You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Purple Bardot Dress
Rental $75 Retail $365
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you in this sporty and sexy sheath by Elizabeth & James. Make a statement by pairing the and great cuff with Dannijo’s Samirah Necklace.

Also available in white.
Chat with a Stylist
Purple ponte (54% polyester, 38% viscose, 8% elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Racer back. Pencil skirt with asymmetrical hem and slit. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – slightly fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless or racerback bra. Try Hollywood’s Bra Converting Clips.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos56

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Jul 7, 2013
Beautiful dress. Not for every figure.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I love this dress but if you're even a little self conscious be warned. This dress is meant to be tight and I would recommend spanx. If you're tall and skinny this dress would look amazing! Unfortunately for me, this could not be worn.
d
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Jul 7, 2013
Amaze!!!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was stunning, it fit to perfection, really showed off your curves. it was a little long for me ( im 4'11) but otherwise was perfect. Received a lot of compliments! Would highley recommend this dress.
c
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6433
Jun 24, 2013
Beautiful!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress! The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because A. The slit is completely different than shown (much smaller in real life). and B. it runs about 2 sizes smaller than your normal size. I ordered the biggest size they had and definitely had to squeeze into it. I could have definitely used a size up. All that aside, it was still gorgeous and very flattering! I got a ton of compliments! I would definitely rent this again. In fact, I would buy this if I could find it!
brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Jun 18, 2013
Loved this dress! Fit like a glove and fabric was amazing.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress ran true to size, fit perfectly, and the fabric was great. It was very form fitting, but thick enough so you didn't feel like it was too revealing. It also had a bit of stretch to it, making it very comfortable.
Royale
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Jun 17, 2013
This dress made my VERY FIRST Red Carpet Walk a flawless success!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I had to look my best! My film was premiering & having the perfect "sexy yet not too dressed" outfit was key. This dress does hug every curve, which I loved. It was "just sexy enough" with tons of class. I would say grab a size larger if you don't want it to look painted on. I found that the bust section fit better without a bra...and this coming from someone with sizable bust. It eliminated complication with straps. I received SO many compliments! Thank you RTR! I'll be back. ;)
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 3542
May 24, 2013
Secret Little Gem!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am obsessed with this dress. I had rented another dress which unfortunately didn't work out and only had a 24-hour window to exchange it for my event the next day. RTR's amazing customer service came to the rescue and suggested this dress as my alternate back-up dress. I am not sure I would have picked this one on my own and so glad I went for it as it turned out to be a show stopper. I wore it to the rehearsal dinner party and received tons of compliments. The cut really shows off the shoulders and back which I loved. The slit was tasteful and the length was perfect for a wedding affair. Rent this dress, you won't be disappointed.
Desiree
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2623
May 23, 2013
My Eldest daughters Mizzou college graduation! Friday night's ceremony! This is a fabulous dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I ordered the 0, my usual size, and the 2 as a backup. I LOVE the backup service! If you are an hourglass figure and have a larger bustline. definitely size up. I also ordered the necklace as pictured and it is a perfect compliment to the dress.. The ensemble is elegant, flattering, and sexy all at the same time. It really shows off your shoulders and arms and shows off your curves. The racerback style is fabulous although I did not wear my long hair up for full effect. I love RTR and have marked this dress as one of my favorites! I RECOMMEND this dress and necklace, I paired it with simple diamond studs and open toe black pumps. Fantastic.
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
May 6, 2013
Not enough great things to say about this dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have a lot of words. First of all, the material is not at all what I expected. "scuba" was used to describe it but it is definitely a soft, canvasy, stretchy cloth-like material. It's very tight and hugs every curve- I wore spanx underneath but was still comfortable enough to dance all night. I wish I had taken a picture in a full length mirror but this pre-wedding one is all I had time for! It was perfect for a cocktail-attire wedding- the color was very popular but the shape of the dress was unique, not weird. The slit is tinier than I expected it to be which was good because this particular wedding was pretty conservative. I had a great time in this dress and felt great. To sum up, I thought this dress was sexy but tasteful and perfect for my body type (with spanx!).
Avery
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2333
May 1, 2013
Easy, simple and loved the dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Normal fit, was a little big in the hips but only because I have no butt. Otherwise its comfortable, and flattering.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Canonical User Type: 3543
Apr 8, 2014
Hot and polished.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This sucker is snug but the material is such a great quality spanks were not necessary. I say it runs small though. I wore a size up from what I normally wear and it was still snug. Great for a night you are trying to ride the line between classy and smokin'. Get a fun statement necklace and the look is complete.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Apr 2, 2014
Feeling sexy but not flashy.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fits like a glove, spanx are advised. Mind the slit.
