You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Loolu Lace Sheath
Rental $35 Retail $750
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Simplicity meets chic! Rent this Elie Tahari black lace sheath for a casual date night or bridal shower. A flirty style that no one will forget. Add a hint of sparkle with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.
Chat with a Stylist
Black lace(100% cotton). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Scalloped hem. Lined. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos28

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 9544
Jun 19, 2013
Nice dress for something sophisticated.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't wear this dress but I did like it. It was very sophisticated and would be good for someone older or an event that was subdued. I wanted something a little more fun, otherwise I would have worn it.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5533
May 13, 2013
Classic LBD silhouette with a crocheted knit feel.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable dress. It has a crocheted knit overlay so it has a bit of stretch to it. Would rent again.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
May 9, 2013
Did not get to wear it,yet the 4 fit quite well and was in beautiful condition.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit well. will rent again.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
May 1, 2013
Very classy, elegant dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very nice fabric, quite heavy so not recommended for an "outside in the summer" type of event. A little long but still very pretty.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 9633
Apr 24, 2013
Pretty but matronly.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Pretty dress, lush lace, great detail. The dress is heavy and about 2 inches too long! I am 5'7" and this looked staid and old fashioned, not to mention it hit my shins. Hem it 2 inches, and you've got a winner!
Katherine
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8443
Apr 8, 2013
Conservative and classy
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress if you're looking for something a little more conservative. I wore it to a family wedding. I'm generally a 12 in Tahari but went down a size in this. Also, I'm 5'9" and it hit right below my knee. Looked great in photos and the lace hides any imprefections! The dress was damaged when it arrived but RTR's customer service was great.
Therese
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5624
Apr 1, 2013
Perfect for the evening!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for the opening performance of Don Giovanni at Opera Colorado. The weather was cool and windy, so the dress was perfect as it is a heavier lace. I'd rent it again.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Mar 26, 2013
Great dress for a reunion
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my 5 year law school reunion and it was perfect - sexy and modest at the same time. I got a lot of compliments. The dress itself is true to size, and was comfortable all evening. The lace pattern is really lovely, and overall it is a very flattering dress. Would definitely recommend!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Mar 19, 2013
A great classic, elegant dress.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a work "gala" -- it was the perfect miss of style, class, femininity and sophistication. I wore it with a chunky JCrew crystal bracelet and C Wonder earing and received lots of compliments.
Maya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8531
Feb 24, 2013
Great dress to wear to a semi formal event.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
hugs your curves, elegant, sexy...
rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3643
Feb 11, 2013
Loved it
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was so cute. I wore it with a jeweled belt to accentuate my waist. Great fit! I received a ton of compliments!
Robbie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5643
Feb 3, 2013
I just didn't love the dress, it looks much better on the model.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first experience with RTR. I read the reviews and thought that the dress ran 1-2 sizes larger. I normally wear size 6 and the dress had a "boxy" fit for the lace portion. I looked huge in the dress. It doesn't fit snug in the waist like the models picture. The only size available was a 6 and I did not have a back up size so I was not able to wear it. Unfortunately, you don't get credit for accessories ($50.00 worth in my case). Not RTR fault, I just didn't read that section clearly so I got stuck with a credit for just the dress and not the accessories that I didn't even wear. Hopefully my next experience will be better.
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Jan 11, 2013
Classic and gorgeous!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had been looking for a reason to rent this dress for almost a year - finally, I decided it was perfect for my rehearsal dinner the night before my wedding. WOW, I was so sad to send this back - what a stunning dress! The length is about knee-length, and the cut is just so flattering. The details, especially on the neckline and sleeves are just beautiful. I have a soft spot for anything and everything lace, and this is the best lace number I've ever worn! This is an LBD you'll wish you own. Runs very true to size.
Gabriella
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Jan 9, 2013
Okay
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Model made the dress look young, but it felt like I was wearing a dress for an older woman. Thick material and longer than expected.
