Elizabeth and James

Charlene Dress

$45 – $75 rental
$365 retail
Stylist Notes

Take a walk on the wild side in this Elizabeth & James dress. With exposed shoulders and back, you're sure to rule the night! Add jawdropper jewels like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black stretch synthetic knit (85% polyester, 15% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Mesh cutout details at shoulders and waist. Pencil skirt. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
228 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(147)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2015
RTR was easy, affordable, and convenient!
The dress fit perfectly in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107lbs
November 4, 2015
Fabulous dress!!!
I regrettably did not take any pictures in this, so I will be renting again! This dress fit wonderfully!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 27, 2015
Great dress but arrived damaged!
I love Elizabeth and James - the fit is always fantastic. I'm usually a 0 or 2, I wore the size 2 in this dress and it was actually a bit big around the hips and kind of bubbled in the rear, causing it to ride up throughout the night, but it wasn't terrible. My dress, however, arrived with a faulty zipper - it kept unzipping!! It would slide half way down my back without me noticing, multiple times. My long hair helped to cover it up, but it was really disappointing, especially with such a beautiful dress - I couldn't fully enjoy it :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
May 23, 2016
Beautiful yet simple black dress!
I wore this dress to a December wedding and loved it! I wanted a long sleeve black dress that was still sexy but appropriate for a wedding. The mesh parts are a great touch. Love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 6, 2016
Perfect for winter wedding
Wore this to a wedding in telluride, added tights and boots and it kept me warm! Love it! Thick material hide everything.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
December 4, 2016
The perfect dress!
This dress was amazing. It fit perfectly and was so flattering and comfortable. This was my first RTR and I am 110% sold on it. I got so many compliments! I am almost 5'10" and probably 160lbs and the size 8 fit me really well. I didn't need to wear a bra (I'm probably an A-cup) because the dress is thick enough. This was the first time in a long time that I wore a dress I was 100% comfortable in for my entire holiday party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 20, 2016
One of my favorite rentals!
Fit was Amazing. It wasn't too short and the sleeves were actually long enough for my "Tall Girl" arms. Loved It!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 30F
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 109lbs
January 31, 2017
Super comfortable
The dress was soft and comfortable, but fitted. If you don't want to show off your curves this may not be the dress for you. I am too heavy so my strapless bra peaked through the mesh around the middle but it would not have been as noticeable if my bra was black.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
February 9, 2017
Fun little black dress
Just enough revealing to feel sexy yet classy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 20, 2017
Perfect LBD
I absolutely loved this dress. It accentuated curves in the right places. Worked great with a strapless bra. As everyone reviews, sleeves are really long but it's black so they can easily get folded and you can't tell. The only problem I had is that zipper on the back kept coming down about 2 inches while dancing
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 26, 2017
ABSOLUTE SHOWSTOPPER
This dress was everything I wanted and more. I rented this for a club and I got a million compliments on it from guys and girls alike. The mesh sections give it just enough sex appeal while still staying classy. Super flattering!! I ordered the size 4 and was unable to get a backup size because all other sizes were booked for the weekend. I was a little nervous to order the 4 because I've recently gained a few pounds in my butt/thighs and breasts, but this fit like a glove! It was so flattering and showed off my hourglass shape. I went braless and the way the dress is made it kept my breasts looking perky and in place. I danced the night away and didn't have to deal with this riding up or anything. It's short but not indecent. I wore spanx underneath just to keep everything together. 12/10 would rent again. Highly recommend this to my curvy girls out there because this is an absolute show stopper.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 23, 2017
Amazing dress!
This is one of my favorite RTR dresses. I rented this for a night out in Chicago, and it did not disappoint! Not only was it flattering, it was comfortable too. I ended up wearing the smaller size as the sleeves were a little long on the size 4. Absolutely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
April 17, 2017
Perfect!
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party- it was sassy LBD - comfortable and flattering. I'm 5'3 and 125 lbs- I wore a size 4 and it fit great, sleeves were a little long but not an issue. The dress was slimming and I did not have to wear spanx. I would totally rent this dress again and recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 8, 2017
Sexy LBD
This dress came as a backup I didn't originally order but loved it once I tried it on. The sleeves are a little long as I'm petite but you can cuff them no problem. The zipper in the back kept coming down which wasn't a big deal as I wasn't very mobile but would have been an issue if I were up and about. Very flattering fit with sheer pieces that add a little sex appeal to this otherwise classy LBD.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
November 13, 2017
Compliments all night!
The fit was amazing! Fit is very tight but feels comfortable. Unfortunately, the zipper kept falling down throughout the night while I was dancing. Really loved the dress besides that little annoyance.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
February 24, 2014
Rented this dress for my 25th birthday party and everyone loved it!
This dress is super stretchy and very comfortable! The mesh details in the dress, and along with the long sleeves, make it unique which I loved. I'm very tall as well (6 feet) and the length of the dress was perfect. The sleeves were a little long but I also have long arms so I was happy about that. I don't think anyone could go wrong with this dress! Amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2014
Night out in Vegas
I wore this dress for a nice dinner and night out in Las Vegas. The dress is sexy, sophisticated, and comfortable. At first I thought maybe the dress was too covered up for Vegas, but the sheer panels and fit make it sexy. It was a big hit with my husband.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
April 12, 2014
It was really nice to be in the vegas showroom and get to try on lot of dresses!
They ran out if size 8 in vegas showroom but I really love the style so I got size 10 instead. It was a big long on the sleeve but overall it was really comfy for the whole night partying in vegas!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 5, 2014
Sexy dress, but didn't work on a petite frame