Cat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3431
Mar 25, 2014
Great color, very flattering fit, super comfortable - loved it!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super cute, would totally rent this dress again. Got so many compliments!
***
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 104 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Mar 25, 2014
Close but no cigar.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented the 0 and the 2, didn't wear either. Both fit but not perfectly, size depends on how tight you want it. The dress hugged my body in the 0 and was the right length and skimmed it in the 2 and was a bit long. Also tried the 4 on before, way too big, especially in the hips and length. There was also a bit too much extra fabric on both the 0 and the 2 in the torso length for me. It created extra fabric ripples. Not a big deal but not great. Vibrant color though and the racer back is awesome. I tried a racer back bra with it and noticed it would have to be tacked down with fashion tape around the neck.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6544
Mar 24, 2014
Perfect dress.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is definitely more blue than purple but the color is gorgeous. True to size, but if in between sizes I'd go one size down. Dress is quite fitted but doesn't show imperfections. Received many compliments! Wish I could keep it.
Melyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3524
Mar 1, 2014
Amazing!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fits true to size!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Feb 26, 2014
Not so plain
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress looks really great on top. The design of the shoulder and neck line is very flattering. The dress is form fitting and there is a slit that isn't TOO high but if you need it for a formal occasion I would pair it with a jacket.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Feb 11, 2014
Loved the fit & color
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Great color and fit, though I did wish my upper body was in slightly better shape (a tiny bit of "squish" around my arm sockets. Beautiful dress, though, and got tons of compliments.
Jennie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6523
Feb 10, 2014
Perfect for a pear shape
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my back-up dress for an event. My original back-up dress was damaged, and RTR called me to choose an alternate style. I chose this, and it fit beautifully. When I pulled it out of the bag, I could see that it was designed for a pear shape with a small waist and more room in the hips and thighs without being a-line. It also shows off your arms, shoulders, and back, which are usually good features on a pear. The fabric is thick, so you don't need spanx, but I think it would have looked better with a racer-back bra than a strapless bra. I ended up wearing my first choice dress, but this one was my husband's favorite. I will definitely rent it again.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3431
Jan 24, 2014
Beautiful!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress! It was only available in size 0 (Im a size 2), but i decided to try it anyway. It was a little tight but still so beautiful! I ended up wearing my backup because i wanted a looser fitting dress so that i could dance comfortably. I will definitely rent this dress again if i can get the appropriate size!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Jan 9, 2014
Great color
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress as my backup. I wore another E&J dress made out of the same material in a size 4; however, this size 4 fit too tightly around my barely-there bottom. It was bubbling where the zipper met my seat - not attractive. The color was amazing and I may just rent this in a 6 for another event.
tiffany
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Jan 8, 2014
It was a nice neutral to dress up with accessories.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore it with a statement necklace, opaque tights, and black prada ankle boots. It was cute. I usually wear a 4 or a 6. I went with the 6, as you could see my thoughts in the 4.
Reem K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 3, 2014
If you are going for a classy and sexy look, this is the dress for you!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful! My date's first words when he saw me was "WOW." It is a regal blue color and it looks great with gold accessories. However, I would say get a size larger than you typically wear just in case. I usually wear a size 4, but I felt more comfortable in a size 6. The size 4 fit me and looked great, but it was on the tighter side.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Dec 14, 2013
love the dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
love the dress!
libby
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Dec 10, 2013
This dress was beautiful, but tight across the chest/back.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was so sad that I didn't get to wear this dress! I'm an athletic girl, a size 6 or sometimes a size 4, so I ordered those two. I wish I would have played it safe and ordered a 6 & 8. The dress is beautiful, but quite tight. It fit great across my hips and stomach, but it wouldn't zip over my chest and back. I'd recommend getting your usual size and one size up just to make sure you can wear this dress.
Ariana
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6333
Dec 7, 2013
I was unable to wear the dress.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Way to small. Wasn't worth it.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Nov 26, 2013
So close, yet so far.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was a beautiful, well-made dress, but the size 2 was a bit too loose in the hips and halter. Since this was my second dress, I didn't have another size to try. :-(
Kristine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Nov 20, 2013
GORGEOUS, I felt so sexy in this dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was tight, but classy. It had a very sexy look to it, but too sexy as to take away from the bride. I loved the feel of the dress, it was nice a tight without being restrictive. If you want to go for a classic, yet sexy look then this is your dress.
Diane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3433
Oct 31, 2013
Perfect fit and very comfortable
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the color of this dress and it fit like a glove!
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6444
Oct 28, 2013
I felt amazing
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a John Legend concert (I was more concerned with getting pictures of him than I was with myself -- hence, no photo, sorry!). The dress is beautiful and I felt amazing in it, it was kind of hard to zip, but I didn't have anyone helping me. I wore spanx to keep my tummy in check, but try to wear the seamless ones, because I felt like you could see the seams in this dress.
Melody
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3444
Oct 25, 2013
Not quite my shape
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
My body can be a bit perplexing to dress sometimes. I'm athletic and have broad shoulders and strong legs from years of tennis, but I also have an hourglass shape, with a small waist (24), and curves(ish) (36-37). Usually when dresses don't fit, it's because the waist is too big - but in this case, the entire bottom part of the dress was too big. I would have needed some butt-padded spanx to pull it off :( I think this dress is probably perfect if you're a little more pear shaped.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Oct 24, 2013
Great dress!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress, but I will definitely rent it again! Hip hugging and form fitted. Very sexy, but still covered enough for a wedding. The material is thick so it hides any flaws and is comfortable enough to wear spanx or a bar underneath.
alexa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Oct 21, 2013
AMAZING
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress so much, it looked great with a green necklace! I was so comfrotable and it fit perfectly!! I will be sure to rent this again in a different color.
LM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4444
Oct 16, 2013
PERFECT WEDDING GUEST DRESS
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress!! ONly con is finding a bra to wear with it (strapless would work just fine but i like a little more support than that). The color is amazing and i got lots of complements
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Sep 28, 2013
Super easy
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Renting was super easy, and easily returned. The dress runs SMALL! Consider sizing up and taking two sizes up as your second. There is a strange flare to the hip, and the racer-back is kind of weird. I couldn't wear a racer-back bra with it and had to go with a strapless.
Bertha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Sep 25, 2013
It was the perfect dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was extremely flattering! I was concerned about the fit of the top, but it was very flattering...even to my non-toned arms/back! I would definitely wear this dress again!
Gigi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4432
Sep 18, 2013
Perfect fit, comfortable, and sleak and beautiful!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits perfect around the bust, waist, hips. It is comfortable to move around and sit in this dress. The opening in front is perfect and doesn't bunch, it is sewn closed up until where the leg is shown, so it is secure. Beautiful color and fabric.
Kaitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Sep 5, 2013
Didn't wear it...
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really wanted to love this dress, but it does not work for the large hip/booty ladies out there. I got this dress as a backup, and luckily I wasn't planning on wearing it. The top fit beautifully, but I almost ripped the stitching out of the slit at the bottom if I had tried to walk in it. BUT, I have this problem with a lot of tight dresses, so if it is not an issue for you, then I would recommend trying this dress.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Aug 27, 2013
Amazing Dress!! Wish I had this in my closet!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party, and it was my hands down favorite RTR experience, if not one of my favorite dresses I've ever worn! I went with the size 6 because the 4 wasn't available, and I'm so glad I did. The dress was body conscious but not tight at all. I'd say I was pretty lucky because the structure of the dress seemed to match my body shape well and wasn't baggy or tight in any places. If I had to say something bad about it, which is pretty hard, I would say it was a little hard to dance in since the bottom is pretty tight, but other than that, it was an amazing rental.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Aug 27, 2013
Wore this fabulous Elizabeth and James dress to a charity event, felt glamorous yet comfortable!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fits very true to size-- unlike a lot of the European designers, it does not run small and I was able to fit comfortably into size 0, which I normally wear a 0-2 in American designers. The fabric is of great quality, medium weight and somewhat stretchy. Zipper up the back is a tad difficult to complete yourself, would recommend having someone assist! Wanted to wear the white but was unavailable for the date I needed it, however the purple was a fantastic shade and looks very similar to the color shown in the picture. Will try and upload a pic soon!
gabrielle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5443
Aug 21, 2013
Fit like a glove!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding and got a constant stream of compliments. The fit was great! I felt beautiful in it (as I always do with RTR dresses). Only thing, this is a royal blue - not purple. Loved it though!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress