Rumor Says Dress

$50 rental
$275 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this little red peplum ERIN Erin Fetherston style to make him fall in love on that first date. He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you! Pair with a gold bangle and strappy heels.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Peplum detail at waist. Pencil skirt. Hidden center back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
169 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 20, 2013
Great dress! Perfect for a work party

This dress is awesome. It looked beautiful on and the peplum is just enough (not too big) to add detail but still showcase your own figure.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 10, 2013
Beautiful dress, lots of compliments

I wore this dress for a wedding (along with one of the statment necklaces from RTR) and accessorized in black. I usually wear between a 4 and 6 depending on the designer and I went with the 4 for a more snug fit. This dress was super comfy and I received a lot of compliments. I would recommend this dress. I would say the only drawback was no matter what size I tried on, the dress pulled a little in the leg area. I noticed in the pictures from other reviewers it also did that on some other women. Not a big issue but throwing that out there. Great dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 24, 2013
I wish I had bought this dress!!

I was deciding between the 0 and the 2 but ended up wearing the 2 since the 0 was tight around the knees at the bottom. I wore it to my sorority formal and absolutely loved it! It was easy to move around in and flattering. Definitely find a cute necklace or pair of earrings though since the neckline is pretty plain. All around fantastic dress, wish I could buy it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2013
Absolutely Stunning & Comfortable!

I love this dress! It was very flattering - the peplum is in the perfect location on the waist - and very comfortable. It fit as I expected, it was a bit tight around the legs since it didn't have a slit, but it didn't look too small and wasn't uncomfortable. I would recommend this for a cocktail party, a work function, a wedding or a date. Very sexy without being revealing at all. Loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 19, 2013
I got so many compliment and was completely comfortable all night!

4 fit perfectly. I could probably have also worn a 2, but with no slit in the skirt it was nice to have a little extra room. The material is heavier but so soft with just enough stretch. It was nice to find a dress that was both fun and appropriate for a professional event.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 109lbs
April 22, 2013
Very impressed with the dress received

I received this dress in 2 sizes, day before a black tie wedding. It was a great dress for the occasion. I am petite (5'1") and a 34DD so I ordered a size 4 and 6. I am normally a 4 unless a dress runs tight in the chest and I have to go up a size. The 4 fit PERFECTLY across my entire body, including the chest. But it was long, which I expected given the other reviews and my height. I had ordered the hem tape, unfortunately for some reason, it didn't arrive with the dress. This was my first rental from RTR and it was just human error. Although I could not wear the dress (I had no time to go find/buy hem tape ) I would not hesitate to rent again- they were very gracious in refunding my money under the circumstances. The dress was beautiful and flattering!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 28, 2013
This color was really great - poppy in a sea of black dresses!!

This dress was very flattering especially from the front. I was comfortable in the length and the fabric. There is not a ton of give in the skirt or armholes as others had mentioned, but still was perfect. I got lots of compliments. Nude sandals made it less conservative and more fun!!!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 20, 2013
Felt like a ROCKSTAR in this dress!

Incredible fit, incredibly comfortable, and absolutely awesome dress. The fit and cut was perfect. I am 6 foot tall and everything hit in the right spots! I was a little nervous to see if the peplum would make my hips look wider but it had a great slimming affect. I would wear this again....and again...and again!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 1, 2013
Loved this dress!!

Loved this dress the color was very vibrant and the fit was comfortable. The dress conplemented every aspect of my body and curves. The only thing I would have liked was for the dress to be a bit tighter in the thigh area. Overall very nice dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
June 3, 2013
classy and comfortable!

The dress fit perfectly and was so comfortable. I received a ton of compliments. Great for any occasion!

JmonthaJune 3, 2013
I see that you're petite! I'm 5' 0". :) What did you think about the length of this dress? It looks great on you, but I just wanted to make sure it's not too long & end up looking frumpy.
ASHJune 3, 2013
Thank you! :) The length was fine for me. I'm 4"11 and it was at the knee. It won't look long or frumpy. I'm wearing 6" heels :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 23, 2013
Lot's of compliments, felt like a movie star!

Loved this dress, it has just enough stretch that it didn't feel too tight at all, especially across the chest. I am top heavy and have a really tough time finding dresses, after speaking to a fit specialist she recommended that I order a 4 and a 2 as my back up, didn't have to try the 2, the 4 fit like a glove. As some of the others have mentioned it has no slit in the skirt, so I had to hike it up a bit when I was getting into the car, not sure why it wouldn't have a slit, it would just add to it's sexiness. Loved the vivid red, more on the blue-red scale than the orange-red scale. The dress hit me just below my knee, but really was just so sexy. I wore nude heels, a necklace from RTR and the Diane Von Furstenburg handbag, an allover amazing outfit. I hate to have to ship this back I love it so much. If I had more of a social like I would totally buy this dress. Loved everything about my RTR experience, dresses delivered right to my door, well packed and includes a mailer to ship it all back. The purse and the necklace were in their own boxes inside the shipping box, very well organized, I was highly impressed. I will most definitely be back to rent again for the next event I have.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 7, 2013
It was just so hassle free. The dress came the day before, it fit perfectly, and just mailed it back

The dress fit perfectly! I loved wearing it, and it was perfect for the occasion. Thanks RTR!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 9, 2013
Great dress - many compliments!

The material is a little stretchy, which is great for dancing on the wedding dance floor :) The material was also a little heavier than I anticipated, which makes me think this is a little better for fall/winter, but luckily I was inside AC so it worked out. The length was perfect and the peplum accentuated the right places (which I was a little nervous about). I matched with nude shoes and a nude purse as I saw several others do on RTTR and I think it worked out well.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
July 10, 2013
Love this dress!

I was skeptical that the dress would work on me. as I typically don't love peplum, but it was so flattering! It does call for a really bold necklace because of such a strong solid color and a higher neckline. I got a ton of compliments and felt like a million bucks! Also, it looks so much better on than on the hanger.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
July 12, 2013
Sexy and comfortable!

Rented this dress for the reception party for my parents wedding. The dress was very comfortable and form fitting in all the right places. I'm 5'2 1/2 and the dress isn't too long for us short girls. The peplum design is cute for any body type. I was able to dance comfortably in it all night. It was a knockout dress and everyone wanted to have it. Thanks again RTR! I would recommend wearing this with gold jewelry.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2013
In a sea of black and gray, if you want to stand out at a wedding, wear red. Tons of compliments.

Very comfortable. I would happily rent this dress again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
August 11, 2013
The dress was beautiful and very flattering!

The dress was true to size and fit beautifully!! Thank you RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
September 29, 2013
This was my back-up dress but I knew when I put it on it would be the one I would wear!

The fit for me was perfect. The waist hit at just the right spot. The fabric had just enough stretch to be very comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2013
Great dress, very comfortable!

This fits true to size, and it is very comfortable. The fabric is stretchy, which accommodates those of us with bigger hips. The top was a little big on me, but that usually happens with dresses.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
October 28, 2013
This is the perfect dress. I wore it for a RTR fashion show and it was a hit!

True to size.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 29, 2013
Love this dress!

This dress was amazing! It was so comfortable, flattering and fashionable. I received a ton of compliements and felt great! This dress would be flattering on nearly any body type!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
October 30, 2013
Fun yet professional

This dress was very comfortable - the jersey material was great! It was different then what I would normally wear so I felt a little self-conscious with the narrow bottom but the peplum was cute and I received a lot of compliments on the color (which was a tad bright for me). I think I would have loved this dress more in a darker color. I also felt like I had to wear the bigger size because I felt a bit body-conscious. It was the perfect style for the event I attended though (a work gala) and I'm glad I rented something from RTR again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 10, 2013
Great dress and described perfectly

Love Rent the Runway. This was my first experience and am so impressed with the process. I look forward to renting again. I did love this dress, however I felt it was starting to show it's wear. The ponte knit was not as fresh as it would be new. Still looked great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2013
Definitely renting this again!

I rented this for an engagement party and after much thought, I went with another I ordered. My problem with peplums is I find that the legnth of the dress and the fullness of the peplum don't balance out making me look "squat"/much more wider in the hips, but this dress doesn't cause that problem. It nipped in my waist perfectly and the pleats in the peplum helped it fall and flatter my hips. If I had another event to go to the weekend I rented this, i would have worn it!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2013
Good fit , very comfortable.

The dress was a change from the usual LBD. Very comfortable and stylish.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 17, 2013
Back-up dress, did not wear

I rented this as a back-up dress and did not wear it. I ordered the 10 because I thought it looked snug. I could have worn a 6. Not the most flattering on my shape (straight) but a very pretty, well-made dress. I will probably try again in a smaller size. Color was a lovely red - not too bright with blue undertones.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
January 23, 2014
My sister wearing this to my civil ceremony

It fit my sister like a glove and since she had not been exercising for some time :) she had a little something something around her waist ( to put it nicely) The way the dress is designed it flatters every body shape and hides flaws and the color is simply gorgeous My sister is size 6 145 pounds gorgeous woman :)

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 9, 2014
the attire for the event required everyone to wear red. no one else had on the same dress as me

wore leopard pumps to break up the red ... the dressy fit adds for stretch to curvy figures. very comfortable easy to dance in.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
March 11, 2014
Beautiful dress. Easy to dance in

Easy for dancing. Classy and form fitting.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 148lbs
March 18, 2014
The moment when everyone had to look twice to recognize me

This dress fit me perfectly! I was worried at first about fitting into a size 8 but it worked out perfectly in the end. The dress hugged my every curve in the right way and was the perfect length for my event. I received tons of compliments from guys and girls about my dress. They didn't recognize me at first with how I did my hair and makeup! The only negative thing about this dress is the non elastic band around the bottom of the dress around your legs. It made going up and down stairs a little tricky. I would definitely rent this dress again!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 1, 2014
Parent-Approved

It fit wonderfully and was very flattering. I wore it to a formal event that included my date's mother. I was very pleased that it was modest and classy, yet still cute. The photo is not as flattering but we're not the photo-taking type so it's all we got!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 2, 2014
Great color

Perfect

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
April 5, 2014
Comfortable and trendy!

Overall, the dress fit well. There was a decent amount of stretch in the fabric, which made it very comfortable to wear. I chose not to wear this dress because the zipper was extremely stubborn when I tried it on. I would not have had my friends' help to zip me into the dress when I needed them. Also, the middle seam fell just above my natural waist, and so the peplum was a little higher than I expected. Not the most flattering silhouette for my figure.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2014
All of the compliments received!

Fit was PERFECT!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
May 11, 2014
Great dress, received a lot of compliments!

The fit was true to size. This dress is great because it accentuates a small waist and can hide problem areas in the hips/stomach. It was a little bit longer than I had originally thought it would be, it hit slightly above my knees. The color is fantastic! I wore this to a wedding where most of the women were in neutral colors and the red definitely stood out in a good way! I paired it with a belt and nude heel.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
May 13, 2014
Comfortable & flattering

I ordered the 6 & the 8 and ended up wearing the 6. Its very fitted but the fabric is think enough that it smoothed everything out while still being light enough to wear to a Florida wedding in April. Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2014
The color was beautiful! Bold statement

The bottom is long and tight, so difficult to pull up, but a beautiful fitted dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 19, 2014
Loved it!! Can't go wrong with red!

Got lots of compliments! Very figure flattering. Would rent again for sure!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2014
The color & fit are beyond words!

This dress is AMAZING...I would love to purchase it!!! I can not think of a single bad thing to say about it. The fit was incredibly flattering and true to size. The material is stretchy and so comfortable. I was able to dance in it all night and received several compliments. It is good for women with larger chests because you can wear a regular bra. I HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend renting this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2014
The cut was flattering but the material was too casual for the wedding.

This was a last minute emergency rental. The girls at Rent the Runway were wonderful and I was amazed that the dress arrived in time the next day. The cut was wonderful and flattering but the material was too casual for the wedding. It was a kind of four-way stretch jersey-like material. It looks more like a work dress than a wedding dress.The skirt also hung a little funny. I didn't end up wearing it.

See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×