Rent the Runway

ERIN erin fetherston

Rumor Says Dress

$50 rental
$275 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little red peplum ERIN Erin Fetherston style to make him fall in love on that first date. He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you! Pair with Oscar de la Renta's Jeweled Champagne Branch Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Peplum detail at waist. Pencil skirt. Hidden center back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

139 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 93
Large 40
Photos 79
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 10, 2013

Beautiful dress, lots of compliments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding (along with one of the statment necklaces from RTR) and accessorized in black. I usually wear between a 4 and 6 depending on the designer and I went with the 4 for a more snug fit. This dress was super comfy and I received a lot of compliments. I would recommend this dress. I would say the only drawback was no matter what size I tried on, the dress pulled a little in the leg area. I noticed in the pictures from other reviewers it also did that on some other women. Not a big issue but throwing that out there. Great dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Mar 24, 2013

I wish I had bought this dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was deciding between the 0 and the 2 but ended up wearing the 2 since the 0 was tight around the knees at the bottom. I wore it to my sorority formal and absolutely loved it! It was easy to move around in and flattering. Definitely find a cute necklace or pair of earrings though since the neckline is pretty plain. All around fantastic dress, wish I could buy it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 109 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Very impressed with the dress received

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received this dress in 2 sizes, day before a black tie wedding. It was a great dress for the occasion. I am petite (5'1") and a 34DD so I ordered a size 4 and 6. I am normally a 4 unless a dress runs tight in the chest and I have to go up a size. The 4 fit PERFECTLY across my entire body, including the chest. But it was long, which I expected given the other reviews and my height. I had ordered the hem tape, unfortunately for some reason, it didn't arrive with the dress. This was my first rental from RTR and it was just human error. Although I could not wear the dress (I had no time to go find/buy hem tape ) I would not hesitate to rent again- they were very gracious in refunding my money under the circumstances. The dress was beautiful and flattering!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 25, 2013

great dress. Got a ton of compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
worked great with a beaded necklace i have and nude pumps. Wore it under a denim jacket for a casual dinner, super cute. Transitioned great that night into the dressy party outfit i wanted!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Apr 27, 2013

Hot Tamale Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love this dress! So flattering! Fit true to size
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 28, 2013

Great dress! Reviews about the fit were spot on.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a bridal shower tea that I hosted with the rest of the bridal party. I wore it with nude shoes and beige hat...I received so many wonderful compliments. The dress was very comfortable. I agree that it was fitted around the leg, which made it a little difficult to climb stairs, but not really difficult to walk in.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
May 28, 2013

Great Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit well and was very comfortable.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
May 28, 2013

I love how I don't have to worry about my dress. I just come home after work and it's waiting there.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The fit runs a bit large. I usually wear a size 4, but wore a size 2 comfortably. The color is great! I received lots of compliments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 1, 2013

Loved this dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress the color was very vibrant and the fit was comfortable. The dress conplemented every aspect of my body and curves. The only thing I would have liked was for the dress to be a bit tighter in the thigh area. Overall very nice dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 10, 2013

Love this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was skeptical that the dress would work on me. as I typically don't love peplum, but it was so flattering! It does call for a really bold necklace because of such a strong solid color and a higher neckline. I got a ton of compliments and felt like a million bucks! Also, it looks so much better on than on the hanger.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 18, 2013

Nice Red Dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was very nice quality and a beautiful true red color. Ordering process was a breeze. My size was not available so I ordered a size down as reviews indicated the dress ran large. It was bit tight for my curvy figure so I did not wear it. My true size would have been perfect. I will try again for the next event.. Recommend if you want a classy red dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 19, 2013

Classy Look I Was Going For

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I really wanted to post a photo with my review but I can't find the USB cable for my camera, so I'll do my best in just words. First off, I wore this dress for my post-baccalaureate program graduation. It was a small group of students with family and friends and our professors. Since it was held at a catering hall at noon, I wanted to look classy but without overdoing it. This dress was perfect! It was conservative enough for the occasion (didn't want to look too sexy in front of my professors!) but stylish and fab enough to stand out. As for the fit, I wish I would've paid a little more attention to the other ladies who mentioned that this dress runs large. I tried on the 12 and it fit well without me having to squeeze into my Spanx. Now, I usually wear clothes that runs a little bigger to hide my chubs but with this dress I wish I would've worn the 10 with the Spanx. In my photos I can see how the 12 fit a little big. I still loved it but in hindsight I think the 10 would have been a bit more flattering. There was extra room around my waist which made me look a little bigger than I am. Luckily, the style of the dress with the peplum helped to give an appearance of a cinched waist. I'm about 5'7 with heels and the length of the dress hit right at my knee which was okay but I think the 10 would've given a length just above my knees. Overall, the dress was beautiful and comfortable. I accessorized with gold jewelry similar to what the model is wearing. I received many compliments and I was very satisfied with the outcome. Definitely recommend! Just remember to size down!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

Dress fit perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a size 4 or 6 in this I wore a 4 everything fit very well hugged all my curves
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 18, 2013

Fabulous color, fabulous fit!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was very comfortable and the peplum was fantastic!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Sep 3, 2013

Great dress, very sophisticated.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and received a ton of compliments. The color is great too. My only complaint would be the length of this dress. It's a little long, runs just to the knee (I'm 5'3"), but other than that I really liked it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 11, 2013

Wore this to my bridal shower

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress has great fit in the cotton blend stretch fabric. The skirt fits nice and snug and the peplum adds sophistication and also makes it a bit more conservation while being fashion forward. I wore it with a kate spade statement necklace and felt very pulled together. Recommend!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 1, 2013

Great dress, very comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This fits true to size, and it is very comfortable. The fabric is stretchy, which accommodates those of us with bigger hips. The top was a little big on me, but that usually happens with dresses.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 2, 2013

Great dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was perfect for the occasion. It fit well, is cut great, and is flattering on all shapes. Both the 4 and 6 fit, but I went with the 6 for the extra length and room to boogie :) Had it been a girls night, date night, etc I would have gone with the 4. I paired it with a gold and white clutch, nude shoes and gold necklace.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Love this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing! It was so comfortable, flattering and fashionable. I received a ton of compliements and felt great! This dress would be flattering on nearly any body type!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

Great dress and described perfectly

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love Rent the Runway. This was my first experience and am so impressed with the process. I look forward to renting again. I did love this dress, however I felt it was starting to show it's wear. The ponte knit was not as fresh as it would be new. Still looked great!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 17, 2013

Definitely renting this again!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for an engagement party and after much thought, I went with another I ordered. My problem with peplums is I find that the legnth of the dress and the fullness of the peplum don't balance out making me look "squat"/much more wider in the hips, but this dress doesn't cause that problem. It nipped in my waist perfectly and the pleats in the peplum helped it fall and flatter my hips. If I had another event to go to the weekend I rented this, i would have worn it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Nov 18, 2013

Got many compliments with this dress. The fit is very flattering, color is great and true to picture

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress for the casual elegance, color and flattering fit. It does run big so I wore the smaller size I ordered. Pretty stretchy fabric too (the skirt felt slightly tight around the bottom but I could still dance and walk easily.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

Back-up dress, did not wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this as a back-up dress and did not wear it. I ordered the 10 because I thought it looked snug. I could have worn a 6. Not the most flattering on my shape (straight) but a very pretty, well-made dress. I will probably try again in a smaller size. Color was a lovely red - not too bright with blue undertones.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

It was the perfect fit, and so comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am curvy, and this dress was so flattering to my body type. The color is absolutely stunning, and the material and fit of the dress were comfortable during the entire night. I wore this for a New Year's Eve party. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

My sister wearing this to my civil ceremony

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit my sister like a glove and since she had not been exercising for some time :) she had a little something something around her waist ( to put it nicely) The way the dress is designed it flatters every body shape and hides flaws and the color is simply gorgeous My sister is size 6 145 pounds gorgeous woman :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Perfect for Valentine's Day!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I absolutely love this dress! I wanted to keep it! It fit like a glove and was my backup dress. Once I put it on I knew it was perfect for the occasion and accentuated all the right places. I would definitely get this again! My boyfriend loved this dress and could not keep his eyes off me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

Comfortable and very stylish

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Love the fabric and I felt beautiful !
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Classy and Sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit perfectly, great quality. I rented the dress twice, once for my Wedding Tea Ceremony and the other for a Bachelorette Party. I should just buy the darn thing :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 148 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

The moment when everyone had to look twice to recognize me

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit me perfectly! I was worried at first about fitting into a size 8 but it worked out perfectly in the end. The dress hugged my every curve in the right way and was the perfect length for my event. I received tons of compliments from guys and girls about my dress. They didn't recognize me at first with how I did my hair and makeup! The only negative thing about this dress is the non elastic band around the bottom of the dress around your legs. It made going up and down stairs a little tricky. I would definitely rent this dress again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Great color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 5, 2014

Comfortable and trendy!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Overall, the dress fit well. There was a decent amount of stretch in the fabric, which made it very comfortable to wear. I chose not to wear this dress because the zipper was extremely stubborn when I tried it on. I would not have had my friends' help to zip me into the dress when I needed them. Also, the middle seam fell just above my natural waist, and so the peplum was a little higher than I expected. Not the most flattering silhouette for my figure.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

All of the compliments received!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit was PERFECT!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Apr 30, 2014

Prefect Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my boyfriend's frat formal. It was classy but still fun. It fit perfectly and I got a ton of compliments. This was my first RTR dress, and am planning my next rental. I wish I had found this website earlier in college!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 2, 2014

Pretty cocktail dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was really excited about this dress, and while I ended up wearing it, I wasn't thrilled about the fit. I was between the 2 sizes, but ended up wearing the smaller size as it was more flattering on the top. As other reviews indicate, the bottom is very snug. The peplum made did help make it flattering despite the snug fit. I would say it runs slightly large, so order a smaller size as your back up. I enjoyed wearing this dress, but would not have bought it if I tried it on in a store (as the fit wasn't perfect).
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
May 5, 2014

Fabric is super comfortable !

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable fabric and flattering in the waist/tummy area.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
May 11, 2014

Great dress, received a lot of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size. This dress is great because it accentuates a small waist and can hide problem areas in the hips/stomach. It was a little bit longer than I had originally thought it would be, it hit slightly above my knees. The color is fantastic! I wore this to a wedding where most of the women were in neutral colors and the red definitely stood out in a good way! I paired it with a belt and nude heel.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 13, 2014

Comfortable & flattering

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 6 & the 8 and ended up wearing the 6. Its very fitted but the fabric is think enough that it smoothed everything out while still being light enough to wear to a Florida wedding in April. Loved it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 19, 2014

Loved it!! Can't go wrong with red!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got lots of compliments! Very figure flattering. Would rent again for sure!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
May 24, 2014

Rented for a wedding

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Would NOT recommend for pear shapes! The 10 was too big on top and still just so tight on my hips! This is for those "pear" shapes that actually weigh 100 lbs, not us actual pears! RTR was great and sent me another dress ASAP.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

The cut was flattering but the material was too casual for the wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a last minute emergency rental. The girls at Rent the Runway were wonderful and I was amazed that the dress arrived in time the next day. The cut was wonderful and flattering but the material was too casual for the wedding. It was a kind of four-way stretch jersey-like material. It looks more like a work dress than a wedding dress.The skirt also hung a little funny. I didn't end up wearing it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×