Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

New Beginning Sheath

$40 rental
$498 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This navy lace Elie Tahari sheath is perfect for your next dinner party! Simply pair with Gerard Yosca’s Delicate Azure Drop Earring for a little extra sparkle and shine!

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy lace over purple lining (100% cotton). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (95% polyester, 5% elastane). 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
180 reviews
Fit
Large3
True to Size131
Small32
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 17, 2014
Classic, simple and elegant. Perfect to wear as a guest for a fall wedding.
The dress was somewhat stretchy so it can be very forgiving however, with the length of the sleeve- make sure you feel confident about your arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 16, 2014
Rented this for a wedding; ended up wearing a different dress.
Loved this dress from the front; however, the slit in the back was WAY higher than I anticipated. I ended up wearing a different dress in order to avoid a wardrobe malfunction.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2014
Nice dress, just not my style
Rented for a wedding. It fit well, but was down past my knees. I felt much older than I am and ended up not wearing it. Would have worn if hit higher on my legs or to a different type of event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 14, 2014
The dress was extremely comfortable and perfect for an outdoor wedding! Great for all the dancing :)
I got a ton of compliments on this dress and it was so comfortable! Be sure not to wear jewelry that will catch though, the sheath overlay could get caught.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 14, 2014
Very short in the back!
I really loved this dress, however, I thought it ran very small. Also, the slit in the back makes the dress VERY short. I was super self conscious about it and felt like I kept pulling it down to make sure I was fully covered.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 12, 2014
Pretty dress!
Runs a little small, and the slit in the back is a little high so I went a size up. The cap sleeves have a little bit too much material in them if you have small shoulders, but otherwise the dress is very nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
April 12, 2014
Pretty Dress
Pretty dress, but the material was heavier than I expected and I felt that I looked like an old lady in it. Just not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 2, 2014
Looks heavy, but actually comfortable!
I was worried when the dress came in that it would be super heavy and hot, but it wasn't. It looked fab on and I got a lot of compliments. The dress fit perfectly and I loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 30, 2014
I felt so great in this dress at a black tie wedding!
I am obsessed with this dress! It was so beautiful and accentuated in all the right places! It is very high quality fabric and is thick fabric with deep luscious color! I received so many compliments and I cannot wait to "Rent the Runway" again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2014
Beautiful fit for last minute dress
Rented this dress from the Bendel's store because my rental did not work out perfectly for my engagement party. Thank goodness I did because this dress was so perfect. I got a ton of compliments, everyone told me how classy the dress looked. It fit well, it hugged my curves but wasn't too tight or unflattering. Only drawback was that there's a relatively high slit in the back of the dress and being so tall it came pretty much up to my butt, so I was fidgeting a little but thank goodness I was mostly seated. Definitely would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 10, 2014
Simple and stylish
The first thing that I need to note about this dress -- it was impossible for me to zip it up on my own in either size. This is not a flaw with the dress, really, but be advised that it will be a good idea to have someone help you when you're getting dressed. The zipper pull itself is delicate, and the mechanism moves slowly, and there's just a point in the middle of your back where budging it either way was not possible for me for fear of damaging the dress. That said, this dress is so cute. I was a little disappointed that the purple lining wasn't more visible under the navy lace as seen on the RTR model, but this dress is still SO pretty. I paired it with the Montana Blue Drops earrings and Silver Glitz bangles and thought they all went perfectly together.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 23, 2014
Beautiful and classy, it was perfect for my office holiday party.
Very fun dress. My only con is that the outer lace is not adhered to the under slip in the front so the lace would ride up. I was constantly pulling it down. That is the reason for the 4/5 stars. The dress was very comfortable and sexy without being too revealing. I am 5'3" so the dress length stopped just above the knees. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 23, 2014
Elegant, comfortable, unique
I rented this for a winter birthday party at a bar and it was a great choice. The sleeves were the perfect length where they are not 100% cap sleeves that cut into your arms, but not all the way short sleeves that can make your arms look large. The length and the fit were perfect- able to wear with tights and heels or boots. Lace was wonderful, such a lovely dress!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Body type: Petite
February 20, 2014
Super comfortable dress. Would wear again.
