Elizabeth and James

Charlene Dress

$75 rental
$365 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take a walk on the wild side in this Elizabeth & James dress. With exposed shoulders and back, you're sure to rule the night! Add jawdropper jewels like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch synthetic knit (85% polyester, 15% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Mesh cutout details at shoulders and waist. Pencil skirt. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

125 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 97
Large 11
Photos 84
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 29, 2014

Just the right amount of sexy without crossing the line.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I loved this dress so much that I found one and bought it. It fits perfectly and is very flattering. The long sleeves really balance the length and cutout detail so that the dress is sexy without being too over the top. If you're thinking about it - do it!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 29, 2014

Perfection!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I went to an event for a local magazine where there are a lot of beautiful women in a lot of beautiful clothes. So many people told me how great I looked and the dress really flattered my body. The cut outs are above the natural waist so the dress was not entirely unforgiving. I was NOT able to wear a bra with the dress even through I tried 6 or 7 different kinds and styles of bras. The details below are not entirely accurate. I can wear down to an 8, which is a big difference from a 12. (I have been actively been trying to lose weight). I liked the dress because I don't like to show off my arms and it kept my arms hidden without looking like a grandma! Probably the best part of the entire evening
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Apr 30, 2014

Was cool... :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit perfectly. Form fitting and body hugging, but comfortable .
Sabrina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
May 1, 2014

Wore this dress for a fundraising gala.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit great! extremely comfortable. I would wear a black strapless bra with this dress. you could see my bra peeking through a little bit, but because my bra was black no one would ever notice! I loved this dress and hated to return it. The material was really nice too.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 4, 2014

The perfect dress for an award ceremony -- got a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The sleeves are a bit long, but the fabric has a lot of stretch to it. I'd recommend also getting some sort of boob tape, because it's difficult to wear a bra with it.
Brittney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 10, 2014

Loved it

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress - fit true to size, very comfortable and looked great. Would definitely rent again!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111 lbs
May 12, 2014

great for a night out

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Rented this in Vegas. Was comfortable and the cut outs were not over the top. Very form fitting.
Linny
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 27, 2014

Wore to a boxing fight in Las Vegas

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was super fitted, as I expected it would be. I read on another review previously that the dress rides up when you walk, which is true. I had to walk up and down lots of stairs to get to our seats and was constantly pulling the dress down, as it kept riding up pretty far. The dress is a beautiful, fun, sexy dress. It was perfect for my event. It looks exactly as it is pictured here.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
May 31, 2014

This dress fit great and was fun to wear. I didn't want to return it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was sent to me as a replacement when the dress I had ordered was damaged, and I'm really happy that they picked it for me! I wore this dress to my law school hooding ceremony; it was great for the occasion and didn't ride up under my gown. The fabric is stretchy and runs true to size, so it was comfy and easy to wear. I am tall, so the hemline was a little short, but I still felt like it was appropriate. I would definitely rent it again!
Kelsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Last minute, I got an email letting me know that the dress I originally wanted had been returned in too poor condition to send to me. So I picked this one out in a bit of a hurry but other reviews are true- its great! Great for late night, cold weather. Very comfortable material and easy to wear and dance in!
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Amazing!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was a little nervous about wearing this dress because of the sheer bits of fabric around the midsection and arms, but as soon as I put it on I was obsessed! I definitely wore spans underneath but didn't have any issue with them poking out at the waist band. Like other reviews said, the arms were a bit long but I just tucked them under and it was fine. I would absolutely rent this again!
Martine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 12, 2014

Made me feel fashionable even though I was pregnant

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to my friends bachelorette party in NYC 7 months preggo.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Fit perfectly!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to an engagement party and got so many compliments. I just had a baby and I felt prettier than I have in a long time. Showed skin in all the right spots. Classy yet sexy!
Farah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 9, 2014

Perfect Holiday Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really enjoyed this dress! I wore it for my fiance's Holiday work party. Felt very covered yet beautiful. Only complaint (which is usually my issue with bodycon dresses because of my butt....) is that I did have to tug at the sides to pull the dress down every now and then. Not as often as with other dresses but definitely after going up and down stairs. Other than that, the sleeves were a tad short for me but I just rolled them up at my wrists and you really can't noticed since its black.
Megan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Perfect for my Bachelorette on a chilly night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First RTR experience was a huge success! Dress is true to size; I'm 5'9" 130lbs and wore the 0. Great for a night out! Material is thick and comfortable!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Sep 27, 2014

Awesome Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great dress for my daughters Homecoming!
Natalie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Great sophisticated but flirty dress for a bachelorette party

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress. Great fabric, flattering, comfortable, fit true to size. Will rent again.
Paige
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

I felt like a showstopper, and received endless compliments! AWESOME dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a size 0, and a size 2, and when the dress came one day before my homecoming dance, I didn't even bother trying on the size 2 because the 0 fit perfectly! It hugged in all the right places, but wasn't so tight that I felt uncomfortable. The length was perfect for what I'm comfortable with, and since I'm tall I was nervous about the length especially. I paired the dress with a necklace of my own that was uber-sparkly, and red pumps, and felt incredible the whole night. Highly recommend this dress!
Anna
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

Everyone kept asking me where I got my dress, and my date was absolutely blown away!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit perfect! Fits true to size:)
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

A great birthday celebration dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was very happy with this dress for my birthday! Initially, I was worried that I'd pop out of the cut-outs like a can of biscuits in a hot car.... (think about it)... but I didn't! It was very flattering! This was the perfect LBD that says "I have one more year in my twenties so I'll squeeze myself in and have a great time while I still can!" :) With that said, I have worn a lot of fabulous dresses on RTR and this was the only one that I opted for the size 6. I would say it runs a tee-tiny bit small, but nothing drastic. I would recco this dress to anyone!!
Amy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

