Gryphon

Pintuck Love Dress

$77 to buy
$515 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this stylish Gryphon flirty red dress for a romantic date night out. Red is the color of love! Pair with bold accessories like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Cuff and the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Earrings.

Belt not included.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any bust size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Red silk(100% silk). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. All-over pintucking. Belted waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(5)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
September 29, 2011
I ordered this in a S and XS. I am about 115 lbs with a 32 D chest, and this was so unflattering in the chest for me, though a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 20, 2011
Loved this dress, very comfortable & received many compliments. My only negative would be that the sash/belt that is pictured did not come on either of the dresses. I instead wore a gold belt, but this definitely needs to have something to keep it from looking to baggy/unflattering
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 7, 2011
I am 5'9. 32DD, 27, 34 and everything fit well with the medium. i am usually a medium, but sometimes a small, but the small was too small. i don't think you need to go down a size like recommended. i have broad shoulders and the small was tight in the shoulders and too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 21, 2011
The reviews and stylist notes really helped me in making the decision to use this dress for the luncheon.
I wore this dress to a small wedding reception. It was light, comfortable, and the red was even brighter than the picture.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 28, 2011
My 2nd Choice becoming my first...so glad it worked out that way
I love this dress. I ordered sizes 4 and 6 and the small wound up being perfect, its an amazing dress and looks so good on. I hope I can buy this dress when it goes on sale, otherwise I will def be renting it again.
Lauren January 11, 2012
You look stunning.
OlgaApril 19, 2012
You look amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
November 30, 2011
The color of this dress was super flattering! RTR customer service is so amazing!
I rented this for a nice dinner at a fancy restaurant. The color is beyond gorgeous, as is the silky fabric and the pleating! However, because I have love handles and a tummy, the fit was awkward (yes, even with spanx. :-)). I'm short-waisted so the waist of the dress didn't match up with my natural waist. BUT, I wore it with a velvet blazer and a cute purse and was very happy with the overall outcome!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
January 2, 2012
Beautiful!
I can't say enough about this dress; it is fantastic! Very flattering and forgiving for a woman's body. Flirty and a little sexy, with expensive looking fabric and details. I felt very comfortable and this dress would be great for dancing.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 29, 2012
Star of the dance party
Rented this for a ballroom dance party with a "red" theme. Didn't show off my body as well as I would have liked (would have like some princess seams or something to pull the sides in a bit more) but it was a great dress and looked almost exactly like the model in the picture. It was not too short, but it definitely showed off my legs and covered the rest, so it was very pretty and flirty, but not trashy. I had to wear some boyshort type underwear underneath because when you spin it really spins out and lifts up, but the dress is cut straight down to keep it generally modest. 100% silk, so easily wrinkled. Also, not too great for dancing and perspiring - I was drenched by the end of the night. But super pretty and flirty - the guys LOVED it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 8, 2012
Darling and conservative
I wore this to a work party. It was really my backup dress for a birthday bash but I ended up attending a last-minute work event that week and luckily had a nice 'new' dress to wear! More cutesy on me than the model, and I look young enough already so I probably won't be renting this again. Good quality, and very rich color though. Fit is meant to be relaxed, runs true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 69
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
February 14, 2012
Pretty Red
An easy and pretty silk dress. Love the way the hem moves when you walk. Fit perfectly and received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2012
Sweet & Classy
The fit was very comfortable. I was able to eat at dinner and still feel comfortable and pretty at the concert later. I could hardly move without saying thank you thanks to all the complements I got!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 21, 2012
The dress was so perfect, I rented it again to wear for my engagement pictures. I LOVED the way the color popped. I'll cherish my pictures forever!
I wore this dress for one of my wedding showers, and LOVED it! It fit perfectly, and the color really popped. I loved the dress so much, I rented it again for my engagement pictures!
rebel in a dressMarch 22, 2012
Gorgeous picture!!
AndreaApril 18, 2012
What necklace did you wear with it? Love it!
RTRApril 20, 2012
Hi Andrea, Polly is wearing the Dannijo Bea Necklace http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/short_jewelry/beanecklace Great pair!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50lbs
June 29, 2012
fun and comfortable!
this dress was adorable and super comfortable. I wore the M and I'm typically a size 6. It was a little bit loose but not enough that I could have sized down to a small. A little bit on the short side so I'd steer clear if you're taller than 5'7"
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 2, 2012
Amazing dress!!!
By far the best dress I have rented so far!! It's such a beautiful and comfortable dress. The fit was amazing and the length was a little below mid thigh. I will definitely be renting this dress again.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 6, 2012
very cute dress!
I wore this dress last fall for a rehearsal dinner. It was very well-constructed, in great condition and looked great on. I am usually a size small, but as this dress is not fitted in the hips the xs worked better for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 13, 2012
Perfect red dress
I loved this dress! The pleats are so beautiful and dainty. The shape of the dress is also very forgiving and swayed beautifully in the wind.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 17, 2012
Runs very large
The dress was way too big..I tried to belt it but there was too much fabric. I had to return it. It is a beautiful color and quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 19, 2012
Cute but short
This was the dress I had intended to wear, but it ended up being way too short. Luckily the back up dress I had selected (the Opening Ceremony Stitch to Stitch dress) was super cute and a little bit older.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 19, 2012
Stunning dress!
The design was absolutely classic and the flair at the bottom just sealed the deal. I would say this dress runs large as I am consistently a size small and it ended up that the xsmall was a perfect fit. I wore this dress for my engagement photos and was extremely happy with the quality and efficiency of my purchase. I would definitely rent this again!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 24, 2012
