Elie Tahari

Loolu Lace Sheath

$35 rental
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Simplicity meets chic! Rent this Elie Tahari black lace sheath for a casual date night or bridal shower. A flirty style that no one will forget. Add a hint of sparkle with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace(100% cotton). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Scalloped hem. Lined. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
111 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 23, 2015
I wasn't a fan of the dress.
The dress itself is beautiful. However, I think it's best suited for someone tall. It was way too long and hit me in all the wrong places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2015
The look and feel of this dress was beautiful
Fantastic dress! Fit wonderfully! I was surprised how thick the lace was for this event that was a real plus because the ballroom was really cold! Great experience overall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
March 15, 2015
I felt like I was red-carpet ready!!
This dress was amazing to wear!! It was VERY comfortable, great length to the knee, elegant black lace on black silk, and made me feel like a million bucks!! It was fitted in all the right places! I wore it to a formal evening fundraiser gala. I would absolutely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2011
Classic Little Black Dress
I wore this to a work cocktail party; it is stunning. Think Mad Men. It fell below my knees (I am 5'5") and I would recommend a high heel 3 to 5 inches to go with this. The neckline goes to high for a short necklace, but a bracelet would be perfect. I was worried it might not fit given I was 17 weeks pregnant at the time, but the lower abdomen was actually unfitted.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 23, 2011
The fit in the main picture is
NOT the fit of the dress. The model here is wearing a different size than the designer meant to be true. It is a very boxy fit, if you don't order a size (or two down). It is NOT cinched in the middle. I strongly recommend ordering a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 21, 2012
pretty black lace dress
This dress was very comfortable and elegant. It was worn to a Phantom Gala and I felt very comfortable all night - even dancing. I don't know why I didn't listen to the other reviews, though, some of which said that the dress runs large. I usually wear size 4, sometimes 2, sometimes larger depending on designer. I ordered this in a 4 and 6 and the 4 was a little loose around the middle, the 2 probably would have been perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 27, 2012
Gorgeous!!!!
I rented this dress for my twin daughters' communion party. It was gorgeous, but I wish I had added the size 0 to my order. It fit well but the crochet stretches, so I wish it was a little but tighter. But still I got comliments all night
ReneeSeptember 17, 2012
Thank you!!! I am 5'7 and 120, and was concerned about sizing. Your comments helped!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 9, 2012
totally awesome
wore this for my cousin's super swanky wedding (harvard club NYC) with nude heels... perfect. i got a ton of compliments and someone came and asked me where i got the dress (naturally i referred them here!). it was really comfortable. the cotton lace does have a fair amount of stretch, and i think i might have been able to wear a 4. because it was a bit big, the lace bunched a bit around the waist, but you could hardly tell, since it was all black. surprisingly, it was fairly cool, too... we had to run a couple blocks and half an avenue to get to the venue because the cab got stuck in traffic, and i wasn't burning up afterwards, which was a concern before we started running!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2012
Too Long
I got this dress for a wedding and ended up having to wear my back-up dress. This one was too long/hot/mature looking on me. It is a very heavy dress and would be wonderful for a winter wedding or office Christmas party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2012
Best. Dress. Ever.
Absolutely the most gorgeous, flattering, sophisticated dress I have ever had the pleasure of putting on my body. I got this dress as a back up and when I put it on, there was no way the other (also stunning) dress had a chance. The dress is beautifully detailed in a heavier than expected lace pattern with a thin lining inside so your skin peeks through in all the right places. It fell right below my knee and I am 5'8". I would suggest to getting the extra size smaller rather than larger since I wore a 10 and could have easily gone with the 8. Bottom line, if you need a sure thing, rent this dress. It's an A+ all the way.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 4, 2012
I felt like I was channeling Michelle Obama a little in this dress!
This dress is amazing. When I first tried it on, I was nervous it looked too long on me. I showed a few friends who insisted the below knee length was very chic, and once I put on a pair of nude Louboutins and the Kate Spade clutch I couldn't agree more. It runs a bit big, so the 0 worked well on me but could've use a smaller size if they made one. I received tons of compliments all night and enjoyed wearing something more sophisticated.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 12, 2012
Longer than pictured, fabric is thick.
The fabric is really lovely, but thicker than I thought. It's less like lace and more like heavy embroidery. I'm as tall as the model pictured, and this dress hit below my knees. I ended up returning it because the length just didn't look right and was much longer than I expected. I felt it ran large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 154lbs
October 25, 2012
It was a very classy dress that I received several compliments on.
I thought the dress ran on the large size. I am a tall girl and it hit around mid-knee. I wish it would have been a few inches shorter. The size of the dress also runs large.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2012
Lacy Luxe party dress
I ordered this dress for my back-up for a wedding, so I didn't end up wearing it as it didn't look quite as good on me as the Badgley Mischka I chose in a sequin pink. This dress was much longer on me than what is shown on the model. It hit me below the knee. It is a much heavier lace than I anticipated, but that would not have kept me from wearing it. It didn't fit me in the bodice as well as it appears on the model also. It was a little bit lower exposing my strapless bra. It is very pretty and well constructed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
November 14, 2012
Stunning dress!
Loved the lace on the dress. The length was just past my knees (I'm 5'7"). Like other reviewers have said, the dress is a bit large so size down. I found the dress to be super comfortable and gorgeous!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 29, 2012
I wore this dress to an afternoon opera. It was beautiful my date loved it also! Perfect!!
Im 5'7" 115lbs I rented a size 4 and 6 but truthfully could've used a 2 but the 4 worked fine. The dress is gorgeous, its made out of a heavy material even though it looks like lace. I was so glad because I'm always cold and it was a chilly Oct. day so the dress was not only beautiful but warm. This was the first time I'd ever rented a dress and I'll say my experience was great. I have already scheduled another rental for a Christmas party. I would recommend Rent the Runway to everyone, beautiful dresses, great prices and the whole process is pretty simple. Thanks for a wonderful experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
December 6, 2012
Beautiful, classy dress
The dress does run large. I'm very glad I went with the 2 and 0, instead of the 4 and 2. I would definitely suggest going down a size as your second pick. It is long, the lace overlay went to my shins. However, the black "slip" only went to my knees, which still looked fine. I had to be careful when I pulled the dress down after sitting to not expose my strapless bra. A lot of skin up top was showing, but, luckily, the lace covers plenty. Depending on your bust size, and if you're comfortable with it, you could probably go with out wearing a bra. Even though the lace covers plenty of skin, I personally don't like to see bra straps. While sitting, it did bunch up and stick out at my upper back, but with my hair down it wasn't noticeable. I think that's normal for most dresses, unless it's tailored to your body. Also, as the night went on, the slit in the back bunched up where the black "slip" and lace attach. But, people told me it wasn't noticeable. I always notice the little things that ONLY bother me! Haha :) Overall, it is beautiful and well made. Paired up with leather round toe platform pumps and a black satin clutch, I felt very elegant, and you will too!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
October 16, 2012
classic dress
the dress is very flattering (and comfortable) - received many, many compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2013
Great dress to wear to a semi formal event.
hugs your curves, elegant, sexy...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 19, 2013
A great classic, elegant dress.
I wore this to a work "gala" -- it was the perfect miss of style, class, femininity and sophistication. I wore it with a chunky JCrew crystal bracelet and C Wonder earing and received lots of compliments.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2013
Conservative and classy
Great dress if you're looking for something a little more conservative. I wore it to a family wedding. I'm generally a 12 in Tahari but went down a size in this. Also, I'm 5'9" and it hit right below my knee. Looked great in photos and the lace hides any imprefections! The dress was damaged when it arrived but RTR's customer service was great.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
June 12, 2013
I rented this dress for my 10 year reunion and loved it! I got a lot of compliments.
The dress was very figure flattering. However, the straps of the under garment were a little big so I had to pin it which was fine and no one noticed. Definitely a good choice if you want a sure thing! I am usually an 8 but got a 10. I could have gone with an 8, but the 10 was fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2013
Rocked out my quarterly client meeting with sophistication and flawless NYC style!
This dress was a showstopper! I was heading to my client meeting in the the rain but this dress still turned so many heads, men and women alike. It's black, it's long enough to wear in a business setting and it's very elegant which added up to an absolutely timeless look. I never want to give it back! One note is that this definitely runs large so keep that in mind when ordering your backup size. I'm usually a 6 but the 4 hugged my curves a lot better with this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
October 17, 2013
Beautiful dress, great quality, order a size down
Great dress for an event or wedding-- well made. Great experience
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
November 21, 2013
A really beautiful and flattering dress!
I went with my second choice dress for my event, but wore this the next day for a baptism and luncheon and got so many compliments on how beautiful the dress was. I love the neckline and detail. Fit was a little loose in the top but the bottom fit perfectly. Would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 19, 2014
Great Dress, Beware of Slit in back
This dress was beautiful, flattering, and classy. It was perfect for a wedding in which I was a bridesmaid bc it was very flattering but not distracting. One thing I noticed after i tried it on and had walked around for a while is that there was a huge slit down the middle, my butt was showing and I had to pin the upper part, big con for me personally. But it is a fabulous dress. Def worked for my occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
March 15, 2015
absolutely gorgeous and classy looking.
wore this dress to a fall wedding, for which, the ceremony was outside. thicker material, so not good for warmer weather, and the cap sleeve looked for fall appropriate than a strapless dress would have. got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 18, 2015
Classic dress, great for many occasions.
