Elie Tahari

Loolu Lace Sheath

$35 rental
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Simplicity meets chic! Rent this Elie Tahari black lace sheath for a casual date night or bridal shower. A flirty style that no one will forget. Add a hint of sparkle with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace(100% cotton). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Scalloped hem. Lined. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
111 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress was amazing!
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and it made me feel like a million dollars. This dress fit me perfectly. It hugged all my curves but still kept me looking classy and beautiful. I was recieving complimentes all day from everyone!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
This was a fabulous, classic dress.
The size six fit me perfectly. It fell just below my knees. It was very comfortable and elegant. A great dress for a wedding or an evening out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2012
Best. Dress. Ever.
Absolutely the most gorgeous, flattering, sophisticated dress I have ever had the pleasure of putting on my body. I got this dress as a back up and when I put it on, there was no way the other (also stunning) dress had a chance. The dress is beautifully detailed in a heavier than expected lace pattern with a thin lining inside so your skin peeks through in all the right places. It fell right below my knee and I am 5'8". I would suggest to getting the extra size smaller rather than larger since I wore a 10 and could have easily gone with the 8. Bottom line, if you need a sure thing, rent this dress. It's an A+ all the way.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
September 27, 2012
Beautiful Mad Men style dress for black tie wedding.
I wore this to a black tie wedding in DC that was featured in Martha Stewart Weddings. Wore with magenta J.Crew dress shoes and a teal satin BCBG envelope clutch. Truly fantastic dress and incredibly slimming. Loved the tea length (below knee) even though I am fairly tall. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 3, 2012
this is the perfect dress.
i got about two million compliments on this dress. the lace is gorgeous and not so delicate that i was worrying about getting caught on people all night. i liked that it was heavy enough that i didn't need to pull it down whenever i stood up. it fit well up top and in the waist although i'd prefer something with a little stretch to hug the booty more. as a tall girl i'm always worried about hemlines and this dress landed in the perfect spot. definitely will rent this one again, it looked awesome and i felt awesome in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 4, 2012
I felt like I was channeling Michelle Obama a little in this dress!
This dress is amazing. When I first tried it on, I was nervous it looked too long on me. I showed a few friends who insisted the below knee length was very chic, and once I put on a pair of nude Louboutins and the Kate Spade clutch I couldn't agree more. It runs a bit big, so the 0 worked well on me but could've use a smaller size if they made one. I received tons of compliments all night and enjoyed wearing something more sophisticated.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 12, 2012
Longer than pictured, fabric is thick.
The fabric is really lovely, but thicker than I thought. It's less like lace and more like heavy embroidery. I'm as tall as the model pictured, and this dress hit below my knees. I ended up returning it because the length just didn't look right and was much longer than I expected. I felt it ran large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 13, 2012
Gorgeous lace
I wore this to a fall wedding and loved the lace- it has some stretch in it so its a pretty easy fit. I recommend it for someone going for a sophisticated look.
AlisonOctober 26, 2012
I think this is my favorite RTR rental for you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2012
A Lovely Dress!
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding and the weather turned very cold so I wore my back up dress (long sleeved) instead. This dress fit like a glove. It is very well made and comfortable. I wll rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 154lbs
October 25, 2012
It was a very classy dress that I received several compliments on.
I thought the dress ran on the large size. I am a tall girl and it hit around mid-knee. I wish it would have been a few inches shorter. The size of the dress also runs large.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2012
Lacy Luxe party dress
I ordered this dress for my back-up for a wedding, so I didn't end up wearing it as it didn't look quite as good on me as the Badgley Mischka I chose in a sequin pink. This dress was much longer on me than what is shown on the model. It hit me below the knee. It is a much heavier lace than I anticipated, but that would not have kept me from wearing it. It didn't fit me in the bodice as well as it appears on the model also. It was a little bit lower exposing my strapless bra. It is very pretty and well constructed.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 31, 2012
I received so many compliments the entire night. It really made me feel like I was beautiful
Dress fits perfectly, I was afraid it was going to be too long but it was the perfect length for a classy and sophisticated look. I rented this dress as a back up but once I put it on I knew it was the first choice. The lace is stunning in that it is very think and soft. Dress is very flattering and I paired it with gold sparkly heels for a little flare. I will absolutely be renting this dress again!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 8, 2012
Tight in all the wrong places made for an uncomfortable company party!
The dress was beautiful, but a little too tight in the bust, the mid-section and the arms. I usually wear a 12 and even my back up size 14 was a little tight! I still wore it and got lots of compliments on it, but be warned, this fabric has no give and isn't good for girls with big girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
November 14, 2012
Stunning dress!
Loved the lace on the dress. The length was just past my knees (I'm 5'7"). Like other reviewers have said, the dress is a bit large so size down. I found the dress to be super comfortable and gorgeous!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 14, 2012
Pretty dress, just too long!
