ERIN erin fetherston

Wedding Cake Dress

$60 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look sweet as ever in this super feminine frock by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Perfect for a bridal shower or brunch with your girlfriends. Shown here with the Kendra Scott's Grayce Necklace and Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and straps run slightly on the long side
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and straps run slightly on the long side
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cream jacquard(100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

223 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 108
Large 98
Photos 126
NikL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 26, 2013

Did not work out

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress in my normal size (and a back up size) and both ran large very large. The shoulder straps were too long and there was a lot of extra fabric around the chest area. Luckily the RTR staff was helpful and walked me through returning this and was able to get me a new dress that day.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 28, 2013

Darker than it looks

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought this dress was much darker than it photographs - almost tan rather than white or ivory. I rented it for Diner en Blanc and felt it was too dark to pass for white, so didn't wear it. The fabric is luxurious, but very heavy. I also felt that the bodice was pretty narrow, but it did make for a nice small waist / full skirt contrast (if breathing comfortably isn't terribly important to you). I did notice that even in the short time I had it on, the heavy fabric under the arms felt uncomfortable.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Aug 30, 2013

Runs large

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The material is heavy. I would equate it to drapery and wear it during the winter. Cute though, but I didn't wear it. Returned it for an Erin Fetherston dress.
Kerianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

straps and waist disproportionate

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear to my law school graduation. The dress fits very weird as the waist was super tight and the dress short but the straps wayyy too long. I couldn't even pin them without it looking terrible because there was just too much material. The straps would have to have been undone and completely altered in order for this to fit me. Maybe if you have an abnormally long torso this could work? Its a shame because the material is beautiful!
christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

Pretty dress - for bustier girls

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress as a backup for my bridal shower. The review I read were true to form - the dress was cute (a bit longer than I expected) but the straps were a bit long. The dress I ended up receiving seemed a bit worn as well. It was an okay option but I liked the other dress I rented better and wore that instead.
Dmarie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

Perfect Wedding Shower Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and loved it! Its a nice thick material and very flattering. My only complaint is that the straps were too big, so i had to pin them back. Other than that, i definitely recommend! Normally i wear a size 4 or 6 so i would definitely go down if between sizes!
Sugar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 28, 2013

This dress runs large.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented the 0 and 2, and ended up wearing the 0 (which still was too big). It was a little loose in the stomach area, which wasn't a big deal. But I had to pin the straps and make this ugly fold for it fit right. If you have a small torso, this dress is not for you. Other then that, the material is beautiful.
Nicole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 12, 2013

I got married on 10.05.13!!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I got married on October 5th and ordered this dress to wear for our after party. We had a daytime wedding and invited everyone to go out after to sing karaoke since that is how my husband and I met. This dress seemed perfect just enough to say "I just got married" but still simple enough to go to a bar/restaurant. I ordered the 6 since that is my usual size with the 4 as a backup. I tried the 4 on first and although the waist fit perfect the top was HUGE! I must add that I am a 32 triple D. Unfortunately I was unable to wear the dress. It is absolutely beautiful, the material is high quality, the straps are just too long/large at the top. Luckily I had a back up plan of maroon pants with a hand knit, white, lace top.I will definitely rent from Rent the Runway again. This was my second rental and the fit of the dress plays no part in how great their service is.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

Got so many compliments; I felt so beautiful!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was so pretty! I wore this to a special semi-formal church event. The straps were large, and since I didn't feel comfortable showing that much cleavage at this particular event, I had to secure them tighter. Also, the waist is snug and the seam on the inside of the waist was a bit itchy. Minor things to deal with when the dress is this gorgeous. I got tons of compliments and just felt overall fabulous in this dress.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 1, 2014

Weird fit-- long straps

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Fits like a classic skater outfit and straps are super long...
Kaitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 7, 2014

Great dress for a party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Although I wasn't able to wear this dress to my engagement party because it got stuck in transit during a snow storm, I will definitely be ordering it for one of my wedding events again. As the reviews noted, the dress does run slightly large. I fit perfectly into a size 6, and usually I wear a size 8. The straps weren't too long for me, but I have a long torso. Overall, the quality was great and it was a perfect dress for a wedding event. Very flattering on my hourglass figure as well.
julie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 12, 2014

This dress was perfect for my bridal shower! I got a lot of compliments and it fit perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was impeccable! The service was quick and easy! And I felt so cute and beautiful!
Lily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 24, 2014

I was disappointed with this dress. It was too large and an awkward off-white color

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 0 or 2 so I ordered both from RTR. The 2 was HUGE around the arms - they gaped in a very unattractive way. The 0 was better but it still didn't fit right around the arms. The color was also more beigey/yellow toned than I expected. Soooo disappointed! It looked so cute on the model but not cute at all in person. I wore it to get my hair done and then took it right off!
Kelly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Jan 28, 2014

I wish I was able to wear the dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I was very unhappy with the results I received from this dress. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and both were extremely large on me. While I typically wear a size 4 in dresses, I would most likely be a double 0 in this piece. It is so pretty though and I wish it had fit!
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 30, 2014

This dress is an attention getter.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Extremely flattering for 5'2" 145 lbs pear shape girl. I wore a size 6 and the straps were a little too long--better for a larger busted girl. It is a short dress, but because of my height, it wasn't too short--hit a few inches above the knee. The fabric is heavy and has a pattern which some would say is best for winter. However, I wore this in July and didn't feel out of season at all. I didn't find it itchy. I loved it, and I've been looking for a place that sells this dress so I can buy it.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Jan 30, 2014

The dress arrived and it was much prettier in person than in the picture.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The straps on the dress were way too long. I have pretty decent size boobs and I would need to pin the dress to be able to wear it. The overall fit of the dress is flattering though.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 104 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Gorgeous

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This material was the most luxurious I have ever worn. I have been searching in vain for it to buy this dress, but no longer on sale. Hoping for Rent the Runway to include it in their big blowout (Hint, Hint). It was a little tight at the bust, but it was an overall extremely comfortable fit. I agree with the other reviewers that the straps were a little long, but as this helped the bust issue, I had no problems.
Natasha
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 18, 2014

Pretty but Too Big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I am so sad that I did not get to wear either dress. It was a very pretty and well made dress. The size 12 ran much too big in the straps and waist and the 10 was too small in the bust.
Marilyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

Too small :(

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love the color and design of the fabric however the fit of the dress was too tight around the bust. I unfortunately could not get the dress zipped up. I would recommend going a size up.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

Not as flattering as the photo

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I didn't feel very pretty in this one - the waist was a bit short and the textured fabric made me feel lumpy. Had to go up a size trying to make it feel longer in the torso. Just OK dress.
Kaitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

Perfect for my bridal shower!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got both size 6 and 8, the 8 was baggy and the 6 was great! The straps seemed long but it was hardly noticeable. Received so many compliments, highly recommended!
Krystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Feb 23, 2014

Great dress for engagement party.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Like other reviewers stated, the straps are SUPER long, so I was prepared and needed to safety pin the straps in the back (like, overlapping a good 3-4 inches). The chest area was tight, but the overall fit is very flattering. Pattern and fabric are nicer and dressier in person.
kate
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 15
Feb 25, 2014

Great dress! Runs a little big, but you can fix that with fashion tape. Overall I would recommend

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress, just runs a little big
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 13, 2014

I wore this dress for the after party at my wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the perfect length and fit around my waist (hugs around your rib cage). The straps were a bit long making it a plunging V but since I am not busty, that was OK. On a more busty person, it may be a bit much. Beautiful fabric. Fun and flirty!
JT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

I got tons of complements!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The bodice was really snug in a good way, it perked up the ladies and made my waist look tiny! The skirt was a lot longer on me given my height of only 5'3" but it fell above the knee and was very flattering. Even though I have a fair complexion I didn't feel this dress washed me out. I'd get it again in a heartbeat, I loved this dress!
L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 12, 2014

Size down!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress i have a small waist and curvy bottom so the 4 fit great up top and the bottom was loose enough!
Madeline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 17, 2014

Elegant but fun

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The material was a little heavy for a late spring occasion but it still was a great dress. Runs larger than expected, but was a great length since I'm tall.
Cristina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

Beautiful, flattering dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress for my court wedding. It was perfect! The fit on top was flattering and cinched my waist perfectly. The flare of the skirt was not too big or too small either. The fabric is thick with beautiful detailing. I am a 34C and needed to wear a bra to hold up the girls, I don't recommend a thickly padded bra because it would be too tight if you are my size.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Perfect Dress! UPDATE- watch out for torn zipper!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
** UPDATED review** I loved this dress so much that I rented it a second time. Unfortunately I had a very different experience the second time. The dress had obviously been worn a lot, because the zipper was pulling away from the dress at the seam to the point where it wouldn't zip up at all. I had plenty of room to fit into it, but the wear on the zipper made it impossible to get on (even with a lot of help from my fiancé). I was really disappointed because I didn't realize this until right before my event. I didn't try it on when it was first delivered since I had rented it before and knew it would fit. Make sure to check that the zipper isn't torn (look closely) when you first open the package! First Review: I rented this dress for my bridal shower and it was a huge hit! My only complaint would be that the fabric was a little scratchy under the arms, but that's only if I had to pick something to complain about. Overall, I loved the dress! I'm just sad that I couldn't keep it.
Janelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Simple and glamorous

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to my rehearsal dinner. Felt like this style worked well for my pear shaped body and wasn't too short on my short frame.
Carter
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
May 1, 2014

It was on a lake, warm, and with great friends!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress, BUT it didn't fit. I'm usually a size 0, but the 0 in this dress was a little snug around my waist and the straps were too LONG! It was a dress made of a super small waist-ed, but tall person. A shame too, because the style and fabric of the dress is absolutely beautiful. Wish it had worked out!
hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
May 13, 2014

I didn't end up wearing this dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress was very pretty in person, and has a lovely jacquard texture, but it runs big! The 0 was quite loose on me, and the waist hit at a funny point. Such a bummer!
Allme
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 28, 2014

Wedding rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to my rehearsal dinner, and thought it looks amazing. I got a ton of compliments, perfect for all the pears out there!!
Amanda
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 28, 2014

Bridal Shower

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately received it and tried it online too late to be refunded, it didn't fit well at all with the straps. Had to go out and get a replacement dress night before my bridal shower.
Meredith
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

It was great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had a little more cleavage showing (than I usually show at least) with this dress, but I loved it anyways!
Brandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 109 lbs
Jun 7, 2014

Beautiful

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Rented for my bridal shower but didn't end up wearing it. Just was not the look I was going for. The dress was large around my bust and the skirt flared to much. The colors is not as white as it looks either. The fabric reminded me of a bedspread my nana used to have! The length is good and it is definitly worth the rent if this is the style you are looking for.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Jun 17, 2014

Wore it for my bridal shower and loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Had to pin the straps up because they were too long but the rest of the fit was great!
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Jul 8, 2014

Straps are way too big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I couldn't wear this dress and had to return it. The straps kept falling off my shoulders.
Mary Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

Unfortunately I couldn't wear the dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress came with a brown stain on the front of the skirt. Looked like a cigarette burn. Cute dress though. Skirt was fuller than I pictured.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Lovely fabric and overall design, not for short torsos!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
First of all, I thought the dress was stunning when I opened the package. I rented this for my wedding rehearsal dinner in a size 4 and a back up size 6, the 4 fit well in the waist. I agree with many other reviews that you need a longer torso to wear this dress. I would have needed to pin the straps of the dress in order to prevent the V-neck from falling BELOW my bust line. I was running late and had a spare dress, which I wore instead. Another thing to note is that there is actually a seam down the middle in the front, which I thought would look weird, but didn't when I put it on. I really wish I could have made this dress work.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×