Pretty dress, not for me
The dress was rather boxy and did not work to give my short frame any shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2012
Fun, sassy dress!
I loved the photos of this dress, and thought it was even prettier in person! Unfortunately, it was a bit too short for me. But, the overall fit and look was beautiful. Would have given five stars if it had been the tiniest bit longer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 6, 2012
Cute, but nothing special
I rented this dress for labor day weekend in Nantucket. It is a very pretty dress, fits true to size, and is perfect for a fancy dinner out!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2011
Very comfortable and flattering on every body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2012
Fun for the office
The dress was missing a belt when I received it. It was too business-y for the cocktail party I was hosting anyway, but it would be cute for something professional related.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 24, 2012
Gorgeous red dress, but couldn't wear.
I rented this in a Large for a wedding, and didn't end up wearing it. The dress is beautiful, and zipped up just fine, but being a size 12, with curves and a large bust, the pleats curve with the dress and it just looks funny. The dress also did not come with the pictured sash, and at 5'7, this dress was so short I couldn't have sat down or bent over. Tall girls, beware! The dress was really pretty, though, and was in great condition, so I can't totally knock the dress, it just wasn't for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Was unable to wear for my event. For my hourglass figure, I was between sizes XS and S.
S had excess fabric for me (larger bust/hips, small waist) and didn't work belted or unbelted. XS fit better overall but wound up being a little short for the engagement party I was planning to attend.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 18, 2012
I felt so pretty!
It was a bit snug, but a gorgeous dress and lovely rich color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 19, 2012
I ordered this for a work event.
I didnt end up wear it. it just didnt look right on me. it was the wrong length and a bit baggy. Also, the material is deconstructed and sewn back together. It would be edgy if the silhouette wasnt so classic. It ends up looking a bit messy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2012
gorgeous color, loose around the waist
I loved the bright red color and flirty skirt! The only con was that the accordion pleating down the bust only accentuated my problem areas. I did not end up wearing the dress, I rented it as my backup dress and the fabric was too formal for the party i was attending.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2012
Loved the color! It was a great shade of red for a fall wedding in PA
Very sweet dress and it fit very well. I wasn't aware of how 'ribbed' the fabric was, and some of the front design was pressed in the opposite direction (probably caused at the dry cleaners). I probably was the only person who could notice it, but it did bug me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2012
Runs a bit large
Runs a bit large in the waist and hips, but if you put a different belt with it - it would look nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
Love the Color
The dress was perfect for engagement party. It was very comfortable and everyone loved the red!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 29, 2012
Not for me
My dress was missing the belt. It was very loose and the fabric was not what I expected. The color was nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
January 1, 2013
Not a flattering design
While the color of this dress is beautiful for a winter wedding like the one I was attending, the pleating (ridges? I don't know what to call them) that surrounds the entire dress made it easy to see every lump on my body despite wearing spanx. It also falls a lot shorter (right on the thighs) than it appears on the model- and I'm only 5'5"... 5'6" on a good day. The flared part of the dress fell right below my butt. There also was a thicker ridge/pleat that ran down the center of the dress that I could not get to sit straight so it looked like the dress was askew when I wore it. I had to run out and buy a dress because this one looked bad. The photo on the model is very misleading. Wouldn't rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 185lbs
January 7, 2013
Fab Color & Fab Fit!
This dress is much prettier in person and the detail is fabulous. I rented this for my friend's rehearsal dinner and I got so many compliments on it. The fit was great but the belt/sash is definitely necessary to help define your waist. My only "complaint" was the length of the dress. I usually don't wear anything super short (especially to wedding events), but the dress was shorter than I expected it to be but definitely not too short. Since the wedding was in January, I paired the dress with black tights and it worked out perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2013
Fun and flirty
I rented this dress for our family outing for Christmas Eve. The dress was a beautiful red color and was very soft. I rented a medium (as it was the only size available) and the dress fit well. The only thing about the dress is that, if you're not comfortable with your tummy, I would recommend wearing some sort of Spanx garment because the material of the dress can be very clingy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2013
Great color! Seriously! Perfect for a birthday! Bonito color! Muy adorable y diferente.
The belt was missing so I had to McGyver it. The small size fit better but it was super-short and very snug on la panza. Not good. I went with the medium because it was long enough to approach the knees. This dress is great for dinners and standing around with a drink looking off into the distant; not so much for spinning on the dance floor (unless you want to show off your tanga style). Es cute but I'll be testing out more dance-appropriate styles later. But the color! Oh so beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2013
I thought it was a bit a ill fitting or not suitable for a person with hips.
The rental did not come with the red belt. Not forgiving in mid section. BEAUTIFUL COLOR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2013
Beautiful color and details!
I wore this for a dinner date. I wore the small. I will categorize it as true to size, but just a note to anyone very curvy: I am small framed for my waist but curvy on the bottom (13 inch difference between natural waist and fullest part of bottom/hips) and the start of the ruffles section hit/was stuck right at the widest part of my bottom, but using the included ribbon sash completely helped because it brought the bottom part of the dress up a little bit, allowing the hem to move freely on the bottom. But for more proportional folks, should be very true to size. I didn't feel like it was too short standing but when I sat down it seemed really short, just be aware. The color and details (nice pleating and ruffles!) are so beautiful in real life. I felt classy yet flirty and the BF loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 13, 2013
Lady in Red!
Love this dress and my husband did, too. Really cute and quite flattering :)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×