Elizabeth and James

Amalia Dress

$109 to buy
$365 retail
Stylist Notes

Look cute yet cool in this cut out shoulder dress by Elizabeth & James for the bridal luncheon.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – fitted at upper hip area; flared skirt at drop waist
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Magenta ponte (54% polyester, 38% viscose, 8% elastane). Cold shoulder detail with ¾ length sleeves. Fitted bodice with flounce hem. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
142 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(70)
Small
(47)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2014
If you have a long torso and a chest...nope nope nope
It is a beautiful fabric and color, but the fit for my body was not flattering at all
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 8, 2014
such a fun color and flirty fit
The arms are tight and I normally wear a 6 in dresses but with the ruffle at the bottom I wore an 8 so that it didn't ride up. If you are pear shaped I would for sure go a size up. Lots of compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 17, 2014
I did not wear this dress because it was too short
Too short!!!! I could not bend over without exposing myself. Could not wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 6, 2014
Too short
Beautiful color. Arms were tight, but the skirt portion was too short and puffed out so it was not very flattering on the hips.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 12, 2014
Super cute! didn't end up wearing it because the fit was on the small side and a little short.
Super cute dress and fit okay, But I didn't end up wearing it because the fit was on the small side. I didn't receive the next size up I ordered. Very fitted bodice so I was worried about the dress riding up all night. It was already on the short side so I just didn't want to be pulling on it all night. I will order again but at least one size up if not 2 so it lays better. If it was a different event it would have been fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 28, 2014
I ordered 0 and 2. The 0 arms were super tight. The size 2 was too long for short body type
I would order if a little taller then 5'2 and if have skinny arms!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 4, 2014
I'm so sad I couldn't wear this dress. It was so small- there was no way I could make it work!
This dress did not fit at all! The mid-section was too short for my height and the skirt was inappropriate. I do not recommend this for tall girls! I was so bummed- the dress itself was beautiful and the fabric was nice and heavy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
December 29, 2014
Give it a try
I wore this dress for Christmas. On the hanger, it underwhelms (the fabric almost seemed matronly) but once I had it on I was pleasantly surprised! My husband loved it but I did have to wear the 4 because of the way the dress was cut through the waist and hips. The 4 was fine but the 2 would have been too unforgiving. I added the scarf because there is really nothing spectacular about the dress itself except for the cut of them hem, so I'd recommend a statement necklace or scarf and then it's great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 28, 2015
Great color, fun an flirty
I wore this for a date night with my husband. I am trying to lose those last few pounds of baby weight and wanted something that made me feel good. The dress had a great weight to the fabric for a chilly winter evening and I loved the dropped waist. As other reviewers mentioned the sleeves are a little tight, but there was plenty of room in the chest and it accommodated my 32F boobs. All in all a great rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2015
I unfortunately did not get to wear this dress & had to wear a back up dress!
The dress runs small and it is short! I am a size 4 and got my normal size. It was too small in the arms and bust. The dress was really short too. I would have needed to wear stockings just to give me the extra coverage. I based the sizes that I ordered on others reviews and there were a lot of mixed reviews about size and length.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 29, 2015
Loved the color and cut of the dress.
Ordered size 8 and 10, 8 fit but was a little too short over bum area, 10 fit a little longer so it was more comfortable and I didn't have to worry if I bent over a little too far. Wore for a night out at the ballet and loved it, great color, good weight for cold spring night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2015
The shape is great.
The color was nice but the sleeves were unbelievably tight. I felt very uncomfortable all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 19, 2015
It was too tight to wear, so I did not end up wearing it.
The next size up was unavailable, but I am sure that would have worked perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2015
Would recommend-very comfortable!
I really like this dress. I actually paired with leggings for work. It was tighter around the midline than I expected. I'm usually between a 6 and a 8 and I'm glad I ordered the 8. It's fully lined but very comfortable. I wore in the spring and didnt feel like it was too heavy for that season.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2015
structured, fitted, but not spandexy
arms were tight (fitted), the rest of the dress was perfect. I read the reviews and knew I should go up a size (6) because I usually wear a 4 and that was a wise decision. My fiancé wants me to rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 2, 2015
Unfortunately, I did not wear this dress
This dress is beautiful, but it did not fit me well. I am 5'4" and 120. Pretty straight and narrow, but I found that the way that my hips hit with the drop waist looked strange. The 4 was too small all together. I could have worn the 6, but it was a bit tight in the shoulder. (couldn't lift arms too far up with out bringing the whole dress with me!) I think this dress would be best worn in the Fall or with tights and boots in the winter as the material is a bit heavy for Spring/Summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 2, 2015
This has the cutest skirt ever and is a GREAT color!
