New Beginning Sheath

$139 to buy
$498 retail
Stylist Notes

This navy lace Elie Tahari sheath is perfect for your next dinner party. Simply pair with pumps for a classic look.

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy lace over purple lining (100% cotton). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (95% polyester, 5% elastane). 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
191 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(135)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2012
Flattering sheath - pretty purple underlay!
This sheath is super flattering. I don't normally go for anything remotely fitted, but the navy lace with an unexpected pop of purple underneath is so pretty! The fabric has a little bit of stretch, which makes it very comfortable to wear as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 10, 2012
Lovely dress!
I wore this to a company Christmas party - the only complaint I had about it was that I was too short! It would have been perfect for me if I was 3 inches taller. But that will be true of any dress in your collection since they are all geared toward tall models. The dress on the model is about 3 inches ABOVE her knee - it fell below the knee on me so I felt it was a little "matronly" on me. But as I said, it is a lovely dress, well-fitted, comfortable to wear and have fun in. I thought it looked better with big jewelry for a party and more delicate jewelry for a formal occasion such as a wedding. Very well made.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 11, 2012
Perfect for a work dinner/awards ceremony!
I loved the dress as soon as I took it out of its various packing materials :) The lace overlay is a nice substantial weight, so I wasn't worried about it snagging. The underlay is a nice purply color, but it doesn't contrast very much with the navy blue crochet material - just a subtle detail. The fit is awesome - I felt super comfortable and was able to both eat a formal dinner as well as bust a move. Win-win. I got lots of compliments on the fit; it hangs really well, tucks in in the right places, etc. and doesn't ride up at all. Overall, I really liked it and was told by more than one person that I should just go ahead and buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
December 13, 2012
The dress was a hit!
I picked this dress for our company holiday party, and it was far better than I could've imagined! The dress fit perfectly to my curves, which i was nervous about. The lace is gorgeous! Originally I hoped to order a similar black lace dress, thinking it would be easier to match shoes, but I wore sparkly silver pumps, and found a silver matching bag. As you can see, it is a more of a midnight blue while the lining has a hint of indigo/purple. People came up to me all night to pay me compliments!!!! It was elegant but still had a little sex appeal with the lace and the nice fitting. I would highly recommend this dress. One small word of caution, be careful reaching your arms as the lace is snug over the shoulders ( as it should be). This was my first time using Rent The Runway. I rented another as back up, but didn't need it. I was really very pleased overall with the experience, the packaging, the convenience...everything about it. It was a pleasure to wear something designer luxurious and high quality without the pricetag!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2012
Great Work Dress
If you're looking for a dress that's good for a formal work affair this is it. Great fit, looks awesome just not a lot of pazaaz.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 14, 2013
Right fit, right style, perfect choice!
This dress was perfect for my company holiday party. It was super classy and fit true to size. It also worked for my slightly large bust size. It hit right above the knee on my 5'5" frame and didn't bunch despite the fact that I have barely any hips. I was so happy with this choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 26, 2013
Felt AMAZING in this dress
I own a couple of Elie Tahari dresses that I wear to work so I knew I was a size 4 (though typically when I rent, I order a size 6). This dress fit me like a glove - not too tight, not too loose - just perfect. I wore it to a holiday party where everyone was standing around having drinks and hors d'oeuvres, and it was so comfortable through all the consumption. This will always be a first choice of mine.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
February 11, 2013
The dress fit beautifully. I was really happy for such a form-fitting dress.
This dress was the perfect choice for the event I was attending and I felt great in it. The RTR chat with the personal shopper was helpful in picking the size. I am normally a 6 but she suggested an 8 because of my bust size. She was right on with that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 12, 2013
Great dress. Got lots of compliments!! Only minor issue was a small tear by the end of zipper.
Wore this dress to a fundraiser and got to meet the Vice President of the United States! Loved the color, I got lots of compliments and gave a shout out to RTR everytime. My friend's husband apparently went to college with the founder of RTR! Only in Wyoming!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
February 15, 2013
Valentine's dinner dress - very nice!
The dress fit amazing and was totally comfortable. It was conservative enough for work and dressy enough for a dinner date.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 18, 2013
This dress is super comfortable and I received compliments on it all night!
The dress fit true to size and has a little give to keep it comfortable. The zipper is a little tricky because of the overlay but nothing I couldn't do on my own. The dress is very flattering and hides any lumps, bumps, or imperfections. The length made me feel covered but sexy. The cut of the sleeve allowed the shoulders fit very well which was a great surprise for me because I have broad shoulders and sometimes can't move if the cut isn't right. It matched my shoes and jewlery easily. Wonderful dress and would recommend to anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 26, 2013
Too long
Fits nicely but more for an older woman, as it covers a lot!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 28, 2013
Wish I could buy this one!
I wore this dress for my engagement party. This dress was really pretty! I got so many compliments. The color is beautiful. I would definitely recommend this to any one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2013
Great fit, beautifully made
This was my first success with RTR. First time, neither of the dresses fit, so I tried again after reading reviews & looking at your photos. I usually wear a 4 but got a 6, too in case. 4 fit like a glove - not skin tight, but really just cut perfectly to show off what you've got. Sleeves are beautifully capped, not too tight on arms. I actually wore this to work, then out to a photo show and jazz club. Got compliments from everyone from my colleagues to the coat check guy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
March 1, 2013
Classic, chic
The dress fits great. Pulls in the waist. Not much give in the fabric underneath the lace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
March 3, 2013
Perfect for cocktails and a date night at the symphony
The dress fit really well and was comfortable. The length for me fell just a little above the knee. The lace is really soft and the lining is a very pretty purple. I received compliments from lots of random strangers.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 4, 2013
Elegant and flattering
I wore this dress to a cocktail attire wedding and felt I was dressed tastefully for the occasion. The size 2 fit, however the slit up the middle, in the back of the dress came up too high. The 4 however, was perfect. Overall, the rent was a success- I would purchase this dress for future occasions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
March 19, 2013
Shipping was prompt and the condition of the dress was impeccable.
Definitely fit true to size. I received a lot of compliments on the dress and I couldn't help but have a mischievous smile knowing that I had rented it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 25, 2013
Great dress, lots of compliments
The dress came and I was a little worried, looked small on the hanger....but once I got it on, it fit like a glove, plenty of room in the bust (which is always a concern for me). This dress is fitted, so if you don't like a close fit, this dress might not be for you. The only drawback with the dress is the zipper was somewhat finicky..found if I didn't zip it all the way down it was easier to zip up. Overall loved it and my husband loved it!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 26, 2013
Great dress for a wedding! Highly recommend.
Great dress! The blue is really pretty - got tons of compliments throughout the night. I opted for the larger size (10) because of the length. Both sizes fit fine but the 8 was a few inches above the knee and didn't feel appropriate for a wedding. The 10 came to the knees and was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
March 29, 2013
Classy!
Wore this to my brother in law's rehearsal dinner in January. Very beautiful color combination with the light purple sheath underneath (which doesn't get captured very well by camera). Was a tad on the short side for me as I am 5'9, and the slit in the back came up high, but I felt that the high neck and sleeves compensated for that. Very comfortable and hid any waist lines from stockings well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 7, 2013
Very nice dress
I rented this dress for a wedding, it was my first time using Rent the Runway. I really liked this dress - as other reviewers mentioned it's very comfortable and has some stretch so it was great for dancing and moving around in. The dress looked very fitted and I was worried the size 6 might run small so I rented a size up for my backup and I actually wish I would have gotten a 4. The 6 fit fine but I was hoping the dress would be a bit more fitted. Even so, I really enjoyed the dress and it was absolutely perfect for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Body type: Apple
April 16, 2013
Looks worn
Dresses were very worn, also ran small and short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
April 29, 2013
Feel-Good Classy
This was the perfect dress for an early spring wedding. It was the perfect length, with great coverage, and fit like the glove. The most important part was that it was comfortable to sit in and comfortable to dance it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2013
Pretty dress for less curvy women
I am usually between a 6 and an 8 in cocktail style dresses due to my larger bust. I ended up going with the 8 as the lace in the 6 was pulling across my chest. Other than that, I did not notice much of a difference between the two sizes. The dress was pretty, it just did not hit me in the right places to accentuate my small waste, I felt I looked very boxy all night and dont love pictures from the evening. Also, I felt the lace was not ideal for dancing. I had plenty of room in the dress, but worried a lot when I was dancing as the lace on one of the cap sleeves ripped a little in the beginning of the evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
I loved thsi dress. It was true to size and very comfortable. The navy blue and shiny purple under layer was so beautiful. Very elegant and classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2013
Perfect for Graduation
I wore this for my law school graduation and it was a great dress overall. The layer underneath the dress is purple, not blue, but for some reason this doesn't show up in photos. Also, the lace is thick, more like crochet. If you have a longer torso, the slit in the back of the dress is EXTREMELY high and you may have to pin it in order to keep from giving others a show.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 23, 2013
Loved this dress- even people not associated with the event commented on the dress!
Perfect mother of the bride dress, did run a little small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress!
This dress was really beautiful and fit quite well. The blue underlay has purple tones so the color is more interesting than a standard navy blue. The material has a bit of stretch, so it fit well even around the waist. I got lots of compliments on the dress, as I have with every RTR dress I have worn. I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 30, 2013
Beautiful dress!!
This dress was absolutely perfect for my brother's wedding! The fit was amazing and I received so many compliments, I didn't want to send it back, would definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
June 5, 2013
Worn looking dress, very heavy, too long
This is a pretty dress but unfortunately I got a size 6 because they were out of a 4. As someone who is often between a 4 and 6 the six was far too large. More significantly, the lace was very heavy and it ran long. Coupled with the higher neck the look was matronly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2013
Curve Hugging Insanity (in the best way possible)
I rented this dress for a work holiday party and couldn't have been happier when it arrived. The online pictures don't do this dress justice. The lace is a purple color and the underlay is this gorgeous blue - sounds kinda funky - but when you see it you will fall in love. Especially if you appreciate quality fabrics. I'm normally a 4 on top and a 6 on the bottom but I was a 6 in this dress. Since I'm pear shape I'm normally cautious when a sheath catches my eye, they can be ill-fitting. This dress fit BEAUTIFUL, like INSANE. The thick lace overlay was SO forgiving. I loved the length - perfect for a slightly more conservative event yet the curve hugging fit of the dress added a little oomph. Perfect experience, thanks RTR. I would absolutely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2013
Comfortable and flattering
conservative dress except for the tight form fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 30, 2013
Great dress for a Kentucky Wedding.
This was super comfortable dress. The dress had just enough stretch, to give you some comfort while sitting. It was a great length for me, being 5'2". I got a lot of compliments and felt really great!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
July 23, 2013
I LOVED this dress! I didn't want to return it. Very classy and fit beautifully.
I'm 5'11" and I felt like it was a great length. I was a little worried the slit would be too high (based on other reviews), but it wasn't at all. Very comfortable, classy, and even sexy. I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 20, 2013
Classy and comfortable
I love this dress! It was perfect for a summer/fall wedding. I got the 8 and the 10 - I really didn't notice a difference between the two sizes and could have worn either - I chose the 10 because the 8 had a small tear on the outside layer in the back. (I called RTR when I noticed it just to let them know - it was barely noticeable, but I didn't want to risk it getting any bigger) It was very comfortable, and I got a bunch of compliments. They lining underneath is actually purple - it's very pretty. It hugs your body in the right places without being too tight our clingy - it is very flattering - good for hourglasses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 95lbs
August 25, 2013
The Beginning to my Fairy Tale
My fiancé family came to ask for my hang in marriage. This dress was perfect! and so classy! Fit perfectly! I recieved so many complements.. very classy and elegant dress. I got so many compliments! you can't go wrong!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 9, 2013
Elegant and sexy at the same time
This was my first RTR experience and it was great. I absolutely loved this dress. I rented it for a wedding Labor Day weekend. It fit perfectly, and the dress was super comfortable. I danced all night in it. The lace was elegant but not too heavy, and the slip underneath was a beautiful purple shimmer - enough to add interest but not be weird or distracting. I'm curvy, and the dress hugged the right places but wasn't too tight. I'm 5'2", so the length was perfect - just above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 13, 2013
Dress looked good on. Wasn't what I expected.
Tried this on for my "At Home Try On". Dress was pretty short (but not inappropriate). And knit material (thought it looked more like lace) which made it heavy. I would probably be hot in this dress in the summer, even though it's short. Was flattering on though. Probably won't be renting it...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
September 13, 2013
Great for weddings!
I wore this dress to a friend's summer wedding. The bridesmaids had a similar navy/lace dress so I looked like I was part of the wedding party, but I got so many compliments on the cut of the dress, how thin it made me look and how great it fit! I'd wear this dress again in a heartbeat!
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×