Rent the Runway

ERIN erin fetherston

Such An Illusion Dress

$30 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for this sweet and flirty dress by ERIN Erin Fetherston for all of your upcoming holiday parties. Such a pretty style to wear while dancing the night away! Highlight the gold accents with accessories like kate spade new york accessories’ Opening Night Necklace and Whiting & Davis’ Gilded Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Lurex lace (96.4% Nylon, 3.6% Polyester). Sleeveless. Illusion lace crew neckline. Keyhole detail with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook and eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

72 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 53
Large 4
Photos 32
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Pretty details, very comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress for a wedding or cocktail event. The lace was beautiful and the overall fit was very comfortable. The 2 was a little big on top, so I went with the 0. My only complaint is that the lining/lace got very static-y but it's nothing some static guard can't fix.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Perfect for a Wedding or Party, Very Comfortable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful. I hadn't seen many lace dresses with an additional design. It looked classy, flirty and fun. I was going to my boyfriend's cousins wedding. It was the first time I was meeting his extended family and I wanted to look good/fashionable, but a little more conservative. It was very comfortable. The bodice hugged me in the right places and I got compliments on how thin I looked. I could see myself wearing this to a number of functions (holiday party, out for fancy dinner). I paired with gold/bronze accessories but you could definitely do silver or black as well. Only complaint is the zipper gets a little stuck and I needed my boyfriend to help zip. I don't think I would have been able to zip it on my own.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 17
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 30, 2013

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was beautiful and arrived in perfect condition. Fit was very true to size and was a nice length. The lace overlay has an awesome iridescent color to it that is prettier than the pictures show. Very, very nice dress and received many compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 30, 2013

Perfect dress for a formal dinner or holiday party:)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved wearing this dress! Fit a little tight in the bodice but overall very comfortable. Length is appropriate for a family function even on fairly tall girls (I'm 5'7 and it hit a little lower than mid thigh, above the knee). Pretty lace detail made it extra special.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 7, 2013

Perfect for Office Holiday Party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was really impressed by this dress. The lace was really nice. It was a little roomy in the top, but it wasn't too bad. I loved the pleated skirt! It was perfectly sparkly enough for the holiday party but still conservative enough for a work event. It does look a little more blue than black in person, but the tag considers it black. Also the sparkles are more iridescent than gold.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

The bride said, "You have to buy that dress!"

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received so many compliments on this dress! I wore this dress to a winter wedding in Aspen and it was perfect! The dress was classy and nice enough for the occasion but still fun and easy to dance in. It's hard to see in the photo, but the iridescent green really stands out nicely and gives the look some sparkle. I found it to be true to size and the length was good on a short body. The zipper was definitely troublesome; I couldn't zip it up without help and even with help it was difficult. That said, once it was up, there were no other problems. Another great rental!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

beautiful fit and details

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved wearing this dress to an evening wedding. It fits like a glove but true to size. The lace is just beautiful, and the photos don't do justice to its blue-green shimmer. The length is also great for petite ladies. The one (fairly inconsequential) flaw is that the zipper is really difficult to close - I think it's something about the fabric that makes it so. Best to have a helper to zip you up. But really, really fantastic dress overall. Tons of compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

so many compliments on the dress and the bag!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
it's a little tight in the chest and rib cage, so if you have larger breasts, make may sense to go up one size. gorgeous dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 8, 2014

the shiny details on the dress made it perfect for a NYE wedding!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up sizing up because the underneath layer on the skirt was too tight in a 6. the bodice part fit better in the 6 though... the length was perfect for a family wedding...above the knee but not too short at all. and the keyhole in the upper back is so cute. the green metallicy details on this dress make it so different and gorgeous! lots of compliments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

So many nice compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit beautifully. It was an appropriate length for a wedding. I am 5'9 so I was concerned about the length but it was perfect. I received so many compliments at the wedding and even at work the next day from my Facebook photos. Would definitely recommend this dress for a wedding or any other formal event.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 29, 2014

Pretty dress and got many compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The sequins are green toned, which is difficult to match accessories. Overall very comfortable.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 13, 2014

Being around my beautiful friends and getting to wear this amazing dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I liked this dress and it covered my bust nicely. The fit was a little odd around the top and the sequins on it are not gold. But over all I was really happy with it and got a lot of compliments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

It was a tight fit on top but I made it work and got a ton of compliments so it was all good.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit on top was smaller than I expected but I do have a fairly large bust (36DD) and broad shoulders and the material just doesn't allow for an extra space. The zipper on this was my main complaint. The only way I was able to get it zipped was to flip it around and zip it from the front, then flip it back and shimmy my arms into and hook it closed. Even when the dress was just on the hanger it was hard to zip closed without feeling like I was going to break it (I think that it's just the invisible zipper and the material)! Be patient and be gentle and it will be worth it. This dress was amazing, the color, the design...I definitely looked original and felt like a million bucks.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

Beautiful on the top..green details

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I chose to wear the bigger of the 2 sizes (8)because the under layer of this dress was quite tight around my legs. Wish it wasn't because the top fit better on the 6. Got lots of compliment on it though!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Classy win!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt like a lady and received a ton of compliments! My date could not take his eyes off me! <3
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Pretty but not unforgettable

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
PROS: This dress looks prettier in person than in the picture. Green adds more sparkles and interest to the dress. Fabric is light and feminine. I rented to wear for a wedding but this would be good option for holiday/cocktail events. CONS: Unfortunately, this dress had the same issue for me as the other dress I rented (Herve Leger Spellbinding red dress) that I didn't get to wear. I'm not sure if my torso is too short, or the cut is too long but top was bunching at my natural waist. Overall length on me looked little longer on me (~1" above my knee) Slightly shorter length would look cuter in my opinion Overall impression of the dress: Pretty, good for conservative events, would be flattering on most women but it didn't excite me.
RTR Customer
Sep 21, 2014

Excellent experience! Can't wait to rent again!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty dress. Dress was true to size. Was a little slimmer in the hips than I thought it would be, but overall good fit. Loved my experience with RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Sep 23, 2014

Didn't think I'd like the green shimmer but it was actually very pretty!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 6 fit great but when my hubby went to zip it, the zipper came flying right off!!! The 8 was a little big but it wound up working out well in the end.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

Met my boyfriend's extended family in this dress and got tons of compliments on it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is the best dress I've rented yet! I tried the 2 on initially and it fit nicely but was a little loose around the chest for me. With the sheer nature of the top I worried my bra may show. The 0 was a bit snug in the waist after dinner but was comfortable enough to dance all night in. I got tons of compliments and would not hesitate to recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Cute dress, terrible zipper!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an October wedding. I read the reviews, and got a "helper" for the zipper, but three of us could not zip it up so I had to wear a different dress to the ceremony. I brought the dress to try again for the reception, and FINALLY someone got it up, but not without a LOT of hassle, and almost feeling like we were breaking the zipper. I usually order a 4 or 6 in most dresses, but upon reading the reviews settled on a 6 and 8. The 6 would've fit perfect if it weren't for my 36 D chest. I had to wear a strapless bra which wasn't a problem, but the top of the dress doesn't seem to be made for bustier women; it almost seemed like it was flattening me down instead of accentuating the shape. The material was absolutely beautiful and I loved how it flowed around me, but due to the impossible zipper and the boob-flattening, I will not be renting this again.
RTR Customer
Age: 28
Oct 15, 2014

Stylist overnighted me a dress based solely on a description of my body type and the event!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great in chest area which was a concern of mine. The black under lining is much more form fitting than the lace over it so keep that in mind.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 17, 2014

Had so much fun in this beautiful comfortable dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Only downside to the dress was that I was in between sizes and I had to go with the size that was a little too big... Otherwise it was perfectly comfortable.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

Well-made, comfortable dress, perfect for attending a fall wedding.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This fit like a glove in the size 2 and in a good way - fitted through the bodice and then a lovely flare (great for dancing) on the skirt. Erin F. dresses tend to be a bit short on me (even though I have short legs) but this was still a totally appropriate length that looked great with heels. Barely needs accessories & still got lots of compliments. Most important to me personally: very comfortable!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2014

I rented this for my company holiday party. Good thing I brought a backup dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 4-6 in any dress I rent from this site, but even the 6 did not fit me - I would have had to remove some ribs for it to zip up. There is no stretch in this dress. It's pretty, but I couldn't wear it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Loved the touch of sparkle on this!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Reading the reviews from all the other ladies, I got my regular size 4 and a size up 6. The 4 was definitely tight in some places and the 6 was looser in some places-- I ended up wearing the 4 for my cousin's wedding. My waist is on the smaller side, so it didn't bother me as much, but the underslip around my legs was tighter than I had anticipated. I didn't get to take a picture of the back, but if you take a look, where the zipper ends and there is fabric up to the button at the neck, that was oddly loose and was slightly puffed out in the back. I actually left my hair down because it looked kind of goofy. The neckline (below the mesh part) sat a little bit lower than anticipated. You are probably better off wearing those gel cup bras-- I actually wore a bandeau bathing suit top (which the back of the strap sat lowers) because my strapless bra was showing in the back. The lace is very pretty and the color is beautiful, but didn't work out as well as I thought it would.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

Comfortable, fun, holiday sparkle, a little flirty but conservative enough for office party

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was a perfect fit for me. I have a very small bust and it was snug around the bust. Loved where the dress hit above the knee and the lace along the bottom was much prettier than i expected it to be. It was comfortable and fun to dance in. The zipper was difficult to zip, there can be NO tension along the waist to allow it to zip past that point (had to suck in and stop breathing while I zipped). Dress appeared to be brand new, if not then kept in very good condition which has not always been the case with other dresses I've rented. Definitely glad I chose this one!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 22, 2014

Beautiful dress for the holidays!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my company holiday party. It was a beautiful dress and I got many compliments all night. The dress is a little more green than in the picture, so it was a perfect hue for the holidays. I paired it with black sheer tights and black heels. Many people complained about the zipper, but I didn't have any issues. The zipper only goes about half way up the back, and has a button at the top, so, the back is open a bit, a strapless bra is a must. The only complaint that I have about the dress is that I am short, only 5'2" so the dress sat a little funny on the shoulders, it bunched a little bit, but not enough to be bothersome. (I think I am probably the only one that noticed it). If i were taller this wouldn't have been an issue. The dress photographs beautifully and would recommend this dress! Thanks as always RTR for a great experience!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Although the dress was a little smaller than expected I was so happy with how it fit and looked!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
I'm so glad I got both the 8 and 10. I ended up wearing. The 10 which fit much better but was still airflow tight. The black under skirt is much more form fitting than the lace dress and is what caused me to need to wear the 10. Overall I was super happy with the dress, loved the color and fit, great cocktail dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

Didn't fit :(

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Was too small but only because I was over ambitions on the size. Beautiful dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Wore this dress to a New Year's Eve party.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress, looks even better on than hanging up. Comfortable and classy. Received tons of compliments all night. Would definitely rent again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 7, 2015

This was my back up dress and it should have been my first choice!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
This dress was great and is much prettier in person. The green in the sparkle detail is much more obvious and I got tons of compliments. The only con is the understood runs a little small so if you're curvy like me I would try a size up for the second size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Meh.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress on new year's eve. The zipper is had to get up where the skirt meets the top. The lining is very form fitting and rides up when you sit down, where as the lace dress is flowy and doesn't ride up at all. I was happy with it, but I wouldn't rent it again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

Wore this for NYE! Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: beautiful dress, not itchy, good length Cons: The only problem was that I rented this dress last minute and as a result had to squeeze into a size 4 instead of my usual size 6. Be warned that the waist seam has NO give.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 15, 2015

Cute, fun, and flirty!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable and easy to wear.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

Super comfy!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Last minute rental with this dress for a wedding I went to. Super comfy and perfect for a winter wedding! Dress fit perfectly and got tons of compliments!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119 lbs
Mar 31, 2015

RTR really saved my butt, the person that rented the dress before myself ruined it. They really help

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The design is very different in person, it came as a back up for my original dress. Do not suggest
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Apr 4, 2015

Many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very true to size, and as in all the reviews I have read-- the zipper is VERY hard. The dress is gorgeous in person, and very comfortable. I'm pear shaped and it was a little tight around my thighs but a size bigger was too baggy on top.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Fun party dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
When the first dress I ordered for a wedding didn't fit right the stylist at RTR suggested this one. It fit true to size, I am 5'2 so it's hard to find dresses that aren't too long on me. It was a fun dress I got lots of compliments the green makes it better for Fall or winter than spring but the day turned out cold so I was dressed appropriately. The best part is since the dress has the high sheer neck and lots of design / shine you don't need much jewelry to dress it up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
May 14, 2015

Comfortable and beautiful!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved wearing this dress. It was very comfortable and easy to wear and very beautiful with the green under the black lace.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2015

Great Dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an evening wedding in Pittsburgh. It was a huge hit! My husband loved me in it and said it was very flattering! I loved the cut/shape of the dress...I think it would be flattering on most body types. It was a little tight right around the seam in the middle, but other than that, it was a great fit! I got many compliments throughout the night. It was fun to dance in and looked great the whole evening. Another wonderful rental from RTR!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×