Rumor Says Dress

$50 rental
$275 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this little red peplum ERIN Erin Fetherston style to make him fall in love on that first date. He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you! Pair with a gold bangle and strappy heels.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Peplum detail at waist. Pencil skirt. Hidden center back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
166 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(104)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 22, 2014
So many compliments!
I wore this dress for a work function. It was the perfect amount of form fitting but professional. What a fun dress! Got so many compliments. Ran a bit big, I'd get one size smaller than your usual size..
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 11, 2014
Wore it to SMU's Barrister's Ball
I wore this to my boyfriend's Barrister's Ball/"Law Prom" in the Spring. First off, the color is amazing! A super rich red, so I wore nude pumps and a simple chain gold necklace to balance it out. The fabric is extremely comfortable. I ordered a size 0 with a size 2 as a back up. I ended up wearing the size 0. Because the fabric had so much give, the size 0 made it a little tighter. I think if I had been going to a business function rather than a party I would've worn a size 2 which was a little bit looser.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 15, 2014
Dress runs long
I rented this for yet another wedding, but the dress ran very large! It was so long that it went down to my knees practically. It was heavy and not at all what I imagined. I think it would fit better on someone who was taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 14, 2014
Red hot!
I rented this dress for formal night on our cruise. The reviews noted the dress ran big so I ordered my normal size (8) and a size 6 as the alternate. The 6 fit well, it was a little loose in the waist/hips, but still made my waist look tiny, I think the 4 would have been too tight up top. The length was perfect and the peplum hid the problem spots and flattered all the right places. The dress was very comfortable and easy to move around in, I have two small children so I needed something that allowed me bend down to their level and move with them without exposing myself to the general population. The best part- I got compliments on the dress all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 18, 2014
Dress was beautiful.
I suggest pulling the front of the dressdown so that the back lies flat. Goes great with gold accesories.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 4, 2014
Peplum is very long
This was my back-up dress. It's very comfortable and runs a little big. I had extra room in the waist and bust area. It is very stretchy, so I didn't have to worry about it being too tight over my hips and butt. I don't think there's a need to size up in this dress. I didn't like the style of the dress at all when I tried it on because the peplum was very long, and my husband said it looked like I had a skirt over a skirt. It exaggerated my large hips instead of camouflaging them. I didn't wear it to my event, but I wore it the following night out to a wine bar. The color is very pretty, and I think it looked elegant with heels and jewelry.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2014
RTR customer service is great! They saved me :)
I originally rented a different dress, but after receiving it I did not like it and it did not fit well. I called RTR Customer service to request another dress and this was the one I decided on. The stylist was great to work with and patient with me as I tried to choose another dress. . She overnighted me 2 sizes of this dress- a 2 and 4. Normally a size 4 will fit around my hips and a 2 will fit on my chest. I ended up wearing the 2 and I probably could have worn a 0. The dress runs a tad big. I wore the dress for an awards dinner for my fiancé's work in Puerto Rico! I paired it with a black belt at the waist, a black clutch and black pointed pumps. I thought it looked very classy :) overall great dress and even better customer service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 12, 2015
Not for petite girls
I would not recommend this for a short girl, the peplum hits very low, creating a frumpy look. For everyone else, I recommend going a size down. However, the material is very comfortable and the dress itself is super cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2015
Fantastic color, cut and design. Very comfy fabric and a joy to wear.
I am loving this dress by Erin Fetherston. It is so comfy and I absolutely adore the peplum design. It makes me feel very ladylike. I will say the only CON to this dress it the lack of a back slit so walking is fairly difficult. I also think I could have gone with a 2 since peplum dresses can be a bit unflattering if they aren't tailored perfectly. Overall LOVE this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
December 18, 2015
Loved wearing this fun and vibrant dress to my company holiday party!
Conservative enough for a work party but the red made it fun for an evening out. Runs a bit large, I would probably have worn the 6 but it was out of stock when I ordered so an 8 worked fine. Material is a nice weight and the red is a true vibrant holiday red. Super comfy and the waist detail hides any tummy imperfections and doesn't require Spanx!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2012
So many compliments! The perfect mix of classy and sassy!
The dress is Beautiful! I recieved many compliments! I ordered the 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 2. While, the fit was nice, the bodice was still rather large. I probably could have been comfortable in a 0 but was happy with the overall fit. The fabric is Very nice. I wish it could stay in my closet!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2012
The dress was so unbelievably comfy. Every said I looked so elegant, my confidence was up all night!
The dress was a little big on me. The bust was the perfect size but everywhere else was a bit big, but it made me feel great that I'm normally a size 6 and I needed a size 4!
