Rumor Says Dress

$50 rental
$275 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this little red peplum ERIN Erin Fetherston style to make him fall in love on that first date. He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you! Pair with a gold bangle and strappy heels.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Peplum detail at waist. Pencil skirt. Hidden center back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
166 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(104)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
March 3, 2015
Gorgeous and classy
The fit was perfect on me. I wore a size 2. The color is vibrant, and it was very classy. The peplum added a nice touch, and I loved that it was longer peplum than most styles, so it was more forgiving.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
May 15, 2015
Super Comfortable and Wears Well for an All Day Event
I wore this to my graduation from Law School and was in the dress from mid-morning until after dinner. It was comfortable for sitting through the ceremony, not hot under my graduation regalia, and even held up when we got stuck in a pop-up rain storm. A great RTR win!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
March 2, 2016
Fantastic shade of red
A dress that makes you feel confident and in control.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 21, 2016
Classy derby dress
I'm usually a zero or 2 and the zero fit great. The dress color stood out and completed my derby hat.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
April 30, 2016
Perfect fit
This dress fit like a glove. It was super comfortable and perfect for the wedding. It was long enough for me and I'm 6ft tall. Very good fabric and the color was amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 25, 2015
Perfect for a Business event
I love this dress so much! I rented it for an all day business training event and never felt uncomfortable or like I was ready to change. It was classy but not overly dressy. It's very flattering, hugs in all the right places and the overlay in the back covers your rear. It was very roomy in the armholes (meaning it didn't cut into your armpits). The skirt does not have a slit so it was a little difficult to climb the stairs. Also pulling the skirt up to use the restroom was a tight squeeze on the hips. BUT I would rent this again in a heartbeat! Loved it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
July 19, 2015
This dress was perfect for a Tahoe barn wedding.
The dress fit very true to size, the material is the perfect stretchy/fitted combo and I felt comfortable all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 8, 2016
I rented this dress for a Kentucky Derby party and it was perfect!
It definitely for the occasion and ended up working out well. I would have loved to try a 6, but it wasn't available and the 4 honestly worked fine!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 16, 2016
Great dress!
Rented this as a backup dress. It was beautiful, fit well but preferred the other dress. Would still highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 25, 2016
Nice color but peplum wasn't flattering on my body type.
The peplum wasn't flattering on camera so I did not wear the dress to work. The dress runs slightly large. If you aren't being photographed, I recommend the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
August 5, 2016
Great overall experience!
It runs small - I could have fit into a 6 but it wasn't available. The red color was a big hit; lots of compliments! Very comfortable and was a great dress for my formal work event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2016
Great color, professional dress
I thought the dress fit very well. Great color and fabric! Would recommend for a dressier work event or party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32DD
October 9, 2016
Love the color
Fit was perfect. The peplum was sliming, and the length was flattering. Loved the dress and would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
February 22, 2017
Perfect in peplum!
This was a great dress to wear to an evening work function where I had to look professional but also wanted to look dressier than what I would wear on a normal work day. I received so many compliments. And once I took my blazer off, it definitely went from day to night. The only real con is that this dress really needs a kick pleat in the back of the skirt or at least the peplum should be split - it's a little bit hard to pull the dress down if you have a booty! But other than that minor issue, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 28, 2017
By far my favorite RTR for work
This is a stunning dress for work. It will turn every head. Showstopper is an understatement
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2017
Loved the color!
Fun dress to wear and loved the color! Very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
November 5, 2012
Too big :(
I loved this dress when i saw it online, but it was way too big for me and had to send it back. I wouldn't recommend it for someone with an athletic, straight build. Maybe better suited better for curvier girls.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 8, 2012
I got a lot of compliments on this dress! It commands attention without being showy.
That said, it definitely runs big. I am consistently a size 6 but I ordered an 8 as back-up just in case - turns out I should have ordered a 4 as back-up, because the 6 was very roomy on me. Also, I am 5'10" and this came right to my knees - so for someone on the shorter side, this dress might be longer than you're expecting. Since it was longer than I had envisioned I was sort of questioning my choice as I wasn't sure if it was as formal as it should/could be for a wedding, but with the right jewelry I think it can be made much dressier. I got a big statement necklace that helped give the look some sparkly, and some gold strappy sandals to complete the look. All in all I was happy, but just be wary of the sizing and the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
November 26, 2012
Beautiful, classy & formal.
