Rent the Runway

Elizabeth and James

Purple Bardot Dress

$35 rental
$365 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you in this sporty and sexy sheath by Elizabeth & James. Make a statement by pairing the and great cuff with Dannijo’s Samirah Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – slightly fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless or racerback bra. Try Hollywood’s Bra Converting Clips.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – slightly fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless or racerback bra. Try Hollywood’s Bra Converting Clips.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple ponte (54% polyester, 38% viscose, 8% elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Racer back. Pencil skirt with asymmetrical hem and slit. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

181 reviews

Fit
Small 41
True to Size 120
Large 8
Photos 113
Avery
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 1, 2013

Easy, simple and loved the dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Normal fit, was a little big in the hips but only because I have no butt. Otherwise its comfortable, and flattering.
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
May 6, 2013

Not enough great things to say about this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have a lot of words. First of all, the material is not at all what I expected. "scuba" was used to describe it but it is definitely a soft, canvasy, stretchy cloth-like material. It's very tight and hugs every curve- I wore spanx underneath but was still comfortable enough to dance all night. I wish I had taken a picture in a full length mirror but this pre-wedding one is all I had time for! It was perfect for a cocktail-attire wedding- the color was very popular but the shape of the dress was unique, not weird. The slit is tinier than I expected it to be which was good because this particular wedding was pretty conservative. I had a great time in this dress and felt great. To sum up, I thought this dress was sexy but tasteful and perfect for my body type (with spanx!).
Desiree
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111 lbs
May 23, 2013

My Eldest daughters Mizzou college graduation! Friday night's ceremony! This is a fabulous dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I ordered the 0, my usual size, and the 2 as a backup. I LOVE the backup service! If you are an hourglass figure and have a larger bustline. definitely size up. I also ordered the necklace as pictured and it is a perfect compliment to the dress.. The ensemble is elegant, flattering, and sexy all at the same time. It really shows off your shoulders and arms and shows off your curves. The racerback style is fabulous although I did not wear my long hair up for full effect. I love RTR and have marked this dress as one of my favorites! I RECOMMEND this dress and necklace, I paired it with simple diamond studs and open toe black pumps. Fantastic.
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
May 24, 2013

Secret Little Gem!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am obsessed with this dress. I had rented another dress which unfortunately didn't work out and only had a 24-hour window to exchange it for my event the next day. RTR's amazing customer service came to the rescue and suggested this dress as my alternate back-up dress. I am not sure I would have picked this one on my own and so glad I went for it as it turned out to be a show stopper. I wore it to the rehearsal dinner party and received tons of compliments. The cut really shows off the shoulders and back which I loved. The slit was tasteful and the length was perfect for a wedding affair. Rent this dress, you won't be disappointed.
Royale
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

This dress made my VERY FIRST Red Carpet Walk a flawless success!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I had to look my best! My film was premiering & having the perfect "sexy yet not too dressed" outfit was key. This dress does hug every curve, which I loved. It was "just sexy enough" with tons of class. I would say grab a size larger if you don't want it to look painted on. I found that the bust section fit better without a bra...and this coming from someone with sizable bust. It eliminated complication with straps. I received SO many compliments! Thank you RTR! I'll be back. ;)
brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Loved this dress! Fit like a glove and fabric was amazing.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress ran true to size, fit perfectly, and the fabric was great. It was very form fitting, but thick enough so you didn't feel like it was too revealing. It also had a bit of stretch to it, making it very comfortable.
c
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Jun 24, 2013

Beautiful!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress! The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because A. The slit is completely different than shown (much smaller in real life). and B. it runs about 2 sizes smaller than your normal size. I ordered the biggest size they had and definitely had to squeeze into it. I could have definitely used a size up. All that aside, it was still gorgeous and very flattering! I got a ton of compliments! I would definitely rent this again. In fact, I would buy this if I could find it!
d
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 7, 2013

Amaze!!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was stunning, it fit to perfection, really showed off your curves. it was a little long for me ( im 4'11) but otherwise was perfect. Received a lot of compliments! Would highley recommend this dress.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Jul 7, 2013

Beautiful dress. Not for every figure.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I love this dress but if you're even a little self conscious be warned. This dress is meant to be tight and I would recommend spanx. If you're tall and skinny this dress would look amazing! Unfortunately for me, this could not be worn.
susan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

Form-fitting dress with class

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I couldn't for the life of me find a chic, sexy dress that was also wedding-appropriate, so I was amazed that this one fit the bill perfectly. Thought I'd be wearing the 2 but the 0 fit like a glove--so glad I got the second size! I'm 5'2 and was worried this would be too long on me, but the length was perfect and given how form-fitting it is, the added length classes it up. Super comfortable. I'll either be renting this again or buying it! I wore the Upper Nile necklace along with it (borrowed the look from a fellow reviewer of this dress!) and it was the perfect accessory.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 12, 2013