LoriJanuary 18, 2013
Adorable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
June 13, 2013
The renting process is so easy and convenient!
I wore this dress and necklace for my wedding rehearsal dinner. It was extremely comfortable and fit great! I usually wear a size 6, but I ended wearing the smaller size 4, so I would recommend ordering a size down from your usual size for your back up. It felt trendy yet still elegant and classy for this occasion. Also, the necklace was stunning and looked great with the dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 7, 2014
Flattering and Comfortable!
Excellent fit! Stretchy material! Flattering peplum. Bright red color perfect for July 4th party! Great fit for curvy women, hourglass figure. Large bust and hips were comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 24, 2014
Perfect office holiday party dress
The dress ran large, I wore the two and it stretched a little by the end of the night so it felt bigger. The dress was beautiful, conservative enough for a holiday party but sexy in a classy way. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 16, 2013
I didn't wear either size I ordered. Way too big!
I rented sizes 6 and 8 and both were far too large for me to wear. I have a very athletic build, muscular legs and glutes, so I figured a form-fitting dress like this would be too small for my curves. Boy was I wrong--I was swimming in both of them!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 8, 2014
Very figure flattering and compliments all night long
Loved the way this dress made me look, but it was WAY too constricting at the knees. I couldn't dance and could barely walk. The seam didn't have any give at all. Would definitely suggest for a nice dinner date or something, but not an event where you plan on dancing.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Age: 37
September 16, 2016
This dress made me feel like a million bucks. I only wish they had the size 6!
Runs big and after reading the reviews the 6 seems to be what many people want but didn't get. The fabric is great! I love everything about this dress. So many compliments! I would rent again or buy it! Redheads... Don't be scared of the bold color. It looks amazing against my red hair. 😊
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
October 31, 2016
Conservative and faltering for a night time charity event.
I am 5"5 and 118. I rented the size 2 and 4. I ended up wearing the size 2 but wish I had of ordered the 0. The size 2 fit large all over on me.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 2, 2013
I wore this dress for my father's 50th Birthday Party. Fit great! Comfortable! Classy!
The dress totally accented my cursed in a very classy manner. The dress as a little snug because there is no split but not uncomfortable. I am normally a 2, but when I heard the dress ran small I tried a 0, and it really fit perfectly. I would recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2013
Great dress! Reviews about the fit were spot on.
I wore this for a bridal shower tea that I hosted with the rest of the bridal party. I wore it with nude shoes and beige hat...I received so many wonderful compliments. The dress was very comfortable. I agree that it was fitted around the leg, which made it a little difficult to climb stairs, but not really difficult to walk in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
May 24, 2014
Rented for a wedding
Would NOT recommend for pear shapes! The 10 was too big on top and still just so tight on my hips! This is for those "pear" shapes that actually weigh 100 lbs, not us actual pears! RTR was great and sent me another dress ASAP.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2012
Very odd fit...
I have a fairly normal body type, although a bit larger in the chest than the bottom half. I am usually a 4-6 and ordered both in this dress. The 4 fit the best but thats not saying much. The dress was really fitted, but when I tried on the 6 it was huge in the arm holes. The main problem with this dress was the fact that there is no slit or anything in the skirt and the seam around your legs does not let you take a full step. A really big problem for such a slim fitting dress. Also, I found it odd that the pepum hit literally at the bottom of my butt cheeks and made a rather small bum look much larger. I sent it back almost immideately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 29, 2012
Red!
It was longer than I thought it would be, but I'm short. I loved it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
December 4, 2012
Beautiful!
Red is now my new favorite color! I love the material and design of the dress, it fit great and received lots of compliments...even from men! Wore it to my husband's holiday party. Thank you rent the runway!!!
SeyonDecember 5, 2012
Hey you're my size and I'm thinking about getting the dress. Can you please send a pic or post a pic of the back? Thanks!
LolisDecember 28, 2012
Sorry for the late response, but I don't have a pic of the back...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2012
Perfect fit!
Loved everything about it! The material had stretch and it was easy to move in. I received tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 10, 2012
Loved this dress - would buy or rent again
I rented this dress for my husband's company holiday party. It was perfect. Very classy and feminine. The color was vibrant and prefect for the holiday vibe. Erin Fetherston is one of my new favorite designers. I rented a size 8 & 10 and wore the 8. There is no slit in the narrow pencil style skirt so it can be limiting when dancing... but I did ok! I wore it with a Kate Spade necklace, also rented on RTR. It was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
December 11, 2012
Great holiday party dress!
