ERIN erin fetherston

Riding the Wave Sheath

$30 – $50 rental ?
$225 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sexy in swirls! Go for a bold look in this illusion sheath by ERIN Erin Fetherston for the party. Statement accessories like Dannijo's Ajak Earrings and Halston Heritage's Bronze Snake Clutch are all you need to make a grand entrance.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and nude ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Sheer mesh paneling detail. Pencil skirt. Exposed zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

185 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 157
Large 20
Photos 108
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

It was comfortable and yet I got tons of compliments! Great combo

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was awesome! Great, easy fit. It is a little body-con so be aware of that. It was comfortable and I was able to dance the whole night at the wedding without worrying about anything! It was a little stretchy, not the mesh part though, and that made it really forgiving and comfortable. The pattern was flattering too. Everyone was complimenting me, so that felt good! I wore it with a strapless bra (you have to because the top black panel is mesh) and spanks, which I'd recommend because of the stretchy material of the dress. I think it would've showed VPL with anything else. It was covered enough to wear to church with a wrap and yet was fun and sexy enough for the reception, without being over-the-top sexy. It was just enough! I loved wearing it!
Cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm not very good at taking selfies but I had to get a pic of this dress! I loved it! It's super comfortable. I ordered a 4 and a 2 and I didn't even bother trying on the 2. I'm 5'6'', 126lbs. HIghly recommend!
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

This dress just classed up the moment and was a great dinner to dancing dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The dress is very forgiving and really accentuates the best curves. I wore it with Spanx to smooth out any bumps and it was fantastic!
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Apr 17, 2014

Hugs all the right places!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I can't say enough about this dress. The shape of the dress accentuates the natural curves of a woman.
Adriane
Age: 33
Apr 20, 2014

First time renting!.... Will be doing it again!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress!.... Perfect fit....
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Apr 26, 2014

Non stop compliments. This dress is fabulous.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits well and looks fabulous.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Nice dress for an awards reception

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit a little snug in the mid section but the size up was too loose and didn't fit in the arms hole area
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 4, 2014

I got a ton of compliments. I wore this dress to the Kentucky Oaks race. It was a huge hit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was really comfortable. It did ride up a bit when I was walking around but that wasn't a really big deal. I had to wear a nude strapless bra because the top is mesh. Overall, LOVED IT!
J.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 7, 2014

Gorgeous and comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress for a Broadway opening night and loved it! Super comfortable and very sleek without being overly sexy. I am larger on top and always run into the too much cleavage problem, so I loved the mesh top that looked sexy without being too revealing. I usually wear a 2 or a 4, but this dress had so much stretch that I was able to comfortably wear the 2. Did not need spanx as some other users mention. Although I did need to wear a strapless bra. The best part about this dress is the comfort.
Patricia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152 lbs
May 13, 2014

I loved it!!!! I even looked online for sites that sell the dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit like a glove and held me firm in the right places. I wore this dress to my best friend's wedding. The dress got the attention of most of the men. Some not warranted i e pic. He had his girlfriend take the photo. smh But I loved this dress so much I am looking to purchase it. It was a GREAT esteem booster!
PMinty44
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 19, 2014

Show off your curves!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress! The pink and black were a great color combination. The dress is made to show off your curves...I got compliments all night! My only critique of the dress is that I wished it were a teeny bit tighter...it fit well but I wanted it to be perfect. It run a tad bit large. Would have wanted to try the size 4 but it wasn't available. Still: great dress!
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 20, 2014

My friends kept telling me I should just buy it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's definitely a form-fitting dress, I went with the 4 just to feel more comfortable. Overall, it was a hit - everyone loved it and I was super comfortable!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Cute dress and GREAT for curves!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved this wave dress from Erin Fetherston. The color blocking makes curvy girls look better and makes less curvy girls more shapely (Being naturally curvy I'm a little biased towards enhancing my own shape). The picture doesn't show the dress as well as I would have liked straight on from the front, but the pattern is very pleasing to the eye. The top is a little sheer with the mesh (I didn't realize it until after I got it in), but it is not so sheer that you look tacky if you wear a bra with straps, which I did. Enjoy it y'all! I sure did!
Ali
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 3, 2014

