Such An Illusion Dress

$30 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for this sweet and flirty dress by ERIN Erin Fetherston for all of your upcoming holiday parties. Such a pretty style to wear while dancing the night away! Highlight the gold accents with accessories like kate spade new york accessories’ Opening Night Necklace and Whiting & Davis’ Gilded Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Lurex lace (96.4% Nylon, 3.6% Polyester). Sleeveless. Illusion lace crew neckline. Keyhole detail with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook and eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
77 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(57)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2014
I've worn this dress in white and black and loved it both times! It's shimmery and fun for a party!
It's true to size and comfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
April 23, 2014
So many nice compliments
The dress fit beautifully. It was an appropriate length for a wedding. I am 5'9 so I was concerned about the length but it was perfect. I received so many compliments at the wedding and even at work the next day from my Facebook photos. Would definitely recommend this dress for a wedding or any other formal event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 21, 2014
Anniversary dinner
Loved the lace detail and shimmer! The fit was very big on bust, I ended up wearing a jacket all night to feel more comfortable. Overall it was a very pretty dress but better suited for someone with a bigger bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 21, 2014
Didn't wear it
It didn't it, and was weirdly stiff and uncomfortable feeling so don't think I would have worn it even if it had.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
April 16, 2014
Great dress!
This was my first dress from RTR and it was a super easy process. The dress arrived right on time, both sizes would have fit but the 10 was a little tight across the chest so I went with the 12. It was a great dress, the lace design was nice, and gave it some more visual interest. When I sat the under part of the dress did slip up a little and made it a little short but the lace was there to help cover up a little more. Overall it was a great dress and I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2014
I wore this to my sorority's anchor ball this weekend and couldn't stop getting compliments!
This dress fits really well once you get the zipper up. I had to get a friend to really help me out because the zipper tends to get stuck where the waist sinches. Otherwise, this dress fit perfectly in the size I normally wear. This was my first rental and I will for sure be renting from here again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
March 5, 2014
Just the right amount of everything for attending a winter wedding!
I loved this dress! The lace is so delicate and pretty and it has just a little bit of green and gold sparkle. It was perfect for my event! I am hesitant to say the dress ran small because I'm honestly not sure if it's the dress, or the harsh Chicago winter rounding me out a bit. I usually wear an 8, but I am so glad that I got the 10 as well! With a pair of Spanx on, it fit perfectly. Many people mentioned that the zipper felt a bit delicate, and I agree - it does. You need a little oomph to get it past the seam of the waist and it can be a little scary with the lace, but it worked out. Having a buddy to help you zip (harsh Chicago winter or not) is key. Another great tip someone mentioned that I will also pass along: static guard is helpful. I carefully took the dress out of the bag, and the lace immediately started "reaching" toward me! A pass with Static Guard cleared it up. Overall, an incredible dress that I felt like a million bucks in and received a lot of compliments for!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
February 28, 2014
Great dress, very unique, good fit
Loved how iridescent it was. It reminded me of a dragonfly. The zipper was a little tricky, but overall not an issue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
February 26, 2014
N/A
Beautiful dress, I didn't realize the green highlight in dress when I ordered. Runs very true to size - I actually wore a size 10 and was a little loose on top (however RTR was out of size 8) Tons of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2014
Gorgeous alternative to a standard LBD! Sophisticated yet youthful.
Fit great, the sparkly lace overlay looks really pretty. It covers you up, but the sheer layer keeps it young. Great fabric. The zipper was a little heavy duty with all those layers, so have someone you trust zip it up for you.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
February 1, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it
Liked the concept, but in person was not flattering - felt older than expected and I didn't like the green shimmer on the lace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 26, 2014
love the shimmer!
I ordered this dress as a back up dress for a party. I ended up wearing my first choice but would rent this one again. I loved the shimmer and the slit in the top of the back of the dress. Overall was very flattering.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2014
Very flattering cut / fit. Loved the shimmery overlay.
Great dress and excellent fit for pear shape. Very true to size. I think it can work for more casual or more dressy occasions and perfect for the wedding I went too as I didnt know how formal the affair would be. Loved the colors in the overlay. Just the right amount of shimmer. Pairs well with gold accents.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2014
the shiny details on the dress made it perfect for a NYE wedding!!
