Such An Illusion Gown

$68 – $90 rental?
$465 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Hello gorgeous! Look stunningly ladylike in this illusion neckline gown by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Dress it up for evening elegance with Ciner’s Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black chiffon with iridescent lace (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Illusion lace crew neckline. Upper back keyhole with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
369 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(230)
Small
(63)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
February 13, 2017
This dress was perfect for a black tie benefit!
The dress was fairly true to size. I wore the size 2R, I'm 5'6" and with 3 inch heels it was still a bit long. The dress has a princess feel because of the full skirt and double layering. The top is beautiful and I am still receiving compliments on the pictures. You will need to wear a strapless bra. It was such an easy and comfortable dress to wear. Would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 29, 2017
I absolutely LOVED the dress and got compliments on it all night.
Wore it for a ball, I blended in quite well with all the actually rich people. Great choice all around.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
January 25, 2017
Lots of compliments!
The dress was very comfortable and flowy! I did wear a strapless bra so the straps did not take away from the beautiful top this dress has. Love it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
January 16, 2017
Little details
I loved this dress for a black tie gala. The lace at the top has flecks of gold and green shimmer that stood out and gave it a little bit of pop. The dress runs small. I am normally a 2 (sometimes a 4). But after reading the reviews I ordered a 4. The original dress came and I was unable to zip it up, so RTR shipped me the next size up overnight. The 6 fit perfect. It was so comfortable. I highly recommended!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
December 26, 2016
This dress was so comfortable and fancy, I felt gorgeous and got a ton of compliments.
Really true to size but the flowing skirt really left enough room for my hips (which is great for my pear shape). I have slightly chubby arms and the sleeves were snug but not uncomfortable The bodice is structured enough to feel secure and supportive but there's still enough give for you to be mobile and to dance. I'm on the shorter side but this dress was a good length with 3 in heels.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 23, 2016
Fabulous dress, beautiful, elegant, and classy!
Wore this dress for a black tie charity gala, and I felt glamorous and elegant, it was perfect for the occasion
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
December 19, 2016
Rented for a wedding.
I LOVE THIS DRESS! Unfortunately, I had to return it as it would not fit and a larger size was not available. The dress is gorgeous, but the fit around my bust was too tight to zip completely. Very unfortunate because the dress is soooo pretty. Length was good for my 5'3" and 4 in heels.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Weight: 145lbs
December 16, 2016
A formal fall wedding.
A flattering, flowy dress. I ordered a long as recommended for my height, but even with heels I was stepping on the bottom of the dress a lot.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 12, 2016
Beautiful and elegant dress for a holiday party.
I usually wear a 4 or 4P, however, after reading the reviews about the waist band, opted to have the 6P as my second choice. Thank goodness! The band is extremely tight. I fit into the 4R, but was much more comfortable in the 6P. I am 5'1" and the length of the 6P was perfect. The 4R was extremely long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
December 7, 2016
Perfect dress!
Got so many compliments, perfect for black tie wedding. Comfortable and beautiful dress!
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 5, 2016
Beautiful dress perfect for a night out.
The dress fit true to size. I am 38DD and the cleavage was a little more than I am comfortable with.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
December 2, 2016
Main dress but wore back up instead.
I needed a 6L but it wasn't available so I thought I'd take a chance with the regular length. Dress fit well otherwise.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 27, 2016
Elegant, classy, flattering
I loved this dress - it fit really well and was very flattering. I needed a dress on the conservative end for my event. This was a solid choice, but the black part of the top (not sheer) ends pretty low on the chest, so my boobs noticeably popped out a little bit. Good if you don't want to be too covered up and want to show a little skin. I can usually fit easily into a 4 or a 6, but this dress was almost slightly too big as a 4, so I'd suggest sizing down. I wore 3 inch heels and the bottom of the dress nicely skimmed the floor. Also, as a pear shape, I was very happy with the flow of this dress. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
November 17, 2016
Beautiful dress, I was really comfortable the whole night.
