Elizabeth and James

Charlene Dress

$75 rental
$365 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take a walk on the wild side in this Elizabeth & James dress. With exposed shoulders and back, you're sure to rule the night! Add jawdropper jewels like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch synthetic knit (85% polyester, 15% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Mesh cutout details at shoulders and waist. Pencil skirt. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

154 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 112
Large 13
Photos 100
Megan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Perfect for my Bachelorette on a chilly night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First RTR experience was a huge success! Dress is true to size; I'm 5'9" 130lbs and wore the 0. Great for a night out! Material is thick and comfortable!
Farah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 9, 2014

Perfect Holiday Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really enjoyed this dress! I wore it for my fiance's Holiday work party. Felt very covered yet beautiful. Only complaint (which is usually my issue with bodycon dresses because of my butt....) is that I did have to tug at the sides to pull the dress down every now and then. Not as often as with other dresses but definitely after going up and down stairs. Other than that, the sleeves were a tad short for me but I just rolled them up at my wrists and you really can't noticed since its black.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Fit perfectly!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to an engagement party and got so many compliments. I just had a baby and I felt prettier than I have in a long time. Showed skin in all the right spots. Classy yet sexy!
Martine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 12, 2014

Made me feel fashionable even though I was pregnant

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to my friends bachelorette party in NYC 7 months preggo.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Amazing!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was a little nervous about wearing this dress because of the sheer bits of fabric around the midsection and arms, but as soon as I put it on I was obsessed! I definitely wore spans underneath but didn't have any issue with them poking out at the waist band. Like other reviews said, the arms were a bit long but I just tucked them under and it was fine. I would absolutely rent this again!
Kelsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Last minute, I got an email letting me know that the dress I originally wanted had been returned in too poor condition to send to me. So I picked this one out in a bit of a hurry but other reviews are true- its great! Great for late night, cold weather. Very comfortable material and easy to wear and dance in!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
May 31, 2014

This dress fit great and was fun to wear. I didn't want to return it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was sent to me as a replacement when the dress I had ordered was damaged, and I'm really happy that they picked it for me! I wore this dress to my law school hooding ceremony; it was great for the occasion and didn't ride up under my gown. The fabric is stretchy and runs true to size, so it was comfy and easy to wear. I am tall, so the hemline was a little short, but I still felt like it was appropriate. I would definitely rent it again!
Linny
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 27, 2014

Wore to a boxing fight in Las Vegas

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was super fitted, as I expected it would be. I read on another review previously that the dress rides up when you walk, which is true. I had to walk up and down lots of stairs to get to our seats and was constantly pulling the dress down, as it kept riding up pretty far. The dress is a beautiful, fun, sexy dress. It was perfect for my event. It looks exactly as it is pictured here.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111 lbs
May 12, 2014

great for a night out

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Rented this in Vegas. Was comfortable and the cut outs were not over the top. Very form fitting.
Brittney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 10, 2014

Loved it

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress - fit true to size, very comfortable and looked great. Would definitely rent again!
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 4, 2014

The perfect dress for an award ceremony -- got a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The sleeves are a bit long, but the fabric has a lot of stretch to it. I'd recommend also getting some sort of boob tape, because it's difficult to wear a bra with it.
Sabrina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
May 1, 2014

Wore this dress for a fundraising gala.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit great! extremely comfortable. I would wear a black strapless bra with this dress. you could see my bra peeking through a little bit, but because my bra was black no one would ever notice! I loved this dress and hated to return it. The material was really nice too.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Apr 30, 2014

Was cool... :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit perfectly. Form fitting and body hugging, but comfortable .
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 29, 2014

Perfection!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I went to an event for a local magazine where there are a lot of beautiful women in a lot of beautiful clothes. So many people told me how great I looked and the dress really flattered my body. The cut outs are above the natural waist so the dress was not entirely unforgiving. I was NOT able to wear a bra with the dress even through I tried 6 or 7 different kinds and styles of bras. The details below are not entirely accurate. I can wear down to an 8, which is a big difference from a 12. (I have been actively been trying to lose weight). I liked the dress because I don't like to show off my arms and it kept my arms hidden without looking like a grandma! Probably the best part of the entire evening
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 29, 2014

Just the right amount of sexy without crossing the line.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I loved this dress so much that I found one and bought it. It fits perfectly and is very flattering. The long sleeves really balance the length and cutout detail so that the dress is sexy without being too over the top. If you're thinking about it - do it!
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
Apr 28, 2014