Perfect dress! Loved the shape and color!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress definitely runs small. I do have wider hips and bit of a booty, which is where this dress was the tightest on me. However, I agree with the other comments that the material is thick enough so that the snug fit is not unflattering- it kind of smooths everything out. The dress was sexy and classy and I got soo many compliments (and many recruits to Rent the Runway!)
Teri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 16, 2013

Hawt!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress! I rented it in a 10, thinking there would be no way I could squeeze into an 8, and the 10 fit me perfectly. This dress is just perfect, assuming you have the body for it. It's somewhat forgiving for such a form-fitting dress - I wore it with some shapewear and a strapless bra. I don't know what else to say...this dress was just perect on me and I can't wait to rent it in white!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 17, 2013

Dress was beautiful but runs a little large in the hips

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for an awards show I was attending. I rented the 0 and the 2, I was surprised when I slipped into the 0 perfectly but found it to be too big in the hips. Also, the length was a lot longer than I had anticipated, it hit me just under my knee. I didn't end up wearing the dress to my event because it felt a lot more conservative than I had wanted. However, the dress is beautiful and for the right event and the right body shape...it would be a knockout!
Annie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 139 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

Love this dress. Lots of compliments.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Looking foward to rent again! :)
Phuong
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 11, 2013

Loved the way this dress made me feel!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is definitely for those who are comfortable with their curves, and if you have curves and are proud of them, rock out in this dress! It's very form-fitting, but the stretchy fabric is surprisingly thick and sturdy, giving it a designer feel. I wish I had ordered the 6 as my backup size just to see if it would fit my hips better, but the 4 worked just fine. However, be warned that because of the fit of the dress, using Spanx from RTR won't work because the seams will show (order seamless Spanx from elsewhere). Loved that the length made it conservative enough for a wedding, but the fit was sexy and the cut at the top really flatters the shoulders. The solid color also makes it easy to pair with a statement necklace. I would totally consider buying this dress.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Loved this dress! Hugs the curves but doesn't feel too tight.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt great in this dress all night. It wasn't too tight but it still shows off your curves. I ordered a 4 and 6 but went with the 6 because it wasn't as tight around my stomach.
megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 14, 2013

Amazing! Sexy and classy dress, perfect combination!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am usually a size 4 but RTR only had a size 2 in the dress... luckily, it worked! A little tight but overall it was the perfect dress for the occasion. I felt awesome and received many compliments. I paired the dress with black strappy sandals, gold bangles and Alexis Bittar Seaglass Lattice Teardrop earrings (through RTR). Since they only had the dress in a size 2 RTR offered to send any other dress in size 4... they were extremely accommodating and professional! I would absolutely use them again.
Mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

Confidence booster! Wish I could wear this every week!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I said this dress was "true to size" and it is, but keep in mind that it is meant to fit skin tight. I didn't have a lot of room for movement and it came with some loose thread at the slit so I pinned it for safety. Although it wasn't easy to move in, I had no trouble dancing the night away... and the morning too! I felt great in this dress and wish I could own it. I have never had more compliments on how I looked and my waist has NEVER looked so small. I wore spanks, and I took the dress completely off every time I went to the bathroom. The color is a little more blue than the model picture, but gorgeous and versatile with a number of accessories. My only disappointment is that I didn't get a picture of it... I was too busy having a good time. :) I wore it with a skinny string of pearls and black heels. RENT THIS DRESS! You won't be sorry.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

Great bodycon dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress at the last minute for a friends wedding this summer. Unfortunately there was only a size 10 left to rent so I went with it after reading the reviews that it ran small (i normally wear between a 6 and an 8). After trying it on, I probably could have gone with the 8 but it still fit fine. The front slit was a nice touch, however it looked like previous renters may have ripped it and it was sewn back together. After dancing for an hour it started to come undone, making my spanx visible :( Overall I was happy with the dress and would rent it again.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 8, 2014

Didn't wear choose the other dress I rented

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Did not wear the event, the dress was very form fitting and tight across the chest. I had rented a different dress that I absolutely loved so I wore that instead.
Kara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Unfortunate mishap

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered a six but it was damaged so I was unable to recieve it. The back up eight was too big :(. The color and cut of the dress were great. Rent the runway sent me two,other dresses in its place :). It was just too and I dint get to wear this one!
Shannie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The 4 was a lot tighter than I expected but the 6 was too big. I think I am just not used to wearing skin tight dresses ha! Received tons of compliments and the color was spectacular.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 13, 2014

Another great dress by Elizabeth and James!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I almost rented a different dress, but I'm so happy I went with this one. The material wasn't quite as thick as the Blue Parrot dress by Elizabeth and James, but it was still very comfortable and flattering. I could have probably worn my usual size 6, but the size 8 still worked out well. I felt great all night!
natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Aug 21, 2014

Just ok

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Fabric wrinkles at the waist if seated for prolonged period of time (dinner) super tight dress and great for curves but tight under arms and on legs. More of a stand around at a party dress than a dinner or dancing dress.
erika
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Got SOOOO MANYYY Compliments

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The color is a gorgeous mix between royal blue and deep purple - looks amazing with gold and beige accessories. Wore to a wedding in Florida and got SO MANY compliments! The length is perfect since I am self-conscious about my legs and the cut around the shoulders is so different. Wish I bought this dress!
Melina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Looks amazing! Fitted and true to size

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fits true to size, nice color.
EBS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

High quality dress and very comfortable.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Simple but not boring.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 11, 2014

Sexy and classy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress and would love to find it to buy. I am a size 4 or 6 depending on designer. I ordered both but the 4 become unavailable so I received the 6 with a couple other dress options RTR sent to me. Luckily the 6 was a perfect fit! I felt amazing in the dress. It is perfect for a pear or hourglass shape hugging the curves in all the right places. The slit is pretty high up when you sit so that is something to note but I was able to manage because I was at a table most of the night when sitting so it wasn't all leg all the time for people to see. The length is totally classy and the slit made it sexy and fun. Another successful RTR experience!
Karla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

Sexy and class!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! The 0 was smaller on my than I expected. I will order the size 2 next time. I did not end up wearing this dress because we got news the wedding was jean casual. Bummer. The style and sharpe is so unique and fun! The dress fell in the middle of my thigh which is what I wanted. The material does show undergarment seams so be prepared to have a solution or special bra/alternative before wearing it. I will definitely order this again to actually wear!
sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

LOVED this dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing!! Form fitting and very flattering. The color was a deep blue color and the lines of the dress were just amazing. I got so many compliments. It is a great rental!
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Not quite right

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I fit in both sizes 2 & 4, but the 4 was a bit more comfortable. The only reason I didn't love this dress was the length. Even with the slit, I found the length a bit matronly (I am 5'5" but a bit longer in the torso, so maybe that was my problem). I may have still worn it to a wedding or another event where I wanted to dress conservatively, but I didn't love it for a party in a casino. Good quality dress though.
TH
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Mar 11, 2015

Great dress, great fabric! Looks Stunning

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It fits very snug but that's what you want with this dress! It was great didn't show any skim imperfections through the material. My boyfriends jaw dropped when I came out with it on.
Joline
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

Runs Small

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I absolutlet loved the dress and the quality of it but sadly it ran a bit to small. I ordered a 2 and size 4 for back up and the size 4 was still really snug. I wish it fit good cause it was a really nice dress.
Erica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 31, 2015

LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color and fit were perfect! I wore this dress for a CA wedding in October and received so many compliments! I wore a bright yellow necklace with the dress and the colors really popped together. The material was more on the thick side, but it a good way. It hugs your curves and shows off just enough skin. Great dress!! I would love to have this one in my closet!
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
May 19, 2015

Classy with just enough spice

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very form-fitting but comfortable enough for me. The lines of my strapless bra was visible through the dress so I opted to go sans bra and used petal covers instead. The dress is tight enough to hold everything UP and together. I could tell that the dress was worn and washed many times from the quality of the fabric and the loose/unraveled seams but I liked the dress too much to care. I was complimented by many. There was enough coverage to be worn at a wedding (with lots of family, elders, and kids) but the fit was enough to garner attention.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 20, 2015

All eyes on me...

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Work
I loved the color and fit of this dress. It is not as dull color-wise as it looks on the model. I wore it to a business/benefit dinner and it was all eyes on me. The high neckline makes the dress conservative, but the form fitting fabric and high slit gives it the added sexiness. Perfect for a business dinner! I would rent this again for a work function.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
May 30, 2015

Fit perfectly and I wish I didn't have to give it back.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I wish I owned this dress. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner that was in outdoors at a bar/restaurant. The color and cut are incredibly flattering while being comfortable. It was a little loose at the chest but I'm an A cup so that's probably why. The material has minimal stretch so I would definitely check reviews to find folks with similar measurements to your self. I ended up pairing the dress with flashy earrings and brown sandal heels. You can easily dress this up or down.
Hillery
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 3, 2015

Tiiight!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Turned out to be too tight for me-- I usually fit in a 4, sometimes a 6, but this wasn't available in the 6 for my dates. Couldn't wear it, but my sister did! Otherwise, it's flattering but revealing. Lovely color.
Claire
Age: 24
Jun 5, 2015

Loved the fit. high quality fabric. Flattering on my athletic/straight body type. Very comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Wore a size up from my normal size.
byrdy13
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

This dress is an absolutely beautiful color and fits great. Dare I say slimming even.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a daytime wedding. Went for the larger size so I could eat, but the dress has plenty of stretch and could have easily gotten away with the smaller size as well. Very comfortable, beautiful color and photographed well.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×