Charlene Dress

$75 rental
$365 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take a walk on the wild side in this Elizabeth & James dress. With exposed shoulders and back, you're sure to rule the night! Add jawdropper jewels like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Gold Shadow Bib Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch synthetic knit (85% polyester, 15% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Mesh cutout details at shoulders and waist. Pencil skirt. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
204 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(134)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107lbs
November 4, 2015
Fabulous dress!!!
I regrettably did not take any pictures in this, so I will be renting again! This dress fit wonderfully!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
October 30, 2015
good
good
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 19, 2015
Cute and simple LBD
I rented this dress to wear for a performance. The long sleeves were a nice switch up and it fit pretty nicely in most areas. If you are medium to larger busted, however, you will find that the the cut of the dress and where the see-through portion is located under the bust line, is ill fitting if you want to wear a bra. If you go braless it will not be a problem. I wore a strapless bra and found myself having to adjust and tug on the dress all night long to ensure my bra wasn't always showing. For that reason, would not rent this dress again.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 19, 2015
Simple black dress with a twist...
I loved the material of the dress, which was substantially thick and figure flattering at the same time. My only complaint is that I had to use a safety pin at the top of the back zipper to keep it from opening whenever I moved (there was no hook and eye closure)! I think that could be a major problem, not just a mere annoyance, so have safety pins on hand! Both sizes 4 and 2 fit, but I liked the way the 2 was just a tad more fitted in the midsection. Would love to wear again for another occasion...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
October 18, 2015
Loved this dress! It was so comfortable and made me feel really confident. Great for a school dance.
I wore the smallest size I ordered and I wished it was a little tighter, so order a size down. Other than that, it was super comfortable and easy to dance in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2015
RTR was easy, affordable, and convenient!
The dress fit perfectly in all the right places.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2015
Great for a fall wedding!
Very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2015
Fun dress- edgy but appropriate!
Wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner and loved it. The mesh panels made it way more special than a typical LBD. Material was stretchy so dress was quite comfortable. That being said, not so good at hiding any stomach bulge following a big meal :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 20, 2015
The perfect LBD!
This dress fit perfectly! It hugs you in all the right places. The perfect LBD for a night out. I wore this for my birthday and felt so good in it! The only con was the sleeves were really long, but like others I just tucked them under and it was fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2015
Made my birthday night extra special!
Love love love this dress. It was exactly what I needed for a birthday night out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 2, 2015
Great fall/winter dress
Fit true to size and I thought it was flattering & perfect for a winter party. Fabric is thick. Only downside was that I felt like it kept riding up through out the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 27, 2015
Comfortable, conservative LBD with sexy detail
I loved the material of this dress. It is thick without being too hot, and the skirt did not ride up. I wore this dress to my graduate school formal during the winter. I got so many compliments and felt so chic! I would definitely rent this particular dress or at least from this designer again. The only reason it did not get 5 stars is because the particular dress I wore felt a tiny bit stretched out. Otherwise, I absolutely loved it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
July 3, 2015
Probably the best dress I've rented from RTR thus far! It is super flattering!!
While the dress is form-fitting, it did not feel really tight or uncomfortable. The sleeves were a little long for me but I just folded them under at the wrist and you couldn't even notice. I wanted to keep this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 7, 2015
Loved this dress!
Unfortunately I don't have a full body photo, but this dress was great. It fit like a glove and was perfect for NYE in New York City. It was very flattering and the material was forgiving. Highly recommended!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
June 1, 2015
Compliment City
My original choice wasn't available at the last minute so I opted for this dress out of what was left available. This dress was super comfortable and not overly hot considering it's long sleeved and it was almost 90 degrees out. I was actually super comfortable temperature-wise inside with the AC blasting. Got a lot of compliments all night, especially from my husband who said it made my butt look great :) I didn't like how it gapped a little in the armpit area and like others mentioned, the bottom rides up and the mid-section cut out wasn't always visible. I think the gapping was because it was actually a little big for me even though it was a size 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139lbs
May 26, 2015
Rented for NYE in Chicago. Very comfortable and chic. Great for cooler weather events!
