Purple Bardot Dress

$128 to buy
$365 retail
Stylist Notes

He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you in this sporty and sexy sheath by Elizabeth & James.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – slightly fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless or racerback bra. Try Hollywood’s Bra Converting Clips.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – slightly fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless or racerback bra. Try Hollywood’s Bra Converting Clips.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple ponte (54% polyester, 38% viscose, 8% elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Racer back. Pencil skirt with asymmetrical hem and slit. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
210 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(132)
Small
(47)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 28, 2013
Super easy
Renting was super easy, and easily returned. The dress runs SMALL! Consider sizing up and taking two sizes up as your second. There is a strange flare to the hip, and the racer-back is kind of weird. I couldn't wear a racer-back bra with it and had to go with a strapless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
October 16, 2013
PERFECT WEDDING GUEST DRESS
I loved this dress!! ONly con is finding a bra to wear with it (strapless would work just fine but i like a little more support than that). The color is amazing and i got lots of complements
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 21, 2013
Feeling sexy and confident at a recent benefit
This dress strikes the perfect balance between being elegant and sexy. Something about the way the dress is constructed (the shoulder, the seams, the slit) makes it very figure flattering - it creates a really nice hourglass effect. The dress is well lined so I was able to wear it without a bra no problem. I am usually a 6 and I wore an 8 in this. A 6 would have worked but the 8 was more appropriate for my event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 21, 2013
AMAZING
Loved this dress so much, it looked great with a green necklace! I was so comfrotable and it fit perfectly!! I will be sure to rent this again in a different color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 24, 2013
Great dress!
I didn't end up wearing this dress, but I will definitely rent it again! Hip hugging and form fitted. Very sexy, but still covered enough for a wedding. The material is thick so it hides any flaws and is comfortable enough to wear spanx or a bar underneath.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 25, 2013
Not quite my shape
My body can be a bit perplexing to dress sometimes. I'm athletic and have broad shoulders and strong legs from years of tennis, but I also have an hourglass shape, with a small waist (24), and curves(ish) (36-37). Usually when dresses don't fit, it's because the waist is too big - but in this case, the entire bottom part of the dress was too big. I would have needed some butt-padded spanx to pull it off :( I think this dress is probably perfect if you're a little more pear shaped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 28, 2013
I felt amazing
I wore this dress for a John Legend concert (I was more concerned with getting pictures of him than I was with myself -- hence, no photo, sorry!). The dress is beautiful and I felt amazing in it, it was kind of hard to zip, but I didn't have anyone helping me. I wore spanx to keep my tummy in check, but try to wear the seamless ones, because I felt like you could see the seams in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2013
Loved the dress.
Wore it to a friends wedding. It fit well and was really comfortable. I kind of wish that I owned it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 20, 2013
GORGEOUS, I felt so sexy in this dress!
The dress was tight, but classy. It had a very sexy look to it, but too sexy as to take away from the bride. I loved the feel of the dress, it was nice a tight without being restrictive. If you want to go for a classic, yet sexy look then this is your dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 5, 2013
Beautiful color - true to size!
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner for a wedding my husband was in. It was a great color and was tasteful yet sexy at the same time. Loved it with the Kate Spade necklace I rented as well. Perfect fit and true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2013
This dress was beautiful, but tight across the chest/back.
I was so sad that I didn't get to wear this dress! I'm an athletic girl, a size 6 or sometimes a size 4, so I ordered those two. I wish I would have played it safe and ordered a 6 & 8. The dress is beautiful, but quite tight. It fit great across my hips and stomach, but it wouldn't zip over my chest and back. I'd recommend getting your usual size and one size up just to make sure you can wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 12, 2013
Great for a wedding or formal event
Great fall wedding dress. Although I am not generally a purple fan, the color appears more of a deep blue in person. I thought the dress shape, particularly the neckline, was very unique and flattering. Be aware, however, this dress is very tight so it might not be great for an event where you will be eating a lot. I am usually a 0 in dresses but I ended up wearing the 2.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2013
Best rental yet!
Both the 4 and the 6 fit, but the 4 hugs the body and is sexier. The fabric is stretchy so the dress is comfortable to wear and sit down in. The dress looks blue-ish in a lot of other pictures on the site, however, I think my picture is a good representation of the color in person. It's like a deep royal purple. The only thing I didn't like was that I felt like you could clearly see the outline of the Spanx (seam along stomach and the high waist line). It was my first time wearing Spanx, so I don't know if that's an issue with all tight fitting dresses and Spanx. Regardless, I would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 25, 2013
It was the perfect dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner!