I am about 5'8 and wore about 2" heels. The Long was perfect for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
November 17, 2016
Great dress for a work holiday party at a museum
This was the first dress I rented with RTR and it got me hooked! The reviews were right, the sleeves and the middle section were a little tight and prevented a lot of mobility but I didn't care at all. This dress made me feel sexy and sophisticated. The bottom of the dress has a sheer overlay that gives it an extra flare when walking. It wasn't too long; I wore plain black flats and didn't have an issue with it touching the floor. Strapless bra was all I needed!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
November 14, 2016
I wore it to my husband's holiday party.
I was newly pregnant and I wanted something formal but also something that would hide my baby bump. This was perfect because it was form fitting on top and then flowed out so no one even knew I was pregnant. I'm tall and the long was perfect even with heals.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2016
Loved this dress! I received compliments all night about it.
The zipper was a bit of a pain, but once that was up, it fit perfectly! I'm 5'5 and the dress sometimes felt a bit long, but with heels, it was fine! I loved the way it moved with me, and the top is really beautiful. It was a hit, and I was so sad to return it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
November 3, 2016
Tight in the rib cage!
Beautiful dress but I would love if there was some give around the rib cage. The black under layer also rides low for the sweetheart neckline if you don't have a large bust (I'm a small B). The back draping is gorgeous along with the cap sleeves to hide any arm insecurities.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 3, 2016
This is a beautiful dress, but it did not work for me.
It is beautiful and classic dress, but the waistband was too small for me, even though the bodice fit perfectly. Also, the back gaped open in a weird way. I have a shorter torso, so maybe this was part of the problem with the fit. So sad because I loved the dress. The fabric and flow were so lovely!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 32
Weight: 140lbs
October 31, 2016
Fine dress
Pretty, simple dress. The lace color was more green than gold, but it was subtle. Overall, fine dress, not sure if it was anything to write home about or stand out in, but it did the trick for this fall wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 27, 2016
One beautiful dress
I selected this dress for a formal fundraiser. It was perfect for the event. The lace detail was beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
October 26, 2016
Beautiful dress!
The dress fit pretty true to size, maybe just a little tight in the bust area. I am 6'0 and the length was great- almost to the floor (however, I did wear a small heel). It was a little wrinkled at the bottom- maybe from shipping- but I loved it otherwise and received several compliments & I felt beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2016
Overall great dress, received many compliments.
Very comfortable and easy to move in dress. The gold/green lace at the top is really pretty! I am usually between a 4/6 in dresses. Because the waist is very fitted with no stretch, I went with the size 6 to be more comfortable (my waist is 28 inches). The Regular length ended up being just a little shorter than I prefer. I'm 5'5" and wore 2" heels and the dress hit me mid-foot when I was standing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 21, 2016
Lovely. Elegant. Comfortable. Conservative.
Loved the fit and the colorful overlay. Perfect for black tie work function. Flattering fit. I'm 5-8 and wore kitten heels. Anything higher and I would have needed the long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 18, 2016
I was comfortable felt beautiful all night!
Got a lot of compliments about the dress, it fitted perfect and look absolutely amazing, very comfortable as well. Loved it!!!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 17, 2016
I loved this dress!
I received so many compliments! Great fit, easy to wear. I wore 2" heels and the length was perfect for my 5'7" body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 16, 2016
Beautiful dress with a slight sheen on the bodice
I'm 5'7" and the long was the perfect length. The regular would have been much too short. This dress definitely runs small in the waist though. I'm usually a solid 2, but the 4 still felt a bit tight in my waist. My dancing wasn't inhibited tough! The top does have a slight green/gold sheen to it that isn't really showing the RTR picture. It looks great in person though! Overall the dress was a great look and wasn't overly formal for a regular wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2016
Great dress, lots of compliments
Dress was really pretty, I ordered the 4 and the 6 and ended up wearing the 6 only because there is a non-stretchy ribbon dividing the top and bottom and it was too tight on the 4 ( even though the bust fit better in the 4). Because of this I'd recommend getting one size up for your back up if you know you have a wide rib cage. Other than that, very flattering on a pear shape. The back of the dress had a wide opening at the mesh part that shows your back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 11, 2016
Did not end up wearing this dress.
