Elie Tahari

Loolu Lace Sheath

$35 rental
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Simplicity meets chic! Rent this Elie Tahari black lace sheath for a casual date night or bridal shower. A flirty style that no one will forget. Add a hint of sparkle with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips yet curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace(100% cotton). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Scalloped hem. Lined. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
111 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 24, 2014
Perfect Little Black Dress
This was such a classy, perfect LBD to wear to a party. I really loved it. If you're looking for something classy and timeless, this dress is it. It is a heavier material, so it can be a little hot if you're dancing and moving around a lot. It doesn't hug too tightly and was true to size for me. I noticed others talked about the slit in the back but it was not a problem at all for me. Did not show anything but my legs.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 23, 2015
I wasn't a fan of the dress.
The dress itself is beautiful. However, I think it's best suited for someone tall. It was way too long and hit me in all the wrong places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
February 24, 2015
Classy and a nice shape
This dress fit very well and flattered my figure without clinging too tightly. The material was not my favorite--it was heavier and seemed more old-fashioned than I would have liked, but overall I felt good in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2015
The look and feel of this dress was beautiful
Fantastic dress! Fit wonderfully! I was surprised how thick the lace was for this event that was a real plus because the ballroom was really cold! Great experience overall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
March 15, 2015
absolutely gorgeous and classy looking.
wore this dress to a fall wedding, for which, the ceremony was outside. thicker material, so not good for warmer weather, and the cap sleeve looked for fall appropriate than a strapless dress would have. got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
March 15, 2015
I felt like I was red-carpet ready!!
This dress was amazing to wear!! It was VERY comfortable, great length to the knee, elegant black lace on black silk, and made me feel like a million bucks!! It was fitted in all the right places! I wore it to a formal evening fundraiser gala. I would absolutely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 7, 2015
Perfect dress for a spectacular wedding
I normally wear a 2, but the 0 was the only size available. It ended up fitting perfectly. I got a lot of compliments. Two issues though - the slip part of the dress was riding up as we danced all night and some of the threads on the overlay are wearing thin.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 18, 2015
Classic dress, great for many occasions.
The dress I received was very worn, I was worried about it showing in our pictures. It runs big, so it wasn't as flattering as I would have liked either. The lace detailing is beautiful and you can wear a regular strapless bra with it. The slit was fine for me, I had no issues with it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
October 2, 2015
Great quality, great fit
Beautiful dress. The quality of the dress was great, and it fit beautifully. Very comfortable, and I was able to wear it all night at work event and it felt great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 9, 2012
Beautiful lace, excellent LBD
This is a beautiful dress. Like other reviewers, I found the dress long. I am 5'5 1/2", and it hit me just below the knee. (But for my age, it was good.) I had difficulty with the lining to the dress. The lining is only tacked at one point in the shoulder area, so the lining shifted and many times I could see the top of my bra cup. The lining is cut low so that the lace shows off your upper chest area. This lining needs to be tacked in so that it doesn't shift while wearing. Otherwise, I found the dress to be a solid weight, which was very good for an evening in December in the Houston, Texas area. It would be too warm to wear in another season. I am curvy, and the dress fit nicely. I did wear a heavy control garment thorugh the waist and hips to smooth the look, and wore pantyhose. I wore just a bracelet, earrings and rings because the lace is so intricate and I didn't want to spoil the effect. A small black Chanel evening bag finished my look. I did receive compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 22, 2012
Perfect dress for a winter wedding
I wore this dress to a winter wedding. Great fit, runs maybe a bit large. I'm an 8, but a 6 could have worked. A hint of stretch, which was nice. The dress had a few threads loose and I didn't like that, but overall great pick!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 30, 2012
business formal affair
I rented this for a black tie business awards dinner. It was perfect for the Friday night event. Conservative enough to be appropriate, yet classy and a bit flirty. I am 5'8" 125 lbs. This hit just below my knees. I would have liked it to be slightly above the knee as shown in the model photo. Still, really beautiful. You can't go wrong with this, but its not a sexy dress if that's what your looking for.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2012
Great dress
This dress is terrific. It fits well, maybe a tiny bit large for the size, but that was a good thing for me. What the pictures on the site don't do justice to is the quality of this dress and the effect of the lace at the neckline. I had 2 other alternate dresses and this one was hands down the best looking - because of the quality of the work; the lace looks 'real' - it is not cheap polyester. Also: the contrast between the black lace and my (pale) skin at the neckline added a lot of drama/visual interest, making this more interesting than just another black dress. I got a lot of compliments on this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 10, 2012
Classy, sexy, perfect!
