ERIN erin fetherston

Blue Sea Mist Dress

$40 rental
$245 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ocean-inspired in this ombre flutter dress by ERIN Erin Fetherston.

Also available in orange.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable fit throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted – fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable fit throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted – fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue ombre silk chiffon (100% silk). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Gathered waist with detachable belt. Back keyhole with button closure. No zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

186 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 130
Large 28
Photos 91
Bianca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

I wore this dress for a wedding and lots of people were saying how much they loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I tried on the 2 first and it fit so well, I didn't bother to try on the 4! It's a super comfortable dress and it flows very nicely. Great for dancing! The color is also really nice and it's quite flattering! It is a little bit sheer, though, at the top. Still, I wish I could buy it. It's that good!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 8, 2014

First rental success!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit as expected. The color was great and it was perfect for an outdoor wedding in a rural area. Easy to dance/move around and overall a low maintenance yet beautiful dress. This was my first rental and I was impressed with how seamlessly everything went.
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

I wrote this dress for my graduation. It was ~90 degrees outside and it worked well under the robes!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The 2 (that had been the recommended size for me) was tight around my armpits and around my chest so I wore the size 4. It fit great and I got a lot of compliments on the dress. I liked that I was able to dress it up or down, mainly depending on the weather. It was wrinkled when it came out of the box but I hung it in my bathroom for 2 days and the wrinkles came right out.
Nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
May 30, 2014

Perfect dress for an outdoor Texas wedding that was on the casual side.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit very well and the cut was flattering. The color was really beautiful although not the best for my skin tone (my fault, not the dresses!) I was allowed to enjoy the heavy delicious food at the wedding without feeling constricted. I received a lot of compliments!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
May 24, 2014

Easy and pretty

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a bridal shower, and it was perfect for a Sunday afternoon event. I'm a bridesmaid and the dress was flowy enough that I could sit on the ground with the flower girls to help with present-opening while still being a lady. Both the 0 and the 2 fit me almost identically, but I found the 2 to be a little more comfortable in the elastic at the waist.
Tracy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
May 24, 2014

The RTR site was easy to use and customer service was exceptional !

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
When the dresses arrived I noticed it didn't come with the tied belt that is shown in the pic . I called the customer service number and they overnighted me the belts which made a huge difference ! I even received an email reassuring me when they arrived to my house ! The dress is light and love the flare to it ! I wish it had a zipper on the side because it was a little difficult to get on over the head, but it worked ! I received a lot of compliments and I would definitely order from RTR again !
Krystin
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
May 20, 2014

I wore the dress for a cocktail party on a weekend cruise for my company

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very floaty material is super comfortable, I did have to kind of roll the slip into the elastic because it was longer than the overlay but it stayed in place once I tied the belt over it. It was a bit tight in the chest (definitely size up for bustier girls) but it wasn't uncomfortable. Got sooo many compliments on it :) Definitely a great experience as a first time renter, definitely keeping RTR in mind for future events and have sent pretty much half of my coworkers the link to the website!
Krista
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 19, 2014

Bump friendly but not breeze friendly :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm 9 months pregnant, 5'2" and was a pre-preggo size 8, I ordered the 8 and a size 10 and both fit fine but I wore the 10 because it was a bit longer. The elasticized waist is supposed to hit at your actual waistline but, I hiked it up to be more empire waisted and tied it with the provided sash. I don't think this dress would be very bump friendly for taller girls since it hit about 2 inches above my knee and I'm short. This coupled with the wind and lightweight material made me have a few Marilyn Monroe moments outside, so make sure you wear shorts/spanx underneath! I'm a 34B and the top was a bit baggy. Overall, great 1st RTR experience!
Courtney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 16, 2014

Perfect dress for a friend's Rehearsal Dinner.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is beautiful! The ombre coloring was even prettier in person. I was nervous the 6 wouldn't fit since this was my second option dress rental and I wasn't getting a back-up size, but it fit perfectly! I loved everything about this dress, wish I owned it.
Madison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
May 8, 2014

Great flowy, stretchy spring dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really like this dress! I got it as a backup but might rent it again. The waistband is stretchy which I like and the dress is so comfortable. The belt highlights the waist. Definitely enough room in bust which I have a problem with sometimes. Only thing I don't like so much is how the top is supposed to drape because I'm worried it makes me look bigger.
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

This dress photographs beautifully!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit true to size and was very comfortable and conservative. It was fun to dance in, as it has room to twirl in! I looked at previous women's photos and wore the sash backwards as well. You will get plenty of compliments!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

Fun, Flirty Number!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an outdoor fundraiser event and felt confident in this choice. I like the blue ombré and it can easily be paired with a chunky necklace. It was windy the day I wore it, so I occasionally had to hold the bottom down to prevent any peekaboo into private areas.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Cute and comfortable

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I picked this dress for our engagement party. It was perfect for a casual party where I wanted to look nice; not super dressy but very pretty. The blue ombre is lovely, and the material is very comfortable. The dress was a little thinner than I had imagined, so--if I had planned properly--I would have worn a camisole or a light tank underneath the dress since the outline of my bra showed a bit. Definitely cute though!
Shelby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Oct 16, 2013

Loved it so much I wore it two days in a row!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! The fit in the bust was a little bit tight which is the only reason I had to wear the 8 instead of the 6. I was worried there would be too much white that I would offend the bride, but the white is very minimal on the dress. My best advice? Get nude undergarments as the dress is somewhat see through. I will rent this dress again.
whitney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 13, 2013

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a casual wedding and it was perfect, very comfortable and fit was nice too. I got compliments all night long! The dress does run pretty big though I'm normally a 2 or even 4 and I wore the 0. Also I'm 5'7 and the 0 was right above the knee so may be too long for someone a little shorter.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 13, 2013

Gorgeous fabric, super comfy, flattering with a WOW factor!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a work-sponsored evening beach party. I was looking for something be achy yet sophisticated and this was exactly the right pick. It flowed beautifully and looked super cute with nude flats.
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Oct 7, 2013

comfortable and beautiful color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my "little" brother's graduation. I loved this dress, it was really comfortable and the subtle ombre blue was beautiful. I personally sized up because the top is high cut and that way it was less restrictive on the bust area. Also, I'm tall and I liked the bigger size for the length as well.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

great graduation dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for the event. It did wrinkle really easily as you can see in the photos but over all I really liked it!
Elaine
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

Perfect, beautiful dress for a humid wedding. BBQ eating totally possible and comfortable.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm an eater so it was critical that I have a dress that made me feel pretty but also allowed me to eat a lot of BBQ at a Texas wedding. This dress fit every requirement. Size 10 looked good on me and if I really wanted to binge that would have been the dress to go. But the 8 was perfect. Belt is critical or else you don't look very polished. Got a lot of compliments with this dress. Perfect in humid weather.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 29, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful, light, and flirty. The length was great on me, and I felt that this dress was perfect for an outdoor wedding.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Sep 25, 2013

Danced the night away!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was really nice. A little large but it still worked! It was fantastic for a fall outside wedding. I got a bunch of compliments about how classy I looked! So happy with my RTR!
Megan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 149 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am three months pregnant and needed a dress that would fit my little bump, ever growing larger chest, and still look fashionable. This was the perfect dress. It was very flattering and I received a ton of compliments. Make sure you wear a good bra as you can definitely look frumpy if you don’t. Overall it was very comfortable and flirty.
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

Such a fun dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I adore this dress. It was really fun to wear. I usually wear a size 4 and was surprised that it was a bit big on me, so I ended up wearing the 2. I'm short (5 foot) and it was a little long on me so wearing the smaller size helped with that too. I rented the Kendra Scott necklace that was recommended with it and I'm so happy that I did because the dress seemed naked without it.
Kirsten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Sep 12, 2013

LOVED it!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This came as part of my Rent the Runway At Home Trial and I loved it. It was super comfortable and cute. It would be great with wedges or flats for a day time event or dress it up with heels and jewelry for evening.
Lisa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

I wore this for a late summer wedding and it was perfect. The ombre really helped me stand out!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered 2 sizes, a 10 and 8, where I usually wear a 10. However ordering the backup was a really god decision- the 10 was too big! This may have been my error- I haven't purchased a dress in a while, and the fit on this is really quite loose. It was very loose/big on top, but I'm pretty small in that area. The 8 looked great however, and it was so comfortable. I wore spanks as well, and the fabric didn't catch or ride up at all. It was easy to iron and steam, and traveled well. I paired it with a large statement necklace (white) and grey heels, and it was perfect. I definitely recommend this dress!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 26, 2013

Photographs stunningly!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a semi-formal dinner-dance I attended. It may run a little large--but I still had to wear my normal size to allow for my large bust--otherwise a 4 would have been fine. The dress photographs stunningly and was the perfect cut and length. I absolutely loved this dress!
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jul 22, 2013

light and swingy this dress was perfect for a balmy july wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
let's talk about fit...i'm 5'11" and pretty slender, flat chested and straight hipped. this dress was very huggy on my boobs so i'm not sure how it would fit a larger bust but in that instance I'd recomment sizing up. the color is fabulous! i usually stick to a darker palette (navy, black, navy, black) but this wedding called for something a little more summery and bright. the ombre adds a lot of oomph to an otherwise simple style, it was very fun to dance in all night. i really had a lot of fun wearing this dress, the length was perfect and i'd highly recommend it for any summer or springtime event.
Pam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Jul 21, 2013

Beautiful back-up for my back-up dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Originally I did not order this Erin Fetherston dress, but the Tibi dress I ordered (as a back-up) for a weekend event didn't get back to RTR on time, so stylist Talia emailed me to ask what I would like for another back-up dress. I am glad I went with this beautiful blue dress! It was light and flowing and easy to pop off and on with just a button closure on a keyhole opening in the back. The elasticized waist was comfy and would be very forgiving for days when you might feel a little "fluffier" than normal. It was a nice modest length on me, particularly since I decided to wear it to church. There is a white underskirt under the sheer layer, but I did put on a nude slip because I was going to church and didn't know how it would look in the bright sunlight. I highly recommend this dress, and I will rent it again as a FIRST choice for a future event!
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 10, 2013

Loved the ombre!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wear a size 6 normally and had to wear the size 4. The size 6 came with a missing button, a little bummed but thankfully the 4 fit just fine. I reached out to customer service and they promptly responded to my request of the missing button. Dress is light and comfortable to wear at an outdoor wedding but also easily wrinkles.
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 8, 2013

Beautiful color, comfortable fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
First RTR experience and it was great! They even sent a cute pair or shades with the dresses. Pros: Light fabric was nice for hot weather, comfortable fit, beautiful fabric Cons: wrinkles very easily, a little see thru so i recommend nude under garments, and definitely wear a racer back bra style. Also, the top was a little restrictive, so if you have a larger chest, get your second one a size up, just in case.
Alyssa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 2, 2013

A perfect birthday of wine tasting!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Went wine tasting for my 21st birthday in Napa, during a heat wave. 100 degree weather, clear skies, hot sun... This dress was perfect! Nice and cool, very pretty, and the perfect mix between casual and classy. The material was lovely and cool and flowy, however it wrinkles very easily... especially when you're sitting on it hot and maybe just a tiny bit sweaty. By dinner the back was incredibly wrinkled. If you need to sit, try and subtly pull the blue part out from under your bum and sit on the white slip. Regardless, I am SO HAPPY I had this dress. I met a lot of people and I'm sure it helped make some good impressions. ;) Thanks RTR!
Parker
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 14, 2013

Conservative And Yet Very Chic

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress my my end of the year thespian awards ceremony. As someone who was presenting awards I was required to dress professionally but I wanted to stick out at the same time. This dress is nothing less than a show stopper, I received compliments all night! The fabric falls gracefully to show off natural curves. I would not suggest this dress for shorter girls if they are looking for something above the knee. But overall a fantastic dress!
Tracy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

I got so many compliments from everyone!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size is definitely true to size and so comfortable. I loved the fit and the colors!
Danielle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 6, 2013

Fit perfectly!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner. Extremely tasteful, flattering, and I loved the color! I received so many compliments!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 4, 2013

I decided to rent this last minute. I placed my order on Thurs and it was at my house by Friday.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very flattering. Its also a good length. The dress fit fine around the waist but was a bit large on the top. It was nice for an outdoor summer wedding in 90 degree heat since it was loose.
Larissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
May 12, 2013

I felt like I was about to have Breakfast at Tiffany's...

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Girlish, flirty, feminine. The ombre blue is so stunning at first glance. Work a try for any daytime affair. I wore to work and got rave reviews as well as to church for my daughter's communion mass. I really felt beautiful in this dress and like a one-of-a-kind.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 30, 2013

Beautiful, flowy dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for our engagement shoot. I wanted something pretty and flowy and fun but not super fancy. Great color and it fit true to size.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 19, 2013

Stood out in a room full of black!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a law school "business" banquet and it was the perfect look to stand out from the suits and plain black dresses. It fit perfectly, it was light and I was comfortable all night.
Stacie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

The dress was both figure flattering, and comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Although the dress was a little longer than I expected, it was a fun dress to dance around in all night. I received many compliments!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

Great color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress didn't fit exactly as it looked on the model, but was still very pretty (not to mention comfortable). It's much more a sleeveless stye than fitted around the neck and sits just above the knee on someone who isn't 6ft tall. It's airy and flows nicely - easy to dance in - but Marilyn Monroe style if you are outside on a windy day. Be sure to wear nude undergarments or have a slip handy. It's a bit sheer.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×