Elizabeth and James

Charlene Dress

$55 – $75 rental ?
$365 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take a walk on the wild side in this Elizabeth & James dress. With exposed shoulders and back, you're sure to rule the night! Add jawdropper jewels like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch synthetic knit (85% polyester, 15% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Mesh cutout details at shoulders and waist. Pencil skirt. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

131 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 101
Large 11
Photos 87
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 7, 2013

I love everything about this dress! It definitely helped make my night unforgettable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The fit was perfect and it hugs your body just right! It was not too short at all!
Sue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

Soooo comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was sent to me as a replacement for another dress that had been returned damaged and therefore unavailable to me. I had ordered 2 other dresses, but ended up wearing this one! It was super comfortable and I was able to wear my strapless bra with it, no problem. I had originally looked at this dress when choosing the others, but was afraid that the strapless bra would show because of the cutouts in that area, but it didn't. I probably could have worn a size 2 instead as there was some room in the shoulder and armhole area by those cutouts which caused it to not fit as snugly as I might have wanted. But it still looked great! Love this dress!
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

More beautiful in person than the picture!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress showed up as a back-up when the dress I had originally intended on wearing wasn't available at the time of shipping. I ended up wearing this one and loved it. I usually wear a size 4, but only the size 6 was available. The fabric does hug your body pretty closely, so I actually felt comfortable in the 6. It was a little loose around the chest and armpit area, but barely noticeable. I received so many compliments on this dress all night- I paired it with the necklace shown in the picture, and the look was amazing! The back of the dress also creates quite the statement. I would definitely rent this dress again!!!
Cindy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 19, 2013

Fabulous, wonderful... an Amazing Little Black Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is fantastic! I am generally a 4 and ordered the size 4 and 2. I probably could have fit into the 2 however the 4 was very comfortable so didn't even try on the 2. It is a simple, elegant and all around awesome dress. I would HIGHLY recommend it for a cocktail or holiday party or even an evening out (date night). You can dress this up or keep it simple... it's a great little black dress. Received numerous compliments about it. The RTR process was fabulous. Dress arrived on time and the ease of renting is so outstanding that I will absolutely become a frequent customer and spread the word as well! I would rent this dress again!
Alix
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 23, 2013

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress. I little short but the long sleeves make it suitable for someone of my age (40!). I honestly received so many compliments that I wasn't sure if people were being honest. But, hubby agreed, so I'll take it. Another great experience from RTR.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Dec 31, 2013

sexy party dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit very true to size. The fabric was silky, but not too thin, so it was flattering. The sheer cut-outs added the perfect edgy touch to the dress.
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Sexy but you need a bum!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very cute and in style, but I am tall and I don't have a big bum. I didn't end up wearing because I felt it made me look too flat in the back.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

super comfortable and flattering dress, great if you are tall!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits very nicely, sleeves are very long, even for my 6ft frame, it had extra length which never happens, and it was great! I wish I owned this dress, the cutouts pose a cute twist to otherwise normal little black dress.
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Jan 17, 2014

very complimented dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore it to a restaurant opening and filmed a commercial with it. the dress looks amazing! its short so ladies beware...true to size.
JaneFonda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 22, 2014

Beautiful but renter be ware: strange bra needed

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is lovely - fit and felt awesome. I had a hard time finding the right bra for it though. Strapless bras showed seams through the tight cut and strappy ones showed the straps. If I wore it again I would get those gel contraptions that you stick on. Just something to plan for if you rent this - hook yourself up with the right bra!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 24, 2014

mother-daughter matching dresses!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented a 4 and a 6 for back. Never tried on the 2nd dress I'd ordered, this dress was great! I could have worn the 4 but since my daughter was in town for the party, I thought it would be fun to wear the same dress, so she wore the small. We were a hit! comfortable and fun dress I would wear again! sleeves are long...
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×