Elie Tahari

New Beginning Sheath

$139 to buy
$498 retail
Stylist Notes

This navy lace Elie Tahari sheath is perfect for your next dinner party. Simply pair with pumps for a classic look.

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy lace over purple lining (100% cotton). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (95% polyester, 5% elastane). 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
192 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(135)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
March 29, 2016
Easy

Beautiful fit great true to size. Lots of compliments. Love the purple inside.

Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 23, 2016
N/a

I didn't actually get to wear this. I rented it for my free birthday dress and wouldn't you know, my husbands job (he's in the Navy) called him away, so we didn't get to go out. It was a great dress though and hopefully I'll be able to rent it and actually wear it again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
October 19, 2016
True to size

Very pretty dress but a bit too simple. It was a heavy material which made it perfect for a fall wedding.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Pear
Weight: 195lbs
January 18, 2015
Gorgeous dress, but not my favorite.

I really wanted to like this dress. It was stunning out of the bag and the colors look so good together - the purple underlay is really rich and doesn't stand out too much against the dark navy lace. But once I'd had it on for more than a few minutes, I wished I'd rented something else. For one, the slit in the back is WAY TOO HIGH - I'm 5'9 and had to use two two-inch safety pins to make it acceptable. It was also much too short for me - it hit me at mid-thigh, so not quite acceptable for the event. The lining also seemed to be longer than the lace, and I was constantly tugging at it. A few of the lace details were ripped or frayed, and one was so damaged the dress didn't sit properly on my left side/hip - something else to make me self-conscious. It looked great with my red hair (and the jewelry I snagged from the hotel gift shop after I left mine three states away!) but I wouldn't rent it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 8, 2015
LOVED this dress

Wore this to an outdoor wedding. It's nice, fun, and flirty but also classy and subtle which is great for meeting your boyfriend's entire extended family. (His brothers wedding.) I wish I owned this. Also, it's worth noting that it doesn't show (embarrassing) spills.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
April 15, 2015
Perfect fit. I use RTR for all weddings!

This dress is very true to size. It fits extremely well and is made of a very thick lace that keeps the dress from being wrinkled. It was very comfortable! The only thing I'd mention is the slit comes a little high in the back. A larger size may make the dress less tight so that wouldn't be a problem. However, this is minor, and I'll definitely be renting this dress again! Thank you RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 28, 2015
First of many more rentals

It was exactly what I wanted and expected

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 9, 2015
Amazing dress for Navy Dine Out

This was my first RTR dress and my experience was amazing! Dress came at 4pm the day before the event so I had time to try it on and accessorize . I ordered the 8/10 and the 8 fit me perfectly! I know a lot of reviews said the slit in the back was really high but I am 5'5" and the slit seemed perfectly appropriate for me. I absolutely loved this dress and am looking forward to doing RTR again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 17, 2015
My first rental! Loved it!

Very comfortable dress. The purple lining is subtle but very pretty. Runs true to size.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 210lbs
June 20, 2015
Not my favorite rental

I wore this dress to a wedding and it looked nice but the fabric is stretchy with a crochet overlay that was not comfortable to sit on.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 19, 2015
Classy, classic, comfy dress!

This dress was great. Very simple and elegant. The slit up the back didn't give me too much trouble, and I was able to fit into the 6 (true to size).

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
September 11, 2015
The dress fit!

I'm 5'1, 152#s. I'm pregnant and this dress fit my growing belly well. The dress was comfortable and made with stretchy material. Only con was the zipper was hard to zip up, even though it was loose in the back -- zipper just kept getting stuck! This was my first RTR rental and I would definitely rent again. Overall great experience.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
October 22, 2015
Aged Me

Wasn't a huge fan of this dress. I had ordered it for my law school graduation so I wanted something more conservative, but when I tried this on I felt like someone's grandma. If I could have gotten a size 4 instead of the 6 it might have fit a little better, but unfortunately the 4 wasn't available. I ended up wearing a completely different dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
December 27, 2015
Was a great dress. Got many compliments on it.

Was true to size. Beautiful blueish color. Detail of dress was gorgeous!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 6, 2016
Dress was beautiful. Perfect for a night on broadway

Was true to size. I have wide hips and the 8 fit perfectly. The slit in the back was a little high, made my boyfriend walk behind me when going upstairs. I think that's because I have a very long torso though. Overall loved it would buy it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 26, 2016
Pretty, Comfortable Dress

I wore this for my cousin's bridal shower. It was a pretty dress but I would have chosen this for a late fall event, rather than spring. It was very thick lace, but overall a pretty dress. This particular one was a little worn and may need to be moved from the rentals soon BC it seems as though A LOT have worn it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
May 1, 2016
Perfect dress for graduation!

The dress fit snug but was true to size. I'd order up one size for backup just in case. Gorgeous dress, received many compliments throughout the day at my graduation. Would be perfect for wedding too. This was my first RTR experience, and I'll definitely be doing many more!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2015
Beautiful dress! I received compliments all night. Wore with nude pumps and red lipstick.

Zipper was really hard! Overall fit was true to size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
July 20, 2015
Stunning fabric with understated elegance

This dress was amazing!!! It fit perfectly, hugged all the right places, and was such an elegant dress in an understated way! I felt gorgeous in this dress and have been looking for it to make it a permanent part of my wardrobe.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 5, 2013
Worn looking dress, very heavy, too long

This is a pretty dress but unfortunately I got a size 6 because they were out of a 4. As someone who is often between a 4 and 6 the six was far too large. More significantly, the lace was very heavy and it ran long. Coupled with the higher neck the look was matronly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
November 17, 2014
Very comfortable and elegant dress

This dress was a back-up sent after the original dress I ordered was returned damaged to RTR so they could not sent it to me. They sent a 2 which fit perfect, but typically I am a 4 so I guess this dress runs a bit large. I wore this to a very formal wedding and it was comfortable and elegant. The only issue is what others have mentioned here that the slit in the back goes pretty high up. I ended up just going with it but had to pull down the dress a lot and carefully sit up and sit down. Overall, I was happy with the dress but it's not my favorite RTR experience. I does not really stand-out but it's very comfortable and looks nice.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Body type: Petite
February 20, 2014
Super comfortable dress. Would wear again.

Ran a little large. Usually wear petite sizes and dress fell right below knees.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2016
Solid choice.

I've rented this dress before. Great for date, event, etc. Solid choice, not too sexy, but great fit, very flattering. Paired with nude heels it's a winner. Highly recommend it. It's not the trendiest choice but it's a solid dress that will deliver. I wear between a 4 and 6 and the 6 fit me fine so it may run a little small.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2016
Beautiful lace!

Beautiful lace & stunning dress! I ordered this as a backup option in case the dress I wanted (and they only had 1 size available) didn't fit. This dress runs small! The lace is pretty, no tears but it's rather heavy for the summer wedding I had rented it for. I ultimately opted to wear the other dress but would have been happy with this dress if I hadn't just LOVED the Yoana Baraschi Pepin Sheath! You'll want to order a size up!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 12, 2016
Runs very small

I usually wear a size 6 or 8, but I sized up because I read this runs small. I didn't fit in the 8, and the 10 was super tight. It also had a small rip on the side that made it bulge out, so I couldn't wear it. This dress is great for people with a more straight figure. If you are at all curvy, I would advise staying away. It was not at all forgiving around my hips, which is usually not much of a problem area for me.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
February 11, 2013
The dress fit beautifully. I was really happy for such a form-fitting dress.

This dress was the perfect choice for the event I was attending and I felt great in it. The RTR chat with the personal shopper was helpful in picking the size. I am normally a 6 but she suggested an 8 because of my bust size. She was right on with that.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Body type: Apple
April 16, 2013
Looks worn

Dresses were very worn, also ran small and short

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 23, 2013
Loved this dress- even people not associated with the event commented on the dress!

Perfect mother of the bride dress, did run a little small.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2013
Curve Hugging Insanity (in the best way possible)

I rented this dress for a work holiday party and couldn't have been happier when it arrived. The online pictures don't do this dress justice. The lace is a purple color and the underlay is this gorgeous blue - sounds kinda funky - but when you see it you will fall in love. Especially if you appreciate quality fabrics. I'm normally a 4 on top and a 6 on the bottom but I was a 6 in this dress. Since I'm pear shape I'm normally cautious when a sheath catches my eye, they can be ill-fitting. This dress fit BEAUTIFUL, like INSANE. The thick lace overlay was SO forgiving. I loved the length - perfect for a slightly more conservative event yet the curve hugging fit of the dress added a little oomph. Perfect experience, thanks RTR. I would absolutely rent again.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 22, 2013
This was a first RTR for me and the ease of it was very worth doing again!

I ordered size 6 and 8 in this dress. My normal dress size is a 6, but I took advice from previous reviews and ordered up. I chose to wear the size 8 because the length seemed to be better for me. I am 5'5 and was wearing heels. I was the mother of the bride; walking her down the isle very appropriate dress. I received many compliments from beautiful to very classy looking dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152lbs
September 30, 2013
I received lots of compliments in this dress. It is really beautiful and classic.

The navy lace is beautiful. The underlay is really more of a purple but the combination looked great. The dress runs small. I usually wear a size 10 in most dresses and pants but had to take the 12 in this. It is a little on the short side which also made me more comfortable with the larger size. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and received tons of compliments. Loved this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2013
Wish I owned this dress!

this is one of my favorite rentals. Although it does run small... and beware of the really high back split in the dress. I probably couldve worn the smaller size except for the back. otherwise, totally comfortable and lots of compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 12, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding! Comfortable enough to dance in! Got so many complements!

I am typically a size 8 and requested an 8 and 10. I ended up wearing the 10 because of the bust. The fabric does not have any stretch so consider your largest measurement when ordering. I got so many complements that night! Would definitely recommend this dress that can be dressed up with accessories!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 18, 2013
I was complimented all evening on this dress and everyone wanted to know where it was from!

The 8 fit my body perfectly with the exception of my chest where it completely flattened me out, so I ended up wearing the 10. The dress was comfortable and I felt great in it all night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2013
Great Party Rental

This was a last minute replacement dress, and as a side note, the stylist was so helpful when it came to picking out a new dress after the one I ordered did not work out. I received lots of compliments on the dress, the only complaint I had was that the party I wore it to was very dark and you could not see the purple lining under the navy lace. This dress would be perfect for an outdoor event. I usually wear a 10 or 12, but the 10 wasn't available and I was surprised that the 12 was tight, so I was happy with the 12.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 31, 2013
Beautiful and Elegant

I wore this dress for my son's baptism. It was perfect!!! I still have a bit of baby weight and this dress was fitted, but still flattering. I felt very lady like, but didn't feel like a total Mom. I got many compliments in it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 12, 2014
Pretty dress!

Runs a little small, and the slit in the back is a little high so I went a size up. The cap sleeves have a little bit too much material in them if you have small shoulders, but otherwise the dress is very nice.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
April 17, 2014
Amazing dress for a business event

I ordered a 0 and as a backup a 2. I'm so glad I ordered the backup because it fit perfectly. I wore this dress to a business meeting/dinner, I met current and prospective customers, current and prospective buyers, and many other important people in our industry. The entire time I felt comfortable and like I was dressed appropriately and still looked great and fashionable at the same time. The dress is very comfortable! Just needed my husband to zip and clip the back. Can't wait for my next rental!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 12, 2014
Not for large breasts.

This dress was definitely too small for the large busted. My normal size is 8, and I tried to fit my 34DDs in this dress, and it wouldn't even zip up all the way. What I did get zipped up, the dress made me look boxy, and very unappealing. But, if you have Cs and below, this dress is for you. It is beautiful, though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
May 21, 2014
Too tight and no stretch.

This dress has no stretch at. It was tight and uncomfortable. I didn't wear it.

See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×