Elizabeth and James

Charlene Dress

$75 rental
$365 retail
Stylist Notes

Take a walk on the wild side in this Elizabeth & James dress. With exposed shoulders and back, you're sure to rule the night! Add jawdropper jewels like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black stretch synthetic knit (85% polyester, 15% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Mesh cutout details at shoulders and waist. Pencil skirt. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
221 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(142)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 15, 2014
Perfect dress for an outdoor, night wedding!
This dress fit perfect. I'm 5'10" and it wasn't too short. I typically wear a size 4 and this dress fit true to size. I have a smaller chest, so I opted so go with no bra, but if you have a bigger chest a strapless bra would work just fine. I would absolutely rent this dress again. I received so many compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 20, 2014
Love the mesh detailing - simple but unforgettable!
I was wary about this dress, but very glad I ended up choosing it! It was definitely a simple dress with respect to typical Vegas ware, but it was beautifully simplistic and the mesh panelling was very well executed and showed just enough skin. I wore this dress with statement shoes and therefore chose to tone down with regard to jewelry. I order a 6 to size up, which was too large, and the dress was stretchy enough that the 4 left just enough room to move around in. Definitely a pleasant surprise!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 135lbs
April 20, 2014
Perfect little black dress for all occasions
Best little black dress! Sexy and classy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
April 23, 2014
Perfect LBD!!
I wore this dress while in Vegas and it was a perfect LBD for a night out to a show and dinner. It was very comfortable to wear - note it does have some stretch too. I wore with a strapless bra and all the cut outs were placed appropriately for it. I went basic with the accessories - silver hoops and black booties. The dress was fun enough it didn't need much more. This is another dress I wish I owned.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect for a night in Vegas
This dress was awesome... It was so comfortable and I was able to dance all night without any problems. The mesh gave it a subtle hint of style. Perfect combo of sexy and modest. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
April 28, 2014
This dress was super comfortable and perfect for my New Years Eve out on the town
The material itself is a really high quality and is extremely flattering. It was perfect for a chilly night, and the see-through slots added a little oomph! This dress was extremely comfy. I paired it with tights and chunky heels and never once was fixing it or moving it back into place. I'd highly recommend this for a cooler night out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2014
Just the right amount of sexy without crossing the line.
I loved this dress so much that I found one and bought it. It fits perfectly and is very flattering. The long sleeves really balance the length and cutout detail so that the dress is sexy without being too over the top. If you're thinking about it - do it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2014
Perfection!
I went to an event for a local magazine where there are a lot of beautiful women in a lot of beautiful clothes. So many people told me how great I looked and the dress really flattered my body. The cut outs are above the natural waist so the dress was not entirely unforgiving. I was NOT able to wear a bra with the dress even through I tried 6 or 7 different kinds and styles of bras. The details below are not entirely accurate. I can wear down to an 8, which is a big difference from a 12. (I have been actively been trying to lose weight). I liked the dress because I don't like to show off my arms and it kept my arms hidden without looking like a grandma! Probably the best part of the entire evening
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 30, 2014
Was cool... :)
Fit perfectly. Form fitting and body hugging, but comfortable .
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 1, 2014
Wore this dress for a fundraising gala.
fit great! extremely comfortable. I would wear a black strapless bra with this dress. you could see my bra peeking through a little bit, but because my bra was black no one would ever notice! I loved this dress and hated to return it. The material was really nice too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 5, 2014
Sexy dress, but didn't work on a petite frame
I am sure this dress would look amazing on a taller girl with a smaller chest, but it was not for me. I have a large bust and a short waist, so the sheer portion at the waist didn't really hit at the right point. The shoulders were also too wide to really get the full effect of the sheer panels. it was just kind of bunchy. I would suggest renting a smaller size than you usually wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 10, 2014
Loved it
I loved this dress - fit true to size, very comfortable and looked great. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
May 12, 2014
great for a night out
Rented this in Vegas. Was comfortable and the cut outs were not over the top. Very form fitting.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 7, 2014
Amazing!
I was a little nervous about wearing this dress because of the sheer bits of fabric around the midsection and arms, but as soon as I put it on I was obsessed! I definitely wore spans underneath but didn't have any issue with them poking out at the waist band. Like other reviews said, the arms were a bit long but I just tucked them under and it was fine. I would absolutely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 12, 2014
Made me feel fashionable even though I was pregnant
Wore this dress to my friends bachelorette party in NYC 7 months preggo.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 17, 2014
Fit perfectly!
Wore this to an engagement party and got so many compliments. I just had a baby and I felt prettier than I have in a long time. Showed skin in all the right spots. Classy yet sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 3, 2014
Did not look right on me
The arms on this were super long making the look kind of awkward
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2014
Perfect Holiday Dress
Really enjoyed this dress! I wore it for my fiance's Holiday work party. Felt very covered yet beautiful. Only complaint (which is usually my issue with bodycon dresses because of my butt....) is that I did have to tug at the sides to pull the dress down every now and then. Not as often as with other dresses but definitely after going up and down stairs. Other than that, the sleeves were a tad short for me but I just rolled them up at my wrists and you really can't noticed since its black.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 4, 2014
Fit like an actual glove
