttons that fasten the straps together, and instead pulling them tighter and safety pinning them together. The pockets are nice, but too shallow to use in lieu of a purse. The fabric of the dress is heavy, but leaves lots of skin exposed, so this would be appropriate in most seasons. I was able to wear a regular strapless bra with this dress and the bra did not show. I am 5'3 and the hem was above the knee, but not nearly as short as it is on the model. My measurements are 36-29-39, and I ordinarily wear a size 8 but because the skirt is full, I wore a size 6. This would have been a 5 star dress, but I took off a star because both dresses I received had a foul odor. I notified rent the runway, so hopefully this issue is resolved.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
December 28, 2012
Fun dress, loved the low back and full skirt.

It runs small.I wore it to a holiday dinner. The low back makes it sexy but its subtle and the fabric skirt stays full-loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112lbs
February 20, 2014
Subtlety sexy! I felt like a princess!!

I was amazed how easy the whole process was! The dress was delivered at the exact day and so nicely packaged. The dress was beautiful and the pockets were a nice surprise. The dress is simple but sexy due to the plunging V-neck. The dress is made of a high end heavy fabric. The waist ran a bit small, but everything else fell perfectly in place. I look forward to my next rental, what a great site for the girl that can't be seen in the same dress twice!

RebeccaFebruary 20, 2014
Was this taken at The Boulders in Carefree? You look great!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
May 6, 2014
Wore this to a Kentucky Derby party and it was beautiful. Lots of complements.

This is a gorgeous dress. Very high quality. Only problem was it runs VERY small in the waist. It was difficult to get into, and a little uncomfortable. Definitely order up at least one size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 28, 2014
Loved it...but...

I loved the fabric and style of this dress! However, the top is much better suited for someone with a large bust. I chose a different RTR dress, as I didn't love the way this one fit in the chest.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 3, 2014
Simple Black Dress, but this one isn't for everyone

This dress was my backup. I ordered the 6 & 8 based off of the size reviews others shared, and what I normally wear. However, I could not fit into or wear either size comfortably. The size 6 was too small in the waist. However, the quality of the material, buttons, steaming and "puffiness" of the size 6 was much better than the size 8. Not sure why, but the size 8 was VERY puffy (almost like a tutu) and I could not get it to flatten even a little. And even though it fit in the waist and chest, it was not comfortable in the waist, and the puffiness of the size 8 made my waist look MUCH larger than I am. I am a regular renter, and usually read through the reviews thoroughly before ordering. I've always received quality high-end dresses, in perfect condition, and perfect time. But this order arrived late at night, was not a quality material on the dress, and did not even come with the garment bag, and trademark handy dress kit it usually comes with (fashion tape, FAQ, etc). What is going on RTR? I usually can count on you guys for any occasion. But there are many other cheaper options with better quality out there.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
July 19, 2015
I wore this for a bachelorette party in Burlington, VT.

Okay I have used RTR many times and have never had major problems. This dress looked great online and on other "real girls" (i.e. other than the model) but I will say it was VERY low (this was indicated in other reviews) and very tight in the ribcage area. I pinned it in front and I could tell that it had been pinned in that area previously by someone else with the same concerns! This dress was also thicker material than I thought it would be. Due to my hourglass figure I felt like it "poofed" out around my butt, and I didn't feel that it was flattering. I wore it to dinner but then changed later. I wasn't comfortable in it physically and also mentally felt very exposed due to the low neckline and "side boobage". Aside from the dress fit....I almost didn't wear it because the packaging it came in really smelled!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
November 4, 2015
Perfect dress for a formal event!

Overall I was very happy with the dress. The fabric is beautiful, the pockets are a nice touch and the back of the dress is very flattering. The only issue I had like some of the other reviews is that it's very low cut. I was able to tie it where it claps behind the neck and pin it so that it fit correctly on me.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 8, 2015
Loved the classy but sexy deep v of this dress!

Fit a bit tight around the rib cage, but comfortable elsewhere. Would recommend dress tape! May potentially be better for smaller busted ladies

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 30
December 21, 2015
This was a gorgeous dress. I received many compliments on it.

The neckline was a bit lower than I like, but I have a smaller bust (32/34 A/B) so it didn't look over the top. I would be careful if you do have a larger size in that area as you may be showing more than you might like (especially if dancing is involved).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 8, 2016
Comfortable, flattering and fun!!

Dress fit beautifully. Loved the pockets, comfortable. The deep V does move around and I had to remove my stick on bra half way into the evening.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131lbs
August 10, 2016
Overall great fit, cute backless dress!

The fit was great, which it needed to be considering it's backless and has a plunging neckline. I have NO BUST, but with a backless/sticky bra I filled out the top just fine. The skirt is perhaps a tad puffy for my taste, but I like the pleats and the pockets (why do women love pockets in dresses so much?). I'm 5'8'', 130 lbs and the 2 fit like a glove (and was even a little roomie/comfortable). The dress is the perfect length for a wedding--fun, but respectable even if your grandmother is there.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
September 22, 2016
I LOVED this dress! It was so comfortable and the pockets were just an added bonus!

Pockets!! Need I say more?!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
November 4, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress (I ordered it as a backup size) but it was very pretty.

The front is lower than it looks in the photo, so I couldn't wear it since I didn't have a halter bra. If you feel comfortable going without a bra that would probably work too.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
November 22, 2012
It was wonderful

I liked this dress a lot, it was a great mix of fun and fancy. The material is great, not too thin but not too thick. The v in the front was a little too deep for me but I safety pinned it and it was no problem. I got a lot of complements on this dress and felt great in my cousin's wedding!

JenBNovember 22, 2012
I love this dress, as well as the one picture on the girl next to you! Any idea what dress she was wearing?
RTR CustomerNovember 22, 2012
Hi! It looks like Elizabeth's friend is wearing the Your Moment Sheath!
MartheNovember 22, 2012
You both look beautiful!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2012
Such a cute dress but unfortunately the front was way too low for me so wasn't able to wear it.

Runs true to size but front is extremely low.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
great fit!!

This was a perfect dress for NYE! it fit perfectly, and i got tons of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2013
Loved it!

I would say to definitely get your normal size and the size smaller. I loved this dress and it is great for a wedding. It was very classy and everyone loved it. I received many compliments on it. It is easy to accessorize as well. I like how the bottom of the dress poofs out bc it makes it more fancy. I thought the material was nice and thick.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 7, 2013
Loved it! Sexy and Flattering!

As other reviewers have said, It does have a very deep V (even for a New Year's Eve Party!) But, with a safety pin in the right place, it's still sexy and very flattering!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2013
Classy sex kitten!

I wore this dress to an inaugural cocktail party and it was just a perfect twist on the classic LBD. It's a little longer than the picture shows and you will definitely need some fashion tape for the top. I paired it with some sparkly pumps and a funky multi-colored necklace. It was comfortable yet I felt sexy in the dress the whole night. I wish I would have taken a full-length picture to share!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 27, 2013
Great dress. The skirt and pockets made it so much fun.

Fit great. Really comfortable for a long night out. Very low cut but the tape made it doable :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
Awesome, Easy Dress!

I absolutely LOVED this dress. First off the stylist were amazing and helped me modify my order at the last minute. The fabric was beautiful and thick. I will say that it is not quite as short as it appears on the model and shows a bit more cleavage- So be prepared to tape yourself in because a bra is not an option! Overall it is one of my favorite dresses I have rented and I was comfortable all night and got tons of compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 25, 2013
Was short and adorable. felt great.

Fits true to size..looks very cute, has pockets, yay!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 22, 2013
It made me feel so glam but also classy! Felt like Marilyn Monroe!

I usually wear a 6, but wore a 4 in this dress because the skirt is so flowy. I wore fashion tape for the neckline. It was very easy to dance in and stayed on extremely well. I am getting compliments about it to this day!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2013
Cute and fun, but neckline could be an issue...

I wore this to a rehearsal dinner. It fit great and I loved it- the bubble shaped skirt is sassy, the low back is so pretty, and the fabric is nice and heavy. The only issue, as other reviewers have noted, is that the top is REALLY plunging. If I were out at a bar I'd be all for this, but it was too much for a dinner, and I was not clever enough to figure out how to adequately pin the neckline together. More of a caution than a negative- if you aren't a whiz with the safety pins save this one for more casual events where you don't mind showing significant cleavage.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 10, 2013
Fun, Comfy and sexy

The dress was cute and flirty. I got many compliments. The only problem was the top was really big so i had to pin it down. Be prepared to show the girls off! I was told that i looked like a dark Marilyn Monroe ;) Overall, i'm very happy that i rented this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 16, 2013
Classic look!

This dress was beautiful! The halter/open back was stunning and it fit well for the most part. One thing about the dress that I would caution is that the V in the neck is a lot lower in person. I was constantly fixing the dress all night because I felt exposed. It was also a little difficult to find a bra that worked successfully with the cut of the dress. Despite that, it was beautiful and I received many compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 6, 2013
Perfectly classy!

I loved wearing this dress. I did have to pin and use fashion tape for the front but that can be expected since the 2 panels don't attach until the waist. someone with more chest may not have to do that. very comfortable.

See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×