Up in the Air Dress

$71 to buy
$335 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

You'll flirt your way through the party in this adorable ERIN Erin Fetherston white and yellow color blocking dress. Look fab for the summer fun days but going with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Ivory Genesha Bangle.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust, fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

White and yellow crepe(100% polyester; lining:100% silk). One shoulder neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
174 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(63)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
July 28, 2014
Photographs beautifully!
I rented this for my engagement pictures. I got a call the week before that the size 2 would not be available so I was sent only the 0 and my pick of another dress. I was VERY worried that the 0 would not fit because of all of the reviews saying it ran small. I really wanted to wear this dress because my wedding color is yellow! So I was very pleasantly surprised that the 0 fit perfectly! I did not need a bra and it supported me fine! ! The only con was the zipper was very hard to get pulled up, so it took my fiance to help me and even then it took a few extra minutes but no big deal in the end!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
August 29, 2014
Beautiful color, strange fit
I was excited for the colors of this dress. The zipper was a challenge to close and it was still big on the top in a 0. The single strap fit very loose- that combined with the loosely tacked material at a top made for a frumpy look on my petite frame.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2012
The dress was on-time and easy to return.
The overall fit was perfect...I was a little nervous because the zipper was catching a little, but once it was zipped it was fine. The material was a LITTLE bulky, but the overall look was fine -- i had to pair a belt with it to give myself a waistline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2014
I would have worn size 4, but it was pretty badly damaged - wore size 6
I felt like the dress was true to size, but it was upsetting to see the size 4 so damaged because it would have fit me a bit better than the 6 (the zipper was nearly impossible to move & the actual fabric had been very stretched). Regardless, I received many compliments on the dress. I do think RTR needs to do a better job at checking dresses upon every use and decommissioning them once they've been damaged.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
October 1, 2014
Didn't wear this one...
Waist too high for my body - looked very boxy, unappealing. Wore my backup dress (which ended up being beautiful and amazing!).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2014
Pretty!
Cons: I couldn't get into it! The zipper would get stuck all the time, I needed my boyfriend to help me get into it. Really took us a while.. I thought that I just don't fit a 0 anymore but once I'm in the dress, it was good. Though the underwire really bothered me throughout the night. It kept sticking out and it hurt me. And the material, there were so many runs on it. But thank goodness I wore it at night so nobody can really tell. Pros: the color! I would've given it a 2star BUT I still enjoyed dancing the night away in this dress so 3 star for this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 18, 2014
Great Dress
Worn for a photo shoot. Nice look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 27, 2014
Great Flowing Dress
I ordered this dress for a cruise because of the color. I loved the bold yellow and it did not disappoint. Everyone kept commenting on my dress, which I found is a growing trend when I wear RTR. The only thing problem I had was with the zipper. I could NOT zip it myself. My husband had to help me. Once I got it zipped up I was good to go.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 12, 2014
Great night at an awards dinner.
Fit nicely, definitely needed fashion tape in order to dance the night away. Top half is much more off-white than white.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2012
I felt beautiful in this gorgeous dress!
I loved wearing this dress! the yellow fabric is gorgeous and I felt like a princess all night. I am only 5'4" and thought the dress was a bit on the long side, at least for the look I wanted, but on someone taller that wouldn't be a big issue. I just tucked the yellow fabric under the top white part and pinned it and you couldn't even tell that I had adjusted the dress. Overall I would say this was a very successful rental. I definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 25, 2012
Everybody said that the dress looked expensive and the only downfall to the experience was having to send it back :(
I loved this dress. I wore it to prom and it was a perfect fit. all night I was getting complements. It arrived on time and returning it was very simple. This was my first time using rent the runway and I deffinately will do it again. It was a little long but with some pumps it looked amazing. I paired mine with blue shoes, a blue clutch, blue earrings and it looked stunning, its a stunning dress and I highly suggest it !!!!!! P.S more pictures to come soon
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 8, 2012
I got so many compliments!
I wore this dress to the Kentucky Oaks. I'm normally a size 4/6 so I was a little nervous when the backup size 6 wasn't available and I was only able to order the 4. It ended up fitting like a glove! I felt like a princess all day and night. The dress is so beautiful and flowing---I got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 20, 2012
Felt Gorgeous on my Birthday
Loved the dress! Very comfortable and flowed nicely. I also rent the Tahiti Waterfall Drop Earrings and they went together perfectly.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2012
Best Dress Ever!
Absolutely loved this dress! The description was spot on. It fit beautifully and I got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
May 30, 2012
RTR couldn't have made the process any easier. Loved that I was able to get two sizes, and dropping the items back off at any blue collection box saved so much time as well!
