Elizabeth and James

Flare Up The Volume Mini

$92 to buy
$365 retail
Stylist Notes

Make him fall in love on that first date by wearing this flirty Elizabeth and James flare sleeve mini. An easy fit and great color for a night of romance! Shown here with the Oscar de la Renta's Beaded Tassel Earrings and Elizabeth Cole’s Crystal Navette Bloom Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted – dress loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted – loosely fitted in skirt for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe de chine(100% silk). Three quarter bell sleeves. Crew neckline with front button slit. Shift body. Lined. 33 ½” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
69 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(33)
Small
(0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 6, 2014
LBD with flare!
Another great dress for pregnancy. I was about four months along when I wore it. The material doesn't stretch, but it's cut well for a bit of a belly. The sleeves and keyhole give it enough flare to be memorable.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 12, 2015
Felt confident and pretty in this dress!
Cons: The dress is short, but so am I, At 5'3", it hitabout 1-2" above the knee and since I am older than the rest of you (55), I need to be observant of this fact. Pro: Felt confident, on trend and pretty in this dress and isn't that 9/10th of everything?? Love telling friends that I "rented" this dress and hope RTR taps into a whole new age group. So not only did I feel confident/pretty etc., but also kinda smart! Also since there is not body shape to this dress, sizing was not an issue.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2014
Fun dress to wear, would enjoy owning it!
I'm fifty two and thought the dress may be too short.... but it was just fine! A fun one to wear; I think it is best for a party rather than a dinner due to the sleeve design. It isn't fitted as shown in the picture, but still has a sexy feel to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107lbs
March 16, 2015
I love this fun, flattering dress!
This is one of my favorite dresses that I have rented. The fit was easy and the sleeves were fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
April 13, 2015
I didn't want to return this dress!!
This was a perfect dress to celebrate my moms 70th birthday. We went to Swan Lake and a fancy dinner after. The dress was very comfortable and such a fun style. I did use fashion tape on the keyhole lining. RTR sent some bling to wear as well. I felt beautiful. Renting and return is a breeze.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2015
Made me feel so pretty and small at my baby shower
I wore this for my baby shower and it was so flattering! I got so many compliments on the dress and my appearance and felt so pretty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 20, 2015
Perfect for a night out, didn't want to return!!
Loved this dress! It was comfortable, flattering , and such an easy gorg LBD. Want to buy it next sale for sure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
April 24, 2015
Absolutely loved this dreses
This dress was stunning and I absolutely loved it. The sleeves made the dress. Wish I could have it in my closet all the time!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 10, 2015
Beautiful material and cut. Just a little bigger/longer than I prefer. Very classy and chic.
It just ran a little bit larger than I prefer.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 49
September 11, 2015
really loved the dress. fun and flirty
true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2016
Wore this for dinner + a show in Vegas (which, by the way, has a RTR physical store!)
Loved this dress -- fabric is heavy, sleeves are fun, length is good for those of us who are taller (I'm really tall, so I still wore hose), you can wear a regular bra. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 3, 2016
The dress was amazing. I want to buy it.
Based on other reviews I thought I get away with the small since the medium was not available. I wore the dress, but it would have been cuter in a medium. The only reason it worked was because I wore opaque tights. If I didn't have the tights it would have been too short for me at my age.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 30, 2012
Could have been better
This runs large. I normally wear a small and the XS was even big in this dress.If you are really small this dress will not work for you. I would have liked it better if it would have been narrower through the body. I still enjoyed wearing it , the material was beautiful and I loved the dramatic sleeves.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 19, 2012
This dress was a hit! Just had to put a temporary hem and...voilá, perfect :)
This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I'm hooked!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 5, 2013
COMFY!!
This might be one of the more comfortable dresses that I have worn. It was short, but not dramatically so. I wore tights with it, being winter and shoe booties. Got a ton of compliments on it. Very flattering fit, made me feel tiny!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 13, 2013
The whole process was so easy and I was able to wear a beautiful dress without paying the price.
The fit was perfect for me. I am 5"2 with a longer torso and a 34C bust. It was flattering and comfortable. The sleeves make the dress very flattering . I can't wait to rent this dress again for another upcoming event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 10, 2013
Fun dress for a fun evening!!
The dress arrived in a box and was packed so that it didn't get wrinkled...the fabric of the dress flowed nicely. I was thankful to have two sizes to choose from - sometimes dresses are too tight in the chest - but this dress fit perfect in the small size. I loved the sleeves, they made the dress more fun.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 29, 2014
a little long, but still cute
ordered a small and extra small. i am a petite person, so the xs was still quite a bit long to wear as a shift, so i ended up having to belt it, but it still worked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
May 20, 2014
Wow wow wow! Perfect dress for a theme party or night out on the town.
Absolutely loved this dress. It was an emergency back-up sent straight to my hotel for a Rat Pack/60's themed Supper Club party. It has a great flared sheath cut making it roomy and the skirt length adds some drama too. (I'm just shy of 5'8". Another plus for me is that it looked good with kitten heels so I was able to mingle around the party and my feet didn't suffer. I just wish I had shown the bell sleeves better for this pic!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
June 15, 2014
This dress!
I loved this dress! It was so comfortable. I thought for sure the M would be the choice as it was my back up but ended using small. I was in transition of losing baby weight so it was perfect. This dress made me feel great. I actually am renting it again. I wish I could buy it! It would be a perfect staple in my black dress word robe as you can accessorize it in so many ways. Loved it so much, I did not want to send back!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
October 27, 2014
The bell sleeves turned this LBD up a notch.
I really liked this dress. I sized down because other reviews said that it ran big. it fit well, but I definitely could have worn a medium. I loved the sleeves, and that made the dress stand out. I was complimented so many times and felt so chic!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 28, 2012
I LOVED this dress.
I saw that other Elizabeth & James dresses run large so I ordered the small (my normal size) and the XS. The XS fir perfectly!!
PamNovember 8, 2012
Hi Jill. You are my age, height & weight. I love the dress and wanted to know if it's tapered a little at the waist or is it loose fitting. I can't tell from the photo. Thanks. Pam
RTR CustomerNovember 8, 2012
Hi Pam! This dress is loose fitting at the waist!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
February 18, 2013
Sexy and very flattering
This is a great dress to dance in or to wearon a date you want to get the guys attention :) it shows off all the right part. I love the bell sleeves, but I wish they weren't such a bell, most of the time when your arms are anywhere other than at your sides, it looks like a short sleeve dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 26, 2013
Perfect dress, a back-up size, easy and stress-free RTR service. What more could you ask for?!
This was a perfect choice for the fundraising event I attended. The dress ran a little large-actually wore my back-up smaller size. My husband LOVED the dress and I received compliments from other women at the party all night long. The whole RTR process could not have been easier or more stress-free. I will definitely use this service again in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Body type: Hourglass
February 27, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Very comfortable. Dress it up with sparkeling jewels. Would rent the same dress in a minute for another occasion.Enjoyed the flow of a size medium.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2013
LOVED this dress! Fun, sassy, comfortable, easy to wear!
I wrote that the dress runs large because I think I would typically be a large, but based on others reviews I ordered the medium which fit perfectly. For my age, the length was perfect, it was short, but not too short. On the model in the photo it looks shorter, but she's 5'11" and I am 5"7". It's a fun, flirty dress, but comfortable so you can really enjoy yourself at your special event. Highly recommend! Thank you RTR!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2014
Great fit and so comfortable!
Wore it to a Christmas party. Loved it!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
September 29, 2014
! It was for an outdoor evening fundraiser in Chicago.
I loved this dress. Unfortunately I had a coat on in all of the pictures. But I got a lot of compliments pre-party. This was my first rental and I have never had such an effortless experience before. I can't wait to rent for my next event. Love RTR !!!!!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2014
First RTR dress I actually liked and wore to an event.
I wore this to the wedding rehearsal dinner for my daughters wedding. It runs slightly big - I could have worn the small, but it had an unusual odor, like the body odor of the last person wouldn't come out with the dry cleaning. My daughter approved even though it was a black dress. I did receive several compliments on the dress. I wore a long gold necklace and big gold earrings.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×