Wedding Cake Dress

$109 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Look sweet as ever in this super feminine frock by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Perfect for a bridal shower or brunch with your girlfriends. Shown here with the Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and straps run slightly on the long side
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cream jacquard(100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
269 reviews
Fit
Large
(109)
True to Size
(123)
Small
(19)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2013
Dress was OK - the fabric is think and slightly itchy but its a nice dress.

A little long, i am 5'4''. Also will work will for bustier girl - i am a 32b

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
February 3, 2013
This dress was very pretty but I chose to wear another dress.

I rented this dress for my bridal shower as a back up and I decided to go with the other dress. I really did like this dress but I liked the other Erin bridal dress better. I still would recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2013
I LOVED THIS DRESS - IT WAS FOR MY WINTER FORMAL <3

THIS WAS A WONDERFUL DRESS - EVERYONE LOVED IT - THANKS RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2013
Awesome surprise! Feels more formal than the photo looks

I didn't originally order this dress but it was sent to me in lieu of another dress I ordered that got damaged and couldn't be sent. Thought the sylists at RTR did a great job choosing this for me and I LOVED the style and fit, it was just too fancy for the baptism I rented it for! The fabric is substantial enough that I felt structured and "contained" in my "problem" areas (ie my tummy). Would definitely order it again!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 4, 2013
It was the perfect dress for my engagement photos.

I ended up returning it and buying the dress to own since it was on clearance on her website. I needed the straps take up a couple inches and had it take in at the waist a bit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 4, 2013
Wore it to my bridal shower

Love the floral details, fit perfectly. Sweet and delicate, yet super fun and flirty

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 27, 2013
Perfect!

This dress is beautiful! I wish I didn't have to send it back. I went to a Barrister's Ball (law school prom) in it and it was very appropriate. Dress came 2" above my knee and the straps were a tad long for my torso. Had to pin it up. One thing I didn't like a lot was the feel of the material. Don't get me wrong- it looked so pretty, but it was kind of scratchy. I rented the 10 when I normally wear an 8 and it was fine. I just didn't want to feel like a sausage after the three course meal. The shape of the dress is SUPER complimentary too. OVERALL, I got a ton of compliments and I felt like a model. RENT IT

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
April 12, 2013
I FELT LIKE A PRINCESS

I RENTED THIS FOR MY BRIDAL SHOWER, AND IT FIT ME LIKE A GLOVE. I FELT LIKE THE PRINCESS OF MY PARTY. RENT THE RUNWAY WAS ABLE TO WORK WITH ME, WHEN THEY DIDNT HAVE ANOTHER DRESS I ORDERED BC SOMEONE DIDNT RETURN IT. OTHER THAN THAT ITS WAS FAB!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 19, 2013
Lovely and unique

Like everyone else has commented, this dress is more ivory than white with such a beautifully-detailed embroidery pattern throughout. I also had to pin the straps. Not sure if I tried to squeeze into too-small a size but the dress hit a bit high (natural waist-ish) it felt 60's retro in a fun, flirty way! Lots of compliments on this dress

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2013
Classy and stunning!

This dress was awesome! I didn't want anything too over the top for my friends junior prom, so I chose this short, cream dress. When it arrived I was thrown off because the color is actually cream and not white like it shows in the models picture (most close to the second picture). Clearly, in pictures it shows up as white. The dress has exquisite detailing with thick lace. Over the course of the night my arms did chaff against the sides. The torso piece did fit a little tight, which I did not mind at all However, the arms on the dress were a little loose, yet I could not have gone a size lower due to my torso. I felt so elegant in this dress, like Marilyn Monroe!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2013
Not what I expected.

I will admit, it was my fault for not paying closer attention to the details of the dress. I got the dress for my engagement photos and sent it back the same day. However, I did not expect the fabric, I had assumed it would be a lighter fabric, it was heavier and more like my grandma's drapes. If you know this, then you will love the dress.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2013
The number of compliments I got for this dress. AND the free Neutrogena products!

I have 2 critiques for this dress.. 1) The straps are too long (had to use safety pins). 2) The fabric is beautiful but it can be a little itchy at the underarm area.. like it starts to be a little painful/irritating. But other than that, I got so many compliments for this dress and I felt really pretty in it :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
May 13, 2013
Love this dress! I am now a fan of Erin Fetherston!

I was worried about the fit so I ordered this as my second dress. The straps were a little long on me like others mentioned, but I wore it to my bridal brunch and I wasn't going to wear it that long so I didn't care! I love love love the shape of this dress! So feminine and classic. I would want to own this if it weren't for the long straps! The fabric is much thicker than expected but very pretty. I loved both Erin Fetherston dresses I rented and even wore one of her dresses that I own to another event that weekend. Will definitely rent one of her dresses again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 15, 2013
I rented this dress for my bridal shower-it was BEYOND perfect! It photographs really well :)

I had read many of the reviews and checked out a lot of the other girls's pictures and I found the reviews and pictures to be very accurate. The size fits true to form, and just like the other girls said, the straps were long (I do have a short torso) and I pinned them back and they were fine. I got many compliments and felt great! I was so happy with this dress, and with the company, that I am renting another dress for an upcoming wedding, one for my bachelorette, and one for my dress rehearsal!

DianaMay 15, 2013
Just curious, how did you pin the sleeves back? Up top or at the bottom near your back? THANKS! Looks great :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 31, 2013
Perfect dress for a bride (with lots of fashion tape)

I wore this for my rehearsal dinner. The waist fit perfectly on the 4 but the straps were huge. I ended up taping/folding over almost two inches. I wore a shawl to cover the back because the folds looked awkward. The a-line is also a little more intense than pictured on the model.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
I was so excited for wear this for my graduation but found the dress awkward and unflattering.

As much as I wanted to love this dress, I found the bust area fit awkwardly, so much so that I had to return both sizes to RTR. The straps were too long on both the size 4 and 6 for me, and despite the size 4 fitting almost everywhere else, the bust area smushed my chest and was extremely unflattering. The size 6 was too large, again with the exception of the bust area. I would not recommend renting this dress if you are over a D cup, or do not have a long enough torso to accommodate the straps.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 12, 2013
The perfect dress for a bride-to-be!

I wore this to my rehearsal dinner, and got so many compliments on it! It was perfect for the occasion - fun and flirty, yet fancy enough to fit into the occasion. My friends could not believe how great it looked and how well it fit, especially that it was a rental. I absolutely loved it, and will likely rent it again! The reviews are true - the fabric is a bit scratchy, and the straps a bit large. Otherwise pretty true to size. Pair it with a great pair of pumps and you're set!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 15, 2013
Perfect for my bridal shower!

This dress was a perfect choice for my bridal shower. The fabric is gorgeous with rose details and gold thread throughout. As other reviewers have said the straps are very long but I was able to wear the dress as is anyway. By the end of the day my arms were a little scratched from the fabric, but it was so worth it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
June 17, 2013
Lovely

it is a lovely dress as stated in all the other reviews and YES the straps are long as well. I thought the material to be a little scratchy under the skirt so if you are sensitive to that move on to another dress or be prepare to wear a short slip. My personal opinion is that I wish I chose another dress for this time of year (June) I believe the dress has a heavy look to it that is better suited to fall/winter that you cant really see in the photos, it is thick and weighty

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163lbs
June 25, 2013
Loved that in came in a garment bag, great customer service.

I fit in the size 10 but with it being an outdoor bridal shower for myself I picked the 12 so it would be loose since it was 90 degrees out. The straps in the reviews are right, they were too long but it didn't bother me. The fit was so cute and I had so many compliments on it. I will say though after a few hours, the fabric was rubbing against the inside of my arms when I had them down. Other than that I loved the dress and it was a perfect choice for my bridal shower! Thanks RTR.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 3, 2013
Felt elegant and bridal for my wedding rehearsal

This fabric of this dress is lovely and very well made. It is somewhat heavy, especially for a summer event, but I kept cool enough. As other reviewers have said, the straps are long and will fall down if you don't pin them. Other than that, I loved the dress. It is fitted in the waist and has a cute flare out at the hips. I received many compliments on the dress at my rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. Even my priest told me that if the dress was longer, it could be a wedding dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2013
Beautiful ivory brocade!

I rented this dress for my bridal shower. In person, it's more ivory and beige than white, but it photographs so well!! I received a ton of compliments and felt like a million bucks wearing it. The straps were just a tad too big, but it wasn't a huge issue. I opted for no strapless bra, although the dress does allow for strapless or regular. I highly recommend it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 26, 2013
Great, but straps were too long!

The fabric of this dress is stunning! And the quality of the structure is so luxurious. I was so sad to find that my torso is so short the the straps ended up being 2.5-3" too long and unpinnable. It would've been great if I wasn't so short. This dress is meant for someone with a long torso!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 8, 2013
Perfect for my bridal shower!

Really comfy, flattering and cute! The fabric is made with a heavier weight material...and definitely doesn't give the impression of it being cheap. Really loved the dress as it accentuated my body in the right places and was very appropriate for my derby themed bridal shower. However, keep in mind that the straps are indeed long as everyone else has commented. It's wearable...but in order for it to hit you at the bustline appropriately...you will have to either pin it up or do a quick hand sew.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 28, 2013
Darker than it looks

I thought this dress was much darker than it photographs - almost tan rather than white or ivory. I rented it for Diner en Blanc and felt it was too dark to pass for white, so didn't wear it. The fabric is luxurious, but very heavy. I also felt that the bodice was pretty narrow, but it did make for a nice small waist / full skirt contrast (if breathing comfortably isn't terribly important to you). I did notice that even in the short time I had it on, the heavy fabric under the arms felt uncomfortable.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2013
Very easy to rent. Arrived on time and return is a cinch!

Beautiful dress, great quality. Although I felt like under the arms were too low because there was to much material for the straps. Also made my hips feel very wide. Overall not my style of dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
September 22, 2013
Pretty dress - for bustier girls

I rented this dress as a backup for my bridal shower. The review I read were true to form - the dress was cute (a bit longer than I expected) but the straps were a bit long. The dress I ended up receiving seemed a bit worn as well. It was an okay option but I liked the other dress I rented better and wore that instead.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2013
Perfect Wedding Shower Dress!

I wore this dress to my bridal shower and loved it! Its a nice thick material and very flattering. My only complaint is that the straps were too big, so i had to pin them back. Other than that, i definitely recommend! Normally i wear a size 4 or 6 so i would definitely go down if between sizes!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 7, 2013
I ordered this dress for my engagement party and it was perfect for the occasion.

The fabric was heavy so it was perfect for fall but also scratchy and I noticed it kept rubbing up against my arms. The straps fit fine, but it ran quite small in the waist but perfect everywhere else. Overall it is a beautiful bride-y dress, and the details of it really pop in photos.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 11, 2013
Gorgeous dress for my Engagement Party!

This dress was perfect my engagement party! I ordered a size 2 and 4 and went with the 2. The straps were long, however, it was totally workable. I got nothing but compliments all evening long and everyone wanted to know where I got the dress. The fabric was absolutely stunning and I didn't feel like it was too scratchy at all. I would definitely rent this one again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
November 15, 2013
I felt beautiful all night!

I loved this dress so much! I wore it for my rehearsal dinner and received soooo many compliments. This was my first experience with RTR so I wasn't sure what size to get. The 4 was a little big in the waist and it's true what other people said about the straps being loose but it wasn't to the point where they were falling down or anything. I'm glad I went with the 4 because i'm bigger chested and i had no problems wearing a strapless bra with this dress! It was so comfortable and I loved the pattern details. I don't have hips so I loved how it flared out at the waist to give me more of a shape.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 24, 2013
Great experience! Delivered on time, clean, easy...with a dozen white roses!!!

This dress was perfect for wearing when my husband and I left our wedding reception. It was a little big (maybe it was stretched out), but not too big not to work. It was fun, flirty, and classic. The dress and earrings, which I wore for my wedding as well, were delivered on time and were easy to send back.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2013
Perfect classy party dress!

Great dress. Super cute. Comfortable. Fit perfect.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2013
perfect winter white for a holiday party!

The length was great--not too short, a couple inches above my knee--which worked out because it was pretty low cut up top. The fabric was good quality too. Loved the dress but the only problem was the straps were a little bit loose, which didnt make sense because the rest of the dress fit perfectly. The size 4 wasnt available so not sure if that would have made a difference. Overall i was happy with the dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 12, 2014
This dress was perfect for my bridal shower! I got a lot of compliments and it fit perfect!

The fit was impeccable! The service was quick and easy! And I felt so cute and beautiful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
January 12, 2014
Afterparty Wedding Dress!

After a bit of drama with my original rental, this was a last minute decision and I'm SO glad it worked out! For my petite frame, the straps were definitely a bit long, but nothing a few tacking stitches couldn't take care of. I loved that my original belt from my wedding dress worked SO well with this. Such a great dress to party the night away!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
January 22, 2014
I felt like a princess all day in this dress. It was comfy, cute, and flawless!

I wore this dress for my engagement party with over 100 people there. Everyone loved the dress and it was so perfect for my figure. I'm very busty up top and it was important for me to have a dress that would work well with my bust and small waist. This dress was it! I loved the dress so much! It fit so well and the length was perfect considering that I'm tall! With a cute pair of tights and heels, it worked well!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 30, 2014
This dress is an attention getter.

Extremely flattering for 5'2" 145 lbs pear shape girl. I wore a size 6 and the straps were a little too long--better for a larger busted girl. It is a short dress, but because of my height, it wasn't too short--hit a few inches above the knee. The fabric is heavy and has a pattern which some would say is best for winter. However, I wore this in July and didn't feel out of season at all. I didn't find it itchy. I loved it, and I've been looking for a place that sells this dress so I can buy it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
January 30, 2014
The dress arrived and it was much prettier in person than in the picture.

The straps on the dress were way too long. I have pretty decent size boobs and I would need to pin the dress to be able to wear it. The overall fit of the dress is flattering though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 104lbs
February 10, 2014
Gorgeous

This material was the most luxurious I have ever worn. I have been searching in vain for it to buy this dress, but no longer on sale. Hoping for Rent the Runway to include it in their big blowout (Hint, Hint). It was a little tight at the bust, but it was an overall extremely comfortable fit. I agree with the other reviewers that the straps were a little long, but as this helped the bust issue, I had no problems.

See more reviews:
5 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×