I wore this dress for a wedding in California. The colors and fabric are so beautiful and made it perfect for a summer wedding. I received many compliments throughout the night! I ended up wearing it with nude pumps and a large contrasting-colored (orange/pink), bright statement necklace, keeping everything else simple. The only reason I'm giving 4 instead of 5 stars is because it is a very high-waisted dress and as other people have mentioned it does give a little extra "poof" around the middle where the skirt begins. I loved the dress so much I didn't dwell on it, but it may be annoying for some. (I do have a longer torso).
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 30D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
June 3, 2012
Great for a formal, summer wedding in the 110* Texas heat!
I would have kept this dress forever had it been possible. It was a great choice for a hot, summer wedding and I received a ton of compliments. It's a very light weight and flowy, fun dress. The zero fit me perfectly. My only complaint was that the zipper had to be manhandled quite a bit in order to make it zip and unzip. But oh man, does that yellow pop! It was totally worth the sassy zipper.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
June 14, 2012
I felt so pretty in this dress! I will surely use RTR again.
The dress came in right on time. I fell in love with this dress as soon as I put it on! I wore it to my Prom and I got so many compliments! I wish I wouldn't have had to return it.. I felt so pretty in this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 22, 2012
This dress made the entire day!
I wore this dress for my college graduation ceremony in May - it's light and flowy, perfect for warmer weather. The one-shoulder and airy fabric of the skirt also makes it exceptionally comfortable; I ended up wearing it not only the entire day and to the ceremony, but all night too!
CatherineJune 28, 2012
Perfect dress for you, aoe!
KacieAugust 8, 2012
Love and aoe!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
July 10, 2012
One of the guest at the wedding has a friend that has Advertised for Rent the Runway!!
I wore this dress for an outside southern wedding in 100 degrees in July. Although heat is heat and sweat has to be an option in 100 degrees this dress never showed anything. It wore well, felt breezy, and I received tons of compliments. It was a great choice!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2012
Love the Dress
I got this dress for a wedding and it came as scheduled. The zipper is a big pain when you get to the white top but well worth it once it is on. My fav feature was the skirt. There are layers to it so it was fun to play with while dancing. The reason why i didn’t give it 5 stars was that I had ordered a pair of earrings to go with it that never game however I was reimbursed accordingly for that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
August 10, 2012
This was my first rental. I was so nervous about the size and the fit. It was perfect. I got so many compliments. So often birthdays fall short of expectation. This dress helped me have a night to remember.
I wore this for a low-key night out for my birthday. I paired it with the earrings it's shown with (Kenneth Lane). It was perfect. I feel like my shape isn't always easy to flatter, but this worked in all the right places. It was cut well and fit just right. No discomfort at all!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 13, 2012
Sassy, Sexy, Fun!
I ordered this dress for a summer, outdoor wedding in the countryside. I got a ton of compliments, and a handful of jealous stares. It's perfect for dancing, and there is nothing to fuss with. It's true to size, but if you have a larger torso/rib cage for your size, I'd recommend going one size up. I wore a zero, and was perfectly comfortable all night! I only gave this a 4 instead of a 5 because of the smell. I can't pinpoint the smell, but it was probably mothballs or odd dry cleaning practices. I'd recommend giving it a shot of Febreeze and giving it some time out of the garment bag before wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
I loved how the dress flowed when I walked and danced. It was the perfect dress for a summer wedding.
I wore this to a day time wedding in Cape Cod. I loved it so much. My mom and friends all loved it. My boyfriend was not a huge fan, but I loved it so much I didn't care. It's very and princess like. It is not a sexy dress, but I felt very pretty in it all night. I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2012
I was impressed by Rent the Runway because of their efficiency and professionalism. The dress came clean and ready to wear and the return policy is very easy and fair. The jewelry I rented was great, too!
Wore this for my wedding rehearsal and loved it. The skirt blew in the breeze and the one shoulder strap is flattering. Lots of compliments and little to pay!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 15, 2012
the fit was worry-free and it had such fun colors!
Really enjoyed this fun two-tone dress! The top is tight (in a good way) and flattering, and then the bottom is flowy / loose / easy to move in. It was nice not to have to worry about making sure the straps stay up or nothing falls out etc etc. If you like wearing white but don't want to upstage a bride this would be a nice option. You can dance all night in this dress (see pic). Might wash out paler people, but overall I would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 19, 2012
Cute! Cute! Cute!
I LOVED this dress! It fit great and I loved the color! I rented this for my 30th Birthday Party, only to be surprised with a themed party I was unable to wear it to. I will definitely be renting it again when I have an opportunity to actually wear it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
August 21, 2012
The way dress made this moment perfect!
I rented this dress for a ball at a country club. This dress is beautiful on and I recieved so many compliments throughout the night. My favorite part of this dress was how flowy the skirt was... it was great for dancing and so comfortable. The only reason why I ranked this dress a 4 star was because I really needed the size 2, but the 2 that I recieved; the white ruching on the top was unstitched and looked messy when I tried it on (looked like it had broke). I had to wear the 4 which was a little big, but looked much better. Other than that small problem I absoutley loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
August 26, 2012
Not for me
Not impressed with the fit. Cute dress but something just wasn't right. Ended up sending it back. I think the waist is a little high for my liking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 28, 2012
Bright & unique!