I am sure this dress would look amazing on a taller girl with a smaller chest, but it was not for me. I have a large bust and a short waist, so the sheer portion at the waist didn't really hit at the right point. The shoulders were also too wide to really get the full effect of the sheer panels. it was just kind of bunchy. I would suggest renting a smaller size than you usually wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
February 6, 2014
too big
weird fit in waist and hips
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 13, 2014
Great body hugging dress
This dress fit perfectly!! I normally wear an 8 but he 6 just had a better fit in the waist and shoulders. The sleeves were a bit long, but it was nice for a cool Wisconsin night. I wore this to an after-party after the marine ball.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2014
Good, easy, safe dress
Liked it. Didn't love it. The sleeves are very long, and I have pretty long arms! The fit was a little big, but not to where I could not wear it. I wore it while judging the MissUtah USA and MissUtah Teen USA pageants. Was comfortable for sitting for a couple of hours.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2015
Wore this to my sorority formal.
the 4 fit a tiny bit big but it did not really bother me! It is so comfortable and got here a day earlier than i needed it to! the return was easy as well. will for sure be using RTR again. would suggest going a size down for your back up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
June 1, 2015
Compliment City
My original choice wasn't available at the last minute so I opted for this dress out of what was left available. This dress was super comfortable and not overly hot considering it's long sleeved and it was almost 90 degrees out. I was actually super comfortable temperature-wise inside with the AC blasting. Got a lot of compliments all night, especially from my husband who said it made my butt look great :) I didn't like how it gapped a little in the armpit area and like others mentioned, the bottom rides up and the mid-section cut out wasn't always visible. I think the gapping was because it was actually a little big for me even though it was a size 0.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
October 18, 2015
Loved this dress! It was so comfortable and made me feel really confident. Great for a school dance.
I wore the smallest size I ordered and I wished it was a little tighter, so order a size down. Other than that, it was super comfortable and easy to dance in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
February 15, 2016
Date night with my husband
This dress was my first pick for my night out with my husband. This dress ran very large. Thankfully my back up dress was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 7, 2016
Beautiful and Comfortable!
This dress is beautiful and comfortable. I sized down and it was still a little looser than I expected. It did slide up a little when I walked but that could be because I have a good size booty, because it was looser than normal everywhere else. I paired it with some red heels for Valentine's Day. Beautiful and sexy!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 9, 2014
Awesome dress, and I got dry shampoo with my order
Great fit, true to size, nice fabric
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 22
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 210lbs
January 5, 2015
This dress was very flattering. Not a show stopper but a nice little black dress. I wore it for NYE.
I am a size 12 in everything so was slightly optimistic and ambitious ordering the 10. The dress nicely stretches to compliment curves.The sleeves were long as I read on another review. Overall a nice dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 24, 2016
So easy and comfortable
I wore this on a short trip to Vegas and it was so easy and comfortable. I probably could have gone down a size or two but it was still great as is, just a little loose around the hips. Left lots of room to walk and dance all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
January 29, 2014
Very flattering
I loved this dress. I rented it for my birthday dinner while in Las Vegas. It runs large, I normally wear a size 10 and an 8 fit perfectly. The only problem with size was the arms were very long, I was able to fold them under as an easy fix. Because of the mesh on the shoulders and back I recommend a strapless bra.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 17, 2014
I ordered two dresses and I never wore this one. The dress is very nice in person.
This dress runs big. If you do not have hips it's will give you no shape. The sleeves were extremely long.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 115lbs
December 14, 2015
Perfect dress for a formal work party in a modern company.
Fit was perfect, and material was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
February 17, 2014
Great for a girls night out in Puerto Rico !
Loved this dress..this was my back up back up ! Loved the way the dress fit. I usually wear a 4 but a 6 was perfect ( I have hips :) ) I wore it for a bachelorette party in Puerto rico and it was perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
May 12, 2014
great for a night out
Rented this in Vegas. Was comfortable and the cut outs were not over the top. Very form fitting.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 3, 2014
Did not look right on me
The arms on this were super long making the look kind of awkward
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2014
A great birthday celebration dress!
I was very happy with this dress for my birthday! Initially, I was worried that I'd pop out of the cut-outs like a can of biscuits in a hot car.... (think about it)... but I didn't! It was very flattering! This was the perfect LBD that says "I have one more year in my twenties so I'll squeeze myself in and have a great time while I still can!" :) With that said, I have worn a lot of fabulous dresses on RTR and this was the only one that I opted for the size 6. I would say it runs a tee-tiny bit small, but nothing drastic. I would recco this dress to anyone!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
November 12, 2014
Sexy and Classy
Having to choose between dresses, I did not wear this dress due to the sizing. Sizing: the dress runs a tad big up top and small on the bottom. I am 5'2 and the shoulder portion of the dress was long in length wise and loose on the arms and shoulders. Not suitable for a person with a short torso. Where it ran small was around the hips. The top felt like an 8 and bottom like a 4. I think this dress would look great on a long torso, small hips, tall build women. Material: quality material that feels nice on the skin. Not itchy or too thick. Would be fun dress to dance in, It moves with you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2015
Amazing dress!
This dress was amazing. I was nervous about the cut outs but they ended up being perfect. Sexy and classy. I received so many compliments on the dress. I normally wear a size 4, but thankfully I got the 6 for backup and ended up wearing the size 6. The 4 was a little snug and the 6 fit perfect. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
December 16, 2015
it was a very nice dress my husband love it ! well love to rent again !
fit prefect , pro... con sleeves where long and dress did ride up in the back so be careful with that , but overall was a great fit
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×