Rent the Runway

Elie Tahari

New Beginning Sheath

$40 rental
$498 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This navy lace Elie Tahari sheath is perfect for your next dinner party! Simply pair with Gerard Yosca’s Delicate Azure Drop Earring for a little extra sparkle and shine!

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy lace over purple lining (100% cotton). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (95% polyester, 5% elastane). 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

164 reviews

Fit
Small 29
True to Size 122
Large 3
Photos 67
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Flattering sheath - pretty purple underlay!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This sheath is super flattering. I don't normally go for anything remotely fitted, but the navy lace with an unexpected pop of purple underneath is so pretty! The fabric has a little bit of stretch, which makes it very comfortable to wear as well.
Lisa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 10, 2012

Lovely dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a company Christmas party - the only complaint I had about it was that I was too short! It would have been perfect for me if I was 3 inches taller. But that will be true of any dress in your collection since they are all geared toward tall models. The dress on the model is about 3 inches ABOVE her knee - it fell below the knee on me so I felt it was a little "matronly" on me. But as I said, it is a lovely dress, well-fitted, comfortable to wear and have fun in. I thought it looked better with big jewelry for a party and more delicate jewelry for a formal occasion such as a wedding. Very well made.
Annie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 11, 2012

Perfect for a work dinner/awards ceremony!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress as soon as I took it out of its various packing materials :) The lace overlay is a nice substantial weight, so I wasn't worried about it snagging. The underlay is a nice purply color, but it doesn't contrast very much with the navy blue crochet material - just a subtle detail. The fit is awesome - I felt super comfortable and was able to both eat a formal dinner as well as bust a move. Win-win. I got lots of compliments on the fit; it hangs really well, tucks in in the right places, etc. and doesn't ride up at all. Overall, I really liked it and was told by more than one person that I should just go ahead and buy it!
jody
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

The dress was a hit!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I picked this dress for our company holiday party, and it was far better than I could've imagined! The dress fit perfectly to my curves, which i was nervous about. The lace is gorgeous! Originally I hoped to order a similar black lace dress, thinking it would be easier to match shoes, but I wore sparkly silver pumps, and found a silver matching bag. As you can see, it is a more of a midnight blue while the lining has a hint of indigo/purple. People came up to me all night to pay me compliments!!!! It was elegant but still had a little sex appeal with the lace and the nice fitting. I would highly recommend this dress. One small word of caution, be careful reaching your arms as the lace is snug over the shoulders ( as it should be). This was my first time using Rent The Runway. I rented another as back up, but didn't need it. I was really very pleased overall with the experience, the packaging, the convenience...everything about it. It was a pleasure to wear something designer luxurious and high quality without the pricetag!
dhumm320
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 14, 2013

Right fit, right style, perfect choice!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for my company holiday party. It was super classy and fit true to size. It also worked for my slightly large bust size. It hit right above the knee on my 5'5" frame and didn't bunch despite the fact that I have barely any hips. I was so happy with this choice!
Ms. V
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Classy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great! I wore it to my grandmother's 80th birthday party, and everyone loved it. It's a bit longer than I liked, but it was still gorgeous to wear. The size 6 fit me perfectly. Can't wait to rent from RTR again!
Shelby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 12, 2013

Great dress. Got lots of compliments!! Only minor issue was a small tear by the end of zipper.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to a fundraiser and got to meet the Vice President of the United States! Loved the color, I got lots of compliments and gave a shout out to RTR everytime. My friend's husband apparently went to college with the founder of RTR! Only in Wyoming!!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 15, 2013

Valentine's dinner dress - very nice!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress fit amazing and was totally comfortable. It was conservative enough for work and dressy enough for a dinner date.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Very sweet and classy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this to one of my bridal showers and got a lot of compliments! When I first tried on this dress I was a little nervous about the fit; the slit in the back was REALLY high and it seemed snug in the chest/shoulder area. But the dress had a beautiful silhouette and I was determined to make it work. When I got ready the next morning, I paired it with sheer black spanx (kinda glad the weather turned out to be colder than I thought!) which made me more comfortable about the high slit in the back. I also went braless and gained more room up top. Wore with black wedge pumps and sparkley blue drop earrings. I was very pleased with the final look! :)
Arlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 19, 2013

Shipping was prompt and the condition of the dress was impeccable.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely fit true to size. I received a lot of compliments on the dress and I couldn't help but have a mischievous smile knowing that I had rented it.
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

