Barrier Reef Gown

$70 to buy
$395 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look gorg-o-drama in teal! This beaded figure flattering ERIN Erin Fetherston gown is one head turning style.

Also available in coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal chiffon (100% polyester). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline with boned bodice. Full skirt. Removable elastic jeweled belt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. Imported.

Share
133 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(112)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 7, 2014
Loved this dress.
This dress was very pretty. I rented the 6R as there wasn't a long available. It fit fine with flats, but I would have preferred to wear heels. The dress received lots of complements.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 24, 2014
Awesome dress for my senior prom!!
I love this dress! I rented it last minute for prom and I was originally worried that it wouldn't be formal or dressy enough for a prom but it was perfect, especially with the beautiful belt that it came with and the necklace I rented (Slate & Willow Accessories Dripping Arbor Necklace). The color was great and I loved the flowy-ness of it!! I definitely recommend it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 27, 2014
An Unforgettable Night
This dress was AMAZING!! I wore it to my senior prom and it was complimented by everyone there. It was super comfortable and flowy. I added my own belt only because I wanted to accent with silver more so than the black. However the one they provide is beautiful. The chest was just right and did not slip down the whole night like I was expecting it to. I ordered a 2L because the regular was already taken. The regular would have been better because this dress is extremely long. I wore 2 inch heels and the dress still dragged the floor. Other than holding the bottom up while dancing, it was great. I would definitely recommend this dress. Beautiful and light! Loved it!! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 28, 2014
Great color, but very long!
I loved this dress. The color was great and it stayed where it should all evening at our masked ball! My only complaint is that it is VERY long. I am 5'7" and I wore 3-4" heels and it still dragged a little. Another thing to mention is that there is a lot of fabric so it's quite heavy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 29, 2014
Formal wedding must have!
I rented this for a formal wedding. I read the reviews and took note of the length, but I rented a regular, am 5'5" and wore 2.5 inch shoes and it still drug on the ground. I had to hold it up even to walk. That said, the dress itself fit like a charm! And it definitely holds itself up! I didn't need to pull it up at all.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 1, 2014
Wore the dress, but honestly too long
Of the three different long dress styles I received prior to my vacation, this was the dress I ended up wearing. As a 5'2" female, all of the dresses from this site in regular sizes that I have tried thus far have been too long, but this one was at least doable, due to the simplicity of the skirt. I wore 5 1/4 inch heels with this dress, and the dress was still a good 2 inches too long. I decided to stick with this dress and bring it on vacation regardless of this because I did otherwise like the dress on me, and I knew I would just be wearing it to dinner on one of the formal nights. To note: If I was renting this dress for a wedding or dance the dress would not have worked, because I did have to hold it up as I walked around the cruise ship. If you are a short female like myself, this dress is probably not going to be the correct dress for you. I would honestly rent a dress that comes in a petite size, or a knee length or shorter dress if petite dresses aren't available in your dress size (It seems petite is only available in some dresses, usually only up to a size 4). It is pretty hard to find dresses that fit properly when you are a shorter female, so I hope that this honest review helps.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
June 2, 2014
So many compliments on this! Comfortable to wear and fits just right!
A little right in the top, maybe a bigger size if you have bigger boobs but overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2014
This dress was very comfortable, flattering and easy to wear
I had to trouble keeping this dress up. It fit perfectly and was comfortable for a long evening.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
June 3, 2014
Classy, elegant and matched my necklace perfectly!
I tried to find a dress to match my necklace, and this was perfect! My biggest concern was the length, as I am 5'11", and I chose to wear my boots, which gave me an extra inch. It dragged about 1/2 inch so the length was perfect and it draped beautifully! I ordered both the 8L and 10L; the 8L I could just barely squeeze into, so I went with the 10L so I could feel comfortable (although I did have to wear the "straps" while dancing so the dress didn't fall down) i chose to not wear the belt so I could let my necklace be the focal point. The only con was the boning in the bust of the dress was bent out, so in the middle of the torso it tended to stick out a bit during pictures. Overall, I am very happy with the dress, and would most definitely rent again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2014
Great dress for a formal occasion!
This dress was perfect for the wedding black-tie optional wedding we attended. It fit perfectly and the length was just right with kitten heals. Unlike other reviewers, the belt did come with the dress and pulled the whole outfit together nicely. I typically need longer dresses, but after reading other reviews I went with the regular length which ended up being great, any longer and I would have been tripping on it. Overall, great dress and great experience with rent the runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
July 15, 2014
Wolf blitzer complimented me
Runs true to size, but the length is longer than expected. I'm 5'5 and even with some serious heels it was still long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 18, 2014
Classy!
This dress fit beautifully and had a flowy and classy feel. Hides any tummy imperfections and there is no need for spanx! I definitely recommend it for a formal occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
February 2, 2014
Obsessed with the belt
Great Dress Fit very well and runs true to size i wore around 3 inch heels and the dress was a bit long for it but nothing extreme just if short wear taller heels
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 29, 2014
Stuck out and definitely got tons of compliments
I ordered the 6r and 8r of another dress, which was ruined by the previous renter. I was disappointed, but once I received this new dress I was no longer upset. All of my friends agreed that they like this better than the one I previously ordered. They both fit but I went with the 8 for a bit more comfort. The dress is long, but it brushed the ground w heels which you can see in the photo. Color pops more in real life. Belt did come included.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 5, 2014
Got compliments the whole night!!! Fit my curves and the blue looked great with my skintone.
True to size, vibrant color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2014
Great Dress for a Formal Wedding
Fit like a glove on top, well structured so I didn't need to wear a bra. Great color, danced in it all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
August 26, 2014
I received so many compliments on this gown. Love it!
I'm 5'6 almost 5'7 - so I got the long and it was definitely too long, even with 4 inch heels.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 26, 2014
It was stunning and got tuns of complements!
It fit perfect for me but a little tight on my boobs so if you have a size D or bigger id go up a size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 16, 2014
I was proposed to in this gown!
Fit perfectly for my height and size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 3, 2014
Beautiful color! Love!
I loved the color on this dress and how beautifully it flowed. Unfortunately, the R length was not available and the L was far too long. If you have 5" heels to wear, it will be fine, but mine were only about 3.5" so I had to wear another option. The picture shown is without any shoes. The belt adds a nice touch and defines the waist nicely. Definitely recommend this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 21, 2014
Last minute change for military ball ended up being perfect!
Absolutely beautiful dress. My original choice was ruined by the last renter (#stressful) so I had to pick a new one! This dress arrived the morning of my event. I was originally anti wearing strapless but this fit so well I didn't have to pull it up ONCE. Flowed beautifully and kicked out perfectly when you walk. This is completely different than what I thought I'd wear to the military ball, but it ended up being awesome.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2014
Worn to a work Christmas party
I thought the dress was beautiful. I rented it for my holiday party for work. I rented the long because I knew I had huge shoes to go with it. I should have worn a bra to help out a little bit more but it definitely had enough coverage for the entire night. I didn't have to pull it up at all. Overall I thought it was a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2015
Comfortable dress
The top is a bit snug. I wear a 34B and had difficulty zipping it up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2014
Easy to wear.
Great dress. Easy to wear. Comfortable dancing the night away. The belt was just okay.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2015
October Wedding
Dress was awesome. The original description said to wear a strapless bra, but I didn't need one. The dress does have a small built in bra and stayed up perfectly had no problems with it falling down.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
November 3, 2015
This dress made me look flat chested which I am not
The length on this was perfect and the color was beautiful. I wasnt too happy with how it fit in the chest but over all it was a very nice dress and I had a wonderful renting experience and will certainly use RTR again in the future
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 12, 2014
Perfect for fit on chest!
The con was zipper did not work well.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
April 17, 2013
I felt like a princess wearing this dress. It is comfortable, light and just looks stunning
I ordered a 4L and 2L, because I wasn't sure about the width of my back, they sad that L would fit for people that are about 5'8'', but 4L was actually a little too long. So, unless your 6', better take R, or wear super high high heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2013
Great Color, Price, and Comfort!
I wore this dress for prom and loved it! It went great with silver jewlery and nude shoes (without the belt) and looked great even though it was a bit long (it still dragged in super tall heels). The color was a bit more teal than expected, but I liked it even more that way! I would definetly recommend this dress (in a shorter length than usual) to anybody who wants to be comfortable dancing but still look great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 29, 2013
Great idea, poor execution!