Ran a little large. Usually wear petite sizes and dress fell right below knees.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
February 15, 2014
Valentine's dinner at one of our favorite restaurants that is moving.
I saw this dress in the window of the Elle Tahari store. I loved it. I am glad that I had both the 8 and the 10 sent. The 8 was too tight in the arms and chest. It was very comfortable to wear. I would recommend it for a date or wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
February 8, 2014
Dress fit perfectly. I need something that was sophisticated yet sexy and this did the job well.
Fit was true to size. I'm normally a four and this was a four. I wear a 34d bra size and it was snug but not uncomfortable on top. The length was prefect, it hit me in the right place. Loved the dress ! Beautiful color !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 5, 2014
This dress looked great on me and was perfect for my white coat ceremony!
The dress is very well made and fit well. It was a bit shorter than I would have like because it was a professional event but overall, it was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 27, 2014
Pretty, but not worn
This was my back up dress. It was pretty, but not a show stopper. The lining hung below the lace in the back. I'm not sure anyone would really notice it, but it's worth mentioning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 20, 2014
Beautiful, classy dress!
Wore this dress for my white coat ceremony for my doctorate. Received so many compliments from young to old. Length was great; however, slit in the back was a bit high, so be careful if you have longer legs. I felt like I was tugging it down throughout the day. Form fitting but still very classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 11, 2014
Classically beautiful dress
This is a really gorgeous dress- the color is beautiful, and the patterned lace is lovely. My one complaint is there is a slit in the back that went up much higher than I was expecting. Thus, while I would normally wear a size 0, I ended up wearing a 2 in this dress, as I felt much more comfortable in terms of the slit wearing the larger size. Admittedly, the fabric of this dress doesn't give very much at all, so the slit is important in terms of mobility, but be forewarned that it is significantly higher than it looks on the model. Also, I thought the dress was somewhat shorter than it looked on the model (ironic since, being so much shorter than these lovely models, I almost never have this complaint). For those picking a dress in which to interact with their boyfriend's family (as I was), be forewarned that you may want to go a size up from what you normally wear to counteract having too short a dress on while meeting the parents.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 9, 2014
Perfect mix of modern and traditional with lots of comfortable mixed in!
Best dress I have rented so far (have rented 4x). Perfect for a hospital fundraiser, you can dress it up or down - paired it with small hoop diamond earrings and simple diamond necklace, and sparkly gold shoes. Most comfortable formal dress I have ever worn besides my wedding dress. Fit perfectly, was in great shape, dark color hid back fat and slimmed hips. Enough give but not stretchy looking. Awesome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 7, 2014
The dress is beautiful. I wore it for my daughter's rehearsal dinner. I received so many compliments
The dress fits true to size and it fit perfectly from top to bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 1, 2014
zipper was broken
well, I thought this was a lace dress, but it is actually almost looks crocheted. It is very heavy looking, not elegant like lace. When I tried it on the zipper was stuck down and I was afraid to pull it up for fear of breaking it. Luckily this was my back up and had another dress that I rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 31, 2013
Beautiful and Elegant
I wore this dress for my son's baptism. It was perfect!!! I still have a bit of baby weight and this dress was fitted, but still flattering. I felt very lady like, but didn't feel like a total Mom. I got many compliments in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2013
Great Party Rental
This was a last minute replacement dress, and as a side note, the stylist was so helpful when it came to picking out a new dress after the one I ordered did not work out. I received lots of compliments on the dress, the only complaint I had was that the party I wore it to was very dark and you could not see the purple lining under the navy lace. This dress would be perfect for an outdoor event. I usually wear a 10 or 12, but the 10 wasn't available and I was surprised that the 12 was tight, so I was happy with the 12.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 18, 2013
I was complimented all evening on this dress and everyone wanted to know where it was from!
The 8 fit my body perfectly with the exception of my chest where it completely flattened me out, so I ended up wearing the 10. The dress was comfortable and I felt great in it all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 12, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding! Comfortable enough to dance in! Got so many complements!
I am typically a size 8 and requested an 8 and 10. I ended up wearing the 10 because of the bust. The fabric does not have any stretch so consider your largest measurement when ordering. I got so many complements that night! Would definitely recommend this dress that can be dressed up with accessories!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 10, 2013
Very pretty
This dress was very nice. Nothing super special about it and I wouldn't say I fell in love with it, but it is a lovely dress, beautiful silhouette, great color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2013
Wish I owned this dress!
this is one of my favorite rentals. Although it does run small... and beware of the really high back split in the dress. I probably couldve worn the smaller size except for the back. otherwise, totally comfortable and lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
November 26, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner. It was comfy and flattering. I went with the 6, but could have worn the 4, I just liked the roomier fit of the 6. The dress was a bit worn at the ends, I think the lace overlay is a little more delicate than most fabrics. It was also a thicker dress, which was great for the cold temps!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 23, 2013
Sophisticated and lovely.
I needed a dress that would would be fun for a night out but also appropriate for a semi-conservative crowd. This dress was perfect. The dress is sophisticated and a nice alternative to LBD. The lace is a heavy (nice for fall/winter) navy blue. The sheath underneath is also navy but with a bit more purple. It fit like a glove and hit me about 3 inches above the knee. I have broad shoulders so could have used a bit more room there but not a showstopper.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
November 16, 2013
Beautiful sheath with classic elegance!
From the moment I opened the garment bag I was excited to get this dress on. I am a full figured woman and was hesitant that this dress wouldn't fit my figure right. I am so glad I was wrong! It fit like a glove. It accented me in all the right places and made me shine. I didn't give it 5 stars because the floral lace seems a little bulky for a dress that looks so elegant. Otherwise a great dress that is comfortable the whole night through.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2013
Fantastic look - conservative with a touch of fun.
Great dress - it did arrive a bit worn (some of the lace was a torn and the zipper was difficult) but you didn't notice it unless you were really looking. Otherwise, fit well, had a fun purple under layer and was a very classy look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 12, 2013
Wasn't for me.
The dress was very heavy and the overlay felt sweater-like. The nice thing is that it's very forgiving as far as curves goes, but I didn't feel like it was very sexy. Just wasn't for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 10, 2013
This dressing looked amazing! I am a size 14, but I wore the size 12.
The dress had some stretch to it. I had so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2013
beautiful!
Dress is form fitting so I went with the 8 to have more room for dancing. It looked a little off to me in the rear area, hence my 4 stars, but that may have just been in my head as my boyfriend loved the dress. It should be noted that the lining is purple, not navy as you may think. I loved it regardless and think it photographed really well. I got a ton of compliments and would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2013
The dress is beautiful! It's fun and flirty while still being classy and sophisticated.
I was very pleased with the dress - it looked great on and I had 3 different women walk up to me and comment on how gorgeous it was! I ended up wearing the 6, which was a little snug for my preference, but the slit in the back on the 8 was ripped - almost another inch higher than what was already a fairly high slit. I would've preferred the 8 so that i could move more freely, but the 6 still looked good. Definitely recommend checking the slit once you receive the dress to make sure that it's in tact and you're able to wear the size most comfortable to you.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
October 3, 2013
love!
I loved this dress! My brother just got married at the end of September and I wore this dress to his wedding. I got so many compliments and it was so comfortable. I usually wear a 6-8 and got the 8, but I think the 6 would have fit great. The 8 was a little roomier so I chose that in order to dance. Also - people are NOT kidding that the slip in the back goes up really high especially if you're as tall as I am. I had planned to safety pin it a little because the wedding was at a church but decided against it and it ended up looking great. I was looking for fushia shoes to pair with it but I found a great peach orange color instead.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152lbs
September 30, 2013
I received lots of compliments in this dress. It is really beautiful and classic.
The navy lace is beautiful. The underlay is really more of a purple but the combination looked great. The dress runs small. I usually wear a size 10 in most dresses and pants but had to take the 12 in this. It is a little on the short side which also made me more comfortable with the larger size. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and received tons of compliments. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 22, 2013
This was a first RTR for me and the ease of it was very worth doing again!
I ordered size 6 and 8 in this dress. My normal dress size is a 6, but I took advice from previous reviews and ordered up. I chose to wear the size 8 because the length seemed to be better for me. I am 5'5 and was wearing heels. I was the mother of the bride; walking her down the isle very appropriate dress. I received many compliments from beautiful to very classy looking dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×