Rent the Runway

ERIN erin fetherston

Wedding Cake Dress

$60 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look sweet as ever in this super feminine frock by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Perfect for a bridal shower or brunch with your girlfriends. Shown here with the Kendra Scott's Grayce Necklace and Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and straps run slightly on the long side
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and straps run slightly on the long side
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cream jacquard(100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

240 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 116
Large 101
Photos 135
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 29, 2013

Great look but a little too short.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I really loved this dress and it worked out well for my engagement photos. I didnt give it 5 stars because of the length...I would have prefered to wear a size smaller which would have fit my waist better however it was so short i couldn't.
Lily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 9, 2013

Not what I expected.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was very excited to get this dress I thought it was gorgeous on the model and was hoping it would be the same on me. It wasn't. Maybe I'm too short for the dress. The shoulders didn't fit me well and the length was almost to my knees. The fit was all off and the pattern reminded me of my grandmas curtains. It was nothing like I thought it would be. A major disappointment and I didn't end up wearing it.
elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Apr 12, 2013

I FELT LIKE A PRINCESS

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I RENTED THIS FOR MY BRIDAL SHOWER, AND IT FIT ME LIKE A GLOVE. I FELT LIKE THE PRINCESS OF MY PARTY. RENT THE RUNWAY WAS ABLE TO WORK WITH ME, WHEN THEY DIDNT HAVE ANOTHER DRESS I ORDERED BC SOMEONE DIDNT RETURN IT. OTHER THAN THAT ITS WAS FAB!!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

Cute but not super comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love the idea of this dress and think it could be great if tailored. For me, the straps were too long and the bust too tight. I usually wear a 4, but there's no way those straps were staying on, and there was a huge gap in the back. So luckily I had a back-up size 2 which still didn't fit great. It squeezed my chest which wasn't flattering because it's also VERY low cut; but at least the straps were a little tighter. Overall it was still cute for my bridal shower and I got a lot of compliments.
taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 27, 2013

Cute, classy but way too big

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The shoulder straps were so long/big that I had to return the dress and did not wear it
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 2, 2013

Not what I expected.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I will admit, it was my fault for not paying closer attention to the details of the dress. I got the dress for my engagement photos and sent it back the same day. However, I did not expect the fabric, I had assumed it would be a lighter fabric, it was heavier and more like my grandma's drapes. If you know this, then you will love the dress.
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 4, 2013

Really cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress would've been perfect if I could have ordered a 2. It was way too big on me. But very pretty fabric and I'm very upset it didn't work out!
Jenny
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 5, 2013

The number of compliments I got for this dress. AND the free Neutrogena products!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have 2 critiques for this dress.. 1) The straps are too long (had to use safety pins). 2) The fabric is beautiful but it can be a little itchy at the underarm area.. like it starts to be a little painful/irritating. But other than that, I got so many compliments for this dress and I felt really pretty in it :)
audrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 9, 2013

not for short girls

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very pretty in person. It's less white and more cream, not the way it looks online at all. It's fitted at the waist, which would have been fine if I were a few inches taller. I'm only 5'2", and the straps were a good 4 inches too long. I tried to pin them, but there was so much extra fabric it just wasn't acceptable. I ended up not wearing it.
Anjali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 15, 2013

Nice dress, but didn't wear...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was a really nice dress that I saw on Anthropologie's website, but when I received it, it was a weird shape. The size 6 was too big up top for me and in size 4, it smushed my boobs. So I ended wearing a dress from Saks that I bought for my engagement party.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
May 16, 2013

Very cute dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Straps were really long so I had to pin them back but overall the dress fit well.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 21, 2013

I returned this dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I returned it because it was too long for my height. I am 5'2" so most things end up being too long on me. Otherwise the dress looked great and fit true to size. RTR was GREAT with the return and the transaction was seamless.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
May 22, 2013

Beautiful dress, expect long straps

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit true to size and was gorgeous. It was the perfect pick for a graduation ceremony. The straps were definitely long (as expected based on previous reviews) so that's something you may want to prepare for. Aside from that, it cinches the waist and is a cute cream color with thick brocade fabric. It doesn't wrinkle very easily and will continue to keep its shape. Overall, it was beautiful!
Alec
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 29, 2013

