ERIN erin fetherston

Such An Illusion Dress

$30 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for this sweet and flirty dress by ERIN Erin Fetherston for all of your upcoming holiday parties. Such a pretty style to wear while dancing the night away! Highlight the gold accents with accessories like kate spade new york accessories’ Opening Night Necklace and Whiting & Davis’ Gilded Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Lurex lace (96.4% Nylon, 3.6% Polyester). Sleeveless. Illusion lace crew neckline. Keyhole detail with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook and eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

67 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 50
Large 4
Photos 30
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Pretty details, very comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress for a wedding or cocktail event. The lace was beautiful and the overall fit was very comfortable. The 2 was a little big on top, so I went with the 0. My only complaint is that the lining/lace got very static-y but it's nothing some static guard can't fix.
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Perfect for a Wedding or Party, Very Comfortable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful. I hadn't seen many lace dresses with an additional design. It looked classy, flirty and fun. I was going to my boyfriend's cousins wedding. It was the first time I was meeting his extended family and I wanted to look good/fashionable, but a little more conservative. It was very comfortable. The bodice hugged me in the right places and I got compliments on how thin I looked. I could see myself wearing this to a number of functions (holiday party, out for fancy dinner). I paired with gold/bronze accessories but you could definitely do silver or black as well. Only complaint is the zipper gets a little stuck and I needed my boyfriend to help zip. I don't think I would have been able to zip it on my own.
L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 17
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 30, 2013

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was beautiful and arrived in perfect condition. Fit was very true to size and was a nice length. The lace overlay has an awesome iridescent color to it that is prettier than the pictures show. Very, very nice dress and received many compliments.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 30, 2013

Perfect dress for a formal dinner or holiday party:)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved wearing this dress! Fit a little tight in the bodice but overall very comfortable. Length is appropriate for a family function even on fairly tall girls (I'm 5'7 and it hit a little lower than mid thigh, above the knee). Pretty lace detail made it extra special.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 7, 2013

Perfect for Office Holiday Party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was really impressed by this dress. The lace was really nice. It was a little roomy in the top, but it wasn't too bad. I loved the pleated skirt! It was perfectly sparkly enough for the holiday party but still conservative enough for a work event. It does look a little more blue than black in person, but the tag considers it black. Also the sparkles are more iridescent than gold.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

The bride said, "You have to buy that dress!"

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received so many compliments on this dress! I wore this dress to a winter wedding in Aspen and it was perfect! The dress was classy and nice enough for the occasion but still fun and easy to dance in. It's hard to see in the photo, but the iridescent green really stands out nicely and gives the look some sparkle. I found it to be true to size and the length was good on a short body. The zipper was definitely troublesome; I couldn't zip it up without help and even with help it was difficult. That said, once it was up, there were no other problems. Another great rental!
Samantha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

beautiful fit and details

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved wearing this dress to an evening wedding. It fits like a glove but true to size. The lace is just beautiful, and the photos don't do justice to its blue-green shimmer. The length is also great for petite ladies. The one (fairly inconsequential) flaw is that the zipper is really difficult to close - I think it's something about the fabric that makes it so. Best to have a helper to zip you up. But really, really fantastic dress overall. Tons of compliments.
Mckenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

so many compliments on the dress and the bag!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
it's a little tight in the chest and rib cage, so if you have larger breasts, make may sense to go up one size. gorgeous dress!
julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 8, 2014

the shiny details on the dress made it perfect for a NYE wedding!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up sizing up because the underneath layer on the skirt was too tight in a 6. the bodice part fit better in the 6 though... the length was perfect for a family wedding...above the knee but not too short at all. and the keyhole in the upper back is so cute. the green metallicy details on this dress make it so different and gorgeous! lots of compliments.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

So many nice compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit beautifully. It was an appropriate length for a wedding. I am 5'9 so I was concerned about the length but it was perfect. I received so many compliments at the wedding and even at work the next day from my Facebook photos. Would definitely recommend this dress for a wedding or any other formal event.
Lo
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 29, 2014

Pretty dress and got many compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The sequins are green toned, which is difficult to match accessories. Overall very comfortable.
Lena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 10, 2014

Pretty material

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I love the lace material, with pretty green shiny threads throughout. I didn't wear the dress because both sizes I ordered were too small. The black bust area didn't cover my bra very well, so my strapless bra was very visible underneath. The skirt was full, and the slip underneath was more straight, but not too tight to walk or dance, unless you're doing lunges in a Tango or Bolero.
Blair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 13, 2014

Being around my beautiful friends and getting to wear this amazing dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I liked this dress and it covered my bust nicely. The fit was a little odd around the top and the sequins on it are not gold. But over all I was really happy with it and got a lot of compliments.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

It was a tight fit on top but I made it work and got a ton of compliments so it was all good.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit on top was smaller than I expected but I do have a fairly large bust (36DD) and broad shoulders and the material just doesn't allow for an extra space. The zipper on this was my main complaint. The only way I was able to get it zipped was to flip it around and zip it from the front, then flip it back and shimmy my arms into and hook it closed. Even when the dress was just on the hanger it was hard to zip closed without feeling like I was going to break it (I think that it's just the invisible zipper and the material)! Be patient and be gentle and it will be worth it. This dress was amazing, the color, the design...I definitely looked original and felt like a million bucks.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

This dress was unflattering and I didn't wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress belled out at the hips and looked terrible on. I ended up wearing an old dress to the event. Bummer.
amber
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

did not get to wear, runs small

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
this dress would've looked amazing, if it actually would have zipped, but we can blame that on my large hips.
None
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 142 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

Beautiful on the top..green details

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I chose to wear the bigger of the 2 sizes (8)because the under layer of this dress was quite tight around my legs. Wish it wasn't because the top fit better on the 6. Got lots of compliment on it though!
Marissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

The lace detail was beautiful.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The zipper is hard to zip at the waist. The built in slip is tighter than you expect it to be based on how much volume the skirt has.
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Pretty okay

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. It is a very beautiful dress and the 8 would have been perfect BUT, unbeknownst to me, the black lining of the dress is more of a sheath style than an A Line style. I am a bit hippy, with a smaller torso/chest so I tend to rent A Line dresses to avoid the bottom being too tight. Unfortunately, the 8 fit perfect up top but was way too tight on the bottom due to the lining. The 10 fit better on the bottom but was a little too roomy on the top. But gorgeous dress overall
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Classy win!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt like a lady and received a ton of compliments! My date could not take his eyes off me! <3
Kari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Pretty but not unforgettable

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
PROS: This dress looks prettier in person than in the picture. Green adds more sparkles and interest to the dress. Fabric is light and feminine. I rented to wear for a wedding but this would be good option for holiday/cocktail events. CONS: Unfortunately, this dress had the same issue for me as the other dress I rented (Herve Leger Spellbinding red dress) that I didn't get to wear. I'm not sure if my torso is too short, or the cut is too long but top was bunching at my natural waist. Overall length on me looked little longer on me (~1" above my knee) Slightly shorter length would look cuter in my opinion Overall impression of the dress: Pretty, good for conservative events, would be flattering on most women but it didn't excite me.
RTR Customer
Sep 21, 2014

Excellent experience! Can't wait to rent again!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty dress. Dress was true to size. Was a little slimmer in the hips than I thought it would be, but overall good fit. Loved my experience with RTR!
Tonia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Sep 23, 2014

Didn't think I'd like the green shimmer but it was actually very pretty!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 6 fit great but when my hubby went to zip it, the zipper came flying right off!!! The 8 was a little big but it wound up working out well in the end.
Marlie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

Met my boyfriend's extended family in this dress and got tons of compliments on it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is the best dress I've rented yet! I tried the 2 on initially and it fit nicely but was a little loose around the chest for me. With the sheer nature of the top I worried my bra may show. The 0 was a bit snug in the waist after dinner but was comfortable enough to dance all night in. I got tons of compliments and would not hesitate to recommend this dress.
kristinad
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Cute dress, terrible zipper!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an October wedding. I read the reviews, and got a "helper" for the zipper, but three of us could not zip it up so I had to wear a different dress to the ceremony. I brought the dress to try again for the reception, and FINALLY someone got it up, but not without a LOT of hassle, and almost feeling like we were breaking the zipper. I usually order a 4 or 6 in most dresses, but upon reading the reviews settled on a 6 and 8. The 6 would've fit perfect if it weren't for my 36 D chest. I had to wear a strapless bra which wasn't a problem, but the top of the dress doesn't seem to be made for bustier women; it almost seemed like it was flattening me down instead of accentuating the shape. The material was absolutely beautiful and I loved how it flowed around me, but due to the impossible zipper and the boob-flattening, I will not be renting this again.
Caitlin
Age: 28
Oct 15, 2014

Stylist overnighted me a dress based solely on a description of my body type and the event!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great in chest area which was a concern of mine. The black under lining is much more form fitting than the lace over it so keep that in mind.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 17, 2014

Had so much fun in this beautiful comfortable dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Only downside to the dress was that I was in between sizes and I had to go with the size that was a little too big... Otherwise it was perfectly comfortable.
gogirl1213
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

Well-made, comfortable dress, perfect for attending a fall wedding.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This fit like a glove in the size 2 and in a good way - fitted through the bodice and then a lovely flare (great for dancing) on the skirt. Erin F. dresses tend to be a bit short on me (even though I have short legs) but this was still a totally appropriate length that looked great with heels. Barely needs accessories & still got lots of compliments. Most important to me personally: very comfortable!
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2014

I rented this for my company holiday party. Good thing I brought a backup dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 4-6 in any dress I rent from this site, but even the 6 did not fit me - I would have had to remove some ribs for it to zip up. There is no stretch in this dress. It's pretty, but I couldn't wear it.
Becky
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Loved the touch of sparkle on this!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Reading the reviews from all the other ladies, I got my regular size 4 and a size up 6. The 4 was definitely tight in some places and the 6 was looser in some places-- I ended up wearing the 4 for my cousin's wedding. My waist is on the smaller side, so it didn't bother me as much, but the underslip around my legs was tighter than I had anticipated. I didn't get to take a picture of the back, but if you take a look, where the zipper ends and there is fabric up to the button at the neck, that was oddly loose and was slightly puffed out in the back. I actually left my hair down because it looked kind of goofy. The neckline (below the mesh part) sat a little bit lower than anticipated. You are probably better off wearing those gel cup bras-- I actually wore a bandeau bathing suit top (which the back of the strap sat lowers) because my strapless bra was showing in the back. The lace is very pretty and the color is beautiful, but didn't work out as well as I thought it would.
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

Comfortable, fun, holiday sparkle, a little flirty but conservative enough for office party

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was a perfect fit for me. I have a very small bust and it was snug around the bust. Loved where the dress hit above the knee and the lace along the bottom was much prettier than i expected it to be. It was comfortable and fun to dance in. The zipper was difficult to zip, there can be NO tension along the waist to allow it to zip past that point (had to suck in and stop breathing while I zipped). Dress appeared to be brand new, if not then kept in very good condition which has not always been the case with other dresses I've rented. Definitely glad I chose this one!
Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 22, 2014

Beautiful dress for the holidays!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my company holiday party. It was a beautiful dress and I got many compliments all night. The dress is a little more green than in the picture, so it was a perfect hue for the holidays. I paired it with black sheer tights and black heels. Many people complained about the zipper, but I didn't have any issues. The zipper only goes about half way up the back, and has a button at the top, so, the back is open a bit, a strapless bra is a must. The only complaint that I have about the dress is that I am short, only 5'2" so the dress sat a little funny on the shoulders, it bunched a little bit, but not enough to be bothersome. (I think I am probably the only one that noticed it). If i were taller this wouldn't have been an issue. The dress photographs beautifully and would recommend this dress! Thanks as always RTR for a great experience!
Catherine
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Although the dress was a little smaller than expected I was so happy with how it fit and looked!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
I'm so glad I got both the 8 and 10. I ended up wearing. The 10 which fit much better but was still airflow tight. The black under skirt is much more form fitting than the lace dress and is what caused me to need to wear the 10. Overall I was super happy with the dress, loved the color and fit, great cocktail dress!
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

Didn't fit :(

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Was too small but only because I was over ambitions on the size. Beautiful dress!
Courtney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Wore this dress to a New Year's Eve party.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress, looks even better on than hanging up. Comfortable and classy. Received tons of compliments all night. Would definitely rent again!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 7, 2015

This was my back up dress and it should have been my first choice!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
This dress was great and is much prettier in person. The green in the sparkle detail is much more obvious and I got tons of compliments. The only con is the understood runs a little small so if you're curvy like me I would try a size up for the second size.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Meh.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress on new year's eve. The zipper is had to get up where the skirt meets the top. The lining is very form fitting and rides up when you sit down, where as the lace dress is flowy and doesn't ride up at all. I was happy with it, but I wouldn't rent it again.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

Wore this for NYE! Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: beautiful dress, not itchy, good length Cons: The only problem was that I rented this dress last minute and as a result had to squeeze into a size 4 instead of my usual size 6. Be warned that the waist seam has NO give.
Kelly
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 15, 2015

Cute, fun, and flirty!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable and easy to wear.
HM
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

Super comfy!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Last minute rental with this dress for a wedding I went to. Super comfy and perfect for a winter wedding! Dress fit perfectly and got tons of compliments!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×