Dress was great, I was a little concerned it would be too big based on other reviews, however the 2 ( my normal size) fit great! The fabric is similiar to a jersey fabric so it fits comfortably and is great for dancing. The only thing I wish was different was the length, I am 5'2" and the dress hit right at my knees, looked fine but I wish it was a inch or two shorter. If you are short just keep this in mind, it will be longer than pictured on the model. I paired it with the "en vogue" necklace also pictured and definately was happy with both rentals!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
December 14, 2012
Cute dress, but I didn't wear it! :(
RTW was out of my size(6), I got the 8 hoping it would fit- too big. The material is a jersey stretch type, looks way more casual than pictured. Cute for a day function but not a cocktail party. The peplum in the back has a weird opening for the zipper.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2013
Fit great!
I didn't get to wear the dress because of a snow storm delaying the arrival but when I got it and tried it on it was very sleek! Loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 68
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 7, 2013
Loved the total look.
I have worn size 8 in other rental dresses but had but a little weight on and was worried about the sizing. I order a size 8 and 10 for my back up. The 8 fit good so I did not try on the 10. I am only 5'1" so I used the heming tape to shorten one hems length and it camp to my knees. The gold leaf was the perfect touch and I received many compliments on both items. I have two more dresses reserved one for January and one for February. They will be my 5th and 6th rental. Thank you for providing this service RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 12, 2013
Great dress!
I wore this dress to my corporate Christmas party. I added a thin, black belt and wore black shoes. It was very appropriate and I received lots of complements. It fits snug through the hip area but the fabric has a little "give" so it appears sexy, not uncomfortable
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
January 12, 2013
I felt GORG in this red peplum number!
This dress fit perfectly!Felt amazing, would totally recommend if you want to be classic & fabulous. Got so many compliments! Especially if you have olive skin tone or just look great in the color RED! The only thing I would look out for is the bottom is pretty fitted and not stretchy so had to take smaller steps, wasn't uncomfortable at all though! LOVED!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 24, 2013
The dress was beautiful, and it made me feel beautiful, too!
I was initially worried that the dress wouldn't fit up top, but it fit perfectly! Also, it was stretchy enough at the bottom to fit my hips. I got the size lower, however, because I had noticed in the reviews that this dress ran particularly small. The dress arrived on time and it was super easy to send back! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 26, 2013
This dress is perfect!
Unexpected gem! I ordered this as a backup and it was perfect. Fabric was casual, but fit really well. Peplum draped nicely and was a little "edgy." Really comfortable to wear and made me feel very confident for my interview. Got a ton of compliments and the job!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 27, 2013
Sexy, sophisticated, sleek
This was my first time to use Rent the Runway. I ordered this dress in a size 4 and 6 for my fiance's semi-formal work party in San Francisco. Both sizes fit, but the 6 was a little baggy around the waist so I chose to wear the 4. I felt like it was sexy yet sophisticated and got compliments from several people throughout the night. I have to say that it is pretty tight fitting around the hips and through the thighs/butt so if you plan to be doing a lot of dancing, be careful! Other than that, it is a beautiful dress and would be great for a wedding, date, girls' night our or work party.
ShinoJune 14, 2013
what a cute couple!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
February 3, 2013
Loved this dress!!
I received so many compliments on this dress! What a confidence booster! The only thing that I disliked was that it was a little snug at the bottom, which made it difficult to walk, but I'd rather have the dress hug my curves than be too loose. Definitely may have to rent this again!
marieFebruary 18, 2013
That looks beautiful on you! Marie Ricci
AngelaFebruary 24, 2013
You absolutely win the "wore it best" award!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
February 7, 2013
Not what I expected
This dress is just "okay" - the quality nor style seems like a Designer Dress to me. The fabric is just like a cotton blend (seems inexpensive) so it's not all that flattering. The size 10 fit fine, I just thought it was a little bland of a dress, and I wasn't a fan of the split peplum look. I had rented it for a conference but ended up wearing a REISS dress I own that looks much more expensive and stylish.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 13, 2013
Not flattering. A cool necklace made it work, but I didn't feel pretty.
I normally wear a 4 or a 6 but after reading the reviews, I ordered this in a 2 and a 4. The 4 fit fine. Because of my chest, I couldn't get into the 2. But really, I think that you have to be taller (I'm 5'2") to pull this off. The dress came past the top of my knee; I would have preferred that it be a few inches shorter. As a result, it was fitted through my thighs and then baggy around my knees. I tried "hemming" with fashion tape, but you could see the bulk of the material, and it looked worse. Between the high neckline and the too-long skirt, I felt too covered up. The material is so casual, too. If the fabric were dressier, then maybe a more covered-up look would have been comfortable. This was my first RTR disappointment.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 20, 2013
Great dress! Perfect for a work party
This dress is awesome. It looked beautiful on and the peplum is just enough (not too big) to add detail but still showcase your own figure.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×