Loved this dress and was the perfect style for an outdoor wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the fit and I agree with the other reviewers that you need a strapless bra and boyshorts/sheer underwear for the dress. Given the retail price I thought the quality would have been better, so I am definitely glad I rented :)
Bianca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

The comfort of the dress. Wasn't scared to dance in it

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove. Material isn't restricting so perfect if you're going to be moving around. I did expect the quality would've been a little better considering the original price, but all in all very happy :) I got many compliments and the design complimented my stomach
Kristin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 4, 2014

I was looking for something that would be bump friendly but still sexy

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fab. The material is really comfortable and movable. I was close to 7 months pregnant at my cousins wedding and I felt FABULOUS. The con would be it was still a little big on top as I'm usually an 8, but it was still great. I was able to move and dance all night!
Kara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Loved the fit and very comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for my friend's wedding and it was perfect! Very comfortable and had great stretch to it. If you are looking for a flattering, curve hugging dress then definitely rent this one! My friend is also wearing a RTW dress which was fabulous (and also one of my favorites!). It is the ML Monique Lhuillier dress called Never Let You Go sheath. We both love RTW and will definitely be renting from here for all our events!
Jess
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

I wanted to look classy and still sexy at the same time. Mission Complete!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress was great. The sheer top made it looks sexy while still being class at the same time. The color blocking is very slimming. It's tight but not TOO tight. I could fit into the 6 but decided to wear the 8 because I was going to be eating a lot that day. It was a great dress, I will wear it again.
Olivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 21, 2014

2 Michelin star restaurant in a 5 star dress.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress made me feel totally comfortable in such a beautiful restaurant. The fit is true to size and the fabric had a "hold you in" spanx-like quality. I felt like Gloria on Modern Family with all the curves it accentuated. Tip: plan your undergarment carefully! It will show everything.
julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

seriously awesome

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
i loved this dress and received a million compliments in it! it accentuates all the right places - like will make you look like you have a banging body - i had a stranger come up and tell me i was perfect (which is farrrrr from the truth - it was all the dress)! would highly recommend.
Cece
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Aug 11, 2014

Tons of compliments!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I truly loved the entire experience. I got a ton if compliments, and one astonished boyfriend. The dress was in mint condition--you would never know it was a rental! I felt so classy and comfortable in it. I can't wait for my next RTR dress. The only problem I had was that I am not very 'busty', so I had trouble filling the top part out. Not the dress's fault! #goRTRorgohome #RTRistheway
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

Perfect fit! This dress was made out of material that worked well with dancing all night long!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The hourglass design perfectly contoured to my body and slimmed me down. I'm usually between a 4 and a 6, so I ordered both. The 6 fit but you could tell the pattern wasn't hitting where it was supposed to on my body. The 4 fit like a glove and looked great but I was a little concerned at first that it would be restricting. Not so! Super comfortable and I ended up not even wearing my spanx with it!! Obsessed with this dress.
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Let there be curves!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I don't have that pretty hourglass figure, but this dress totally made me feel curvy!! A little fitted, but the black part kind of hides your tummy!! I loved this dress!
Nadja
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

Didn't choose to wear this piece but it was beautiful.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Hits the curves and hides imperfections easily.
Laura
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

Had fun with my husband picking out a dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! Right mix of classy and sexy! ;-) It fit great and was very comfortable.
Renee
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

First #RTR experience....fantastic! Everything I hoped it would be!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit very well, nice and snug but not too tight. (size 4, didn't even try on the 2) Of course the zipper down my back didn't lay perfectly flat against my body but that's to be expected, and it was definitely better than any non-designer dress with a zipper I have worn. Overall, fantastic!
Gina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Favorite dress I have ever worn!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As great as this dress looks in photos, it looks even better in person. The fit is very true to size. I ordered the size 2 and would have chosen the size 0 for my backup dress but it was unavailable. Good news is that the size 2 was perfect - fitted but not too tight. I received so many compliments and felt very comfortable the entire night in this dress. I was very sad to return it and even considered just paying the retail for it so I could keep it.
Merideth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 11, 2014

Dress makes you feel so slim and sexy but comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfect for any cocktail event. Not only did the dress fit like a glove, but it was so soft and stretchy too. Will rent again!
Amanda
Age: 26
Oct 19, 2014

Best dress ever!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding (it was actually a replacement for a different dress) and I couldn't be happier. I loved being able to wear a regular bra with the dress and I received so many compliments when wearing it. I will absolutely rent this again! I wish I could keep it in my closet.
kika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

This dress is simple but very elegant. It caught everyone's eye. Received many compliments.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit like a glove. Very comfortable. It didn't ride up or snug anywhere. Totally recommend to a modest event or a nice dinner. Nothing lavishly about this dress but very elegant and chic.
Debra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

The dress was gorgeous, that was perfect, in the comfort was not to be believed.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my 40th high school reunion, and was complimented on it all night. One of the best compliments I had received was: "you never look like that in high school". I guess when you dress from rent the runway, you get better with age Lololol!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Nov 19, 2014

Classic Look

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding, and it was extremely comfortable. I felt great in this dress and was able to move around easily. Seamless underwear is a must though. Great dress overall!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

First RTR rental: So easy and loved the dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super comfortable and perfect for the family wedding I attended. I wore a nubra and seamless underwear, both of which I recommended for this dress. I got compliments all night long- will definitely use RTR again!
Casi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

Perfect fit and comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was actually a backup, backup, backup, backup, dress for me for a late summer wedding. I had rented 2 other dresses (in 2 sizes of each), and all of them weren't able to be shipped to me due to damage from the previous renter. This one wasn't even on my radar but the stylist picked it out and it fit like a glove! Nothing I can say bad about this dress at all.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 9, 2014

Sophisticated + unique LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size. The design is slimming and complimentary. I wore this dress to a fall semi-outdoor wedding. It was the perfect amount of class and sass.
Ginger
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

It was such an elegant and unique dress but still classy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was very form fitting and sexy but the length made it conservative enough for a nice wedding!
Ames
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Classy & sexy at the same time!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love this dress! I wore it to my friend's bridal shower and it was comfortable, flattering, & classy. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Sheila
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

I had concerns about the dress to begin with but had no issues whatsoever!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 0 and 2 and didn't even have to try on the 2. The 0 fit so comfortably and was a stretchy material to make the dress work all night long. It was very flattering, I loved it!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

Beautiful dress worn to a fundraiser! Comfy and true to size.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
This dress was very comfortable and fit well, except for the length. It was a little longer than I expected. Also, the peach color is a little more muted than it shows online. I wore a bodysuit underneath and though you could see the straps through the sheer material at the top, it actually looked like part of the dress and I didn't have to wear a strapless. You could probably get away without wearing a bra at all as the top fits pretty snugly. This dress hugs all of your curves.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 20, 2015

Pretty dress. Form fitting and figure flattering but long enough so it felt conservative.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am an athlete and have a very straight shape with wide shoulders and large thighs so finding a dress that flatters is tough. This dress gave me the illusion of a shape I don't normally see. I normally wear a 12 but the 10 fit quite comfortably. The material has a lot of stretch so order down, for sure. The color contrast from the waist to the bust is a very light beige-pink. Due to the mesh on top, I wore a strapless bra. The material is fairly thick but comfortable. I paired the dress with simple nude pumps and a pretty scarf for outside. I also rented the bangles and gold hoops for RTR. Loved the earrings didn't care for the bangles, felt like plastic.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×