Okay... first, let me say I LOVE this dress! I was worried about the little slits in the shoulders showing my bra straps but they are TEENY and not very noticeable. Now... prepare yourself for this one to run a bit small. I felt like my arms were two sausages in the sleeves... but they did stretch out and get comfy within about ten minutes. Also, GET SPANX! Even if you have the smallest of tummies a slimming undergarment will make you feel a bit more sleek. You could also wear a slim belt at your natural waist since this has no upper waistline (only the drop waist above the flirty skirt!). If I could do this again (and I might) I would probably order a 6 not a 4 just so I didn't feel like I was tugging on this dress ever few minutes to get it to fit right over my hips. Still, Elizabeth and James continues to be one of my all time favorite brands and this dress (even though its a little snug... yeah yeah I should probably do a little more gym and less pool/wine time)... is a great one for work/parties/bachelorettes/weddings/vacay!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2015
Dress was a beautiful color and got a ton of compliments
Def size up on this hip hugger. Cute dress but not overly forgiving. I'm usually an 8 and while it fit the 10 was way more comfortable.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
November 17, 2015
rented for sister's bridal shower in November
The color of this dress is beautiful, but the fit was not right for me. The sleeves were very tight and the body of the dress is definitely meant for someone with a long torso -- it bunched thickly on me due to the weight of the material. The flared skirt also starts very high so this dress did not feel appropriate for an adult in her 30s.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
January 6, 2016
Felt pretty for a NYE Wedding!
I wore this for a New Years Eve wedding. The color is great and material is nice, and I did receive a few compliments on how nice the dress was. However, I did feel like it was a bit snug in the arms, but since I failed to order the second size free (an accident) I didn't have another size option to choose from. I guess it just wasn't the most comfortable thing I've ever worn so I probably wouldn't rent it again. It accomplished what I needed it for though and I felt pretty in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 12, 2016
Great dress for fall/winter weddings!
I loved this dress! The color was great and the length was perfect. To get an idea, I'm 5'5'' 120 lbs and I typically wear a size 2 but went with a size 4 because I wanted to try and hide my stomach a little more. The difference between the two sizes wasn't much at all but felt more comfortable in the 4. The arms are a bit snug but that didn't bother me at all. The fabric is on the thicker side so perfect for colder weather occasions. I'd definitely recommend this dress to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147lbs
May 14, 2014
NICE with many compliments!
I ordered this dress as my free birthday dress...I originally ordered this dress in a 6, with a backup 8... I ended up overnighting a 10. The arms were a little tight in the 8. Overall a nice easy drive. I wore it to the graduation banquet and got tons of compliments. It's effortless. Paired with leopard shoes and gold watch. Kept it simple...because I had to go up a size for the arms, The Slits were not as pronounced as I would have liked, however still great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
September 21, 2014
I wish I owned this dress!
The loved the color of this dress. It is incredibly comfortable and fun for dancing. Overall it ran a little small. The. 4 fit really nicely and the length worked really well for me even though I am only 5 ft tall. It is very form fitting so definitely a good idea to order a sizzle larger as back up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
March 31, 2014
Simple and fun!
I wore this dress to a charity event. The dress is simple but the cutouts on the shoulders make it unique and very fun. I ordered the 0, which is my typical dress size, but it was too tight for my liking. The sleeves were definitely skinny on me and I do not have very muscular arms. I ended up wearing my backup size 2 and it fit great. I would recommend ordering up for your backup size. And it definitely shows off the belly so if that is a problem area for you then I would steer clear of this one. Overall, it was a very comfortable dress that was easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 2, 2014
Fun to wear
This was a fun dress to wear once. I ordered both the 4 & the 6 and really only noticed a difference on the butt. I liked where the ruffle fell in the size 6 better than the size 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
May 28, 2014
Great color, cute dress for GNO in NYC!
