Up in the Air Dress

$71 to buy
$335 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

You'll flirt your way through the party in this adorable ERIN Erin Fetherston white and yellow color blocking dress. Look fab for the summer fun days but going with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Ivory Genesha Bangle.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust, fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

White and yellow crepe(100% polyester; lining:100% silk). One shoulder neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
174 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(63)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
May 6, 2014
Cute dress, and very flattering fit.
Unfortunately, I never got to wear it as it arrived stained. RTR offered a refund and had there been more time before my event they would have sent a replacement. Lucky for me, I had another option my closet, and it worked out great. Crisis avoided!! Despite this experience, I'll give RTR another shot in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2014
Pretty colors, not as flattering on.
I ended wearing a different RTR dress for my event. This dress is very pretty and the colors look great, but the fit of the dress makes you look fuller. With all of the wrinkles and ruffles, it doesn't look as tight as it feels. Still very comfortable and if you have a good tan, the colors really pop.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 19, 2014
This dress is beautiful!
It fits true to size. The strap is a little long if you're on the smaller side. The bust is tight but it works. Too bad the only picture I got is me playing dress up in my living room, but I think it shows how beautiful it makes you feel even in an everyday environment!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 29, 2014
Way too small on top
I really liked the style of this dress but should have taken other reviewers suggestions to heart. This dress runs SO SMALL on top that even with my husband helping me, there was no way we could zip it up. Such a bummer that I wasn't able to wear it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 5, 2014
Compliments all night!!!!
Overall this dress was wonderful and so much fun to wear to a late summer wedding in southern California. I received compliments all night and was told by many other guests that they "just loved my dress." I ordered both the 2 and the 4 but went with the 4 which was still tight on my bust/ rib cage. I have a fairly athletic body and broad ribcage/ large chest but smaller waist so it can sometimes be difficult to find a dress that fits well, especially when the chest part doesn't offer any stretch. Other than that I loved the dress and had so much fun dancing in it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
June 6, 2014
I loved this dress, it was perfect for a summer wedding. I felt beautiful in it and it was comfy!
Fit perfect, but was a little long for a person like me who is so petite. But the flowy style of the dress made it so it did not bother me. The side zipper was a little hard to zip by myself - so grab a man or a friend! Perfect for a summer wedding. The cream white top with the yellow bottom just goes so well together!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
June 18, 2014
N/a
I did not wear this dress. Was excited to wear until it arrived. It looked old; dingy. I was expecting it to be brighter and newer looking. I've always had great things to say about RTR, but this particular dress was not as expected. I immediately mailed it back & wore a dress of my own.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 2, 2014
Just not great for my body type
So, I definitely could have used/tried the 6...but the 4 was the only size available. I could barely zip it up, and it just looked....young - like I think I would have loved this dress to wear to a semi-formal in high school. I have a long torso, so the waist seem just didn't fall where it should have. Just not a flattering look overall - this could definitely fit someone better who is a smaller frame...just not the right dress for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 8, 2014
Way too much fabric
If you're somewhat petite, this dress puts on about 10lbs. Just wasn't flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
July 12, 2014
Wore for a summer wedding.
Pretty dress, but I definitely noticed some snags on the bodice. I also felt like the boning on the dress I wore was coming undone, and stuck out on the edges which was uncomfortable. It could have been an issue just with the dress I wore, so outside of that I thought it was pretty.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
July 13, 2014
This dress was perfect for an outdoor barn wedding!
I rented the size 4 which I was worried would be too big, but worked out perfect. It was a little big in the chest, but I wore a strapless bra to help the fit. The length was also perfect. Very comfortable to dance in all night! I got tons of compliments all night! Great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
July 20, 2014
Gorgeous Dress!!!!
I got compliments on it all night and it looked great with the aqua earrings and black pumps!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
July 24, 2014
Cute dress
I rented this for my birthday. Super cute dress but runs small. I'm 5'9 & 135 with a swimmer build. I guess I was just a little too broad for this dress because I could barley zip the dress! Overall cute though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
July 28, 2014
Photographs beautifully!
