Elizabeth and James

Purple Bardot Dress

$128 to buy
$365 retail
Stylist Notes

He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you in this sporty and sexy sheath by Elizabeth & James.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – slightly fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless or racerback bra. Try Hollywood’s Bra Converting Clips.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple ponte (54% polyester, 38% viscose, 8% elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Racer back. Pencil skirt with asymmetrical hem and slit. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
211 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(132)
Small
(47)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 17, 2014
Sexy and class!
I loved this dress! The 0 was smaller on my than I expected. I will order the size 2 next time. I did not end up wearing this dress because we got news the wedding was jean casual. Bummer. The style and sharpe is so unique and fun! The dress fell in the middle of my thigh which is what I wanted. The material does show undergarment seams so be prepared to have a solution or special bra/alternative before wearing it. I will definitely order this again to actually wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 24, 2014
Made me look athletic
Very form fitting, make sure you size up! I'm a usual size 6, and I had to wear a size 8
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 16, 2015
Phenomenal Dress for Night Out
I absolutely love this dress! I had previously rented it in white so when I needed a fun night out dress, I knew the blue one would be fantastic. If you are not body conscious and love dresses that hug every curve, this is for you! Forget about spanx, cause it will show right through. Would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 4, 2015
Classy yet a showstopper
This dress is very body-conscious. I was worried as there was no back up size available but I felt the 8 worked, but barely. I did wear a strapless bra and it still zipped, although I think most people could get away without a bra. It is a thicker stretchy fabric but will show any bumps or lumps... I didn't have Spanx but would think that might be a good investment for this dress. I loved the cut of the top, it was very flattering to the arms and shoulders. The color was very pretty and I felt the gold accessories were all it needed. I got several compliments and I felt like a million bucks. I would say that you have to be super comfortable with something form fitted. I think since it was super tight it was balanced out by being high neck and longer. The slit was the perfect amount of leg showing... And the shape of the dress definitely made me look more hourglass than I've ever seemed but I saw that as a good thing. Would definitely rent it again in another color, but only on a day I was feeling skinny!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2015
Gorgeous color!
Great color, very formfitting. I usually wear a 6 but felt much more comfortable in an 8, although I still wore spanx to be safe. I looked very curvy and my fiancé loved it! Will definitely be renting more Elizabeth & James styles in the near future. My only complaint is that there were some frayed edges/ small holes along the seams from multiple uses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2015
Loved this dress!
I love Elizabeth and James dresses! They fit great and hug your body. Material has just enough stretch to it that makes the dress super comfortable to wear too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 24, 2015
Sexy, flattering, figure-hugging fit
Loved this dress, which I wore to a company holiday party. I actually was recommended this dress by a stylist after the backup size in my first choice dress became unexpectedly unavailable, and ended up working out the best. For all the ladies with cut-up shoulders and arms - rock this! It does run small, and is very form fitting - but extremely flattering, and made of thick stretchy fabric that is forgiving. I recommend spanx if you want an extra smooth silhouette. I loved it enough that I ended up renting a similar dress from this designer for a wedding a few months later!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 30, 2015
Fit perfectly and I wish I didn't have to give it back.
I wish I owned this dress. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner that was in outdoors at a bar/restaurant. The color and cut are incredibly flattering while being comfortable. It was a little loose at the chest but I'm an A cup so that's probably why. The material has minimal stretch so I would definitely check reviews to find folks with similar measurements to your self. I ended up pairing the dress with flashy earrings and brown sandal heels. You can easily dress this up or down.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
August 20, 2015
Absolutely stunning and sexy dress
A beautiful dress for a summer evening wedding. It was sexy and form fitting and the color was amazing. The cut was brilliant and really accentuated curves and shoulders. I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2015
Perfect fit
Great color and fit. This dress is sexy but sophisticated.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 13, 2016
The fact that it fit. My second sizes were unavailable, so I was nervous about it not fitting.
Pro: dress fit me like a glove. I felt comfortable, classy, and sexy. I received compliments throughout the night. Con: There was a problem with the dress when I received it. The stitching on the slit was loose and broke. I was able to fix the dress with some stronger stitch work of my own. Could tell it had been fixed before. All in all dress was amazing. Coloring is like a deep plum, photographs more blue. Beautiful color. Works good with nude heels and gold jewelry.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 11, 2016
Great dress! Great material, wish I didn't have to return it!
