Riding the Wave Sheath

$35 rental
$225 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Sexy in swirls! Go for a bold look in this illusion sheath by ERIN Erin Fetherston for the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and nude ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Sheer mesh paneling detail. Pencil skirt. Exposed zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
221 reviews
Fit
Large
(26)
True to Size
(177)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
November 3, 2016
It was a simple dress for date night
I am a little insecure about how it hugged my curves. But it was a pretty dress. I feel like the pale part of it kind of washed me out a little. It fit true to size though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 215lbs
September 30, 2016
Made Me Feel Beautiful
I loved everything about this dress! It has a lot of stretch to it, so it is comfy and easy to move around (aka DANCE) in, but it's not so stretchy that it isn't form-fitting. Perfect for someone who is pear or hourglass shaped.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
August 29, 2016
Dress was so comfortable for dancing and moving around. Fit was excellent, need a bra without lace.
The dress fit very well, good quality material, the design is very flattering to the figure. My husbands eyes lite up when I walked in the room, he loved the dress. Sexy but covers everything very good for a family event. I would rent again.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
June 5, 2016
Sexy & classy
This was my first RTR experience & I couldn't be more pleased! I wore this to my bridal shower and received many compliments! I was a little nervous to rent due to my larger bust but the dress fits true to size, is stretchy & super comfortable! Would definitely rent again :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 3, 2016
Fits like a glove!
This dress is perfect for a formal wedding! It fit perfectly and hugged all of my curves in the right places. The wedding was outside in Palm Desert, CA so it was very hot, but the dress was comfortable. I was able to dance and move all night. I received so many compliments. This was my first rental and I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 14, 2016
Loved this dress!
Received compliments all night. Plenty of room for my 36DDs. I went with a strapless bra, but also tried it on with a nude bra and probably could have gotten away with that. I probably could have worn the size 8, but only 10 and 12 were available. Stretchy fabric, very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 12, 2016
This was not a flattering dress
I was not s fan of the tan fabric on me. I think I might have been a bit to big through the mid section.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
January 24, 2016
Very comfortable dress with a touch of sexy with the sheer top.
The fabric was a lower quality than I expected. It's more of a thick cotton knit and looked like it had been worn several times. With that being said, it was very, very comfortable and covered all the right places without being too conservative. It was a good choice for a work-related fundraiser but not overly formal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2015
I wore this to a small wedding and it was perfect. Loved the color and how comfortable it was.
Fit great, super comfy and very classy. Only down fall is I probably should of ordered a size smaller because it was a tad large. Other than that Great dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 27, 2015
Fit like a glove
Fit great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 23, 2015
Crazy Flattering
This dress has the perfect amount of stretch! It fit perfectly and was so comfortable to dance in!! Would totally rent again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 27, 2015
Really cute dress. I wore to my daughter's high school graduation
I think it runs a little big ... Nice dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 22, 2015
Loved this dress. Felt sexy yet sophisticated!
Fit great, loved that the fabric was a thick stretch. I'm 5'4" and it just hit my knee.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
September 15, 2015
Lots of compliments will come with the dress
Plenty of room for woman with a large bust like mine! It was very flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 2, 2015
Great dress, wore it to work on unlimited
Will rent again
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 1, 2015
Feeling and looking beautiful at a family wedding.
The dress slipped on and felt great. I couldn't believe how well it fit, didn't wrinkle and still looked great after a long night of dancing. I received so many compliments, and my boyfriend thought it looked stunning on me.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
August 26, 2015
Great fit, hides imperfections and hugs the body perfectly!
Great fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 7, 2015
Ball Gown!!
I wore this to a Military Christmas party and received tons of compliments!!! Great material. Great fit. And, adds curve appeal ;)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 2, 2015
Very comfortable and easy to wear.
Loved the cut of this dress, tailored and fitted in all the right places but not tight or restricting in the least, had a little give to it. I especially liked the pale pink color sweeping across the front, made this simple black cocktail dress fun, light and in theme with pink inspired country club wedding.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 120lbs
July 31, 2015
Great cocktail dress!
I wore this to a friend's engagement party, and it was perfect for the occasion. The design is very flattering and adds curves. The fabric has a good amount of stretch and was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
July 27, 2015
Wore this dress to a casual outdoor reception and it was great. Perfect for curvy women !
great fit, stretchy material but very "forgiving"! I would rent this again
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
July 6, 2015
This dress fit perfectly! It was fitted but elastic material gave room to move around comfortably.
Great dress! It was my back up but could easily be the best choice for a wedding, date or work.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
June 28, 2015
As always, loved my RTR dress
This dress was fabulous and very comfortable! Looks even better in person. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
June 25, 2015
clearly, carefree.