I rented this for my engagement pictures. I got a call the week before that the size 2 would not be available so I was sent only the 0 and my pick of another dress. I was VERY worried that the 0 would not fit because of all of the reviews saying it ran small. I really wanted to wear this dress because my wedding color is yellow! So I was very pleasantly surprised that the 0 fit perfectly! I did not need a bra and it supported me fine! ! The only con was the zipper was very hard to get pulled up, so it took my fiance to help me and even then it took a few extra minutes but no big deal in the end!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 26, 2014
Didn't get to wear it because it was too small
This dress runs very small. I ordered 0 knowing that I tend to be between a 0 and a 2 and there was no way this dress was going to zip. Definitely order up a size or 2 if you plan on renting this dress. The color of the dress was great and I don't think I realized it was a high-low hemline when I first ordered it and was pleasantly surprised. Wish I could have worn it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
August 29, 2014
Beautiful color, strange fit
I was excited for the colors of this dress. The zipper was a challenge to close and it was still big on the top in a 0. The single strap fit very loose- that combined with the loosely tacked material at a top made for a frumpy look on my petite frame.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2012
The dress was on-time and easy to return.
The overall fit was perfect...I was a little nervous because the zipper was catching a little, but once it was zipped it was fine. The material was a LITTLE bulky, but the overall look was fine -- i had to pair a belt with it to give myself a waistline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2014
I would have worn size 4, but it was pretty badly damaged - wore size 6
I felt like the dress was true to size, but it was upsetting to see the size 4 so damaged because it would have fit me a bit better than the 6 (the zipper was nearly impossible to move & the actual fabric had been very stretched). Regardless, I received many compliments on the dress. I do think RTR needs to do a better job at checking dresses upon every use and decommissioning them once they've been damaged.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
October 1, 2014
Didn't wear this one...
Waist too high for my body - looked very boxy, unappealing. Wore my backup dress (which ended up being beautiful and amazing!).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2014
Pretty!
Cons: I couldn't get into it! The zipper would get stuck all the time, I needed my boyfriend to help me get into it. Really took us a while.. I thought that I just don't fit a 0 anymore but once I'm in the dress, it was good. Though the underwire really bothered me throughout the night. It kept sticking out and it hurt me. And the material, there were so many runs on it. But thank goodness I wore it at night so nobody can really tell. Pros: the color! I would've given it a 2star BUT I still enjoyed dancing the night away in this dress so 3 star for this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 18, 2014
Great Dress
Worn for a photo shoot. Nice look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 27, 2014
Great Flowing Dress
I ordered this dress for a cruise because of the color. I loved the bold yellow and it did not disappoint. Everyone kept commenting on my dress, which I found is a growing trend when I wear RTR. The only thing problem I had was with the zipper. I could NOT zip it myself. My husband had to help me. Once I got it zipped up I was good to go.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 12, 2014
Great night at an awards dinner.
Fit nicely, definitely needed fashion tape in order to dance the night away. Top half is much more off-white than white.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2012
Beautiful, fun dress
I actually didn't wear this, and chose the Haute Hippie Teal Time Ruffle dress instead. I REALLY REALLY wanted to wear this because it is incredibly cute, but I felt that unless you're taller than 5'9" and ordering a size 4 or smaller, you just aren't going to do the dress justice. Even though I'm 5'7" and 130 lbs, a size 6 was the smallest I could fit into and it made me look wider and shorter than I am. It looked puffy on me instead of slimming and flowy like the stock photo.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2012
I felt beautiful in this gorgeous dress!
I loved wearing this dress! the yellow fabric is gorgeous and I felt like a princess all night. I am only 5'4" and thought the dress was a bit on the long side, at least for the look I wanted, but on someone taller that wouldn't be a big issue. I just tucked the yellow fabric under the top white part and pinned it and you couldn't even tell that I had adjusted the dress. Overall I would say this was a very successful rental. I definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 25, 2012
Everybody said that the dress looked expensive and the only downfall to the experience was having to send it back :(
I loved this dress. I wore it to prom and it was a perfect fit. all night I was getting complements. It arrived on time and returning it was very simple. This was my first time using rent the runway and I deffinately will do it again. It was a little long but with some pumps it looked amazing. I paired mine with blue shoes, a blue clutch, blue earrings and it looked stunning, its a stunning dress and I highly suggest it !!!!!! P.S more pictures to come soon
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 8, 2012
I got so many compliments!
