Rumor Says Dress

$50 rental
$275 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little red peplum ERIN Erin Fetherston style to make him fall in love on that first date. He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you! Pair with a gold bangle and strappy heels.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Peplum detail at waist. Pencil skirt. Hidden center back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
156 reviews
Fit
Large
(41)
True to Size
(100)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2013
Great dress, very comfortable!
This fits true to size, and it is very comfortable. The fabric is stretchy, which accommodates those of us with bigger hips. The top was a little big on me, but that usually happens with dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
September 29, 2013
This was my back-up dress but I knew when I put it on it would be the one I would wear!
The fit for me was perfect. The waist hit at just the right spot. The fabric had just enough stretch to be very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
September 14, 2013
I felt classy and sexy in this red dress all night long!
The material in the dress has stretch which hugs your body and is comfortable. I would size down due to the stretchy fabric. I think the dress looks better with a snug fit. The fit is so flattering with the peplum. I felt great in the dress and would highly recommend. I received many compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2013
Wore this to my bridal shower
This dress has great fit in the cotton blend stretch fabric. The skirt fits nice and snug and the peplum adds sophistication and also makes it a bit more conservation while being fashion forward. I wore it with a kate spade statement necklace and felt very pulled together. Recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 3, 2013
Great dress, very sophisticated.
I wore this dress to a wedding and received a ton of compliments. The color is great too. My only complaint would be the length of this dress. It's a little long, runs just to the knee (I'm 5'3"), but other than that I really liked it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 18, 2013
Fabulous color, fabulous fit!
This dress was very comfortable and the peplum was fantastic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2013
Great Dress for Rehersal Dinner
My mom rented this dress for my sister's rehersal dinner. She said it fit well, but there was not much give in the leg area like other girls had mentioned. She got a lot of compliments on the dress and said it was a dress she would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
August 11, 2013
The dress was beautiful and very flattering!
The dress was true to size and fit beautifully!! Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 7, 2013
Dress fit perfect!
I usually wear a size 4 or 6 in this I wore a 4 everything fit very well hugged all my curves
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 19, 2013
Classy Look I Was Going For
I really wanted to post a photo with my review but I can't find the USB cable for my camera, so I'll do my best in just words. First off, I wore this dress for my post-baccalaureate program graduation. It was a small group of students with family and friends and our professors. Since it was held at a catering hall at noon, I wanted to look classy but without overdoing it. This dress was perfect! It was conservative enough for the occasion (didn't want to look too sexy in front of my professors!) but stylish and fab enough to stand out. As for the fit, I wish I would've paid a little more attention to the other ladies who mentioned that this dress runs large. I tried on the 12 and it fit well without me having to squeeze into my Spanx. Now, I usually wear clothes that runs a little bigger to hide my chubs but with this dress I wish I would've worn the 10 with the Spanx. In my photos I can see how the 12 fit a little big. I still loved it but in hindsight I think the 10 would have been a bit more flattering. There was extra room around my waist which made me look a little bigger than I am. Luckily, the style of the dress with the peplum helped to give an appearance of a cinched waist. I'm about 5'7 with heels and the length of the dress hit right at my knee which was okay but I think the 10 would've given a length just above my knees. Overall, the dress was beautiful and comfortable. I accessorized with gold jewelry similar to what the model is wearing. I received many compliments and I was very satisfied with the outcome. Definitely recommend! Just remember to size down!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 18, 2013
Nice Red Dress!
The dress was very nice quality and a beautiful true red color. Ordering process was a breeze. My size was not available so I ordered a size down as reviews indicated the dress ran large. It was bit tight for my curvy figure so I did not wear it. My true size would have been perfect. I will try again for the next event.. Recommend if you want a classy red dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2013
In a sea of black and gray, if you want to stand out at a wedding, wear red. Tons of compliments.
Very comfortable. I would happily rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
July 12, 2013
Sexy and comfortable!
Rented this dress for the reception party for my parents wedding. The dress was very comfortable and form fitting in all the right places. I'm 5'2 1/2 and the dress isn't too long for us short girls. The peplum design is cute for any body type. I was able to dance comfortably in it all night. It was a knockout dress and everyone wanted to have it. Thanks again RTR! I would recommend wearing this with gold jewelry.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
July 10, 2013
Love this dress!
I was skeptical that the dress would work on me. as I typically don't love peplum, but it was so flattering! It does call for a really bold necklace because of such a strong solid color and a higher neckline. I got a ton of compliments and felt like a million bucks! Also, it looks so much better on than on the hanger.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 9, 2013
Great dress - many compliments!
