Wedding Cake Dress

$109 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Look sweet as ever in this super feminine frock by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Perfect for a bridal shower or brunch with your girlfriends. Shown here with the Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and straps run slightly on the long side
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cream jacquard(100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
269 reviews
Fit
Large
(107)
True to Size
(123)
Small
(19)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2013
It was a sad moment!
I'm sad to report this but I never actually got wear the dress. I rented it for my wedding as my second dress. Once I actually tried on the dress it was to big :-(. My wedding was the next day so it was to late to return the dress. Over all I was sad I couldn't wear the dress but I have to say that the over all RTR experience was quick and easy. I hope to rent from RTR again in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
June 9, 2013
Perfect dress for my bridal shower!
This dress is beautiful on! I received so many compliments! I added a skinny braided gold belt & wore neutral pumps. The straps were a little long for me but I wore the rental necklace that took up chest room. Otherwise I felt bare without it. The dress hit me just above the knee which was good for my event. Def recommend this dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 12, 2013
The perfect dress for a bride-to-be!
I wore this to my rehearsal dinner, and got so many compliments on it! It was perfect for the occasion - fun and flirty, yet fancy enough to fit into the occasion. My friends could not believe how great it looked and how well it fit, especially that it was a rental. I absolutely loved it, and will likely rent it again! The reviews are true - the fabric is a bit scratchy, and the straps a bit large. Otherwise pretty true to size. Pair it with a great pair of pumps and you're set!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 15, 2013
Perfect for my bridal shower!
This dress was a perfect choice for my bridal shower. The fabric is gorgeous with rose details and gold thread throughout. As other reviewers have said the straps are very long but I was able to wear the dress as is anyway. By the end of the day my arms were a little scratched from the fabric, but it was so worth it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
June 17, 2013
Lovely
it is a lovely dress as stated in all the other reviews and YES the straps are long as well. I thought the material to be a little scratchy under the skirt so if you are sensitive to that move on to another dress or be prepare to wear a short slip. My personal opinion is that I wish I chose another dress for this time of year (June) I believe the dress has a heavy look to it that is better suited to fall/winter that you cant really see in the photos, it is thick and weighty
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
June 17, 2013
People lit up when they saw me and gushed over how beautiful I looked. It was a winner!
This dress runs big so definitely go down a size in this dress for a perfect fit. I usually wear an 8 and the size 6 fit perfect. Some people said they found the skirt to be too wide but I feel like its just right since the dress really accentuates your waist line. This dress is ladylike sexiness! So if that's what you are looking for do it! I rocked it for my Winter White birthday party but its versatile to wear when and where ever you want.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 18, 2013
I couldn't wear it! :( Was beautiful but the top was not big enough for full bust.
The 6 was perfect for the fit in the waist but DEF not for a full bust. The 8 was baggy in the waist but still not in the top for a full bust.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 24, 2013
Looked amazing for rehearsal dinner
Loved the dress but the shoulder straps were big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163lbs
June 25, 2013
Loved that in came in a garment bag, great customer service.
I fit in the size 10 but with it being an outdoor bridal shower for myself I picked the 12 so it would be loose since it was 90 degrees out. The straps in the reviews are right, they were too long but it didn't bother me. The fit was so cute and I had so many compliments on it. I will say though after a few hours, the fabric was rubbing against the inside of my arms when I had them down. Other than that I loved the dress and it was a perfect choice for my bridal shower! Thanks RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 30, 2013
My boyfriend couldn't stop staring at me!
I'm 5'8", and the bodice fit well! Great fit- I typically wear a size 2 in most designers on RTR, and I wore the 0. Definitely make your backup size a smaller size. Loved this dress! Make sure to have a statement earrings or necklace, or a belt because the dress needs "something" to make it all come together.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 3, 2013
Great dress for sorority formal, but fit is a little strange
The straps for the shoulders on this were strangely large. I'm pretty busty for my height and still had room in the front. I would have worn the 2 since the waist fit better, but had to go with the zero because of the shoulder/bust area. Otherwise gorgeous dress, the fabric has almost a brocade feel. Very easy to dress up.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 3, 2013
Felt elegant and bridal for my wedding rehearsal
This fabric of this dress is lovely and very well made. It is somewhat heavy, especially for a summer event, but I kept cool enough. As other reviewers have said, the straps are long and will fall down if you don't pin them. Other than that, I loved the dress. It is fitted in the waist and has a cute flare out at the hips. I received many compliments on the dress at my rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. Even my priest told me that if the dress was longer, it could be a wedding dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 8, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I wore this dress for my wedding rehearsal with the Kate Spade Marquee necklace. Same complaints as others - the straps are far too long! I was able to pin them and it looked fine. It runs a little large, I usually wear a 4 but the 2 fit well. This was actually my back-up dress. The material is heavy, it kind of feels like you're wearing a curtain - but it's beautiful and I got many, many compliments. Makes your waist look small!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
July 10, 2013
That I felt really comfortable and gorgeous.