I wore this to an August wedding and got so many compliments. I love RTR because no one ever has the same dress! I agree with other reviewers; it is tight in the ribcage and the side zipper is a little tough to pull up just over the part of the seam where the yellow fabric meets the white, yet was a little big in the chest area on the side opposite the zipper. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 10, 2012
Love this dress, Love this service!
I rented this dress for a wedding at the Aldrich Mansion in Rhode Island this past weekend, so much fun to wear, comfortable,and great to dance in - received many, many compliments. Only caution: the zipper is tough to raise from the yellow part of the dress to the white. Will never buy another dress for a formal event again only to have it hang in my closet forever, returning the items was virtually effortless - RTR is my new religion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2012
Whenever I'm wearing something from RTR, I feel beautiful and confident!
I loved the colors and how flowy and light the dress is. I wore this for dinner out in West Palm Beach. Great fit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2012
Prompt arrival, easy return!
I rented this dress for my wedding shower. Not only was I showered with presents, but I was also showered with compliments on my dress. I am a 34B and the chest fit perfectly so I wasn't tugging at the side all day. This dress was comfortable and I also liked how when I sat down I didn't feel like I was flashing all of my guests. Overall, a lovely dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 14, 2012
First dress I've rented and was so happy with my choice
Perfect dress for a summer wedding! Loved the dress, only complaint was that a piece of boning kept poking me
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
Perfect Summer Fling Dress
I wore this dress to my good friend's bridal shower. The cut is fantastic! True to size, although if you are larger up top, I suggest going a size up, because the fabric doesn't allow for much give.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
So beautiful and flowy.
The ruching on the top is so nice and the fabric is of good quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
elegant and fun
i wore this to a semi formal engagement party and it was absolutely perfect! it was comfortable and breezy in the 100+ degree weather. would definitely rent again. had a little trouble with the zipper where the white material reaches the yellow, but we made it work.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 25, 2012
Got so many compliments from all ages! It's an elegant, classy, stylish dress, loved it!
I read the other reviews saying the bust was really tight, but I thought it was really comfortable; not tight at all, more flattering than anything. The length was perfect, loved the flowiness of it. The fabric was high quality. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 27, 2012
I wore this dress to my senior homecoming! I got a lot of compliments, and it was fun to dance in!
The dress fit perfectly! The only issue may be the length. I have very long legs, but I can see someone with a shorter stature feeling that the dress is too long. Other than that, it was a very flowy, comfortable dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 28, 2012
I loved this dress; I got so many compliments.
The dress fit great, although it was a bit snug in the chest area (I'm a 36B). I wanted to order the 4 and the 6, but only the 4 was available, and i went for it. I'm glad it worked out. I loved the colors, the fabric, and the flow. I wore it with blue earrings and a blue ring (no necklace). I found a perfect pair of heels from my closet (a white pair, with blue and yellow stripes). I wore it to a wedding and got a ton of compliments.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
October 10, 2012
Very pretty, but not pleased with the rental, at all.
The only reason I feel this dress deserves 2 stars is because I still think its pretty and I did receive compliments on it, however the structure of the dress and the two different sizes were completely different. I ordered a size 2 and 4. I tried the 2 on first, everything with the dress itself seemed fine, but I could not get the zipper past the midsection. So, I tried the 4. Immediately I noticed that the 4 had wiring lined in the top part, which the 2 did not. Again, the zipper was difficult to get up, even though it fit just fine, in addition to the difficult zipper, the metal clamp to connect the dress was broken and missing half a hook. Once the dress was on, the broken clamp stuck out an extra 1/2", since I couldnt clamp it. I used a bobby pin to flatten it out. Then I started noticing the wiring in the top, it was uneven, one corner stuck out onto the skirt, giving the white part a point in one corner (thank god the wiring bent, I just tucked it under), while the other side looked fine, but the wiring stuck out and kept poking me. Then I started looking at the skirt. I noticed 4 grease stains, small, but right in the middle of the skirt, it was pleated so you couldnt really, its a rental, I can deal with that, but then I noticed the huge seam of the skirt stretching from the front center, down to the bottom. The pleats disguised this, but once you sat down, you cold see it. I also found this dress on a 'petite' thread, and I disagree about it looking that good on someone petite. If it wasnt for my 5inch heels, this dress would have looked awful for my small frame. It actually kept me from taking my heels off all night, which in most cases, I would have done. I'm honestly just confused on why the size 2 and 4 were so different from each other structurally. All the problems with the size 4, didnt exist in the size 2. It was almost as if a seamstress completely rebuilt the dress that I rented for the sake of still being able to rent it out.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×