Such An Illusion Dress

$119 to buy
$395 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Go for this sweet and flirty dress by ERIN Erin Fetherston for all of your upcoming holiday parties. Such a pretty style to wear while dancing the night away! Highlight the gold accents with accessories like kate spade new york accessories’ Opening Night Necklace and Whiting & Davis’ Gilded Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Lurex lace (96.4% Nylon, 3.6% Polyester). Sleeveless. Illusion lace crew neckline. Keyhole detail with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook and eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
77 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(57)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 3, 2014
Pretty but not unforgettable
PROS: This dress looks prettier in person than in the picture. Green adds more sparkles and interest to the dress. Fabric is light and feminine. I rented to wear for a wedding but this would be good option for holiday/cocktail events. CONS: Unfortunately, this dress had the same issue for me as the other dress I rented (Herve Leger Spellbinding red dress) that I didn't get to wear. I'm not sure if my torso is too short, or the cut is too long but top was bunching at my natural waist. Overall length on me looked little longer on me (~1" above my knee) Slightly shorter length would look cuter in my opinion Overall impression of the dress: Pretty, good for conservative events, would be flattering on most women but it didn't excite me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
September 23, 2014
Didn't think I'd like the green shimmer but it was actually very pretty!
The 6 fit great but when my hubby went to zip it, the zipper came flying right off!!! The 8 was a little big but it wound up working out well in the end.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
October 14, 2014
Cute dress, terrible zipper!
I rented this dress for an October wedding. I read the reviews, and got a "helper" for the zipper, but three of us could not zip it up so I had to wear a different dress to the ceremony. I brought the dress to try again for the reception, and FINALLY someone got it up, but not without a LOT of hassle, and almost feeling like we were breaking the zipper. I usually order a 4 or 6 in most dresses, but upon reading the reviews settled on a 6 and 8. The 6 would've fit perfect if it weren't for my 36 D chest. I had to wear a strapless bra which wasn't a problem, but the top of the dress doesn't seem to be made for bustier women; it almost seemed like it was flattening me down instead of accentuating the shape. The material was absolutely beautiful and I loved how it flowed around me, but due to the impossible zipper and the boob-flattening, I will not be renting this again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 15, 2014
Stylist overnighted me a dress based solely on a description of my body type and the event!
Fit great in chest area which was a concern of mine. The black under lining is much more form fitting than the lace over it so keep that in mind.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 23, 2014
Well-made, comfortable dress, perfect for attending a fall wedding.
This fit like a glove in the size 2 and in a good way - fitted through the bodice and then a lovely flare (great for dancing) on the skirt. Erin F. dresses tend to be a bit short on me (even though I have short legs) but this was still a totally appropriate length that looked great with heels. Barely needs accessories & still got lots of compliments. Most important to me personally: very comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2014
I rented this for my company holiday party. Good thing I brought a backup dress!
I usually wear a 4-6 in any dress I rent from this site, but even the 6 did not fit me - I would have had to remove some ribs for it to zip up. There is no stretch in this dress. It's pretty, but I couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 11, 2014
Loved the touch of sparkle on this!
Reading the reviews from all the other ladies, I got my regular size 4 and a size up 6. The 4 was definitely tight in some places and the 6 was looser in some places-- I ended up wearing the 4 for my cousin's wedding. My waist is on the smaller side, so it didn't bother me as much, but the underslip around my legs was tighter than I had anticipated. I didn't get to take a picture of the back, but if you take a look, where the zipper ends and there is fabric up to the button at the neck, that was oddly loose and was slightly puffed out in the back. I actually left my hair down because it looked kind of goofy. The neckline (below the mesh part) sat a little bit lower than anticipated. You are probably better off wearing those gel cup bras-- I actually wore a bandeau bathing suit top (which the back of the strap sat lowers) because my strapless bra was showing in the back. The lace is very pretty and the color is beautiful, but didn't work out as well as I thought it would.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 31, 2014
Didn't fit :(
Was too small but only because I was over ambitions on the size. Beautiful dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2015
Wore this dress to a New Year's Eve party.
Beautiful dress, looks even better on than hanging up. Comfortable and classy. Received tons of compliments all night. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
January 7, 2015
This was my back up dress and it should have been my first choice!
