Purple Bardot Dress

$35 rental
$365 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you in this sporty and sexy sheath by Elizabeth & James.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – slightly fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless or racerback bra. Try Hollywood’s Bra Converting Clips.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – slightly fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless or racerback bra. Try Hollywood’s Bra Converting Clips.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple ponte (54% polyester, 38% viscose, 8% elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Racer back. Pencil skirt with asymmetrical hem and slit. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
198 reviews
Fit
Large8
True to Size129
Small44
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 12, 2016
Curvy but comfy
This dress is a really great combination of fashion and comfort. It's cut modestly and is a nice length, but the slit and racerback give it just enough sex appeal. The material is thick and stretchy and hugs the body, but is still very comfortable and easy to move in. I would say it runs true to size, but recommend sizing up if you tend to hover between sizes like I do. I see myself wearing a lot of Elizabeth & James this wedding season!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 11, 2016
Great dress! Great material, wish I didn't have to return it!
Perfect dress for the occasion! Amazing material, fit true to size. I am 5'6 ish 140 pounds with an athletic build. Slit did go up a little too high for my taste but I just used some double sided fashion tape and it held up all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
March 8, 2016
HOLY GORGEOUS!
This dress was incredible. I would purchase this in every color if I could! I wore this to my fiance's brothers wedding and I had almost as much attention as the bride. So many complements and people asking where I got it! I ordered a 6 with a size 8 as a backup. The 6 fit fine, but the 8 was just slightly more comfortable, so I went with the 8 since it was a long day and comfort was my ally. The fabric has some give to it, so it hugs all the right places. I didn't even need wear a bra, but it's thick enough that had I worn one, you wouldn't see any lines. LOVE THIS DRESS! 10/10 would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 1, 2016
So many compliments!
I wore this dress to a Bridal Shower and loved it!! The fit was very flattering and the length was perfect especially since I am tall. Will definitely rent a gain.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
February 10, 2016
This dress was great!
Great dress. I only ordered the size 0, and it was a big snug. But the dress was stretchy and had some give. It was extremely comfortable! Great for dancing! I would suggest renting a statement necklace, because without one the dress might seem a bit plain.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
January 25, 2016
.
Absolutely loved this dress. Comfortable, fabric is beautiful, not sheer at all. Fit perfectly! True to size (Go a size bigger if you don't want more of a fitted look). Wish I would have known about RNT sooner!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
January 18, 2016
This was sexy, simple, and extremely flattering.
Knit is thick, which makes it quite flattering. The cut of the shoulder is surprisingly sexy, and the slit is just the right height. I got a zillion compliments, and felt perfect. The eight fit exactly like a six usually does on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
January 13, 2016
The fact that it fit. My second sizes were unavailable, so I was nervous about it not fitting.
Pro: dress fit me like a glove. I felt comfortable, classy, and sexy. I received compliments throughout the night. Con: There was a problem with the dress when I received it. The stitching on the slit was loose and broke. I was able to fix the dress with some stronger stitch work of my own. Could tell it had been fixed before. All in all dress was amazing. Coloring is like a deep plum, photographs more blue. Beautiful color. Works good with nude heels and gold jewelry.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 13, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable
Snug fit, but I found it to be true to size. It's a nice thick, stretchy material, flattering and comfortable, great for dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2015
Perfect fit
Great color and fit. This dress is sexy but sophisticated.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
November 19, 2015
Best dress ever
The dress fit like a glove! Based on the reviews I was worried that it would be too small or form fitting, and when I first tried it on I immediately ran out and bought some new spanx. However, once you wear it for a little bit the thick material molds to your body. It turned out perfect! Definitely still very form- fitting, but it was hugging my curves in all the right places and skimming over the less flattering ones. I highly recommend walking around your house in it for a half an hour or so before you make any decisions. I wore it for a law school gala and got so many complements. I was turning heads all night, multiple people told me I was "best dressed," and my boyfriend LOVED it. I wish I owned this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2015
Date night and easy to accessorize
The color of this dress is fantastic and a stand-out, for sure. It was a little bit of an awkward fit around my shoulders- but I have broad shoulders so that may be why. My husband thought it was a "hot dress"... so that counts for something.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
November 5, 2015
Great wedding!
