Rent the Runway

Elizabeth and James

Amalia Dress

$35 rental
$365 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look cute yet cool in this cut out shoulder dress by Elizabeth & James for the bridal luncheon. Simply pair with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Love Me Earrings and you are ready for cocktails and fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – fitted at upper hip area; flared skirt at drop waist
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – fitted at upper hip area; flared skirt at drop waist
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Magenta ponte (54% polyester, 38% viscose, 8% elastane). Cold shoulder detail with ¾ length sleeves. Fitted bodice with flounce hem. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

103 reviews

Fit
Small 35
True to Size 57
Large 1
Photos 45
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 18, 2013

Perfect dress for a spring wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit really well and was plain enough so that I could accent with a fun necklace. I felt great wearing it the whole night and it stood out for all the right reasons (color, fit and style)! Plus the whole process of RTR was awesome and I didn't know what to expect since it was my first time. I definitely recommend!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Great color and fabric, but difficult cut.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a charity event. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 so I rented those sizes - the 2 was too small and short, and the 4 fit a little better but was still too short for my liking. I wanted to rent this dress because I liked the cut of it, but it ended up not working out on my slim but curvy frame. That being said, the cut has the potential to be very flattering, and I loved the fabric. I also liked the sleeves and shoulder cutouts. I wish this dress had fit me but I would still recommend it to anyone else!
Shay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Pretty Color!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress was very, very cute, but you will need to size up if you have bigger boobs! It fit, but my boobs looked like they were mashed down which I did not like at all! I was sad that I did not get to wear it. May have to rent again in a larger size.
LFF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
May 7, 2014

Awkward

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Big in some areas, tight in others. Played the pull it up, pull it down game and ultimately decided I could not wear either size that I ordered
KELEIGH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 8, 2014

Didn't wear bc the sleeves were way too tight

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress and gorgeous color, but the sleeves were way too tight and it was a bit shorter than it looks in pictures. Would have been great if I had gotten the backup size in a 6
koren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113 lbs
May 19, 2014

Fun and flirty dress. got a lot of compliments.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore it to a wedding in Miami. perfect color.
Alessandra
Usually wears: 6
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 20, 2014

Cute and classy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress was a bit tight around the arms and chest, but overall cute.
Melanie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
May 24, 2014

The color was perfect for our engagement photos.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fit is a little small and probably not the best for girls blessed with a little more backside than others.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
May 28, 2014

Great color, cute dress for GNO in NYC!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress! The color was beautiful! The material was a bit stiff so there is absolutely "no" give in this dress at all. I would rent this again.
Kristine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Runs small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 2 and it was too small in the waist / stomach area. There were no size 4s available, so I had to pick a different style.
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

Very pretty color and style

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress but I didn't end up wearing it because the shoulders were a little tight so I wasn't able to raise my arms very high. It looked really nice on.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Jun 20, 2014

such a flirty dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
what a great dress! sexy but covered which i love. i got loves of compliments
sallygal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

I WISH I could have worn this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had to send it back to exchange for a different dress. I was so disappointed. The color was amazing as was the quality. It was just a tad too snug and 10 is the largest size it comes in. It was also too short!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

If you have a long torso and a chest...nope nope nope

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It is a beautiful fabric and color, but the fit for my body was not flattering at all
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Sep 16, 2014

Flirty and fun

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was comfortable and easy to dance in. Not too short or too tight.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Great dress! not too short or too tight

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress runs on the comfortably large side. I normally wear a 6-8 and this 6 fit fine with some wiggle room. The dress shape highlights the midsection, and is too tight for spanx. Beware. Arms are also tight.
Meriem
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

Great choice

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm glad I ignored some of the poor reviews and went ahead and rented this dress. It's a great fit and color and very appropriate for a rehearsal dinner. Sleeves are a little bit tight and shoulders stick out a little, but I only noticed this when I was sitting down. Great for slim and petites, but I would not recommend it if you are either tall or curvy.
Jenny
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 12, 2014

Super cute! didn't end up wearing it because the fit was on the small side and a little short.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Super cute dress and fit okay, But I didn't end up wearing it because the fit was on the small side. I didn't receive the next size up I ordered. Very fitted bodice so I was worried about the dress riding up all night. It was already on the short side so I just didn't want to be pulling on it all night. I will order again but at least one size up if not 2 so it lays better. If it was a different event it would have been fine.
julesb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Oct 17, 2014

I did not wear this dress because it was too short

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Too short!!!! I could not bend over without exposing myself. Could not wear.
teenah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

I ordered 0 and 2. The 0 arms were super tight. The size 2 was too long for short body type

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I would order if a little taller then 5'2 and if have skinny arms!!!
C.D.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 6, 2014