The material is a little stretchy, which is great for dancing on the wedding dance floor :) The material was also a little heavier than I anticipated, which makes me think this is a little better for fall/winter, but luckily I was inside AC so it worked out. The length was perfect and the peplum accentuated the right places (which I was a little nervous about). I matched with nude shoes and a nude purse as I saw several others do on RTTR and I think it worked out well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 7, 2013
It was just so hassle free. The dress came the day before, it fit perfectly, and just mailed it back
The dress fit perfectly! I loved wearing it, and it was perfect for the occasion. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 23, 2013
Lot's of compliments, felt like a movie star!
Loved this dress, it has just enough stretch that it didn't feel too tight at all, especially across the chest. I am top heavy and have a really tough time finding dresses, after speaking to a fit specialist she recommended that I order a 4 and a 2 as my back up, didn't have to try the 2, the 4 fit like a glove. As some of the others have mentioned it has no slit in the skirt, so I had to hike it up a bit when I was getting into the car, not sure why it wouldn't have a slit, it would just add to it's sexiness. Loved the vivid red, more on the blue-red scale than the orange-red scale. The dress hit me just below my knee, but really was just so sexy. I wore nude heels, a necklace from RTR and the Diane Von Furstenburg handbag, an allover amazing outfit. I hate to have to ship this back I love it so much. If I had more of a social like I would totally buy this dress. Loved everything about my RTR experience, dresses delivered right to my door, well packed and includes a mailer to ship it all back. The purse and the necklace were in their own boxes inside the shipping box, very well organized, I was highly impressed. I will most definitely be back to rent again for the next event I have.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
June 13, 2013
The renting process is so easy and convenient!
I wore this dress and necklace for my wedding rehearsal dinner. It was extremely comfortable and fit great! I usually wear a size 6, but I ended wearing the smaller size 4, so I would recommend ordering a size down from your usual size for your back up. It felt trendy yet still elegant and classy for this occasion. Also, the necklace was stunning and looked great with the dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 10, 2013
great color and dress
i loved the color and material was high quality. I recently gained some weight in the bust and butt area so I wasn't sure this dress covered that very well. overall- it is a beautiful dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 5, 2013
I was referred to as "the girl in the red dress" throughout the evening - seems I made an impression
This was the most comfortable dress! I had such a blast at this wedding and this dress definitely made me feel awesome. It was great for dancing. I wore it to an evening wedding where the dress was semi-formal. I got compliments throughout the night about the dress. Normally I wear black and white dresses to formal events, but with RTR I was able to go outside my comfort zone and try something new and boy did I have a great time! I wish I could have kept this dress. Typically I wear a size 12, but the 10 fit better (and that made me feel great too!). I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
June 3, 2013
classy and comfortable!
The dress fit perfectly and was so comfortable. I received a ton of compliments. Great for any occasion!
JmonthaJune 24, 2013
I see that you're petite! I'm 5' 0". :) What did you think about the length of this dress? It looks great on you, but I just wanted to make sure it's not too long & end up looking frumpy.
ASHJune 25, 2013
Thank you! :) The length was fine for me. I'm 4"11 and it was at the knee. It won't look long or frumpy. I'm wearing 6" heels :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 1, 2013
Loved this dress!!
Loved this dress the color was very vibrant and the fit was comfortable. The dress conplemented every aspect of my body and curves. The only thing I would have liked was for the dress to be a bit tighter in the thigh area. Overall very nice dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 28, 2013
Super flattering cut, awesome dress
I ordered this dress as my backup but liked it so much that I wore it instead. It has stretchy fabric so you can size down, and it was super comfortable. Best part -- I could wear a regular bra! I got so many compliments and felt great in the dress. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 28, 2013
I love how I don't have to worry about my dress. I just come home after work and it's waiting there.
The fit runs a bit large. I usually wear a size 4, but wore a size 2 comfortably. The color is great! I received lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 28, 2013
Great Dress!
It fit well and was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2013
Great dress! Reviews about the fit were spot on.
I wore this for a bridal shower tea that I hosted with the rest of the bridal party. I wore it with nude shoes and beige hat...I received so many wonderful compliments. The dress was very comfortable. I agree that it was fitted around the leg, which made it a little difficult to climb stairs, but not really difficult to walk in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 20, 2013
Felt like a ROCKSTAR in this dress!