Loved this dress! The color was beautiful! The material was a bit stiff so there is absolutely "no" give in this dress at all. I would rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 26, 2014
REALLY small
Everything about this dress was small. It's definitely not for hippy girls with a booty. I'm normally on the smaller size of a 6, so I generally order a 4 as my backup size, but neither size fit at all. The fabric has no give to it at all. Funny enough, the dress I ended up wearing out that night was a 4.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Weight: 125lbs
May 11, 2016
A fun night out in NYC
I was really excited for this dress for a birthday celebration in NYC. I am 5'3 and traditionally wear a size 4 petite. The 4 in this dress was too tight but size 6 fit great! I loved the length but like others said the sleeves are a bit tight. As a petite person, the cutouts on the shoulders do not work, they are over too much, so that looked a bit silly. However, a fun dress to wear on a fancy night out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
June 16, 2016
Wore this for new headshots for work!
Perfect fit except a little snug in the arms - great color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
August 16, 2016
Compliments and comfort!
Con is that it runs very very small, luckily they shipped my bigger size on time for my party. Pro is that it's comfortable and it is made well. Material is thick and lined.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 13, 2016
lots of compliments on the color & style
I wore this with turquoise jewelry-necklace and ring, nude pumps. Got lots of compliments on the color of the dress. I wore to a fundraising meeting. The size 8 wasn't available, but the 10 skimmed my figure. The material is thick, but in the air conditioned office, I wasn't freezing for once!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
October 27, 2016
Runs way small
This dress runs super small. I usually wear a 6 in E&J but I couldn't even squeeze into this one. Had to return.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 27, 2013
Great dress, not for my body!
Loved this dress and wish it had worked for me. It was way too long for my body type. Would recommend for straight and narrow girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 146lbs
April 24, 2013
This was a great dress, but not for my body type.
This dress was such a great color, and the material was very flattering. The only issue was that I have an hourglass figure and though it fit me well at the bust (36D) and came in well at the waist, the issue was the drop skirt. The skirt started at the widest part of my hips causing the fabric on the smooth portion before the skirt to bunch. I would recommend this to anyone who does not have a fuller hips, more of a strait and narrow figure in the hip area is best for this. The shoulder cut outs were so cute though! I wish I could have worn it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
April 29, 2013
Stood out!
Wore this to a charity awards dinner where the dress code was cocktail. Wasn't about it at first but it grew on me. You definitely need to be quite tall to wear this dress. At 5' 6" and 5" heels I still wasn't sure it was a flattering silhouette for me. You need a longer necklace or belt to break up your figure. The gap in the shoulder is a cool design feature and it makes the dress a little less sweet/cute. I have quite muscular arms and the sleeve was a bit too tight in size 2 but the rest of the dress fit me perfectly. I got several compliments and stood out both because of the color and since it was very different compared to what everyone else was wearing. Definitely more fashion forward!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 7, 2013
Perfect party dress!
I rented this dress for my birthday. It fit perfectly and was a huge hit with all my friends. The drop waist is very on trend and the color is great. Must rent for spring!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 19, 2013
Um, Ethan Hawke, hello!
I wore this dress to an evening screening of Before Midnight in celebration of the RedRover V3 launch in NYC. I'm in between a 2 and a 4...but the 2 fit like a glove so it was better to go with the 4 for a little breathing room. Also, I chose to wear the commando solid thong to avoid any visible lines. It was classic and sweet, yet tailored and modern.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 24, 2013
Great exp. Perfect color and fit!
I'm usually a 2/4 but sized up to a 6 to accommodate my 20-week baby bump. I'm now a 32DDD, so if you're wider than 32, this dress might not fit. I was pushing it with my 32 triple D's
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
May 30, 2013
Cute and playful
Fits true to size. It is short... not inappropriately so but I had to make sure my butt landed on the dress and not on the chair when I sat down :-) The slits at the shoulders are a nice detail.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 5, 2013
Modest yet totally eye catching...
I felt like a cute figure skater all night. The material was very generous and I felt absolutely adorable all night!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×