This dress was pretty, if a bit boring. It overwhelmed my 5'2" frame and looked a bit too funereal.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 20, 2012
I had a woman track me down to tell me what a beautiful dress it was.
Lovely and elegant dress- a little worn, but not noticeable to anyone else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2012
This dress was amazing! Soo many compliments, so comfortable
Saturday night Wedding reception
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
Great dress! Beautiful material and very elegant!
The dress is somewhat fitted around the waist, but is true to size. The material is somewhat thicker than it appears in the photograph and hit below the knee on me (I'm 5' 3). Overall beautiful dress and very elegant. Received numerous compliments and would consider renting it for another event again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 29, 2012
I wore this dress to an afternoon opera. It was beautiful my date loved it also! Perfect!!
Im 5'7" 115lbs I rented a size 4 and 6 but truthfully could've used a 2 but the 4 worked fine. The dress is gorgeous, its made out of a heavy material even though it looks like lace. I was so glad because I'm always cold and it was a chilly Oct. day so the dress was not only beautiful but warm. This was the first time I'd ever rented a dress and I'll say my experience was great. I have already scheduled another rental for a Christmas party. I would recommend Rent the Runway to everyone, beautiful dresses, great prices and the whole process is pretty simple. Thanks for a wonderful experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
December 6, 2012
Beautiful, classy dress
The dress does run large. I'm very glad I went with the 2 and 0, instead of the 4 and 2. I would definitely suggest going down a size as your second pick. It is long, the lace overlay went to my shins. However, the black "slip" only went to my knees, which still looked fine. I had to be careful when I pulled the dress down after sitting to not expose my strapless bra. A lot of skin up top was showing, but, luckily, the lace covers plenty. Depending on your bust size, and if you're comfortable with it, you could probably go with out wearing a bra. Even though the lace covers plenty of skin, I personally don't like to see bra straps. While sitting, it did bunch up and stick out at my upper back, but with my hair down it wasn't noticeable. I think that's normal for most dresses, unless it's tailored to your body. Also, as the night went on, the slit in the back bunched up where the black "slip" and lace attach. But, people told me it wasn't noticeable. I always notice the little things that ONLY bother me! Haha :) Overall, it is beautiful and well made. Paired up with leather round toe platform pumps and a black satin clutch, I felt very elegant, and you will too!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
October 16, 2012
classic dress
the dress is very flattering (and comfortable) - received many, many compliments
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
A beautiful dress for a beautiful wedding
The dress is beautiful and fits true to size - people were telling me how gorgeous it was all night! The only negative was that the lace looked like it was starting to fray on the hem and on the sleeves - just goes to show how many people love this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 11, 2013
Classic and gorgeous!
I had been looking for a reason to rent this dress for almost a year - finally, I decided it was perfect for my rehearsal dinner the night before my wedding. WOW, I was so sad to send this back - what a stunning dress! The length is about knee-length, and the cut is just so flattering. The details, especially on the neckline and sleeves are just beautiful. I have a soft spot for anything and everything lace, and this is the best lace number I've ever worn! This is an LBD you'll wish you own. Runs very true to size.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 3, 2013
I just didn't love the dress, it looks much better on the model.
This was my first experience with RTR. I read the reviews and thought that the dress ran 1-2 sizes larger. I normally wear size 6 and the dress had a "boxy" fit for the lace portion. I looked huge in the dress. It doesn't fit snug in the waist like the models picture. The only size available was a 6 and I did not have a back up size so I was not able to wear it. Unfortunately, you don't get credit for accessories ($50.00 worth in my case). Not RTR fault, I just didn't read that section clearly so I got stuck with a credit for just the dress and not the accessories that I didn't even wear. Hopefully my next experience will be better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2013
Loved it
It was so cute. I wore it with a jeweled belt to accentuate my waist. Great fit! I received a ton of compliments!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
February 16, 2013
Perfect Dress!!!
Pros: The dress was my back up and the moment I put it on I knew it was the one. The event was a semi-formal/formal event and I felt classy and sophisticated. I am 5'11 and the length was perfect for me. If you are in between sizes I would recommend you wear the smaller size. Mine was a little loose in the back but after dinner I appreciated that fact. lol. It came with a nice built in slip, so a regular bra can be worn. Very nice plus for me, I am not a fan of strapless bras. Con: Only one con is the dress came with some of the embroidering undone, thank goodness it was black so it was not very noticeable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2013
Great dress to wear to a semi formal event.
hugs your curves, elegant, sexy...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2011
Classic Little Black Dress
I wore this to a work cocktail party; it is stunning. Think Mad Men. It fell below my knees (I am 5'5") and I would recommend a high heel 3 to 5 inches to go with this. The neckline goes to high for a short necklace, but a bracelet would be perfect. I was worried it might not fit given I was 17 weeks pregnant at the time, but the lower abdomen was actually unfitted.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
November 17, 2011
I am in love!