Perfect dress for the occasion! Amazing material, fit true to size. I am 5'6 ish 140 pounds with an athletic build. Slit did go up a little too high for my taste but I just used some double sided fashion tape and it held up all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 23, 2015
I wore this to my boyfriends cousins wedding reception and got so many complements!
This was originally my backup dress but after trying both dresses on, I loved the fit of this dress so much, I ended up wearing it instead of my first choice! The color is much more blue in person but it's still a beautiful color. The fit was perfect, it stopped right above my knees and fit snug to the body but also stretched enough to move around comfortably. Perfect for dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 127lbs
May 11, 2015
Gorgeous dress!
This dress fit like a glove and hugged my curves perfectly. The dress photographs more of a blue but it is purple. Looks great with statement necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
June 10, 2015
Easy to use
Great color very form fitting. I ordered a larger size and it fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2015
Extremely flattering!
I loved this dress and wish I could've kept it. Gorgeous color - looks more navy in person and photographs more purple. Thicker fabric and a flattering cut - the slit made dancing easy. Wore with a strapless bra because I didn't have a convertible one that matched the neckline and slimmer straps without showing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
November 19, 2015
Best dress ever
The dress fit like a glove! Based on the reviews I was worried that it would be too small or form fitting, and when I first tried it on I immediately ran out and bought some new spanx. However, once you wear it for a little bit the thick material molds to your body. It turned out perfect! Definitely still very form- fitting, but it was hugging my curves in all the right places and skimming over the less flattering ones. I highly recommend walking around your house in it for a half an hour or so before you make any decisions. I wore it for a law school gala and got so many complements. I was turning heads all night, multiple people told me I was "best dressed," and my boyfriend LOVED it. I wish I owned this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 4, 2016
Dress it up or down! It's a hit.
I wore it to an outside wedding at a winery. The color is more vibrant that the pics on the model. The length was Perfect for my comfort level and the slit is a sexy but classy addition. Doesn't breath very much but very stretchy! Wore it with flat sandals for a more casual look. However did look awesome with nude pumps. Strapless bra is a must.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 20, 2016
Perfect
The fit it defiantly true to size. This dress fit like a glove. I normally wear a size 0 but dresses still tend to be "baggy" on me. This dress for perfect and was very good quality! I wore this dress to a friends wedding and received several compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 9, 2016
Purple FTW
Excellent dress. Comfortable to dance in. It was a tiny bit big in the hips but nice and wearable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2016
Dress made me feel super sexy!
Fit was snug but not constricting. The style is modern and sexy without being so revealing (the slit on the side is really only visible when sitting down). The color is a great, jewel tone purple. Overall loved this look and will definitely be renting E&J styles in the future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
December 7, 2016
Fit like a glove!
Loved this dress! The little slit in the front and the racerback added just enough fun for a family get together for an engagement!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 12, 2017
Turned so many heads!!
This was my 2nd RTR rental and it was perfect! Wore this to my cousin's wedding and it, was true to size and fit like a glove. The dress made me feel sexy without being over the top. I received so many compliments through the night. It's been maybe 4 years since this rental and my Nana still talks about this dress! One of my favorite rentals!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 23, 2017
Fit like a glove
This dress fit perfectly and was comfortable.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 22, 2013
Pretty neckline and color
Fit on top was great but somewhat bunchy in the stomach and hips
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
July 9, 2013
Form-fitting dress with class
I couldn't for the life of me find a chic, sexy dress that was also wedding-appropriate, so I was amazed that this one fit the bill perfectly. Thought I'd be wearing the 2 but the 0 fit like a glove--so glad I got the second size! I'm 5'2 and was worried this would be too long on me, but the length was perfect and given how form-fitting it is, the added length classes it up. Super comfortable. I'll either be renting this again or buying it! I wore the Upper Nile necklace along with it (borrowed the look from a fellow reviewer of this dress!) and it was the perfect accessory.
tammieAugust 1, 2013
Hi! I am pretty much same size as you....I am worried this will be too long though. Where did it come on your leg?
susanAugust 2, 2013
it hit a touch below the knee but it really didn't look too long because of the shape of the dress. i definitely recommend it!