I liked this dress. It is formal. I usually wear a 6, but the 4 fit nicer. I do have a full bust and it was very accomodating! The material is stretchy so it is super comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
November 28, 2012
Very classy. Nice bright and red!
I usually wear a 6. This size 6 ran large. If you are short, this dress needs to be worn with heels. I tried to wear it with flats and it made my legs look stubby because the dress is long enough to hit below the knee. It was comfortable, and covered my stomach area. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 5, 2012
So many complements!
This dress is not made for small cup sizes. I'm a 32A and the top looked rather slumpy but I was still able to pull it off. Length is fine on me, however, there is no slit in the back so walking up and down staircases makes it a little tricky as you are confined to the tight circumference of the skirt portion. I know I looked silly trying to walk upstairs in my 5 inch heels barely able to move my knee up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2012
Perfect work holiday party dress!
I loved wearing this dress for my work holiday party. I got a lot of compliments on it. It was a great color red and fit like a glove. I am usually somewhere between a 2 and a 4 and unfortunately the 4 wasn't available when I ordered the dress so I risked it and got the 2 after reading other reviews that it ran a bit on the large side. I'm glad I took the gamble because the fit was perfect. I wasn't sure how the peplum would work since I don't usually like full skirts on my body but it was actually very flattering. My only complaints would be that i wish there was a slit in the skirt. It's pretty fitted so without a slit it was hard to walk up stairs etc. I also wish it was a little lower cut in the back since it is a very full-coverage dress...I guess its a sexy shape without showing too much skin :) I would definitely order again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2013
Very cute dress!
Dress ran large. Am normally a size 6, but ended up going with the size 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
January 18, 2013
Classy yet sexy.
The dress ran a little big for me. I rented a size up after reading several reviews that stated the dress was a little small and to go up a size. I LOVED the color of this dress!!! And I never wear red. The dress fit like a glove. It hugged my curves in all the right places. I wore it to a wedding and the color definitely stood out in a good way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
January 27, 2013
Great dress - beautiful color, and love the style.
It was very fitted (almost like a stretchy thick cotton), but very comfortable. It did run a little on the larger side, as I would typically wear a 6 for my hip size in fitted dresses such as this, however I had tried the 6 on in a store and it was way to large on top. I dressed it up with a large necklace but you could definitely put a sparkly belt with it to give it a dress up the fabric. It does add a little bit of width to your hips with the peplum style, but I think it does it in a flattering way!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2013
Classy, flattering, perfect for the charity event!
I wore this dress for a "cocktail" type charity event for the American Heart Association. I usually where a size 6 but was pleasantly surprised when the 4 fit perfectly. This dress hugs in all the right places and the peplum is very flattering. I am 5'7' and have a bit of a "booty" so sometimes dresses like this are just TOO short or TOO tight. This one was perfect...there was no pulling it down the entire night and because the top was sleeveless I could wear a regular bra for ultimate comfort. I paired it with a "statement" necklace and a belt (dresses that fit my lower body tend to be a bit large around my waist...so the belt was a great final touch. I'd recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 4, 2013
...
I rented this dress as my backup but I tried it on.. This dress is great. I ordered the 4, but probably could have worn the 2 for a little more snug fit. This dress would be perfect for a night out to show off curves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2013
Classic and trendy
Very formfitting but not too much which was nice. It fit my chest well without making me appear large, which is sometimes hard to find when you have bigger breasts. I wore it to my friends engagement party and felt like it could've easily been dressed up more if necessary. I normally wear a 4 but was able to wear a 2.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 25, 2013
great dress. Got a ton of compliments.
worked great with a beaded necklace i have and nude pumps. Wore it under a denim jacket for a casual dinner, super cute. Transitioned great that night into the dressy party outfit i wanted!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 28, 2013
Great Dress!
It fit well and was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 28, 2013
I love how I don't have to worry about my dress. I just come home after work and it's waiting there.