Awesome dress, absolutely stunning. Would've preferred a size 4, but it was unfortunately unavailable by the time I got around to ordering. The 2 fit like a glove though! The fabric is pretty forgiving and I got a ton of compliments! If you're on the fence about ordering it, just do it! Also, works great for almost any season/weather.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
October 29, 2015
Wedding in Bay Area & this dress worked for the party AND the giant fight with my boyfriend after!
I loved the fit - it was fitted but not skin tight and the slit was just a little higher than what I'm used to, so that was kind of fun. It was easy to walk around and dance in and very comfortable. I tried to do a Macguyver move by crossing the straps of a racerback bra in front and adding some fashion tape, but it didn't work. A strapless probably would have been better. The color was beautiful and I felt great wearing it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 10, 2015
Outdoor Georgia Wedding in August
The dress fit like a glove and was so chic. It was sexy without trying too hard. The cut really highlights the collarbones. The slit made it not seem to long and gave it more movement. The color was more blue, and it went well with my husbands navy tie. Wish this was in my closet!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
August 20, 2015
Absolutely stunning and sexy dress
A beautiful dress for a summer evening wedding. It was sexy and form fitting and the color was amazing. The cut was brilliant and really accentuated curves and shoulders. I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2015
Extremely flattering!
I loved this dress and wish I could've kept it. Gorgeous color - looks more navy in person and photographs more purple. Thicker fabric and a flattering cut - the slit made dancing easy. Wore with a strapless bra because I didn't have a convertible one that matched the neckline and slimmer straps without showing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 20, 2015
This is a show stopper!
Wow, this dress was a real stunner. Body-hugging fit to show off curves and the longer knee length really elongated my entire body. This dress is sexy, classy, and most importantly, so comfy. I was dancing in this all night and really felt like a million bucks. I suggest getting the back up size (size up), just in case your usual size is too tight. I ended up wearing an 8, which is a size larger than my usual, but felt that a 6 would've worked too, if it was available. Also, spanx was a life saver, to keep curves looking smooth. I would definitely rent this again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 168lbs
July 14, 2015
Stunning and Sexy Dress!!!
Wore it to my brothers wedding which was a little less formal than cocktail. The dress was sexy and yet appropriate. it was a perfect length for me and the slit didn't make it too short and I'm over 6 feet tall! The dress fit me like a glove, but there isn't much give or stretch so I really got lucky. The fabric is fairly thick too and very flattering in person. If they have it in more colors I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 30, 2015
Tons of compliments all night
I ordered the 6 and 8 in this dress. I typically wear a 4 or 6 but in this dress I could barely get into the 8. I put on some shapewear and was happy with the overall look. The dress is beautiful - nice thick material with just enough stretch and the length was classy yet sexy at the same time. It showed enough leg but did not ride up at all. I loved the racerback which added a nice detail and I received compliments all night long. I would definitely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 25, 2015
Don't rent if your torso is narrow!
I rented this for my 30th birthday and it looked awful on me. I really liked the color, but the dress is not made for someone who is petite. If you are petite or narrow this will not be the most flattering silhouette on you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 102lbs
June 22, 2015
Wore this for my son's bar mitzvah party. Stunning...never have gotten so many compliments.
Bodice is snug. No need to wear a bra. Strongly suggest pairing it with a bold statement necklase
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2015
This dress is an absolutely beautiful color and fits great. Dare I say slimming even.
Wore this dress to a daytime wedding. Went for the larger size so I could eat, but the dress has plenty of stretch and could have easily gotten away with the smaller size as well. Very comfortable, beautiful color and photographed well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
June 10, 2015
Easy to use
Great color very form fitting. I ordered a larger size and it fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
June 5, 2015
Loved the fit. high quality fabric. Flattering on my athletic/straight body type. Very comfortable
Wore a size up from my normal size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2015
Tiiight!
Turned out to be too tight for me-- I usually fit in a 4, sometimes a 6, but this wasn't available in the 6 for my dates. Couldn't wear it, but my sister did! Otherwise, it's flattering but revealing. Lovely color.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 30, 2015
Fit perfectly and I wish I didn't have to give it back.
I wish I owned this dress. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner that was in outdoors at a bar/restaurant. The color and cut are incredibly flattering while being comfortable. It was a little loose at the chest but I'm an A cup so that's probably why. The material has minimal stretch so I would definitely check reviews to find folks with similar measurements to your self. I ended up pairing the dress with flashy earrings and brown sandal heels. You can easily dress this up or down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 24, 2015
Sexy, flattering, figure-hugging fit
Loved this dress, which I wore to a company holiday party. I actually was recommended this dress by a stylist after the backup size in my first choice dress became unexpectedly unavailable, and ended up working out the best. For all the ladies with cut-up shoulders and arms - rock this! It does run small, and is very form fitting - but extremely flattering, and made of thick stretchy fabric that is forgiving. I recommend spanx if you want an extra smooth silhouette. I loved it enough that I ended up renting a similar dress from this designer for a wedding a few months later!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
May 21, 2015
Perfect Dress!
First rental with RTR and this was an awesome dress! So sad when I had to send it back. I went off of everyone's recommendations and got a size up from my normal size as this dress does run small. I normally wear a 4 and wore this dress in a 6. Received so many compliments on the color and style.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 20, 2015
All eyes on me...
I loved the color and fit of this dress. It is not as dull color-wise as it looks on the model. I wore it to a business/benefit dinner and it was all eyes on me. The high neckline makes the dress conservative, but the form fitting fabric and high slit gives it the added sexiness. Perfect for a business dinner! I would rent this again for a work function.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
May 19, 2015
Classy with just enough spice
The dress was very form-fitting but comfortable enough for me. The lines of my strapless bra was visible through the dress so I opted to go sans bra and used petal covers instead. The dress is tight enough to hold everything UP and together. I could tell that the dress was worn and washed many times from the quality of the fabric and the loose/unraveled seams but I liked the dress too much to care. I was complimented by many. There was enough coverage to be worn at a wedding (with lots of family, elders, and kids) but the fit was enough to garner attention.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 127lbs
May 11, 2015
Gorgeous dress!
This dress fit like a glove and hugged my curves perfectly. The dress photographs more of a blue but it is purple. Looks great with statement necklace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2015
Loved this dress!
I love Elizabeth and James dresses! They fit great and hug your body. Material has just enough stretch to it that makes the dress super comfortable to wear too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2015
Gorgeous color!
Great color, very formfitting. I usually wear a 6 but felt much more comfortable in an 8, although I still wore spanx to be safe. I looked very curvy and my fiancé loved it! Will definitely be renting more Elizabeth & James styles in the near future. My only complaint is that there were some frayed edges/ small holes along the seams from multiple uses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 4, 2015
Classy yet a showstopper
This dress is very body-conscious. I was worried as there was no back up size available but I felt the 8 worked, but barely. I did wear a strapless bra and it still zipped, although I think most people could get away without a bra. It is a thicker stretchy fabric but will show any bumps or lumps... I didn't have Spanx but would think that might be a good investment for this dress. I loved the cut of the top, it was very flattering to the arms and shoulders. The color was very pretty and I felt the gold accessories were all it needed. I got several compliments and I felt like a million bucks. I would say that you have to be super comfortable with something form fitted. I think since it was super tight it was balanced out by being high neck and longer. The slit was the perfect amount of leg showing... And the shape of the dress definitely made me look more hourglass than I've ever seemed but I saw that as a good thing. Would definitely rent it again in another color, but only on a day I was feeling skinny!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 31, 2015
LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!!
The color and fit were perfect! I wore this dress for a CA wedding in October and received so many compliments! I wore a bright yellow necklace with the dress and the colors really popped together. The material was more on the thick side, but it a good way. It hugs your curves and shows off just enough skin. Great dress!! I would love to have this one in my closet!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 26, 2015
This dress fit like a glove and hugs you in all the right places! The color is stunning!
Definitely order two sizes to see which fits best as the slit can pull a little too much with the stretchy material. Other than that, the dress is a dream to wear and most importantly, easy to dance in at weddings :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
March 24, 2015
Runs Small
I absolutlet loved the dress and the quality of it but sadly it ran a bit to small. I ordered a 2 and size 4 for back up and the size 4 was still really snug. I wish it fit good cause it was a really nice dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 23, 2015
I wore this to my boyfriends cousins wedding reception and got so many complements!
This was originally my backup dress but after trying both dresses on, I loved the fit of this dress so much, I ended up wearing it instead of my first choice! The color is much more blue in person but it's still a beautiful color. The fit was perfect, it stopped right above my knees and fit snug to the body but also stretched enough to move around comfortably. Perfect for dancing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
March 11, 2015
Great dress, great fabric! Looks Stunning
It fits very snug but that's what you want with this dress! It was great didn't show any skim imperfections through the material. My boyfriends jaw dropped when I came out with it on.
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×