Dress was beautiful, and true to color! Unfortunately it was missing the clasp on the back, which made the zipper repeatedly unzip. The stylist offered to overnight me another dress, but couldn't guarantee delivery time. I had no choice but to wear the dress and hope a safety pin would do. I got through most of the evening, but in the last 30 min the safety pin broke, and I spent the rest of the evening fussing over the dress, annoying my friends to keep me in the dress. Thank GOD I brought a shawl! Also the dress was much longer then I anticipated. I am 5'4" and ordered a 12R. I couldn't hem with the tape because of the style, so I had to hold it to keep from tripping. I was happy with the look, and did receive a ton of compliments.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2013
Perfect for a spring wedding!
I had been eyeing this gown since it first came to RTR and my friend's wedding was the perfect place to wear it! The color is absolutely stunning and the fabric was soft and comfy. The belt that came with it matched the Adia Kibur necklace I rented perfectly! My only grip, however, was the length. I am about 5'5'' and unless you are wearing 5+ inch heels, you are going to be holding the dress up a lot. I was overly concerned about the dress being stepped on or damaged throughout the evening. My suggestion to RTR would be to hem a few dresses to compliment us shorter ladies. Other than that, I did not have to pull the top up at all which was GREAT and I had a fantastic evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 156lbs
May 19, 2013
Great color and fit. Tons of compliments!
First time using RTR and was a great experience! Will definitely use again! Dress arrived in great condition and fit well. Loved the color of the dress and it was a flattering fit. A little tight in the bust, but that's a typical problem for me. Got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 20, 2013
GREAT dress, perfect fit, felt glam!
I wore this dress to my sister's wedding as her Maid of Honor. LOVED the fit. I fluctuate between a 6 and 8 these days and got both to try. The 6 fit to perfection! It was a bit long so I added 3.5" heels for the perfect length. I felt secure in the bust area all night, no reason to tug up or worry about falling out. It fit the snuggest at my waist. It flowed beautifully and was easy to dance in. Although once the shoes came off I had to make sure I held it up so I wouldn't trip on it. Loved the dress. I wore it without the belt and it was even more beautiful. The color is a bit brighter, or jeweled, in tone compared to the model picture. Would definitely get this one again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 21, 2013
This dress was perfect! I didn't want to give it back!
The top was more fitted and rigid than the pictures let on but it was a good thing because the dress never slipped down. I'm only 5'4" so the dress was too long when I took off my high heels. Overall, the dress fit and looked better than I could've hoped.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
October 16, 2013
Prom
This dress is amazing! I got many compliments in this dress and felt fantastic wearing it. Runs a little long and I'm really tall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
December 3, 2013
feeling comfortable, classy and beautiful at my senior prom!
I loved this dress so much. The color is so complimentary and helped a beautiful dress with a simple silhouette stand out. It fit true to size (which was good because I was late to the game and could only order a 2 and hoped it fit) and I felt like it was a perfect way to end my high school experience. I love RTR and can't wait till the next time I rent from them!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
April 21, 2014
Beautiful but I missed the belt
The dress fit remarkably well and comfortably. The bodice has really great boning- I almost didn't need to wear a bra (30 F UK sizing)! The color isn't really captured in the photo, but it's gorgeous. I didn't receive the belt (unless I missed it somehow??) and I wish I had, but it looked great without it. It was long enough in the regular with medium heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
April 22, 2014
I had a blast wearing this dress for my sorority formal; I especially loved the belt!
The dress fit great, I went with the 2 because it was tighter in the bust and made me feel more comfortable. The length was great with the 4in heels I wore. This was a great rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 22, 2014
Wore it on the red carpet with my dad to the 2014 Emmy's. It was absolutely a stunning dress!
Fits really well, true to size. Nice, long length - I am 5'3" and wore it with 5" heels and it barely grazed the floor. Overall, VERY pleased with this dress and my first experience with Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
April 24, 2014
I rented this for a black tie wedding in NJ.
The bust of the dress fit perfectly and I loved the belt, but I'm only 5'3" and even with 4" heels this dress still dragged the floor a bit on me.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×