Wedding Cake Dress

$109 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Look sweet as ever in this super feminine frock by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Perfect for a bridal shower or brunch with your girlfriends. Shown here with the Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and straps run slightly on the long side
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cream jacquard(100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
271 reviews
Fit
Large
(109)
True to Size
(124)
Small
(19)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 12, 2013
I got married on 10.05.13!!!

I got married on October 5th and ordered this dress to wear for our after party. We had a daytime wedding and invited everyone to go out after to sing karaoke since that is how my husband and I met. This dress seemed perfect just enough to say "I just got married" but still simple enough to go to a bar/restaurant. I ordered the 6 since that is my usual size with the 4 as a backup. I tried the 4 on first and although the waist fit perfect the top was HUGE! I must add that I am a 32 triple D. Unfortunately I was unable to wear the dress. It is absolutely beautiful, the material is high quality, the straps are just too long/large at the top. Luckily I had a back up plan of maroon pants with a hand knit, white, lace top.I will definitely rent from Rent the Runway again. This was my second rental and the fit of the dress plays no part in how great their service is.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 7, 2014
Great dress for a party

Although I wasn't able to wear this dress to my engagement party because it got stuck in transit during a snow storm, I will definitely be ordering it for one of my wedding events again. As the reviews noted, the dress does run slightly large. I fit perfectly into a size 6, and usually I wear a size 8. The straps weren't too long for me, but I have a long torso. Overall, the quality was great and it was a perfect dress for a wedding event. Very flattering on my hourglass figure as well.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 5, 2014
I did not end up wearing it bc the straps were too long and did not cover my bra straps/slipped off

Fabric is substantial and not see through even though it is white. Cute fit/flare style. Straps are overly long. Needs a belt

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 23, 2014
Runs Large!

I was swimming in the 0! It was also much of a lower cut than it appears in the model's picture. Unwearable to the type of function that I had rented this dress for. Unfortunate because the pattern/fabric of the dress is so lush.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 17, 2014
Elegant but fun

The material was a little heavy for a late spring occasion but it still was a great dress. Runs larger than expected, but was a great length since I'm tall.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Age: 29
December 8, 2015
I was looking for a great dress for my elopement.

While this dress was gorgeous, it was cut too low for my taste (and cleavage amount), and the straps were too loose at the top.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 7, 2016
Perfect graduation dress

I rented this dress for my graduation ceremony and it was wonderful. Although the dress fit perfectly around my waist, the straps were way too long - I had to pin both straps about 2 inches on each side in order for it to fit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
January 7, 2017
I loved this dress! I wore it for my wedding rehearsal dinner and it was perfect.

This dress was great! I wore a beaded belt to dress it up and it was perfect for my wedding rehearsal dinner. I would definitely rent again.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
December 26, 2012
I had to return it.

This dress had a very awkward fit. The straps were too long in both the 8 and the 10 and in both dresses the bottom half of the slip was too tight. The way the zipper was sewn in the lining and the dress made a very noticeable bump on my butt and made the fit horrible. I have been happy with previous rentals but this dress was not satisfactory.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
January 13, 2013
So many compliments!

I had so many compliments on this dress! I wore it for my senior social and out of the majority of the girls that were there I was definitely\y dressed the most classy and the most mature. The straps were a little big, but it just helped me to keep my posture up!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 29, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was a back up, but it is a beautiful material!!

I am 5'9'' and it was very short and also very tight around the bust, but still a very beautiful fabric and design, if you have pale skin just be weary that it could wash you out

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 18, 2013
I couldn't wear it! :( Was beautiful but the top was not big enough for full bust.

The 6 was perfect for the fit in the waist but DEF not for a full bust. The 8 was baggy in the waist but still not in the top for a full bust.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 24, 2013
Looked amazing for rehearsal dinner

Loved the dress but the shoulder straps were big.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 17, 2014
This dress was perfect for my sororities winter formal!