I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was a back up, but it is a beautiful material!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'9'' and it was very short and also very tight around the bust, but still a very beautiful fabric and design, if you have pale skin just be weary that it could wash you out
Eryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

I was so excited for wear this for my graduation but found the dress awkward and unflattering.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
As much as I wanted to love this dress, I found the bust area fit awkwardly, so much so that I had to return both sizes to RTR. The straps were too long on both the size 4 and 6 for me, and despite the size 4 fitting almost everywhere else, the bust area smushed my chest and was extremely unflattering. The size 6 was too large, again with the exception of the bust area. I would not recommend renting this dress if you are over a D cup, or do not have a long enough torso to accommodate the straps.
B
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

It was a sad moment!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm sad to report this but I never actually got wear the dress. I rented it for my wedding as my second dress. Once I actually tried on the dress it was to big :-(. My wedding was the next day so it was to late to return the dress. Over all I was sad I couldn't wear the dress but I have to say that the over all RTR experience was quick and easy. I hope to rent from RTR again in the future.
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

Perfect dress for my bridal shower!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress is beautiful on! I received so many compliments! I added a skinny braided gold belt & wore neutral pumps. The straps were a little long for me but I wore the rental necklace that took up chest room. Otherwise I felt bare without it. The dress hit me just above the knee which was good for my event. Def recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

Lovely

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
it is a lovely dress as stated in all the other reviews and YES the straps are long as well. I thought the material to be a little scratchy under the skirt so if you are sensitive to that move on to another dress or be prepare to wear a short slip. My personal opinion is that I wish I chose another dress for this time of year (June) I believe the dress has a heavy look to it that is better suited to fall/winter that you cant really see in the photos, it is thick and weighty
Kathryn
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

Very pretty dress, comfortable to wear.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 10 with a 12 as a backup. I own other Erin Fetherston dresses and always wear a size 10. Unfortunately, the size 10 had a small but noticeable black spot on the waist area. I didn't have a back-up dress, so I had to wear the 12. The straps were long and the dress was big on me, but it worked okay. I would have preferred to wear the size 10, which looked fantastic.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

I couldn't wear it! :( Was beautiful but the top was not big enough for full bust.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The 6 was perfect for the fit in the waist but DEF not for a full bust. The 8 was baggy in the waist but still not in the top for a full bust.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Jun 19, 2013

pretty, but oddly shaped

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is not a dress for long waisted girls! Overall, the proportions were just odd, and I feel like you have to have a very specific body type, similar to the model, for it to look good. The fabric was heavier than I expected, and I probably wouldn't rent it for a spring / summer event.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 24, 2013

Looked amazing for rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress but the shoulder straps were big.
kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Great Dress, just not for my body type.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fits true to size, it's a heavier jacquard material, an ivory/taupe with gold hue. I loved it on the hanger but I have a long torso and it cut me in half so I ended up not wearing it to my wedding shower.
Katherine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

Great, but straps were too long!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric of this dress is stunning! And the quality of the structure is so luxurious. I was so sad to find that my torso is so short the the straps ended up being 2.5-3" too long and unpinnable. It would've been great if I wasn't so short. This dress is meant for someone with a long torso!
E
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 4, 2013

The dress was classy and simple -- perfect for attending a graduation!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Like other reviewers have said, the straps were a little long -- I didn't tape them, just wore a padded bra so my chest filled out some of the extra space up top. The 2 fit perfectly (I'm between a 2 and a 4 normally) and the fabric was rich and thicker than I expected but not too hot for a May graduation.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

So grateful to RTR for such an easy process!!! Will order again!!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size but the straps were pinned as mentioned in comments below. Worn for save the date photographs and bridal shower. The dress is ivory and very glam! Totally obsessed!
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 8, 2013

Perfect for my bridal shower!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Really comfy, flattering and cute! The fabric is made with a heavier weight material...and definitely doesn't give the impression of it being cheap. Really loved the dress as it accentuated my body in the right places and was very appropriate for my derby themed bridal shower. However, keep in mind that the straps are indeed long as everyone else has commented. It's wearable...but in order for it to hit you at the bustline appropriately...you will have to either pin it up or do a quick hand sew.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 9, 2013

