Rumor Says Dress

$50 rental
$275 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this little red peplum ERIN Erin Fetherston style to make him fall in love on that first date. He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you! Pair with a gold bangle and strappy heels.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Peplum detail at waist. Pencil skirt. Hidden center back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
162 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 1, 2014
Great dress! Love the material.
I wore this dress for my law school graduation. I loved it and received many compliments that night! The only reason I gave the dress 4 stars instead of 5 is because there is no slit in the back of the dress so your leg movement is a bit restricted. It is totally fine for walking normally. However, getting into the cars and walking up stairs is a tad bit more difficult. Nevertheless, I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 11, 2014
Wore it to SMU's Barrister's Ball
I wore this to my boyfriend's Barrister's Ball/"Law Prom" in the Spring. First off, the color is amazing! A super rich red, so I wore nude pumps and a simple chain gold necklace to balance it out. The fabric is extremely comfortable. I ordered a size 0 with a size 2 as a back up. I ended up wearing the size 0. Because the fabric had so much give, the size 0 made it a little tighter. I think if I had been going to a business function rather than a party I would've worn a size 2 which was a little bit looser.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 15, 2014
Dress runs long
I rented this for yet another wedding, but the dress ran very large! It was so long that it went down to my knees practically. It was heavy and not at all what I imagined. I think it would fit better on someone who was taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
August 12, 2014
Very comfortable! Danced the night away!!
Comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 14, 2014
Red hot!
I rented this dress for formal night on our cruise. The reviews noted the dress ran big so I ordered my normal size (8) and a size 6 as the alternate. The 6 fit well, it was a little loose in the waist/hips, but still made my waist look tiny, I think the 4 would have been too tight up top. The length was perfect and the peplum hid the problem spots and flattered all the right places. The dress was very comfortable and easy to move around in, I have two small children so I needed something that allowed me bend down to their level and move with them without exposing myself to the general population. The best part- I got compliments on the dress all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 18, 2014
Dress was beautiful.
I suggest pulling the front of the dressdown so that the back lies flat. Goes great with gold accesories.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
December 23, 2013
Really cute peplum dress!
This dress is a cute peplum dress, about knee length, pretty form fitting. I wore it to an office christmas party and got lots of compliments on it. It was really pretty and flattering, but also classy. I wore the size I ordered (4). It was a little bit tight across the hip area but not enough to be a problem. I tried the size 6 which was my back-up size but that was too big. Overall, it was a great holiday dress and I would recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 4, 2014
Peplum is very long
This was my back-up dress. It's very comfortable and runs a little big. I had extra room in the waist and bust area. It is very stretchy, so I didn't have to worry about it being too tight over my hips and butt. I don't think there's a need to size up in this dress. I didn't like the style of the dress at all when I tried it on because the peplum was very long, and my husband said it looked like I had a skirt over a skirt. It exaggerated my large hips instead of camouflaging them. I didn't wear it to my event, but I wore it the following night out to a wine bar. The color is very pretty, and I think it looked elegant with heels and jewelry.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2014
Flattering!!
I totally love this dress.. I was surprised at how flattering the peplum was on my hourglass-ish shape. I gave birth to my son about 7 month ago.. I haven't seen many of the people at this wedding in over a year. I had several people ask if I had a baby because it didn't look like it. I can't wait to rent it again!! My biggest gripe is that the bottom hem is super tight.. Obviously I dealt with it though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2014
RTR customer service is great! They saved me :)
I originally rented a different dress, but after receiving it I did not like it and it did not fit well. I called RTR Customer service to request another dress and this was the one I decided on. The stylist was great to work with and patient with me as I tried to choose another dress. . She overnighted me 2 sizes of this dress- a 2 and 4. Normally a size 4 will fit around my hips and a 2 will fit on my chest. I ended up wearing the 2 and I probably could have worn a 0. The dress runs a tad big. I wore the dress for an awards dinner for my fiancé's work in Puerto Rico! I paired it with a black belt at the waist, a black clutch and black pointed pumps. I thought it looked very classy :) overall great dress and even better customer service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 1, 2014
It was fun, flirty, yet professional. Perfect for what I had to do!
I hosted a fundraiser-- and the dress was perfect. I looked great, it felt great and I got lots of complements. My only issue was that it had a funny smell. I used my dry cleaner refresher and it worked fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 5, 2014
Cute dress! Would be great for any season!
Fit wonderfully! A little long on me, but It was great!!! Very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 8, 2014
This dress was perfect for my work Christmas party! Lots of compliments and was a fun dress to wear!
