Elie Tahari

New Beginning Sheath

$139 to buy
$498 retail
Stylist Notes

This navy lace Elie Tahari sheath is perfect for your next dinner party. Simply pair with pumps for a classic look.

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy lace over purple lining (100% cotton). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (95% polyester, 5% elastane). 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
192 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(135)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 2, 2014
Looks heavy, but actually comfortable!
I was worried when the dress came in that it would be super heavy and hot, but it wasn't. It looked fab on and I got a lot of compliments. The dress fit perfectly and I loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 12, 2014
Pretty Dress
Pretty dress, but the material was heavier than I expected and I felt that I looked like an old lady in it. Just not for me.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 12, 2014
Pretty dress!
Runs a little small, and the slit in the back is a little high so I went a size up. The cap sleeves have a little bit too much material in them if you have small shoulders, but otherwise the dress is very nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 14, 2014
The dress was extremely comfortable and perfect for an outdoor wedding! Great for all the dancing :)
I got a ton of compliments on this dress and it was so comfortable! Be sure not to wear jewelry that will catch though, the sheath overlay could get caught.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2014
Nice dress, just not my style
Rented for a wedding. It fit well, but was down past my knees. I felt much older than I am and ended up not wearing it. Would have worn if hit higher on my legs or to a different type of event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2014
Rented this for a wedding; ended up wearing a different dress.
Loved this dress from the front; however, the slit in the back was WAY higher than I anticipated. I ended up wearing a different dress in order to avoid a wardrobe malfunction.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 17, 2014
Classic, simple and elegant. Perfect to wear as a guest for a fall wedding.
The dress was somewhat stretchy so it can be very forgiving however, with the length of the sleeve- make sure you feel confident about your arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
April 17, 2014
Amazing dress for a business event
I ordered a 0 and as a backup a 2. I'm so glad I ordered the backup because it fit perfectly. I wore this dress to a business meeting/dinner, I met current and prospective customers, current and prospective buyers, and many other important people in our industry. The entire time I felt comfortable and like I was dressed appropriately and still looked great and fashionable at the same time. The dress is very comfortable! Just needed my husband to zip and clip the back. Can't wait for my next rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 12, 2014
Not for large breasts.
This dress was definitely too small for the large busted. My normal size is 8, and I tried to fit my 34DDs in this dress, and it wouldn't even zip up all the way. What I did get zipped up, the dress made me look boxy, and very unappealing. But, if you have Cs and below, this dress is for you. It is beautiful, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
May 21, 2014
Too tight and no stretch.
This dress has no stretch at. It was tight and uncomfortable. I didn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2014
It fit well and was so comfortable...loved the color
It was perfect for a daytime lunch party....would wear it again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 30, 2014
Another RTR winner!
Elie Tahari is a favorite of mine, and this dress is no exception. I love the fitted waist and the sleek look this dress provides. Gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 31, 2014
Classy dress
This was actually the back-up dress I rented for a wedding. Both dresses fit so I ended up wearing this to dinner with my boyfriend to dinner on the night prior. The lace was actually made of a much heavier fabric than I expected and that actually made it more comfortable. I'm kind of between a 6 and 8 (high end of 6 and low end of 8 at the moment) and the 8 fit great. The only issue I had was that when I had the dress on, the lining underneath ends up longer than the lace part (you can kind of see that in the picture). I have no clue why that was happening since it's fine on the hanger. It's a great dress to wear when you want to look nice but not have all your bits hanging out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 31, 2014
Beautiful dress!
Had to go up to a size 8, usually wear a 6. Overall dress fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 31, 2014
I wore this dress for my graduation and ABSOLUTELY LOVED it! I received many complements!
This dress fits true to size. The material does not provide much stretch but the lace is stunning! The underlining is a purplish color which blended well with the navy color.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
June 2, 2014
My date was the best man
I really liked this dress but was surprised how thick the "lace" layer was. Also, the lining underneath had a purple tint to it which was fine since I was wearing nude shoes but is something to be aware of.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
June 3, 2014
Beautiful dress
I'm generally somewhere between an 8 and 10. Both sizes fit but the 8 was a little more form fitting so I went with that one. The lace is blue but the silk underlay is closer to purple. A beautiful dress...got many compliments. The only problem I had...I live by myself and could not get the dress zipped all the way up. It zips from your waist to the neckline. I had to have a neighbor finish zipping it and then had a friend start the unzip process before I left the wedding (otherwise I would have been sleeping in it). All in all, very happy with the dress and the rental process. Will definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
June 9, 2014
Classy!
Rented this for a charity event and was very pleased. As others reviewers noted, the back slit is high, so I did go up a size and wear spandex shorts underneath. The fit was flattering when I sized up -- not too tight but not too demure, and didn't add pounds. Only complaint is that the zipper mechanism on this dress is very delicate, and was showing lots of wear from previous rentals. No one would ever notice in person, but it did make it a challenge to get on without assistance. Whole experience was very pleasant overall -- great dress for less than the cost of purchasing, timely delivery, and no need to worry about the dry cleaning. Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 10, 2014
Very flattering dress!
I wore this for a June wedding and was comfortable dancing all night long! It is a very flattering dress and it accentuated my curves perfectly. I loved that I was able to wear my normal bra and didn't have to fuss with straps or anything all night long. The lace is beautiful, but I will say that the purple color does not really show through at all. Would love to rent this dress again!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 10, 2014
Perfect for a wedding!
The quality of the dress was great - I wish I owned it! It is a timeless style and fit well. Definitely perfect for a cocktail party or a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 24, 2014
The dress fit perfectly. One less thing to worry about in my busy life.
The dress fit perfectly. It snags easily, so be careful!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
June 28, 2014
Very classy dress.
Simple but elegant, I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding reception. It was a bit hot and the dress doesn't breathe, but I received lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 30, 2014
Loved the dress, great customer service.
Got the 2 and 4. Ended up wearing the 4 even though it came with a tear on the sleeve. Called customer service and they issued a credit for this. 4 fit perfectly. Wish I could've kept this dress, it was gorgeous and I got tons of compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 1, 2014
Beautiful!
This is a really beautiful dress. It runs small, ladies. (I'm usually a 4/6, and I wore an 8.) The purple lining and navy lacy detailing is exquisite. I got compliments all night. I wore a regular bra without issues. It's a really terrific dress. I would rent it again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 4, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
This dress is beautiful and very well made. It fit beautifully and hugged all my curves, but it did run small or maybe it was the fact that it really didn't have a lot of give to it. I normally wear a size 6 in dresses but wore the 8. The only other thing I can say is the dress is a heavy fabric- probably better in the fall or spring. It was very hot and humid at this July wedding, but luckily we were inside in the air conditioning so it wasn't an issue. Just a warning though if you are considering this for a summer wedding. All in all, I loved it and got a lot of compliments on it! Great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
July 6, 2014
The contrast of navy over purple was beautiful. Many compliments!
This was my first RTR experience, and I am definitely a fan! The dress was lovely while the process was easy. I will be using RTR again, for sure.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 24, 2014
This was my first rental. I was skeptical at first but it arrived when promised and it was awesome!
I ordered both the 10 and 12 but 10 was a little too tight. The dress was comfortable and very flattering. The crochet on the dress was in perfect condition, no snags. Received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
July 29, 2014
Bridesmaids Dress
I wore this as a bridesmaid in a summer wedding. I didn't read closely enough to see that the underlay is actually purple and note navy (the color of the lace) but it didn't look out of place next to the other navy dresses. I was surprised by how high the slit in the back was! I ended up pinning the top of the slit to keep it from showing too much when I was walking down the isle. Even with the pin it was more than I would have chosen to show. However, the dress was very flattering and overall a good rental. Not something I would keep in my queue as a a repeat rental but I'm glad to have worn it once.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 3, 2014
Amazing dress!
I wore this to a friend's wedding. I received so many compliments! Everyone from the bride to her mother to both guys and girls in their 20s loved the dress. In my opinion you know it's a classy dress when people from all age ranges love it. This dress is so beautiful and fit amazingly perfect. I definitely did some RTR promotion thanks to this dress. I paired it with nude pumps, my mom's pearl necklace and a champagne colored clutch. I wish I could buy this dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
August 18, 2014
It was pretty but well worn.
Very pretty but you can tell it has been worn a lot. The lace is fraying.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
August 25, 2014
LOVED this dress!
It does run a little small and even though I am petite I had to wear the 2 because the slit in 0 would have caused a scandal at the wedding. The color is gorgeous, the length is perfect and I got a TON of compliments. Perfect for an evening wedding at a country club!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
September 3, 2014
Great dress and really comfortable
I loved this dress. I rented it to be a bridesmaid in my friends wedding. I generally wear a 4 but I didn't take the 4 off the hanger. I tried the 6 first and it was so comfy and flattering I didn't even try on the 4. I wasn't going for sexy, I was going for classy and sophisticated. I wore the dress for 10 hours, got tons of compliments and was so comfortable. The dress has great stretch. I will say the fabric is heavier than I thought it would be so it would be great in fall or winter. I wore it in summer and it was 90 and humid. It wasn't hot but it felt heavy. I love this dress. Great rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
September 8, 2014
A perfect fit!
I was hesitant to rent this dress only because I'm quite hippy and sheath dresses can be a hit or miss as far as sizing goes. However, it was so pretty that I had to at least try, and I'm so glad I did. I know a lot of reviews say it ran small and they needed to size up, but the size 12 fit me perfectly! It was a very comfortable dress, and was great for dancing all night at a wedding. I will say that the crochet overlay looked a little worn (not in bad shape, you could just tell it wasn't brand new), but I think that was only apparent if you were examining it up close. Customer service was also very helpful in changing my rental date after I had already put in the order. Would definitely use Rent the Runway again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2014
Great dress
Not only is this dress elegant, but it is comfortable, too! I received many compliments on this dress. I marked that the fit was true to size because I was able to wear the size 6 which is what I normally wear. I have a large bust (34 DD) and it was a little snug, but not too tight. Most other dresses I have to go up one or two sizes because of my bust and I didn't have to with this dress. The hip area was a little big for me. I would have liked to try the size 4 because I think that would have fit my hips better. Unfortunately, I ordered the 6 and 8 because of my bust. So if you are straight and narrow (small hips and bust), I would recommend ordering a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
August 6, 2013
Beautiful
I typically stay away from body hugging dresses, but this one was beautiful. It was extremely flattering (I am fairly proportionate) and my boyfriend loved it. The underlay made me feel confident, and the lace laid perfectly flat. The color is blue/purple which doesnt show up in the picture as much. Perfect for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 26, 2014
Dancing the night away with old friends!
The slit on the back of this dress was dangerously high. Might be due to my height (5'8") but it was a challenge to keep from flashing people throughout the wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
August 29, 2013
I received so many compliments on my dress and I couldn't have been happier wearing it.
I absolutely loved this dress. It was super comfortable and I was able to dance in it without feeling restricted. I have a very large chest so being able to wear my regular bra was great.
barbaraOctober 8, 2014
Is the dress black or navy?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2014
Very comfortable and elegant dress
This dress was a back-up sent after the original dress I ordered was returned damaged to RTR so they could not sent it to me. They sent a 2 which fit perfect, but typically I am a 4 so I guess this dress runs a bit large. I wore this to a very formal wedding and it was comfortable and elegant. The only issue is what others have mentioned here that the slit in the back goes pretty high up. I ended up just going with it but had to pull down the dress a lot and carefully sit up and sit down. Overall, I was happy with the dress but it's not my favorite RTR experience. I does not really stand-out but it's very comfortable and looks nice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2014
This fit like a glove and made me feel so beautiful!
The slit in the back is definitely a little high, but I honestly didn't even notice until I got home that night and looked, so really I didn't feel overly exposed or inappropriate. I ordered the 6 and the 8 based on others' reviews and the 6 fit like it was cut exactly for me. I have a true hourglass figure (last time I was fitted for a bridesmaid dress my waist was a 4 and my chest/hips around a 8/10), so it's difficult to find something off the rack that meets all measurements and this doing so was such a lovely treat! The crochet lace is heavier than I thought it would be but for an outdoor October wedding it ended up being perfect. The dress is extremely flattering and comfortable (even to dance in.) Another plus is that I could wear a normal bra with it. I would definitely recommend this to a friend and would even consider renting it again. You won't regret it.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
December 2, 2014
Great for a wedding in cooler months
This dress is heavy, the lace brocade pattern fabric (and the lace is a fabric, like cotton, not a traditional lace) is navy blue, and very heavy. The cap sleeves are cute, and all of this makes this dress much better for a wedding or formal affair when its a bit cooler out. The underlay to the dress is a violet purple satin, and when layered the navy and purple look really nice together! Much more navy than I thought, but still very nice. My only beef was that there was a bit of a rip in the lace on the right cap sleeve, but other than that the dress was beautiful!
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×