Rent the Runway

Elizabeth and James

Purple Bardot Dress

$35 rental
$365 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you in this sporty and sexy sheath by Elizabeth & James. Make a statement by pairing the and great cuff with Dannijo’s Samirah Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – slightly fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless or racerback bra. Try Hollywood’s Bra Converting Clips.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – slightly fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless or racerback bra. Try Hollywood’s Bra Converting Clips.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple ponte (54% polyester, 38% viscose, 8% elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Racer back. Pencil skirt with asymmetrical hem and slit. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

165 reviews

Fit
Small 36
True to Size 116
Large 7
Photos 106
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 26, 2013

Dress was a perfect fit and a hit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable fit. Great lines. I had lots of compliments and felt amazing. Another hit from RTR!
kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 4, 2014

Perfect dress for a wedding. Classy/sexy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to fit. Loved this dress! Will rent again :)
Trudy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
May 4, 2014

At the restaurant two older ladies complemented me and that made me feel beautiful.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fits true to size. No issues with this dress at all.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 4, 2014

Sapphire, form-fitting, and minimalist!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful color, a bit more snug than expected- might want to wear spanx around waist, because it shows all! Quality fabric with lots of give, so not too bad in that sense. No need for much jewelry, as the geometric cut adds enough interest. Wear hair up to show off shoulders- I made a mistake and wore it down. No bra needed, but wore a sticky for extra coverage. A little tight around the bottom, so you can't take long strides! Great for a cocktail party or less traditional wedding.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 165 lbs
May 6, 2014

Sleek and Sophisticated!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a friend's wedding where she asked her house party to wear dark purple. The dress fit great & had some stretch which was nice. As a lover of Spanx, I had to keep an eye on the slit and make sure they weren't showing but I think the extra "support" made the dress look even better! Loved this dress & wish I could own it!
linds
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168 lbs
May 7, 2014

I fit into a dress that was tight and fitted! I never wear clothes like that!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my college graduation. The fit of this dress is definitely on the smaller side. I am a curvy girl and was very nervous about it fitting. When you first put it on, it will be tight, but it loosens up as you wear it. I loved the neckline and the back. I didn't need to wear a strapless bra with this dress that's how tight it was. Everything was held in place and even as it started to fit me, it never lost it's shape. The color is gorgeous. The dress is a statement piece on its own. So fun to wear and can't wait to try it out again!
Alexandra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 7, 2014

I received so many compliments this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely amazing, it fit the body live a glove and was very flattering. The color was a little bit more blue than purple, but either way it was perfect for this event! In love with it!
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 11, 2014

Stunning

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove. From the previous reviews, I was a little concerned I would need spanx and be forced to go braless at a family event. Luckily, neither was the case. I felt and looked fabulous, and I'm so pleased with this rental. I wish I owned this dress.
meghan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 13, 2014

The dress hugs in all right places. Want to buy this in every color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size. Will be a little long if u have shorter legs but overall amazing dress and fabric
Tricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 21, 2014

Necklace & dress combo worked perfectly. Paired with nude pumps.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Size 4 wasn't available so overall fit was snug but not because of the dress - definitely ran true to size. Material had a solid balance of structure and stretch. Length was on the shorter side for my height but I still felt comfortable all evening.
DS
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 22, 2014

I wore this dress to an engagement party.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is super comfortable and really form fitting. I normally wear a 0 and a 0 in this dress was a little too tight for me. I opted to wear the backup size instead, a size 2. You have to wear a strapless bra with it because the top part of the dress is narrow and will show bra straps. Order a size up than you normally wear if you don't want the dress to be too tight.
Tamara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 23, 2014

Flattering, Amazing Color

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this for an early fall wedding in New England, was a perfect selection. The material was thick and created a spanx-like effect. I got so many compliments on the dress, and particularly how flattering it was to my figure. I am small chested so no bra was necessary, the back may or may not support a regular bra. Wish I had a better photo, but I always forget to take a full length shot! As others notes, the slit is much smaller on the dress than it appears in the model photo, but I personally liked that for a wedding.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Loved the fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric is thick enough to suck you in but doesn't get too hot. Loved the slit on the leg and got compliments on the dress all night! I wore spanx shorts underneath so that I wouldn't have any lines and for better smoothing. Worked great! Wish this dress hung in my closet all the time!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Felt classy and sassy in this body con purple number!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a super flattering dress and really made me pop at the wedding. It shows off your shape and since the fabric is thick, it holds you in! I loved it, so comfortable too. I also liked that it wasn't super short, but it was easy to show off a little leg in the slit on the side! Lots of compliments- great color and you can have fun with any by necklace too!
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

