Elizabeth and James

Amalia Dress

$109 to buy
$365 retail
Stylist Notes

Look cute yet cool in this cut out shoulder dress by Elizabeth & James for the bridal luncheon.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – fitted at upper hip area; flared skirt at drop waist
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Magenta ponte (54% polyester, 38% viscose, 8% elastane). Cold shoulder detail with ¾ length sleeves. Fitted bodice with flounce hem. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
140 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(69)
Small
(47)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 24, 2014
I wore this to the Farewell Brunch of my wedding. It was comfortable and fun!
It is fitted through the body but stretchy, and therefore very comfortable. The length and overall fit was perfect with my nude flats. I would definitely rent the dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 19, 2014
The color was amazing !
Awesome fit through the stomach and hips-- thought it was perfect length for me too only being 5'0." Felt a little big through the shoulders but not distracting. I really loved this for out Fall rehearsal dinner. Pops for pics.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
May 19, 2014
Fun and flirty dress. got a lot of compliments.
Wore it to a wedding in Miami. perfect color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 7, 2014
Hopeful thinking
I wanted to love this dress. The top was gorgeous, the color gorgeous! I had a problem with the peplum bottom, it his me in a very awkward place(I have wide hips) it just made them look very square and not flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 9, 2014
I rented this for a photo shoot for my business marketing. LOVED IT!
This dress fit like a glove. It was very comfortable and had movement to it. Beautiful color, not too short. It is made with fairly heavy material, so it would be hot on a normal Summer day. The evening I wore this it was about 75 degrees and humid, but felt fine. I wish I had this in every color! Fits just like the model photo. I would definitely rent this again. This was my first RTR experience and I'm highly impressed! Thanks!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 12, 2014
Super cute! didn't end up wearing it because the fit was on the small side and a little short.
Super cute dress and fit okay, But I didn't end up wearing it because the fit was on the small side. I didn't receive the next size up I ordered. Very fitted bodice so I was worried about the dress riding up all night. It was already on the short side so I just didn't want to be pulling on it all night. I will order again but at least one size up if not 2 so it lays better. If it was a different event it would have been fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
October 18, 2014
My back up size wasn't available so customer service did a great job over nighting back up dresses!
Sleeves ran a little narrow but didn't really bother me. The color was perfect for a fall rehearsal dinner! The fabric was great quality and I got lots of compliments! I wish I could keep it :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 28, 2014
I ordered 0 and 2. The 0 arms were super tight. The size 2 was too long for short body type
I would order if a little taller then 5'2 and if have skinny arms!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
November 9, 2014
Gorgeous sleeves and silhouette
Appropriate length and style for an evening wedding. Sleeves are a bit stiff with not so obvious slits on shoulder.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 4, 2014
I'm so sad I couldn't wear this dress. It was so small- there was no way I could make it work!
This dress did not fit at all! The mid-section was too short for my height and the skirt was inappropriate. I do not recommend this for tall girls! I was so bummed- the dress itself was beautiful and the fabric was nice and heavy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 25, 2014
Such a pretty color but SUPER short!
I really wanted to wear this dress, however it was too short for my comfort. The fit was great through the body and was the perfect weight for a fall event. I wouldn't wear this in the summer, the material is too thick. If you don't have a curvy butt, the flare at the bottom of the dress is a nice touch, if you do, beware of the flare. I didn't wear the dress as I knew I would be dancing most of the night and would not have had fun protecting my tail all night from being exposed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
December 29, 2014
Give it a try
I wore this dress for Christmas. On the hanger, it underwhelms (the fabric almost seemed matronly) but once I had it on I was pleasantly surprised! My husband loved it but I did have to wear the 4 because of the way the dress was cut through the waist and hips. The 4 was fine but the 2 would have been too unforgiving. I added the scarf because there is really nothing spectacular about the dress itself except for the cut of them hem, so I'd recommend a statement necklace or scarf and then it's great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2015
Arrived early!!