Great body hugging dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly!! I normally wear an 8 but he 6 just had a better fit in the waist and shoulders. The sleeves were a bit long, but it was nice for a cool Wisconsin night. I wore this to an after-party after the marine ball.
Jennie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
Nov 26, 2014

Perfect Cold Weather LBD!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my best friend's Niagara Falls Bachelorette. The 6 fit, but I went with the 8 since I was nervous about the cut outs when I sat down. It was the perfect little black dress for a snowy day - sexy but still appropriate. I got a lot of compliments and felt very comfortable all night!
Liz
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Wore this for a charity event. It was perfect! Received so many complements!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is true to size. I loved the long sleeves for our November event. the mesh cut outs make it very sexy! Nice think material so I was able to go bra less with no worries of "show through". Would highly suggest it!
Rosalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Good, easy, safe dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Liked it. Didn't love it. The sleeves are very long, and I have pretty long arms! The fit was a little big, but not to where I could not wear it. I wore it while judging the MissUtah USA and MissUtah Teen USA pageants. Was comfortable for sitting for a couple of hours.
Kelsey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Awesome dress, and I got dry shampoo with my order

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Great fit, true to size, nice fabric
Lindsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Dec 10, 2014

comfortable LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my office holiday party. It has a pretty thick texture and it's form fitting, so if you're somewhat body conscious I would advise against this dress. My only con is I kept trying to pull the dress down so that the midsection cut-out would appear, maybe that won't happen for everybody.
Chastity
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Absolutely, best dress at the party!!!!!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress for my company Christmas party, the dress was perfect. Soft, sturdy, comfy material. Sexy, but not over the top!!! Would definitely rent again, or possibly buy this dress!!!!' Loved it!!!!!
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Flattering and sexy while still comfortable

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Date
I wore this out to a fancy dinner in Vegas. I'm very tempted to buy it. It was snug and yet stretchy in all of the right places. Perfect for a chilly fall night or winter event.
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Incredible as always!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my 30th birthday dinner. The 4 came up a little too short to feel appropriate, so I went with the 6. I was so sad to see this dress go! It is flattering & very comfortable (even after a big meal)! Sleek with just the right amount of sexy ;)
RTR Customer
Dec 24, 2014

Perfect fit! I received so many compliments and it was a beautiful dress.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Everything about this dress was great. The sleeves were a little long but I just rolled them in and problem solved!
seana
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

WOW! What a blast, we had the best evening and this was the perfect dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
No one likes to wear a dress more than once! This is the perfect concept, I love it!!! I stressed big time over the sizing, and this dress fit perfectly in all the right places. I wear size 26 jeans and have very long arms :) and a large ribcage too, I usually get a size up in tops. I was sent the 2 and the 4 and wore the 2 like it was my job - haha. It was comfortable, gave me more confidence and was the perfect mix of sexy and conservative! My husband wanted to buy it! RENT THIS DRESS! Thank you RTR, I'll be back...
Vicky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Fun and Easy NYE Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the material of this dress (thicker than I thought) and thought it was perfect for NYE - simple yet sexy and fun. The size 4 fit perfectly, but the sleeves were long on me and I'm 5'4". Other than that, I enjoyed wearing the dress and felt really good in it. It definitely accentuates curves in a good way.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

This dress was for an NYE party at a popular nightclub. Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great material for a colder evening, and wasn't too tight as to be constricting. Mesh cut outs left a sexy detail without being too revealing. Dress ran true to size. I ordered a 4 and 6 and the 4 fit great; although the sleeves were a little long. I paired this dress with the Sequin Stardust necklace for some extra drama.
Jelissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 5, 2015

This dress was very flattering. Not a show stopper but a nice little black dress. I wore it for NYE.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am a size 12 in everything so was slightly optimistic and ambitious ordering the 10. The dress nicely stretches to compliment curves.The sleeves were long as I read on another review. Overall a nice dress.
Renee
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

I loved having a dress that I knew no one else would have on.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
This dress was classy and elegant with a little edge. The cutouts were in the right places and the length was perfect for an office holiday party.
Abbie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

A twist on your basic LBD!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress. The fabric is thick and was perfect for a date at a very fancy and formal dinner in Chicago. I wear between an 8 and a 10 normally but didn't even try the 8 on, as it fit perfectly. It's super flattering. Threw some spanx on just to feel more secure since I'm self-conscious of my tummy area, but I felt like it was fitted but still flattering. As some reviewers have said, the sleeves are long but I prefer that than the sleeves to be too short.
Kit
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

Not your average little black dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my high school winter formal and it was perfect. Between the relatively thick (and comfortable) fabric, black color, and strategically placed sheer panels, it is something you will feel at ease wearing. It looks great in pictures, but make sure to pull down at the hem and stomach every once in a while-- it tends to ride up slightly. Overall, I would highly recommend this dress. This was my first RTR order and I am very happy!
Elisabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Jan 25, 2015

Comfortable, classy and sassy

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
Dress for like a glove. The sleeves were a little long but could be rolled discreetly. I got a lot of complements and was warm. The long sleeves are a game changer for winter events. I didn't want to return it!
RTR Customer
Feb 7, 2015

The look on my friends and boyfriends faces made it worth it!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the fit of the dress. It made me feel so pretty and sexy at the same time. Got tons of compliments and felt so sad to give it back. Best first experience ever!
Molly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 8, 2015

The dress was a great choice for a fun, upscale Valentine's Day.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The sleeves were snug but the dress fit great. The mesh cutouts were sexy but not too revealing. I highly recommend the dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×