This dress is amazing. For a LBD I got quite a few compliments! This was actually my back-up dress for a June wedding in CT. It fit perfectly! I have large shoulders and chest (34DD), a long torso, small waist and hips, but muscular thighs. The dress fit perfectly, and not too tight. It wasn't loose in the stomach as another reviewer said; it fit like a well- made sheath dress. The material of the lace is rather thick, but the slip underneath is not too bad. I usually get hot at weddings, and this was perfect and didn't show sweat :) I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this elegant and versatile dress!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Fantastic dress
This dress was classy and sexy and edgy all in one. It fit well but a little on the long side if you are 5'5" like me. Bring your big girl heels and rock it out because it is worth it. So many compliments! My fiance was in heaven!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 116
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 180lbs
August 25, 2012
Love at First Wear
I wore this to my company's Christmas party, and I loved it as much as everyone else did. The length and the lace looked so classy and sexy. I could not have been happier! Perfect dress for the wow factor, and people who bought new dresses wished they had listened to me and used RTR! -D
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
August 30, 2012
Loved it, but didn't work.
I loved the dress, but it didn't fit my body quite right. It flattened my boobs, so hubby wasn't happy with it. It's a beautifully made, heavy dress, and I was bummed it wasn't as flattering as I was hoping.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2013
Okay
Model made the dress look young, but it felt like I was wearing a dress for an older woman. Thick material and longer than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 24, 2013
Pretty but matronly.
Pretty dress, lush lace, great detail. The dress is heavy and about 2 inches too long! I am 5'7" and this looked staid and old fashioned, not to mention it hit my shins. Hem it 2 inches, and you've got a winner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2013
Nice dress for something sophisticated.
I didn't wear this dress but I did like it. It was very sophisticated and would be good for someone older or an event that was subdued. I wanted something a little more fun, otherwise I would have worn it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 3, 2013
Classy dress
Super comfortable and flattering dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
September 29, 2013
Love the dress, but runs a little big. Disappointed that some areas of dress were unraveling.
Pear shape
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2013
Beautiful Lace Dress!
This dress was so comfortable and beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147lbs
October 21, 2013
I felt elegant and sexy all at the same time!
Fit was good for me not to tight, not to short (which can be a problem sometimes) and just enough skin was showing to pull off classy kind of sexy.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
November 30, 2013
Just gorgeous. Comfortable, flattering- I wish I had this in my wardrobe!
Fits a little large. Glad I got the 10 rather than the 12.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2014
Classy and Comfortable
I rented this dress for a formal fall wedding. It was perfect. The lace is a heavier cotton lace that was slightly strechy and forgiving in the areas that needed it (i.e. around the tummy and butt region). I also liked the sleeves. They were not quite a cap sleeve but were short enough to be flattering. The other nice thing was that I was able to wear a standard black bra with the dress. Overall, I would highly recommed if you're looking for a classy, yet comfortable, confidence booster!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 9, 2014
THE BEST: comfortable AND sexy/glamorous!!
This dress feels like a nightgown (seriously comfy!!) but looks red-hot. Beautiful fabric, soft and thick with very lovely embroidery. Hides minor bumps and flaws while making every curve look fantastic. I can't recommend this dress enough. I didn't want to take it off when the evening was over, because I looked so good and felt so great. It's somewhat covered-up but looks very elegant/sexy at the same time. I really wanted to keep it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
April 27, 2014
Beautiful dress
I ordered sizes 6 and 8, and the 8 fit best. The fabric is surprisingly thick with the lace detail. Sadly, that lace detail isn't as apparent as I had hoped, just looks like a black dress because the black lining. It was very comfortable to wear, and would be appropriate for a conservative event; it is not sexy or flashy. I did get a couple of compliments from strangers, but that might be because I was dressed up and dressing up is not as common; who knows. I would order this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2014
This is a cute dress with a pretty, very thick, lace pattern.
The dress has a really well-defined waist, so it will not fit you if you have a long torso. I couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2015
It was a perfect classy dress for the event I attended!
It fit perfectly! The only issue I had was with the attached slip, which kept sliding down slightly exposing my bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
November 16, 2015
My size was unavailable, and the back-up was too big
I rented this dress in a size 2 and 4. Based on the other reviews, I guessed that the 2 would have been the correct size, but I ordered a size larger just in case. The size 2 was unavailable at the last minute. I received the size 4 and it was much too big for my frame. The weight of the dress is much heavier than I imagined, and the crochet on top is lovely, but thick. The cut and fabric of this dress is VERY conservative. I'm slender and in my 30s, and this dress should be well fitted to your frame, otherwise it can appear very matronly. I think if I was 20 years older, I could have worn the size 4 as is. The fabric is nice and stretchy, so I would recommend ordering a size smaller than your usual size, and allowing the dress to stretch to hug your curves. For my comfort level, I think the size 2 would have been a winner. I didn't end up wearing this as a result, I just pulled something out of my own closet last minute.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×