Love the color of the dress!!! I got this as my backup dress and I loved it, I was torn between the two. The thing that made me chose the other was how the neck area. I wore a size 10 which fit like a glove but the back part around the neck was a bit big. Would recommend it to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 5, 2015
Gorgeous color. Short!
Really loved this dress. Only complaint is that it didn't sit still. I had to keep tugging it down to keep it looking smooth in the front. It's as it if needed a liner. Lots of compliments on the color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 20, 2015
Rainbow Room for my birthday!
I rented this dress for a special birthday dinner at the Rainbow Room in NYC. It fit really well, beautiful color and fabric. I'm pretty short, but the length was still flirty and cute. I paired it with black tights and booties since its January. Loved the dress! It could be dressed up a bit more or dressed down with flats and a blazer. Other reviewers said it had tight sleeves but they felt fine for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 28, 2015
Great color, fun an flirty
I wore this for a date night with my husband. I am trying to lose those last few pounds of baby weight and wanted something that made me feel good. The dress had a great weight to the fabric for a chilly winter evening and I loved the dropped waist. As other reviewers mentioned the sleeves are a little tight, but there was plenty of room in the chest and it accommodated my 32F boobs. All in all a great rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2015
I unfortunately did not get to wear this dress & had to wear a back up dress!
The dress runs small and it is short! I am a size 4 and got my normal size. It was too small in the arms and bust. The dress was really short too. I would have needed to wear stockings just to give me the extra coverage. I based the sizes that I ordered on others reviews and there were a lot of mixed reviews about size and length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 20, 2015
Color!!
This dress ran a bit tight but that could also be because I'm just a little pregnant. Wore spanx tights and it helped! Got so many compliments! My only complaint is that it feels a lot shorter than it is, I was tugging on it all night being self conscious about it. Ended up not being a problem though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2015
Very nice purple dress
This dress was great for my bridal shower, which fell on a very cold, snowy, February day. I definitely needed the long sleeves and I liked that it looked good with stockings. The dress fits true to size. The torso section was a tad long for me, but over all great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 12, 2015
The sz 10 was too small!
I rented this as a backup/ dress to wear to the church. It was so tight Even in the arms. Granted I do not have skinny arms but I couldn't swing it! Just not made for my curves. Disappointed cause I love the color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
March 17, 2015
Always happy with the fast delivery and ease of the return.
Loved the dress. The color was perfect. I rented this dress for my 10 yr anniversary. I could only rent the 6 as the other sizes were not available, but glad it fit (a little snug). As I looked over the other comments from people who rented this dress the sleeves were a little tight if you have athletic type arms. It was a perfect length as some mentioned it was too short. Overall it was a great dress. I surprised my husband and glad I rented. This is my 3rd rental and I know I will rent from RTR again.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 29, 2015
Loved the color and cut of the dress.
Ordered size 8 and 10, 8 fit but was a little too short over bum area, 10 fit a little longer so it was more comfortable and I didn't have to worry if I bent over a little too far. Wore for a night out at the ballet and loved it, great color, good weight for cold spring night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 30, 2015
Perfect party dress!
Perfect for a Valentine's party. Received many compliments. Ordered sizes 2 and 4, not a big difference but the 2 looked better.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2015
The shape is great.
The color was nice but the sleeves were unbelievably tight. I felt very uncomfortable all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 12, 2015
Great!
Fit great, sleeves were a little tight but not too tight. Great fabric! Great safe easy dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 19, 2015
It was too tight to wear, so I did not end up wearing it.
The next size up was unavailable, but I am sure that would have worked perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
April 21, 2015
Great color!
Wore this for a cocktail charity event. Perfect for a chilly evening with the 3/4 sleeves. Got a lot of compliments! Really liked the extra "flare" the drop ruffle skirt added.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2015
Would recommend-very comfortable!
