Such An Illusion Gown

$60 – $95 rental
$465 retail
Stylist Notes

Hello gorgeous! Look stunningly ladylike in this illusion neckline gown by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Dress it up for evening elegance with Ciner’s Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black chiffon with iridescent lace (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Illusion lace crew neckline. Upper back keyhole with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
398 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(242)
Small
(67)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
November 22, 2015
Nice material, fitted in just the right places
Really a fun dress to wear. The fitted bodice was comfortable yet flattering, and the skirt portion was amazing. Very fun to dance in and comfortable to wear all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
December 9, 2015
The event was wonderful but didn't wear the dress.
Two dresses for one event not sure which one I was going to wear. This dress was to small for my bust. If you have a large bust then the size is not going to fit your form, cause of the empire waste it pull up and you are unable to wear it look you should at your waste.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2015
Not for Tall, even the Long
This dress is very classy, very sweet and very comfortable. Unfortunately the 2 long size just hits the ground in bare feet. I'm 5'9". The 4 L was a bit better. If I were a 6 or 8 the length would have been perfect!
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 53
January 1, 2016
Great services
Very nice drees. A little bit long. I should wear 8 instead of 10
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
February 3, 2016
Pretty dress. Slight green tone to lace.
I liked this dress quite a bit but didn't love the green shimmer to the lace on the bodice. I normally wear a 14 but both the 14 & 16 fit and looked nice, so I opted for the extra room. The length was fine with flats but would not have worked with a heel. I am quite buxom & the cleavage that shows through the lace is significant.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 28, 2016
Beautiful dress but be careful with the size
The dress itself is beautiful. However, the fit is a little odd. I tried on the 6R first and it fit just right but it was a little too long with my 3.5 in heels. I decided to try the 8R (my backup) thinking it might be more comfortable for a long event. However, the 8R was even tighter and the dress was shorter. I ended up wearing the 8R by mistake (it's hard to get ready and look at a 5 month old at the same time :D). Turned out that was the right decision because the dress was still comfortable and the length was perfect. I would have been annoyed at the 6R length had I worn that one. So overall, great experience but sizing is not consistent.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
April 17, 2016
Really hate giving this one back... Flattering, beautiful, and comfortable and doesn't need Spanx!
Decorative, sparkly top is low cut and accentuates cleavage but is still well-covered (perfect for formal work functions). Long, flowy bottom hides stomach, hips, and thighs. Incredibly flattering - I felt like a princess!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 5, 2016
The dress was beautiful
I wore this to a black-tie gala. I ended up wearing the bigger of the 2 sizes I ordered because it fit snug around the waist. The detailing in the lace is a green color. The dress overall was beautiful and I got several compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2016
Classy, Beautiful dress!
Rented this for my Daughter for prom. She is Curvy, 120lbs, size B cup. She is 16 so we wanted something beautiful and easy to wear, this fit the bill. She was comfortable and looked stunning.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 15, 2016
My boyfriend was blown away by how gorgeous I looked :)
I usually wear a size 4 and this dress fit just right. I wore 3" heels with this dress and that seemed prefect for the length. The dress didn't drag at all and flowed beautifully when I walked. The upper had more of a green iridescent color than gold. No cons that I can think of! Lots of compliments on the dress and I felt beautiful wearing it. Looking forward to my next rental!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
May 16, 2016
Elegant & Comfortable. Not your basic black dress
Wore this dress to a Prom for adults. This was my first RTR experience and it was perfect. I'm thankful they allow you to order another size no charge b/c my normal dress size was too small. I had to wear the 16R. I was also nervous about the length as i'm only 5'4 but it was perfect. I wore 3 inch heels and the dress was around an inch or so off the ground. The lace at the top had green & gold sparkle throughout. I received many compliments throughout the night!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
May 21, 2016
I love the fit and how flattering it was. Lots of compliments all night and super comfy.
It is flattering and it runs small. I use size 12R and it was snug and the zipper was hard to work. My husband had to help me. Overall, it is flattering and comfortable. Once again, RTR was a success and I'm looking forward to the next.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
May 30, 2016
This dress was perfect on my daughter (5' 6", 130 pounds) for a special event at her high school.
Pros it fit well, was high quality, comfortable, and did not require "fussing."
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2016
A Great fit even for us tall girls!!
BEAUTIFUL dress! I wore it to Prom (please excuse my silliness of this photo) and it was perfect! It fits very well and is pretty long. I am 5'11" and wore flats in a 10L.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
June 6, 2016
I fit right in at a Black Tie event. Comfortable to dance in!
I always have trouble finding dresses that don't sag in the bust so this was perfect for me!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
June 8, 2016
Fabulous dress
I rented this dress for a friend's black tie wedding. This was my first time using RTR and it was a great experience. This dress is perfect for a formal affair! It was super flattering and easy to wear. I am curvy and don't like having to fidget or fuss with tight, strappy gowns. I will definitely be using RTR in the future, and may even rent this same gown again!
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2016
Back-up dress was perfect!
I originally ordered another dress for this gala, but it couldn't be shipped at the last minute. This was one of the three that RTR sent me as back-ups. They did such an excellent job selecting a dress- I think I even liked this better than my first pick! The cut was perfect and would probably be flattering on any body type. I especially liked how the lace top and cap sleeves made it look classy, and not gaudy or stuffy. It was a little long, but I am only 5'2ish. I wore 2-3 inch heels and was careful where I stepped. I would absolutely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
June 19, 2016
Nonstop compliments
I wore this gown to a black-tie wedding. This is a fitted dress with no stretch. I normally wear size 8/10 pants and a medium top. The 10p was very tight across my 36D chest. The 12p was absolutely a perfect fit. I am 155lb and 5f2. Many of the reviews said that at 5ft 2i regular length seemed too short but with my 28 inch inseam the petite length was absolutely perfect even wearing 2 inch heels did not seem short at all. The only con was my chest was definitely exposed and I had major cleavage. I didn't mind but my husband didn't care for me to display them. Lol.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 65
June 26, 2016
This was the perfect dress for a black-tie fundraiser! Great service and lovely dress!
I am 5'6' and 128 lbs, and typically wear a size 8, slim build. I was a little concerned about the dress being too long, since I don't do stiletto heels...so wanted to also order the 8 Petite. However, it was not available. But the length was perfect with 2" heels. The waist was the teeniest bit snug, but not uncomfortable. Only complaint was that the zipper was VERY hard to pull past the waist (got bound up on the zipper track), so I've added a note in the return package.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
June 28, 2016
This dress was perfect for the black tie gala I attended! It's both elegant and comfortable.
This dress was true to size. I fluctuate between a 6 and an 8 and the 8 is the one that fit. It was very flattering on my not so slim stomach area and was comfortable enough to wear all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 8, 2016
Last minute
I had ordered another dress that didn't fit. When I called to request a replacement I had no idea what I wanted. Crystal was an absolute life saver and found this dress for me. I got tons of compliments and felt gorgeous all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 13, 2016
True to size
Nice fabric true to size. Has more of a greenish glitter that I thought was hoping for solid black. Wore as a brides maxes dress super cute!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
August 3, 2016
Black Tie Wedding
I rented two dresses. I received one that was damaged and one that was the wringer size. I called and worked with a girl who was very helpful, as I was very panicked, and she suggested this dress. It fit beautifully and was super comfy! I would suggest it to anyone! I am an 8 or a 10, I have broad shoulders so we went with the 10, it fit perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
August 14, 2016
I felt beautiful and comfortable at the same time!
I felt so beautiful (and skinny!) in this gown! I originally rented a different dress but unfortunately neither size worked on my body. I was about to go shopping to buy a gown when I thought I'd see what my options were from RTR. Customer service was great and told me I could have any available gown overnighted. I chose this one and was so happy I did! I purposely went for a flowy sillouhette to make sure it fit and because we were in the middle of a heat wave. This dress was a perfect fit! I did not have any issues with the zipper at all so it must have been fixed. I found it hard to wear a bra with it but it was tight enough to go bra less, something I never do as a 38D. But I was so comfortable and was able to dance the night away feeling fabulous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 16, 2016
Adorable, a little tight
The zipper sticks and I needed both my mom and dad to help zip this up, and once on, it was a little hard to breathe. It's so cute and I was only wearing it to a wedding ceremony, changing for the reception. I souls recommend this but maybe size up if you have a large chest
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 51
August 28, 2016
We rented 3 dresses and they were all beautiful.