The dress was perfect for me, I'm completely happy, my wedding ceremony was incredible beautiful more than I was spectated.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2013
Beautiful ivory brocade!
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. In person, it's more ivory and beige than white, but it photographs so well!! I received a ton of compliments and felt like a million bucks wearing it. The straps were just a tad too big, but it wasn't a huge issue. I opted for no strapless bra, although the dress does allow for strapless or regular. I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 26, 2013
Great, but straps were too long!
The fabric of this dress is stunning! And the quality of the structure is so luxurious. I was so sad to find that my torso is so short the the straps ended up being 2.5-3" too long and unpinnable. It would've been great if I wasn't so short. This dress is meant for someone with a long torso!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 8, 2013
Perfect for my bridal shower!
Really comfy, flattering and cute! The fabric is made with a heavier weight material...and definitely doesn't give the impression of it being cheap. Really loved the dress as it accentuated my body in the right places and was very appropriate for my derby themed bridal shower. However, keep in mind that the straps are indeed long as everyone else has commented. It's wearable...but in order for it to hit you at the bustline appropriately...you will have to either pin it up or do a quick hand sew.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 9, 2013
Elegant and classy dress!
I wore this dress for a night out with the gals. It looks great with a statement necklace and gold heels. The material is quite thick, which I didn't expect, but it wasn't a bad thing! Since I'm tall it hit me in the same spot as the model on the website, but I can see it being quite long on others. Not sure if that's helpful, but I felt like mentioning it! I would recommend this for a brunch, dinner date, or afternoon garden party type of event. It's not quite right for a night out dancing at bars, but I made it work :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 28, 2013
Darker than it looks
I thought this dress was much darker than it photographs - almost tan rather than white or ivory. I rented it for Diner en Blanc and felt it was too dark to pass for white, so didn't wear it. The fabric is luxurious, but very heavy. I also felt that the bodice was pretty narrow, but it did make for a nice small waist / full skirt contrast (if breathing comfortably isn't terribly important to you). I did notice that even in the short time I had it on, the heavy fabric under the arms felt uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
August 30, 2013
Runs large
The material is heavy. I would equate it to drapery and wear it during the winter. Cute though, but I didn't wear it. Returned it for an Erin Fetherston dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 10, 2013
straps and waist disproportionate
I rented this dress to wear to my law school graduation. The dress fits very weird as the waist was super tight and the dress short but the straps wayyy too long. I couldn't even pin them without it looking terrible because there was just too much material. The straps would have to have been undone and completely altered in order for this to fit me. Maybe if you have an abnormally long torso this could work? Its a shame because the material is beautiful!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2013
Very easy to rent. Arrived on time and return is a cinch!
Beautiful dress, great quality. Although I felt like under the arms were too low because there was to much material for the straps. Also made my hips feel very wide. Overall not my style of dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 22, 2013
Such a gorgeous, detailed dress that was easy and fun!
I anticipated this dress for 5 months from when i ordered it, because I wanted to use RTR so badly! My friend and I rented together (she is the blonde in the other picture wearing the red Parker Flavor of the Month Dress that is not available anymore) and loved the process! The Wedding Cake Dress is definitely not bright white, it's more of an off white/ivory color, and the straps are REALLY long, so you might need fashion tape. It worked ok for me. The size fit well, maybe a TAD bit big, but it was mostly the straps that made it big. I felt very comfortable with the length, not to short or too long! I wore this for my high school's homecoming, and some girls had on dresses that, well, were not as classy as I'd say this dress is. Also, the quality was out-the-door fantastic by Erin Fetherstone. Loved having a designer dress on!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
September 22, 2013
Pretty dress - for bustier girls
I rented this dress as a backup for my bridal shower. The review I read were true to form - the dress was cute (a bit longer than I expected) but the straps were a bit long. The dress I ended up receiving seemed a bit worn as well. It was an okay option but I liked the other dress I rented better and wore that instead.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2013
Perfect Wedding Shower Dress!
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and loved it! Its a nice thick material and very flattering. My only complaint is that the straps were too big, so i had to pin them back. Other than that, i definitely recommend! Normally i wear a size 4 or 6 so i would definitely go down if between sizes!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 28, 2013
This dress runs large.