Meg
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 9444
Jan 2, 2013
A beautiful dress for a beautiful wedding
Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is beautiful and fits true to size - people were telling me how gorgeous it was all night! The only negative was that the lace looked like it was starting to fray on the hem and on the sleeves - just goes to show how many people love this dress
Kristy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4634
Nov 29, 2012
I wore this dress to an afternoon opera. It was beautiful my date loved it also! Perfect!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Im 5'7" 115lbs I rented a size 4 and 6 but truthfully could've used a 2 but the 4 worked fine. The dress is gorgeous, its made out of a heavy material even though it looks like lace. I was so glad because I'm always cold and it was a chilly Oct. day so the dress was not only beautiful but warm. This was the first time I'd ever rented a dress and I'll say my experience was great. I have already scheduled another rental for a Christmas party. I would recommend Rent the Runway to everyone, beautiful dresses, great prices and the whole process is pretty simple. Thanks for a wonderful experience!
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Nov 27, 2012
Great dress! Beautiful material and very elegant!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is somewhat fitted around the waist, but is true to size. The material is somewhat thicker than it appears in the photograph and hit below the knee on me (I'm 5' 3). Overall beautiful dress and very elegant. Received numerous compliments and would consider renting it for another event again!
Muffie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5624
Nov 20, 2012
I had a woman track me down to tell me what a beautiful dress it was.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Lovely and elegant dress- a little worn, but not noticeable to anyone else.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Nov 14, 2012
Stunning dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the lace on the dress. The length was just past my knees (I'm 5'7"). Like other reviewers have said, the dress is a bit large so size down. I found the dress to be super comfortable and gorgeous!
Shanley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 8444
Nov 8, 2012
Tight in all the wrong places made for an uncomfortable company party!
Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful, but a little too tight in the bust, the mid-section and the arms. I usually wear a 12 and even my back up size 14 was a little tight! I still wore it and got lots of compliments on it, but be warned, this fabric has no give and isn't good for girls with big girls!
bonnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5634
Oct 29, 2012
Lacy Luxe party dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for my back-up for a wedding, so I didn't end up wearing it as it didn't look quite as good on me as the Badgley Mischka I chose in a sequin pink. This dress was much longer on me than what is shown on the model. It hit me below the knee. It is a much heavier lace than I anticipated, but that would not have kept me from wearing it. It didn't fit me in the bodice as well as it appears on the model also. It was a little bit lower exposing my strapless bra. It is very pretty and well constructed.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5631
Oct 16, 2012
A Lovely Dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding and the weather turned very cold so I wore my back up dress (long sleeved) instead. This dress fit like a glove. It is very well made and comfortable. I wll rent it again.
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Oct 16, 2012
classic dress
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
the dress is very flattering (and comfortable) - received many, many compliments
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Oct 12, 2012
Longer than pictured, fabric is thick.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The fabric is really lovely, but thicker than I thought. It's less like lace and more like heavy embroidery. I'm as tall as the model pictured, and this dress hit below my knees. I ended up returning it because the length just didn't look right and was much longer than I expected. I felt it ran large.
LC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7443
Sep 27, 2012
Beautiful Mad Men style dress for black tie wedding.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a black tie wedding in DC that was featured in Martha Stewart Weddings. Wore with magenta J.Crew dress shoes and a teal satin BCBG envelope clutch. Truly fantastic dress and incredibly slimming. Loved the tea length (below knee) even though I am fairly tall. Would rent again.
Colleen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Sep 19, 2012
This was a fabulous, classic dress.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size six fit me perfectly. It fell just below my knees. It was very comfortable and elegant. A great dress for a wedding or an evening out.
Monica
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7444
Sep 19, 2012
This dress was amazing!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my bridal shower and it made me feel like a million dollars. This dress fit me perfectly. It hugged all my curves but still kept me looking classy and beautiful. I was recieving complimentes all day from everyone!
AnyoneButJordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Sep 9, 2012
Elegant Dress
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was perfect for a fancy dinner out. The restaurant was a little conservative so the cutouts were the perfect amount of skin. The material was heavy and fell right -- dress felt expensive. A pearl and gold necklace really fished off this look.
Jen
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 9134
Aug 30, 2012
Loved it, but didn't work.
Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress, but it didn't fit my body quite right. It flattened my boobs, so hubby wasn't happy with it. It's a beautifully made, heavy dress, and I was bummed it wasn't as flattering as I was hoping.