The fit runs a bit large. I usually wear a size 4, but wore a size 2 comfortably. The color is great! I received lots of compliments.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 5, 2013
I was referred to as "the girl in the red dress" throughout the evening - seems I made an impression
This was the most comfortable dress! I had such a blast at this wedding and this dress definitely made me feel awesome. It was great for dancing. I wore it to an evening wedding where the dress was semi-formal. I got compliments throughout the night about the dress. Normally I wear black and white dresses to formal events, but with RTR I was able to go outside my comfort zone and try something new and boy did I have a great time! I wish I could have kept this dress. Typically I wear a size 12, but the 10 fit better (and that made me feel great too!). I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 19, 2013
Classy Look I Was Going For
I really wanted to post a photo with my review but I can't find the USB cable for my camera, so I'll do my best in just words. First off, I wore this dress for my post-baccalaureate program graduation. It was a small group of students with family and friends and our professors. Since it was held at a catering hall at noon, I wanted to look classy but without overdoing it. This dress was perfect! It was conservative enough for the occasion (didn't want to look too sexy in front of my professors!) but stylish and fab enough to stand out. As for the fit, I wish I would've paid a little more attention to the other ladies who mentioned that this dress runs large. I tried on the 12 and it fit well without me having to squeeze into my Spanx. Now, I usually wear clothes that runs a little bigger to hide my chubs but with this dress I wish I would've worn the 10 with the Spanx. In my photos I can see how the 12 fit a little big. I still loved it but in hindsight I think the 10 would have been a bit more flattering. There was extra room around my waist which made me look a little bigger than I am. Luckily, the style of the dress with the peplum helped to give an appearance of a cinched waist. I'm about 5'7 with heels and the length of the dress hit right at my knee which was okay but I think the 10 would've given a length just above my knees. Overall, the dress was beautiful and comfortable. I accessorized with gold jewelry similar to what the model is wearing. I received many compliments and I was very satisfied with the outcome. Definitely recommend! Just remember to size down!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 3, 2013
Great dress, very sophisticated.
I wore this dress to a wedding and received a ton of compliments. The color is great too. My only complaint would be the length of this dress. It's a little long, runs just to the knee (I'm 5'3"), but other than that I really liked it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2013
Great dress for a wedding!
Dress was perfect for the occasion. It fit well, is cut great, and is flattering on all shapes. Both the 4 and 6 fit, but I went with the 6 for the extra length and room to boogie :) Had it been a girls night, date night, etc I would have gone with the 4. I paired it with a gold and white clutch, nude shoes and gold necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
October 18, 2013
Returned! Didnt work for my body!!
I was nervous about this dress from the second I reserved it. I put it on and almost instantly sent an email to RTR that I would be returning it. The top was baggy (even in the size 2), the peplum hit me in a weird place, and the bottom half just didnt look right. I have a post baby body so my lower half is a little larger then my top but even the top I was surprised at the fit. RTR was amazing and Hanna got back to me right away and overnighted another dress to me. Although this dress was a disappointment, RTR experience was an A+!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
November 18, 2013
Got many compliments with this dress. The fit is very flattering, color is great and true to picture
Loved this dress for the casual elegance, color and flattering fit. It does run big so I wore the smaller size I ordered. Pretty stretchy fabric too (the skirt felt slightly tight around the bottom but I could still dance and walk easily.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 1, 2014
Great for my office holiday party!
Great dress for a work/holiday party. Ran a little large in size, so I went a size down to a 10. Looked great with gold pumps. Bracelet was fun also - a great added piece. I was able to wear this to a work party and a christmas get-together the following night! This was a great dress, but I think it would be better suited for women with straight figures (and not curvy or hourglass shapes). The dress made me look more bottom heavy. I think this dress would be perfect on a straight figure to give someone a more curvy shape. I don't really need help with this, so the dress made me a look a little heavier... Not terrible overall, but I doubt I will rent this (or something like this) again in the future.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 2, 2014
Pretty cocktail dress
I was really excited about this dress, and while I ended up wearing it, I wasn't thrilled about the fit. I was between the 2 sizes, but ended up wearing the smaller size as it was more flattering on the top. As other reviews indicate, the bottom is very snug. The peplum made did help make it flattering despite the snug fit. I would say it runs slightly large, so order a smaller size as your back up. I enjoyed wearing this dress, but would not have bought it if I tried it on in a store (as the fit wasn't perfect).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
June 6, 2014
Perfect for the occasion, comfortable, great value for the price
As a spokesperson for the American Heart Association and the Go Red for Women movement, I need to wear a lot of red. I have stopped buying red dresses and use RTR as my go to! This dress was perfect for a charity luncheon. I normally wear a 4. I wore this dress in a 2. The top fit me perfectly. The bottom pulled a little bit around the hips, so I found myself doing a little tugging every time I stood up. The material is on the thicker side, wrinkle resistant. The cut of the dress is flattering.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×