I absolutely love this dress. It is a timeless look. I got tons of compliments! I am 5'8" and I have a big booty and small chest. The dress was slightly large in the stomach area but it fit great everywhere else. Love love love! Rent it!
CatherineDecember 20, 2011
i have the same body shape (small chest/big booty). did you end up wearing your normal size?
CatherineDecember 22, 2011
Oops...just saw you did rent your normal size! Nevermind :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 23, 2011
The fit in the main picture is
NOT the fit of the dress. The model here is wearing a different size than the designer meant to be true. It is a very boxy fit, if you don't order a size (or two down). It is NOT cinched in the middle. I strongly recommend ordering a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 12, 2011
Christmas Party Success!
This dress was AMAZING!!! The first time I saw it I knew I wanted to wear it, but I finally got the first chance to wear it. The top with its see through lace was just the right touch to look gorgeous without baring it. I attended a rather Conservative party that required, as a new part of the family, that I look great but still not stand out too much. It was the perfect choice, and now having worn it once, I wish I owned it! It would just be a perfect choice with so many options.
taraMarch 24, 2012
Can I ask what size you ordered? We are about the same size and I would like to rent the dress. Thank you for your review - very helpful!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2011
Sooo beautifuL!
I loved the fit of this dress! it fit like a glove but it still was not too tight. I received soooo many compliments! loved it!
DebJanuary 8, 2012
How did it fit thru your chest? I'm a 32B & 5'1", how was the length?
ChristinaJune 27, 2012
Where did the hemline fall? I'm 5'4" as well and wondering if this dress will be too long.
RTRJune 27, 2012
Hi ladies, this dress is 38'' from shoulder to hem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 21, 2012
pretty black lace dress
This dress was very comfortable and elegant. It was worn to a Phantom Gala and I felt very comfortable all night - even dancing. I don't know why I didn't listen to the other reviews, though, some of which said that the dress runs large. I usually wear size 4, sometimes 2, sometimes larger depending on designer. I ordered this in a 4 and 6 and the 4 was a little loose around the middle, the 2 probably would have been perfect.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
March 16, 2012
A women in the middle of mass stopped me to tell me how gorgeous my dress was!
I rented this dress for my brother's confirmation and it was absolutely perfect. It was sophisticated but yet so sexy. There was a slit up the back that add that little wink to the dress. I would absolutely rent this dress for another occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 27, 2012
Gorgeous!!!!
I rented this dress for my twin daughters' communion party. It was gorgeous, but I wish I had added the size 0 to my order. It fit well but the crochet stretches, so I wish it was a little but tighter. But still I got comliments all night
ReneeSeptember 17, 2012
Thank you!!! I am 5'7 and 120, and was concerned about sizing. Your comments helped!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 9, 2012
totally awesome
wore this for my cousin's super swanky wedding (harvard club NYC) with nude heels... perfect. i got a ton of compliments and someone came and asked me where i got the dress (naturally i referred them here!). it was really comfortable. the cotton lace does have a fair amount of stretch, and i think i might have been able to wear a 4. because it was a bit big, the lace bunched a bit around the waist, but you could hardly tell, since it was all black. surprisingly, it was fairly cool, too... we had to run a couple blocks and half an avenue to get to the venue because the cab got stuck in traffic, and i wasn't burning up afterwards, which was a concern before we started running!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
July 11, 2012
Beautiful and classic!
The fabric on this dress is whatbmakes it so special. The lace is very thick, fine quality, and the tailoring is first rate. Even if you have several LBDs in your closet, this one is very special when you neednsomething classic. In wore it two times on an opera weekend in San Francisco. To the evening performance I added the RTR multiple-strand pearls with my own Stuart Weitzman red patent high heel pumps, super sheer stockings, and a Chinese red and black silk evening bag (The opera was Nixon in China!). The next afternoon I wore the same dress to the matinee (Attila) with Alexis Bittar hoops, no necklace, bare legs, and black open toe sling back high-heeled sandals plus an edgy wristlet purse. I got several compliments from strangers about how flattering the dress was as to cut and style for someone who is curvy, but well-proportioned. I will definitely rent again, if not try to find & buy the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 17, 2012
Elegant LBD
I wore this dress for my birthday in Las Vegas and received lots of compliments. The dress is fully lined with hints of skin showing through the lace at the neck, sleeves and hem. I paired the dress with a dazzling pair of statement earrings (also from RTR). This is a sexy and sophisticated dress for any occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2012
Too Long
I got this dress for a wedding and ended up having to wear my back-up dress. This one was too long/hot/mature looking on me. It is a very heavy dress and would be wonderful for a winter wedding or office Christmas party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 66
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 13, 2012
Beautiful, comfortable
I rented a 6 and 4, and both sizes would have worked. But I wore the size 6 because it was a little more comfortable through the chest and shoulders, although a little too long. With very high platform heels that didn't matter. The dress is beautiful with a heavy (looks crocheted) lace over a black slip. Yet it wasn't too warm to wear to a June wedding.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×