Elizabeth and James

Charlene Dress

$75 rental
$365 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take a walk on the wild side in this Elizabeth & James dress. With exposed shoulders and back, you're sure to rule the night! Add jawdropper jewels like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch synthetic knit (85% polyester, 15% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Mesh cutout details at shoulders and waist. Pencil skirt. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

127 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 99
Large 11
Photos 84
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 5, 2013

Such a fun style!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is perfect for a night out! The material is comfortable and stretchy and I love the mesh detailing throughout. A strapless or racer back bra is a must but other than that it could not be an easier or more fun style! Can't wait to rent it again.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 11, 2013

Sexy and Classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely loved this dress! I had actually ordered the Katrina Dress but I received a phone call from RTR the day before my dress was scheduled to arrive and they advised me that the Katrina dress in the size 4 was returned damaged and they would never send me something like that. They had a 6 available and said it would probably work since the dress was very form fitting but I didn't feel comfortable just receiving the 6 so they offered to send me the Charlene dress in a size 4 as well as the Katrina in the size 6. The Katrina dress in the 6 was too big and the Charlene was a perfect fit! Great material, super form fitting and sexy. I got tons of compliments and felt great in this dress.
Taylor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 14, 2013

I wore this dress to the Beyonce concert and it was PERFECT! I kept getting compliments all night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit perfectly! The dress had a good amount of stretch and was super comfortable to wear. Even with the cutouts it was still possible to wear shape wear (Spanx), which I do recommend so that everything looks smooth.
Alexandra
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Wore to a black tie event- perfect. Sexy while elegant.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very form fitting, true to your normal dress size.
Caity
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 29, 2013

Hottest dress EVER!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am beyond obsessed with this dress. I wore it to my company holiday party and I got so many compliments on it and I wish more than anything that it was still in my closet right now! The funny thing about it is that it's not the dress I originally ordered- the Elizabeth & James Such a Tease was, but the size I ordered came back beyond repair so the wonderful ladies of RTR (thanks Sheridan & Calvin!) found this one for me and I could not be happier! The dress does have stretch but it is tight- I didn't eat a lot a couple days before because I didn't want a pooch showing! Lol but it was worth it because like I said, it looked amazing & I got tons of compliments. It is certainly not for the timid or conservative, though! I would definitely recommend this dress to any girl who's not afraid of a little attention ;)
Arabella
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Great customer service!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Sizes 2 and 4 fit about the same. The sleeves on the 4 were a little longer. The dress was very comfortable and slenderizing. I loved it!
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 3, 2014

I absolutely LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments. I would definitely recommend this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress is true to size, I''m 5'3" so the dress ended almost right above my knee. It was extremely comfortable and Spanx aren't really necessary
Calvin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 7, 2014

A Must-Rent LBD!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Amazing dress! Wear this style with a NuBra and a great pair of statement earrings by Oscar De La Renta! The Dress has lots of stretch and is very comfortable. Can be worn with Spanx for a smooth look. Definitely recommend renting this dress for a party!
casey.cowan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 10, 2014

Felt HOT!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress on New Year's Eve for a bar in the northwest suburbs of Chicago. I have a butt & big bust, so I was nervous about the open back and the stretchy material working for my body type. The material is so figuring flattering and the sheerness of the top still allows for easily wearing a strapless bra. I felt gorgeous all night, got so many compliments, and was able to dance and move. Wore a size 10--very true to size. Definitely another RTR success.
Melanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 26, 2014

AMAZING DRESS AND CUSTOMER SERVICE

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Okay, words cannot describe how much I love this dress. This was my first RTR experience and I will for sure be renting again. The customer service was beyond amazing. The first dress I rented didn't fit and the stylists were so sweet and helpful and overnighted me this dress. This dress is super flattering. I got so many compliments all night. It does ride up, so tall girls beware! I want this dress to be my LBD go to. LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Karen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Great dress - trendy and sexy without being overbearing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 2 and 4 and both fit similarly as the dress is fairly forgiving. The 4 was a little baggier in the shoulder/chest area so I went with the 2.
Laura Hill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

Awesome Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
RTR did an amazing job and overnighted my dress in both sizes I had originally ordered because a snow storm kept my original order from arriving on time. I ordered the 4 and the 6 because I was worried about length, but there was no need because the length of the 4 was perfect. I almost wish I had gotten the two because the four was a bit loose in the waist. However, the 4 fit perfectly on my arms, bust, and hips. I would love to own this dress - great job RTR.
Sophie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

Great dress for a boat party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit great and definitely had a slimming effect. The material is sturdy and smoothes out any lumps or bumps. Also, the little mesh areas revealed just enough to look classy and sexy at the same time.
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