Great fit, gorgeous color, and flattering. The only thing is there is no slit in the back so shorter strides were required.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2013
It was the perfect fit, and so comfortable!
I am curvy, and this dress was so flattering to my body type. The color is absolutely stunning, and the material and fit of the dress were comfortable during the entire night. I wore this for a New Year's Eve party. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 28, 2014
Bold, beautifully colored dress for an event where you want to stand out
I received many compliments on this dress! It's form-fitting all over, but there's also a peplum area around the waist/hips that keeps it from being perfectly tight fitting there. I highly recommend pairing this dress with a statement necklace and nude pumps. Even though it's form-fitting, it's actually perfect for an occasion where you need to look classy or professional because of the high neck and length down to your knees (I wore it to my boyfriend's office holiday party). The only reason I rated it slightly lower is because there's no slit in the back of the dress, so expect that to limit you a little bit in walking fast or dancing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 179lbs
January 13, 2015
Very comfortable and beautiful dress!
I think the fit is probably on the bigger side, but this dress fit the bill for me. I had recently gained some weight and this dress was a great option. It was flattering and comfortable. Easy to move in, got lots of compliments. Would definitely rent again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 19, 2015
Classy
I wore this for a work party in Vegas. Beautiful color and really comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
March 3, 2015
Gorgeous and classy
The fit was perfect on me. I wore a size 2. The color is vibrant, and it was very classy. The peplum added a nice touch, and I loved that it was longer peplum than most styles, so it was more forgiving.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
November 5, 2012
Too big :(
I loved this dress when i saw it online, but it was way too big for me and had to send it back. I wouldn't recommend it for someone with an athletic, straight build. Maybe better suited better for curvier girls.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 8, 2012
I got a lot of compliments on this dress! It commands attention without being showy.
That said, it definitely runs big. I am consistently a size 6 but I ordered an 8 as back-up just in case - turns out I should have ordered a 4 as back-up, because the 6 was very roomy on me. Also, I am 5'10" and this came right to my knees - so for someone on the shorter side, this dress might be longer than you're expecting. Since it was longer than I had envisioned I was sort of questioning my choice as I wasn't sure if it was as formal as it should/could be for a wedding, but with the right jewelry I think it can be made much dressier. I got a big statement necklace that helped give the look some sparkly, and some gold strappy sandals to complete the look. All in all I was happy, but just be wary of the sizing and the length.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2012
Very odd fit...
I have a fairly normal body type, although a bit larger in the chest than the bottom half. I am usually a 4-6 and ordered both in this dress. The 4 fit the best but thats not saying much. The dress was really fitted, but when I tried on the 6 it was huge in the arm holes. The main problem with this dress was the fact that there is no slit or anything in the skirt and the seam around your legs does not let you take a full step. A really big problem for such a slim fitting dress. Also, I found it odd that the pepum hit literally at the bottom of my butt cheeks and made a rather small bum look much larger. I sent it back almost immideately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
November 26, 2012
Beautiful, classy & formal.
I liked this dress. It is formal. I usually wear a 6, but the 4 fit nicer. I do have a full bust and it was very accomodating! The material is stretchy so it is super comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
November 28, 2012
Very classy. Nice bright and red!
I usually wear a 6. This size 6 ran large. If you are short, this dress needs to be worn with heels. I tried to wear it with flats and it made my legs look stubby because the dress is long enough to hit below the knee. It was comfortable, and covered my stomach area. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 29, 2012
Red!
It was longer than I thought it would be, but I'm short. I loved it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
December 4, 2012
Beautiful!
Red is now my new favorite color! I love the material and design of the dress, it fit great and received lots of compliments...even from men! Wore it to my husband's holiday party. Thank you rent the runway!!!
SeyonDecember 5, 2012
Hey you're my size and I'm thinking about getting the dress. Can you please send a pic or post a pic of the back? Thanks!
LolisDecember 28, 2012
Sorry for the late response, but I don't have a pic of the back...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2012
Perfect fit!
Loved everything about it! The material had stretch and it was easy to move in. I received tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 5, 2012
So many complements!