Rented this dress for a wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is absolutely fantastic, but I think it definitely looks more 'sexy' than in the photo. The slit goes pretty high, and it runs really small. I would rent it again for a bachelorette party or date night, but probably not a wedding.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Lots of compliments- really flattering and curve hugging. Looks great with gold jewelry.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits like a glove. No need for a bra. Nice, thick fabric.
Marilou
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Dress fit nice and was comfortable to wear.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Runs small and is form fitting. Great color . Easy to dance in.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Fun to pair with statement jewelry!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress with the Kate Spade Mayan Alabaster neckless and it looked great together. The dress is form fitting so you may want to size up.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

This dress was exactly as promised!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a lot of compliments! The material was thick, so even though the dress was tight, it accentuated my figure without be too revealing. It was also a beautiful color.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 24, 2014

Didn't want to return it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is a stunner, and my fiance was showering me with compliments all night. It fits extremely snug and doesn't have tons of give in the fabric, but while you may want to size up for your back-up size, the dress really does "wow" when it fits snugly and made me feel comfortable that everything is in place all day :-). While the dress may be form fitting, the length is long enough (even on a taller person) to feel perfectly appropriate. I had so much fun wearing this dress and wish I had another event coming up soon for another excuse to rent it!
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 14, 2014

Classy and sophisticated but not for the body conscious!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I enjoyed this rental quite a bit, it was a beautiful color and style, however, I wore my usual size 10 and probably could have gotten away with an 8. Ladies, this dress is supposed to be form fitting and tight, and the fabric has lots of stretch to it. For me, the 10 fit but was a tad loose in the waist (typical for me as an hourglass shape though). I would of worn Spanx had I had them for a little extra help keeping things sucked in, but it was fine without too. I just constantly had to remember to stand up straight and keep the abs tight. This dress is definitely not for the body conscious as it definitely shows off all of your curves! Overall, it was a great dress for a wedding, the fabric was not very breathable though, so I would not recommend it for an outdoor wedding or reception.
A-Bomb
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 149 lbs
Jul 19, 2014

Comfortable and sexy

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was the most amazing dress I've ever worn besides my wedding dress. ;) The material is thick and stretchy, so it feels substantial when wearing it. I wore spanks underneath and you couldn't notice the lines at all. You can wear a strapless bra no problem. It fits pretty tight, so I would recommend getting your true size not a size smaller. It's the perfect length, and the cut around the neck and the slit at the bottom give it just the right amount of sexiness! HIGHLY recommend this...I'm definitely going to rent it again.
Kaitie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

I lovedddddd this dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress! It fit me like a glove and I didn't even have to wear a bra (I'm a 34 DDD). It was amazing. I have no cons about this dress at all! As usual, RTR went above and beyond to help me get the perfect dress for this event.
Jen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Loved this dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So, its tough being tall sometimes. Finding a dress that is appropriate AND flattering is hard! I scoured RTRR and found this dress. It was PERFECT. I chose the 6 because it was a tad longer but the 4 would have been totally fine. I got a ton of compliments, and kind of want to keep it!
mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

Very flattering dress in a gorgeous color

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The 8 I got fit perfectly but was a little short (Too revealing for a formal dinner party) so I wore the 10. It gapped a little at the bust but it still hugged my figure in a very flattering way. The color is gorgeous and the material is thick so it hides all the lumpy bits :). If you're super tall, definitely go a size up because the slit can be a little too high if the size isn't right.
Christine
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
Aug 29, 2014

Fits like a glove

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was true to size, a great fit! I initially wanted it in white but my size was not available for the date I needed it by so I was thinking I was settling with this color but boy was I wrong it was perfect! I loved pairing it with a statement necklace and matching heels, it is an effortlessly simple and classy dress. It was perfect for my mother's 50th surprise birthday party! Rent it now!
Shari
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114 lbs
Aug 30, 2014

Amazing dress & beautiful color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is definitely cut to hug the body and it does. I LOVED it! Only the size 2 was available at the time that I rented and it fit perfectly. The only thing I would've liked better is a lining made of something that slides against the skin a little better. I rented it to take pro pics for my fitness & spray tan business marketing and it definitely fit the bill for the look I was after. Sleek and classy! =)
Kendra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