Too short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful color. Arms were tight, but the skirt portion was too short and puffed out so it was not very flattering on the hips.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 21, 2014

The color and cute flirty hem

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit great and was comfy (wore it to a wine tasting). It does run short though, and the sleeves are tight, so I would size up for length!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

I wore this to the Farewell Brunch of my wedding. It was comfortable and fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is fitted through the body but stretchy, and therefore very comfortable. The length and overall fit was perfect with my nude flats. I would definitely rent the dress again!
Mary-Margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 26, 2014

REALLY small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Everything about this dress was small. It's definitely not for hippy girls with a booty. I'm normally on the smaller size of a 6, so I generally order a 4 as my backup size, but neither size fit at all. The fabric has no give to it at all. Funny enough, the dress I ended up wearing out that night was a 4.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

I'm so sad I couldn't wear this dress. It was so small- there was no way I could make it work!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress did not fit at all! The mid-section was too short for my height and the skirt was inappropriate. I do not recommend this for tall girls! I was so bummed- the dress itself was beautiful and the fabric was nice and heavy.
BL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Gorgeous color. Short!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Really loved this dress. Only complaint is that it didn't sit still. I had to keep tugging it down to keep it looking smooth in the front. It's as it if needed a liner. Lots of compliments on the color.
Sarah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Jan 28, 2015

Great color, fun an flirty

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I wore this for a date night with my husband. I am trying to lose those last few pounds of baby weight and wanted something that made me feel good. The dress had a great weight to the fabric for a chilly winter evening and I loved the dropped waist. As other reviewers mentioned the sleeves are a little tight, but there was plenty of room in the chest and it accommodated my 32F boobs. All in all a great rental.
Alexie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

I unfortunately did not get to wear this dress & had to wear a back up dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress runs small and it is short! I am a size 4 and got my normal size. It was too small in the arms and bust. The dress was really short too. I would have needed to wear stockings just to give me the extra coverage. I based the sizes that I ordered on others reviews and there were a lot of mixed reviews about size and length.
Kelly Jo
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 26, 2015

Perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely perfect cocktail dress! Rich Color, Modest neck and sleeves leaves room for a little leg. The bottom makes it feel short, but it's long enough to walk and dance without any wardrobe malfunctions. Love Love Love this Dress!
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 12, 2015

The sz 10 was too small!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as a backup/ dress to wear to the church. It was so tight Even in the arms. Granted I do not have skinny arms but I couldn't swing it! Just not made for my curves. Disappointed cause I love the color.
Patricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Always happy with the fast delivery and ease of the return.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
Loved the dress. The color was perfect. I rented this dress for my 10 yr anniversary. I could only rent the 6 as the other sizes were not available, but glad it fit (a little snug). As I looked over the other comments from people who rented this dress the sleeves were a little tight if you have athletic type arms. It was a perfect length as some mentioned it was too short. Overall it was a great dress. I surprised my husband and glad I rented. This is my 3rd rental and I know I will rent from RTR again.
kristina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 7, 2015

The shape is great.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The color was nice but the sleeves were unbelievably tight. I felt very uncomfortable all night.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

It was too tight to wear, so I did not end up wearing it.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The next size up was unavailable, but I am sure that would have worked perfectly.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Great color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for a cocktail charity event. Perfect for a chilly evening with the 3/4 sleeves. Got a lot of compliments! Really liked the extra "flare" the drop ruffle skirt added.
Roz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 23, 2015

didn't work on my body shape

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
everything fit just fine but instead of falling nicely like it does on the model and my gf who wore it, it flared out a lot more on the bottom and ended up making me look incredibly bottom heavy and not in a flattering way. maybe it doesn't work because my hips are wider?? either way, i know this dress is fantastic on others but def didn't work for me
megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Apr 28, 2015

Would recommend-very comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I really like this dress. I actually paired with leggings for work. It was tighter around the midline than I expected. I'm usually between a 6 and a 8 and I'm glad I ordered the 8. It's fully lined but very comfortable. I wore in the spring and didnt feel like it was too heavy for that season.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 4, 2015

Super cute fit and flare!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
Ended up wearing this my first day of my 4th year of med school rotation, the flared skirt ended up being a tad less forgiving than I anticipated but it wasn't SO SHORT on me that it was inappropriate. Mind you-I'm short with short legs. This is more of a length for a date dress, so I wouldn't rent for a conservative affair.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 6, 2015

Way too short!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'8" and I felt like this dress was way to short to wear to a wedding. If you are a tall girl, I would steer clear of this dress!
Alisha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
May 7, 2015

Very Bright

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Nice fabric and fit well. Got tons of compliments.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 8, 2015

Absolutely loved this beautiful dress. Even better once you try it on!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
Wore this to the Derby and received tons of compliments. Will rent it again!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×