This dress was great and is much prettier in person. The green in the sparkle detail is much more obvious and I got tons of compliments. The only con is the understood runs a little small so if you're curvy like me I would try a size up for the second size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2015
Meh.
I wore this dress on new year's eve. The zipper is had to get up where the skirt meets the top. The lining is very form fitting and rides up when you sit down, where as the lace dress is flowy and doesn't ride up at all. I was happy with it, but I wouldn't rent it again.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 1, 2015
Super comfy!
Last minute rental with this dress for a wedding I went to. Super comfy and perfect for a winter wedding! Dress fit perfectly and got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 21, 2014
Didn't wear it
It didn't it, and was weirdly stiff and uncomfortable feeling so don't think I would have worn it even if it had.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
April 4, 2015
Many compliments!
Very true to size, and as in all the reviews I have read-- the zipper is VERY hard. The dress is gorgeous in person, and very comfortable. I'm pear shaped and it was a little tight around my thighs but a size bigger was too baggy on top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 28, 2015
Fun party dress
When the first dress I ordered for a wedding didn't fit right the stylist at RTR suggested this one. It fit true to size, I am 5'2 so it's hard to find dresses that aren't too long on me. It was a fun dress I got lots of compliments the green makes it better for Fall or winter than spring but the day turned out cold so I was dressed appropriately. The best part is since the dress has the high sheer neck and lots of design / shine you don't need much jewelry to dress it up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 15, 2015
Cute, fun, and flirty!
Very comfortable and easy to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
May 14, 2015
Comfortable and beautiful!
I loved wearing this dress. It was very comfortable and easy to wear and very beautiful with the green under the black lace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 28, 2015
Great Dress!
I rented this dress for an evening wedding in Pittsburgh. It was a huge hit! My husband loved me in it and said it was very flattering! I loved the cut/shape of the dress...I think it would be flattering on most body types. It was a little tight right around the seam in the middle, but other than that, it was a great fit! I got many compliments throughout the night. It was fun to dance in and looked great the whole evening. Another wonderful rental from RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
July 20, 2015
I wore this dress for my work Christmas party and I got lots of compliments!
I usually wear an 8 or 10, and I went with the 10. The fit was good, except the sheer part on the back gapped oddly. I wore purple tights and black heels with this dress. A very classy dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 5, 2015
Tons of Compliment!!! Comfortable and easy to wear.
I wore this dress to an evening wedding, it was perfect. I agree with all the other review the under skirt is a little small, I wore an 8, I an usually a 6. The dress fit everywhere else just fine. I also agree that the zipper is somewhat tough to get over the waist weather you are in the dress or not. But other than that, it's great. This dress is very flattering, I love that the lace is longer than the under skirt. The bust was slightly big but not enough to make it look sloppy, made it comfortable. I received tons of compliments, I can't wait to wear it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
November 18, 2015
I wore this for NYE and it was just perfect amount of sparkly!
the underskirt layer was a touch snug, which i wasn't expecting in a full skirted dress. but everything else was true to size, and I loved it! so sparkly and fun.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
January 18, 2016
Perfect Birthday Dress.
I wore this for my 30th. Birthday party. I felt beautiful in it all night and was able to dance comfortably. It has a tighter black dress underneath the green - sparkly, fuller skirt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 30, 2013
Perfect dress!
This dress was beautiful and arrived in perfect condition. Fit was very true to size and was a nice length. The lace overlay has an awesome iridescent color to it that is prettier than the pictures show. Very, very nice dress and received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2014
Pretty dress and got many compliments.
The sequins are green toned, which is difficult to match accessories. Overall very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 21, 2014
Excellent experience! Can't wait to rent again!
Very pretty dress. Dress was true to size. Was a little slimmer in the hips than I thought it would be, but overall good fit. Loved my experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 115lbs
September 29, 2014
Met my boyfriend's extended family in this dress and got tons of compliments on it!