Very stretchy and forgiving. I could've worn a size down, so I would recommend for your second size to go smaller rather than size up. I wore some shape wear under this one since it does show curves. I also wore a sticky bra so no straps would show. The only thing with this dress is that you need to watch it. It tends to ride up, but it wasn't too terrible and it was very manageable. It's so comfortable, and I danced the night away in this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2015
Cute but Short
Is what the picture shows.. however my 5'2 daughter tried on the size 2 and it was really short! Wish it would have been longer, not appropriate for what we wanted to wear it for.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 143lbs
May 19, 2015
Truly the most unique dress at the wedding, I felt like a celebrity. The material is SO comfortable.
I was shocked at the fact that the smaller size fit me and even more pleased at the quality of the material. It's a thick, heavy and high quality dress. Wore it to a wedding on a yacht and it was perfect. Paired it with gold jewelry and a faux fur black jacket and it literally stole the show. It's the freshest take on the little black dress. The mesh is located at the best spots, you don't feel exposed but you feel sexy. I totally recommend renting this dress, you won't be disappointed. Classy and sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 15, 2015
Sexy and fun for professional school formal!
I loved this dress! It was comfortable to move around in, and I loved the cut outs! I got tons of compliments on it. I wore a strapless bra, but I think wearing a racerback bra would be possible with this dress. I did not wear spanx at all, this dress was just so flattering! The only (extremely minor) issue I had was that the dress rode up a little bit when I walked, sometimes obscuring the waist cut out, but this could just be due to my body's shape. I would definitely recommend this dress and rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 11, 2015
Comfortable, yet fun. Perfect for a bachelorette party in Las Vegas!
This dress fit me much like many of the reviews said it would. It's tight, but in a flattering way (after a nice pair of spanks). I'm on the shorter side (5'3") and the dress was just above my knees, which was fine because of the sheer elements and tight fit of the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2015
Sexy and Confident
Wonderful fit, received tons of compliments. Was true to size and definitely hugs your body in the right places.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2015
Wore this to my sorority formal.
the 4 fit a tiny bit big but it did not really bother me! It is so comfortable and got here a day earlier than i needed it to! the return was easy as well. will for sure be using RTR again. would suggest going a size down for your back up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
April 26, 2015
Fun bachelorette party dress!
I wish I could've kept this dress!! I love love loved it! I usually wear a 0 or 2 and though both fit, I chose the 2 for comfort.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 21, 2015
Sexy LBD with mesh cut-outs and stretchy material
Loved this LBD and would definitely rent it again. Wore it to a bachelorette party in Asheville, NC in February with tights and black booties. The dress is ridiculously comfortable - sleeves are fitted but not too tight. Length was the perfect kind of short and the mesh cut-outs are adorable and elevate it from a pretty standard LBD to a really fun one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 19, 2015
I received so many compliments with this dress. It makes you feel really sexy but classy.
The fit was incredible! It hugs your body in all the places and was very comfortable. I highly recommend it. The only small issue is that it rides up a little bit when you walk a lot, but besides that it's perfect! I love it so much, and I got a lot of good looks.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 9, 2015
Perfect Valentine's Day dress to subtly wow my honey!
This isn't your average LBD; it's so flattering and absolutely made me feel like the hottest but also sexiest person in the restaurant where my fiancé took me for Valentine's Day. I think it's the perfect blend of hot (the cut outs) and beautiful (the fabric and length) to make anyone feel great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 7, 2015
Head turner, I wanted to buy this dress!
Fits like a glove, the cutouts make it stand out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
April 7, 2015
Great fabric, thick and so sleek
I wore the 4 but seemed like I could have gotten a 2 to try on instead of a 6. Loved the dress, it was in great condition, thick and cozy. I paired it with a more cute heel to tone down the sexiness since it was for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 31, 2015
Loved the dress. Comfortable, flattering. Perfect for a fun night out.