Incredible fit, incredibly comfortable, and absolutely awesome dress. The fit and cut was perfect. I am 6 foot tall and everything hit in the right spots! I was a little nervous to see if the peplum would make my hips look wider but it had a great slimming affect. I would wear this again....and again...and again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2013
Fit great. Looked great. Perfection.
The dress met all my expectations. The fabric was thicker than I anticipated but did not cause any troubles. The only negative is it was a bit tight in the hips, but that's my fault for not working out for a few months.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 28, 2013
This color was really great - poppy in a sea of black dresses!!
This dress was very flattering especially from the front. I was comfortable in the length and the fabric. There is not a ton of give in the skirt or armholes as others had mentioned, but still was perfect. I got lots of compliments. Nude sandals made it less conservative and more fun!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
April 27, 2013
Hot Tamale Dress
Love this dress! So flattering! Fit true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
April 26, 2013
This dress was perfect for my son's baptism and the process was so easy!
I really liked the fit and the way the peplum flattered my midsection.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 25, 2013
great dress. Got a ton of compliments.
worked great with a beaded necklace i have and nude pumps. Wore it under a denim jacket for a casual dinner, super cute. Transitioned great that night into the dressy party outfit i wanted!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 109lbs
April 22, 2013
Very impressed with the dress received
I received this dress in 2 sizes, day before a black tie wedding. It was a great dress for the occasion. I am petite (5'1") and a 34DD so I ordered a size 4 and 6. I am normally a 4 unless a dress runs tight in the chest and I have to go up a size. The 4 fit PERFECTLY across my entire body, including the chest. But it was long, which I expected given the other reviews and my height. I had ordered the hem tape, unfortunately for some reason, it didn't arrive with the dress. This was my first rental from RTR and it was just human error. Although I could not wear the dress (I had no time to go find/buy hem tape ) I would not hesitate to rent again- they were very gracious in refunding my money under the circumstances. The dress was beautiful and flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
April 19, 2013
I got so many compliment and was completely comfortable all night!
4 fit perfectly. I could probably have also worn a 2, but with no slit in the skirt it was nice to have a little extra room. The material is heavier but so soft with just enough stretch. It was nice to find a dress that was both fun and appropriate for a professional event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2013
Absolutely Stunning & Comfortable!
I love this dress! It was very flattering - the peplum is in the perfect location on the waist - and very comfortable. It fit as I expected, it was a bit tight around the legs since it didn't have a slit, but it didn't look too small and wasn't uncomfortable. I would recommend this for a cocktail party, a work function, a wedding or a date. Very sexy without being revealing at all. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 24, 2013
I wish I had bought this dress!!
I was deciding between the 0 and the 2 but ended up wearing the 2 since the 0 was tight around the knees at the bottom. I wore it to my sorority formal and absolutely loved it! It was easy to move around in and flattering. Definitely find a cute necklace or pair of earrings though since the neckline is pretty plain. All around fantastic dress, wish I could buy it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2013
Classic and trendy
Very formfitting but not too much which was nice. It fit my chest well without making me appear large, which is sometimes hard to find when you have bigger breasts. I wore it to my friends engagement party and felt like it could've easily been dressed up more if necessary. I normally wear a 4 but was able to wear a 2.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 10, 2013
Beautiful dress, lots of compliments
I wore this dress for a wedding (along with one of the statment necklaces from RTR) and accessorized in black. I usually wear between a 4 and 6 depending on the designer and I went with the 4 for a more snug fit. This dress was super comfy and I received a lot of compliments. I would recommend this dress. I would say the only drawback was no matter what size I tried on, the dress pulled a little in the leg area. I noticed in the pictures from other reviewers it also did that on some other women. Not a big issue but throwing that out there. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 4, 2013
...
I rented this dress as my backup but I tried it on.. This dress is great. I ordered the 4, but probably could have worn the 2 for a little more snug fit. This dress would be perfect for a night out to show off curves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2013
Classy, flattering, perfect for the charity event!
I wore this dress for a "cocktail" type charity event for the American Heart Association. I usually where a size 6 but was pleasantly surprised when the 4 fit perfectly. This dress hugs in all the right places and the peplum is very flattering. I am 5'7' and have a bit of a "booty" so sometimes dresses like this are just TOO short or TOO tight. This one was perfect...there was no pulling it down the entire night and because the top was sleeveless I could wear a regular bra for ultimate comfort. I paired it with a "statement" necklace and a belt (dresses that fit my lower body tend to be a bit large around my waist...so the belt was a great final touch. I'd recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×