Elizabeth and James

Amalia Dress

$30 – $35 rental ?
$365 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look cute yet cool in this cut out shoulder dress by Elizabeth & James for the bridal luncheon. Simply pair with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Love Me Earrings and you are ready for cocktails and fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – fitted at upper hip area; flared skirt at drop waist
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – fitted at upper hip area; flared skirt at drop waist
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Magenta ponte (54% polyester, 38% viscose, 8% elastane). Cold shoulder detail with ¾ length sleeves. Fitted bodice with flounce hem. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

91 reviews

Fit
Small 32
True to Size 52
Large 1
Photos 42
A.T.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

The flare skirt was fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 4/6 and the 6 fit well. Definitely recommend spanx if you have a little tummy.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

LOVE.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for engagement pictures. Absolutely love. I've never gotten so many compliments for one dress.
Lynne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 28, 2013

Beautiful Daytime Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is beautiful, and will sure make you stand out in the daytime. Very nice material, and cute cut. The dress might look awkward at certain angles in pictures, since the material is a little stiff, but overall a very pretty dress.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 4, 2013

Did not wear... Too short

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was fine throughout, but the dress was just way too short. I am 5'10" so any dress I wear is usually shorter than intended, but my bum was visible without even having to bend over. Also, if you have any slight hint whatsoever of love handles, the shape of this dress is not for you. The color was really pretty though, and the shoulder cut-out detail looked nice.
an27
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 7, 2013

Not for me

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I may have ordered this dress one size too small, because of the lack of stretch and there is no way the size was going to work. Even with a size larger, I'm not sure if it would have looked good - it seems like the kind of dress that looks good on taller women without hips.
Leigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

Sassy Colorful Dress... but the fit was a bit off

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the photos of this low-waisted fuchsia dress. I wore it to a Southern wedding - and was excited to find a short dress so I could really dance. (Plus, the arm coverage was something I was looking for.) Unfortunately, I wasn't thrilled with the fit. The 4 I ordered was too short. The 6 was also pretty darn short (I'm 5'6") so I had to keep pulling it down on the dance floor. The 6 fit around the bust area but left a bunch of fabric in the lower back before the flirty skirt started. The drop waist exaggerated my tummy. I was sadly self-conscious in this dress.
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 30, 2014

Great party dress in a vibrant color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and got so many compliments on it. I normally wear a size 0, but used the size 2 to go over my chest. It is a great color and fit. I paired it with some glittery Jimmy Choo shoes and some big gold earrings. Simple and classic!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Gorgeous color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great color and fit. Short which made it super sexy. Loved the cut outs
Kiesha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 25, 2014

Although I love the style, this dress wasn't for me

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress runs small and is VERY short. At 5'10" i could barely pull the dress down over my butt. The fabric is super high-quality but very unforgiving so the sleeves were very tight and uncomfortable. I decided to return it without wearing it.
H.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Simple and fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a charity event. The dress is simple but the cutouts on the shoulders make it unique and very fun. I ordered the 0, which is my typical dress size, but it was too tight for my liking. The sleeves were definitely skinny on me and I do not have very muscular arms. I ended up wearing my backup size 2 and it fit great. I would recommend ordering up for your backup size. And it definitely shows off the belly so if that is a problem area for you then I would steer clear of this one. Overall, it was a very comfortable dress that was easy to wear.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Fun to wear

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This was a fun dress to wear once. I ordered both the 4 & the 6 and really only noticed a difference on the butt. I liked where the ruffle fell in the size 6 better than the size 4.
Christie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

I wore this dress on a job interview and I felt great in it! Paired it with opaque black tights.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress is stunning! It is fun, flirty, sexy...yet I felt it was not inappropriate for a job interview at Google (and I tend to dress conservatively). I absolutely felt so good in this dress. It was my first rental from RTR. The 2 was my back-up size after reading the other reviews. I could have worn the 2 but it was a bit tight and I felt that the 4 was perfect on me. I paired it with a black Kate Spade statement necklace (Disco Pansy Bib) and gold earrings.
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Great color and fabric, but difficult cut.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a charity event. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 so I rented those sizes - the 2 was too small and short, and the 4 fit a little better but was still too short for my liking. I wanted to rent this dress because I liked the cut of it, but it ended up not working out on my slim but curvy frame. That being said, the cut has the potential to be very flattering, and I loved the fabric. I also liked the sleeves and shoulder cutouts. I wish this dress had fit me but I would still recommend it to anyone else!
Shay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 27, 2014

Pretty Color!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress was very, very cute, but you will need to size up if you have bigger boobs! It fit, but my boobs looked like they were mashed down which I did not like at all! I was sad that I did not get to wear it. May have to rent again in a larger size.
LFF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
May 7, 2014

Awkward

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Big in some areas, tight in others. Played the pull it up, pull it down game and ultimately decided I could not wear either size that I ordered
KELEIGH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 8, 2014

Didn't wear bc the sleeves were way too tight

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress and gorgeous color, but the sleeves were way too tight and it was a bit shorter than it looks in pictures. Would have been great if I had gotten the backup size in a 6
koren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113 lbs
May 19, 2014

Fun and flirty dress. got a lot of compliments.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore it to a wedding in Miami. perfect color.
Alessandra
Usually wears: 6
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 20, 2014

Cute and classy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress was a bit tight around the arms and chest, but overall cute.
Melanie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
May 24, 2014

The color was perfect for our engagement photos.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fit is a little small and probably not the best for girls blessed with a little more backside than others.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
May 28, 2014

Great color, cute dress for GNO in NYC!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress! The color was beautiful! The material was a bit stiff so there is absolutely "no" give in this dress at all. I would rent this again.
Kristine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Runs small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 2 and it was too small in the waist / stomach area. There were no size 4s available, so I had to pick a different style.
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

Very pretty color and style

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress but I didn't end up wearing it because the shoulders were a little tight so I wasn't able to raise my arms very high. It looked really nice on.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Jun 20, 2014

such a flirty dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
what a great dress! sexy but covered which i love. i got loves of compliments
sallygal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

I WISH I could have worn this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had to send it back to exchange for a different dress. I was so disappointed. The color was amazing as was the quality. It was just a tad too snug and 10 is the largest size it comes in. It was also too short!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

If you have a long torso and a chest...nope nope nope

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It is a beautiful fabric and color, but the fit for my body was not flattering at all
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Sep 16, 2014

Flirty and fun

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was comfortable and easy to dance in. Not too short or too tight.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Great dress! not too short or too tight

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress runs on the comfortably large side. I normally wear a 6-8 and this 6 fit fine with some wiggle room. The dress shape highlights the midsection, and is too tight for spanx. Beware. Arms are also tight.
Meriem
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

Great choice

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm glad I ignored some of the poor reviews and went ahead and rented this dress. It's a great fit and color and very appropriate for a rehearsal dinner. Sleeves are a little bit tight and shoulders stick out a little, but I only noticed this when I was sitting down. Great for slim and petites, but I would not recommend it if you are either tall or curvy.
Jenny
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 12, 2014

Super cute! didn't end up wearing it because the fit was on the small side and a little short.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Super cute dress and fit okay, But I didn't end up wearing it because the fit was on the small side. I didn't receive the next size up I ordered. Very fitted bodice so I was worried about the dress riding up all night. It was already on the short side so I just didn't want to be pulling on it all night. I will order again but at least one size up if not 2 so it lays better. If it was a different event it would have been fine.
julesb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Oct 17, 2014

I did not wear this dress because it was too short

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Too short!!!! I could not bend over without exposing myself. Could not wear.
teenah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

I ordered 0 and 2. The 0 arms were super tight. The size 2 was too long for short body type

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I would order if a little taller then 5'2 and if have skinny arms!!!
C.D.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 6, 2014

Too short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful color. Arms were tight, but the skirt portion was too short and puffed out so it was not very flattering on the hips.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 21, 2014

The color and cute flirty hem

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit great and was comfy (wore it to a wine tasting). It does run short though, and the sleeves are tight, so I would size up for length!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

I wore this to the Farewell Brunch of my wedding. It was comfortable and fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is fitted through the body but stretchy, and therefore very comfortable. The length and overall fit was perfect with my nude flats. I would definitely rent the dress again!
Mary-Margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 26, 2014

REALLY small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Everything about this dress was small. It's definitely not for hippy girls with a booty. I'm normally on the smaller size of a 6, so I generally order a 4 as my backup size, but neither size fit at all. The fabric has no give to it at all. Funny enough, the dress I ended up wearing out that night was a 4.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

I'm so sad I couldn't wear this dress. It was so small- there was no way I could make it work!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress did not fit at all! The mid-section was too short for my height and the skirt was inappropriate. I do not recommend this for tall girls! I was so bummed- the dress itself was beautiful and the fabric was nice and heavy.
BL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Gorgeous color. Short!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Really loved this dress. Only complaint is that it didn't sit still. I had to keep tugging it down to keep it looking smooth in the front. It's as it if needed a liner. Lots of compliments on the color.
Sarah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Jan 28, 2015

Great color, fun an flirty

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I wore this for a date night with my husband. I am trying to lose those last few pounds of baby weight and wanted something that made me feel good. The dress had a great weight to the fabric for a chilly winter evening and I loved the dropped waist. As other reviewers mentioned the sleeves are a little tight, but there was plenty of room in the chest and it accommodated my 32F boobs. All in all a great rental.
Alexie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

I unfortunately did not get to wear this dress & had to wear a back up dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress runs small and it is short! I am a size 4 and got my normal size. It was too small in the arms and bust. The dress was really short too. I would have needed to wear stockings just to give me the extra coverage. I based the sizes that I ordered on others reviews and there were a lot of mixed reviews about size and length.
Kelly Jo
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 26, 2015

Perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely perfect cocktail dress! Rich Color, Modest neck and sleeves leaves room for a little leg. The bottom makes it feel short, but it's long enough to walk and dance without any wardrobe malfunctions. Love Love Love this Dress!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×