Loved this dress. It was comfortable and the fit was great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was looking for a fun, edgy dress that I could wear to a party. This dress can be dressed up or down depending on the shoes and jewelry you wear. I dressed it down by wearing casual black booties. The material of this dress is great. It's comfortable and so flattering. I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 because I was afraid the dress would be too tight, but it's true to size. It's tight in all the right places! I noticed that the sleeves were fairly long, so if you are petite and have shorter arms this could be an issue for you. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 20, 2014

Perfect LBD for a friend's wedding in Vegas!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The sleeves are a little long for petites, other than that it was a perfect fit, hugged in all the right places. Sexy without being too revealing.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 24, 2014

Rented this dress for my 25th birthday party and everyone loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is super stretchy and very comfortable! The mesh details in the dress, and along with the long sleeves, make it unique which I loved. I'm very tall as well (6 feet) and the length of the dress was perfect. The sleeves were a little long but I also have long arms so I was happy about that. I don't think anyone could go wrong with this dress! Amazing!
Megan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 27, 2014

The fabric of this dress is AMAZING! I wanted to live in it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love love LOVE this dress. I was worried about the mesh details but the placement was figure flattering and dare I say, sexy! I was able to wear shape wear underneath, which I do suggest. But, I have never felt more comfortable in a body conscious dress. The selves were long but I did not have an issue with that. I got so many compliments on this dress. You could accessorize this dress in so many ways. I will be trying to find another occasion to rent this LBD
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 2, 2014

constant compliments, too much fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my sorority formal and rented both the 2 and the 4. The 4 fit and was slightly longer, but the 2 was less baggy up top so that was the one I went with. I absolutely LOVED this dress and it seemed everyone else did as well - I was constantly being complimented! I am usually not one for tight, body fitting dresses, but felt completely comfortable in this sexier dress so do not fear the fit!! Definitely recommend it!
Anna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 4, 2014

Amazing! I adore this dress! It fit perfect and wish I didn't have to send it back!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
#Perfect
Torie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Gorgeous little black dress I rented for a classy night out on the town in Vegas!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Comfortable fit (compared to a Herve). I will say if you plan to walk at all, it does start to ride up. I had to pull my dress down all night. Mesh detailing is small but very sexy. I was able to eat dinner and not feel uncomfortable in the stomach / waist area. I felt gorgeous and got a lot of attention all night. And my boyfriend popped the question!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 14, 2014

Fun dress

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress for a girls night out. Wore this to Vegas for my girlfriends bachelorette party. Super fun and the sheer cut outs were fun.
Andrea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

Perfect party dress! I felt comfortable and sexy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party and it was absolutely perfect! The fabric is flattering but the cut-outs in the middle and along the shoulders make it sexy. I normally wear a size small or 2 so I ordered this in the 2 and it fit perfectly. It was actually a little bit long, but I am very short so that is to be expected. The dress was comfortable and stayed in place all night. I didn't even need to wear a bra underneath which was great. Overall this is a great dress!
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

This dress was comfortable, sexy, and stylish. I felt confident and adored the dress!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size and looks great! It shows every flaw in the stomach so I would recommend having some sort of spanx. I wore the new Haute Contour Shorty and it was perfect. Tight enough not to wear a bra, but petals or strapless bra would work perfectly.
Summer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

This dress actually wasn't the one I ordered, it was another option I was sent and I loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my athletic banquet/formal and it was great! I have broad shoulders and a small bust so it was a bit loose at the top, but overall the fit was great! I am pretty small and the dress stopped right above my knees so it wasn't too long. I got tons of compliments all night long! I would definitely rent this dress again!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Fabulous, unique LBD - lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
For a tight fitting dress, I felt very comfortable in it. My friends told me it was a very flattering dress, and I loved the sheer parts for a little bit of sexy! I felt great and glamorous in this dress for my birthday outing. The only thing negative was that the sleeves were a little bit long, but it was nothing that would stop me from wearing the dress. Great LBD!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Suited the evening; wore for my bachelorette party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I had to wear the smaller size but wish I had the length of the bigger size.
TSV
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 11, 2014

Sexy & chic dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was nervous about this dress because of the cutouts, since I am not thin like most of the girls who have reviewed it (I'm 5'2" and about 150 lbs) and I thought the sheer panels might show lumps and bumps, but I think it ended up looking great. It's the perfect dress if you feel like embracing your curves. For undergarments I wore a strapless bra, which worked totally fine - just make sure you have a black one because it sometimes did peak out at the waist cutout. Also I wasn't able to wear spanx, which freaked me out since I don't have a flat tummy and don't want my bellybutton showing in a dress. I tried several types of spanx but they all cut me off about an inch below the waist cutout and created some weird roll above my waistline. So, I wore high cut thong panties instead that covered my middle but didn't cut me off at the top like spanx. The arms were literally 3 inches too long but I just folded them under. Also the length on the bottom was perfect on me but I still had to tug it down at times and I'm only 5'2" so I'm not sure how taller girls are pulling this off! Overall, I was really happy with this dress and would love to own it. BTW Sabrina at RTR - thank you!!!!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Perfect dress for an outdoor, night wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfect. I'm 5'10" and it wasn't too short. I typically wear a size 4 and this dress fit true to size. I have a smaller chest, so I opted so go with no bra, but if you have a bigger chest a strapless bra would work just fine. I would absolutely rent this dress again. I received so many compliments on it.
Bibiana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 20, 2014

Love the mesh detailing - simple but unforgettable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I was wary about this dress, but very glad I ended up choosing it! It was definitely a simple dress with respect to typical Vegas ware, but it was beautifully simplistic and the mesh panelling was very well executed and showed just enough skin. I wore this dress with statement shoes and therefore chose to tone down with regard to jewelry. I order a 6 to size up, which was too large, and the dress was stretchy enough that the 4 left just enough room to move around in. Definitely a pleasant surprise!
Samantha
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

Perfect little black dress for all occasions

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Best little black dress! Sexy and classy!
Kourtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

Perfect LBD!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress while in Vegas and it was a perfect LBD for a night out to a show and dinner. It was very comfortable to wear - note it does have some stretch too. I wore with a strapless bra and all the cut outs were placed appropriately for it. I went basic with the accessories - silver hoops and black booties. The dress was fun enough it didn't need much more. This is another dress I wish I owned.
Cass
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Perfect for a night in Vegas

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was awesome... It was so comfortable and I was able to dance all night without any problems. The mesh gave it a subtle hint of style. Perfect combo of sexy and modest. Loved it!
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Apr 28, 2014

This dress was super comfortable and perfect for my New Years Eve out on the town

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The material itself is a really high quality and is extremely flattering. It was perfect for a chilly night, and the see-through slots added a little oomph! This dress was extremely comfy. I paired it with tights and chunky heels and never once was fixing it or moving it back into place. I'd highly recommend this for a cooler night out!
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 13, 2015

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing. I was nervous about the cut outs but they ended up being perfect. Sexy and classy. I received so many compliments on the dress. I normally wear a size 4, but thankfully I got the 6 for backup and ended up wearing the size 6. The 4 was a little snug and the 6 fit perfect. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Anna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 14, 2015

Sexy little (long sleeve) dress!!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Ended up wearing the 6, 8 was way large. The dress is super cute and material is nice. Only thing is the sleeves were pretty long, I had to fold the ends a little bit- but it looked fine since you couldn't see that. Sexy dress, felt comfortable... Overall very cute!!
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

Fit was really off

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I think if you're tall and skinny, you'd like this. I'm small and petite and the dress was just simply not flattering at all. It was way too long (Im 5'3" and it almost came down to my knees) and it was so snug around my hips that it made me look like I was fat, even though I'm not (I'm 110 pounds). I'm usually a 2-4 and I had to wear the 6 in this, which was more flattering on my middle but was waayy too big up top. For the RTR price, I almost wanted to cry, since the fit was so horrible. It is a nice material and the cutouts gave it a nice touch but I would not recommend this designer to any of my friends.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 4, 2015

Very sexy!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Fits great. Very sexy
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Loved this dress, very comfortable, got lots of complements

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm typically a 2, but am also fairly tall, so I opted for the 4 for a little extra length (otherwise the fit was fairly similar). Had I worn the 2 I think the dress probably would have ridden up a fair amount, but this wasn't a huge issue in the 4. Very comfortable and flattering. Really liked the long sleeves, although I wouldn't call the fabric warm by any means (I wore fleece lined tights as it was very cold outside). Really loved the cut-out details.
maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

loved loved loved this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
fit was spot on (except sleeves were a little too long on me). material was really nice - perfectly stretchy, but not too thin. mesh had some give to it, so I didn't feel like it was tight in the arm/bust area, which sometimes happens with l/s dresses and my body type. overall, fabulous dress.
Heather
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 3, 2015

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit true to size. I normally wear a 6 in dresses and it fit perfectly. It was super cute on and I got tons of compliments! Very form fitting so you may want body shaping undies to conceal any lines. I wore a strapless bra with this dress and worked very well! Also, kept me warm enough on a cold New England night to celebrate my 30th bday. Awesome dress!! Will rent this one again :)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×