This is the best dress I've rented yet! I tried the 2 on initially and it fit nicely but was a little loose around the chest for me. With the sheer nature of the top I worried my bra may show. The 0 was a bit snug in the waist after dinner but was comfortable enough to dance all night in. I got tons of compliments and would not hesitate to recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 17, 2014
Had so much fun in this beautiful comfortable dress
Only downside to the dress was that I was in between sizes and I had to go with the size that was a little too big... Otherwise it was perfectly comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2014
Comfortable, fun, holiday sparkle, a little flirty but conservative enough for office party
The dress was a perfect fit for me. I have a very small bust and it was snug around the bust. Loved where the dress hit above the knee and the lace along the bottom was much prettier than i expected it to be. It was comfortable and fun to dance in. The zipper was difficult to zip, there can be NO tension along the waist to allow it to zip past that point (had to suck in and stop breathing while I zipped). Dress appeared to be brand new, if not then kept in very good condition which has not always been the case with other dresses I've rented. Definitely glad I chose this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
December 22, 2014
Although the dress was a little smaller than expected I was so happy with how it fit and looked!
I'm so glad I got both the 8 and 10. I ended up wearing. The 10 which fit much better but was still airflow tight. The black under skirt is much more form fitting than the lace dress and is what caused me to need to wear the 10. Overall I was super happy with the dress, loved the color and fit, great cocktail dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 9, 2015
Wore this for NYE! Got so many compliments!
Pros: beautiful dress, not itchy, good length Cons: The only problem was that I rented this dress last minute and as a result had to squeeze into a size 4 instead of my usual size 6. Be warned that the waist seam has NO give.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2013
Pretty dress, very tight in the chest area
The dress was gorgeous (although the color is navy with greenish/gold trim not black with gold like I thought from the picture). My issues was it's basically strapless. I need to stop thinking I'll be able to wear strapless dresses, even if there's a lace overlay. The girls need support. I got a 4 and a 6, the 4 was too tight across the chest but perfect everywhere else. The 6 was way too big. Not RTR's fault. Next time I will get a 2nd option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
November 26, 2013
Sexy and modest
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. I order both the 4 & 6 and ended up in the 6. It was pretty snug so I would say if you're in between sizes move up. It's really a NAVY dress which you can't see by this picture. But it was gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 14, 2013
Gorgeous dress, but not a great fit for me
From the waist down, the size six fit well and looked beautiful, but it was a disaster on top. There was a lot of extra fabric in the lace part on top, so it did not lie flat, but bubbled outward and looked just awful. It's too bad, because if it fit me, I would have loved this dress. Perhaps this is not a great fit for petite body types.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
December 14, 2013
Back up dress, wish I could have worn!
Although I really liked this dress, I did not wear it. It was my back-up dress, but I might have chosen to wear it, if I could get the zipper up. Unfortunately, it is one of those dresses that is hard to zip, especially where the seams and boning are. I tried it on, but my husband was afraid he would damage it and thus was not able to get it zipped. If you get past that, very pretty dress. The lace has an almost iridescent sheen that looks green when the light hits it.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
April 16, 2014
Great dress!
This was my first dress from RTR and it was a super easy process. The dress arrived right on time, both sizes would have fit but the 10 was a little tight across the chest so I went with the 12. It was a great dress, the lace design was nice, and gave it some more visual interest. When I sat the under part of the dress did slip up a little and made it a little short but the lace was there to help cover up a little more. Overall it was a great dress and I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 22, 2014
Beautiful dress for the holidays!
I wore this dress to my company holiday party. It was a beautiful dress and I got many compliments all night. The dress is a little more green than in the picture, so it was a perfect hue for the holidays. I paired it with black sheer tights and black heels. Many people complained about the zipper, but I didn't have any issues. The zipper only goes about half way up the back, and has a button at the top, so, the back is open a bit, a strapless bra is a must. The only complaint that I have about the dress is that I am short, only 5'2" so the dress sat a little funny on the shoulders, it bunched a little bit, but not enough to be bothersome. (I think I am probably the only one that noticed it). If i were taller this wouldn't have been an issue. The dress photographs beautifully and would recommend this dress! Thanks as always RTR for a great experience!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
March 31, 2015
RTR really saved my butt, the person that rented the dress before myself ruined it. They really help
The design is very different in person, it came as a back up for my original dress. Do not suggest
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×