Great dress for a wedding! Highly recommend.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress! The blue is really pretty - got tons of compliments throughout the night. I opted for the larger size (10) because of the length. Both sizes fit fine but the 8 was a few inches above the knee and didn't feel appropriate for a wedding. The 10 came to the knees and was perfect.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 29, 2013

Classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to my brother in law's rehearsal dinner in January. Very beautiful color combination with the light purple sheath underneath (which doesn't get captured very well by camera). Was a tad on the short side for me as I am 5'9, and the slit in the back came up high, but I felt that the high neck and sleeves compensated for that. Very comfortable and hid any waist lines from stockings well.
Julie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 7, 2013

Very nice dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding, it was my first time using Rent the Runway. I really liked this dress - as other reviewers mentioned it's very comfortable and has some stretch so it was great for dancing and moving around in. The dress looked very fitted and I was worried the size 6 might run small so I rented a size up for my backup and I actually wish I would have gotten a 4. The 6 fit fine but I was hoping the dress would be a bit more fitted. Even so, I really enjoyed the dress and it was absolutely perfect for a wedding.
DanielleJoyce
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 3, 2013

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved thsi dress. It was true to size and very comfortable. The navy blue and shiny purple under layer was so beautiful. Very elegant and classy.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 20, 2013

Perfect for Graduation

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my law school graduation and it was a great dress overall. The layer underneath the dress is purple, not blue, but for some reason this doesn't show up in photos. Also, the lace is thick, more like crochet. If you have a longer torso, the slit in the back of the dress is EXTREMELY high and you may have to pin it in order to keep from giving others a show.
Maya
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 30, 2013

Great Dress for Graduation!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I received so many compliments on this dress! I ended up wearing the 8 instead of the 6 because the slit in the back was so high and being tall it was not a good look. If you are taller I would recommend sizing up for length. The dress still fit great in the size up. I wore this to a graduation dinner and it was perfect for the occasion, really flattering cut.
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151 lbs
Jun 1, 2013

Pretty, flattering and elegant cocktail dress for formal military dinner

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this dress for my husband's formal "dining out" dinner. It's a gorgeous dark navy colour, with pretty cap sleeves. It's a true navy, so it looked very dark inside, but out in the sun the color really shone. It's well fitted, but because of the lace overlay, I didn't feel like it was clingy or showing lumps and bumps! I'm 5'7" and it was just long enough for a formal affair - if you're taller, you might find it too short. It's plain but pretty and elegant. I paired it with some shiny RTR earrings and I think the dress needs something like that to make it that little more special. In terms of fit, I normally wear a 10 or an 8, and I wore the 10 with this dress. It's snug but not tight. I'm not sure I'd want to wear it if I was planning to do lots of dancing. It's a great dress for a formal affair though.
Leigh
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

perfect dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit well, hit right above my knee. i matched the bridesmaids (who were also wearing navy), but i got tons of compliments on it all night long. i was worried it would look to mature for me (i'm only 18) but even with pearls i put on high nude pumps and it was great!
RCH19
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

Beautiful!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This is a really beautiful dress. It runs small, ladies. (I'm usually a 4/6, and I wore an 8.) The purple lining and navy lacy detailing is exquisite. I got compliments all night. I wore a regular bra without issues. It's a really terrific dress. I would rent it again.
Stacy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 6, 2014

The contrast of navy over purple was beautiful. Many compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience, and I am definitely a fan! The dress was lovely while the process was easy. I will be using RTR again, for sure.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Aug 3, 2014

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friend's wedding. I received so many compliments! Everyone from the bride to her mother to both guys and girls in their 20s loved the dress. In my opinion you know it's a classy dress when people from all age ranges love it. This dress is so beautiful and fit amazingly perfect. I definitely did some RTR promotion thanks to this dress. I paired it with nude pumps, my mom's pearl necklace and a champagne colored clutch. I wish I could buy this dress!
Meredith
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Aug 18, 2014

Super comfy !

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Form fitting, but not too tight. The lace was subtle and feminine but added a nice hint of detail. The length was just right, especially since I am on the taller side., maybe a little long for shorter women.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Aug 18, 2014

It was pretty but well worn.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty but you can tell it has been worn a lot. The lace is fraying.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 19, 2014

I did not wear this dress because it was too small at the bust. It is a beautiful dress!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress ran too small at the bust. The detail on this dress is remarkable and pictures don't do it justice. It looks very classy. I would order one size larger.
Sarah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Aug 25, 2014

LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It does run a little small and even though I am petite I had to wear the 2 because the slit in 0 would have caused a scandal at the wedding. The color is gorgeous, the length is perfect and I got a TON of compliments. Perfect for an evening wedding at a country club!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Great dress and really comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. I rented it to be a bridesmaid in my friends wedding. I generally wear a 4 but I didn't take the 4 off the hanger. I tried the 6 first and it was so comfy and flattering I didn't even try on the 4. I wasn't going for sexy, I was going for classy and sophisticated. I wore the dress for 10 hours, got tons of compliments and was so comfortable. The dress has great stretch. I will say the fabric is heavier than I thought it would be so it would be great in fall or winter. I wore it in summer and it was 90 and humid. It wasn't hot but it felt heavy. I love this dress. Great rental.
Leslie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

A perfect fit!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was hesitant to rent this dress only because I'm quite hippy and sheath dresses can be a hit or miss as far as sizing goes. However, it was so pretty that I had to at least try, and I'm so glad I did. I know a lot of reviews say it ran small and they needed to size up, but the size 12 fit me perfectly! It was a very comfortable dress, and was great for dancing all night at a wedding. I will say that the crochet overlay looked a little worn (not in bad shape, you could just tell it wasn't brand new), but I think that was only apparent if you were examining it up close. Customer service was also very helpful in changing my rental date after I had already put in the order. Would definitely use Rent the Runway again!
Megan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Not only is this dress elegant, but it is comfortable, too! I received many compliments on this dress. I marked that the fit was true to size because I was able to wear the size 6 which is what I normally wear. I have a large bust (34 DD) and it was a little snug, but not too tight. Most other dresses I have to go up one or two sizes because of my bust and I didn't have to with this dress. The hip area was a little big for me. I would have liked to try the size 4 because I think that would have fit my hips better. Unfortunately, I ordered the 6 and 8 because of my bust. So if you are straight and narrow (small hips and bust), I would recommend ordering a size down.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 25, 2014

Opening night of a New Musical

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress. I read reviews that it tended to run small, especially in the bust. I didn't try the 6 but I was happy with the size up. The color was stunning, the dark blue and black was lovely. Will be trying more dresses from this designer.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 26, 2014

Dancing the night away with old friends!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The slit on the back of this dress was dangerously high. Might be due to my height (5'8") but it was a challenge to keep from flashing people throughout the wedding.
Janelle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 8, 2014

Perfect fit!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had compliments on this dress the whole night!
mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Classy dress for Opera

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I didn't have a chance to take a photo, but the dress was perfect for the Opera. It was sexy, but conservative enough for the Opera crowd. Comfortable and good fit. Very, very nice.
Katherine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 28, 2014

I loved the lace. It was a very beautiful dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
it fits really nicely.
AR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Jan 10, 2015

Classy dress for a holiday party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought the dress was more of a deep navy color but it's actually more of a brighter navy. It's a fitted (though not stretchy), heavy material, and the lace is very pretty. The length was above the knee on me.
Molly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 5, 2015

The dress was beautiful and wasn't too long on me. I normally wear petite sizes.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It looked beautiful I received lots of compliments. Loved the experience .
diane
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 6, 2015

This dress is beautiful, with great style and a beautiful color--and it was comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was true to size and a perfect fit. I got many compliments on the style and color (beautiful navy) of this dress. It was nicely tailored, had a comfortable material and was easy to wear---I liked it so much, I may rent it again next month when I go to a bar mitzvah!
Kendra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

LOVED this dress

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to an outdoor wedding. It's nice, fun, and flirty but also classy and subtle which is great for meeting your boyfriend's entire extended family. (His brothers wedding.) I wish I owned this. Also, it's worth noting that it doesn't show (embarrassing) spills.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Comfortable and flattering dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great and was very comfortable. I wore this to a daytime wedding and got tons of compliments. Love the navy color and the slightly purple underlayer. I am 5'3" and the dress hit me at the perfect height, not too short.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 21, 2015

Good friends!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Color was just as pictured and it fit nicely but a bit on the small side. Pretty lace detail and surprisingly good length on my short frame. One con: the back slit was higher than I realized. Looking at pictures later on it was quite high! I'm hoping all eyes were on the bride instead. Otherwise, beautiful dress!
Molly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 3, 2015

I wore this dress for a bridal shower, and it perfectly suited the event!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got many compliments on this dress, and found it very comfortable to wear! The length is appropriate - I didn't feel like I was constantly pulling it down, which is a pet peeve of mine! The underlay is a purpley-blue, which you can't see in pictures, but is really beautiful! The only con is that the zipper on my particular dress was really stubborn - but I assume that's a unique case due to wear and tear.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×