MaraAugust 5, 2013
Susan, I am renting this dress and necklace for a wedding in two weeks. I am wondering what color shoes you wore?
susanAugust 5, 2013
Hi Mara- mine were white strappy sandals with gold detail (to match the necklace). i liked the light color against the dark dress. have fun wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 17, 2013
Dress was beautiful but runs a little large in the hips
I rented this dress for an awards show I was attending. I rented the 0 and the 2, I was surprised when I slipped into the 0 perfectly but found it to be too big in the hips. Also, the length was a lot longer than I had anticipated, it hit me just under my knee. I didn't end up wearing the dress to my event because it felt a lot more conservative than I had wanted. However, the dress is beautiful and for the right event and the right body shape...it would be a knockout!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 139lbs
July 31, 2013
Love this dress. Lots of compliments.
Looking foward to rent again! :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 25, 2013
Not quite my shape
My body can be a bit perplexing to dress sometimes. I'm athletic and have broad shoulders and strong legs from years of tennis, but I also have an hourglass shape, with a small waist (24), and curves(ish) (36-37). Usually when dresses don't fit, it's because the waist is too big - but in this case, the entire bottom part of the dress was too big. I would have needed some butt-padded spanx to pull it off :( I think this dress is probably perfect if you're a little more pear shaped.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 26
March 24, 2014
Fast fun affordable
Amazing service! Absolutely love RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 25, 2015
Don't rent if your torso is narrow!
I rented this for my 30th birthday and it looked awful on me. I really liked the color, but the dress is not made for someone who is petite. If you are petite or narrow this will not be the most flattering silhouette on you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 26, 2013
So close, yet so far.
This was a beautiful, well-made dress, but the size 2 was a bit too loose in the hips and halter. Since this was my second dress, I didn't have another size to try. :-(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 6, 2014
Form fitting, thicker material. Did not end up wearing.
I rented this as a back-up and didn't end up needing it. The material was quite thick and heavy so be wary in warm/humid temperatures. The dress was very tight so steer clear if you don't want to show off every part of your body!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
May 7, 2014
I fit into a dress that was tight and fitted! I never wear clothes like that!
I wore this dress for my college graduation. The fit of this dress is definitely on the smaller side. I am a curvy girl and was very nervous about it fitting. When you first put it on, it will be tight, but it loosens up as you wear it. I loved the neckline and the back. I didn't need to wear a strapless bra with this dress that's how tight it was. Everything was held in place and even as it started to fit me, it never lost it's shape. The color is gorgeous. The dress is a statement piece on its own. So fun to wear and can't wait to try it out again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 1, 2014
Too tight for comfort- had to send it back
I really wanted to love this dress because it was super sexy and sleek; however, both of the sizes I rented (size 4 and 6) were too tight for comfort. Knowing that I would be dancing and sitting throughout the night at the wedding I was attending, I knew that I wouldn't be able to be comfortable due to the fit. Sad I couldn't end up wearing it because it was beautiful on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 4, 2014
Rented this dress for a wedding
The dress is absolutely fantastic, but I think it definitely looks more 'sexy' than in the photo. The slit goes pretty high, and it runs really small. I would rent it again for a bachelorette party or date night, but probably not a wedding.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2014
Great time!
Dress fit very well. Both the 4 and 6 fit, but I went with the 6 since is was just a little bit loser and made for easier dancing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 10, 2014
Dress fit nice and was comfortable to wear.
Runs small and is form fitting. Great color . Easy to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 6, 2014
Great bodycon dress
I rented this dress at the last minute for a friends wedding this summer. Unfortunately there was only a size 10 left to rent so I went with it after reading the reviews that it ran small (i normally wear between a 6 and an 8). After trying it on, I probably could have gone with the 8 but it still fit fine. The front slit was a nice touch, however it looked like previous renters may have ripped it and it was sewn back together. After dancing for an hour it started to come undone, making my spanx visible :( Overall I was happy with the dress and would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
July 8, 2014
Didn't wear choose the other dress I rented
Did not wear the event, the dress was very form fitting and tight across the chest. I had rented a different dress that I absolutely loved so I wore that instead.
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×