This dress is not made for small cup sizes. I'm a 32A and the top looked rather slumpy but I was still able to pull it off. Length is fine on me, however, there is no slit in the back so walking up and down staircases makes it a little tricky as you are confined to the tight circumference of the skirt portion. I know I looked silly trying to walk upstairs in my 5 inch heels barely able to move my knee up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 10, 2012
Loved this dress - would buy or rent again
I rented this dress for my husband's company holiday party. It was perfect. Very classy and feminine. The color was vibrant and prefect for the holiday vibe. Erin Fetherston is one of my new favorite designers. I rented a size 8 & 10 and wore the 8. There is no slit in the narrow pencil style skirt so it can be limiting when dancing... but I did ok! I wore it with a Kate Spade necklace, also rented on RTR. It was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
December 11, 2012
Great holiday party dress!
Dress was great, I was a little concerned it would be too big based on other reviews, however the 2 ( my normal size) fit great! The fabric is similiar to a jersey fabric so it fits comfortably and is great for dancing. The only thing I wish was different was the length, I am 5'2" and the dress hit right at my knees, looked fine but I wish it was a inch or two shorter. If you are short just keep this in mind, it will be longer than pictured on the model. I paired it with the "en vogue" necklace also pictured and definately was happy with both rentals!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2012
Perfect work holiday party dress!
I loved wearing this dress for my work holiday party. I got a lot of compliments on it. It was a great color red and fit like a glove. I am usually somewhere between a 2 and a 4 and unfortunately the 4 wasn't available when I ordered the dress so I risked it and got the 2 after reading other reviews that it ran a bit on the large side. I'm glad I took the gamble because the fit was perfect. I wasn't sure how the peplum would work since I don't usually like full skirts on my body but it was actually very flattering. My only complaints would be that i wish there was a slit in the skirt. It's pretty fitted so without a slit it was hard to walk up stairs etc. I also wish it was a little lower cut in the back since it is a very full-coverage dress...I guess its a sexy shape without showing too much skin :) I would definitely order again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
December 14, 2012
Cute dress, but I didn't wear it! :(
RTW was out of my size(6), I got the 8 hoping it would fit- too big. The material is a jersey stretch type, looks way more casual than pictured. Cute for a day function but not a cocktail party. The peplum in the back has a weird opening for the zipper.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2013
Fit great!
I didn't get to wear the dress because of a snow storm delaying the arrival but when I got it and tried it on it was very sleek! Loved it.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 2, 2013
I wore this dress for my father's 50th Birthday Party. Fit great! Comfortable! Classy!
The dress totally accented my cursed in a very classy manner. The dress as a little snug because there is no split but not uncomfortable. I am normally a 2, but when I heard the dress ran small I tried a 0, and it really fit perfectly. I would recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 67
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 7, 2013
Loved the total look.
I have worn size 8 in other rental dresses but had but a little weight on and was worried about the sizing. I order a size 8 and 10 for my back up. The 8 fit good so I did not try on the 10. I am only 5'1" so I used the heming tape to shorten one hems length and it camp to my knees. The gold leaf was the perfect touch and I received many compliments on both items. I have two more dresses reserved one for January and one for February. They will be my 5th and 6th rental. Thank you for providing this service RTR.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2013
Very cute dress!
Dress ran large. Am normally a size 6, but ended up going with the size 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 12, 2013
Great dress!
I wore this dress to my corporate Christmas party. I added a thin, black belt and wore black shoes. It was very appropriate and I received lots of complements. It fits snug through the hip area but the fabric has a little "give" so it appears sexy, not uncomfortable
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
January 12, 2013
I felt GORG in this red peplum number!
This dress fit perfectly!Felt amazing, would totally recommend if you want to be classic & fabulous. Got so many compliments! Especially if you have olive skin tone or just look great in the color RED! The only thing I would look out for is the bottom is pretty fitted and not stretchy so had to take smaller steps, wasn't uncomfortable at all though! LOVED!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
January 18, 2013
Classy yet sexy.
The dress ran a little big for me. I rented a size up after reading several reviews that stated the dress was a little small and to go up a size. I LOVED the color of this dress!!! And I never wear red. The dress fit like a glove. It hugged my curves in all the right places. I wore it to a wedding and the color definitely stood out in a good way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 24, 2013
The dress was beautiful, and it made me feel beautiful, too!
I was initially worried that the dress wouldn't fit up top, but it fit perfectly! Also, it was stretchy enough at the bottom to fit my hips. I got the size lower, however, because I had noticed in the reviews that this dress ran particularly small. The dress arrived on time and it was super easy to send back! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 26, 2013
This dress is perfect!
Unexpected gem! I ordered this as a backup and it was perfect. Fabric was casual, but fit really well. Peplum draped nicely and was a little "edgy." Really comfortable to wear and made me feel very confident for my interview. Got a ton of compliments and the job!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×