Elegant and classy dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a night out with the gals. It looks great with a statement necklace and gold heels. The material is quite thick, which I didn't expect, but it wasn't a bad thing! Since I'm tall it hit me in the same spot as the model on the website, but I can see it being quite long on others. Not sure if that's helpful, but I felt like mentioning it! I would recommend this for a brunch, dinner date, or afternoon garden party type of event. It's not quite right for a night out dancing at bars, but I made it work :)
NikL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 26, 2013

Did not work out

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress in my normal size (and a back up size) and both ran large very large. The shoulder straps were too long and there was a lot of extra fabric around the chest area. Luckily the RTR staff was helpful and walked me through returning this and was able to get me a new dress that day.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 28, 2013

Darker than it looks

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought this dress was much darker than it photographs - almost tan rather than white or ivory. I rented it for Diner en Blanc and felt it was too dark to pass for white, so didn't wear it. The fabric is luxurious, but very heavy. I also felt that the bodice was pretty narrow, but it did make for a nice small waist / full skirt contrast (if breathing comfortably isn't terribly important to you). I did notice that even in the short time I had it on, the heavy fabric under the arms felt uncomfortable.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Aug 30, 2013

Runs large

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The material is heavy. I would equate it to drapery and wear it during the winter. Cute though, but I didn't wear it. Returned it for an Erin Fetherston dress.
Kerianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

straps and waist disproportionate

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear to my law school graduation. The dress fits very weird as the waist was super tight and the dress short but the straps wayyy too long. I couldn't even pin them without it looking terrible because there was just too much material. The straps would have to have been undone and completely altered in order for this to fit me. Maybe if you have an abnormally long torso this could work? Its a shame because the material is beautiful!
christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

Pretty dress - for bustier girls

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress as a backup for my bridal shower. The review I read were true to form - the dress was cute (a bit longer than I expected) but the straps were a bit long. The dress I ended up receiving seemed a bit worn as well. It was an okay option but I liked the other dress I rented better and wore that instead.
Dmarie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

Perfect Wedding Shower Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and loved it! Its a nice thick material and very flattering. My only complaint is that the straps were too big, so i had to pin them back. Other than that, i definitely recommend! Normally i wear a size 4 or 6 so i would definitely go down if between sizes!
Sugar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 28, 2013

This dress runs large.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented the 0 and 2, and ended up wearing the 0 (which still was too big). It was a little loose in the stomach area, which wasn't a big deal. But I had to pin the straps and make this ugly fold for it fit right. If you have a small torso, this dress is not for you. Other then that, the material is beautiful.
Nicole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 12, 2013

I got married on 10.05.13!!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I got married on October 5th and ordered this dress to wear for our after party. We had a daytime wedding and invited everyone to go out after to sing karaoke since that is how my husband and I met. This dress seemed perfect just enough to say "I just got married" but still simple enough to go to a bar/restaurant. I ordered the 6 since that is my usual size with the 4 as a backup. I tried the 4 on first and although the waist fit perfect the top was HUGE! I must add that I am a 32 triple D. Unfortunately I was unable to wear the dress. It is absolutely beautiful, the material is high quality, the straps are just too long/large at the top. Luckily I had a back up plan of maroon pants with a hand knit, white, lace top.I will definitely rent from Rent the Runway again. This was my second rental and the fit of the dress plays no part in how great their service is.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

Got so many compliments; I felt so beautiful!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was so pretty! I wore this to a special semi-formal church event. The straps were large, and since I didn't feel comfortable showing that much cleavage at this particular event, I had to secure them tighter. Also, the waist is snug and the seam on the inside of the waist was a bit itchy. Minor things to deal with when the dress is this gorgeous. I got tons of compliments and just felt overall fabulous in this dress.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 1, 2014

Weird fit-- long straps

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Fits like a classic skater outfit and straps are super long...
Kaitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 7, 2014

Great dress for a party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Although I wasn't able to wear this dress to my engagement party because it got stuck in transit during a snow storm, I will definitely be ordering it for one of my wedding events again. As the reviews noted, the dress does run slightly large. I fit perfectly into a size 6, and usually I wear a size 8. The straps weren't too long for me, but I have a long torso. Overall, the quality was great and it was a perfect dress for a wedding event. Very flattering on my hourglass figure as well.
julie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 12, 2014

This dress was perfect for my bridal shower! I got a lot of compliments and it fit perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was impeccable! The service was quick and easy! And I felt so cute and beautiful!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×