This dress was extremely flattering! I was concerned about the fit of the top, but it was very flattering...even to my non-toned arms/back! I would definitely wear this dress again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 29, 2013
Classy, Sexy with a lot of Confidence!
I wore the Purple Bardot Dress, and paired it with the Carte Blanche Necklace and a tweed 3/4 sleeve black and white jacket for my friend's November wedding dinner rehearsal. I think the necklace was a great contrasting statement piece with the solid colored dress that I didn't need any other standout accessories. The purple was a great color, and the sporty neck line and front slit were really fun and flirty details. I'm usually a size 2 or 4 in dresses, and based on the reviews I shipped the size 4 and 6. I went with the size 6 because it was a very tight dress, super form-fitting and really hugs all your curves. That's what I mean by classy, sexy with a lot of confidence! The dress was a beautiful, heavy and quality material. I wore a strapless bra and spanx underneath. I received a lot of compliments throughout the night and felt great in it. This was my first RTR rental and really enjoyed the experience. I would definitely recommend RTR to anyone, especially for the opportunity to just try RTR, see how the dresses feel on you and learn what else you might like!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2014
2 dresses for 1 - Got tons of compliments and 1 date
Fantastic dress! My measurements are 34-25-37 (32B) and I ordered a 2 and a 4. Both fit but the 4 fit a little better so I ended up wearing the 2 for a New Years party in case some one spilled on it and the 4 for a wedding the next day. Both times I got so many compliments. A stranger stopped me to tell how she couldn't believe how I looked like a magazine pic! And at the wedding I ended up getting asked out by a cute groomsman. All in all def worth the rental fee! Also ordered and wore the Tuleste Market Golden Petal Necklace which was perfect with it. Best dress thus far!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2014
Perfect dress and necklace combo!
I rented this dress for a summer wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. I received lots of compliments about the dress and necklace. The dress is fitted but just the right amount to make it family appropriate. The dress would be great for lots of other occasions, I wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 13, 2014
Chic, sexy and sophisticated!
I wore this to my soon to be brother-in-law's wedding this past weekend (January 2014). I am short, about 5'1", so I was nervous about the length, but it ended up hitting at a good spot on my legs, just under my knee. It didn't look too long at all. It is definitely a tight dress that shows off your body, but in a good way because the material is thick enough to hide imperfections. I got a lot of compliments. The only thing that bothered me was that because it was probably made for someone taller, there was extra fabric in the torso area, but nothing too noticeable. The color, neckline and overall fit of the dress is super flattering. Thanks RTR!
sallyMay 21, 2014
what was the color of shoes you used?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 22, 2014
Hugely flattering, body skimming but polished. Loved this dress.
It's definitely tight but it's a thicker fabric that is very smooth. I would go a size up from what you normally might order.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 24, 2014
Beautiful!
Beautiful dress! It was only available in size 0 (Im a size 2), but i decided to try it anyway. It was a little tight but still so beautiful! I ended up wearing my backup because i wanted a looser fitting dress so that i could dance comfortably. I will definitely rent this dress again if i can get the appropriate size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2014
Feel like your best self in this dress
Perfect dress to wear to a wedding for the gal who wants to dance the night away. Sexy without being slutty, classy and comfortable. I got compliments all night long. Do it. Wear it. Love it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2014
Perfect for a pear shape
This was my back-up dress for an event. My original back-up dress was damaged, and RTR called me to choose an alternate style. I chose this, and it fit beautifully. When I pulled it out of the bag, I could see that it was designed for a pear shape with a small waist and more room in the hips and thighs without being a-line. It also shows off your arms, shoulders, and back, which are usually good features on a pear. The fabric is thick, so you don't need spanx, but I think it would have looked better with a racer-back bra than a strapless bra. I ended up wearing my first choice dress, but this one was my husband's favorite. I will definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 21, 2014
Gorgeous dress, worn for rehearsal dinner.
True to size, very flattering but unforgiving in the mid-section.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2014
Fit like a glove
Amazing dress. True to size, sad I had to give it back! Wish I owned in every color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
March 5, 2014
Wore this to a wedding, it was cocktail attire and this dress was perfect for the occasion!
Dress fits perfectly, great color, got a lot of compliments.
Meghan April 23, 2014
You look stunning in this dress! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 7, 2014
Amazing fit
Beautiful dress! Fit was tight, like a glove (sucked everything in nicely) but the somewhat longer length made it feel appropriate for a wedding. The color is very rich, more purple than cobalt blue. Would definitely rent this dress again (I'm looking for an excuse to rent the white version).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 26
March 24, 2014
Fast fun affordable
Amazing service! Absolutely love RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 24, 2014
Gorgeous, classy, sexy; wore for wedding!
I wore this to my friend's outdoor wedding in Charleston (can you say fairytale?). The fabric is fabulous, and the dress is very well constructed. It's very figure flattering and I liked the hourglass shape/feel. I felt both elegant and sexy, and didn't have to worry about the slit (so fun to rock!) I typically wear a size 2 and it fit well (I knew it was going to be snug - anything smaller would have been a no-no). I did notice a small amount of extra material around my torso, but appreciated the added comfort. The dress fell kindly to my knees; not too long and it didn't bunch up while dancing! l loved the racer back. It's a well lined dress so it did not demand a bra. I paired the dress with nude stilettos, a gold cuff and a cream statement necklace. Received many kind compliments. The color is vibrant, and the worst part was having to return it. Perfection! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 104lbs
March 25, 2014
Close but no cigar.
Rented the 0 and the 2, didn't wear either. Both fit but not perfectly, size depends on how tight you want it. The dress hugged my body in the 0 and was the right length and skimmed it in the 2 and was a bit long. Also tried the 4 on before, way too big, especially in the hips and length. There was also a bit too much extra fabric on both the 0 and the 2 in the torso length for me. It created extra fabric ripples. Not a big deal but not great. Vibrant color though and the racer back is awesome. I tried a racer back bra with it and noticed it would have to be tacked down with fashion tape around the neck.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2014
Great color, very flattering fit, super comfortable - loved it!
Super cute, would totally rent this dress again. Got so many compliments!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
March 31, 2014
Great dress! Easy to wear & accessorize!
I think the fit isn't as loose as some of the reviews I read. It was snug but very well made. The color is beautiful and the cut is simple so it is easy to have fun with jewelry, shoes, jackets, etc.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 2, 2014
Feeling sexy but not flashy.
Fits like a glove, spanx are advised. Mind the slit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
April 8, 2014
Hot and polished.
This sucker is snug but the material is such a great quality spanks were not necessary. I say it runs small though. I wore a size up from what I normally wear and it was still snug. Great for a night you are trying to ride the line between classy and smokin'. Get a fun statement necklace and the look is complete.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
April 12, 2014
The Chic Bombshell Dress
I rented this dress for a party, and wow... it is something! I ordered a size 2 and 4, both fit... but I went with the size 4 because I just feel more comfortable in it for THIS event. I plan on renting the white for my birthday, and I'll probably go with the 2. The only con, and it's a REALLY TINY con, is that it is a little longer than I would like... for a 5'2 shortie like me, it hits at an odd place on my knee (almost mid-knee).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 14, 2014
I everyone kept telling me a looked like a model
The dress fit so well. It is form fitting so make sure you have spanx or something that will lay smooth. The dress is so sexy yet classy at the same time. Everyone kept coming up to me and saying how amazing I looked. If you are a tall girl with curves this dress is the one for you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 18, 2014
Simple and classy, great neckline.
I rented this for a Bar Mitzvah and ended up wearing the 4 because the 2 was tight tight. It's a super simple dress and definitely needs serious statement jewelry. The color is beautiful and the cut is fun for such a basic dress. Just know you should be happy with your stomach because it shows a lot. I wore a strapless bra because I didn't want straps showing, but the dress is tight enough it holds the girls down no problem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 26, 2014
Great Dress
This was the perfect dress. I wore to a wedding and literally got so many compliments it was crazy. The dress is classy yet sexy with the racerback and slit. I would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
April 26, 2014
Rented this for a spring wedding. Form fitting, yet classy!
This dress was really pretty - perfect for the spring wedding I recently attended. It is form fitting, but still very classy. My boyfriend loved it too. I wore it with blue-green gold rimmed tear drop earrings and a simple Kendra Scott gold cuff with black heels. It is true to size and fits like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 27, 2014
Loved!
Wore this dress to a wedding, and it was so fun and comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
May 2, 2014
Omg thank you stylist at RTR!!! Luv you girls your so fantastic
My original dress was damaged by the previous girl and they sent this in addition to other dresses and she picked perfect for me!! The neckline of this dress is gorgeous very flattering!! Sexy and comfy! Great dress for cocktail party or wedding loved it'
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×