ERIN erin fetherston

Riding the Wave Sheath

$50 rental
$225 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sexy in swirls! Go for a bold look in this illusion sheath by ERIN Erin Fetherston for the party. Statement accessories like Dannijo's Ajak Earrings and Halston Heritage's Bronze Snake Clutch are all you need to make a grand entrance.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and nude ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Sheer mesh paneling detail. Pencil skirt. Exposed zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

183 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 157
Large 19
Photos 104
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Stylist Review!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is beyond chic, yet still super comfy and easy to wear! I loved the color-blocking and the mesh detail at the shoulders. The stretchy ponte material is so comfortable and flattering. It's fitted all throughout but not too tight at all. This is the perfect day-to-night dress, and I will definitely be renting it soon!
Chrystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 23, 2013

Absolutely stunning.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit like a glove. I thought the four was going to be too tight, but it relaxes the longer you wear it. The size six was to loose up top. This dress accentuates all the right spots.
Ashlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

Stylist Review

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a very easy fit, and very comfortable. I would highly recommend it, as it did not wrinkle the whole night I wore it. The swirl detail compliments your curves in just the right places!
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

I absolutely LOVED this dress. Perfect for my event...A MUST RENT DRESS!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is super comfortable, although, don't be fooled by the mesh on the neckline. You must look closely but its there and adds the finishing touch to this amazing dress. The length was just right for my black tie event, I was worried it would be too short but I couldn't have been more happier. When I tried on the 8 it fit snug on my bum, but my spanx slimmed everything. The 10 was a great fit also, except the top was a little loose on the sides (which the 8 fit great on top). I will definitely be renting more dresses in the future. Love the service and everything that Rent the Runway had to offer. Satisfied!!
D.M.
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Loved this dress! Comfortable, sexy, and simple.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Did I say comfortable? The dress was perfect for a summer/spring evening wedding. I ordered the 2 and 4 in case the dress ran big, but I wore the 4 (which is my normal size). The 2 fit, but felt a little too snug. The hem fell right at the top of my knee (despite how it looks on the model). The dress was what I would call conservative sexy -- it was simple and covered everything, but I felt oh so sexy in it. It hugs your curves but is very forgiving at the same time. I still have a little baby weight to lose in my midection, and the area where the nude and black fabric met in the front masked it perfectly! No spanx for me! The top is sheer but I decided to just swap out the detatchable straps in my bra for clear ones for more security. In person you couldn't tell, but in some of my pictures you can see a slight glare from the straps. Oh well. I got lots of compliments...even from the bride herself! I highly recommend!
Stelee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

Chic

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this for an afternoon wedding in April. I am typically a 10 or 12, albeit a fit 12, in dresses depending on how the dress is shaped. While both dresses fit better in different places, I am smaller up top compared to my hips, I went with the 12. I wore a pair of light compression spanx to smooth things out under the dress, but not enough that it would have changed the size I chose to wear. I wore a shrug over the dress, to hide my arms. The dress was extremely comfortable and the fabric was so soft. I loved the exposed back zipper and mesh upper details. I would love to own this dress, and I'll search for a good deal to find it. There was a sort of smell the dresses had, but letting them hang in a breezy room eliminated that. Please excuse my messy room in the photo, will try to get a picture from the wedding
Kersten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Work event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit was a little snug without much stretch, but overall, a good dress for a work event. Wore it with a blazer and black pumps to professionalize it up a bit.
Kate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Sleek and sexy -- got a lot of compliments and really liked wearing this.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm on the shorter side so it was longer on me than in the pic, but still really liked it!
Janie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

Awesome and Comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress and it was very flattering for a curvy figure like mine.
Missy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

First Rental, did not disappoint!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore for a holiday party and felt super comfortable and received lots of compliments, would rent it again!
claire
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2014

I really loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was surprised how sheer the top section was, but really liked it. Definitely need a strapless bra. The fit is snug and flattering.
Olga
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 18, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect. I a 5'7". Waist 28" bust 37", and hips 38". Size 6 was perfect.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
May 21, 2014

The curve-hugging material and fit made it a comfortable dress, but the sheer neckline was unruly.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
As much as I wanted to love this dress, it ended up that I only sort of liked it. It fit perfectly on top and to the hips, but was a bit restricting to sit and walk in. The material was very comfortable; peach-nude and black with a sheer/mesh neckline. The neckline (where two different materials meet) does have an odd ripple effect (it doesn't sit smooth and straight). I wore a strapless bra and SPANX to make sure that I didn't have straps showing through the sheer material or visible underwear and bra lines. Overall, comfortable but with a few caveats.
Marina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
May 26, 2014

Very flattering fit

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the size 2 but could have worn the 0 as well because this dress is stretchy so it will fit great and is not too risky to rent like some of the other more structured dresses. Highly recommend it. You do need to wear seamless underwear and a strapless bra.
Tehila
Age: 33
May 27, 2014

Easy to get and return

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is really pretty on! It was a little loose but I feel like the 2 would have been too tight. I loved it and got a ton of compliments!!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

great customer service

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a wedding in sizes 2 and 4. The 4 was big on me and the 2 fit but just didn't look good on my body. i have a short torso and the dress looked unflattering with my midsection. I would recommend for those with a more classic hour glass figure or a longer torso. Shape-wear is definitely a must. The dress was beautiful in person though and makes your bum look great.
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Wore dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner. Got tons of compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wear a size 4-6. 6 was definitely to large.Size 4 was perfect
Amanda
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 17, 2014

