Elizabeth and James

Monet Flower Maxi

$160 to buy
$665 retail
Stylist Notes

Grab those newly purchased wedges, put on a fab necklace and flirt at the party wearing this Elizabeth and James floral asymmetric maxi.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Floor length (in the back) - One length. Long measures 37'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Floral printed silk chiffon (100% Silk). Square neckline. Flutter sleeves with grosgrain straps. Grosgrain belt at waist. Asymmetric hemline. 37'' from shoulder to shortest length of the hem. Available only in one length.

Share
70 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(18)
Small
(0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 14, 2012
Timely delivery!
I couldn't have picked a better dress to wear to a friends rustic chic wedding in Vermont. The dress fabric was beautiful and lined. It was extremely comfortable and allowed me to dance the night away. The dress does run a little large as ended up wearing my back-up smaller size. Also, on the larger dress (that I didn't wear) the strap was dirty :( Other than that the process was super easy and the dress, and me, were hits of the wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2012
This dress is SO beautiful!
The dress was gorgeous! I am a 2/4, and I wore the 0, so the fit is a little large. I am 5'4" and wore 4 inch heels, and the dress still dragged the ground a little bit. I had to pick up the train while walking so no one stepped on it, but did not have to worry about it while dancing, the dress flows very nicely and is not in the way when dancing. I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
July 24, 2013
I wore it as my Maid of Honor dress for my best friends wedding! Fantastic.
It was big and did not come with the belt. Despite this I felt beautiful in it. The dress moved with me and made me feel as if I was floating. I got many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 13, 2014
Flowying and perfect for spring.
It runs really big- so definitely go with a size smaller than you usually wear. Also make absolutely sure you have some kind of belt. The colors are really pretty and the fabric is comfortable and flowy. I wore it on a date with my husband and got a lot of compliments from him & the people at the restaurant.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 15, 2014
This wedding was at a castle in Maryland- a fairy tale dress in a fairy tale setting!
Perfect for curvy girls- roomy and comfortable for a hot day. Wore with a hot pink lip and got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 28, 2014
gorgeous dress!
this dress was perfect for my engagement photos. i wanted something very natural and flowy since we were having our pictures taken in a garden. it definitely runs large due to the "loose" fit of the dress.... i'm normally a 10 but they only had an 8L which was plenty big. i will definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
April 16, 2012
I felt like a princess
This dress is a dream! Very long in the back with a beautiful fluttering material. The cut is amazing and I had so many compliments about it. I am smaller on top but with big hips. I probably could have gotten away with a size 8, because the top was a little roomy and the skirt is so flowing I didn't need the extra size in the hips. I am 5'9" and the train of the skirt was at least 6 inches behind me. So comfortable too.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2012
Perfect for daytime wedding
I chose this dress because of it's billowy nature. I am 6 months pregnant and the dress worked perfectly to cover my bump. It is deffinately a little long. I'm 5'6" and wore 4" heels and there was still a 4" train behind me. It was a little too sheer for me and a slip was necessary.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 15, 2012
Beautiful dress, runs long
I rented this dress as a back up and I did try it on. It runs big and it does run long, so if you are not prepared to be careful with the train of this dress, I would order another. The fabric is very pretty and flattering, and the cut of the dress will work with many shapes. It's a beautiful dress. I would order this dress again in a size 8 and I am a size 10. I also had a terrible time with the courier in New York City and I ended up having to go to the courier warehouse myself to pick the dress up. They couldn't find my street, which I don't know how that happens in this day and age with GPS and phone GPS, but I would leave more lead time to get ordered items or plan to pick them. It screwed up my travel plans.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 16, 2012
Unflattering
I rented this dress for a wedding and ended up not wearing it. The dress was baggy in all the wrong places and dragged on the ground. I ordered a size smaller than I usually wear and it was still too big, which was surprising because designs by this brand usually fit me well. It would probably look good on a very tall person but I had to pass on this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 25, 2013
I did not wear it :(
It was comfortable, pretty, beautiful, elegant, but I did not wear it. It didn't look great on me and I felt a bit overexposed... the event I went to seemed to call for an LBD in the end. On a semi-casual sunny afternoon this would be beautiful!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 9, 2016
perfect for a day at the renaissance faire
This dress was perfect for a summer day roaming around the renaissance faire, flowy and girly! I wore it without a belt, but would have been really cute with one as well. I would rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 30, 2012
I had sooo many people come up to me the next day and say "you were that girl in the gorgeous dress...you were the hottest one at the wedding"....that sure does make a girl feel good doesn't it?
I rented this dress for my friend's wedding at the end of April. The fit was perfect and I felt pretty. The only issue I had was people stepping on the back of it (a bit of a train) I am 5'9" so consider that if you are shorter....but picking it up was no problem at all and was actually fun to dance with :) (sorry the lighting is bad in my pictures...camera phone)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 7, 2012
Everyone loved the long hem in the back and floral pattern, definitely a hit!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner in Tahoe with flats and it was perfect amount of fun and formal. The fit is great as the belt really makes the dress flattering for any body type.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 23, 2012
AMAZING
I wore this dress to an afternoon wedding and it was absolutely the funnest dress I've ever worn. It was light and flowy and beautiful. I'm tall, 5'10, so ordered a 6L. It was perfect. Just the slightest bit of fabric swirled around on the floor behind me when I walked (in 4 inch heels). I would really recommend renting this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
I have been completely obsessed with this very girly dress since the first time I saw it on RTR! A recent vacation to New York City was made UNFORGETABLE by a visit to the showroom! I truly believe my Sunday afternoon wouldn't have been complete without this dress. We went to the Whitney and to the Boathouse in Central Park where we sipped on wine and made great memories! Thank you RTR!!!
This Elizabeth and James beauty fits true to size and and is very femine and girly! I wore a pair of 3 inch wedges and the bottom of the dress just brushed the ground.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 166lbs
September 15, 2012
Beautiful for dancing with my son who was the groom!
Everything was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 19, 2012
Beautifuly and flowy!
This dress was perfect for the wedding I was attending. Although it was a little long (I wore tall heels as well), it moved beautifully and was definitely a stand out amoungst other looks there.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
Savannah, GA was the perfect back drop for this dress....I felt like a million bucks!!!!! LOVE!!!
The fit is easy, the color and fabric are great!! Loved the belt and the flutter sleeves, I wore the sleeves off the shoulders....RENT THIS!!!
AKFebruary 26, 2013
I think I saw a pic of you in a beautiful color blockdress (shorter in front, longer in back? white/orange/pink?) but now I can't find that dress on RTR... do you know happen to know which dress that is?
RTR CustomerFebruary 26, 2013
Hi Annie! That dress was retired from our site, so we no longer have it available to rent!
MelissaApril 12, 2013
You and your date both look stunning!
AlesciaMay 30, 2013
Hi, wondering what type/color shoe you wore? Nude? Thanks, eyeing this lovely for an upcoming wedding
Ashley ReneeJune 2, 2013
I wore a grey/nude/gold trim suede platform heels! Thanks all! I felt amazing!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
January 26, 2013
I wore this to my 22nd birthday brunch! Its airy and romantic, and brings all eyes to you!
I am usually a size 4, the dress fit true to size. It has a longer train than you can see in the image provided. I had to lift it up in the back to walk without dragging it before I put my heels on (I am 5 ft 8 in, 145 lbs). A really beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
March 28, 2013
great delivery, easy return.
really lovely on. long train in the back so if you are going to dance the night away this dress might not be the best choice. sweet and easy feeling, and works well with a tall wedge. does need you to wear a bra whose straps you don't mind showing, and the bra also needs to be low cut in the front. would totes rent this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 16, 2013
Perfect for a baby bump!
Believe it or not, I wore this dress to my baby shower when I was 9 months pregnant. Everyone loved it because it wasn't a typical maternity dress. It actually was very flattering and comfortable. I typically don't do reviews, but was so excited about how it worked out for me I wanted to let others with a growing baby bump know they could pull it off as well. :)
MarissaAugust 10, 2013
Great idea!! Love it
JessikaAugust 20, 2013
Thanks for the pic! I may choose this for my baby shower!
LilyMarch 3, 2014
Hi Caitlin, the dress looked great on you from the pictures. Just wanted to confirm, you ordered a size 2 or 4? i'm about your height and 8 months pregnant, normally wear size 2.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
July 1, 2013
Will Rent Again
There was one problem with this dress and it is that the long was too long for me......i'm 5' 5"and even with 4" heels i had to hold the back up to prevent it from dragging.....next time I will go with a regular if it is available. I love the flow......color and feel of the dress though.....and felt and looked like a goddess when the wind caught the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2013
AMAZING, FLOWY, and FEMININE
Wore this dress for a summer wedding by a lake and felt gorgeous. Dress is super feminine, flowy, and VERY comfortable. Definitely hides any and all sins. Would highly recommend. Works on tall girls too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 2, 2014
This dress can be dressed up or dressed down! Perfect for any summer time event!
I wore this to a graduation party which was held on a field - I was so comfortable in this dress and received compliment after compliment! I wore it with espadrilles but this dress could easily be worn with flats or sandals to a less formal event. Overall very happy with this dress!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 2, 2014
PERFECT dress!! I wore it for my engagement pictures.
I loved how this dress flowed and my engagement photos looked awesome and I think it might have partially been because of this dress haha. I wish I could have kept it! I was a tad bit long but I actually liked that!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
September 15, 2014
Love The Dress
Loved this dress but received it at the hotel of my day affair and realized RTR forgot to send me the belt so i had no other belts with me so I didnt get to wear it. RTR was great and refunded me my money. I will definitely try to rent this dress again though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 15, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
I rented this dress for my bday. I felt absolutely beautiful all day! Women were stopping me to ask about the dress. Rent it now! One drawback- The back of the dress is very long. I wore heels and still had to gather some of the dress and tuck it in the belt.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 18, 2013
Beautiful, comfortable dress perfect for my niece's birthday party!
I just wish I owned this dress!!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
July 27, 2016
Beautiful Dress
Flowy dress with a pretty ribbon belt added to add shape It is the most beautiful dress I have ever worn.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×