Barrier Reef Gown

$70 to buy
$395 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look gorg-o-drama in teal! This beaded figure flattering ERIN Erin Fetherston gown is one head turning style.

Also available in coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal chiffon (100% polyester). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline with boned bodice. Full skirt. Removable elastic jeweled belt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. Imported.

Share
133 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(112)
Small
(14)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
June 3, 2014
Classy, elegant and matched my necklace perfectly!
I tried to find a dress to match my necklace, and this was perfect! My biggest concern was the length, as I am 5'11", and I chose to wear my boots, which gave me an extra inch. It dragged about 1/2 inch so the length was perfect and it draped beautifully! I ordered both the 8L and 10L; the 8L I could just barely squeeze into, so I went with the 10L so I could feel comfortable (although I did have to wear the "straps" while dancing so the dress didn't fall down) i chose to not wear the belt so I could let my necklace be the focal point. The only con was the boning in the bust of the dress was bent out, so in the middle of the torso it tended to stick out a bit during pictures. Overall, I am very happy with the dress, and would most definitely rent again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
June 5, 2014
Lovely Dress
I didn't end up wearing this dress. But I would rent this again next time.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 12, 2014
Very pretty & comfortable. The color is much more vibrant in person.
Overall it was beautiful. Because I am not used to wearing formal wear, I originally ordered a 4 & 6 (sizes I would usually wear in dresses) but after doing some online research, asked RtR to switch out the 4 for the 8 (before it had shipped). This was the right decision as the 8 was perfect.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2014
Great dress for a formal occasion!
This dress was perfect for the wedding black-tie optional wedding we attended. It fit perfectly and the length was just right with kitten heals. Unlike other reviewers, the belt did come with the dress and pulled the whole outfit together nicely. I typically need longer dresses, but after reading other reviews I went with the regular length which ended up being great, any longer and I would have been tripping on it. Overall, great dress and great experience with rent the runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
July 15, 2014
Wolf blitzer complimented me
Runs true to size, but the length is longer than expected. I'm 5'5 and even with some serious heels it was still long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 18, 2014
Classy!
This dress fit beautifully and had a flowy and classy feel. Hides any tummy imperfections and there is no need for spanx! I definitely recommend it for a formal occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
February 2, 2014
Obsessed with the belt
Great Dress Fit very well and runs true to size i wore around 3 inch heels and the dress was a bit long for it but nothing extreme just if short wear taller heels
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 29, 2014
Stuck out and definitely got tons of compliments
I ordered the 6r and 8r of another dress, which was ruined by the previous renter. I was disappointed, but once I received this new dress I was no longer upset. All of my friends agreed that they like this better than the one I previously ordered. They both fit but I went with the 8 for a bit more comfort. The dress is long, but it brushed the ground w heels which you can see in the photo. Color pops more in real life. Belt did come included.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 5, 2014
Got compliments the whole night!!! Fit my curves and the blue looked great with my skintone.
True to size, vibrant color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 7, 2014
Just didn't fit right
Unfortunately this was just way too tight up top and too long for any normal sized human. I got the 8R and the 6R originally and I typically wear a 6 in a dress or an 8 if it is very fitted up top and I couldn't get either zipped. I called RTR and they sent me a 10L which was WAYYYY too big and there was no way I could find shoes tall enough to wear it anyway. Unfortunately this didn't work for my wedding reception and I had to scramble last minute and wear something I already owned. Very disappointed in this one because I had such high hopes.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Bust size: 32B
August 17, 2014
Beautiful dress!
Dress was a little tight around the ribs but I have a low waist so maybe should have done a 4 even though I am a true 2. I got so many compliments and felt beautiful in it. Make sure you have a steamer because it was wrinkled out of the box. I wore a regular with 4 inch heels and it was the perfect length for me at 5'4"
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2014
Great Dress for a Formal Wedding
Fit like a glove on top, well structured so I didn't need to wear a bra. Great color, danced in it all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
August 26, 2014
I received so many compliments on this gown. Love it!
I'm 5'6 almost 5'7 - so I got the long and it was definitely too long, even with 4 inch heels.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 26, 2014
It was stunning and got tuns of complements!
