Elie Tahari

Loolu Lace Sheath

$35 rental
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Simplicity meets chic! Rent this Elie Tahari black lace sheath for a casual date night or bridal shower. A flirty style that no one will forget. Add a hint of sparkle with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace(100% cotton). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Scalloped hem. Lined. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
111 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 4, 2014
Cute but very thick

I wore this for a bridal shower. The dress fit true to size but with the liner and thick lAce, it felt a little bulky.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 10, 2014
Rented for Honor Society Induction, Great Dress!!

I rented this dress for my induction into a school honor society, which involved a formal cocktail hour and dinner. I'd had my eye on the dress for a while and it lived up to expectations! The dress is really beautiful with very thick lace (just be careful putting it on because the lace is held together with very thin strands!). Required minimal accessories but made a big impact. I felt really beautiful in it. :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2014
Very comfortable. Perfect LBD

I rented this dress for my best friends bridal shower. I was very happy with the dress. The only down side was that the slip kept ridding up, so occasionally I would have to reach under and pull it down. Otherwise I found the dress to be very comfortable and flattering.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 8, 2014
Great classy dress!

I wore this for graduation and it was perfectly classy and elegant! It hits at the knees and the top layer is a bit longer than the lining. True to size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
June 8, 2014
Beautiful lace.

This dress is beautiful! I was surprised at how comfortable it was. The lace fabric had some stretch to it. I wore my normal size 0 and it fit perfectly. An ideal length for tall girls :-)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 15, 2014
Super comfortable - sad to see this one go!

I was nervous about the fit, as my backup size wasn't available but I was so pleasantly surprised at how much I loved this dress! I have broader shoulders and did not feel restricted by the armholes on this dress (as opposed to other lace dresses). The material was a little thicker, so I was happy the weather was a bit cooler. Felt amazing and got many complements..if you're thinking about renting this one - do it!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
June 25, 2014
Classic Dress!

I loved the neckline and the cap sleeves, I only wished that the lace wasn't so thick. It was more of a crochet. I wore a size 2 which was fitted at the chest.. I'm a 34B. The fit would have been perfect if the dress wasn't so loose around the hips and thighs. This could be because so many people have rented the dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
July 14, 2014
Understated yet flattering

I rented this for a work function gala. I wanted to look classy and sophisticated without drawing too much attention to myself. This was form fitting in an appropriate way. It felt really good on and was comfortable. I have larger bust and hips but this fit perfect in all areas. The lining is low cut in the chest area but the lace offers good coverage. I was able to zip and unzip this dress by myself. I got instant compliments and they continued throughout the evening. Another RTR dress that did not disappoint! LOVE IT!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
July 17, 2014
..

Fit is great, the crochet is heavier than it looks in pictures

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
October 3, 2014
Not only was it a beautiful dress but actually really comfortable!

This dress was gorgeous but a tad bit heavy for dancing! The slit was a little too high in the back and I kept having to tank it down! Other than that, I received a ton of compliments and would definitely recommend this dress!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
October 8, 2014
Elegent but fun!

This dress was absolutely stunning. I recieved so many compliments about the uniquness and style. It was very elegent but with the crocheted layer it was still super fun because it allowed for skin to peek through in all the right places. When my daughter first saw me in the dress, her exact words were "You look like a commercial!"

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 24, 2014
Perfect Little Black Dress

This was such a classy, perfect LBD to wear to a party. I really loved it. If you're looking for something classy and timeless, this dress is it. It is a heavier material, so it can be a little hot if you're dancing and moving around a lot. It doesn't hug too tightly and was true to size for me. I noticed others talked about the slit in the back but it was not a problem at all for me. Did not show anything but my legs.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
February 24, 2015
Classy and a nice shape

This dress fit very well and flattered my figure without clinging too tightly. The material was not my favorite--it was heavier and seemed more old-fashioned than I would have liked, but overall I felt good in the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 7, 2015
Perfect dress for a spectacular wedding

I normally wear a 2, but the 0 was the only size available. It ended up fitting perfectly. I got a lot of compliments. Two issues though - the slip part of the dress was riding up as we danced all night and some of the threads on the overlay are wearing thin.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2015
Great quality, great fit

Beautiful dress. The quality of the dress was great, and it fit beautifully. Very comfortable, and I was able to wear it all night at work event and it felt great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 65
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 9, 2012
Beautiful lace, excellent LBD

This is a beautiful dress. Like other reviewers, I found the dress long. I am 5'5 1/2", and it hit me just below the knee. (But for my age, it was good.) I had difficulty with the lining to the dress. The lining is only tacked at one point in the shoulder area, so the lining shifted and many times I could see the top of my bra cup. The lining is cut low so that the lace shows off your upper chest area. This lining needs to be tacked in so that it doesn't shift while wearing. Otherwise, I found the dress to be a solid weight, which was very good for an evening in December in the Houston, Texas area. It would be too warm to wear in another season. I am curvy, and the dress fit nicely. I did wear a heavy control garment thorugh the waist and hips to smooth the look, and wore pantyhose. I wore just a bracelet, earrings and rings because the lace is so intricate and I didn't want to spoil the effect. A small black Chanel evening bag finished my look. I did receive compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 30, 2012
business formal affair

I rented this for a black tie business awards dinner. It was perfect for the Friday night event. Conservative enough to be appropriate, yet classy and a bit flirty. I am 5'8" 125 lbs. This hit just below my knees. I would have liked it to be slightly above the knee as shown in the model photo. Still, really beautiful. You can't go wrong with this, but its not a sexy dress if that's what your looking for.

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2012
Great dress

This dress is terrific. It fits well, maybe a tiny bit large for the size, but that was a good thing for me. What the pictures on the site don't do justice to is the quality of this dress and the effect of the lace at the neckline. I had 2 other alternate dresses and this one was hands down the best looking - because of the quality of the work; the lace looks 'real' - it is not cheap polyester. Also: the contrast between the black lace and my (pale) skin at the neckline added a lot of drama/visual interest, making this more interesting than just another black dress. I got a lot of compliments on this.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 10, 2012
Classy, sexy, perfect!

This dress is amazing. For a LBD I got quite a few compliments! This was actually my back-up dress for a June wedding in CT. It fit perfectly! I have large shoulders and chest (34DD), a long torso, small waist and hips, but muscular thighs. The dress fit perfectly, and not too tight. It wasn't loose in the stomach as another reviewer said; it fit like a well- made sheath dress. The material of the lace is rather thick, but the slip underneath is not too bad. I usually get hot at weddings, and this was perfect and didn't show sweat :) I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this elegant and versatile dress!!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Fantastic dress

This dress was classy and sexy and edgy all in one. It fit well but a little on the long side if you are 5'5" like me. Bring your big girl heels and rock it out because it is worth it. So many compliments! My fiance was in heaven!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 117
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 180lbs
August 25, 2012
Love at First Wear

I wore this to my company's Christmas party, and I loved it as much as everyone else did. The length and the lace looked so classy and sexy. I could not have been happier! Perfect dress for the wow factor, and people who bought new dresses wished they had listened to me and used RTR! -D

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
August 30, 2012
Loved it, but didn't work.

I loved the dress, but it didn't fit my body quite right. It flattened my boobs, so hubby wasn't happy with it. It's a beautifully made, heavy dress, and I was bummed it wasn't as flattering as I was hoping.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2013
Nice dress for something sophisticated.

I didn't wear this dress but I did like it. It was very sophisticated and would be good for someone older or an event that was subdued. I wanted something a little more fun, otherwise I would have worn it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 3, 2013
Classy dress

Super comfortable and flattering dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2013
Beautiful Lace Dress!

This dress was so comfortable and beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
October 21, 2013
I felt elegant and sexy all at the same time!

Fit was good for me not to tight, not to short (which can be a problem sometimes) and just enough skin was showing to pull off classy kind of sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2014
Classy and Comfortable

I rented this dress for a formal fall wedding. It was perfect. The lace is a heavier cotton lace that was slightly strechy and forgiving in the areas that needed it (i.e. around the tummy and butt region). I also liked the sleeves. They were not quite a cap sleeve but were short enough to be flattering. The other nice thing was that I was able to wear a standard black bra with the dress. Overall, I would highly recommed if you're looking for a classy, yet comfortable, confidence booster!

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 9, 2014
THE BEST: comfortable AND sexy/glamorous!!

This dress feels like a nightgown (seriously comfy!!) but looks red-hot. Beautiful fabric, soft and thick with very lovely embroidery. Hides minor bumps and flaws while making every curve look fantastic. I can't recommend this dress enough. I didn't want to take it off when the evening was over, because I looked so good and felt so great. It's somewhat covered-up but looks very elegant/sexy at the same time. I really wanted to keep it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
April 27, 2014
Beautiful dress

I ordered sizes 6 and 8, and the 8 fit best. The fabric is surprisingly thick with the lace detail. Sadly, that lace detail isn't as apparent as I had hoped, just looks like a black dress because the black lining. It was very comfortable to wear, and would be appropriate for a conservative event; it is not sexy or flashy. I did get a couple of compliments from strangers, but that might be because I was dressed up and dressing up is not as common; who knows. I would order this dress again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2014
This is a cute dress with a pretty, very thick, lace pattern.

The dress has a really well-defined waist, so it will not fit you if you have a long torso. I couldn't wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2015
It was a perfect classy dress for the event I attended!

It fit perfectly! The only issue I had was with the attached slip, which kept sliding down slightly exposing my bra.

See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×