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner, and in a surprising turn of events, danced the rest of the night at a pub with a cover band. Great dancing dress, so comfortable. I wore a regular nude bra. If you wore a colored bra you'd be able to see it on the pink side, but the mesh camouflaged the straps. Flattering and forgiving. I'm always between a 4-6-8 depending on the cut, the 6 was not unwearable, but the 4 was the better fit for sure. Great rental---especially if you aren't sure where the night will take you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 18, 2015
Such a fun event and a great formal dress for it!
Dress was perfect fit, I'm usually a size 4 but they didn't have my size on such short notice so I took a chance on going a size down and I'm glad I did! It fit like a glove and if you are curvy the design showed off my curves amazingly! Great dress for a curvy woman!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
June 2, 2015
Nice dress!...Just not my favorite.
Very nice dress, runs true to size. Just didn't think it worked for my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
May 31, 2015
Cute and comfortable dress!
I wore this to a wedding. The fit was very flattering and got tons of compliments. It was also good material for a summer wedding, I was not hot when I wore it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2015
Fun design, simply elegant dress.
The fit was perfect. The dress is interesting without being too much. Appropriate for a night out, or a work event.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2015
Classy twist on an LBD!
Overall it is an extremely flattering dress - I received many compliments. I wish I had ordered a size down as my second option. A lot of other reviews said that it runs small but I thought it was a little big (it is kind of stretchy material so mine might have just been stretched out). Very classy/flattering look and I am happy I rented it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 26, 2015
Sexy and comfy
Great dress. Great fit. Simple and sexy but very comfy. Needed a strapless bra. Very forgiving on curves :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 20, 2015
Classy, pretty dress!
Rented this dress for a May wedding. Very classy, as it hit a little above the knee. I wish the black part was across the butt because the pink was a bit see-through. Material is a bit thicker so Spanx could still be worn. The mesh fabric at the top was very pretty and added a nice touch. The material is stretchy and very comfortable to sit in for many hours. Overall, really liked this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 28, 2015
It was a perfect fit!
Loved the dress. The wave in the front has a slimming effect. The top is sheer as such you must wear a strapless. I felt gorgeous and sexy all night.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 14, 2015
Dress was cute just not the right color for my olive skin.
The dress is pretty stretchy so I found the dress to run large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 13, 2015
HOT HOT HOT
This dress is so flattering. Literally you have to do nothing but put this dress on to feel great about your body. The light color in the wave pattern hits just right to create an hourglass shape and keep the eye moving. NO ONE will notice or even look if you even have a tiny pooch in the stomach area. Genius design idea, beautiful fabric, and so flattering. This dress is a no-brainer. Also, thanks to rent the runway for the immaculate customer service in overnighting me this dress after an underwhelming first dress attempt!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 5, 2015
Pretty, but not for me
I thought this would work for a work event I had to go to, but I ended up not wearing it. The top is more sheer than I thought and it wasn't appropriate for the event. That being said, the dress is nice. Nothing to write home about though in my opinion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 2, 2015
love love love!
I LOVE this dress! And if I ever see it for sale, I will definitely be buying it. I wore this to a friends wedding and received so many compliments on it throughout the night. The dress fit like a glove and hugged in all the right places. I'm short at 5'3" and always worried about the length of dresses and this length was perfect. I felt amazing the whole night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 20, 2015
Pretty dress. Form fitting and figure flattering but long enough so it felt conservative.
I am an athlete and have a very straight shape with wide shoulders and large thighs so finding a dress that flatters is tough. This dress gave me the illusion of a shape I don't normally see. I normally wear a 12 but the 10 fit quite comfortably. The material has a lot of stretch so order down, for sure. The color contrast from the waist to the bust is a very light beige-pink. Due to the mesh on top, I wore a strapless bra. The material is fairly thick but comfortable. I paired the dress with simple nude pumps and a pretty scarf for outside. I also rented the bangles and gold hoops for RTR. Loved the earrings didn't care for the bangles, felt like plastic.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2015
Beautiful dress worn to a fundraiser! Comfy and true to size.
This dress was very comfortable and fit well, except for the length. It was a little longer than I expected. Also, the peach color is a little more muted than it shows online. I wore a bodysuit underneath and though you could see the straps through the sheer material at the top, it actually looked like part of the dress and I didn't have to wear a strapless. You could probably get away without wearing a bra at all as the top fits pretty snugly. This dress hugs all of your curves.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2015
I had concerns about the dress to begin with but had no issues whatsoever!
I ordered a 0 and 2 and didn't even have to try on the 2. The 0 fit so comfortably and was a stretchy material to make the dress work all night long. It was very flattering, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
February 25, 2015
I got plenty of compliments on this dress... Fit was great!
Plenty of compliments, felt like the belle of the ball!! Wore this to my uncle's 60th bday celebration. It was a very formal affair. The fit was very true to size for me. I'm normally a 6 and a 6 worked perfectly. I stand only at 5'1 and the length was perfect also. RTR delivery was speedy, very easy to return, dress came in perfect condition! The fit on me was amazing!! I really can't say anything was wrong with this dress for me!! Will definitely use them again!!
See more reviews:
1 / 6
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×