Should have got one size bigger. Fit in most places except the breast so if your a little busty get one size bigger.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
February 20, 2014
Too small :(

I love the color and design of the fabric however the fit of the dress was too tight around the bust. I unfortunately could not get the dress zipped up. I would recommend going a size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 21, 2014
Not as flattering as the photo

I didn't feel very pretty in this one - the waist was a bit short and the textured fabric made me feel lumpy. Had to go up a size trying to make it feel longer in the torso. Just OK dress.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2014
Bridal Shower

Unfortunately received it and tried it online too late to be refunded, it didn't fit well at all with the straps. Had to go out and get a replacement dress night before my bridal shower.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 10, 2014
My bachelorette party

Pretty dress! Terrible fabric! Beyond itchy and tight around the waist! I'm a curvy woman but it was sexy around the quest. Not pleased

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 25, 2014
Cute, but needed one size up

I wore this to my rehearsal dinner. I ordered a 0 and 2, but they were too tight at the waist, so I had RTR overnight a 4. It was very comfortable, and I'm glad they could get the new size to me (I did need to pay additional shipping costs though.) Usually I wear more form-fitting dresses, but this was cute, and something different for my rehearsal dinner. I did need to use fashion tape as the straps were falling down, and it was low in front, so needed to tape my bra there too so you couldn't see it.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
March 25, 2015
Not for the busty!

A gorgeous dress with shimmery, creamy fabric... however, I would not recommend this dress if you have a chest! Both the 6 and 8 I ordered zipped all the way up until my bra line and then were insanely tight. A larger size would have drowned the rest of my body.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
May 17, 2015
Fabric is very pretty but ran small.

Beautiful dress it just ran small and I did not get a backup size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2015
This dress runs small and really long! If you are short or have any sort of booty do not rent.

I'm short 5'2 and this dress was so ill-fitting. Also, the photo is a little misleading. The slip underneath is form fitting and not flowy. The waist section came down to my hips and the shoulders were all wrong, I tried both the 4 and the 6 and both the shoulder straps were way to long and the waist section hit in the wrong place. The slip underneath was very tight on my booty, possibly because of the same torso issue. I didn't wear either size dress and wouldn't recommend if you aren't tall with more of athletic build.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 15, 2015
Great dress--lots of compliments!

Straps were too long

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
April 13, 2016
Loved it!

Very tight in the chest, I'm glad I got the next size up! Great color and feel.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 3, 2013
Love the dress! I wore it for my bridal shower and I got a ton of compliments.

I normally wear a 4 but the 4 was too big. The 2 fit perfectly.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 1, 2015
Meh....

I rented this dress for my engagement party in early May. It was not my favorite, but I had no other options. It's not the same color as the picture. It's really more of a gold color or maybe an off-white/cream than white (since I was expecting white, that was a let down). The straps were VERY VERY long. I wore a push-up bra with it, which seemed to help the strap situation some, but my bridesmaids still had to help me pin them down. If you're handy with a safety pin it shouldn't be a problem. No one could tell, but my hair also covered it. Even though it wasn't my favorite, I received a lot of compliments on it; however, I would not rent it again, nor would I recommend it to a friend.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2013
Cute design but not flattering

This was suppose to be my fun wedding reception dress, but I ended up not wearing it because the fit was strange. The shoulder straps were too big and the section below the chest was too tight. It was cute in the bag but the material was similar to that of antique curtains (not comfortable).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 27, 2012
Straps were too big

I liked the length of this dress. It wasn't as short as it is on the model. I liked the way it fit in my waist but the straps were way too long and the V-neck was too plunging for my bridal shower.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2012
Perfect Dress

This dress was beautiful!! Certainly recommended for someone taller, as the straps are a bit longer. Overall, the dress was a hit and fit perfectly. Super pretty in person. The pattern is much more noticeable in person and has a bit of a shimmer/sparkle, would recommend for a fancier event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 22, 2012
Lovely

I wore this dress to my wedding shower. I was a flattering dress. I got a ton of compliments! I ondered a 6 and an 8, both fit, but the 6 was a little tight in the chest so I went with the 8. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the fabric was quite itchy. Othere than that it was a great dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2012
Birthday Party!

I rented this dress as a backup in case my other one didn't fit. It is a beautiful dress, but it is not cut for someone with a short torso. There was just too much fabric between the waist and the shoulders and poofed out. I definitely recommend it for a taller girl.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 18, 2012
Constantly received compliments & felt simply stunning!

I rented out this dress originally for my birthday dinner but plans changed and that ended up being cancelled. Despite that, there happened to be a college dance that same night that I was intending to attend and it was a dress to impress event. And so, I decided to don this lovely dress. I opted for a nude colored belt with a flower embellishment and pumps which wonderfully complimented the garment. I was really impressed by the fit of the dress since it was so well cut flattering. I ordered size 0 & 2 but I ended up going with the size 0. One thing that I noticed was that the straps were a bit long, but it wasn't a major concern to me since I have broad shoulders. A good thing about this dress is that you can wear it with a non-strapless bra so for those who have a fuller bust, it'll be good news. In addition, the fabric is stunning in person (it's more of a ivory tone rather than white), one can really appreciate the textile upon further examination and I was happy how the fabric wasn't too thin or delicate. The fabric is a bit thicker for the usual dress but it kept me warm since it was raining that night. When I went to the dance, I apparently stood out since most girls were wearing black dresses, so I was the white sheep. All night, people kept coming up to me saying how pretty my dress was and how well it fit my silhouette. Also, RTR did a great job making sure that my dress would come on time. My event was on Friday and all the rental dates before that in the same week were unavailable so I had to start my rental on Friday. I was a bit worried that my dress wouldn't come in time since UPS delivers until 8 p.m. but my university mail room closes at 5 p.m. Being the amazing company they are, I managed to get my dress delivered before noon, which was impressive since it was an overnight delivery. All in all, for my first rental here, it went extremely well. Bravo to RTR for making my experience magical as they said they would! :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 20, 2012
This dress was awesome!

Loved the dress! I was nervous as I wore it for my rehearsal dinner and didn't plan for any backup dress, but the dress arrived the day before as planned and fit great! I had the free back up size just in case but ended up liking the smaller of the two. Can't wait to rent another one!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2012
Great dress for my rehearsal dinner.

The other renters were right; the straps were much too long. In fact, I had to pin them about an inch in order to wear the dress at all. It was also a bit thicker than I anticipated (heavier). However, it photographs well and fits true to size. I wore a 4. Perfect for my rehearsal dinner.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2012
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and it was PERFECT!

The dress was definitely longer than it appeared on the model. I also can imagine on a shorter person the straps would be long but on someone my height, they were just a tad long. The fabric was heavy and a little itchy but the dress was super cute! Such a cute, flirty party dress. Definitely perfect for a bride for any wedding related functions. I got a ton of compliments on the dress, and outfit in general, at my bridal shower!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
December 4, 2012
Wore it to my sorority's formal and I got so many compliments!

It fit great, was very flattering, and was different than everyone else's dress but still a perfect dress for a winter/holiday affair!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Beautiful dress - fit perfect!

I ordered this dress as my backup for a formal holiday party and ended up choosing it over the dress I originally thought I would like more! It is such a pretty dress. The color is an off-white/ivory and there is some floral detailing that has a bit of metallic thread so there is a very nice, subtle sparkle. It fit me like a GLOVE and I received a ton of compliments. I put it together with a gold sequined jacket, a BCBG statement necklace and some fun heels. It was a perfect look for my night! Overall this dress and the whole RTR experience get 5-stars!!! Already booked my next rentals!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 28, 2012
Great Winter Special occasion dress!

It is a great fit, but since I am very petite the straps were very long. I pinned them in the back so they would fit, and paired it with a small cardigan.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2013
Perfect rehearsal dinner dress!

I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner. I loved it because of course it is like mini beautiful wedding dress! It is not perfect white it is ivory with a gold tint to it. It photographs so beautifully. I am 5'9" so I did not have the same problems with the straps that other reviewers have mentioned. It was the perfect dress to start the wedding celebrations off right!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2013
Dress was OK - the fabric is think and slightly itchy but its a nice dress.

A little long, i am 5'4''. Also will work will for bustier girl - i am a 32b

See more reviews:
4 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×