I really like this dress. I actually paired with leggings for work. It was tighter around the midline than I expected. I'm usually between a 6 and a 8 and I'm glad I ordered the 8. It's fully lined but very comfortable. I wore in the spring and didnt feel like it was too heavy for that season.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 1, 2015
Pop of color in a sea of black
I needed a semi-casual dress for a charity event where most people were coming straight from work and this was perfect. Very easy to dress up or down. The drop waist made me feel like it was shorter than it actually was, but once I got used to it, it was fine. I can fluctuate between a 4 and a 6 and the 6 fit perfectly.. The 4 was too tight in the arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 4, 2015
Super cute fit and flare!
Ended up wearing this my first day of my 4th year of med school rotation, the flared skirt ended up being a tad less forgiving than I anticipated but it wasn't SO SHORT on me that it was inappropriate. Mind you-I'm short with short legs. This is more of a length for a date dress, so I wouldn't rent for a conservative affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 6, 2015
Way too short!
I am 5'8" and I felt like this dress was way to short to wear to a wedding. If you are a tall girl, I would steer clear of this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2015
Very Bright
Nice fabric and fit well. Got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 8, 2015
Absolutely loved this beautiful dress. Even better once you try it on!
Wore this to the Derby and received tons of compliments. Will rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2015
structured, fitted, but not spandexy
arms were tight (fitted), the rest of the dress was perfect. I read the reviews and knew I should go up a size (6) because I usually wear a 4 and that was a wise decision. My fiancé wants me to rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 2, 2015
Unfortunately, I did not wear this dress
This dress is beautiful, but it did not fit me well. I am 5'4" and 120. Pretty straight and narrow, but I found that the way that my hips hit with the drop waist looked strange. The 4 was too small all together. I could have worn the 6, but it was a bit tight in the shoulder. (couldn't lift arms too far up with out bringing the whole dress with me!) I think this dress would be best worn in the Fall or with tights and boots in the winter as the material is a bit heavy for Spring/Summer.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 22, 2015
This is a cute dress that functions well for a party.
This is a fun dress, but still conservative. The slits on the shoulders did not show on me as prominently as the picture on the model indicated. Also, the material is thick so this would not be great for a outside event or hotter weather. As other reviewers indicated, the sleeves are bit tight. Overall though, I really like this dress and it's a style that is flattering on many body types.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
May 26, 2014
Super fun dress! Loved the color and the bottom
A but if a hard shape for pear bodies, but I loved it!! It was a great dress doe a work event - conservative enough without being boring!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 2, 2015
This has the cutest skirt ever and is a GREAT color!
Okay... first, let me say I LOVE this dress! I was worried about the little slits in the shoulders showing my bra straps but they are TEENY and not very noticeable. Now... prepare yourself for this one to run a bit small. I felt like my arms were two sausages in the sleeves... but they did stretch out and get comfy within about ten minutes. Also, GET SPANX! Even if you have the smallest of tummies a slimming undergarment will make you feel a bit more sleek. You could also wear a slim belt at your natural waist since this has no upper waistline (only the drop waist above the flirty skirt!). If I could do this again (and I might) I would probably order a 6 not a 4 just so I didn't feel like I was tugging on this dress ever few minutes to get it to fit right over my hips. Still, Elizabeth and James continues to be one of my all time favorite brands and this dress (even though its a little snug... yeah yeah I should probably do a little more gym and less pool/wine time)... is a great one for work/parties/bachelorettes/weddings/vacay!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 20, 2015
The fit of the dress allows flexibility for movement.
It was a great length for a casual night out. The flare at the bottom added a flirtatious and fun look to the fitted top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32G
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
August 5, 2015
Favorite part about this dress: the color!
I was a little skeptical about this dress because of the way it elongates the torso, but I was not disappointed. The color was probably the best part but the shape of the dress was also eye-catching. The sleeves were a little tight, but not to the point of discomfort. The fabric is a little thick which was perfect because I wore this to a boat party, and of course it was really breezy. Taking one star away just because the dress smelled a bit funny when I took it out of the garment bag. But another awesome rental nonetheless.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×