The dress I received was very worn, I was worried about it showing in our pictures. It runs big, so it wasn't as flattering as I would have liked either. The lace detailing is beautiful and you can wear a regular strapless bra with it. The slit was fine for me, I had no issues with it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 22, 2012
Perfect dress for a winter wedding
I wore this dress to a winter wedding. Great fit, runs maybe a bit large. I'm an 8, but a 6 could have worked. A hint of stretch, which was nice. The dress had a few threads loose and I didn't like that, but overall great pick!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2013
Okay
Model made the dress look young, but it felt like I was wearing a dress for an older woman. Thick material and longer than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 24, 2013
Pretty but matronly.
Pretty dress, lush lace, great detail. The dress is heavy and about 2 inches too long! I am 5'7" and this looked staid and old fashioned, not to mention it hit my shins. Hem it 2 inches, and you've got a winner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
September 29, 2013
Love the dress, but runs a little big. Disappointed that some areas of dress were unraveling.
Pear shape
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
November 30, 2013
Just gorgeous. Comfortable, flattering- I wish I had this in my wardrobe!
Fits a little large. Glad I got the 10 rather than the 12.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
November 16, 2015
My size was unavailable, and the back-up was too big
I rented this dress in a size 2 and 4. Based on the other reviews, I guessed that the 2 would have been the correct size, but I ordered a size larger just in case. The size 2 was unavailable at the last minute. I received the size 4 and it was much too big for my frame. The weight of the dress is much heavier than I imagined, and the crochet on top is lovely, but thick. The cut and fabric of this dress is VERY conservative. I'm slender and in my 30s, and this dress should be well fitted to your frame, otherwise it can appear very matronly. I think if I was 20 years older, I could have worn the size 4 as is. The fabric is nice and stretchy, so I would recommend ordering a size smaller than your usual size, and allowing the dress to stretch to hug your curves. For my comfort level, I think the size 2 would have been a winner. I didn't end up wearing this as a result, I just pulled something out of my own closet last minute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 8, 2012
Tight in all the wrong places made for an uncomfortable company party!
The dress was beautiful, but a little too tight in the bust, the mid-section and the arms. I usually wear a 12 and even my back up size 14 was a little tight! I still wore it and got lots of compliments on it, but be warned, this fabric has no give and isn't good for girls with big girls!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 3, 2013
I just didn't love the dress, it looks much better on the model.
This was my first experience with RTR. I read the reviews and thought that the dress ran 1-2 sizes larger. I normally wear size 6 and the dress had a "boxy" fit for the lace portion. I looked huge in the dress. It doesn't fit snug in the waist like the models picture. The only size available was a 6 and I did not have a back up size so I was not able to wear it. Unfortunately, you don't get credit for accessories ($50.00 worth in my case). Not RTR fault, I just didn't read that section clearly so I got stuck with a credit for just the dress and not the accessories that I didn't even wear. Hopefully my next experience will be better.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2014
Perfect dress, great party!
I'm usually an 8 and the 10 fit perfectly. I wore this for my husband's office's Christmas party and got so many compliments! The neckline and lace are so beautiful you really don't need to do much with it - I wore my hair up and sparkly earrings and it was perfect.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
November 17, 2011
I am in love!
I absolutely love this dress. It is a timeless look. I got tons of compliments! I am 5'8" and I have a big booty and small chest. The dress was slightly large in the stomach area but it fit great everywhere else. Love love love! Rent it!
CatherineDecember 20, 2011
i have the same body shape (small chest/big booty). did you end up wearing your normal size?
CatherineDecember 22, 2011
Oops...just saw you did rent your normal size! Nevermind :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 12, 2011
Christmas Party Success!
This dress was AMAZING!!! The first time I saw it I knew I wanted to wear it, but I finally got the first chance to wear it. The top with its see through lace was just the right touch to look gorgeous without baring it. I attended a rather Conservative party that required, as a new part of the family, that I look great but still not stand out too much. It was the perfect choice, and now having worn it once, I wish I owned it! It would just be a perfect choice with so many options.
taraMarch 24, 2012
Can I ask what size you ordered? We are about the same size and I would like to rent the dress. Thank you for your review - very helpful!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
December 14, 2011
Sooo beautifuL!
I loved the fit of this dress! it fit like a glove but it still was not too tight. I received soooo many compliments! loved it!
DebJanuary 8, 2012
How did it fit thru your chest? I'm a 32B & 5'1", how was the length?
ChristinaJune 27, 2012
Where did the hemline fall? I'm 5'4" as well and wondering if this dress will be too long.
RTRJune 27, 2012
Hi ladies, this dress is 38'' from shoulder to hem.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×