You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
New Beginning Sheath
Rental $85 Retail $498
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
This navy lace Elie Tahari sheath is perfect for your next dinner party! Simply pair with Lauren Merkin’s Lucy Glitter Clutch and Gerard Yosca’s Delicate Azure Drop Earring for a little extra sparkle and shine!

Also available in red.
Chat with a Stylist
Navy lace over purple lining (100% cotton). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (95% polyester, 5% elastane). 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos40

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Leslee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5423
Apr 14, 2014
Very short in the back!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved this dress, however, I thought it ran very small. Also, the slit in the back makes the dress VERY short. I was super self conscious about it and felt like I kept pulling it down to make sure I was fully covered.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
Apr 12, 2014
Pretty dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs a little small, and the slit in the back is a little high so I went a size up. The cap sleeves have a little bit too much material in them if you have small shoulders, but otherwise the dress is very nice.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8524
Apr 12, 2014
Pretty Dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pretty dress, but the material was heavier than I expected and I felt that I looked like an old lady in it. Just not for me.
Larissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5441
Mar 11, 2014
Beautiful fit for last minute dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress from the Bendel's store because my rental did not work out perfectly for my engagement party. Thank goodness I did because this dress was so perfect. I got a ton of compliments, everyone told me how classy the dress looked. It fit well, it hugged my curves but wasn't too tight or unflattering. Only drawback was that there's a relatively high slit in the back of the dress and being so tall it came pretty much up to my butt, so I was fidgeting a little but thank goodness I was mostly seated. Definitely would rent again.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Feb 23, 2014
Beautiful and classy, it was perfect for my office holiday party.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very fun dress. My only con is that the outer lace is not adhered to the under slip in the front so the lace would ride up. I was constantly pulling it down. That is the reason for the 4/5 stars. The dress was very comfortable and sexy without being too revealing. I am 5'3" so the dress length stopped just above the knees. I would definitely recommend this dress.
CK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6423
Feb 23, 2014
Elegant, comfortable, unique
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a winter birthday party at a bar and it was a great choice. The sleeves were the perfect length where they are not 100% cap sleeves that cut into your arms, but not all the way short sleeves that can make your arms look large. The length and the fit were perfect- able to wear with tights and heels or boots. Lace was wonderful, such a lovely dress!
Marty
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 6621
Feb 20, 2014
Super comfortable dress. Would wear again.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ran a little large. Usually wear petite sizes and dress fell right below knees.
Victoria
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6643
Feb 15, 2014
Valentine's dinner at one of our favorite restaurants that is moving.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I saw this dress in the window of the Elle Tahari store. I loved it. I am glad that I had both the 8 and the 10 sent. The 8 was too tight in the arms and chest. It was very comfortable to wear. I would recommend it for a date or wedding.
Jaime
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4634
Feb 8, 2014
Dress fit perfectly. I need something that was sophisticated yet sexy and this did the job well.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit was true to size. I'm normally a four and this was a four. I wear a 34d bra size and it was snug but not uncomfortable on top. The length was prefect, it hit me in the right place. Loved the dress ! Beautiful color !
Krysten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Feb 5, 2014
This dress looked great on me and was perfect for my white coat ceremony!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very well made and fit well. It was a bit shorter than I would have like because it was a professional event but overall, it was great!
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Jan 27, 2014
Pretty, but not worn
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my back up dress. It was pretty, but not a show stopper. The lining hung below the lace in the back. I'm not sure anyone would really notice it, but it's worth mentioning.
Sofia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Jan 20, 2014
Beautiful, classy dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress for my white coat ceremony for my doctorate. Received so many compliments from young to old. Length was great; however, slit in the back was a bit high, so be careful if you have longer legs. I felt like I was tugging it down throughout the day. Form fitting but still very classy.
Skiergirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7631
Jan 9, 2014
Perfect mix of modern and traditional with lots of comfortable mixed in!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Best dress I have rented so far (have rented 4x). Perfect for a hospital fundraiser, you can dress it up or down - paired it with small hoop diamond earrings and simple diamond necklace, and sparkly gold shoes. Most comfortable formal dress I have ever worn besides my wedding dress. Fit perfectly, was in great shape, dark color hid back fat and slimmed hips. Enough give but not stretchy looking. Awesome.
Margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5623
Jan 7, 2014
The dress is beautiful. I wore it for my daughter's rehearsal dinner. I received so many compliments
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fits true to size and it fit perfectly from top to bottom.
Alycia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jan 1, 2014
zipper was broken
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
well, I thought this was a lace dress, but it is actually almost looks crocheted. It is very heavy looking, not elegant like lace. When I tried it on the zipper was stuck down and I was afraid to pull it up for fear of breaking it. Luckily this was my back up and had another dress that I rented.
Kayjo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7623
Dec 18, 2013
Great Party Rental
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a last minute replacement dress, and as a side note, the stylist was so helpful when it came to picking out a new dress after the one I ordered did not work out. I received lots of compliments on the dress, the only complaint I had was that the party I wore it to was very dark and you could not see the purple lining under the navy lace. This dress would be perfect for an outdoor event. I usually wear a 10 or 12, but the 10 wasn't available and I was surprised that the 12 was tight, so I was happy with the 12.
Judie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6434
Dec 18, 2013
I was complimented all evening on this dress and everyone wanted to know where it was from!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The 8 fit my body perfectly with the exception of my chest where it completely flattened me out, so I ended up wearing the 10. The dress was comfortable and I felt great in it all night!
Elisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Dec 10, 2013
Very pretty
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was very nice. Nothing super special about it and I wouldn't say I fell in love with it, but it is a lovely dress, beautiful silhouette, great color.
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 26, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner. It was comfy and flattering. I went with the 6, but could have worn the 4, I just liked the roomier fit of the 6. The dress was a bit worn at the ends, I think the lace overlay is a little more delicate than most fabrics. It was also a thicker dress, which was great for the cold temps!
Julie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6642
Nov 23, 2013
Sophisticated and lovely.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed a dress that would would be fun for a night out but also appropriate for a semi-conservative crowd. This dress was perfect. The dress is sophisticated and a nice alternative to LBD. The lace is a heavy (nice for fall/winter) navy blue. The sheath underneath is also navy but with a bit more purple. It fit like a glove and hit me about 3 inches above the knee. I have broad shoulders so could have used a bit more room there but not a showstopper.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7533
Nov 12, 2013
Fantastic look - conservative with a touch of fun.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress - it did arrive a bit worn (some of the lace was a torn and the zipper was difficult) but you didn't notice it unless you were really looking. Otherwise, fit well, had a fun purple under layer and was a very classy look.
JD
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 12, 2013
Wasn't for me.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very heavy and the overlay felt sweater-like. The nice thing is that it's very forgiving as far as curves goes, but I didn't feel like it was very sexy. Just wasn't for me.
Jen
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 9533
Nov 10, 2013
This dressing looked amazing! I am a size 14, but I wore the size 12.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress had some stretch to it. I had so many compliments.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Oct 17, 2013
The dress is beautiful! It's fun and flirty while still being classy and sophisticated.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was very pleased with the dress - it looked great on and I had 3 different women walk up to me and comment on how gorgeous it was! I ended up wearing the 6, which was a little snug for my preference, but the slit in the back on the 8 was ripped - almost another inch higher than what was already a fairly high slit. I would've preferred the 8 so that i could move more freely, but the 6 still looked good. Definitely recommend checking the slit once you receive the dress to make sure that it's in tact and you're able to wear the size most comfortable to you.
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Sep 18, 2013
Dress fit great and received lots of compliments!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
n/A
JordanAshleigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Sep 16, 2013
Great dress for a more conservative event.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my engagement party. It's a very pretty dress, great quality, but too conservative for my taste. I would have liked it to have been a bit more form fitting, but a smaller size would not have worked. It's just the cut of the dress. Definitely recommend this for a more conservative affair, like a baptism or meeting the parents etc.
Arielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Sep 13, 2013
Great for weddings!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friend's summer wedding. The bridesmaids had a similar navy/lace dress so I looked like I was part of the wedding party, but I got so many compliments on the cut of the dress, how thin it made me look and how great it fit! I'd wear this dress again in a heartbeat!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Sep 13, 2013
Dress looked good on. Wasn't what I expected.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Tried this on for my "At Home Try On". Dress was pretty short (but not inappropriate). And knit material (thought it looked more like lace) which made it heavy. I would probably be hot in this dress in the summer, even though it's short. Was flattering on though. Probably won't be renting it...
Kate
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7524
Sep 9, 2013
Elegant and sexy at the same time
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and it was great. I absolutely loved this dress. I rented it for a wedding Labor Day weekend. It fit perfectly, and the dress was super comfortable. I danced all night in it. The lace was elegant but not too heavy, and the slip underneath was a beautiful purple shimmer - enough to add interest but not be weird or distracting. I'm curvy, and the dress hugged the right places but wasn't too tight. I'm 5'2", so the length was perfect - just above the knee.
Faye
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 95 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3324
Aug 25, 2013
The Beginning to my Fairy Tale
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My fiancé family came to ask for my hang in marriage. This dress was perfect! and so classy! Fit perfectly! I recieved so many complements.. very classy and elegant dress. I got so many compliments! you can't go wrong!
Kari
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5531
Jul 29, 2013
Beautiful dress! I received so many compliments!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Jul 23, 2013
I LOVED this dress! I didn't want to return it. Very classy and fit beautifully.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'11" and I felt like it was a great length. I was a little worried the slit would be too high (based on other reviews), but it wasn't at all. Very comfortable, classy, and even sexy. I would definitely rent it again.
luckylady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Jun 19, 2013
Comfortable and flattering
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
conservative dress except for the tight form fit.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Jun 10, 2013
Curve Hugging Insanity (in the best way possible)
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a work holiday party and couldn't have been happier when it arrived. The online pictures don't do this dress justice. The lace is a purple color and the underlay is this gorgeous blue - sounds kinda funky - but when you see it you will fall in love. Especially if you appreciate quality fabrics. I'm normally a 4 on top and a 6 on the bottom but I was a 6 in this dress. Since I'm pear shape I'm normally cautious when a sheath catches my eye, they can be ill-fitting. This dress fit BEAUTIFUL, like INSANE. The thick lace overlay was SO forgiving. I loved the length - perfect for a slightly more conservative event yet the curve hugging fit of the dress added a little oomph. Perfect experience, thanks RTR. I would absolutely rent again.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4421
Jun 5, 2013
Worn looking dress, very heavy, too long
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a pretty dress but unfortunately I got a size 6 because they were out of a 4. As someone who is often between a 4 and 6 the six was far too large. More significantly, the lace was very heavy and it ran long. Coupled with the higher neck the look was matronly.
marcie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6634
Jun 2, 2013
great dress for a wedding day or night!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs true to size , definitely does not run large. Great classic silhouette in navy instead of the usual black. As other reviews stated, the slit in back does run high. some spanx adjustments were necessary.
ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7434
May 30, 2013
Beautiful dress!!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely perfect for my brother's wedding! The fit was amazing and I received so many compliments, I didn't want to send it back, would definitely rent it again!
liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6443
May 29, 2013
Great dress for a wedding!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was true to size - but watch out for the high slit in the back.
Esther
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
May 28, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really beautiful and fit quite well. The blue underlay has purple tones so the color is more interesting than a standard navy blue. The material has a bit of stretch, so it fit well even around the waist. I got lots of compliments on the dress, as I have with every RTR dress I have worn. I highly recommend it!
Valarie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3633
May 23, 2013
Loved this dress- even people not associated with the event commented on the dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect mother of the bride dress, did run a little small.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress