ERIN erin fetherston

Such An Illusion Dress

$30 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for this sweet and flirty dress by ERIN Erin Fetherston for all of your upcoming holiday parties. Such a pretty style to wear while dancing the night away! Highlight the gold accents with accessories like kate spade new york accessories’ Opening Night Necklace and Whiting & Davis’ Gilded Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Lurex lace (96.4% Nylon, 3.6% Polyester). Sleeveless. Illusion lace crew neckline. Keyhole detail with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook and eye closure. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

67 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 50
Large 4
Photos 30
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

Beautiful dress, but the zipper was broken

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress would have rated 5 stars if it had arrived in better shape. It is such a fun party dress and a very flattering color and cut. When I tried it on upon receiving it, the zipper was hard to budge at the point where the two different fabrics meet but I got it to work with my husband's help. However, for the next evening's event it wouldn't budge and then broke. Luckily this was my back-up dress that RTR sent b/c my second size dress was out of stock, so I just wore the other style. But I was disappointed since I ended up loving this one more, but the zipper nonsense made it unwearable. I've used RTR many times and this is my first issue with a rental, so I know I will rent again. Just be aware that this dress might be damaged or hard to zip.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 24, 2013

Pretty dress, very tight in the chest area

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was gorgeous (although the color is navy with greenish/gold trim not black with gold like I thought from the picture). My issues was it's basically strapless. I need to stop thinking I'll be able to wear strapless dresses, even if there's a lace overlay. The girls need support. I got a 4 and a 6, the 4 was too tight across the chest but perfect everywhere else. The 6 was way too big. Not RTR's fault. Next time I will get a 2nd option.
jules
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

another RTR hit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received a lot of compliments on this dress. I ordered both a 2 and 4, and ended wearing 4. It definitely is true to size. I almost wished I had ordered the 6 since the 4 was just a tad snug, but nothing too uncomfortable. The zipper does seem to get stuck, so I had to have my husband zip me in and out of the dress, and he was struggling with the zipper due to the fabric. The lining underneath the lace did tend to ride up a bit with I sat down, but I think it was due to the fact that the dress was a little on the snug side for me. Over all the dress was a perfect pick for the event!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Nov 15, 2013

The dress was beautiful and I received a lot of compliments on it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would not recommend this dress if you are petite in the shoulders. The lace overlay was a little too big. I loved the dress and wish the lace would have laid flat. Unfortunately, there was some extra space in the front on the sides, right above the armpits. The lace in the back was saggy. Unfortunately, lace is not something that you can fix with some safety pins. I wore it anyway, and most people didn't notice. The dress fit perfectly everywhere else and was absolutely beautiful.
Mychele
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 21, 2013

Great style of dress, but I didn't end up wearing this as the sequin color wasn't as I anticipated.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The navy color was perfect for my event, however the green-tinted sequins were not. Had the photos shown this fact, I wouldn't have selected this dress. I was bummed that it wasn't something I could wear....I'll try RTR again for my next event.
mcmerek
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

Pretty dress, odd fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very pretty but both sizes didn't fit me right, it is longer than I expected, almost to my knees (I'm 5'4"). The top fit but the back lace part on shoulders was oddly big. RTR quickly shipped out a new dress for me when I contacted them!
tua07252
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131 lbs
Nov 26, 2013

Sexy and modest

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. I order both the 4 & 6 and ended up in the 6. It was pretty snug so I would say if you're in between sizes move up. It's really a NAVY dress which you can't see by this picture. But it was gorgeous!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Dec 10, 2013

This dress was lovely but I ended up needing a smaller size so didn't wear it.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really liked the lace overlay on the dress. It is a pretty green glitter that feels very holiday. If I would have ordered the right size, I would have definitely enjoyed going to the party in it. It did tend to cling a bit because of static, but I'm sure a dryer sheet would have taken care of that had I worn it.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 11, 2013

This was my backup dress, and although I didn't wear it, the fit was perfect.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful lace, true to size.
Liz
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 11, 2013

Not what I expected.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was stiff and made me feel kind of frumpy. Sequin/glitter detail looked tackier in person. Thankfully I ordered this a couple days before my event and have time to find a different dress.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 14, 2013

Gorgeous dress, but not a great fit for me

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
From the waist down, the size six fit well and looked beautiful, but it was a disaster on top. There was a lot of extra fabric in the lace part on top, so it did not lie flat, but bubbled outward and looked just awful. It's too bad, because if it fit me, I would have loved this dress. Perhaps this is not a great fit for petite body types.
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 14, 2013

Back up dress, wish I could have worn!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Although I really liked this dress, I did not wear it. It was my back-up dress, but I might have chosen to wear it, if I could get the zipper up. Unfortunately, it is one of those dresses that is hard to zip, especially where the seams and boning are. I tried it on, but my husband was afraid he would damage it and thus was not able to get it zipped. If you get past that, very pretty dress. The lace has an almost iridescent sheen that looks green when the light hits it.
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 19, 2013

Great party dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! It was great for my husband's office Christmas party. It has a pretty green sheen to the lace, which made it very festive, and I got a LOT of compliments on it. I would make two notes though to future renters-- the lace is SO static-y! Get static guard before going out, otherwise you'll be fidgeting with the dress all night. Also, as other people have commented, this dress is labelled black (even on the dress's tag) but it is definitely NAVY.
stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

I wish I could buy this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the backup dress I ordered after being told the dress I ordered came back damaged. I love love this dress. Its so beautiful and flattering. If only it had pockets :) I'm glad I was able to wear something that RTR sent me this time!
Maria
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

This dress was my original choice for my senior homecoming. I did not end up wearing it.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was way too large for my small frame. I am normally a size 0, yet this dress was too baggy. It was too loose around the rib cage and too long at the hem. Also, the picture makes it look black and gold-be warned, it's actually black and green.
Ginger
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 21, 2014

Very flattering cut / fit. Loved the shimmery overlay.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress and excellent fit for pear shape. Very true to size. I think it can work for more casual or more dressy occasions and perfect for the wedding I went too as I didnt know how formal the affair would be. Loved the colors in the overlay. Just the right amount of shimmer. Pairs well with gold accents.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 26, 2014

love the shimmer!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress as a back up dress for a party. I ended up wearing my first choice but would rent this one again. I loved the shimmer and the slit in the top of the back of the dress. Overall was very flattering.
AY
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Feb 1, 2014

Didn't end up wearing it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Liked the concept, but in person was not flattering - felt older than expected and I didn't like the green shimmer on the lace.
Alli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

Gorgeous alternative to a standard LBD! Sophisticated yet youthful.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit great, the sparkly lace overlay looks really pretty. It covers you up, but the sheer layer keeps it young. Great fabric. The zipper was a little heavy duty with all those layers, so have someone you trust zip it up for you.
Krysti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

N/A

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress, I didn't realize the green highlight in dress when I ordered. Runs very true to size - I actually wore a size 10 and was a little loose on top (however RTR was out of size 8) Tons of compliments
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 28, 2014

Great dress, very unique, good fit

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved how iridescent it was. It reminded me of a dragonfly. The zipper was a little tricky, but overall not an issue.
Jenny
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 5, 2014

Just the right amount of everything for attending a winter wedding!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! The lace is so delicate and pretty and it has just a little bit of green and gold sparkle. It was perfect for my event! I am hesitant to say the dress ran small because I'm honestly not sure if it's the dress, or the harsh Chicago winter rounding me out a bit. I usually wear an 8, but I am so glad that I got the 10 as well! With a pair of Spanx on, it fit perfectly. Many people mentioned that the zipper felt a bit delicate, and I agree - it does. You need a little oomph to get it past the seam of the waist and it can be a little scary with the lace, but it worked out. Having a buddy to help you zip (harsh Chicago winter or not) is key. Another great tip someone mentioned that I will also pass along: static guard is helpful. I carefully took the dress out of the bag, and the lace immediately started "reaching" toward me! A pass with Static Guard cleared it up. Overall, an incredible dress that I felt like a million bucks in and received a lot of compliments for!
Dana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

I wore this to my sorority's anchor ball this weekend and couldn't stop getting compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits really well once you get the zipper up. I had to get a friend to really help me out because the zipper tends to get stuck where the waist sinches. Otherwise, this dress fit perfectly in the size I normally wear. This was my first rental and I will for sure be renting from here again!
Sheena
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Apr 16, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first dress from RTR and it was a super easy process. The dress arrived right on time, both sizes would have fit but the 10 was a little tight across the chest so I went with the 12. It was a great dress, the lace design was nice, and gave it some more visual interest. When I sat the under part of the dress did slip up a little and made it a little short but the lace was there to help cover up a little more. Overall it was a great dress and I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Didn't wear it

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It didn't it, and was weirdly stiff and uncomfortable feeling so don't think I would have worn it even if it had.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Anniversary dinner

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Loved the lace detail and shimmer! The fit was very big on bust, I ended up wearing a jacket all night to feel more comfortable. Overall it was a very pretty dress but better suited for someone with a bigger bust.
N
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

I've worn this dress in white and black and loved it both times! It's shimmery and fun for a party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's true to size and comfortable.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×