This dress was super comfortable and perfect for my New Years Eve out on the town

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The material itself is a really high quality and is extremely flattering. It was perfect for a chilly night, and the see-through slots added a little oomph! This dress was extremely comfy. I paired it with tights and chunky heels and never once was fixing it or moving it back into place. I'd highly recommend this for a cooler night out!
Cass
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Perfect for a night in Vegas

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was awesome... It was so comfortable and I was able to dance all night without any problems. The mesh gave it a subtle hint of style. Perfect combo of sexy and modest. Loved it!
Kourtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

Perfect LBD!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress while in Vegas and it was a perfect LBD for a night out to a show and dinner. It was very comfortable to wear - note it does have some stretch too. I wore with a strapless bra and all the cut outs were placed appropriately for it. I went basic with the accessories - silver hoops and black booties. The dress was fun enough it didn't need much more. This is another dress I wish I owned.
Samantha
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

Perfect little black dress for all occasions

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Best little black dress! Sexy and classy!
Bibiana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 20, 2014

Love the mesh detailing - simple but unforgettable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I was wary about this dress, but very glad I ended up choosing it! It was definitely a simple dress with respect to typical Vegas ware, but it was beautifully simplistic and the mesh panelling was very well executed and showed just enough skin. I wore this dress with statement shoes and therefore chose to tone down with regard to jewelry. I order a 6 to size up, which was too large, and the dress was stretchy enough that the 4 left just enough room to move around in. Definitely a pleasant surprise!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Perfect dress for an outdoor, night wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfect. I'm 5'10" and it wasn't too short. I typically wear a size 4 and this dress fit true to size. I have a smaller chest, so I opted so go with no bra, but if you have a bigger chest a strapless bra would work just fine. I would absolutely rent this dress again. I received so many compliments on it.
TSV
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 11, 2014

Sexy & chic dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was nervous about this dress because of the cutouts, since I am not thin like most of the girls who have reviewed it (I'm 5'2" and about 150 lbs) and I thought the sheer panels might show lumps and bumps, but I think it ended up looking great. It's the perfect dress if you feel like embracing your curves. For undergarments I wore a strapless bra, which worked totally fine - just make sure you have a black one because it sometimes did peak out at the waist cutout. Also I wasn't able to wear spanx, which freaked me out since I don't have a flat tummy and don't want my bellybutton showing in a dress. I tried several types of spanx but they all cut me off about an inch below the waist cutout and created some weird roll above my waistline. So, I wore high cut thong panties instead that covered my middle but didn't cut me off at the top like spanx. The arms were literally 3 inches too long but I just folded them under. Also the length on the bottom was perfect on me but I still had to tug it down at times and I'm only 5'2" so I'm not sure how taller girls are pulling this off! Overall, I was really happy with this dress and would love to own it. BTW Sabrina at RTR - thank you!!!!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Fabulous, unique LBD - lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
For a tight fitting dress, I felt very comfortable in it. My friends told me it was a very flattering dress, and I loved the sheer parts for a little bit of sexy! I felt great and glamorous in this dress for my birthday outing. The only thing negative was that the sleeves were a little bit long, but it was nothing that would stop me from wearing the dress. Great LBD!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Suited the evening; wore for my bachelorette party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I had to wear the smaller size but wish I had the length of the bigger size.
Summer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

This dress actually wasn't the one I ordered, it was another option I was sent and I loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my athletic banquet/formal and it was great! I have broad shoulders and a small bust so it was a bit loose at the top, but overall the fit was great! I am pretty small and the dress stopped right above my knees so it wasn't too long. I got tons of compliments all night long! I would definitely rent this dress again!
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

This dress was comfortable, sexy, and stylish. I felt confident and adored the dress!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size and looks great! It shows every flaw in the stomach so I would recommend having some sort of spanx. I wore the new Haute Contour Shorty and it was perfect. Tight enough not to wear a bra, but petals or strapless bra would work perfectly.
Andrea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

Perfect party dress! I felt comfortable and sexy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party and it was absolutely perfect! The fabric is flattering but the cut-outs in the middle and along the shoulders make it sexy. I normally wear a size small or 2 so I ordered this in the 2 and it fit perfectly. It was actually a little bit long, but I am very short so that is to be expected. The dress was comfortable and stayed in place all night. I didn't even need to wear a bra underneath which was great. Overall this is a great dress!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 14, 2014

Fun dress

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress for a girls night out. Wore this to Vegas for my girlfriends bachelorette party. Super fun and the sheer cut outs were fun.
Torie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Gorgeous little black dress I rented for a classy night out on the town in Vegas!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Comfortable fit (compared to a Herve). I will say if you plan to walk at all, it does start to ride up. I had to pull my dress down all night. Mesh detailing is small but very sexy. I was able to eat dinner and not feel uncomfortable in the stomach / waist area. I felt gorgeous and got a lot of attention all night. And my boyfriend popped the question!
Anna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 4, 2014

Amazing! I adore this dress! It fit perfect and wish I didn't have to send it back!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
#Perfect
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 2, 2014

constant compliments, too much fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my sorority formal and rented both the 2 and the 4. The 4 fit and was slightly longer, but the 2 was less baggy up top so that was the one I went with. I absolutely LOVED this dress and it seemed everyone else did as well - I was constantly being complimented! I am usually not one for tight, body fitting dresses, but felt completely comfortable in this sexier dress so do not fear the fit!! Definitely recommend it!
Megan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 27, 2014

The fabric of this dress is AMAZING! I wanted to live in it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love love LOVE this dress. I was worried about the mesh details but the placement was figure flattering and dare I say, sexy! I was able to wear shape wear underneath, which I do suggest. But, I have never felt more comfortable in a body conscious dress. The selves were long but I did not have an issue with that. I got so many compliments on this dress. You could accessorize this dress in so many ways. I will be trying to find another occasion to rent this LBD
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 24, 2014

Rented this dress for my 25th birthday party and everyone loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is super stretchy and very comfortable! The mesh details in the dress, and along with the long sleeves, make it unique which I loved. I'm very tall as well (6 feet) and the length of the dress was perfect. The sleeves were a little long but I also have long arms so I was happy about that. I don't think anyone could go wrong with this dress! Amazing!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 20, 2014

Perfect LBD for a friend's wedding in Vegas!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The sleeves are a little long for petites, other than that it was a perfect fit, hugged in all the right places. Sexy without being too revealing.
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

Loved this dress. It was comfortable and the fit was great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was looking for a fun, edgy dress that I could wear to a party. This dress can be dressed up or down depending on the shoes and jewelry you wear. I dressed it down by wearing casual black booties. The material of this dress is great. It's comfortable and so flattering. I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 because I was afraid the dress would be too tight, but it's true to size. It's tight in all the right places! I noticed that the sleeves were fairly long, so if you are petite and have shorter arms this could be an issue for you. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Sophie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

Great dress for a boat party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit great and definitely had a slimming effect. The material is sturdy and smoothes out any lumps or bumps. Also, the little mesh areas revealed just enough to look classy and sexy at the same time.
Laura Hill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

Awesome Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
RTR did an amazing job and overnighted my dress in both sizes I had originally ordered because a snow storm kept my original order from arriving on time. I ordered the 4 and the 6 because I was worried about length, but there was no need because the length of the 4 was perfect. I almost wish I had gotten the two because the four was a bit loose in the waist. However, the 4 fit perfectly on my arms, bust, and hips. I would love to own this dress - great job RTR.
Karen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Great dress - trendy and sexy without being overbearing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 2 and 4 and both fit similarly as the dress is fairly forgiving. The 4 was a little baggier in the shoulder/chest area so I went with the 2.
Melanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 26, 2014

AMAZING DRESS AND CUSTOMER SERVICE

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Okay, words cannot describe how much I love this dress. This was my first RTR experience and I will for sure be renting again. The customer service was beyond amazing. The first dress I rented didn't fit and the stylists were so sweet and helpful and overnighted me this dress. This dress is super flattering. I got so many compliments all night. It does ride up, so tall girls beware! I want this dress to be my LBD go to. LOVE LOVE LOVE!
casey.cowan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 10, 2014

Felt HOT!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress on New Year's Eve for a bar in the northwest suburbs of Chicago. I have a butt & big bust, so I was nervous about the open back and the stretchy material working for my body type. The material is so figuring flattering and the sheerness of the top still allows for easily wearing a strapless bra. I felt gorgeous all night, got so many compliments, and was able to dance and move. Wore a size 10--very true to size. Definitely another RTR success.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×