This was a great dress to wear to an outdoor summer wedding.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very form fitting, yet comfortable! Fit like a glove, but in a way that made you feel good, instead of self-conscious. I would love to own this dress.
morgan
Age: 24
Oct 12, 2014

The dress was everything and more.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the fit.
Lynn
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Fit like a glove and made you feel comfortable but sexy! Obsessed with this dress and wish I owned!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very tight with a small amount of give which made getting low on the dance floor slightly complicated...but can be done. If you have any boobs whatsoever I don't know how it would work but for me it was perfect! Super thick material and beautiful color. Loved everything about it .
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Made me look athletic

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
Very form fitting, make sure you size up! I'm a usual size 6, and I had to wear a size 8
RTR is amazing
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Nov 30, 2014

Rent this! Just size up! A bit tight...

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It fits very similar to what is on the model... even though she is probably a size 00 and 5 foot 11. I am ALWAYS a 0 or 2 dress depending on the designer/style. ALL dresses in this brand are snug! I wore the 2 and it was still snug. It does give a little room by the end of the evening will hold the form fitting effect. Simply it will not look stretched out. Beautiful dress. I have a thin frame but am not very toned. This dress made me feel like I had a rock hard body. I would love to buy this dress. If you are an in-between size definitely get the larger size and possibly a back up even larger. Again- I am a 0 or a 2. Next time I will order a 2 and a 4 as my back up. All of the photos from the event ended up not showing the dress. Guys never take full body shots - what is wrong with them? We wear pretty dresses for a reason! Anyhow... these aren't great photos but they will have to do. Also, you can comfortably wear a strapless bra no problem.
Mali
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

A classy kind of sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
super comfortable! I didn't need a bra. seamless panties are a must!
V
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my backup dress, and I was really concerned because only a size 2 was available. However, the size 2 fit absolutely perfectly, and I loved it so much that I wore it instead of my original dress! I would love to own this dress. When I took it out of the box it smelled really nice, which I liked! The only minor issue was that there seemed to be some slight discoloration under the arms (it was a little white, like from deodorant buildup). But it wasn't noticeable to other people, and other than that it was absolutely perfect. The material is thick and holds everything in - no need for a bra. The slit hit me in the perfect spot. I received compliments all night!
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

Perfect cocktail dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I needed a dress for a cocktail party and this was the winner- I was SO happy with it! The color was more vivid than pictured which I loved. The cut of the top and the bottom are so different and very flattering. Fit like a glove but very comfortable. I am 5'5 and the length was just below my knee.
Meesh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 16, 2015

Phenomenal Dress for Night Out

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I absolutely love this dress! I had previously rented it in white so when I needed a fun night out dress, I knew the blue one would be fantastic. If you are not body conscious and love dresses that hug every curve, this is for you! Forget about spanx, cause it will show right through. Would definitely rent it again!
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

I wore this to my boyfriends cousins wedding reception and got so many complements!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
This was originally my backup dress but after trying both dresses on, I loved the fit of this dress so much, I ended up wearing it instead of my first choice! The color is much more blue in person but it's still a beautiful color. The fit was perfect, it stopped right above my knees and fit snug to the body but also stretched enough to move around comfortably. Perfect for dancing!
Megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

This dress fit like a glove and hugs you in all the right places! The color is stunning!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely order two sizes to see which fits best as the slit can pull a little too much with the stretchy material. Other than that, the dress is a dream to wear and most importantly, easy to dance in at weddings :)
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 4, 2015

Classy yet a showstopper

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very body-conscious. I was worried as there was no back up size available but I felt the 8 worked, but barely. I did wear a strapless bra and it still zipped, although I think most people could get away without a bra. It is a thicker stretchy fabric but will show any bumps or lumps... I didn't have Spanx but would think that might be a good investment for this dress. I loved the cut of the top, it was very flattering to the arms and shoulders. The color was very pretty and I felt the gold accessories were all it needed. I got several compliments and I felt like a million bucks. I would say that you have to be super comfortable with something form fitted. I think since it was super tight it was balanced out by being high neck and longer. The slit was the perfect amount of leg showing... And the shape of the dress definitely made me look more hourglass than I've ever seemed but I saw that as a good thing. Would definitely rent it again in another color, but only on a day I was feeling skinny!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Gorgeous color!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
Great color, very formfitting. I usually wear a 6 but felt much more comfortable in an 8, although I still wore spanx to be safe. I looked very curvy and my fiancé loved it! Will definitely be renting more Elizabeth & James styles in the near future. My only complaint is that there were some frayed edges/ small holes along the seams from multiple uses.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×