It fit perfect for me but a little tight on my boobs so if you have a size D or bigger id go up a size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 16, 2014
I was proposed to in this gown!
Fit perfectly for my height and size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 3, 2014
Beautiful color! Love!
I loved the color on this dress and how beautifully it flowed. Unfortunately, the R length was not available and the L was far too long. If you have 5" heels to wear, it will be fine, but mine were only about 3.5" so I had to wear another option. The picture shown is without any shoes. The belt adds a nice touch and defines the waist nicely. Definitely recommend this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 21, 2014
Last minute change for military ball ended up being perfect!
Absolutely beautiful dress. My original choice was ruined by the last renter (#stressful) so I had to pick a new one! This dress arrived the morning of my event. I was originally anti wearing strapless but this fit so well I didn't have to pull it up ONCE. Flowed beautifully and kicked out perfectly when you walk. This is completely different than what I thought I'd wear to the military ball, but it ended up being awesome.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 8, 2014
Runs small
I had this dress sent overnight. Service was great and got this dress the morning of my event, but unfortunately neither the 10L nor the 12R fit. I am 5'7 34DD the 10 L was way way too long and the bust was extremely tight, I couldn't even zip the dress. The 12R was perfect length, but again the bust was extremely tight. I didn't get to wear the dress. It is pretty and I liked the material, just not for me and my bust.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2014
Worn to a work Christmas party
I thought the dress was beautiful. I rented it for my holiday party for work. I rented the long because I knew I had huge shoes to go with it. I should have worn a bra to help out a little bit more but it definitely had enough coverage for the entire night. I didn't have to pull it up at all. Overall I thought it was a great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
December 29, 2014
Gorgeous color!
Definitely runs small and long. I'm 5'5" and the petite length was good with heels. No heels could have made the regular length work! This was my first choice, but when I initially tried it on, it felt too snug and unforgiving at the waist (I've had 2 kids), so I wore my friend's first choice and she wore this. However, at the end of the night, we swapped back, and the dress fit great. Either way, we both liked it and despite very different body types, it worked well on both of us!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2015
Comfortable dress
The top is a bit snug. I wear a 34B and had difficulty zipping it up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2014
Easy to wear.
Great dress. Easy to wear. Comfortable dancing the night away. The belt was just okay.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2015
October Wedding
Dress was awesome. The original description said to wear a strapless bra, but I didn't need one. The dress does have a small built in bra and stayed up perfectly had no problems with it falling down.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
November 3, 2015
This dress made me look flat chested which I am not
The length on this was perfect and the color was beautiful. I wasnt too happy with how it fit in the chest but over all it was a very nice dress and I had a wonderful renting experience and will certainly use RTR again in the future
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 12, 2014
Perfect for fit on chest!
The con was zipper did not work well.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
April 17, 2013
I felt like a princess wearing this dress. It is comfortable, light and just looks stunning
I ordered a 4L and 2L, because I wasn't sure about the width of my back, they sad that L would fit for people that are about 5'8'', but 4L was actually a little too long. So, unless your 6', better take R, or wear super high high heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2013
Great Color, Price, and Comfort!
I wore this dress for prom and loved it! It went great with silver jewlery and nude shoes (without the belt) and looked great even though it was a bit long (it still dragged in super tall heels). The color was a bit more teal than expected, but I liked it even more that way! I would definetly recommend this dress (in a shorter length than usual) to anybody who wants to be comfortable dancing but still look great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2013
I got so many compliments! The color really makes me look radiant!
It's better suited if your bust is larger. The length is very long even in my 4 inch heels- but I'm short. The belt really compliments the dress and it helped me not feel to insecure about the fit up top. Only I knew it fit a little big.. everyone loved it!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 29, 2013
Great idea, poor execution!
Dress was beautiful, and true to color! Unfortunately it was missing the clasp on the back, which made the zipper repeatedly unzip. The stylist offered to overnight me another dress, but couldn't guarantee delivery time. I had no choice but to wear the dress and hope a safety pin would do. I got through most of the evening, but in the last 30 min the safety pin broke, and I spent the rest of the evening fussing over the dress, annoying my friends to keep me in the dress. Thank GOD I brought a shawl! Also the dress was much longer then I anticipated. I am 5'4" and ordered a 12R. I couldn't hem with the tape because of the style, so I had to hold it to keep from tripping. I was happy with the look, and did receive a ton of compliments.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2013
Perfect for a spring wedding!
I had been eyeing this gown since it first came to RTR and my friend's wedding was the perfect place to wear it! The color is absolutely stunning and the fabric was soft and comfy. The belt that came with it matched the Adia Kibur necklace I rented perfectly! My only grip, however, was the length. I am about 5'5'' and unless you are wearing 5+ inch heels, you are going to be holding the dress up a lot. I was overly concerned about the dress being stepped on or damaged throughout the evening. My suggestion to RTR would be to hem a few dresses to compliment us shorter ladies. Other than that, I did not have to pull the top up at all which was GREAT and I had a fantastic evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 156lbs
May 19, 2013
Great color and fit. Tons of compliments!
First time using RTR and was a great experience! Will definitely use again! Dress arrived in great condition and fit well. Loved the color of the dress and it was a flattering fit. A little tight in the bust, but that's a typical problem for me. Got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 20, 2013
GREAT dress, perfect fit, felt glam!
I wore this dress to my sister's wedding as her Maid of Honor. LOVED the fit. I fluctuate between a 6 and 8 these days and got both to try. The 6 fit to perfection! It was a bit long so I added 3.5" heels for the perfect length. I felt secure in the bust area all night, no reason to tug up or worry about falling out. It fit the snuggest at my waist. It flowed beautifully and was easy to dance in. Although once the shoes came off I had to make sure I held it up so I wouldn't trip on it. Loved the dress. I wore it without the belt and it was even more beautiful. The color is a bit brighter, or jeweled, in tone compared to the model picture. Would definitely get this one again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 21, 2013
This dress was perfect! I didn't want to give it back!
The top was more fitted and rigid than the pictures let on but it was a good thing because the dress never slipped down. I'm only 5'4" so the dress was too long when I took off my high heels. Overall, the dress fit and looked better than I could've hoped.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
October 16, 2013
Prom
This dress is amazing! I got many compliments in this dress and felt fantastic wearing it. Runs a little long and I'm really tall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
December 3, 2013
feeling comfortable, classy and beautiful at my senior prom!
I loved this dress so much. The color is so complimentary and helped a beautiful dress with a simple silhouette stand out. It fit true to size (which was good because I was late to the game and could only order a 2 and hoped it fit) and I felt like it was a perfect way to end my high school experience. I love RTR and can't wait till the next time I rent from them!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
April 21, 2014
Beautiful but I missed the belt
The dress fit remarkably well and comfortably. The bodice has really great boning- I almost didn't need to wear a bra (30 F UK sizing)! The color isn't really captured in the photo, but it's gorgeous. I didn't receive the belt (unless I missed it somehow??) and I wish I had, but it looked great without it. It was long enough in the regular with medium heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
April 22, 2014
I had a blast wearing this dress for my sorority formal; I especially loved the belt!
The dress fit great, I went with the 2 because it was tighter in the bust and made me feel more comfortable. The length was great with the 4in heels I wore. This was a great rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 22, 2014
Wore it on the red carpet with my dad to the 2014 Emmy's. It was absolutely a stunning dress!
Fits really well, true to size. Nice, long length - I am 5'3" and wore it with 5" heels and it barely grazed the floor. Overall, VERY pleased with this dress and my first experience with Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
April 24, 2014
I rented this for a black tie wedding in NJ.
The bust of the dress fit perfectly and I loved the belt, but I'm only 5'3" and even with 4" heels this dress still dragged the floor a bit on me.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 28, 2014
Pretty But Didn't Wear!
The dress was nice, the belt made it a little more glitzy but liked it even without the belt. The teal color was great. Had this sent as an alternate dress which was overnighted to me, because my original choice (Badley Mischka Flora Chiffon Gown) wasn't available in the 10L for overnight. The fit was perfect, would have maybe been able to swing the 8L, but ultimately I was still in love with the green one so I sucked it up, wore my lowest heel, and stuck with the 10R Badley Mischka Flora Chiffon Gown. Would consider renting this again for another event though!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×