Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Rumor Says Dress

$50 rental
$275 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little red peplum ERIN Erin Fetherston style to make him fall in love on that first date. He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you! Pair with Oscar de la Renta's Jeweled Champagne Branch Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Peplum detail at waist. Pencil skirt. Hidden center back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
147 reviews
Fit
Large41
True to Size99
Small3
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 19, 2014
Loved it!! Can't go wrong with red!
Got lots of compliments! Very figure flattering. Would rent again for sure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2014
The color was beautiful! Bold statement
The bottom is long and tight, so difficult to pull up, but a beautiful fitted dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
May 13, 2014
Comfortable & flattering
I ordered the 6 & the 8 and ended up wearing the 6. Its very fitted but the fabric is think enough that it smoothed everything out while still being light enough to wear to a Florida wedding in April. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
May 11, 2014
Great dress, received a lot of compliments!
The fit was true to size. This dress is great because it accentuates a small waist and can hide problem areas in the hips/stomach. It was a little bit longer than I had originally thought it would be, it hit slightly above my knees. The color is fantastic! I wore this to a wedding where most of the women were in neutral colors and the red definitely stood out in a good way! I paired it with a belt and nude heel.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
May 5, 2014
Fabric is super comfortable !
Very comfortable fabric and flattering in the waist/tummy area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 2, 2014
Pretty cocktail dress
I was really excited about this dress, and while I ended up wearing it, I wasn't thrilled about the fit. I was between the 2 sizes, but ended up wearing the smaller size as it was more flattering on the top. As other reviews indicate, the bottom is very snug. The peplum made did help make it flattering despite the snug fit. I would say it runs slightly large, so order a smaller size as your back up. I enjoyed wearing this dress, but would not have bought it if I tried it on in a store (as the fit wasn't perfect).
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
April 30, 2014
Prefect Dress!
I rented this for my boyfriend's frat formal. It was classy but still fun. It fit perfectly and I got a ton of compliments. This was my first RTR dress, and am planning my next rental. I wish I had found this website earlier in college!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2014
All of the compliments received!
Fit was PERFECT!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
April 5, 2014
Comfortable and trendy!
Overall, the dress fit well. There was a decent amount of stretch in the fabric, which made it very comfortable to wear. I chose not to wear this dress because the zipper was extremely stubborn when I tried it on. I would not have had my friends' help to zip me into the dress when I needed them. Also, the middle seam fell just above my natural waist, and so the peplum was a little higher than I expected. Not the most flattering silhouette for my figure.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 2, 2014
Great color
Perfect
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 1, 2014
Parent-Approved
It fit wonderfully and was very flattering. I wore it to a formal event that included my date's mother. I was very pleased that it was modest and classy, yet still cute. The photo is not as flattering but we're not the photo-taking type so it's all we got!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 148lbs
March 18, 2014
The moment when everyone had to look twice to recognize me
This dress fit me perfectly! I was worried at first about fitting into a size 8 but it worked out perfectly in the end. The dress hugged my every curve in the right way and was the perfect length for my event. I received tons of compliments from guys and girls about my dress. They didn't recognize me at first with how I did my hair and makeup! The only negative thing about this dress is the non elastic band around the bottom of the dress around your legs. It made going up and down stairs a little tricky. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
March 11, 2014
Beautiful dress. Easy to dance in
Easy for dancing. Classy and form fitting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 27, 2014
Classy and Sexy
Fit perfectly, great quality. I rented the dress twice, once for my Wedding Tea Ceremony and the other for a Bachelorette Party. I should just buy the darn thing :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 23, 2014
Comfortable and very stylish
Love the fabric and I felt beautiful !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
February 17, 2014
Perfect for Valentine's Day!
I absolutely love this dress! I wanted to keep it! It fit like a glove and was my backup dress. Once I put it on I knew it was perfect for the occasion and accentuated all the right places. I would definitely get this again! My boyfriend loved this dress and could not keep his eyes off me.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 9, 2014
the attire for the event required everyone to wear red. no one else had on the same dress as me
wore leopard pumps to break up the red ... the dressy fit adds for stretch to curvy figures. very comfortable easy to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
January 23, 2014
My sister wearing this to my civil ceremony
It fit my sister like a glove and since she had not been exercising for some time :) she had a little something something around her waist ( to put it nicely) The way the dress is designed it flatters every body shape and hides flaws and the color is simply gorgeous My sister is size 6 145 pounds gorgeous woman :)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 1, 2014
Great for my office holiday party!
Great dress for a work/holiday party. Ran a little large in size, so I went a size down to a 10. Looked great with gold pumps. Bracelet was fun also - a great added piece. I was able to wear this to a work party and a christmas get-together the following night! This was a great dress, but I think it would be better suited for women with straight figures (and not curvy or hourglass shapes). The dress made me look more bottom heavy. I think this dress would be perfect on a straight figure to give someone a more curvy shape. I don't really need help with this, so the dress made me a look a little heavier... Not terrible overall, but I doubt I will rent this (or something like this) again in the future.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
December 23, 2013
Really cute peplum dress!
This dress is a cute peplum dress, about knee length, pretty form fitting. I wore it to an office christmas party and got lots of compliments on it. It was really pretty and flattering, but also classy. I wore the size I ordered (4). It was a little bit tight across the hip area but not enough to be a problem. I tried the size 6 which was my back-up size but that was too big. Overall, it was a great holiday dress and I would recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2013
It was the perfect fit, and so comfortable!
I am curvy, and this dress was so flattering to my body type. The color is absolutely stunning, and the material and fit of the dress were comfortable during the entire night. I wore this for a New Year's Eve party. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 17, 2013
Back-up dress, did not wear
I rented this as a back-up dress and did not wear it. I ordered the 10 because I thought it looked snug. I could have worn a 6. Not the most flattering on my shape (straight) but a very pretty, well-made dress. I will probably try again in a smaller size. Color was a lovely red - not too bright with blue undertones.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2013
Good fit , very comfortable.
The dress was a change from the usual LBD. Very comfortable and stylish.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
November 18, 2013
Got many compliments with this dress. The fit is very flattering, color is great and true to picture
Loved this dress for the casual elegance, color and flattering fit. It does run big so I wore the smaller size I ordered. Pretty stretchy fabric too (the skirt felt slightly tight around the bottom but I could still dance and walk easily.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 17, 2013
Definitely renting this again!
I rented this for an engagement party and after much thought, I went with another I ordered. My problem with peplums is I find that the legnth of the dress and the fullness of the peplum don't balance out making me look "squat"/much more wider in the hips, but this dress doesn't cause that problem. It nipped in my waist perfectly and the pleats in the peplum helped it fall and flatter my hips. If I had another event to go to the weekend I rented this, i would have worn it!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 10, 2013
Great dress and described perfectly
Love Rent the Runway. This was my first experience and am so impressed with the process. I look forward to renting again. I did love this dress, however I felt it was starting to show it's wear. The ponte knit was not as fresh as it would be new. Still looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
October 30, 2013
Fun yet professional
This dress was very comfortable - the jersey material was great! It was different then what I would normally wear so I felt a little self-conscious with the narrow bottom but the peplum was cute and I received a lot of compliments on the color (which was a tad bright for me). I think I would have loved this dress more in a darker color. I also felt like I had to wear the bigger size because I felt a bit body-conscious. It was the perfect style for the event I attended though (a work gala) and I'm glad I rented something from RTR again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 29, 2013
Love this dress!
This dress was amazing! It was so comfortable, flattering and fashionable. I received a ton of compliements and felt great! This dress would be flattering on nearly any body type!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
October 28, 2013
This is the perfect dress. I wore it for a RTR fashion show and it was a hit!
True to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
October 18, 2013
Returned! Didnt work for my body!!
I was nervous about this dress from the second I reserved it. I put it on and almost instantly sent an email to RTR that I would be returning it. The top was baggy (even in the size 2), the peplum hit me in a weird place, and the bottom half just didnt look right. I have a post baby body so my lower half is a little larger then my top but even the top I was surprised at the fit. RTR was amazing and Hanna got back to me right away and overnighted another dress to me. Although this dress was a disappointment, RTR experience was an A+!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2013
Great dress for a wedding!
Dress was perfect for the occasion. It fit well, is cut great, and is flattering on all shapes. Both the 4 and 6 fit, but I went with the 6 for the extra length and room to boogie :) Had it been a girls night, date night, etc I would have gone with the 4. I paired it with a gold and white clutch, nude shoes and gold necklace.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2013
Great dress, very comfortable!
This fits true to size, and it is very comfortable. The fabric is stretchy, which accommodates those of us with bigger hips. The top was a little big on me, but that usually happens with dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
September 29, 2013
This was my back-up dress but I knew when I put it on it would be the one I would wear!
The fit for me was perfect. The waist hit at just the right spot. The fabric had just enough stretch to be very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
September 14, 2013
I felt classy and sexy in this red dress all night long!
The material in the dress has stretch which hugs your body and is comfortable. I would size down due to the stretchy fabric. I think the dress looks better with a snug fit. The fit is so flattering with the peplum. I felt great in the dress and would highly recommend. I received many compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2013
Wore this to my bridal shower
This dress has great fit in the cotton blend stretch fabric. The skirt fits nice and snug and the peplum adds sophistication and also makes it a bit more conservation while being fashion forward. I wore it with a kate spade statement necklace and felt very pulled together. Recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 3, 2013
Great dress, very sophisticated.
I wore this dress to a wedding and received a ton of compliments. The color is great too. My only complaint would be the length of this dress. It's a little long, runs just to the knee (I'm 5'3"), but other than that I really liked it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 18, 2013
Fabulous color, fabulous fit!
This dress was very comfortable and the peplum was fantastic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2013
Great Dress for Rehersal Dinner
My mom rented this dress for my sister's rehersal dinner. She said it fit well, but there was not much give in the leg area like other girls had mentioned. She got a lot of compliments on the dress and said it was a dress she would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
August 11, 2013
The dress was beautiful and very flattering!
The dress was true to size and fit beautifully!! Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 7, 2013
Dress fit perfect!
I usually wear a size 4 or 6 in this I wore a 4 everything fit very well hugged all my curves
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×