Such An Illusion Gown

$80 rental
$465 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Hello gorgeous! Look stunningly ladylike in this illusion neckline gown by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Dress it up for evening elegance with Ciner’s Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black chiffon with iridescent lace (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Illusion lace crew neckline. Upper back keyhole with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
337 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(214)
Small
(60)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 16, 2016
Adorable, a little tight
The zipper sticks and I needed both my mom and dad to help zip this up, and once on, it was a little hard to breathe. It's so cute and I was only wearing it to a wedding ceremony, changing for the reception. I souls recommend this but maybe size up if you have a large chest
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
August 14, 2016
I felt beautiful and comfortable at the same time!
I felt so beautiful (and skinny!) in this gown! I originally rented a different dress but unfortunately neither size worked on my body. I was about to go shopping to buy a gown when I thought I'd see what my options were from RTR. Customer service was great and told me I could have any available gown overnighted. I chose this one and was so happy I did! I purposely went for a flowy sillouhette to make sure it fit and because we were in the middle of a heat wave. This dress was a perfect fit! I did not have any issues with the zipper at all so it must have been fixed. I found it hard to wear a bra with it but it was tight enough to go bra less, something I never do as a 38D. But I was so comfortable and was able to dance the night away feeling fabulous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
August 3, 2016
Black Tie Wedding
I rented two dresses. I received one that was damaged and one that was the wringer size. I called and worked with a girl who was very helpful, as I was very panicked, and she suggested this dress. It fit beautifully and was super comfy! I would suggest it to anyone! I am an 8 or a 10, I have broad shoulders so we went with the 10, it fit perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 13, 2016
True to size
Nice fabric true to size. Has more of a greenish glitter that I thought was hoping for solid black. Wore as a brides maxes dress super cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 8, 2016
Last minute
I had ordered another dress that didn't fit. When I called to request a replacement I had no idea what I wanted. Crystal was an absolute life saver and found this dress for me. I got tons of compliments and felt gorgeous all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
June 28, 2016
This dress was perfect for the black tie gala I attended! It's both elegant and comfortable.
This dress was true to size. I fluctuate between a 6 and an 8 and the 8 is the one that fit. It was very flattering on my not so slim stomach area and was comfortable enough to wear all night.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 64
June 26, 2016
This was the perfect dress for a black-tie fundraiser! Great service and lovely dress!
I am 5'6' and 128 lbs, and typically wear a size 8, slim build. I was a little concerned about the dress being too long, since I don't do stiletto heels...so wanted to also order the 8 Petite. However, it was not available. But the length was perfect with 2" heels. The waist was the teeniest bit snug, but not uncomfortable. Only complaint was that the zipper was VERY hard to pull past the waist (got bound up on the zipper track), so I've added a note in the return package.
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 19, 2016
Nonstop compliments
I wore this gown to a black-tie wedding. This is a fitted dress with no stretch. I normally wear size 8/10 pants and a medium top. The 10p was very tight across my 36D chest. The 12p was absolutely a perfect fit. I am 155lb and 5f2. Many of the reviews said that at 5ft 2i regular length seemed too short but with my 28 inch inseam the petite length was absolutely perfect even wearing 2 inch heels did not seem short at all. The only con was my chest was definitely exposed and I had major cleavage. I didn't mind but my husband didn't care for me to display them. Lol.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2016
Back-up dress was perfect!
I originally ordered another dress for this gala, but it couldn't be shipped at the last minute. This was one of the three that RTR sent me as back-ups. They did such an excellent job selecting a dress- I think I even liked this better than my first pick! The cut was perfect and would probably be flattering on any body type. I especially liked how the lace top and cap sleeves made it look classy, and not gaudy or stuffy. It was a little long, but I am only 5'2ish. I wore 2-3 inch heels and was careful where I stepped. I would absolutely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
June 8, 2016
Fabulous dress
I rented this dress for a friend's black tie wedding. This was my first time using RTR and it was a great experience. This dress is perfect for a formal affair! It was super flattering and easy to wear. I am curvy and don't like having to fidget or fuss with tight, strappy gowns. I will definitely be using RTR in the future, and may even rent this same gown again!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 6, 2016
I fit right in at a Black Tie event. Comfortable to dance in!
I always have trouble finding dresses that don't sag in the bust so this was perfect for me!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2016
A Great fit even for us tall girls!!
BEAUTIFUL dress! I wore it to Prom (please excuse my silliness of this photo) and it was perfect! It fits very well and is pretty long. I am 5'11" and wore flats in a 10L.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
May 30, 2016
This dress was perfect on my daughter (5' 6", 130 pounds) for a special event at her high school.
Pros it fit well, was high quality, comfortable, and did not require "fussing."
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
May 21, 2016
I love the fit and how flattering it was. Lots of compliments all night and super comfy.
It is flattering and it runs small. I use size 12R and it was snug and the zipper was hard to work. My husband had to help me. Overall, it is flattering and comfortable. Once again, RTR was a success and I'm looking forward to the next.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
May 16, 2016
Elegant & Comfortable. Not your basic black dress
Wore this dress to a Prom for adults. This was my first RTR experience and it was perfect. I'm thankful they allow you to order another size no charge b/c my normal dress size was too small. I had to wear the 16R. I was also nervous about the length as i'm only 5'4 but it was perfect. I wore 3 inch heels and the dress was around an inch or so off the ground. The lace at the top had green & gold sparkle throughout. I received many compliments throughout the night!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 15, 2016
My boyfriend was blown away by how gorgeous I looked :)
I usually wear a size 4 and this dress fit just right. I wore 3" heels with this dress and that seemed prefect for the length. The dress didn't drag at all and flowed beautifully when I walked. The upper had more of a green iridescent color than gold. No cons that I can think of! Lots of compliments on the dress and I felt beautiful wearing it. Looking forward to my next rental!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2016
Classy, Beautiful dress!
Rented this for my Daughter for prom. She is Curvy, 120lbs, size B cup. She is 16 so we wanted something beautiful and easy to wear, this fit the bill. She was comfortable and looked stunning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
May 5, 2016
The dress was beautiful
I wore this to a black-tie gala. I ended up wearing the bigger of the 2 sizes I ordered because it fit snug around the waist. The detailing in the lace is a green color. The dress overall was beautiful and I got several compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 1, 2016
Nice and elegant but not WOW
The dress was very elegant but It didn't wow me. Sleeves were a little tight and I don't think my arms are particularly thick! . I liked the way the skirt flowed. And accessorizing was easy since no necklace required
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 1, 2016
Loved this dress! Felt like a princess!
Wore this for my senior prom. I was very insecure about getting a prom dress online, but I just had to get this dress. I really liked the green iridescent and lace on this dress. The zipper wasn't that big of a deal to me. I was able to zip the dress up myself, so that was good. The waist was very fitted, almost to the point where I couldn't breathe at the end of the night. I had to put fashion tape on the bust area since the dress kept falling down. Overall, I absolutely loved this dress. I received a lot of compliments. I would do anything to relive that night and wear this dress again:)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
May 1, 2016
I wore this dress to prom, with pictures and dinner and all. Fun times.
The length was a bit too long, but it was an easy fix with shoes that bumped me up an inch, so all's well. The back didn't sit perfectly well unless I tugged it down - which wasn't any issue for the most part. The lace detailing at the top occasionally would bunch up (probably because it's for someone taller), but a simple tug here and there for pictures wasn't terrible. The bust part fitted perfectly. Since most of the evening was dancing, presentation wasn't the main issue - though it was fun to twirl around in. Lift arms upwards with caution.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 17
April 24, 2016
This dress is gorgeous!! Got lots of compliments on it:)
I wore this dress to my Prom and it was perfect!! I'm 5'5" and the dress was just a tiny bit long, but I still wore flats and it was fine. The gold in the lace is a lot more green the. It looks on the model, but it's still gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
April 24, 2016
Color, texture & length as expected
My 3rd RTR dress worked out but I will say it's my least favorite so far only because the ribbon at the waistline had no give at all. I was never uncomfortable to the point where I wished I could take the dress off but the ribbon occasionally reminded me to make sure I kept things sucked in even wearing Spanx. I ordered a 4R but I had to wear the 6P backup due to the ribbon over-cinching my waistline (I plan on eating & drinking all day you know!). I would still recommend this dress, I got multiple compliments, and the green sheen of the lace was beautiful when it caught light. I felt beautiful and didn't have to worry about the lower belly being accentuated as it drapes nicely. The length of 4R and 6P both fit me well and my heels were only 2.5" at most. If you have similar measurements (34C-28-36) and height, it's worth trying out but I would still recommend my 2 previous rentals over this. I previously rented "Shoshanna Fielding Flowers Dress | Size 4" and "Nicole Miller Lady in Waiting Gown | Size 4R".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 24, 2016
Amazing dress! Worked great for a formal charity ball.
The fit for me was great! But the length gave me a little trouble. The petite was MUCH too short so I was overnighted the regular length, which was slightly too long. But overall, it was comfortable and classy! I can't say enough for RTR customer service, the acted fast and got me a dress that fit after the first dresses to arrive were too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
April 20, 2016
Perfect for the gala I attended.
Great fit. True to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
April 17, 2016
Really hate giving this one back... Flattering, beautiful, and comfortable and doesn't need Spanx!
Decorative, sparkly top is low cut and accentuates cleavage but is still well-covered (perfect for formal work functions). Long, flowy bottom hides stomach, hips, and thighs. Incredibly flattering - I felt like a princess!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
April 10, 2016
Light and Airy, great for Spring
This was my first RTR order. It was for a fund raising gala, black tie preferred. The style and fit notes were spot on so I while I ordered a 10L, the back up of 12L was perfect with just a slight bit more breathing room to make it a comfortable fit for the night. (The 10L was little tight in the waist). I'm 5'8" and wore 3" black heels which was perfect - it just dusted the ground but wasn't a tripping hazard. If you have a cold April evening like last night, I recommend getting a shawl to go with it. I was able to zip it up myself so it was easier than other dresses. Classic dress with a green accent to make it special. Great for warmer events. Photographs well.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 2, 2016
This Dress was spectacular!
It fit like a glove, and made me feel very confident! I got many compliments! Looks good when accented with red!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 29, 2016
Super comfortable and FUN!
This dress was perfect! I wore it to the Marine Corps Ball at the Naval Academy and it was perfect for the event. Very comfortable to dance in, flowy, and received tons of compliments. I have broad shoulders, so I wore a size 8 and it fit great. I paired the dress with emerald earrings suggested by RTR and it was a perfect match to the green in the lace top. Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 28, 2016
Beautiful dress but be careful with the size
The dress itself is beautiful. However, the fit is a little odd. I tried on the 6R first and it fit just right but it was a little too long with my 3.5 in heels. I decided to try the 8R (my backup) thinking it might be more comfortable for a long event. However, the 8R was even tighter and the dress was shorter. I ended up wearing the 8R by mistake (it's hard to get ready and look at a 5 month old at the same time :D). Turned out that was the right decision because the dress was still comfortable and the length was perfect. I would have been annoyed at the 6R length had I worn that one. So overall, great experience but sizing is not consistent.
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
March 24, 2016
Beautiful dress
Great fit. Didn't need super high heels since it was a petite size - so, good length. This dress was floaty without being frilly. Classic style. Didn't feel overly exposed because of the netting and beading.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 141lbs
March 23, 2016
Beautiful dress
Another great rental. Beautiful design and elegant. Great fit. Good coverage but yet sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
March 22, 2016
Pretty and work-appropriate black tie dress
It was a little tight in the rib cage area - the waist is higher than natural waist, the waist sits on your lower rib cage. I wore a strapless bra without an issue. The top has a pretty flowered green iridescent and black detail. You cannot see the green in photos, it is also subtle appearing in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 15, 2016
Extravaganza ball
Beautiful light dress, it is rather simple and dark in color but i enjoyed it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 7, 2016
Absolutely amazing! Will definitely rent again
This dress fit me like a glove. I have no complaints. I will, without a doubt, rent from RTR again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
March 6, 2016
Lovely, unique dress
I wore this dress to my JROTC's Military Ball, which requires all girls to wear a floor-length dress of some sort. While this dress wasn't my first choice (I was originally looking at many more on this site, but my size was unavailable at the time), it was still absolutely gorgeous and I received many, many compliments. I ordered a 4P and as far as how it fit around me, it was perfect. The problem was, even in 5-6 inch heels, it was still a bit long (I'm 4'11"). Regardless, I didn't find that to be too much of a problem and the dress held up very well. I'd recommend it to go with any type of event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 6, 2016
Elegant dress! Perfect length
The waist on this dress runs small. I went a size up than normal after reading the reviews, and I'm glad i did. I wore my regular bra underneath bc I didn't want to go strapless and it still looked great. The lace detail at the top looks green/gold (more green).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 5, 2016
Didn't wear
This was my original choice but I ended up wearing my back up dress. This is very pretty, but it just seemed too simple for me. It's a great choice, very pretty, just the other dress I wore had a little more sex appeal. I think this dress would be good if you were pregnant and trying to find a none maternity formal dress.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 0
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
February 29, 2016
I absolutely love this dress! I was getting compliments on it all night. I felt so elegant in it!
My biggest concern prior to receiving it was that the sleeves would be too tight. I was pleasantly surprised, it fit perfectly. The only issue I had was with the top. The top of the dress is solid black covered with a pretty sheer layer over it. The black part kept sliding down. I wore a black strapless bra which kept it from being noticeable. I guess if you're a little more blessed then I am you won't have that problem!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 24
February 18, 2016
I wore this dress for my senior recital photo shoot. It was beautiful, comfortable and fit well.
The lace has a bit of a greenish hue here and there. Beautiful dress. I wore it with 3 inch heels
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×