I wore this dress to the Kentucky Oaks. I'm normally a size 4/6 so I was a little nervous when the backup size 6 wasn't available and I was only able to order the 4. It ended up fitting like a glove! I felt like a princess all day and night. The dress is so beautiful and flowing---I got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2012
Wearing the dress at The Kentucky Derby!
I rented this dress for The Kentucky Derby and was overall pleased with it. I did feel it ran a little small, especially if you have a larger ribcage. When I first received it in the mail, it didn't seem like it was going to fit because the zipper would get stuck between the yellow and white fabric. It took around an hour the first time, only because I had to play with the zipper so much. On Derby day, it zipped right up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
May 8, 2012
I loved how I looked in this dress!
Dress definitely runs a half size small, so order up. I am pretty tall and liked the way the dress fit on my frame. The material and color was absolutely beautiful. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 16, 2012
Beware
Rented a Size 4 for a formal May wedding. Found that the top was extremely tight (even for someone with a small chest) and the bottom was overly large- too much fabric on the skirt. Overall: Too small on top, too big on bottom It's too bad this dress is not as perfect as it seems in pictures, was not able to wear it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 20, 2012
Felt Gorgeous on my Birthday
Loved the dress! Very comfortable and flowed nicely. I also rent the Tahiti Waterfall Drop Earrings and they went together perfectly.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2012
Best Dress Ever!
Absolutely loved this dress! The description was spot on. It fit beautifully and I got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
May 30, 2012
RTR couldn't have made the process any easier. Loved that I was able to get two sizes, and dropping the items back off at any blue collection box saved so much time as well!
I wore this dress for a wedding in California. The colors and fabric are so beautiful and made it perfect for a summer wedding. I received many compliments throughout the night! I ended up wearing it with nude pumps and a large contrasting-colored (orange/pink), bright statement necklace, keeping everything else simple. The only reason I'm giving 4 instead of 5 stars is because it is a very high-waisted dress and as other people have mentioned it does give a little extra "poof" around the middle where the skirt begins. I loved the dress so much I didn't dwell on it, but it may be annoying for some. (I do have a longer torso).
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
June 3, 2012
Great for a formal, summer wedding in the 110* Texas heat!
I would have kept this dress forever had it been possible. It was a great choice for a hot, summer wedding and I received a ton of compliments. It's a very light weight and flowy, fun dress. The zero fit me perfectly. My only complaint was that the zipper had to be manhandled quite a bit in order to make it zip and unzip. But oh man, does that yellow pop! It was totally worth the sassy zipper.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
June 14, 2012
I felt so pretty in this dress! I will surely use RTR again.
The dress came in right on time. I fell in love with this dress as soon as I put it on! I wore it to my Prom and I got so many compliments! I wish I wouldn't have had to return it.. I felt so pretty in this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2012
Runs small
This dress runs small. The top white part runs a little tight, but the material is very nice. I personally thought the yellow part of the dress was REALLY REALLY YELLOW. Almost highlighter yellow. Be careful..might not really match your complexion.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 22, 2012
This dress made the entire day!
I wore this dress for my college graduation ceremony in May - it's light and flowy, perfect for warmer weather. The one-shoulder and airy fabric of the skirt also makes it exceptionally comfortable; I ended up wearing it not only the entire day and to the ceremony, but all night too!
CatherineJune 28, 2012
Perfect dress for you, aoe!
KacieAugust 8, 2012
Love and aoe!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 25, 2012
little small
I loved this dress! It looked really good! The only thing that made me give this dress 4 stars is that is kind of made me look like I had no boobs! And it was hard to zip up, then the side clasp dug into my side. It was really light and airy and I did get a lot of compliments! Despite my negatives, I would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
July 10, 2012
One of the guest at the wedding has a friend that has Advertised for Rent the Runway!!
I wore this dress for an outside southern wedding in 100 degrees in July. Although heat is heat and sweat has to be an option in 100 degrees this dress never showed anything. It wore well, felt breezy, and I received tons of compliments. It was a great choice!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2012
Love the Dress
I got this dress for a wedding and it came as scheduled. The zipper is a big pain when you get to the white top but well worth it once it is on. My fav feature was the skirt. There are layers to it so it was fun to play with while dancing. The reason why i didn’t give it 5 stars was that I had ordered a pair of earrings to go with it that never game however I was reimbursed accordingly for that.
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×