I rented the 0 and 2, and ended up wearing the 0 (which still was too big). It was a little loose in the stomach area, which wasn't a big deal. But I had to pin the straps and make this ugly fold for it fit right. If you have a small torso, this dress is not for you. Other then that, the material is beautiful.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 7, 2013
I ordered this dress for my engagement party and it was perfect for the occasion.
The fabric was heavy so it was perfect for fall but also scratchy and I noticed it kept rubbing up against my arms. The straps fit fine, but it ran quite small in the waist but perfect everywhere else. Overall it is a beautiful bride-y dress, and the details of it really pop in photos.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2013
GORGEOUS material, waaaaay awkward straps.
I just did not have luck this time around with the two dresses I rented for my wedding weekend events (sadly). The dress is gorgeous. The material is amazing. I loved the overall look, however, the straps are an EXTREMELY awkward size. Difficult to explain. The waste fit fine, but straps run WAAAAAY large. I felt like I was fidgeting all night because I kept pulling on the straps in hopes that they would not fall off.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 29, 2013
Was Not Very Appealing
Paying attention to the past reviews I ordered a 0 and a 2 when I usually order a 2 and 4. For this event I wore a 0 because the 2's straps were longer. The dress overall was gorgeous, and it stands out. Especially at a high school homecoming where most girls where black sleezy dresses. Yet the overall fit was poor. In multiple pictures I looked three sizes bigger then I was really was. The straps were too long and folded out in the back. I thought having a long torso the straps would be fine but there were too long. I would not suggest this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2013
I ordered this dress for my bridal shower. It was perfect for the event!
The only issue with the dress was that it was just too big. I ordered the size 4 and 2 and had them shipped to my parents house as my shower was being held there and I was not coming into town until the night before. I arrived and tried the dresses on. I really should have ordered the size 0 but made due with the size 2 and just kept standing tall and had people pull the middle in from behind when taking pictures.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 11, 2013
Gorgeous dress for my Engagement Party!
This dress was perfect my engagement party! I ordered a size 2 and 4 and went with the 2. The straps were long, however, it was totally workable. I got nothing but compliments all evening long and everyone wanted to know where I got the dress. The fabric was absolutely stunning and I didn't feel like it was too scratchy at all. I would definitely rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
November 15, 2013
I felt beautiful all night!
I loved this dress so much! I wore it for my rehearsal dinner and received soooo many compliments. This was my first experience with RTR so I wasn't sure what size to get. The 4 was a little big in the waist and it's true what other people said about the straps being loose but it wasn't to the point where they were falling down or anything. I'm glad I went with the 4 because i'm bigger chested and i had no problems wearing a strapless bra with this dress! It was so comfortable and I loved the pattern details. I don't have hips so I loved how it flared out at the waist to give me more of a shape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 24, 2013
Great experience! Delivered on time, clean, easy...with a dozen white roses!!!
This dress was perfect for wearing when my husband and I left our wedding reception. It was a little big (maybe it was stretched out), but not too big not to work. It was fun, flirty, and classic. The dress and earrings, which I wore for my wedding as well, were delivered on time and were easy to send back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
February 26, 2015
LOVED
This dress was so pretty and perfect for the occasion. Unfortunately the straps are a little too long as you can see in the pic
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2013
great dress
longer than it looks on the model
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2013
Perfect classy party dress!
Great dress. Super cute. Comfortable. Fit perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2013
perfect winter white for a holiday party!
The length was great--not too short, a couple inches above my knee--which worked out because it was pretty low cut up top. The fabric was good quality too. Loved the dress but the only problem was the straps were a little bit loose, which didnt make sense because the rest of the dress fit perfectly. The size 4 wasnt available so not sure if that would have made a difference. Overall i was happy with the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 26, 2013
Perfect Engagement Party Dress!
Wore this dress for my engagement party, unfortunately none of the pictures with my fiancé showed off the dress itself. It was longer than I expected, which was great since I'm very tall and wore 4" heels. I ordered my normal size 4 and a size 2 after reading the reviews and though the 2 was somewhat tight in the bust (hello, cleavage!) it fit perfectly everywhere else including the straps. It was a standout dress! All my bridesmaids are my sorority sisters and all showed up looking fabulous but this dress set me out from the rest as the bride!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2014
Weird fit-- long straps
Fits like a classic skater outfit and straps are super long...
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 12, 2014
This dress was perfect for my bridal shower! I got a lot of compliments and it fit perfect!
The fit was impeccable! The service was quick and easy! And I felt so cute and beautiful!
See more reviews:
3 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×