A little low in the front but otherwise good. I wonder if it would've fit better if I got a size smaller. Still a beautiful dress and perfect for the event.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
September 15, 2016
Stunning dress - very comfortable and easy to wear
The 4 was a tad tighter around the arms, so I ended up wearing the 6. It was very comfortable, and overall fit perfectly. It's a gorgeous dress, with hints of green in the lace. Elegant, and classy.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 28, 2016
I LOVED this dress :)
This dress was SOOO comfortable! Honestly, the worst thing was the strapless bra, which had nothing to do with the dress. I didn't have to wear spanx, I didn't have to suck in, and I loved the sheer part at the top (I added the funny Snapchat picture so you could see the green detail in the top). I am writing a review and posting pictures because the reviews/pictures are what sold me on this dress. Knowing exactly how it fit, what it looked like on, what people looked like who wore my size, etc. were the huge decision maker for me. I was more than impressed with the entire process and business model of Rent The Runway. If you are trying to decide if you should do it, do it! It is worth the money, the dresses are great quality, and the process is hassle free! Also, the delivery and return process was seamless. So easy and simple. I would HIGHLY recommend RTR to everyone I know :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 11, 2016
Did not end up wearing this dress.
This was the backup dress for a NYE wedding. I did not end up wearing it as it was a little too matronly for the type of event we were attending. VERY pretty though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2016
Great dress, lots of compliments
Dress was really pretty, I ordered the 4 and the 6 and ended up wearing the 6 only because there is a non-stretchy ribbon dividing the top and bottom and it was too tight on the 4 ( even though the bust fit better in the 4). Because of this I'd recommend getting one size up for your back up if you know you have a wide rib cage. Other than that, very flattering on a pear shape. The back of the dress had a wide opening at the mesh part that shows your back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 16, 2016
Beautiful dress with a slight sheen on the bodice
I'm 5'7" and the long was the perfect length. The regular would have been much too short. This dress definitely runs small in the waist though. I'm usually a solid 2, but the 4 still felt a bit tight in my waist. My dancing wasn't inhibited tough! The top does have a slight green/gold sheen to it that isn't really showing the RTR picture. It looks great in person though! Overall the dress was a great look and wasn't overly formal for a regular wedding.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 17, 2016
I loved this dress!
I received so many compliments! Great fit, easy to wear. I wore 2" heels and the length was perfect for my 5'7" body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 18, 2016
I was comfortable felt beautiful all night!
Got a lot of compliments about the dress, it fitted perfect and look absolutely amazing, very comfortable as well. Loved it!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 21, 2016
Lovely. Elegant. Comfortable. Conservative.
Loved the fit and the colorful overlay. Perfect for black tie work function. Flattering fit. I'm 5-8 and wore kitten heels. Anything higher and I would have needed the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2016
Overall great dress, received many compliments.
Very comfortable and easy to move in dress. The gold/green lace at the top is really pretty! I am usually between a 4/6 in dresses. Because the waist is very fitted with no stretch, I went with the size 6 to be more comfortable (my waist is 28 inches). The Regular length ended up being just a little shorter than I prefer. I'm 5'5" and wore 2" heels and the dress hit me mid-foot when I was standing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
October 26, 2016
Beautiful dress!
The dress fit pretty true to size, maybe just a little tight in the bust area. I am 6'0 and the length was great- almost to the floor (however, I did wear a small heel). It was a little wrinkled at the bottom- maybe from shipping- but I loved it otherwise and received several compliments & I felt beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 27, 2016
One beautiful dress
I selected this dress for a formal fundraiser. It was perfect for the event. The lace detail was beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 31, 2016
Fine dress
Pretty, simple dress. The lace color was more green than gold, but it was subtle. Overall, fine dress, not sure if it was anything to write home about or stand out in, but it did the trick for this fall wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 3, 2016
This is a beautiful dress, but it did not work for me.
It is beautiful and classic dress, but the waistband was too small for me, even though the bodice fit perfectly. Also, the back gaped open in a weird way. I have a shorter torso, so maybe this was part of the problem with the fit. So sad because I loved the dress. The fabric and flow were so lovely!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
November 3, 2016
Tight in the rib cage!
Beautiful dress but I would love if there was some give around the rib cage. The black under layer also rides low for the sweetheart neckline if you don't have a large bust (I'm a small B). The back draping is gorgeous along with the cap sleeves to hide any arm insecurities.
See more reviews:
1 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×