This was the backup dress for a NYE wedding. I did not end up wearing it as it was a little too matronly for the type of event we were attending. VERY pretty though!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 28, 2016
I LOVED this dress :)
This dress was SOOO comfortable! Honestly, the worst thing was the strapless bra, which had nothing to do with the dress. I didn't have to wear spanx, I didn't have to suck in, and I loved the sheer part at the top (I added the funny Snapchat picture so you could see the green detail in the top). I am writing a review and posting pictures because the reviews/pictures are what sold me on this dress. Knowing exactly how it fit, what it looked like on, what people looked like who wore my size, etc. were the huge decision maker for me. I was more than impressed with the entire process and business model of Rent The Runway. If you are trying to decide if you should do it, do it! It is worth the money, the dresses are great quality, and the process is hassle free! Also, the delivery and return process was seamless. So easy and simple. I would HIGHLY recommend RTR to everyone I know :)
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
September 15, 2016
Stunning dress - very comfortable and easy to wear
The 4 was a tad tighter around the arms, so I ended up wearing the 6. It was very comfortable, and overall fit perfectly. It's a gorgeous dress, with hints of green in the lace. Elegant, and classy.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 50
August 28, 2016
We rented 3 dresses and they were all beautiful.
A little low in the front but otherwise good. I wonder if it would've fit better if I got a size smaller. Still a beautiful dress and perfect for the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 16, 2016
Adorable, a little tight
The zipper sticks and I needed both my mom and dad to help zip this up, and once on, it was a little hard to breathe. It's so cute and I was only wearing it to a wedding ceremony, changing for the reception. I souls recommend this but maybe size up if you have a large chest
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
August 14, 2016
I felt beautiful and comfortable at the same time!
I felt so beautiful (and skinny!) in this gown! I originally rented a different dress but unfortunately neither size worked on my body. I was about to go shopping to buy a gown when I thought I'd see what my options were from RTR. Customer service was great and told me I could have any available gown overnighted. I chose this one and was so happy I did! I purposely went for a flowy sillouhette to make sure it fit and because we were in the middle of a heat wave. This dress was a perfect fit! I did not have any issues with the zipper at all so it must have been fixed. I found it hard to wear a bra with it but it was tight enough to go bra less, something I never do as a 38D. But I was so comfortable and was able to dance the night away feeling fabulous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
August 3, 2016
Black Tie Wedding
I rented two dresses. I received one that was damaged and one that was the wringer size. I called and worked with a girl who was very helpful, as I was very panicked, and she suggested this dress. It fit beautifully and was super comfy! I would suggest it to anyone! I am an 8 or a 10, I have broad shoulders so we went with the 10, it fit perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 13, 2016
True to size
Nice fabric true to size. Has more of a greenish glitter that I thought was hoping for solid black. Wore as a brides maxes dress super cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 8, 2016
Last minute
I had ordered another dress that didn't fit. When I called to request a replacement I had no idea what I wanted. Crystal was an absolute life saver and found this dress for me. I got tons of compliments and felt gorgeous all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
June 28, 2016
This dress was perfect for the black tie gala I attended! It's both elegant and comfortable.
This dress was true to size. I fluctuate between a 6 and an 8 and the 8 is the one that fit. It was very flattering on my not so slim stomach area and was comfortable enough to wear all night.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 64
June 26, 2016
This was the perfect dress for a black-tie fundraiser! Great service and lovely dress!
I am 5'6' and 128 lbs, and typically wear a size 8, slim build. I was a little concerned about the dress being too long, since I don't do stiletto heels...so wanted to also order the 8 Petite. However, it was not available. But the length was perfect with 2" heels. The waist was the teeniest bit snug, but not uncomfortable. Only complaint was that the zipper was VERY hard to pull past the waist (got bound up on the zipper track), so I've added a note in the return package.
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 19, 2016
Nonstop compliments
I wore this gown to a black-tie wedding. This is a fitted dress with no stretch. I normally wear size 8/10 pants and a medium top. The 10p was very tight across my 36D chest. The 12p was absolutely a perfect fit. I am 155lb and 5f2. Many of the reviews said that at 5ft 2i regular length seemed too short but with my 28 inch inseam the petite length was absolutely perfect even wearing 2 inch heels did not seem short at all. The only con was my chest was definitely exposed and I had major cleavage. I didn't mind but my husband didn't care for me to display them. Lol.
See more reviews:
1 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×