I ended up sizing up because the underneath layer on the skirt was too tight in a 6. the bodice part fit better in the 6 though... the length was perfect for a family wedding...above the knee but not too short at all. and the keyhole in the upper back is so cute. the green metallicy details on this dress make it so different and gorgeous! lots of compliments.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
January 8, 2014
This dress was my original choice for my senior homecoming. I did not end up wearing it.
This dress was way too large for my small frame. I am normally a size 0, yet this dress was too baggy. It was too loose around the rib cage and too long at the hem. Also, the picture makes it look black and gold-be warned, it's actually black and green.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 30, 2013
I wish I could buy this dress!
This was the backup dress I ordered after being told the dress I ordered came back damaged. I love love this dress. Its so beautiful and flattering. If only it had pockets :) I'm glad I was able to wear something that RTR sent me this time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 22, 2013
so many compliments on the dress and the bag!
it's a little tight in the chest and rib cage, so if you have larger breasts, make may sense to go up one size. gorgeous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 19, 2013
Great party dress!
I loved this dress! It was great for my husband's office Christmas party. It has a pretty green sheen to the lace, which made it very festive, and I got a LOT of compliments on it. I would make two notes though to future renters-- the lace is SO static-y! Get static guard before going out, otherwise you'll be fidgeting with the dress all night. Also, as other people have commented, this dress is labelled black (even on the dress's tag) but it is definitely NAVY.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 18, 2013
beautiful fit and details
Loved wearing this dress to an evening wedding. It fits like a glove but true to size. The lace is just beautiful, and the photos don't do justice to its blue-green shimmer. The length is also great for petite ladies. The one (fairly inconsequential) flaw is that the zipper is really difficult to close - I think it's something about the fabric that makes it so. Best to have a helper to zip you up. But really, really fantastic dress overall. Tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
December 14, 2013
Back up dress, wish I could have worn!
Although I really liked this dress, I did not wear it. It was my back-up dress, but I might have chosen to wear it, if I could get the zipper up. Unfortunately, it is one of those dresses that is hard to zip, especially where the seams and boning are. I tried it on, but my husband was afraid he would damage it and thus was not able to get it zipped. If you get past that, very pretty dress. The lace has an almost iridescent sheen that looks green when the light hits it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 14, 2013
Gorgeous dress, but not a great fit for me
From the waist down, the size six fit well and looked beautiful, but it was a disaster on top. There was a lot of extra fabric in the lace part on top, so it did not lie flat, but bubbled outward and looked just awful. It's too bad, because if it fit me, I would have loved this dress. Perhaps this is not a great fit for petite body types.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 11, 2013
Not what I expected.
Dress was stiff and made me feel kind of frumpy. Sequin/glitter detail looked tackier in person. Thankfully I ordered this a couple days before my event and have time to find a different dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 11, 2013
This was my backup dress, and although I didn't wear it, the fit was perfect.
Beautiful lace, true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
December 10, 2013
This dress was lovely but I ended up needing a smaller size so didn't wear it.
I really liked the lace overlay on the dress. It is a pretty green glitter that feels very holiday. If I would have ordered the right size, I would have definitely enjoyed going to the party in it. It did tend to cling a bit because of static, but I'm sure a dryer sheet would have taken care of that had I worn it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
December 9, 2013
The bride said, "You have to buy that dress!"
I received so many compliments on this dress! I wore this dress to a winter wedding in Aspen and it was perfect! The dress was classy and nice enough for the occasion but still fun and easy to dance in. It's hard to see in the photo, but the iridescent green really stands out nicely and gives the look some sparkle. I found it to be true to size and the length was good on a short body. The zipper was definitely troublesome; I couldn't zip it up without help and even with help it was difficult. That said, once it was up, there were no other problems. Another great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 7, 2013
Perfect for Office Holiday Party!