I received tons of complements on how cute the dress was.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress. The material was really comfortable. The lighter color is more on the beige side than I thought it would be.
nancy9
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

So hot!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this for a date with my new beau. It hugged all of my curves and I felt pretty sexy in this dress. It fit perfectly.
JD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

A sexy dress for a summer night out to celebrate my 30th with my best friends in my former city.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Sexy dress that was very flattering in the right places and not too over the top. High quality dress too.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Great go-to cocktail dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a work cocktail party in NYC. I flew in just for the night and had ordered the dress super last minute, so RTR had the dress delivered to my hotel room. It was a little annoying because I kept having to call the front desk and stay on top of them (seems they don't get deliveries often even though it's a fancy place??) - but I finally got it just in time for me to slip it on and head out to the party. Dress fits beautifully. I wore the larger size because it was more comfortable, but the smaller size would've been fine as well. Very flattering, hugs in all of the right places. In all of my rush, I didn't get a photo of the dress - but it worked out perfectly. Also, it was great to be able to return the dress in the mail from my house since I didn't have time to stop at a mailbox on my way to the airport the following morning.
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Jul 25, 2014

Lovely dress, but it's not Black and White!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Lovely dress. Fits nicely and it's well made, with cute details (like the see-through fabric and the chunky silver zipper on the back). I was expecting a black and off white dress though, instead it's black and beige (almost skin color). I am not a big fan of the color combination—as I think BW would have been more elegant. Oh, the dress came with a bad of Neutrogena samples, which was a nice unexpected touch :) There is very little difference between size 6 and size 8—I can wear them both as a matter fact.
Marcie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

RTR never disappoints !

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size , but it tended to ride up and the material was a bit cheap, however it fit great
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 1, 2014

It was figure flattering with the swerve of the dress. I'd recommend for those who are hourglass.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I thought it ran a little small, so I went up a size. The waist was a little big on me in the 8, but the hips were tight in a 6. I thought it looked great when you could see the whole dress. However, when you took pictures from the waist up, I thought it looked like I had a casual tank top on.
Briana
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 1, 2014

.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Excellent dress. Form fitting but not too tight - still wore spanx to help hide flaws. Perfect length for my 5'11" frame. Wish the neckline had been slightly more shear.
Shannon
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

Cute, but didn't wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was really cute and comfortable and was true to size, I just didn't wear because it wasn't quite flashy enough for a bachelorette party.
Renata
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

Great Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my husband's after tax party. It fit well without being too tight like most midi dresses. I didnt have an issue with it being see through either.
labellefleurnyc
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Sep 16, 2014

Cute, comfortable bodycon dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size. I had no issues fitting into the size 8; it zipped up very easily. The dress was form fitting and has no lining, so spanx were necessary to smooth out undesirable body bulges. A strapless bra is recommended as the top part of the dress is see through, but you can probably get away with wearing a black racer-back bra. Other than the lack of lining, I have no complaints on the dress.
Mia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

This was a great, sophisticated option for my friend's wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very comfortable and very flattering.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Modern minimizer

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit really well and hugged my curves but accentuated my hips better than I expected. Chose this for a Derby party but wore it for Sunday brunch instead.
srb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Only OK

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress itself seemed well made, it just wasn't for me. The pinky-beige colour made me look washed out and sallow. I recommend spanx.
HH314
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Flattering and comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress definitely runs large--order down at least one size. However, when in the right size, the dress is very complimentary.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Did not wear this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely loved this dress. It was a back-up sent to me as my original size in another dress was not wearable due to a previous renter. This dress was so comfy and very flattering for all body types. Just wound up not wearing it as it wasn't as fancy as I wanted for the party I was going to. Overall would rent for a different occasion.
Manu
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 11, 2014

Comfortable to wear all night

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The contrast black and white was very slimming.
chicajam
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 26, 2014

Amazing fit- hugged in all the right places.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am currently wearing a size 10 (still have baby weight), but this dress totally complimentary me in all the right places.
Jasmine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

NIce, Sleek and held everything in

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. Perfect fit, perfect length.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Just didn't work for me

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I so wanted this dress to work. I look horrible in creams/tans, so I was hoping the black would offset that, but it did not work with my skin tone (fair skin, pink tones). Also, you can see every little back fat/panty line/bra strap due to the thinness of the material and the color of the stripe. If the tan part was lined it would be so much better. I did like the metal zipper up the back and the overall look of the dress; it just did not work for me.
Nicky
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Received a lot of compliments! Amazing for during the transition into the Fall (back in Sept)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It looks great in person. I just feel like my chest was too big for this type of dress.
katharine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Lovely dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this as a back up, to see if I'd like it, and it's a great dress that I'd definitely rent for another event down the road. I got a 10 and 12, as some designer dresses seem to run small - this is true to size and the 10 fit perfectly. It's a more understated dress, a little more on the conservative side, but would be perfect for any number of parties or weddings. It fit's beautifully, was flattering and forgiving, and very comfortable.
RTR Customer
Feb 25, 2015

I got plenty of compliments on this dress... Fit was great!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Plenty of compliments, felt like the belle of the ball!! Wore this to my uncle's 60th bday celebration. It was a very formal affair. The fit was very true to size for me. I'm normally a 6 and a 6 worked perfectly. I stand only at 5'1 and the length was perfect also. RTR delivery was speedy, very easy to return, dress came in perfect condition! The fit on me was amazing!! I really can't say anything was wrong with this dress for me!! Will definitely use them again!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×