Like other reviewers mentioned the sleeves are very long, even being a tall girl. The 6 felt true to size and was the perfect length for a Bachelorette Party type dress. It wasn't skin tight but just fit perfectly, didn't need to wear spanx ( probably would have if i went for the size 4). Strapless bra is necessary. Cut outs did keep riding up and didn't always show ( definitely not as pronounced as on the model in the photo) but when I made it a point to rearrange the dress they show clearly and look amazing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
March 31, 2015
Super Unique & Sassy
This dress was great, very unique! The long sleeves were great for the crisp Spring weather. The only problem I had was that the dress kept creeping up, so I spent a lot of the evening pulling it down or trying to conspicuously hold it in place. I got quite a bit of compliments and was comfortable (minus the traveling hem).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 29, 2015
Sexy and smart
Amazing dress! I tend to err on the more classic/conservative side, but found this dress to be the perfect blend of comfort and a contemporary feel. The material is medium-thick with a nice give and the peekaboo inserts gave it a bit of an edge without revealing too much. The skirt was a bit short, given my height, but when I paired it with flats it was perfect! (For ladies who are a more average height or like showing off your legs, you'll have no problems at all.) Would recommend if you're looking for something fun to wear out but also don't feel like showing off loads of skin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 29, 2015
Simple and sexy
Wore to a bachelorette. Very comfortable stretchy spandex material. The zipper in the back did keep falling down when I was dancing which was annoying. Would def rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 26, 2015
Very flattering
This dress fit beautifully. The only issue I had was that the sleeves were too long for my little arms, but I just rolled them up and you couldn't even tell! It was also very comfortable and not too hot, like I expected it to be.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 23, 2015
Sexy
Fit like a glove. I did not end up wearing this dress since I chose another. But it was a close second
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 23, 2015
did not wear, but loved how it fit!
This was my backup dress so I did not wear it, but I did try it on and it was FAB!! I am a bit self conscience of my belly and this dress was made out of a tight, thick, stretch material that has comfortable but also felt as though it was holding me in. (I did not need a spanxx),
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 15, 2015
This dress is a safe bet!
This was a great dress and I got lots of compliments. Wear spanx under it if you want it to be extra figure flattering. I wore this to a friend's birthday party and was really happy with it. Fits pretty true to size, I thought I would need the 10 and wore the 8. Sleeves are a little bit long but didn't bother me. Dress really flatters your behind!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 3, 2015
Loved this dress!
This dress fit true to size. I normally wear a 6 in dresses and it fit perfectly. It was super cute on and I got tons of compliments! Very form fitting so you may want body shaping undies to conceal any lines. I wore a strapless bra with this dress and worked very well! Also, kept me warm enough on a cold New England night to celebrate my 30th bday. Awesome dress!! Will rent this one again :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 1, 2015
loved loved loved this dress
fit was spot on (except sleeves were a little too long on me). material was really nice - perfectly stretchy, but not too thin. mesh had some give to it, so I didn't feel like it was tight in the arm/bust area, which sometimes happens with l/s dresses and my body type. overall, fabulous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
February 26, 2015
Comfortable yet sexy
Fabric is forgiving, cut is sexy. I rented sz 6 & 8 and could've worn either because the material has lots of stretch. I actually might wear the other size to a dinner tomorrow before returning them. ;) This dress is understated so add a necklace if you want to stand out. My first rental and it worked out perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 17, 2015
Loved this dress, very comfortable, got lots of complements
I'm typically a 2, but am also fairly tall, so I opted for the 4 for a little extra length (otherwise the fit was fairly similar). Had I worn the 2 I think the dress probably would have ridden up a fair amount, but this wasn't a huge issue in the 4. Very comfortable and flattering. Really liked the long sleeves, although I wouldn't call the fabric warm by any means (I wore fleece lined tights as it was very cold outside). Really loved the cut-out details.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×