Thick material, super flattering and just the right amount of sexy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
February 6, 2014
too big
weird fit in waist and hips
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 20, 2014
Beautiful
Super comfortable!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 22, 2014
Perfect for my Bachelorette on a chilly night!
First RTR experience was a huge success! Dress is true to size; I'm 5'9" 130lbs and wore the 0. Great for a night out! Material is thick and comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
September 27, 2014
Awesome Dress!
Great dress for my daughters Homecoming!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 5, 2014
The customer service is always wonderful.
The dress was beautiful, but I was sad I couldn't wear the size 8 because it arrived with a stain on the sleeve and pulled stitching was revealed. My backup size 6 was too tight for my liking. Otherwise, I would certainly try to rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2014
Sleeves were super long
I ordered this as a back up for a 3 year anniversary dinner in Chicago. When I tried it on I thought overall the fit was okay, but for some reason the sleeves were super long! I have never had this problem before so I imagine it is the dress, not me. When I say super long, I mean the sleeves went passed my finger tips. Something to consider for anyone thinking about renting this, because there was no way I could wear this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 14, 2014
Perfect for cocktail party!
This dress fit really well. It was perfect for the evening charity event that we attended. I wish I'd gotten a picture to show you! In any case, it's stretch and comfortable. I would definitely rent it again.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 17, 2014
Great sophisticated but flirty dress for a bachelorette party
Loved this dress. Great fabric, flattering, comfortable, fit true to size. Will rent again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 20, 2014
Dress looked and fit amazing!
Very fitted, but comfortable. Fabric not super thick but was very flattering
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
October 29, 2014
I felt like a showstopper, and received endless compliments! AWESOME dress.
I ordered a size 0, and a size 2, and when the dress came one day before my homecoming dance, I didn't even bother trying on the size 2 because the 0 fit perfectly! It hugged in all the right places, but wasn't so tight that I felt uncomfortable. The length was perfect for what I'm comfortable with, and since I'm tall I was nervous about the length especially. I paired the dress with a necklace of my own that was uber-sparkly, and red pumps, and felt incredible the whole night. Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 3, 2014
Perfect for a night out in NYC
Loved the cut outs in this dress! It fit really well and was very flattering. Thought I would have to size up but ended up wearing my true size! I recommend a strapless bra!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 9, 2014
Everyone kept asking me where I got my dress, and my date was absolutely blown away!!
It fit perfect! Fits true to size:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2014
A great birthday celebration dress!
I was very happy with this dress for my birthday! Initially, I was worried that I'd pop out of the cut-outs like a can of biscuits in a hot car.... (think about it)... but I didn't! It was very flattering! This was the perfect LBD that says "I have one more year in my twenties so I'll squeeze myself in and have a great time while I still can!" :) With that said, I have worn a lot of fabulous dresses on RTR and this was the only one that I opted for the size 6. I would say it runs a tee-tiny bit small, but nothing drastic. I would recco this dress to anyone!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
November 12, 2014
Sexy and Classy
Having to choose between dresses, I did not wear this dress due to the sizing. Sizing: the dress runs a tad big up top and small on the bottom. I am 5'2 and the shoulder portion of the dress was long in length wise and loose on the arms and shoulders. Not suitable for a person with a short torso. Where it ran small was around the hips. The top felt like an 8 and bottom like a 4. I think this dress would look great on a long torso, small hips, tall build women. Material: quality material that feels nice on the skin. Not itchy or too thick. Would be fun dress to dance in, It moves with you.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 13, 2014
Great body hugging dress
This dress fit perfectly!! I normally wear an 8 but he 6 just had a better fit in the waist and shoulders. The sleeves were a bit long, but it was nice for a cool Wisconsin night. I wore this to an after-party after the marine ball.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 7, 2014
Wore this for a charity event. It was perfect! Received so many complements!
It is true to size. I loved the long sleeves for our November event. the mesh cut outs make it very sexy! Nice think material so I was able to go bra less with no worries of "show through". Would highly suggest it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2014
Good, easy, safe dress
Liked it. Didn't love it. The sleeves are very long, and I have pretty long arms! The fit was a little big, but not to where I could not wear it. I wore it while judging the MissUtah USA and MissUtah Teen USA pageants. Was comfortable for sitting for a couple of hours.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 15, 2014
Absolutely, best dress at the party!!!!!
Wore this dress for my company Christmas party, the dress was perfect. Soft, sturdy, comfy material. Sexy, but not over the top!!! Would definitely rent again, or possibly buy this dress!!!!' Loved it!!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2014
Flattering, chic and comfortable!
I rented this for my office Christmas party. It's long enough so that it's appropriate, but the sheet cutout panels make it sexy and unique. I loved it! Wish I could buy!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
December 24, 2014
Perfect fit! I received so many compliments and it was a beautiful dress.
Everything about this dress was great. The sleeves were a little long but I just rolled them in and problem solved!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
December 31, 2014
WOW! What a blast, we had the best evening and this was the perfect dress!
No one likes to wear a dress more than once! This is the perfect concept, I love it!!! I stressed big time over the sizing, and this dress fit perfectly in all the right places. I wear size 26 jeans and have very long arms :) and a large ribcage too, I usually get a size up in tops. I was sent the 2 and the 4 and wore the 2 like it was my job - haha. It was comfortable, gave me more confidence and was the perfect mix of sexy and conservative! My husband wanted to buy it! RENT THIS DRESS! Thank you RTR, I'll be back...
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×