Rent the Runway

Elie Tahari

New Beginning Sheath

$40 rental
$498 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This navy lace Elie Tahari sheath is perfect for your next dinner party! Simply pair with Gerard Yosca’s Delicate Azure Drop Earring for a little extra sparkle and shine!

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy lace over purple lining (100% cotton). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (95% polyester, 5% elastane). 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

164 reviews

Fit
Small 29
True to Size 122
Large 3
Photos 67
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 12, 2013

Fantastic look - conservative with a touch of fun.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress - it did arrive a bit worn (some of the lace was a torn and the zipper was difficult) but you didn't notice it unless you were really looking. Otherwise, fit well, had a fun purple under layer and was a very classy look.
Julie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

Sophisticated and lovely.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed a dress that would would be fun for a night out but also appropriate for a semi-conservative crowd. This dress was perfect. The dress is sophisticated and a nice alternative to LBD. The lace is a heavy (nice for fall/winter) navy blue. The sheath underneath is also navy but with a bit more purple. It fit like a glove and hit me about 3 inches above the knee. I have broad shoulders so could have used a bit more room there but not a showstopper.
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Nov 26, 2013

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner. It was comfy and flattering. I went with the 6, but could have worn the 4, I just liked the roomier fit of the 6. The dress was a bit worn at the ends, I think the lace overlay is a little more delicate than most fabrics. It was also a thicker dress, which was great for the cold temps!
Elisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

Very pretty

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was very nice. Nothing super special about it and I wouldn't say I fell in love with it, but it is a lovely dress, beautiful silhouette, great color.
Judie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 18, 2013

I was complimented all evening on this dress and everyone wanted to know where it was from!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The 8 fit my body perfectly with the exception of my chest where it completely flattened me out, so I ended up wearing the 10. The dress was comfortable and I felt great in it all night!
Kayjo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Great Party Rental

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a last minute replacement dress, and as a side note, the stylist was so helpful when it came to picking out a new dress after the one I ordered did not work out. I received lots of compliments on the dress, the only complaint I had was that the party I wore it to was very dark and you could not see the purple lining under the navy lace. This dress would be perfect for an outdoor event. I usually wear a 10 or 12, but the 10 wasn't available and I was surprised that the 12 was tight, so I was happy with the 12.
Alycia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jan 1, 2014

zipper was broken

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
well, I thought this was a lace dress, but it is actually almost looks crocheted. It is very heavy looking, not elegant like lace. When I tried it on the zipper was stuck down and I was afraid to pull it up for fear of breaking it. Luckily this was my back up and had another dress that I rented.
Margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

The dress is beautiful. I wore it for my daughter's rehearsal dinner. I received so many compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fits true to size and it fit perfectly from top to bottom.
Skiergirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 9, 2014

Perfect mix of modern and traditional with lots of comfortable mixed in!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Best dress I have rented so far (have rented 4x). Perfect for a hospital fundraiser, you can dress it up or down - paired it with small hoop diamond earrings and simple diamond necklace, and sparkly gold shoes. Most comfortable formal dress I have ever worn besides my wedding dress. Fit perfectly, was in great shape, dark color hid back fat and slimmed hips. Enough give but not stretchy looking. Awesome.
Sofia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 20, 2014

Beautiful, classy dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress for my white coat ceremony for my doctorate. Received so many compliments from young to old. Length was great; however, slit in the back was a bit high, so be careful if you have longer legs. I felt like I was tugging it down throughout the day. Form fitting but still very classy.
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Pretty, but not worn

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my back up dress. It was pretty, but not a show stopper. The lining hung below the lace in the back. I'm not sure anyone would really notice it, but it's worth mentioning.
Krysten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

This dress looked great on me and was perfect for my white coat ceremony!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very well made and fit well. It was a bit shorter than I would have like because it was a professional event but overall, it was great!
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Feb 8, 2014

Dress fit perfectly. I need something that was sophisticated yet sexy and this did the job well.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit was true to size. I'm normally a four and this was a four. I wear a 34d bra size and it was snug but not uncomfortable on top. The length was prefect, it hit me in the right place. Loved the dress ! Beautiful color !
Victoria
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Feb 15, 2014

Valentine's dinner at one of our favorite restaurants that is moving.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I saw this dress in the window of the Elle Tahari store. I loved it. I am glad that I had both the 8 and the 10 sent. The 8 was too tight in the arms and chest. It was very comfortable to wear. I would recommend it for a date or wedding.
Marty
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
Feb 20, 2014

Super comfortable dress. Would wear again.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ran a little large. Usually wear petite sizes and dress fell right below knees.
CK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

Elegant, comfortable, unique

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a winter birthday party at a bar and it was a great choice. The sleeves were the perfect length where they are not 100% cap sleeves that cut into your arms, but not all the way short sleeves that can make your arms look large. The length and the fit were perfect- able to wear with tights and heels or boots. Lace was wonderful, such a lovely dress!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

Beautiful and classy, it was perfect for my office holiday party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very fun dress. My only con is that the outer lace is not adhered to the under slip in the front so the lace would ride up. I was constantly pulling it down. That is the reason for the 4/5 stars. The dress was very comfortable and sexy without being too revealing. I am 5'3" so the dress length stopped just above the knees. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Larissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 11, 2014

Beautiful fit for last minute dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress from the Bendel's store because my rental did not work out perfectly for my engagement party. Thank goodness I did because this dress was so perfect. I got a ton of compliments, everyone told me how classy the dress looked. It fit well, it hugged my curves but wasn't too tight or unflattering. Only drawback was that there's a relatively high slit in the back of the dress and being so tall it came pretty much up to my butt, so I was fidgeting a little but thank goodness I was mostly seated. Definitely would rent again.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

Pretty Dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pretty dress, but the material was heavier than I expected and I felt that I looked like an old lady in it. Just not for me.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

Pretty dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs a little small, and the slit in the back is a little high so I went a size up. The cap sleeves have a little bit too much material in them if you have small shoulders, but otherwise the dress is very nice.
Leslee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Apr 14, 2014

Very short in the back!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved this dress, however, I thought it ran very small. Also, the slit in the back makes the dress VERY short. I was super self conscious about it and felt like I kept pulling it down to make sure I was fully covered.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Nice dress, just not my style

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented for a wedding. It fit well, but was down past my knees. I felt much older than I am and ended up not wearing it. Would have worn if hit higher on my legs or to a different type of event.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Rented this for a wedding; ended up wearing a different dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress from the front; however, the slit in the back was WAY higher than I anticipated. I ended up wearing a different dress in order to avoid a wardrobe malfunction.
Alicia
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Classic, simple and elegant. Perfect to wear as a guest for a fall wedding.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was somewhat stretchy so it can be very forgiving however, with the length of the sleeve- make sure you feel confident about your arms.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Amazing dress for a business event

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 0 and as a backup a 2. I'm so glad I ordered the backup because it fit perfectly. I wore this dress to a business meeting/dinner, I met current and prospective customers, current and prospective buyers, and many other important people in our industry. The entire time I felt comfortable and like I was dressed appropriately and still looked great and fashionable at the same time. The dress is very comfortable! Just needed my husband to zip and clip the back. Can't wait for my next rental!
Amy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 5, 2014

Great for a formal dinner!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit true to size and was very flattering! I got so many compliments!
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 12, 2014

Not for large breasts.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was definitely too small for the large busted. My normal size is 8, and I tried to fit my 34DDs in this dress, and it wouldn't even zip up all the way. What I did get zipped up, the dress made me look boxy, and very unappealing. But, if you have Cs and below, this dress is for you. It is beautiful, though.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
May 14, 2014

It was my first time attending a Jewish wedding and the ceremony was beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got both size 2 and 4. Size 2 would have worked but (obviously) a tighter fit than size 4. My shoulders are proportionally broad so I decided to go with size 4 to have a more comfortable evening. For my 5"2 frame it fits right around my knees, which I consider an appropriate length for the occasion.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
May 17, 2014

A beautiful dress, butt...

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Literally, my butt was hanging out. The slit came up soooooo high! Couldn't wear it out.
Mary Anne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
May 18, 2014

The dress looked great and got tons of compliments on it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly, other reviews had mentioned the slit in the back but that was not really high at all. A really great dress.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
May 21, 2014

Too tight and no stretch.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress has no stretch at. It was tight and uncomfortable. I didn't wear it.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 29, 2014

It fit well and was so comfortable...loved the color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was perfect for a daytime lunch party....would wear it again
elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 30, 2014

Another RTR winner!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Elie Tahari is a favorite of mine, and this dress is no exception. I love the fitted waist and the sleek look this dress provides. Gorgeous!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 31, 2014

Classy dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was actually the back-up dress I rented for a wedding. Both dresses fit so I ended up wearing this to dinner with my boyfriend to dinner on the night prior. The lace was actually made of a much heavier fabric than I expected and that actually made it more comfortable. I'm kind of between a 6 and 8 (high end of 6 and low end of 8 at the moment) and the 8 fit great. The only issue I had was that when I had the dress on, the lining underneath ends up longer than the lace part (you can kind of see that in the picture). I have no clue why that was happening since it's fine on the hanger. It's a great dress to wear when you want to look nice but not have all your bits hanging out.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 31, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Had to go up to a size 8, usually wear a 6. Overall dress fit great!
mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
May 31, 2014

I wore this dress for my graduation and ABSOLUTELY LOVED it! I received many complements!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fits true to size. The material does not provide much stretch but the lace is stunning! The underlining is a purplish color which blended well with the navy color.
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

My date was the best man

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress but was surprised how thick the "lace" layer was. Also, the lining underneath had a purple tint to it which was fine since I was wearing nude shoes but is something to be aware of.
Aly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Very flattering dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a June wedding and was comfortable dancing all night long! It is a very flattering dress and it accentuated my curves perfectly. I loved that I was able to wear my normal bra and didn't have to fuss with straps or anything all night long. The lace is beautiful, but I will say that the purple color does not really show through at all. Would love to rent this dress again!
Nikki
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The quality of the dress was great - I wish I owned it! It is a timeless style and fit well. Definitely perfect for a cocktail party or a wedding.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

The dress fit perfectly. One less thing to worry about in my busy life.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly. It snags easily, so be careful!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×