D
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 8543
Aug 25, 2012
Love at First Wear
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my company's Christmas party, and I loved it as much as everyone else did. The length and the lace looked so classy and sexy. I could not have been happier! Perfect dress for the wow factor, and people who bought new dresses wished they had listened to me and used RTR! -D
DCGirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6541
Aug 22, 2012
Sophisticated!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a wedding, and received many compliments. It definitely sticks out from the "typical black dress." The detailing of this dress is lovely. I would recommend this dress to a wedding, or a work event!
Susanna
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7533
Aug 20, 2012
Fantastic dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was classy and sexy and edgy all in one. It fit well but a little on the long side if you are 5'5" like me. Bring your big girl heels and rock it out because it is worth it. So many compliments! My fiance was in heaven!
Candace P
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 62
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5624
Aug 13, 2012
Beautiful, comfortable
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented a 6 and 4, and both sizes would have worked. But I wore the size 6 because it was a little more comfortable through the chest and shoulders, although a little too long. With very high platform heels that didn't matter. The dress is beautiful with a heavy (looks crocheted) lace over a black slip. Yet it wasn't too warm to wear to a June wedding.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Aug 10, 2012
Too Long
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I got this dress for a wedding and ended up having to wear my back-up dress. This one was too long/hot/mature looking on me. It is a very heavy dress and would be wonderful for a winter wedding or office Christmas party.
Anastasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Jul 17, 2012
Elegant LBD
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for my birthday in Las Vegas and received lots of compliments. The dress is fully lined with hints of skin showing through the lace at the neck, sleeves and hem. I paired the dress with a dazzling pair of statement earrings (also from RTR). This is a sexy and sophisticated dress for any occasion.
Kittenheelz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8643
Jul 11, 2012
Beautiful and classic!
Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fabric on this dress is whatbmakes it so special. The lace is very thick, fine quality, and the tailoring is first rate. Even if you have several LBDs in your closet, this one is very special when you neednsomething classic. In wore it two times on an opera weekend in San Francisco. To the evening performance I added the RTR multiple-strand pearls with my own Stuart Weitzman red patent high heel pumps, super sheer stockings, and a Chinese red and black silk evening bag (The opera was Nixon in China!). The next afternoon I wore the same dress to the matinee (Attila) with Alexis Bittar hoops, no necklace, bare legs, and black open toe sling back high-heeled sandals plus an edgy wristlet purse. I got several compliments from strangers about how flattering the dress was as to cut and style for someone who is curvy, but well-proportioned. I will definitely rent again, if not try to find & buy the dress!
EKC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6444
Jul 10, 2012
Classy, sexy, perfect!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is amazing. For a LBD I got quite a few compliments! This was actually my back-up dress for a June wedding in CT. It fit perfectly! I have large shoulders and chest (34DD), a long torso, small waist and hips, but muscular thighs. The dress fit perfectly, and not too tight. It wasn't loose in the stomach as another reviewer said; it fit like a well- made sheath dress. The material of the lace is rather thick, but the slip underneath is not too bad. I usually get hot at weddings, and this was perfect and didn't show sweat :) I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this elegant and versatile dress!!
kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Jul 9, 2012
totally awesome
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
wore this for my cousin's super swanky wedding (harvard club NYC) with nude heels... perfect. i got a ton of compliments and someone came and asked me where i got the dress (naturally i referred them here!). it was really comfortable. the cotton lace does have a fair amount of stretch, and i think i might have been able to wear a 4. because it was a bit big, the lace bunched a bit around the waist, but you could hardly tell, since it was all black. surprisingly, it was fairly cool, too... we had to run a couple blocks and half an avenue to get to the venue because the cab got stuck in traffic, and i wasn't burning up afterwards, which was a concern before we started running!
janine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3544
May 27, 2012
Gorgeous!!!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my twin daughters' communion party. It was gorgeous, but I wish I had added the size 0 to my order. It fit well but the crochet stretches, so I wish it was a little but tighter. But still I got comliments all night
Anon77
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 2531
May 3, 2012
Great dress
Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is terrific. It fits well, maybe a tiny bit large for the size, but that was a good thing for me. What the pictures on the site don't do justice to is the quality of this dress and the effect of the lace at the neckline. I had 2 other alternate dresses and this one was hands down the best looking - because of the quality of the work; the lace looks 'real' - it is not cheap polyester. Also: the contrast between the black lace and my (pale) skin at the neckline added a lot of drama/visual interest, making this more interesting than just another black dress. I got a lot of compliments on this.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress