Flare Up The Volume Mini

$92 to buy
$365 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Make him fall in love on that first date by wearing this flirty Elizabeth and James flare sleeve mini. An easy fit and great color for a night of romance! Shown here with the Oscar de la Renta's Beaded Tassel Earrings and Elizabeth Cole’s Crystal Navette Bloom Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted – dress loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted – loosely fitted in skirt for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted – dress loosely fitted through midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted – loosely fitted in skirt for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe de chine(100% silk). Three quarter bell sleeves. Crew neckline with front button slit. Shift body. Lined. 33 ½” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
68 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(32)
Small
(0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2013
Sexy without Revealing
Took this non-traditional LBD with me on a business trip to New Orleans. It was PERFECT for a night of salsa. The dress looked better than my amateur salsa moves. ; ) It concealed my belly yet allowed me to look and feel sexy. Great dress. I'd buy this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
November 13, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress!
I normally wear a 6, and the small fit great! The only issue was the flap at the top kept coming out. They should've sewn it into the dress. Other than that, I loved the dress, and I plan to rent it again for an upcoming party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 4, 2013
It was just plain fun to get a cute dress in a box.
Dress was great. Only complaint was that the lining in the keyhole neck wasn't stitched properly, still didn't lie flat even after I ironed it. Added a red fabric rose from the Melrose flea market and a pair of Christian Louboutin black patent leather pumps, and felt like a princess.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
October 23, 2013
The Perfect Black Dress
I have rented this dress two times already. If I could find it, I would buy it! I received so many compliments both times: once at a Rehearsal dinner and a work cocktail party. It is fun and appropriate at the same time. I will probably rent again!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 10, 2013
Fun dress for a fun evening!!
The dress arrived in a box and was packed so that it didn't get wrinkled...the fabric of the dress flowed nicely. I was thankful to have two sizes to choose from - sometimes dresses are too tight in the chest - but this dress fit perfect in the small size. I loved the sleeves, they made the dress more fun.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 23, 2013
Great dress, perfect for my body type & super comfy
This dress was perfect for my body type right now (I'm heavier than I usually am) and this dress is very slimming. It runs big, so I wore the Medium - and I loved it!! I felt comfortable and stylish at a red carpet event with my husband. :) The only thing I would mention is to definitely get the garment tape - the inside flap in the front "flies up" without it.... but tape helped
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
June 23, 2013
Loved this dress.
Flattering, 60's inspired dress - I was channeling Megan Draper!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
April 10, 2013
Elegant and Beautiful
i will be wearing this dress to a wine and jazz event. I love the sleeves on the dress. They make the dress diffrent than your typical black dress. The dress does run a little big and it is a little longer than it looks on the model in the picture. I was a little worried it would be to short for the event but it is right above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 28, 2013
This dress is a show stopper!
It's not the typical 'fitted', body contouring design...but it's really stunning. I got compliments all night long. Very well made and couldn't possibly be more comfortable unless it were actual pajamas! I coupled it with about 20 bangles on one arm and it was gorgeous. I wore this with wood wedge slingback platforms...so cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Body type: Hourglass
February 27, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Very comfortable. Dress it up with sparkeling jewels. Would rent the same dress in a minute for another occasion.Enjoyed the flow of a size medium.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 26, 2013
Perfect dress, a back-up size, easy and stress-free RTR service. What more could you ask for?!
This was a perfect choice for the fundraising event I attended. The dress ran a little large-actually wore my back-up smaller size. My husband LOVED the dress and I received compliments from other women at the party all night long. The whole RTR process could not have been easier or more stress-free. I will definitely use this service again in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
February 18, 2013
Sexy and very flattering
This is a great dress to dance in or to wearon a date you want to get the guys attention :) it shows off all the right part. I love the bell sleeves, but I wish they weren't such a bell, most of the time when your arms are anywhere other than at your sides, it looks like a short sleeve dress.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 13, 2013
The whole process was so easy and I was able to wear a beautiful dress without paying the price.
The fit was perfect for me. I am 5"2 with a longer torso and a 34C bust. It was flattering and comfortable. The sleeves make the dress very flattering . I can't wait to rent this dress again for another upcoming event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 5, 2013
COMFY!!
This might be one of the more comfortable dresses that I have worn. It was short, but not dramatically so. I wore tights with it, being winter and shoe booties. Got a ton of compliments on it. Very flattering fit, made me feel tiny!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2013
Breathtaking unusual dress.
This is a major twist on the little black dress. I wore this dress to celebrity tribute event. If you have curves, don't want to show them all, but still want to look sexy this is the dress for you. Beware that it is very short...so short that it makes it difficult to wear spanx.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2013
Loved this!
I loved this dress! I wore it for New Year's Eve and it was perfect! It wasn't that showy, but it fit great and was very flattering. It was a great party dress because I wasn't worried about it being tight or falling off. I would definately wear this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2013
A fun, "little black dress".
This dress was very flattering, just watch the sleeves if you're trying to eat! ;)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2013
Being a little sexy, and funky while having fun at the party!
I ordered both a medium and large in this dress, as I was concerned with the length, but I ended up wearing the medium. I put that this dress runs large because it is a loose cut, so some people may be able to wear a smaller size than usual. The length is short enough to be sassy, but long enough to cover what needs to be covered when you move around. The fabric is lightweight and swingy, so it's great for even a more casual party, like the one I went to, but it can easily be dressed up if need be. My only issue with this dress was the facing on the inside of the keyhole--it tends to flap around and stick out of the neckline. However, since RTR sends fashion tape with your order, I used a little of that to make it stay. I would totally suggest getting this dress--I would buy it if I could afford to own it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 24, 2012
Wore this to my husband's office christmas party!
The dress was very flattering and unique. The material was very light but because of the sleeves I was able to throw on boots and transform it into a very wintery look. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 19, 2012
This dress was a hit! Just had to put a temporary hem and...voilá, perfect :)
This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I'm hooked!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 2, 2012
Could ahve worked buty was too big. Better for a taller person!
Loved the quality, it was very soft and comfortable and loved the bell sleeve. To big everywhere and the length was definately not for a petite person. It went down to my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 30, 2012
Could have been better
This runs large. I normally wear a small and the XS was even big in this dress.If you are really small this dress will not work for you. I would have liked it better if it would have been narrower through the body. I still enjoyed wearing it , the material was beautiful and I loved the dramatic sleeves.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2012
It's unlike anything else I own
It's a great LBD with a twist! I will definitely be renting this again!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2012
I wore this dress at the Miss New Jersey USA pageant for opening number!
The fit runs big so I am glad I got a small, I could have worn an x-small. I got so many compliments on the dress and it was easy to dance in for the opening number!
SandraOctober 8, 2013
Hi Hailey. This dress looks fantastic and fun on you. I am thinking about it for a large charity western-themed gala. Do you think it is a dress that one could wear fancy cowboy boots? It seems to have a country/western flair. Would you agree? We are the same size (exactly!), and you think an xs would have been better? Thanks so much for your response!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2012
I was thankful I didn't have to think too hard about what I was going to wear.
Fit well and was comfortable.
kimberlyNovember 19, 2012
Hi Cindy, I am 5'8 and 125 lbs. close to your size- dd you think this dress was SUPER short? It looks okay in RTR pictures but saw it on Neimam Marcus website and it looked like she was wearing a top with no bottoms:( what was your take? I am planning on wearing opaque hose but fear it is going to be super short on me. Appreciate your feedback. Kimberly
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2012
Statement Dress!
This dress was my second choice for my 30-year high school reunion. I really liked the way it fit -- not too clingy, but not too loose -- and the sleeves are a show-stopper! The dress is a bit theatrical, and would be perfect with drop-dead heels and over-the-top earrings and bracelet, but for my event it was a bit too fancy. I went with my second choice, but would rent this one again for a different event.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 31, 2012
This was my first time renting and was a little apprehensive. I WILL definitely rent again.
I loved this dress. I wore it with the tassel earrings shown in the picture, and got many compliments. I own 2 Elizabeth and James dresses, both in size small, so I ordered both small and medium. The size small was slightly large but still looked great. I would definitely rent this dress again. The size medium was perfect but the small was very wrinkled and had to take it to be pressed.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 28, 2012
I LOVED this dress.
I saw that other Elizabeth & James dresses run large so I ordered the small (my normal size) and the XS. The XS fir perfectly!!
PamNovember 8, 2012
Hi Jill. You are my age, height & weight. I love the dress and wanted to know if it's tapered a little at the waist or is it loose fitting. I can't tell from the photo. Thanks. Pam
RTR CustomerNovember 8, 2012
Hi Pam! This dress is loose fitting at the waist!
See more reviews:
2 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×