Call The Kettle Black Dress

$144 to buy
$455 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This infamous little black dress by Halston Heritage is a must have staple item for every girl’s wardrobe. Figure flattering on all body types and perfect for a special date night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe (81% cotton, 19% silk). Sleeveless. V-neck halter with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 35 inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
167 reviews
Fit
Large
(46)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 19, 2014
Comfy dress! Neckline is LOW.
Let me start by saying that I loved this dress. It was comfortable (once I made sure everything stayed in). Love the thick fabric and pockets. The neckline is low...WAY low. I ended up wearing the 4 due to my wide ribcage. The waist is super tight, but high enough that it didn't bother me once I got zipped in. I had to safety pin behind my neck and in the front to make it fit better and to keep my boobs in. Once I got it pinned, I did not need a bra or fashion tape. It is a little longer than I would have liked, but I am super short. I also wore tights
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2014
Wore this dress to a formal work holiday party. Everyone seemed to love it-perfect for the occasion
I ordered this dress as a backup because the first one I ordered was damaged and could not be sent. The fit was great, true to size I would say. Its a bit low cut, but I wore an adhesive bra to keep everything in place. The skirt was super fun and flirty, and the pockets added a nice touch. I would say this is a fantastic option if you're looking for a comfortable LBD! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2014
Valentine's Day was awesome in this dress!
I loved everything about this dress! True to size and very flattering for several body types!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 13, 2014
Not your typical LBD.
The dress has some pleats that add volume but not make you look huge. It also has pockets. The neckline is low, if you are small chested you may need tape to secure the dress in place, I'm a 36C and didn't have any problems with neckline - didn't use tape or bra. The cut of the dress gives you a tiny waste.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
October 29, 2014
So wanted this to work...
This dress was beautiful! I was obsessed with the very plunging neckline and the pleating in the skirt. Unfortunately, the style didn't work with my body type. My hips caused the full skirt to bloom out with the fitted waist. Also, since my bust is proportionally small (38 small B) for my dress size (12 or 14), I was not able to fill out the top of the dress. The top back of the dress sagged because of this. If I owned the dress and could make a few minor alterations, the dress would be perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 9, 2014
Such a sexy and adorable LBD! Turns some heads!
I wore this to a sorority formal and it was perfect LBD. It was a bit tight when zipping it up through the rib section but it zipped! The neckline is a plunge so don't think of this dress as a conservative pick because it is for the brave, but I would always recommend this dress it was so fun! #formal #sorority #lbd
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 9, 2014
Loved this dress and the fit
I weigh 155 pounds, I am 5'9 and have a 36 D chest and the dress was flattering. Showed a bit of cleavage but I (and the men) appreciated it. I wasnt falling out of the dress but it was very sexy and classy. I normally wear a size 6/8 but this 6 fit me PERFECTLY. This dress is definitely for you if you have a good amount of chest. I filled it perfectly. I rented this for a semi formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 6, 2014
Elegant, sumptuous, and Wowsa!
Lots of "Wow" looks come your way in this Marilyn-Monroe-esque design. It's an amazing, classy design. It gave my straight figure great curves and made me feel really glamorous. The substantial weight of the fabric reminds you you're in a designer-level creation and it's an awesome feeling. I needed a little bit of fashion tape and a small safety pin to make this dress workable for the wedding I attended and for my own comfort level. You are definitely reminded that there is a limited waistline on this - so I didn't want to eat too much or drink anything bubbly! But it was a TO DIE FOR dress. I absolutely adored it - and SO did my date - whose "Wow" looks were constant!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 4, 2014
My own bday party!
Great dress - thick fabric which held everything in place. Loved the pockets. The front was lowcut, as others have said, but as a small-chested gal, it was fine for me. I wore a strapless bra just to get a little more oomph. It was longer than it looked on the model but not too long to look frumpy. Was great to dance in -- didn't have to worry about it all night. Paired it with nude open toe strappy shoes and the Oscar de la Renta earrings from RTR. My best friend rented too!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2014
Great spin on the LBD!
I wore this dress to an semi-formal evening wedding at the end of summer and it worked really well- just the right amount of fancy and casual. And I'm a sucker for anything with pockets! The only down side was that the pleating wasn't pressed very well when it arrived and the halter hooks were almost completely unattached, but I have no doubt that the great team at RTR has taken care of all of that for future renters. Dressed up or dressed down, this is a great spin on the Little Black Dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 28, 2014
No good for large bust!!
Rented the 6 and 8 for a wedding. The dress is ADORABLE but for sure not made for big boobs. Other reviews stated some tape or a pin fixed the low cut issue of the top for them, but there is no tape in the world that could have pulled the top together enough for me :(. The fabric is great and I loved the dress. Would absolutely recommend for someone smaller on top. Not for me, but a great dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 28, 2014
Fun, fabulous and flirty!
The dress was gorgeous and so comfortable. I started the night wearing a stick on bra but changed to using the petals as the top of the dress was secure and covered enough to not allow anything to show. I would definitely rent this LBD again!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 21, 2014
Classy and sassy, loved it!
I usually wear a 6 but I went with the 4. It fit perfectly. Had to get fashion tape to keep everything in place. Beautiful dress with pockets. Elegant with some sass. It was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2014
Drowning in dress!
I wanted to like this dress but I ended up hating it. It zips true to size in the waist section. The bottom of the dress is too much fabric and not in a cute or flattering way. To top it off the entire chest area gapes and the halter is really loose. You can't really "size down" because then it won't zip! Unfortunately, I had to return.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
September 11, 2014
Didn't wear it!
Back up size 4 wasn't available and the 6 (even though I'm a C cup) was way to big in the bust. It kept bagging out and even with fashion tape it looked uneven. I ended up wearing a dress I owned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
September 11, 2014
Super fun dress and very comfortable, very well made.
Great fit, chest was secure. The skirt had movement and the fabric had just the right weight. Pockets came in handy too. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
September 10, 2014
Basic but pretty.
I wore this to a wedding. The zipper was almost impossible to get up even though the dress was not too small. I liked it overall, didn't love it, but liked it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
September 9, 2014
great dress!
if your have a smaller bust, be sure to get some fashion tape!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 6, 2014
Got LOTS of compliments!!
True to size, since I'm petite the top port can be pretty revealing but at my age (40) I thought WTH!! I loved the quality of the fabric, made it very classy. Would definitely rent it again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 6, 2014
Low cut so be prepared!
While both the 8 & 10 fit me, I ended up going with the 10 because this dress was so low cut. With the 10, there was more room in the top so I actually used a safety pin around the halter so it was less revealing in the chest (pulled it up and pinned instead of using buttons for around the neck). The wedding was for my husbands coworkers - if it has been for a friend I might have gone with the 8, but didn't feel that much cleavage was appropriate for this group. Dress for great everywhere else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 1, 2014
Perfect bachelorette dress!
Comfortable, easy to wear - fit was great on me. D cup, didn't need fashion tape for the bust which was a nice surprise!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
August 28, 2014
Pockets! Awesome! Love it!!!
Im usually a 6 in pants, but I decided to go for the 8 because a 6 wasn't available for the date I needed, also because I hear dresses run smaller then pants. Anyhow this dress fit like a glove! I might have been able to fit into the 6 but the 8 was just fine. My favorite thing about this dress is the pockets, so cool. I was a little scared that one of the girls was gonna pop out, because it is super low cut, but nope! It holds everything in place perfectly. I was able to wear a strapless bra and I didn't have to adjust the whole night. The puffiness of the bottom of the dress is super cute and camouflaged my lack of going to the gym and also the fact that I ate way too much. I absolutely love love this dress. I wish i had it in my closet. The only bad thing was that at the end of the night I noticed that something was sticking out of the dress and poking me in the back, it might have been doing it the whole night but it didn't bother me at all until the festivities were done. I would totally get this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2014
Classic LBD halter that flatters
A little loose fitting in the back, but beautiful, thick cotton material and overall great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2014
Nice, but tricky
This dress is very chic and just enough of a fashion edge to be exciting. I had it as a backup dress and didn't end up wearing it but it fit well and was great quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 19, 2014
I was unable to wear this dress and returned it as soon as I received it.
If you like a fuller bottom half this dress is for you. It did not flatter me at all! I am 5'9 150 pounds... it did not compliment me at all. Thick material.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2014
I loved this dress. It was super flattering in the waste and I loved the low cut front.
This dress fit like a glove! I didn't need to wear a bra and was not worried about having any wardrobe malfunctions throughout the night. I wore this dress at a bachelorette party and received tons of compliments. It was super flattering at the waste and I loved the sassy low cut in the front.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 4, 2014
Bachelorette Party!
I ordered sizes 4 and 6 and wore the size 4 for my friend's bachelorette party in Washington, D.C. I love the length of the dress - it wasn't too long but not to short. The 4 was a little tight around my waist area - but the 6 was too big for my 5'4, 125 lb frame. I didn't wear a bra with the dress which was fine because the top part was thick enough and covered my whole chest area where even when I sat down, nothing popped out. The fabric of the dress was very thick - I was surprised by that but it wasn't uncomfortable or too hot. This dress was fun to wear and great for a night out around town. I would have to say this wasn't one of my favorite RTR dresses, but, I would still recommend it.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
August 3, 2014
20 Year High School Reunion
Love love love this dress! I wore it to my 20 year high school reunion. It was a a hit! The fit was perfect and I was comfortable all night long. It is a little longer than I anticipated, but such a classy little black dress and the pockets were a great addition to have. Felt so glamorous! Sad to be sending it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 3, 2014
Very high quality gorgeous dress
really low cut so if you're busty, you need some tape and a safety pin. Absolutely loved this dress. The skirt is so poofy and I loved the pockets
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 22, 2014
Tres chic!
This dress was a hit at the wedding I went to. Nice classic simple black dress. A little baggy at the top if u have small breasts like me...that was the only downside. If I kept my posture straight all night it wasn't a problem. Great for a woman with curves.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 20, 2014
Very cute and comfy
I got this as a replacement dress for one that was damaged and unable to send out. It was very cute, and I got a lot of compliments on the dress! I received both the 0 and 2, and they seemed to fit the same aside from the torso of the 0 being shorter. I am 5'4 and the dress hit just above my knees, so it's not as short as it is on the model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 18, 2014
Bachelorette Party Dress
I wore this for my own bachelorette party- I know a lot of people would think wearing a black dress would be weird- but this dress was so classic. It fit perfectly! I have a large chest, and the halter was the best option for me. I could adjust the neck and I didn't even need to wear a bra because the dress material was think enough and large enough to hold me up. I would love to buy this dress so I could have it to wear at any moment!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
July 15, 2014
The pictures, reviews, and ease of ordering/returning.
This is the second time I've rented this dress - I love the way I feel in it! Fit at just the right part of my waist - the smallest area right below my rib cage. The neckline is for sure pretty sassy, but I loved it - and if you felt a little worries ab a wardrobe malfunction, I'm sure a little tape would do the trick. Pockets are an incredible touch. I got a ton of compliments on it from guys and gals.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 8, 2014
Cute but small!
After reading the reviews I sized down but should've stuck with a 12. While it zipped, it looked tight and I couldn't wear it:(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
June 29, 2014
Easy classic styling.
Playful poof to skirt. Conservative length offsets low cut.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
June 26, 2014
What a great go to dress for any party! Simple and elegant, I got a ton of compliments!
Fit was true to size, I read prior reviews that had problems with the neckline gaping, I didn't have these issues. Fabric was a surprise as it was not a dressy material, but the dress still looked like a million dollars!!! Can't wait to rent this again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
June 14, 2014
Very comfortable and flattering!
I rented this dress for a wedding. I felt sexy and classic!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
June 14, 2014
Fit was great and lots of compliments!
I wore this dress for my Project Ladybug fundraiser event. Love the pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2014
Sophisticated and Sexy all in one!
I rented a 6 and a 4 per the stylists suggestions. The 6 fit a little weird but was doable. I think an 8 would have fit but too much material I'm sure. The cleavage was more than I expected and the dress was a lot longer than I expected. All issues were resolved with a little tape and luckily for me I have the cup size to fill it. The waist line was around my ribcage so that was the only fitting issue regarding the size 6. I'm sure if it wasn't around my ribcage it wouldn't have been an issue. Still amazing first rental and I would maybe even rent this again and buy more fashion tape now that I know. Super comfy otherwise and tons of compliments. When people felt the material they were very clear that this was indeed high quality dress making. Wore with flats as event was on the lawn. Simple jewelry (crystals and silver). Hair was more Veronica Lake even thought I initially planned for a Carrie Bradshaw like curly bob (curling iron broke day of event!!!!OMG!!!). This is the most liked selfie on my FB page at this moment. Thanks for helping me looke fabulous! The stylist are amazing!!!! <3 Can't wait to rent again!1
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2014
Neckline is too open for me
I really wanted to wear this dress but the neckline was too open for me. I don't mind a low neckline but it was open and showed lots of side-boob. There was no way to tack it closed. I wore the back-up dress.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×