I was really impressed by this dress. The lace was really nice. It was a little roomy in the top, but it wasn't too bad. I loved the pleated skirt! It was perfectly sparkly enough for the holiday party but still conservative enough for a work event. It does look a little more blue than black in person, but the tag considers it black. Also the sparkles are more iridescent than gold.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 30, 2013
Perfect dress for a formal dinner or holiday party:)
Loved wearing this dress! Fit a little tight in the bodice but overall very comfortable. Length is appropriate for a family function even on fairly tall girls (I'm 5'7 and it hit a little lower than mid thigh, above the knee). Pretty lace detail made it extra special.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
November 26, 2013
Sexy and modest
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. I order both the 4 & 6 and ended up in the 6. It was pretty snug so I would say if you're in between sizes move up. It's really a NAVY dress which you can't see by this picture. But it was gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 22, 2013
Pretty dress, odd fit
The dress was very pretty but both sizes didn't fit me right, it is longer than I expected, almost to my knees (I'm 5'4"). The top fit but the back lace part on shoulders was oddly big. RTR quickly shipped out a new dress for me when I contacted them!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 21, 2013
Great style of dress, but I didn't end up wearing this as the sequin color wasn't as I anticipated.
The navy color was perfect for my event, however the green-tinted sequins were not. Had the photos shown this fact, I wouldn't have selected this dress. I was bummed that it wasn't something I could wear....I'll try RTR again for my next event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 15, 2013
The dress was beautiful and I received a lot of compliments on it.
I would not recommend this dress if you are petite in the shoulders. The lace overlay was a little too big. I loved the dress and wish the lace would have laid flat. Unfortunately, there was some extra space in the front on the sides, right above the armpits. The lace in the back was saggy. Unfortunately, lace is not something that you can fix with some safety pins. I wore it anyway, and most people didn't notice. The dress fit perfectly everywhere else and was absolutely beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 18
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 30, 2013
Perfect dress!
This dress was beautiful and arrived in perfect condition. Fit was very true to size and was a nice length. The lace overlay has an awesome iridescent color to it that is prettier than the pictures show. Very, very nice dress and received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 28, 2013
another RTR hit
I received a lot of compliments on this dress. I ordered both a 2 and 4, and ended wearing 4. It definitely is true to size. I almost wished I had ordered the 6 since the 4 was just a tad snug, but nothing too uncomfortable. The zipper does seem to get stuck, so I had to have my husband zip me in and out of the dress, and he was struggling with the zipper due to the fabric. The lining underneath the lace did tend to ride up a bit with I sat down, but I think it was due to the fact that the dress was a little on the snug side for me. Over all the dress was a perfect pick for the event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2013
Pretty dress, very tight in the chest area
The dress was gorgeous (although the color is navy with greenish/gold trim not black with gold like I thought from the picture). My issues was it's basically strapless. I need to stop thinking I'll be able to wear strapless dresses, even if there's a lace overlay. The girls need support. I got a 4 and a 6, the 4 was too tight across the chest but perfect everywhere else. The 6 was way too big. Not RTR's fault. Next time I will get a 2nd option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
October 21, 2013
Beautiful dress, but the zipper was broken
This dress would have rated 5 stars if it had arrived in better shape. It is such a fun party dress and a very flattering color and cut. When I tried it on upon receiving it, the zipper was hard to budge at the point where the two different fabrics meet but I got it to work with my husband's help. However, for the next evening's event it wouldn't budge and then broke. Luckily this was my back-up dress that RTR sent b/c my second size dress was out of stock, so I just wore the other style. But I was disappointed since I ended up loving this one more, but the zipper nonsense made it unwearable. I've used RTR many times and this is my first issue with a rental, so I know I will rent again. Just be aware that this dress might be damaged or hard to zip.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 14, 2013
Perfect for a Wedding or Party, Very Comfortable
This dress was beautiful. I hadn't seen many lace dresses with an additional design. It looked classy, flirty and fun. I was going to my boyfriend's cousins wedding. It was the first time I was meeting his extended family and I wanted to look good/fashionable, but a little more conservative. It was very comfortable. The bodice hugged me in the right places and I got compliments on how thin I looked. I could see myself wearing this to a number of functions (holiday party, out for fancy dinner). I paired with gold/bronze accessories but you could definitely do silver or black as well. Only complaint is the zipper gets a little stuck and I needed my boyfriend to help zip. I don't think I would have been able to zip it on my own.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2013
Pretty details, very comfortable!
This was a great dress for a wedding or cocktail event. The lace was beautiful and the overall fit was very comfortable. The 2 was a little big on top, so I went with the 0. My only complaint is that the lining/lace got very static-y but it's nothing some static guard can't fix.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×